(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Henry County, Missouri"

M.U. 

Go 

977.801 
H39't 
1299233 



QefMEALOlSY COLLECTION 



llllllllllfMimii'yillViri^'' ''"^'-"^ LIBRARY 

3 1833 01053 8640 











^m^ 


^ 




'^ 


^^^^|r ^^'^ 


^v" 


■JBft ^" 


4j^^^^^^ ^^I^^'IH 




HISTORY 

OF 



HENRY COUNTY 

MISSOURI 



By 

UEL W. LAMKIN 



ILLUSTRATED 



HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 
1919 



"TO MAKE THE PAST PRESENT, TO BRING THE 
PRESENT NEAR." 

— Macauley. 



PREFACE 

1299233 

The story of Henry County is one of achievement and development. 
The men and women who came to this county to make their homes 
on the, then frontier of the West, during the first half of the nineteenth 
century, laid the foundation for the present and future greatness of 
this — the Banner County of Missouri. Many of them were descendants 
of ancestors who had been pioneers on other borders. Many came from 
Kentucky — some from farther south, and still others from the East. 
■ They were typical pioneers, not unlike the average Missouri early settlers 
of whom a large portion were native Americans. They came here to 
make homes for themselves and their families. They were honest, sin- 
cere, industrious and God-fearing men and women, and the high rank 
that Henry County holds at this day, among her sister counties of the 
State and nation is, in no small measure, due to the honest motives and 
sincere devotion to duty of this hardy, self-reliant and liberty-loving 
vanguard of civilization, who perhaps "builded better than they knew." 
In recounting the story of Henry County, many of the descendants of 
these pioneers have played a conspicuous part in the affairs of the county, 
through all the years of its history, and many of these pioneer family 
names are prominently identified with the county at the present day. 

The purpose of this work is not to present a philosophical treatise, 
on the causes and effects of matters connected with the history of Henry 
County, nor to fathom the unknown motives of man. It has been 
the aim, rather, to chronicle the events which may be of interest to those 
of the present and future. An effort has been made to present the main 
historical events which have transpired within the borders of the county, 
in chronological order, or as neai'ly so as possible. Major events of a 
State and national character have been touched upon, only as they affected 
Henry County, as well as the country as a whole. Many conditions and 
circumstances have had an influence in shaping the destiny of Henry 
County, and it is hoped that none of the more important of these have 
been overlooked in this volume. 

Biography has ever been recognized as the foundation of all history 
and it has been well said that the family is the unit of society. There- 



fore, due recognition as been given in this work, to family and biograph- 
ical history. Individual histories of many representative men and 
women of today, as well as of the past in Henry County, are here recorded 
with painstaking accuracy, which will remain an imperishable record 
of value as the years come and go. 

Every effort has been put forth to make this history of Henry 
County accurate in detail, and comprehensive in scope, and while the limi- 
tation of human endeavor is ever present, especially in a work of this 
character it is firmly believed that this contribution to the annals of Henry 
County will meet with the approval and appreciation of a reading public. 

Grateful acknowledgment is hereby made to the people of Henry 
County for their steadfast co-operation in this undertaking and the sub- 
stantial encouragement which they have given. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 

Clinton, Missouri, March 19, 1919. 



INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS 



Adobe Church 88 

Allen, Robert Bell III 696 

Allen, Dr. Robert L 697 

Allen, Robert W. 696 

Allen, Mrs. Sallle 696 

Anderson, J. M. 592 

Angle, George N. 304 

Avery, Robert W. 760 

Bailey, George W., Wife and Grand- 
son 512 

Barth, David, Residence 52S 

Barth Farm, View of 528 

Barth, John 504 

Barth, Mrs. Maria Lebold 504 

Barth, Mrs. Sophia Rombold 504 

Bilderbeck, Mr. and Mrs. T. J 736 

Blevins, Jonathan and Wife 544 

Broom Corn Scene 208 

Brown, John D. 360 

Brown, Mrs. John D 360 

Butcher, Alexander M. and Family— 728 

Butcher Brothers 728 

Butcher, J. W. and Family 680 

Byrns, Mrs. Clara Allen 697 

Byrns, Margaret Allen 696 

Carney, Joshua and Descendants— 672 

Christian Church, Clinton 80 

Church, M. E., South, Clinton 80 

Church, Immaculate Conception 128 

Collins, W. B. and Wife 400 

Court House 72 

Crome, William F. 289 

Dahlman, Gerhart A. 472 

Dahlman Home 472 

Dahlman, William J. 472 

Detweiler, C. A. and Family 800 

Detweiler, Residence of C. A 800 

Dickey Manufacturing Company 176 

Doll, William, Wife and Daughter.. 440 



Doll, John and Family 496 

Drach, John 776 

Dunning, Albert and Family 368 

Farm Scene, Urich 192 

Finks, Mark F. 784 

Finks, Mrs. Mark F 784 

Fourth Street, Urich 192 

Freeman, Howard 808 

Gaines, Charles W. 600 

Gillilan, J. B. and Family 432 

Gray, Guy P. 112 

Harrison, Howard 409 

High School, Montrose 160 

Holland, Wesley and Wile 720 

Houck, Conrad and Wife 320 

Houck, Stephen 320 

Huey, Ellet 704 

Huey, Four Generations 704 

Hull, Angeline 312 

Hull, Chesley D. 312 

Hull, J. M. and Wife 312 

Hull, Melvin A. 312 

Hull, Grin W. 312 

Jackson's Mill 65 

Johnston, W. W. 688 

Johnston, Mrs. W. W 688 

Kedigh, Michael and Wife 424 

LaDue Elevator 208 

Lamkin, Uel W Frontispiece 

Legg, John P. 792 

Legg, Mrs. Mary 792 

Log Cabin, Smith 88 

McDonald, J. G. 336 

McQueen, Andrew D. and Wife 560 

Main Street, Montrose 160 

Mann, James D. 488 



HISTORICAL INDEX. 



Merrill, Mrs. Jessie M. 409 

Merritt. Milton B. 752 

Merritt, Mrs. Susan 752 

Mitchell, Mary — 520 

Mitchell, Oscar A. 520 

Mitchell, Paul W. 520 

Mitchell, Susan B. 520 

Park, G. L. and Wife 416 

Park, Rock Island 144 

Penland, John W. 296 

Post Office, Clinton 72 

Prize Winners 224 

Prouse. Thomas P. and Family 664 

Pruessner, A. W. and Family 576 

Redford. A. B. 344 

Redford, Mrs. A. B. 344 

Reunion, Old Settlers 96 

Robison, John W. and Family 632 

Rush, John A. 60S 

Rush, Mary A. 60S 

Rusk, William and Wife 376 

Schmedding, J. B. and Family 392 

Schmidt, Herman and Family 640 

Schools, Windsor 144 

Sevier. Edward F. 536 

Sevier, Mrs. Clara 536 



Shewmaker, S. W. 744 

Smith, George F. and Wife 712 

Smith, Joseph H. 5S4 

Spangler, Levi A. and Family 76S 

Standke, William F. and Family.. _ 64S 

Street Scene, Deepwater 176 

Stringer, J. E. and Wife 56S 

Stout, George M. and Family 656 

Swaters, John and Family 480 

Teays, Mrs. Eliza Ann 3S4 

Teays, James T. l 384 

Waugh, Mrs. Gertrude 40S 

Waugh, James H. 408 

Waugh, John W. 408 

Waugh. John W. 409 

Wehmeyer, J. B. 616 

Wehmeyer, Mrs. J. B. 616 

Wehmeyer, William H. and Family— 624 

Whitlow. W. H. and Family 552 

Wilson, Edwin 464 

Wilson, Joseph H. 352 

Wilson, Richard B. 448 

Wilson, Mrs. Richard B. 448 

Wilson, William W. 449 

Woodson, Chesley G. 32S 

Woodson, Mrs. Mary A, 32S 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I. 

BEFORE THE WHITE MAN 



ORIGIN OF WORD MISSOURI — EARUEST EXPLORATIONS— FORT ORLEANS— MOUND 
BUILDERS — OSAGE INDIANS — THEIR KNOWLEDGE, HABITS, HOME LIFE, 
WEAPONS OF WARFARE— HARMONY MISSION 65-69 



CHAPTER II. 

FIRST SETTLEMENTS 



CESSION BY FRANCE — POPULATION — FIVE DISTRICTS — THE TERRITORY OF 
LOUISIANA 70-72 

CHAPTER III. 

SOME MEN OF EARLY MISSOURI HISTORY 

WILLIAM HENRY HARRISON AS TERRITORIAL GO\-ERNOR— DANIEL BOONE— LEWIS 
AND CLARK— PIKE— GOVERNOR BENJAMIN HOWARD— EARLY 
SETTLERS 73-76 

CHAPTER IV. 

MISSOURI ADMITTED AS A STATE 

THE FIRST PETITIONS— THE MEMORIAL OF THE LEGISLATURE— THE MISSOURI 
COMPROMISE— BOUNDARIES— THE CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION— THE SEC- 
OND COMPROMISE— DATE OF ADMISSION— THE FIRST GENERAL 
ASSEMBLY '. 77-78 



CHAPTER V. 

ORGANIZATION OF COUNTIES 



LILLARD COUNTY ORGANIZED— ITS FIRST COUNTY COURT — FIRST DIVISIONS — 
TEBO TOWNSHIP— REV. HENRY AVERY— FIRST TOWNSHIP OFFICERS— FIRST 
ELECTION— EARLY HENRY COUNTY SETTLERS— FIRST FARM IMPLEMENTS- 
OTHER EARLY SETTLEMENTS 79-84 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER VI. 

THE BEGINNING OF THE COUNTY 

THE FIRST COUNTY COURT— STORES ESTABLiISHED— COUNTY SEAT LOCATED — 
ECONOMIC CONDITIONS 85-86 



CHAPTER VII. 

THE OFFICIAL ORGANIZATION 

JOHNSON AND RIVES COUNTIES ORGANIZED— THE FIRST OFFICERS— THE FIRST 
SHERIFF — ACTS OF THE COUNTY COURT 87-89 



CHAPTER VIII. 

THE COUNTY SEAT LOCATED 

CLINTON SURVEYED— NEW COURT HOUSE ORDERED — CENSUS TAKEN — FIRST 
LOTS SOLD 90-91 

CHAPTER IX. 

BEFORE 1840 

EARLY SETTLERS IN CLINTON TOWNSHIP— THE FIRST PREACHERS — WINDSOR 
TOWNSHIP— MXTDDY MILLS— EARLY SCHOOLS— DEEPWATER TOWNSHIP OR- 
GANIZED— "THE NORTH CAROLINA COLONY"— THE LORD'S CHURCH— CAL- 
HOUN LOCATED — THE NORTHWEST SETTLERS— THE SOUTHWEST SETTLED 
—THE OSAGE COUNTRY 92-98 



CHAPTER X. 

FROM 1840 TO 1850 

THE GROWTH OF THE COUNTY— ST. CLAIR— OTHER COUNTIES— TOWNSHIP OF 
CEDAR— THE FIRST DRAMSHOPS— THE ASSESSED VALUATION— THE FIRST 
BRIDGE 99-101 



CONTENTS. I 

CHAPTER XI. 

FIRST THINGS AND EVENTS IN HENRY COUNTY 

102-103 

CHAPTER XII. 

THE ORIGIN OF NAMES IN HENRY COUNTY 

RIVES— CHANGED TO HENRY — CLINTON — BLAIRSTOWN— CAIHOXIN — DEEPWATER 
—LEWIS STATION— MONTROSE— URICH— WINDSOR 104-106 

CHAPTER XIII. 

TOPOGRAPHY AND GEOLOGY 

THE PRAIRIE REGION— ALTITUDE— FORESTS— CLIMATE— SOIL TYPES — StTMMIT 
SILT LOAM— OSAGE SILT LOAM— BATES SANDY LOAM— OSWEGO SILT LOAM- 
STATISTICS 107-118 

CHAPTER XIV. 

FROM 1840 TO 1860 

SETTLEMENTS IN DEEPWATER TOWNSHIP— NEAR CALHOUN— EARLY CHURCH 
ORGANIZATIONS— NEW TOWNSHIPS— INCORPORATION OP CLINTON— WIND- 
SOR SETTLED— GERMANTOWN— MONTROSE— OSAGE TOWNSHIP— LEESVILLE 
— COALBSBURG 119-123 

CHAPTER XV. 

CIVIL WAR DECADE 

DECLINE IN POPULATION— COMING OP THE RAILROAD— ORGANIZATION OF CLIN- 
TON CHURCHES— THE SILVER CORNET BAND — WINDSOR CHURCHES — CAL- 
HOUN INCORPORATED — SHAWNEE MOUND AND HUNTINGDALE — 'SQUIRE 
WILLIAM PAUL— COUNTY FARM BOUGHT— CLINTON BECOMES CITY OF 
FOURTH CLASS— DESTRUCTIVE FIRE— WINDSOR INCORPORATED— "THE BIG 
FIRE" IN MONTROSE 124-129 



CHAPTER XVI. 

CIVIL WAR HISTORY 

MASS MEETING IN CLINTON— PETITION TO GOVERNOR STEWART— ENLISTMENTS 
IN BOTH ARMIES— EVENTS IN THE STATE— SURRENDER OF CAMP JACKSON 
—FLIGHT OF GOVERNOR JACKSON— RETREAT OF PRICE THROUGH HENRY 
COUNTY— BATTLES OF CARTHAGE AND ■W^LSON•S CREEK— GENERAL OR- 
DER No. 11 130-147 

CHAPTER XVII. 

TOWNSHIPS 

ORGANIZATION AND BOUNDARIES OF THE 'TOWNSHIPS IN 1S60— CHANGE IN 1868 
—NEW TOWNSHIP ORGANIZATION LAW OF 1872-73— NINETEEN TOWNSHIPS — 
FIVE JUDGES OF COUNTY COURT— THE PEOPLE DESIDB TO CHANGE BACK 
TO THREE JUDGES— "MEADOW COUNTY" 148-152 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

IN THE EARLY EIGHTIES 



ASSASSINATION OF GARFIELD— EARLY MAIL SERVICE— RELIGIOUS TENT MEET- 
ING — OTHER COMMUNITY GATHERINGS — SOME PRICES— HAPPENINGS OF 
LOCAL INTEREST- RAILROAD AGITATION— THE CLINTON EYE— DICKEY CLAY 
WORKS — HARTWELL — URICH "MOVES"— NEW BUILDINGS— CLINTON ACAD- 
EMY AND BAIRD COLLEGE— EVENTS OP IMPORTANCE IN THE DEVELOP- 
MENT OF THE COUNTY 153-li;6 

CHAPTER XIX. 

THE LAST OF THE DECADE 

AN INTERNATIONAL INCIDENT— BOOMS IN SEVERAL TOWNS— THE DAILY DEMO- 
CRAT—WATERWORKS AND ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT IN CLINTON— THE MAC- 
ADAM MATTER— VARIOUS ITEMS OF PROGRESS— THE ARTESIAN WELL AT 
CLINTON— THE LEWIS COAL MINES— WINDSOR BOASTS OF ITS BUTTER— THE 
SOUTHWESTERN IMMIGRATION ASSOCIATION — OLD SETTLERS MEET IN 
WINDSOR 167-17G 



CHAPTER XX. 

HENRY COUNTY IN THE NINETIES 

Sl.JKIES OF CALAMITIES— THE NEW HENRY COUNTY COURT HOUSE— AGITA- 
TION TO REMOVE THE UNIVERSITY TO CLINTON— URICH SHIPS MANY PROD- 
UCTS— KELLOGG'S AIRSHIP— DEATH OF "BILL" COVINGTON— THE SPANISH- 
AMERICAN WAR— "COMPANY F" — MONTE BOZARTH — THE FAMOUS MALE 
QUARTETTE— IMPROVEMENTS IN THE COUNTY— TURKEYS AT SEVEN AND 
A HALF CENTS A POUND — RAILROAD TROUBLES IN ST. CLAIR COUNTY — 
MEETING IN CLINTON— LIQUIDATION OF STATE BANK OF CLINTON— REUNION 
OF EX-CONFEDERATE VETERANS — SOUTHWEST MISSOURI TEACHERS' ASSO- 
CIATION—DEATH OF GENERAL BOONE 177-19!) 



CHAPTER XXL 

BEGINNING IN 1900 



THE 'FRISCO BUYS THE BLAIR LINE— THE BEER INSPECTION LAW— INDUSTRIAL 
IRON WORKS— THE FRISCO CONTROLS THE MEMPHIS— GAS AND OIL— THE 
CASEY HERD— RURAL MAIL DELIVERY- THE URICH REUNION— THE FIRST 
CLINTON CHAUTAUQUA— THE HENRY COUNTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COM- 
PANY—THE YOUNGERS— STREET CAR HISTORY— GOOD ROADS MOVEMENT- 
HENRY COUNTY AT THE WORLD'S FAIR— THE CANDIDACY OF FOLK FOR 
GOVERNOR— THE "FOUR COUNTY FAIR"— THE WEATHER 200-216 

CHAPTER XXII. 

FINANCIAL DISASTER AND DEPRESSION 

iJLINTON NATIONAL BANK ORGANIZED— THE SALMON & SALMON FAILURE— THE 
LOCAL OPTION ELECTION— RESIGNATION OF WINDSOR OFFICIALS— MURDER 
OF CAPT. ALLISON— MXINICIPAL OWNERSHIP IN CLINTON 217-223 

CHAPTER XXIII. 

RECUPERATION AND PROGRESS 

THE PEOPLES BANK OF CLINTON— UNION OF PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES— SALOON 
LICENSES— DEATH. OF BROTHER GIVEN— THE U. D. C. BESTOWES CROSSES 
OF HONOR— JUDGE BOYD'S PICNIC — THE BANKS IN URICH— THE PANIC OF 
1907— NEW B.VNK IN MONTROSE— POLITICS IN 1908- FARIS NOMINATED FOR 
GOVERNOR— EXPLOSION AT WINDSOR— DEATH OF DE ARMOND— DICKINSON 
ELECTED TO CONGRESS 224-239 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER XXIV. 

OTHER EVENTS AFTER 1905 

A FEDERAL BUILDING — DRAINAGE QUESTION— FOUNT PIPER'S AIRPLANE— THE 
CENSUS OF 1910— BAIRD COLLEGE PURCHASED — THE ELECTION OF 1910— 
BUILDING ACTIVITIES 340-249 

CHAPTER XXV. 

RAILROADS 

RAILROADS— PAYMENT OF BONDS AND THEIR HISTORY— CELEBRATION OF BOND- 
BURNING — FIRST ISSUE OF BONDS— LITIGATION— COMPROMISE— PAYMENT — 
OFFICIAL RECORDS— JUDGE PHILLIPS' ADDRESS 250-280 



CHAPTER XXVI. 

STATISTICS 



OF COUNTY— NUMBER AND SIZE OF FARMS — FARM FAILURES— VALUATION- 
NUMBER AND WORTH OF FARM ANIMALS— DISTRIBUTION OF WEALTH — 
FIGURES ON ILLITERACY— POULTRY INDUSTRY— ACREAGE OF VARIOUS 
CROPS 2S1-288 



CHAPTER XXVII. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 

PAGES 289-880 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Adair, Clay 292 

Adair, Isaac 829 

Adair, James W. 791 

Adler, B. 668 

Adkins, Charles M. 407 

Adkins, J. E. 456 

Alexander, Wiley H. 386 

Allen, Albert M 775 

Allen, Dr. Robert L. 697 

Allen, Robert W. 696 

Allison, Alfred H. 423 

Anderson, Jasper M. 592 

Anderson, John Q. 534 

Anderson, Mason 337 

Angle, George N. 304 

Armstrong, Aurelius L. 606 

Armstrong, Harry 513 

Armstrong, Rev. William P. 453 

Atkins, John G. 727 

Avery, Robert W. 760 

Bailey, George W. 512 

Baker, James 876 

Barber, Harry A. 840 

Barr, Dr. Bernice B. 308 

Bartels, Anton 437 

Barth, David 528 

Barth. Edward W. 693 

Barth, George 682 

Barth. John 504 

Barth, John W. 694 

Barth, Robert 692 

Barth, Walter 682 

Batschelet, Fred 586 

Batschelet, John 594 

Baum, Henry 356 

Beaty, J. C. 803 

Beaty, Dr. J. G. 800 

Beaty, T. D. 804 

Bellinghausen, William 495 

Bennett, James E. 341 

Bennett, John M. 817 



S. R. 789 

Bettels, Barney 475 

Bettels, William 869 

Biggs, Samuel 670 

Bilderback, Thomas J. 736 

Black, Taylor 539 

Blackmore, Dr. T. Albert 531 

Bleil, C. N. 781 

Blevins, Jonathan 544 

Bolinger, Perce 332 

Booth, Royal W. 678 

Boston, William M. 726 

Bowen, John 834 

Bowen, Thomas R. 521 

Boyd, John W. 572 

Bradley, Dr. Horace 843 

Bradley, Dr. Manuel E. 541 

Brandenburg, Eugene N. 758 

Braun, John 485 

Britell, William S. 674 

Brown, Charles D. 514 

Brown, Ernie C. 388 

Brown, John D. 360 

Brown, Martin V. -_.^- 468 

Bryant, James 875 

Buckner, Frank M. 553 

Burch, David L. 595 

Burch, Rolla W 623 

Burris, Homer T. 500 

Butcher, Alexander M. 728 

Butcher, Clinton E. 810 

Butcher, James Wallace 680 

Butcher, Ralph E. 729 

Caldwell, Earl R. 393 

Calvert, Dr. W. B. 350 

Calvird, Francis M. 509 

Cannon, William H. 846 

Carle, George B. 551 

Carney, Joshua 672 

Carney, Joshua C. 748 

Carter, Capt. W. F. 306 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Chastain, J. H. 630 

Cheatham, Dr. C. L. 335 

Cheatham, John T. 636 

Cheatham, W. C. 636 

Cheek, Walter W. 701 

Childers, William 756 

Churchhill, Henry C. 836 

Clark, Charles M. 411 

Clark, David W. 471 

Clary, Agrippa V. 695 

Clifton, Walter 599 

Collins. William B. 400 

Conrad, Nicholas B. S64 

Cook, .Tesse D. 677 

Cook, John J. 438 

Cornick, Edgar 302 

Costley, Eugene W. 765 

Covington, Edwin S. S55 

Covington, Robert L. 619 

Cress, Dr. L. L. 343 

Crews, Charles F. Sll 

Crews, James W. 824 

Crews, Samuel P. 812 

Croley, Jesse D. 635 

Crome, William F. 2S9 

Cruce, George W. 861 

Cunningham, J. O. 764 

Cuthrell. Edward P. 590 

Dahlman, Gerhart A. 472 

Dannett, Hubert T. 842 

Daniels, DeLacy 537 

Davis, A. 717 

Davis, .lohn C. 731 

Davis, Walter G. 522 

Davis. William H. 548 

Davis, William P. 848 

Day, V. J. 340 

Dehn. George H. S72 

Delozier, Edward B. 502 

Depew, Allen L. 779 

Detweiler, Charles A. 800 

Diehl, Frank P. - 593 

Dillon, Alfred G. 546 

Doll. John 496 

Doll, John 679 

Doll. William 440 

Doll. Walter H. 681 

Draoh. .John, Jr. 776 

Drake, C. W. 798 



Driggs, W. A. 620 

Duck, William R. 777 

Duckworth, Joseph L. 613 

Dugan, Robert H. 413 

Dunaway, Andrew J. 793 

Dunaway, L. N. 794 

Dunn, James A. 684 

Dunn, William E. 646 

Dunn, William R. 690 

Dunning, Albert 368 

Duvall. James W. 844 

Edmondson, James W. 5.")6 

Edmondson, Richard W. 577 

Edwards, Michael 579 

Elbert, Frank 840 

Elbert, Thomas L. 538 

Ellison, James L. 879 

Engeman, August 437 

Engeman. Charles W. 460 

England. James 597 

Faith, Richard T. 852 

Faris. Herman P. 516 

Feaster, Ross E. 517 

Fellhauer, F. L. 757 

Ferry, J. L. 380 

Fewel, Dr. Richard B. 434 

Finks, Mark F. 784 

Fisher, Thomas L. 723 

Focht, John P. 390 

Foote, William A. 359 

Porsythe, Kapels 703 

Fox, Samuel 759 

Freeman, Garrett 880 

Freeman, James M. 808 

Funk, Robert M. 557 

Gaines, Charles W. 600 

Gamlin, ,Tohn B. 763 

George, Charles D. 569 

Geraghty, John J. 626 

Gillilan, James B. 432 

Gilkeson, William L. 375 

Goodwin, E. M. 609 

Goth, John G. 490 

Gracey. Edward A. 331 

Graham, Charles L. 654 

Grant, L. E. 451 

Gray, Cecil E. 722 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Gray, Francis M. 714 

Gray, Joseph W. 565 

Gretzinger, George 394 

Griefe, Fred H. 55S 

Griffith, Daniel P. 570 

Grinstead, Edmond B 547 

Grigsby, R. C. 371 

Gutridge, W. W. S33 

Guynn, R. A. 863 

Hackney, T. B. R 642 

Hageboeck, Bernard H. 494 

Halre, Dr. Robert D. 310 

Hampton, Dr. Joseph R. 7S2 

Hall, Theodore E. 667 

Hall, William P. S25 

Harness, Joseph H. 395 

Harrison, James M. 373 

Harkless, Reuben S37 

Hastain, Woodson A. 446 

Hastain, W. T. 796 

Hecker Brothers 417 

Hecker, Henry B. 417 

Hendrick, William D. 401 

Heiman, Fred H. 461 

Helphrey, Levi 877 

Hendricks, Charles A. 812 

Henny, George H. 69S 

Herrold, George C. 655 

Herst, John J. 506 

Hibler, Joseph P. 469 

Hill, Fred C. 410 

Hines, Woodford M. 845 

Holland, Robert H. 689 

Holland, Wesley 720 

Holliday, George S. 618 

Hollopeter, H. Bryant 404 

Hornbarger, J. E. A. 709 

Houck, Conrad 320 

Hovestadt, Rev. William 429 

Huey, EUet 704 

Hull, Herman M. 363 

Hull, J. Melvin 312 

Hunt, Edwin B. 866 

Hunt, Jefferson A. 732 

Hunt, J. L. 730 

Hurley, W. H. 301 

Huston, Joseph W. 571 

Hutcherson, Edward L. 853 

Ingham, H. B. 643 



Jackson, George H. 533 

Jackson, George W. 540 

Johnson, George A. 719 

Johnson, James W. 405 

Johnson, Oley 564 

Johnston. William W. 688 

Jones, L. C. 302 

Jones, Robert Lee 582 

Julian, Joseph W. 830 

Kahn, Sol 426 

Kalwei, Henry 870 

Keek. Frank 739 

Keck, Fred 772 

Kedigh, Michael 424 

Keil, Charles J. 299 

Kellams, C. D. 831 

Kensigner, E. J. 790 

Kent, E. C. 827 

Kerr, James A. 650 

Keyes, L. E. 611 

Keyes, L. W. 612 

Kibbey. H. N. 673 

Kinyon, J. S. 783 

Klutz, Dr. L. M. 321 

Knisely, 0. W. 629 

Lampkin, Ethelbert 477 

Lawler, Logan S. 501 

Layman, John 397 

Lear, W. F. 762 

Levy, Albert L. 855 

Legg, John P. 792 

Lindsay, Reuben T. 878 

Lingle. Claud 510 

Lionberger, Ralph 706 

Little. John 746 

Long, William E. 666 

Loudermilk. Arthur C. 754 

Luallen, Calvin 671 

McCalmon, William S 745 

McCann, Elmer O. 785 

McCowu, Walter R. 815- 

.McCowan. William M. 524 

JlcCoy, John 773 

McDonald. Josiah G. 336 

McFarland, Albert W. 707 

Mclntire. Omer H. 713 

McKean, Lewis B. 766 

McKeaigg, B. F. 364 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



McKee, James T. 617 

McQueen, Andrew D. 560 

McQuitty, George N. 742 

McQuitty, William T. 806 

Maddox, R. H. 365 

Major, Robert E. 522 

Mann, James D. 488 

Marks, Jacob A. 587 

Marksberry, E. R. 742 

Marksberry, James A. 718 

Marseilles, Dr. William M 315 

Martin, Charles H. 463 

JIartin, John 737 

Martin, W. A. 621 

Martin, William G. 686 

Menker, Bernard 427 

Meredith, William M. 740 

Merrill, Jesse C. 733 

Merritt, Milton B. 752 

Mertel, Charles H. 378 

Miller, Henry F. 649 

Miller, Dr. James M. 418 

Miller. William J., Sr 529 

Ming, Robert D. 859 

Ming, William F. 860 

Mitchell, Oscar A. 520 

Mitchell, Walter S. 484 

Mohler, M. R. 685 

Moore, William W. 847 

Morgan, John W. 642 

Moyer, James A. 482 

Munday, George H. 554 

Munsterman, John J. 665 

Neill, Dr. Stephen T. 317 

Newman, Charles 583 

Nold, Joseph B. 458 

Norris, W. C. 645 

North, Henry C. 819 

Nuckles, J. H. 655 

Ogg, Thomas W. 497 

Olson, Fred W. 527 

Oswald, Fridolin _ 691 

Overbey, John A. 639 

Owen, John 634 

Page, J. W. 770 

Palmer, Roy K. 519 

Park, General L. 416 

Parks, Peyton A. -. 293 

Parks, Thomas B. 357 



Paul, James 798 

Paul, Samuel W. 802 

Paul, Squire William 797 

Patt, J. M. 668 

Peckenpaugh, Luke W. 628 

Peckenpaugh, John R. 628 

Penland, J. W. 296 

Phillips, B. G 625 

Phipps, W. R. 659 

Pierce, John N. 348 

Piper, Robert H. 676 

Plecker, James F. 444 

Poague, George S. 322 

Poague, Henry F. 324 

Poague, Dr. Samuel A 330 

Pollard, Dr. David A. 850 

Pollock. J. S. 662 

Powers, L. D. 786 

Poynter. William M. 346 

Prouse, Thomas P. 664 

Pruessner, August W. 576 

Puthoff, Joseph H. 473 

Puthoff. Frank 871 

Raglaud, Frank 492 

Raney, T. H. 631 

Ream. John 735 

Reavis, Edwin M. 457 

Rector. William H. 813 

Redford, Archalus B. 344 

Reiling. H. J. 415 

Rentchler, Ben 339 

Rhoads, Jacob 421 

Rice, John C. 857 

Richardson, Bryce P. 578 

Richardson, Clyde N. 580 

Robinson, John W. 632 

Robison, S. W. 633 

Rock. Edward P. 436 

Rogers, Dr. James R. 750 

Rogers, Thomas J. 753 

Ross, Edgar A. 873 

Ross, Joe A. 711 

Royston, John H. 591 

Runner, W. T. 297 

Rush, John A. 60S 

Rusk. William 376 

Sappington, Richard P. 543 

Saunders, Elijah W. 487 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Scherff, J. W. 805 

Schmedding, John B. 392 

Schmedding, Joseph 428 

Schmidt, Fred 486 

Schmidt, Herman 640 

Schneider, Jacob 382 

Schweer, George W 333 

Schweer, Julius H. 658 

Sevier, Edward P. 536 

Sevier, James W. 683 

Shelton, William A. 525 

Shepperd, D. E. 661 

__Shewmaker, S. W. 744 

"shoemaker, John P. 508 

Simms, Dennis 820 

Simonds, Charles J. 589 

Slack, James E. 559 

'Slack, Henry 563 

Slayton, William T. 795 

Smith, George P. 712 

Smith, Harry P. 653 

Smith, Joseph H. 584 

Smith, William P. 505 

Snapp, Woodford A. 399 

Snodgrass, T. L. 669 

Snyder, Charles H. 361 

Snyder, Jacob F. SIS 

Spangler, David C. 823 

Spangler, Grady 755 

Spangler, Levi A. 768 

Spore, James S. 318 

Spry, Benjamin P. 761 

Standke, William F. 648 

Stansberry, W. A. 700 

Steele, Albert L. 389 

Stevens, Willis M. 605 

Stewart, Harry A. 651 

Stewart, Walter 856 

Stone, Aaron L. 809 

Stout, George M. 656 

Strieby, Dr. Ulysses G. 751 

Stringer, Joseph E. 568 

Swart, Thomas M. 702 

Swart, William S. 710 

Swaters, John 4S0 

Swindell, Thomas M. 816 

Teays, James E. 384 

Henry 475 



Thomas, James S. 596 

Thompson, Benjamin P. 839 

Thompson, Charles L. 716 

Thompson, Robert L. 749 

Thompson, Walter C. 838 

Tillman, Nelson H. 771 

Titus, John H. 705 

Trainer, John M. 849 

Trolinger, John C. 821 

Tubbesing, John 559 

Tubessing, William 804 

Tyler, Paul 614 

Uhlenbock, Christian 567 

Vansant, Samuel A. 372 

VanWinkle, J. P. 675 

Vickars, William H. 450 

Volkmann, Otto 367 

Wagner, Frank 462 

Walker, Calvin E. 604 

Walker, George W. 603 

Wall, Eugene E. 574 

Wallis, Dr. J. R. 314 

Wally, Andrew 867 

Ward, Ernest 722 

Ward, Oscar T. 724 

Ward, W. S. 698 

Waugh, James H. 408 

Waugh, John W. 741 

Waugh, Walter S. 710 

Weakley, A. H. 734 

Wehmeyer, John B. 616 

Wehmeyer, Robert W. 778 

Wehmeyer, William H. 624 

Whitaker, Charles H. 291 

Whitaker, H. C. 660 

White, Frank 481 

Whitlow, W. H. 552 

Wiley, Abraham 581 

Wiley, Charles K 582 

Willard, John W. 854 

Willenbring, Herman H. 479 

Williamson, David 787 

Wilson, Bruce M. 869 

Wilson, James R. 464 

Wilson, Joseph H. 352 

Wilson, Richard B. 448 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Wilson, William 420 

Wilson, William M. 379 

Witherspoon, M. B. 443 

Wittig, Karl 602 

Witzel, John 442 



Woodson, Chesley a. 328 

Wright, B. P. 628 

Young, Lawrence P. 637 

Young, Oglesby Y. 550 



History of Henry County 



CHAPTER I. 



BEFORE THE WHITE MAN 



ORIGIN OF WORD MISSOURI— EARLIEST EXPLORATIONS— FORT ORLEANS— MOUND 
BUILDERS — OSAOE INDIANS — THEIR KNOWLEDGE, HABITS, HOME LIFE, 
WEAPONS OF WARFARE— HARMONY MISSION. 

The history of Henry County is more or less interwoven with the 
history of Missouri of which we are a part. It is not the province of a 
local history to recite in detail the events in the life of the State as a 
whole ; only so much of it will be included as will connect the history of the 
county, after its organization, to the time when it was merely a part of 
the wilderness which stretched from the Mississippi westward to the Rocky 
Mountains. 

It is uncertain just what is the precise meaning of the word "Mis- 
souri"; it seems to have been derived from the language of the Sioux 
Indians. The Indians known to us as Missouries, dwelt near the mouth 
of the Missouri River; some authorities say that the word is supposed to 
refer to the drovsming of people in the stream and may possibly be a 
corruption of the word meaning "Smoky Water." However that may be, 
of this we are certain ; this which we now call Missouri, was once a part 
of the great territory of Louisiana which was bought by Thomas Jeffer- 
son from the French, and out of which were carved the wonderful States 
of this Middle Western country. 

The writer will not attempt to recount the stories of early explorers 
of Missouri. Men like DeSoto, Joliet, Marquette and LaSalle, who made 



66 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

explorations through the Middle West, are part of American rather than 
part of Missouri or Henry County history. It is possible that DeSoto came 
into the southern part of the State and even into the foothills of the Ozark 
Mountains. It is certain that the French people base their claims to the 
Mississippi Valley on the explorations of the others named; it is equally 
certain also, that aside from the fact that these explorations gave a 
basis for the claim to sovereignty, no importance attaches to them so far 
as the history of the State is concerned. 

To serve therefore only to mark the continued course of immigration 
to the entire West, is it recited that the first permanent settlements made 
in what is now Missouri, were at Sainte Genevieve in 1735 and in St. 
Louis in 1764. Earlier, temporary settlements had been made, one of 
these being at Fort Orleans on the Missouri River ; the exact site of which 
can not be determined, but in all probability it was not far from the 
mouth of the Grand River, or about where Charitan, Saline and Carroll 
counties join. Early in the eighteenth century, men had been sent into 
Missouri to search for silver. French trappers and hunters from Illinois 
had made their way up the Missouri River on hunting expeditions. The 
Spanish at Santa Fe in 1720 fitted up an expedition to explore this region 
and counteract the influences of the French in these explorations. This 
organization of the Spanish was given the name of the Spanish or Great 
Caravan and was destroyed by the Missouri Indians and their kindred 
tribes, all of them allies of the French. Possibly as a result of this expe- 
dition, the French settled at Fort Orleans, which was the nearest of any 
of the early white settlements to the present boundary lines of Henry 
County, although it was not a permanent one. 

Neither will it be the purpose of this history to make an extended 
inquiry into the peoples who lived within the present boundary lines of 
Henry County prior to the coming of white men. Some authorities say 
that the people who lived in this section of Missouri — the so-called mound- 
builders — were at least of as high a type as those who lived in the Pueblo 
country or in Mexico, Central America or Peru. 

We know more about the Indians who succeeded the mound-builders 
and who lived in this southwestern territory at the time of the coming 
of the white men. In his remarkable work, "The History of Missouri," 
on which Hon. Louis Houck, of Cape Girardeau, spent much of his energy 
of recent years, the author gives us a fine description of the Osage Indians, 
whose territory extended from the Great Bend of the Missouri down to 
the Arkansas River and east to the Mississippi. The Osages were of re- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 67 

markable height, not many being less than six feet high. "The instances 
of deformity were rare among them ; they were fleet in their movements." 
It is hard to beheve the things which are told as to their activity; it 
was not uncommon for them to walk a distance of sixty miles in a day. 
A Little Osage chief claimed that he was at Braddock's defeat with all 
the warriors that he could muster and that in the expedition they were 
absent from their villages but seven months. The Osages possessed all 
the characteristics of the Indian; they talked little; they were not noisy 
except when drunk ; they were generally distinguished from other Indians 
by the fact that they were not given to drunkenness, for among the Osages 
it was rare and ridiculed. 

They had knowledge of astronomy, knew the Pleiades, the great 
dipper, the morning and evening stars ; the moon regulated their calendar ; 
insanity was unknown among them, the blind were cared for, sickness and 
pain were borne with great bravery. As to definite settlements of these 
Indians, we know nothing. Their main dependence was, as one may 
surmise, on hunting and fishing and the small crops of beans and pump- 
kins which they raised. They hunted bears and beavers, after which 
came what we might call their farm life. The wild fruits, the nuts, such 
as walnuts, hazel-nuts and pecans, added to their rations. They were, as 
many Indians, of unattractive appearance. With buffalo robes thrown 
over their shoulders, some with limbs exposed and others with no covering 
but the cloth about their loins, they presented a disgusting appearance. 
A few of the women were daubed with red and adorned with beads. The 
dress was usually composed of moccasins for the feet with leggins for 
the legs and thigh, a breach cloth, an overall or hunting jacket slipped 
over the head, all made of leather and softened by applications of fat or 
oil. The women allowed their hair to grow long and parted it on the top 
of their heads, letting it hang over their shoulders. The Osages were kind 
and hospitable. They lived in lodges generally constructed with upright 
posts planted firmly in the ground about twenty feet in height with a 
crotch at the top, and placed about twelve feet distant from each other. 
In the crotch of these posts was a large pole over which they bent small 
poles, bringing the ends down and fastening them to a row of sticks five 
feet in height, which formed the flank walls of the lodges; they covered 
this shell of a building with a matting made of rushes. The doors were at 
the ends ; the fire in the center of the building, the smoke going through a 
hole in the roof, left for that pui-pose. 

The cooking utensils were very simple in kind and very limited in 
quantity. Everyone carried a knife, used at mealtime or for self-defense. 



68 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

They had no regular time for eating their meals and very little variety 
for their food. In common with all Indians, the laborious operations were 
performed by the women. 

The domestic institutions were different from those of any other 
Indians west of the Mississippi. There were three classes of men — some 
were warriors or hunters, others cooks, others doctors; the doctors were 
also priests and magicians. The cooks were either of general service or 
were attached to some particular family. Very frequently, warriors who 
had outlived their usefulness would take up the duties and profession of 
a. cook and would live the remaining portion of their lives, attached to 
some particular patron. The government was an oligarchy; the chiefs 
were hereditary. The Osages had no regular code of laws. 

In common with all other Indians, they adorned their ears with ear- 
rings, shaved the hair of their head except a lock on the crown which 
they platted and ornamented with wampum and feathers, decorating and 
painting their faces. They usually ornamented their necks with a pro- 
fusion of wampum and beads. 

These former inhabitants of Henry County were a war-like nation of 
savages. They were remarkable for their skill in the use of the bow and 
arrow; the bows were about four feet long and made out of hickory or 
similar wood, using for a cord a buffalo or elk sinew. The aiTOw was some 
two feet long with an elongated, triangular spear-head made of sheet iron ; 
the difference between the hunting and the war arrow was that the spear- 
head of the war arrow was lightly attached, so that when withdrawn 
from the wound this spear-head would remain. According to Pike, tne 
country around the great village of the Osages, which is near the present 
site of Papinville in Bates County, is "one of the most beautiful the eye 
ever beheld, the Osage River winding round and past the village, giving 
advantages of wood and water and at the same time an extensive prairie 
crowned with rich and luxuriant grass and flowers, gently diversified by 
rising swells and sloping lawns, present to the warm imagination the future 
sight of husbandry, the numerous herds of domestic animals which are no 
doubt destined to crown with joy those happy plains." 

It was in this section of Missouri, in 1821, that the Harmony Mission 
was established, on the banks of the Marais Des Cygnes, about six miles 
from where it joins the Osage. This Mission was about fifteen miles 
from the great Osage village, suggested above as being near the present 
town of Papinville. The location is described as follows : 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 69 

"Our limits embraced excellent timber in abundance, vast prairie for 
plowing and pasturing ; the only minerals known in this vast country, stone 
and coal, on the surface of the ground and within a few rods of our build- 
ings, and a large region of limestone sufficiently near for convenience. Our 
river bottoms are rather low for cultivation, without draining; but our 
prairies are high and inclining toward the creeks which receive and caiTy 
off all the surplus water. The soil of our prairies is a dark, rich loam 
about two feet thick, beneath which we have clear clay as deep as we have 
yet penetrated. We shall depend on w^lls for water for family use. The 
grass of the prairie varies from two feet to seven in height and forms 
an impediment to traveling equal to that of snow, from eight to ten 
inches deep." 

As to the field for missionary work, it is aptly summed up by some 
of the missionaries: "It is painful to reflect on the condition of the In- 
dians to whom we have come; the moon, they call Heaven, to which we 
are all going at death ; the sun, they call the Great Spirit which governs 
the moon and the earth. The moral darkness in which these people are 
involved is greater than has yet been communicated to the Christian 
world. It has been commonly reported that they worship God and ac- 
knowledge Him as the first great cause of all things ; this, however, will, I 
believe, be found to be a misrepresentation. From the best information 
I can obtain, it appears that they are an idolatrous race and that they 
worship the sun, the earth, the moon and the stars. They worship these 
creatures of God as creators. If asked who made the sun, moon, earth, 
etc., they can not tell. It is no uncommon thing to see them start imme- 
diately after their morning devotion on some mischievous and atrocious 
expedition — perhaps to murder some neighboring tribe or to steal their 
substance. Many of them are playing cards around me while I am writing 
and uttering in broken English the oaths which are so commonly uttered 
at the card table. Both card-playing and profanity, they have doubtless 
learned from the traders who pass much of their time in the village." 

The above account of the Osage is included in order that we may 
know something of the people who undoubtedly lived in Henry County 
prior to the coming of the white man. No doubt, the road from Jefferson 
City to the Harmony Mission crossed the present limits of Henry County 
and missionaries who came out to work in this early Christian establish- 
ment so well described in Atkeson's History of Bates County, traversed 
many times the fields of the western part of Henry. 



CHAPTER II. 



FIRST SETTLEMENTS 



C'EfSION BY FRANCE — POPULATION — FIVE DISTRICTS — THE TERRITORY OF 
LOUISIANA, 

It is not necessary to trace the history of Missouri prior to the time 
when, as a part of Louisiana, it was ceded by the French to the United 
States. At the time of this session, the actual transfer of the territory 
by Spain which had been agreed upon in 1800 had not been made. In 
April, 1803, the agreement was entered into by France to sell this country 
to the United States, the treaty being ratified by Congress in October 
of the same year. This accounts for the fact that when Captain Amos 
Stoddard of the United States Army went from New Orleans to St." 
Louis, to act as an agent of the American Government in accepting 
formal possession from France, he also acted as an agent for the French 
Government and accepted formal possession from Spain, on the same 
day lowering the Spanish flag and running up in its place the emblem 
of France, which was immediately permanently displaced by the Stars 
and Stripes as the symbol of the permanent authority of the United 
States Government. 

At the time of this transfer, Missouri had a population of ten thou- 
sand, due, in great part, to migrations from regions east of the Mississippi 
River. These migrations came from two different sources — first, from 
French settlements in the Illinois country and second, from more recently 
established American settlements in Kentucky and Tennessee. More than 
a half of the population of Missouri in 1804 were Americans. Very 
few Spaniards had settled in the province, especially in the State of 
Missouri, even though Louisiana had been controlled by Spain for thirty- 
five years prior to its purchase by the United States. Until the coming 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 71 

of the American, the population of the Missouri country was almost ex- 
clusively of French descent. By 1810, the population had grown to be 
twenty thousand, this primarily due to American immigration. 

At this period in the history of Missouri, it was divided for purposes 
of administration and settlement, into five districts. The St. Charles 
district included all the territory lying between the Missouri and the 
Mississippi Elvers, the oldest settlement being St. Charles, which was 
founded in 1780. 

The territory between the Missouri River on the north and the 
Meramec on the south, extending indefinitely to the west and including 
the country now known as Henry County, was included in the St. Louis dis- 
trict. At the time of the transfer, St. Louis had a population of about 
one thousand. Several other settlements, all of them in the extreme 
eastern part of the district along the Meramec River, had been made 
by this time. 

South of the St. Louis district lay the St. Genevieve district, in 
which was located the first permanent white settlement in Missouri. 
This was the most populous part of the State at the time of the transfer. 
South of the St Genevieve were the Cape Girardeau district, in which 
Cape Girardeau was the first settlement, and the New Madrid district, 
which extended as far south as the present site of Helena, Arkansas, and 
in which district the town of New Madrid was the first settlement. 

At the time of this transfer Spain had divided the colony, for local 
administration, into two provinces called lower and upper Louisiana, Mis- 
souri being included in the upper province, for which there was a lieu- 
tenant-governor residing in St. Louis. Shortly after the ratification of 
the Louisiana Purchase treaty Congress passed an act providing for the 
government of the newly-acquired territory. Acting in accordance with 
the provisions of this act, the President appointed Amos Stoddard as 
Commandant of upper Louisiana. In 1804, Congress divided the territory, 
all south of the thirty-third parallel being designated as the territory 
of Orleans, while all north of that line was to be known as the district 
of Louisiana, which for purposes of administration was put under the 
government of the territory of Indiana. 

In response to a petition of remonstrance. Congress provided, in 
1805, for a separate territorial organization for the district of Louisiana 
and changed its name to that of the Territory of Louisiana. Executive 
authority was vested in a governor appointed by the President for a 



72 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

term of three years and legislative power was to be exercised by this 
governor and three judges who were appointed by the President for a 
term of four years. There was no provision for a delegate to Congress 
nor for elective officers of any sort in the territory. In 1812, the terri- 
tory of Orleans was admitted into the Union as the State of Louisiana, 
at which time the name of the territory of Louisiana was changed to 
Missouri. There was created a Legislature of two houses composed of a 
legislative council of nine members, appointed by the President, and a 
House of Representatives made up of members elected for two years by 
the people. In 1816, there was another change made in the government 
of the Territory of Missouri, the legislative council being elected instead 
of appointed by the President, the Legislature to hold biennial instead of 
annual sessions. 

In 1819, that part of Missouri which lay south of the present boundary 
line of Missouri and north of the thirty-third parallel, was detached and 
named the Territory of Arkansas. 

Shortly after the above-named changes, came the struggle of Mis- 
souri for admission as a State. 



Court House. Clinton, Mo. 




HENRY COUXTY COURT HOUSE. CLLXTOX, :\I0. 




UNITED STATES POSTOFFICE. CLINTON. MO 



CHAPTER III. 



SOME MEN OF EARLY MISSOURI fflSTORY 



WILLIAM HENRY HARRISON AS TERRITORIAL GOVERNOR— DANIEL BOONK — LEWIS 
AND CLARK— PIKE— GOVERNOR BENJAMIN HOWARD— EARLY SETTLERS. 

It is no doubt interesting to know, although the fact has no par- 
ticular historical significance, that at the time Upper Louisiana was at- 
tached to the territory of Indiana, the Governor of Indiana Territory 
was William Henry Harrison, afterwards President of the United States. 
When the separate territorial organization was granted to the territory 
of Louisiana, the first governor appointed was General James Wilkinson. 
As secretary. Dr. Joseph Browne, a brother-in-law of Aaron Burr, was 
appointed at the request of the latter. Wilkinson was succeeded by Cap- 
tain Merriwether Lewis of the celebrated Lewis and Clark Expedition. 

There are several picturesque characters appearing in Missouri his- 
tory prior to its admission to the Union. In every way, the most notable 
and most picturesque, was Daniel Boone, whose family had come from 
England to Pennsylvania, where Daniel was born the same year (1732) 
that marked the birth of George Washington. 

From Pennsylvania, the Boones went to western North Carolina and 
from thence to Kentucky, where he established Boonesborough, in 1775. 
Without going into details of the explorations and adventures of Boone, 
it may be noted that he came from Kentucky to Missouri and explored 
and hunted over the central part of the State. 

Soon after the purchase of Louisiana, President Jefferson sent out a 
party of exploration under the leadership of Capt. Merriwether Lewis, 
who was private secretary to President Jefferson, and Capt. William Clark 
of the United States Army, the latter a brother of George Adams Clark 
of Revolutionary fame. This company, composed of nine Revolutionary 



74 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

soldiers, some boatmen and interpreters, began the ascent of the Missouri 
River in 1804. They proceeded on up the river to its head vi'aters, ex- 
ploring the surrounding country and collecting such facts as they could 
about the Indian tribes, the fertility of the soil and the tributaries of the 
Missouri River. They spent the vi^inter of 1804 and 1805 east of the 
Rocky Mountains. They then crossed the Rocky Mountains and proceeded 
to the Pacific Ocean. Both Captain Lewis and Captain Clark after- 
■ wards became territorial governors of Missouri, the former succeeding 
Governor Wilkinson as stated above. Two Missouri counties were named 
for these two explorers, and their wonderful journey will ever be re- 
counted as a part of the history of the State. 

Another explorer, no less noted, and whose services to the State of 
Missouri were almost as distinguished as those of Lewis and Clark, 
was Capt. Zebulin Montgomery Pike, in 1810. The account of these 
journeys in which the head waters of the Arkansas, the Platte and the 
Kansas Rivers were visited, was published together with the maps and 
atlases of the country. These journeys of Captain Pike served to quiet 
any lingering disturbance over the cost of the Louisiana Purchase. Pike 
County, Missouri, is named for the famous explorer, as is the famous 
Peak of the Rockies. 

Governor Merriwether Lewis is said to have committed suicide in 
1809, while on his way to Congress, although it has been doubted as to 
whether or not he did so. President Jefferson, in his biographical sketch, 
credits the rumor. As his successor. President Madison appointed Gover- 
nor Benjamin Howard, whose last official act was to issue a proclamation 
calling an election in November for a delegate to Congress. The "Mother 
of Counties" was settled during his term of office and was named for 
him. 

Governor Howard was succeeded by Captain William Clark, the other 
leader of the exploring party named above. Governor Clark remained 
as territorial governor until the admission of Missouri into the Union. 
He was a candidate for first governor of the new State, but was defeated 
by Alexander McNair by a vote of 6,576 for McNair to 2,556 for Clark. 

After 1815, there was a greater immigration to Missouri than ever 
before. From Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky and North Carolina, came 
numbers of pioneers who pushed their way out through St. Charles up 
the Missouri River. They brought with them stock of all kinds and 
numbers of slaves; there were of course, no railroad nor were there 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 75 

any steamboats. The wagons filled with the household goods and fol- 
lowed by herds of cattle and sheep, wended their way over scarce broken 
trails to the place where their owners would make their future homes. 
When they reached the spot where the pioneer decided to locate, a log 
cabin would be erected surrounded by a rail fence, and the settler would 
hunt and trap until he could raise his first crop. He found food and 
clothing in the forests around him. The Indians whom he met were not 
ail friendly. He had few books and papers and little money. He raised 
his own food and exchanged the things which he made for other products 
which he wanted. The only money which he had was the Spanish dol- 
lar, which he proceeded to divide into halves, quarters and lesser amounts. 
One of these, the eighth part of the dollar, came to be known as a "bit" 
and the common expression of today designates twelve and a half cents 
as a "bit," or a quarter as "two bits." 

The house of the early pioneer was made of large logs hewn into 
proper shape and fitted into each other by notches in the ends. They 
hung the doors on wooden hinges and fastened them with a latch on 
the inside from which a latch-string ran through the door to the outside. 
Greased paper served in place of glass to admit light into the room 
tlirough the window. 

The first division of Missouri was into five districts named in a 
preceding chapter. In 1812, these five districts were reorganized into 
five counties, the State of Arkansas being nominally a part of what was 
New Madrid County. In 1815, Lawrence County was created out of 
New Madrid County and in 1816 all the territory north and west of 
the Osage River and was made a new county and called Howard County, 
in honor of the Governor. This County of Howard has since been known 
as "the Mother of Counties," because out of her boundaries have later 
been made thirty-one Missouri counties and part of ten or twelve counties 
of Iowa. As constituted, this county was larger than Vermont, Massa- 
chusetts, Delaware and Rhode Island. From 1818 on, many more counties 
were formed, as the population increased and the means of communi- 
cation grew better. When the State was admitted into the Union in 
1821, there were twenty-five counties in the State. The population, how- 
ever, was confined to the territory along the Mississippi River and up 
the Missouri. 



CHAPTER IV. 



MISSOURI ADMITTED AS A STATE 



THE FIRST PETITIONS — THE MEMORIAL OF THE LEGISLiATURE — THE MISSOURI 
COMPROMISE— BOUNDARIES — THE CONSTITUTIONAL, CONVENTION— THE SEC- 
OND COMPROMISE— DATE OF ADMISSION— THE FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY. 

The story of the State's admission to the Union is told in detail 
in Shoemaker's "Missouri's Struggle for Statehood." Only a brief ac- 
count will be given here. Two years had not elapsed after Congress 
had created the territory of Missouri with the highest degree of terri- 
torial organization, until petitions began to pour in upon the Congress- 
men asking that Missouri be admitted to the Union. On the eighth day 
of January, 1818, the third anniversary of the Battle of New Orleans, 
the first one of these petitions was introduced. Early in April of that 
year a bill was presented authorizing the people of Missouri to form a 
constitution. It did not pass either house. 

In November of 1818, the Legislature of Missouri drafted a me- 
morial asking the admission of the State. No other instance is recorded 
where a territorial Legislature applied to Congress for the admission of 
the territory as a State in the Union. The bill which was introduced 
in Congress as a result of this memorial failed . in the Senate because 
of an amendment which provided that no more slaves should be brought 
into Missouri and that all slave children in the State should become 
free upon reaching the age of twenty-five years. 

The third bill regarding admission was introduced early in Decem- 
ber, 1819. It was at this session of Congress that Maine sought ad- 
mission into the Union. The Senate joined the two bills and added an 
amendment which provided that slavery should be prohibited in all the 
territory ceded by France, commonly known as the Louisiana Purchase, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 77 

north of the parallel 36 degrees and 30 minutes, the southern boundary 
line of Missouri, except the State of Missouri; this was the celebrated 
Missouri Compromise. After considerable conference, the enabling act 
was approved on the 6th of March, 1820, by the terms of which the 
inhabitants of the territory of Missouri were authorized to form a con- 
stitution and government. The boundaries of the State, beginning where 
the thirty-sixth parallel crosses the Mississippi River, ran north of the 
St. Francois River, thence north along that river to the parallel 36 degrees 
and 30 minutes, thence west to a line running due north and south 
to the mouth of the Kansas River, thence north to the parallel inter- 
secting the rapids of the Des Moines River, thence along that parallel 
to the Des Moines River, down the Des Moines River to the Mississippi 
and down the Mississippi River to the place of beginning. It will be 
noted that the above boundaries did not include the northwestern part of 
the State of Missouri, including the counties of Platte, Buchanan, Andrew, 
Nodaway, Atchison and Holt; these were added through the so-called 
Platte Purchase, nearly twenty years later. 

The convention to frame the Constitution met in Saint Louis, early 
in June, 1820. The chief question which was to come before the con- 
vention, was that of restriction of slavery. There seemed to be, however, 
but few of the counties in which there was any contest for seats in 
the constitutional convention between those who favored restriction of 
slavery by the State and those who opposed it. There was not a delegate 
elected who was in favor of restricting slavery in the State. 

In the convention the most popular member, David Barton, after- 
wards elected first United States Senator, was the president. There were 
forty-one members, representing seven diffei-ent lines of descent, twenty- 
six of them being English. Seventeen of the delegates came from Mary- 
land, Kentucky or Virginia; eight from Tennessee and North Carolina; 
five from Ohio, Indiana and Illinois, three from Pennsylvania or Spanish 
Upper Louisiana. Thirteen farmers and thirteen business men sat in 
the convention. Of the other delegates, nine were lawyers, two doctors, 
two surveyors and two teachers. This convention was in session some- 
thing over thirty days. It is said to have spent for stationery $26.25. 
The constitution adopted by it took eflPect immediately without an act 
of the people. This is the only Constitution or constitutional revision 
made between 1820 and 1830 in six different States, that did not require 
submission to the people. Shoemaker, in his Struggle for Statehood, 



78 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

mentioned above, states that "there was no demand on the part of the 
people for such a referendum or adoption; the people of Missouri Terri- 
tory wanted an immediate State Government without further delay; the 
delegates possessed the confidence of their constituents, the Constitution 
was generally acceptable and the convention itself was opposed to such 
a course." 

One of the provisions of the Constitution was that the Legislature 
should enact a law preventing free negroes and mulattoes from coming 
to and settling in the state. This caused considerable friction in Con- 
gress, when, after a large amount of debate and many attempts to settle 
the matter, a second Missouri Compromise was effected by the eiforts of 
Henry Clay, although the Compromise was prepared by Thomas of Illi- 
nois. This Compromise provided that Missouri should be admitted 
whenever her Legislature should pass a Solemn Public Act, re- 
peating the clause in reference to the exclusion of free negroes 
and mulattoes. . This was done by the Missouri Legislature, called in 
special session at Saint Charles to pass the Solemn Public Act, which 
was of no value whatever from a constitutional point of view. 

Shoemaker states that Missouii must be regarded as having been 
admitted into the Union on July 19, 1820, the day on which the conven- 
tion adopted the Constitution; however. President Monroe did not issue 
the proclamation declaring Missouri admitted into the Union as the 
twenty-fourth State, until he had received a certified copy of the Solemn 
Public Act, as passed by the Missouri Legislature. This proclamation 
was issued on the 10th of August, 1821. The constitutional convention 
issued writs for general election the same day that they adopted the Con- 
stitution, or on the 19th day of July, 1820. The first general election 
was held on August the 28th, 1820. Alexander McNair was elected gov- 
ernor. Fifty-seven representatives and fourteen senators were elected 
to the General Assembly. In Howard County there were thirty-nine 
candidates for the General Assembly and nineteen made the race in the 
city of St. Louis. 

The first General Assembly met in the Missouri Hotel in St. Louis 
in 1820. The most notable business transacted was the election of David 
Barton and Thomas Hart Benton to the United States Senate. Ten new 
counties were created, three presidential electors were chosen and Mis- 
souri, was really a State. 



CHAPTER V. 



ORGANIZATION OF COUNTIES 



LILLARD COUNTY ORGANIZED— ITS FIRST COUNTY COURT— FIRST DIVISIONS— 
TBBO TOWNSHIP — REV. HENRY AVERY— FIRST TOWNSHIP OFFICERS — FIRST 
ELECTION— EARLY HENRY COUNTY SETTLERS— FIRST FARM IMPLEMENTS — 
OTHER EARLY SETTLEMENTS. r->000'7 

jL <J ^_^ «^ ^ «-> «-> 

The History of Henry County may properly be said to begin on the 
16th of November, 1820, only a few months before the official procla- 
mation of President Monroe, announcing the admission of Missouri as 
a State into the Union ; for it was on that date that Lillard, now Lafay- 
ette County, was organized. This county embraced the entire territory 
now included by the present boundaries of Henry County. In addition, 
it extended as far north as the Missouri River, while to the south of us 
it included the northern part of our neighboring county of St. Clair. The 
northern line of this new County of Lillard was the Missouri River; the 
eastern boundary was the range line between ranges 24 and 23 ; the south 
boundary the Osage River as far west as the Kansas boundary, while 
the west boundary of Lillard County is the present western boundary 
of the State of Missouri. So, this new county included all of the coun- 
ties of Lafayette, Johnson, Cass, Jackson and Henry, about one-half of 
St. Clair and nearly four-fifths of Bates. 

The county seat of Lillard County was established at Mount Vernon, 
which was situated on the Missouri River some miles below Lexington. 
On the eighth day of December, 1820, the County Court, composed of 
James Lillard, Sr., John Whitsitt and John Stapp, who had received their 
commissions from Alexander McNair, who had been chosen on the twenty- 
eighth of August as Governor of Missouri, met for the first time. The 
first clerk of Lillard County was Young Ewing. In 1823 the county seat 



80 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

was moved from Mount Vernon to Lexington, the present county seat 
of Lafayette County. 

This marks the beginning of the history of Henry County. We have 
no record of white settlers having definitely located in the present bound- 
ary lines of Henry County until nearly ten years later, though hunters 
and trappers no doubt were to be found throughout the county as early 
as 1825 or 1826. As stated in an earlier chapter, the Osages and Shawnee 
Indians occupied all of the territory of the Osage and Grand River coun- 
try, which must have abounded in game of all kinds. Doubtless the mis- 
sionary trail from Jefferson City to Harmony Mission, in what is now 
Bates County, passed through the present limits of Henry County and 
many a story of Indian life and adventure and many a circumstance of 
pioneer days could have been told concerning these hunters, trappers and 
missionaries who lived their lives in this county before a time when we 
have any written record of their existence. 

The first municipal division of Lillard County of which we can find 
any record, was called Lexington township. In May, 1830, was organized 
Davis township. At the same time Blackwater township was organized. 
The dividing line between these two townships was the range line be- 
tween ranges 25 and 26, running as far south as the Osage River; this 
range line is the line which marks the eastern boundary of the present 
townships of Shawnee, Fields Creek, Clinton and Fairview, so that the 
twelve townships in the present boundaries of Henry County which lie 
west of this range line belonged to Davis township of Lafayette County, 
which was the new name given to Lillard County. The seven townships 
that lie east of that line, or the present townships of Windsor, Tebo, 
Springfield, Deer Creek, Leesville, Bethlehem and Osage, belonged in 
Blackwater township. These two townships as such, soon pass out of 
the history of Henry County. There seems to be nothing to definitely 
fix their relationship. On the other hand, the one township which is 
definitely located with the history of Henry County and which remains 
today firmly fixed in the minds of all of those who think of the municipal 
divisions of the county, is the township of Tebo. This township was 
organized on the twenty-first of May, 1832. The description which ap- 
pears upon the records is as follows: 

"Ordered that the following shall be the line and boundaries of Tebo 
township in Lafayette County, Missouri: Beginning where the main 
Blackwater crosses the eastern line of this county, it being the line be- 




e NEW CHRISTIAN CHURCH, CLINTON, :\I0. 




M. E. CHURCH, SOUTH. CLINTON, 110. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 81 

tween ranges 23 and 24, thence up the said creek opposite to Uriel Mur- 
ray's, thence due west to the line between Lafayette and Jackson Coun- 
ties, thence south with said line to the middle of Osage River, thence 
down the same to the line between ranges 23 and 24, thence north on 
said line to the place of beginning ; and the number of taxable inhabitants 
residing in said township are about thirty-five polls, which is ordered to 
be certified." 

It will be noted by the above record that reference is made to Jack- 
son County, which was organized as a county on the fifteenth of De- 
cember, 1826. To "translate" this order so that it can be read without 
difficulty, it may be explained that the line between the ranges 23 and 
24 is the eastern boundary of Henry County; while the point "Opposite 
Uriel Murray's" and the line drawn from that point due west to the line 
between Lafayette and Jackson Counties, is the northern boundary line 
of Johnson County. From the Jackson-Lafayette line due south to the 
Osage River, the western boundary of Tebo township ran; while the 
southern and eastern boundaries were the channel of the Osage River 
and the eastern line of Henry and Johnson Counties. It will thus be 
seen that this township of Tebo included all of Johnson and Henry Coun- 
ties and half of St. Clair. 

At the same session of the County Court of Lafayette County, it 
appeared that twenty or more petitioners had recommended that the Rev. 
Henry Avery receive his commission as justice of the peace for Tebo 
township of Lafayette County and consequently he was appointed to that 
office, the date of his appointment being May 21, 1832. 

At the same session the home of John Brummet, who lived in what 
is now Johnson County, a short distance north of the Henry County line, 
was designated as the polling-place; and James Warren and Chesley 
Jones, residents of the territory now included in Henry County, were 
named as two of the three judges of election for a period of two years. 

In November, 1832, James McWilliams, who was living in what is 
now Windsor township of Henry County, was appointed first constable ; 
and it is said that the first fine which he ever collected was collected 
from Drury Palmer, who is said to have paid a fine of one dollar because 
of a trespass committed by his horse. 

We find the record of but one election held at the house of John 
Brummet; this seems to have been merely a local matter. We find the 
record showing that the election of 1832 was held at the home of Alfred 



82 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Askins. In this election, two of the most distinguished Americans who 
ever contested for the Presidency were candidates. Upon the Democratic 
ticket appeared the name of Andrew Jackson, who is referred to today as 
one of the great apostles of Democracy; upon the Whig ticket was the 
name of the great Kentuckian who served in the United States Congress 
before he was old enough to qualify under the terms of the Constitution 
of the United States, and whose compromises gave him the title of "The 
Great Pacificator." So far as Tebo township was concerned, it shows 
that Andrew Jackson received twenty-four votes, while six electors cast 
their ballots for Henry Clay. At this election the clerks were Drury 
Palmer and Henry Avery, while Thomas Arbuckle, who has been credited 
with putting up the first cabin within the limits of Henry County, was 
one of the judges of the election. 

From 1828 to 1832 we can note the coming of several men whose 
names are closely connected with the early history of Henry County. 
Thomas Arbuckle, Thomas Kimsey, Mathew and James Arbuckle, Isom 
Burnett, Thomas Collins and P. D. Wade are said to have come between 
the years 1828 and 1831. In 1831 appeared Thomas Anderson, the first 
blacksmith in the county; Henry Avery, noted above as being the first 
justice of the peace; William Ogan, P. W. Sissel, Drury Palmer, William 
Gladden, William Crowley, Alfred Askins, James and Jesse McWilliams, 
William Simpson, Fielding Pinel, Mason Fewell, James Warren, Chesley 
Jones, Valentine Bell, George W. Lake and Zekiel Blevins, all are re- 
ported to have settled in this county in the year 1831. 

It is not necessary in a narrative of this kind to discuss in any detail 
the hardships and experiences of these early pioneers; in other books, 
notably in social and industrial histories, are given accounts of the early 
life of the men and women who blazed the way for us who have come 
later. It is sufficient for us to pay our silent tribute to their many vir- 
tues and to strive to so live that we may prove worthy of the Jieritage 
which they have left us. 

In 1831 the Rev. Henry Avery built his cabin; the first one known 
to have had window-glass in the windows. Two sash with four lights 
each appeared in the walls of this modern house. His children had slept 
in a wagon-box prior to the building of the cabin, a sort of sleeping-porch 
it might be called. In this cabin was held the first term of court of what 
is now the present organization of Henry County. 

Henry Avery also brought the first plow and the first four-wheeled 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 83 

wagon. To him is given the credit for first plowing the prairie in the 
spring of 1832; for this purpose the plow bi'ought from a few miles 
below St. Louis and four yoke of cattle were used. 

It seems strange to us of the present generation, that the prairie 
lands were shunned by the earlier settlers. Not long ago, the writer 
speaking to the descendant of one of the old Missourians who settled in 
Callaway County, heard him complain about the lack of vision of his 
forefathers. He said that when his grandfather came to Missouri, he 
secured 640 acres in the hills along the Missouri River, while he could, 
with less effort, have secured the finer land of the northern part of Calla- 
way or the southern part of Audrain County. The same condition pre- 
vailed in Henry County ; the necessity for wood and water kept the early 
settlers along the stream; and gradually they moved out to the prairie 
country, plowing the virgin soil and raising corn and wheat and oats, as 
the development of the country either permitted or required them to do. 

After 1831 the county continued to grow in population constantly. 
In 1833 was bom the first white male child in Henry County, Preston 
Blevins, the event taking place within what is now the boundary line of 
Shawnee township. The first marriage in Henry County was that of a 
couple whose names are unknown. On the night of the fifteenth of May, 

1832, a man and a woman who had ridden four days in search of some- 
one who could marry them, reached the home of Squire Henry Avery, 
who performed this, the first marriage ceremony to take place within 
the boundary lines of the present Henry County. 

The early history of the county is connected rather with settlements 
than with the municipal or congressional townships. For instance, the 
Fields settlement, in what is now Fields Creek township, the Avery set- 
tlement, in what is now Tebo township, and settlements in and around 
Windsor, which included the Arbuckles, the Prices, the McWilliams, 
Kimseys, Palmers and others. The Parks settlement was started in 

1833, nearly all of the family coming from Lincoln County, Kentucky. 
Mr. John Parks, the father of William Parks, settled on section 5, town- 
ship 40, range 24, in what is now Leesville township, his descendants 
scattering over the neighboring sections. Peyton Parks, who platted the 
town of Clinton, settled in Tebo township in 1834. Besides these "set- 
tlements" many other names of early pioneers who came between 1830 
and 1840 may be noted. The Walkers, George W. and Pleasant, who 
had come in 1832, spent eleven days coming from Lexington to Fields' 



84 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Creek township, being delayed by swollen streams. William Hatfield 
and David Ross and Barber Price, appointed constable of Tebo township 
in 1834; John Buchanan and the Comptons came in 1832. Robert Allen, 
the first elected sheriff of Henry County, immigrated in 1833; William 
Goff, one of the first county judges, at whose house was held the first 
Circuit Court, came in 1835. John Legg, Colby Stevenson, James Fields, 
who opened a store at Goff's in the spring of 1835, were among the 1833 
arrivals. In 1834 the Cecils came to what is now Springfield township. 
In 1835 came the Wallaces, who ran a store in Fields' Creek township, 
just north of Clinton. Bethlehem township was settled by James An- 
derson; Thomas Keeney and Whit Mulholland settled in Bethlehem town- 
ship in 1836 and Major S. M. Peeler in 1837. Many others, whose names 
can be traced on the records of the county, appeared during the ten 
years from 1830 to 1840. 

In May, 1834, there was organized a new township called Spring- 
field township. The official order of the Lafayette County Court shows 
that all of Tebo township east of the range line between ranges 26 and 
27 was to be organized as Springfield township. This division of the 
county obtained when Henry County became a county, on December 13, 
1834, under the name of Rives County. 

It will be noted that the range line above described is the lange line 
on the west side of Shawnee, Fields Creek, Clinton and Fairview tovsTi- 
ships, so that the eleven townships east of this line were designated as 
Springfield township, while the eight townships west of this line com- 
prised Tebo tovmship. 



CHAPTER VI. 



THE BEGINNING OF THE COUNTY 



THE FIRST COUNTY COURT— STORES ESTABLISHED— COUNTY SEAT LOCATED— 
ECONOMIC CONDITIONS. 

The records show that the first County Court was held at Henry- 
Avery's on the fourth and fifth of May, 1835, the next term being held 
at the cabin of William Goflf in Deer Creek township. Here was held the 
first term of the Circuit Court, in December, 1835, with Charles H. Allen 
as judge. 

The trading point of the early settlers was Boonville, on the Mis- 
souri River. Goods were brought up the Missouri River by boat and 
thence overland to Henry County. The needs of the growing county 
demanded the establishment of stores, and so in 1835, not far from the 
home of Henry Avery, Thomas and Charles Waters opened the first 
store ever opened in Henry County. Clark and Boggs, the former a 
merchant of Boonville, opened the second store. Near the home of Will- 
iam Goff James Field opened the third mercantile establishment, while 
a little later "the store down on the creek" was started by Hall and 
Ketcham, at the crossing of Tebo Creek. The hard times which followed 
in the "panic of 1837" caused the failure of all of them except one, and 
that was owned by Wallace Brothers, at Clinton, where in the year 1836 
the county seat was located. 

In the year 1834 the Legislature of Missouri, which organized Rives 
County, appointed a commission composed of Anderson Young and Daniel 
McDowell of Lafayette County, and Daniel M. Boone of Jackson County, 
to locate a county seat for the newly organized Rives County. Twenty- 
one months after their appointment, in the fall of 1836, these gentlemen 
reported that they had selected the southeast quarter of section 3, town- 
ship 41, range 26, for the location of the county seat. The County Court 
accepted the report at its November term, 1836, and appointed Peyton 



86 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Parks as county seat commissioner, with full power to lay out and plat 
the new county seat, to build roads, etc. James M. Goff was named by 
Mr. Parks to lay off sixty-four lots and the first sale took place in Feb- 
ruary, 1837. The first building was for the store of Wallace Brothers, 
which had hitherto been located in Fields Creek township, north of Clin- 
ton, but it was moved to the county seat after the commissioners had 
located it. 

At the time of the location there was some rivalry over the matter. 
It is probable that the present site of Calhoun would have been selected 
had it not been that the commissioners felt that it lay too far north of 
the center line of the county. The first hotel was put up by John Nave 
and was located on the ground now occupied by the Clinton National 
Bank. Logs are said to have been hauled by Nathan Fields and the 
buildings themselves obtained the sky-scraping dimensions of one and a 
half stories. 

As was stated earlier, the trading point for the people of the county 
up to 1836 was Boonville. Even with the establishment of the county 
seat and the revival of trade and credit that followed the panic of 1837, 
the wants of the settlers were not as extensive as the average citizen's 
of today, who is unable to live without the telephone, the automobile and 
the electric light. Travel was on horseback. Light was given by tallow 
candles, while the method of communication was the mail which reached 
them through the postoffice at Muddy Mills, some thirty to fifty miles 
distant. The land was worth $1.25 an acre, cows from $5.00 to $10.00 
apiece; a good horse cost $25.00, a dressed hog from $1.25 to $1.50. 
Wheat sold for from thirty-five to forty cents a bushel, corn could be 
bought for fifty cents a barrel and a young calf for seventy-five cents. 
Farm-hands received from twenty-five to fifty cents per day and their 
board, while the price for splitting rails was twenty-five cents per hundred. 

With the coming of the country store came also the horse-mill, so 
that it was not necessary to continue to go long distances to have corn 
ground. In 1835 Richard Wade erected the first horse-mill in Henry 
County, which was situated on section 7, township 43, range 45, or about 
three miles west of the Avery settlement. In the same year, William 
Collins put up a mill in the eastern part of Henry County ; in 1838, a grist- 
mill was established on Honey Creek, by John Dickson, and Huntley's 
mill, which had a run of burrs for both wheat and corn and which was 
considered a particularly good mill, was established in Clinton township 
in 1845. 



CHAPTER VII. 



THE OFFICIAL ORGANIZATION 



JOHNSON AND RIVES COUNTIES ORGANIZED— VHE FIRST OFFICERS— THE FIRST 
SHERIFF— ACTS OF THE COUNTY COURT. 

In reality the official history of Henry County as a county separate 
from that of Lillard or Lafayette may be said to begin with the year 
1834 ; for on the thirteenth day of May in that year the Legislature 
passed an act organizing the counties of Johnson and Rives. Rives, 
later called Henry County, was named for the Hon. William C. Rives of 
Virginia. Its organization was officially recognized on the fourth day 
of May, 1835, by the convening of the county court consisting of two 
members. The commissioners named in a preceding chapter were ap- 
pointed to select a county seat for Johnson County and a county seat for 
Rives County. At the same session of the General Assembly, the bound- 
ary line of St. Clair County was more defined, but as there were not 
enough settlers in St. Clair County to justify it being set apart as a dis- 
tinct organization for civil and military purposes it was attached to the 
County of Rives. 

At the first session of the County Court, which met on Monday, the 
fourth of May, 1835, at the house of Henry Avery, only two judges — 
Thomas Arbuckle and William Goflf — appeared. Jonathan D. Berry was 
appointed clerk by the judges present. The record shows that Henry 
Avery was the justice of the peace of Tebo township of Lafayette County 
and William B. Price was constable. These gentlemen appeared at this 
first session of the County Court of Rives County and presented their 
resignations. The Court appointed George P. Woodson assessor and John 
G. Castleman constable. On the second morning the Court proceeded to 
lay off the County of Rives into municipal townships, dividing it into 



88 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

four and naming them Big Creek, Tebo, Springfield and Grand River. 
The northeast quarter of the county was called Tebo township ; the north- 
west quarter Big Creek ; the southeast quarter Springfield and the south- 
west quarter Grand River. Tebo township comprised the present munici- 
pal townships of Windsor and Tebo; the eastern half of Shawnee, the 
northern half of Springfield and Deer Creek and the northeastern quarter 
of Fields Creek. Big Creek township was composed of the western half 
of Shawnee, the northwest quarter of Fields Creek, the north half of 
Honey Creek and White Oak and all of Big Creek and Bogard. Spring- 
field township was east of the line which divided Fairview, Clinton and 
Fields Creek townships, while Grand River township was west of it. 

The County Court also accepted the resignation of Mr. Avery on 
the second day of this term, appointed Colby T. Stevenson to succeed 
him, named the County of St. Clair, which was under the jurisdiction of 
Rives County, the tovraship of St. Clair, and adjourned. 

At the second meeting of the County Court Joseph Montgomery, 
who had received his commission from Governor Daniel Dunklin, ap- 
peared to sit with the other two judges. In passing it may be well to 
pay tribute to the memory of Governor Daniel Dunklin, for it was he 
who was the father of the present free school system of the State. To 
no man is more honor due than to the statesman who can realize the 
fact that upon public education depends the welfare of any State, and 
who can, through practical application of his idea, bring such education 
home to all the children of a commonwealth. 

At the second session of the County Court held at the home of Will- 
iam Goff also appeared Joseph Fields, with his commission as sheriff. 
His bond was approved by Charles H. Allen, judge of the Sixth Judicial 
Circuit, and was recorded by the Court. A record of the first three years 
of the Circuit Court has been lost, but Judge Allen was at Goff's house 
on the twenty-first of September, 1835, and signed his name as judge 
of the Sixth Judicial Circuit. The Court levied, at an adjourned meeting 
held on the twenty-third of December, ten cents on the one hundred 
dollar valuation as the tax rate for that year. Merchants' licenses were 
fixed at $12.00 for six months. Peddlers were to pay a license of $20.00 
and taverns $18.00 per year. The poll tax was thirty-one and a fourth 
cents. Mr. Woodson received for his services as assessor for the year 
1835 the sum of $54.50. The election in 1835 of township officers resulted 
in the choice of Abraham Banty as constable of Springfield township. 




OLD ADOBE CHI RCH BUILT IN SOUTHWESTERN PART OF 
HENRY COUNTY IN I'SO 




THE SMITH LOG CABIN IN LEESVILLE TOWNSHIP 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 89 

Chesley Jones of Tebo township and Phillips Cecil as justice of the peace 
of Springfield township. On November 28, 1835, Sheriff Joseph Fields 
appointed Nathan A. Fields as his deputy, while Fielding A. Pinel had 
been appointed as circuit clerk pro tempore. 

The first sale of school lands was the 16th section of township 42, 
range 26. These were sold on the first of February, 1836. In this year 
also the first road was laid out in the county and was the one which 
started at the Johnson County line "near or at the high point of Post 
Oaks" and thence to a point designed as the county seat of Rives county, 
thence south through the County of St. Clair, etc. 

In 1836 Phillips Cecil, justice of the peace, died. This is the first 
death of record whose will is recorded. His wife, Polly Cecil, was ad- 
ministratrix. Peyton Parks was appointed assessor for the year 1836 
and the same tax levy was made. Joseph Fields died early in 1836, 
leaving Nathan Fields, his son and deputy, as acting sheriff until after 
the election of that year, when Robert Allen was elected. Jonathan 
Berry, who had been appointed county clerk, resigned at the August 
term and Fielding A. Pinel, formerly circuit clerk, now became county 
clerk. 



CHAPTER VIII. 



THE COUNTY SEAT LOCATED 



CLINTON SURVEYED — NEW COURT HOUSE ORDERED — CENSUS TAKEN — FIRST 
LOTS SOLD. 

In surveying the city of Clinton Mr. Goff had as his assistants James 
Gladden, Robert Sproul and William George. For the survey Mr. Goff 
received $42.75. The first lots sold by Mr. Parks amounted to 81,356.48. 
Even after the County Court had appointed superintendents to plan for 
a new court house, it was some months before they looked after the 
patent for the quarter section on which the county seat was to be located. 
The following order was therefore made and placed upon record : 

"John F. Sharp is appointed agent for and in behalf of the County 
of Rives to deposit with the registrar and receiver at Lexington ?200.00 
for the purpose of obtaining a pre-emption right to the quarter section 
of land on which the seat of justice for Rives County has been located; 
and it is further ordered that said county pay said agent $2.50 for each 
day he may be necessarily engaged in transacting said business." 

The entire bill which was presented and allowed to Judge Sharp for 
transacting the business outlined in the above order was $12.50. 

Meanwhile the court had appointed Judge Sharp and Thomas B. 
Wallace, who had succeeded William Goff as treasurer of the county, as 
commissioners for a new court house. In December, 1837, these gentle- 
men reported on a plan for the court house which was to be a brick struc- 
ture for which the county was to pay the sum of $2,500 after the contract 
had been let to the lowest and best bidder. The contract to build it was 
let in January, 1838, to John D. Mercer, who was to complete Ihe court 
house within eighteen months and who was to be paid for it in three 
equal payments. Judge Sharp was appointed county commissioner for 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 91 

the permanent seat of justice with the full power to transact business in 
the name of the county. After the lots in the first plat were sold, an- 
other survey was ordered. In passing it may be noted that for one lot 
sold at private sale George W. Lake paid $8.00 for what was supposed 
to contain a half acre of ground. 

The census of Rives County was taken in 1836 for which Robert 
Allen was paid $35.00. This and many other of the early records have 
been lost, so that it is impossible to state what this census showed. 

After the sale of lots, it was ordered that the County and Circuit 
Courts should be held at Clinton. At the last session of the County 
Court held before going to Clinton the commissioners who had selected 
the permanent seat of justice of Rives County presented their bill. The 
two gentlemen from Lafayette County were given $12.00 each, while 
Mr. Boone of Jackson County was paid $14.00, for their services in de- 
termining the location of the county seat of a county in Missouri. 

In this last term of court held at Goff' s house, a blind man by the 
name of George Manship became the first pauper taken charge of by 
the county. 

After it was decided to locate the county seat at Clinton, there was 
no determined county seat fight. Mr. Mathew Davis succeeded Judge 
Sharp as superintendent of the court house building, while Thomas B. 
Wallace remained as the other commissioner until the completion of the 
work. What is not known to many of the present residents of Clinton 
is the fact that at the same time a public well was deemed necessary; 
this was made possible by the offer of A. W. Bates and Thomas B. Wal- 
lace, who contributed $100.00 toward the making of a well on the condi- 
tion that the County Court would make up a like amount. 



CHAPTER IX. 



BEFORE 1840 



EARLY SETTLERS IN CLINTON TOWNSHIP— THE FIRST PREACHERS — WINDSOR 
TOWNSHIP— MUDDY MILLS— EARLY SCHOOLS— DEEPWATER TOWNSHIP OR- 
GANIZED— "THE NORTH CAROLINA COLONY"— THE LORD'S CHURCH— CAL- 
HOUN LOCATED— THE NORTHWEST SETTLERS— THE SOUTHWEST SETTLED 
—THE OSAGE COUNTRY. 

In previous chapters we have traced the history and settlement of 
Henry County prior to the year 1840. We have seen how the early set- 
tlers came to the northeastern part of the county and from there down 
into what is now Clinton township. In Clinton township, which was then 
partly in Grand River and partly in Springfield township, James Sears 
and his son Frank, John Nave, William Owen and P. J. Bison, from North 
Carolina, had come from 1830 to 1840. A man named Johnson had con- 
ducted his school as early as the year 1833. As was the custom with 
the school teachers of that day, he went about from house to house and 
in that way met all the people of the community as well as the children. 
It may be that the present relative inefficiency of the country school 
comes from the fact that the teacher does not go about from house to 
house, but remains in the district where she is teaching ■ only between 
Monday morning and Friday evening and sees no one except ihe chil- 
dren whom she meets at school and the one family at whose home she 
stays at night. 

A Presbyterian named Addison Young was the first preacher in 
this section of the county. As early as 1831 he preached in the various 
residences of the early settlers. The Methodists were represented by 
Abraham Mellice and the Baptists by Thomas Keeny. Prior to 1835, 
however, there was neither church nor schoolhouse in Grand River town- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 93 

ship, all the preaching being done and all the school being taught in the 
residences of the settlers. The first child bom in Clinton township was 
Ermie, a daughter of John Nave, who was bom in 1837. Doctor Hobb 
was the first doctor who resided within the limits of the present town- 
ship of Clinton. 

As was stated above, the first settlers in the county were found in 
the northeastern part. Here in addition to those mentioned before, came 
and located in what is now Windsor township Thomas Anderson, who 
was the first blacksmith in Henry County and who settled near the pres- 
ent town of Windsor. Within the next few years came James Wood- 
ward, the Goodins, I. N. Hughes, Colby Stephenson and others who have 
helped to make the histoi-y and the every-day life of the northeastsrn- 
most township of Henry County. From Kentucky and Tennessee came 
the Taylors, the Palmers and the Williamsons, all of whom were found 
in Henry County at the time of the 1840 census. For these people, Boon- 
ville on the Missouri River was postofRce and trading post, where they 
took everything which they could gather from their pioneer's life to 
exchange for the necessary merchandise. Colby Stephenson, one of the 
first justices of the peace for Tebo township, opened up the first school 
in this part of Henry County. This was in the fall of 1833 in an old 
deserted cabin on Tebo Creek, which was some two and a half miles 
south of the present township of Windsor. Abraham Mellice, referred to 
above as preacher in what is now Clinton township, an old-time Methodist 
circuit rider, preached in Windsor township as early as 1832. 

While many persons went to Boonville for their mail and to trade, 
there was a postoffice at Muddy Mills, a few miles beyond the present 
site of Sedalia in Pettis County. The doctor who came to this part of 
the county prior to 1835 was a Doctor Sappington of Saline County ; how- 
ever, in 1835, Doctor Thurston and Doctor Hogan both settled near Cal- 
houn. Doctor Hogan remained but a short time and left Doctor Thurston 
as the sole practitioner in the northeastern part of the county. In 1835 
appeared the first school house, supplanting the old deserted cabin on 
Tebo Creek. In this school house during the winter of '35 and '36, was 
taught a three months' term of school. The teacher, Thomas Irason, 
conducted a subscription school for which the tuition charged was one 
dollar per child per month. Some thirty children attended this school; 
among them were Jim-Tom Barker, Elizabeth Ann Barker, after- 
wards Mrs. Covington ; R. L. Avery, P. G. Avery, Robert Pleasant, Fennel 



94 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Wade, John Wiley and Robert and Alexander Brummett, who lived about 
a half mile north of the county line. 

Again, as was the case of the old-time teachers, iMr. Irason boarded 
around and got acquainted with all of the people in the neighborhood. 
Hall and Fletcher's store on Tebo Creek was established early in 1835, 
the same year that Field's store was started in the Goii settlement, and 
supplied the people of the northeastern part of the township. In the 
same year a horse mill was started in this section of the county. In 
1839 R. F. Taylor, who afterwards founded the city of Windsor, located 
on section 5. 

The year 1835 also witnessed the first settlement on Deepwater 
Creek by a man named Morris. He was later followed by Mr. Shelton, 
by the Greggs in 1837 and by William McCown and William Tyree in 
the year 1839. In 1840 John Schmedding, who lived with Henry Walbert 
and his sister Elizabeth, married Elizabeth Walbert, the ceremony being 
performed by the Reverend Asa Jones. This was the first wedding in 
the southeastern quarter of Henry County, then called Grand River 
township. This house was in the present boundary of Deepwater town- 
ship, which was formed in the year 1840. Deepwater township was 
organized in July, 1840, and its boundaries were defined by the following 
order of the County Court: 

"Ordered that an additional township be taken off of Grand River 
township to be called Deepwater as follows: Beginning at the county 
line of Van Buren County (now Cass) on the divide between Grand River 
and Deepwater, thence down said divide in a northeasterly direction to 
the range line between 25 and 26 (in August following it was changed 
to range line between 26 and 27), thence south to the county line, thence 
west to the southwest comer of Rives County, thence to the beginning." 

As originally organized, it will be seen that this township comprised 
all of the present townships of Deepwater, Walker and Bear Creek, a part 
of White Oak, a part of Davis, a part of Clinton and a part of Fairview. 
A little later the line was changed, leaving out the portions of Clinton 
and Fairview townships. Again, there was a little variation in an order 
dated the second of May, 1842. 

It has been recited in an earlier chapter that in May, 1834, the La- 
fayette County Court had changed the name of Tebo township, which 
comprised all of Johnson and Henry Counties, and half of St. Clair, into 
the name of Springfield township. In 1835 the first County Coui't, which 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 95 

met at Henry Avery's house, changed the name back to Tebo, establish- 
ing the northeastern quarter of the township as Tebo township and the 
southeastern quarter as Springfield township. At Alfred A skin's house, 
in 1832, was held the first election. 

The history of this part of the county is very much the same as the 
history of other newly-settled Missouri country. In 1839, however, came 
a group of people from North Carolina. They were called "The North 
Carolina Colony." They formerly came from Maryland, coming in wagons 
the whole distance, crossing from Kentucky into Illinois in the lattar part 
of 1839, finally reaching the vicinity of the Sardis Baptist Church on thfe 
second day of November. Among these were the Walls, John C. Stone, 
Mason Fewell, William Howerton, Mrs. Sarah Lindsey and her sons ; of 
these Richard Wall settled in Big Creek township, John C. Stone in Deep- 
water, William Howerton and Mason Fewell in Tebo and Mrs. Lindsey and 
her sons in Fields Creek. These people have left their mark upon the 
entire history of Henry County, coming with enough wealth to enable 
them to have the confidence which some of the earlier settlers did not 
have. They secured a large acreage of land and laid the foundations for 
some of the large farms and estates now existing in Henry County. 

The Sardis Baptist Church was organized on the fourteenth of May, 
1839. In an old log school house on Tebo Creek they held their worship. 
To read the names of the charter members of this church is to name the 
highest type of pioneers who came to Henry County. Henry Avery, John 
W. Williams, John Brummett, Benjamin G. Parker, Valentine Bell, Susan 
Hudson and Nancy Williams were among those early pioneers who helped 
to found and support this probably best known of Henry County country 
churches. In 1839 Rev. Henry Avery and Rev. James Fewell were joint 
pastors. In 1856 a frame church building costing $600 and in use more 
than fifty years was built. 

In 1835 James Nash located the present town of Calhoun. It had 
no growth, however, until the following year, when commissioners were 
appointed to find the county seat for Rives County. Mr. Nash therefore 
procured the services of one John S. Lingle to plat the town which he 
had founded and which he named in honor of South Carolina's great 
statesman, John C. Calhoun. To add, as it were, a finishing touch to his 
work, he donated two acres of ground for a public squai'e. Of this two 
acres, one acre was properly set aside as a public park, the other con- 
sumed by the wide streets which surround the park and which add to 



96 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

the usefulness and convenience of the present square in the town of 
Calhoun. The question of location of the county seat might have been 
more serious had Calhoun been nearer the center of the county, for more 
than four hundred of the settlers of Henry County lived north of Grand 
River. As it vs^as, when the commissioners determined upon Clinton, 
there was no determined effort on the part of Calhoun to take it away. 
As soon as the town of Calhoun was platted, the settlers who had settled 
around Goff's began to move. James Fields, who had a store at Goff's, 
put up the first house at Calhoun. In the winter of 1836-37, John and 
William Goff opened up a grocery store, while James Fields and Hall and 
Fletcher opened up general stores in the town of Calhoun. In the fol- 
lowing summer came the McCormick's Dry Goods Store. By the fall 
of 1837, Calhoun was the leading business town in Henry County. 

The plat of the town covered forty acres, as laid out by Mr. Nash. 
The first lot sold of which there is any account was bought for eighteen 
dollars on the eleventh day of May, 1837. In June James W. Fields rought 
two lots for which he paid $25.00. In 1837 James Fields was appointed 
postmaster of the first postoffice in the county, which had been at Goff's 
from 1835 to 1837 with William Goff as postmaster. He moved the post- 
office to Calhoun the same year a postoffice was established at Clinton. 

The first teacher was Miss Lucy McCord, who taught two or three 
terms of school beginning in the year 1837. 

Asa Hendrick of Brown County, Kentucky, came to the northwest- 
ern part of Henry County in the spring of 1837. His nearest neighbor, 
named Smith, a pioneer like Hendrick, lived in Cass County. John Scroggs 
and Joshua Page, the latter a minister of the Christian Church, came in 
the fall of 1837. In 1838 an old log school house was erected in which 
the above named Rev. Joshua Page taught the first school. At the home 
of Asa Hendrick was established the first voting precinct in the town- 
ship. The first voting precinct in what is now Big Creek township was 
at the home of Thomas Kimsey. He was a descendant of Littleberry 
Kimsey, who came in 1830 at the same time Abner Martin and his two 
sons came. Henry Lotspiect came in 1835. William Fox, William Bid- 
well, John Swift and the Andersons were also among the early settlers. 

It is said that the first white man who came into what is now Walker 
township was a man by the name of Greenup, who settled in Walker 
township in the year 1835. His nearest neighbor was two miles away, 
his next to the nearest neighbor was five miles away. Dr. Amasa Jones, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 97 

a prominent preacher, who had been connected with the Harmony Mis- 
sion in Bates County for more than a dozen years, is said to have come 
by Greenup's place and to have offered to buy it. Jones was followed 
the next year by a preacher at Harmony Mission named John H. Austin. 
Mr. James Gates also settled in this township. Mr. M. Gregg and Robert 
Gregg came to Walker township in 1839 ; George Cowen and Joe Harness 
about the same year. In 1840 Doctor Jones organized the first church 
in the township, two years later building of adobe brick the first church 
in the western part of Henry County. This was probably the first build- 
ing to be used exclusively for church purposes built within the limits of 
the present County of Henry. Hitherto a building had served the joint 
purpose of school and church. This one was used solely for church pur- 
poses. John H. Austin, mentioned above, was the first justice of the 
peace and the first constable of the township. 

The first settlement in what is now Osage township was in 1835, 
Alexander Bowles, Captain Royster and Whit Mulholland coming that 
year. In the next two years came George Bowles, William Stewart, David 
White, John Johnson and Reuben Good. Other early settlers were James 
Smith, Montgomery Wright, Overton Parks and George Thornton. The 
first ferry across Grand River was kept by John T. Thornton, who settled 
in Osage township, a few miles below Brownington. The ferry v/as run 
at the place since known as Thornton's ferry. The second ferry was run 
by David White, at the crossing of Grand River near Brownington. Al- 
bert Denning and Jane McNew seem to be the earliest settlers of what 
is now Fairview tovraship, they coming in 1839 and being followed by 
other members of the Dunning family during the next two or three years. 
The Tays, Guttridges, Kings, Brownings and others settled in what is 
now Bear Creek township early in 1838. 

Earlier in this narrative mention is made of the Parks settlement in 
the eastern part of Henry County, now in Leesville township. Follow- 
ing the Parks family came Labon Rigg and others. Benjamin Putnam, 
Pattison Gordon, John Williams and Reuben Parks arrived in 1835. 

Chesley and Thomas Jones, Joseph Potter, John Anderson, J. P. 
Turner, Joseph Wyparks, David Logan, William Witherspoon and Jesse 
Bunch were others among the settlers who came prior to the year 1838. 
One of the most remarkabls characters in the early history of the county 
was Rev. Daniel Briggs, who settled in what is now Leesville township, 
in the year 1838 and who was afterwards the organizer of the Tebo 



98 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Church. The Tebo Baptist Church was built in 1841. In addition to 
Daniel Briggs and his wife other original members of this church were 
William Butler, John Anderson, Mary Putnam, Robert Briggs and Zach- 
ariah Fewell. 

As pointed out earlier in this history, the early settlers established 
their homes along the banks of the streams. Tebo and Barker Creeks 
were among the first settled. Phillip Cecil from Virginia, Bennett Har- 
ralson and Cyrus Robinson came to Henry County in 1830; William A. 
Gray and the Bantes in 1836. 

The first election in the township was held at the house of Abraham 
Bante. The Trollingers and the Guyes came in 1887 and 1838, as did 
the Fewells and William Chandler. 

The first school in this section of the county was taught by W. A. 
Gray in the winter of 1838 and 1839 and was like other schools of its 
time a subscription school. 

In what is now Deer Creek township some settlers were found as 
early as 1833. Howell Lewis settled in 1836; William Goif, named many 
times heretofore, was the first settler and the first postmaster; his sons, 
John and Ephraim Goff, came with him. C. C. Bernau, a county judge 
for a number of years, settled a few years later, as did the Wileys and 
John S. Lingle, the father of the Lingle brothers, long connected with 
Henry County affairs. It will be recalled that John S. Lingle laid out 
the town of Calhoun. 



CHAPTER X. 



FROM 1840 TO 1850 



THE GROWTH OF THE COUNTY— ST. CLAIR— OTHER COUNTIES— TOWNSHIP OP 
CEDAR— THE FIRST DRAMSHOPS— THE ASSESSED VALUATION- THE FIRST 
BRIDGE. 

From 1840 the growth of Henry County has been steady and marked 
by no particular incidents which were not common to the history of 
many other parts of our State. The names of the early pioneers recorded 
in the previous chapters of this volume can be as late as the date of 
the present writing found among the citizenry of the county. It has 
not been the intention of the author to try to list all of those who came 
during the period prior to 1840 any more than it is his intention to try 
to enumerate everyone who has played an important part since that 
date. He has cited these as being types of men and women and their 
names are given more to connect the history of the county than to single 
them out for special preferment. From now on it is the writer's pur- 
pose to chronicle the events which may be of interest to those of the 
present day. It will be more a running narrative than a philosophical 
treatise on the causes and effects of matters connected with Henry County 
history. 

In 1840 a new township was created along the southern boundary 
line of Rives County. Up to that time it will be remembered that St. 
Clair County was under the civil and military jurisdiction of the County 
of Rives as was the territory south of St. Clair County. This was entirely 
too far for its government to be satisfactory, so at the February term 
of the County Court, in 1840, a new township was organized to be called 
Cedar township, the boundaries of which were to be as follows: 

"Bounded on the south by the County of Newton ; east by Polk ; west 



100 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

by Bates and north by the south boundary of township 37 of ranges 
27 and 28." 

Dade and Jasper Counties were organized in 1841, Cedar township 
in 1843 and Lawrence in 1845, so it seems that the new township of Cedar 
was curtailed as soon as it was organized. It must be remembered that 
this region was under the civil and military jurisdiction of Rives County. 
In August, 1840, an election was held for constable. Stephen R. Wright 
was elected. He brought the returns of that election to the Rives County 
Court, traveled 150 miles, paid his own expenses, was away from home 
a week and received five dollars for his services and expenses. The fol- 
lowing year St. Clair County was organized out of that territory lying 
immediately south and Rives County had no more distinct authority over 
this newly-organized township of Cedar. In the year 1840 the judges of 
the County Court began the practice of allowing themselves two dollars 
per day for each day's attendance at the court. Prior to this the amount 
which each one had been allowed was $1.50. The census of 1840 was 
taken by the sheriff, who was paid $97.50, or $1.50 a day for sixty-five 
days, to record it. How many people were in the county at the time is 
not made a matter of record in the county. Elsewhere in this volume 
will be found a copy of the act of the Missouri Legislature which changed 
the name of Rives County to Henry County. At the same session of the 
Legislature the name of Van Buren County was changed to Cass and 
St. Clair County was organized as a separate county. 

In the year 1840, on the third day of May, Preston Wise presented 
to the County Court a petition for dramshop license, which he secured 
by paying a tax of $15.00 to the State and $22.50 to the county, together 
with an ad valorem tax. This was the first establishment of this kind 
in the county. More than seventy-five years was to elapse before the last 
saloon passed out of existence. The license above named, granted to 
Preston Wise, was for a saloon in Clinton. At the same time Mathew 
Arbuckle and Sabine Jones received licenses for dramshops in Henry 
County. The one which was granted to Mathew Arbuckle was for an 
establishment in Calhoun. No restrictions were placed upon Sabine Jones 
as to where he should open up his establishment. From time to time, 
applications were received by the County Court and were granted to all 
those who applied for them. 

The first assessed valuation in Henry County was placed on record 
in 1842. The total was $197,000.00. Five hundred and five polls were 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 101 

also listed. In 1845 the valuation had nearly doubled, it having reached 
the sum of $351,000.00. In 1842 the first school township was organized 
in the county. Of this Mr. William Akens was the school commissioner. 
This organization was in congressional township 43, range 26. In the 
election of 1841 there were two candidates for the office of sheriff and 
collector which was then a combined office. William R. Owen and P. J. 
Buster were the candidates. Buster received the certificate of election 
and Owen immediately filed a contest which was decided in his favor; 
the costs of the suit amounting to $161.43, were paid by Owen, who im- 
mediately filed a bill against the county for its payment. This the County 
Court refused to allow. Owen immediately proceeded to mandamus the 
couit. The suit was decided in his favor and the costs of the first con- 
test for office ever instituted in Henry County was therefore paid by 
the county. 

It is interesting to know the price of land in the town of Clinton 
at about this time. The price of lots which had hitherto been as low as 
$5.00 each, had now raised to $9.00 apiece, while A. C. Marvin paid $15.00 
for ten acres of land in the southwest part of town. 

On July 4, 1916, there was unveiled in Calhoun a monument to Will- 
iam Bayliss, the Revolutionary soldier who died in this county on the 
eighteenth of June, 1843. William Bayliss was from Kentucky and had 
been a lieutenant in the Revolutionary Army in 1776. He was after- 
wards a soldier in the war of 1812. 

The first bridge of any size built in Henry County was started in 
the fall of 1845 and completed in May, 1846. Fifteen hundred dollars 
had been appropriated for its building, but the total cost was $1,470 — 
one of the few instances where public buildings have come within the 
original appropriations. This bridge was on the road between Clinton 
and Harmony Mission in Bates County, over Grand River, at a place 
called Big Ripple. 

For the fiscal year ending May, 1847, the record of the receipts and 
disbursements show that the county had fallen in debt $47.56. 



CHAPTER XI. 



FIRST THINGS AND EVENTS IN HENRY COUNTY 



First white child born, Susan I. Avery, October 36, 1832. 

First male child born, R. P. Blevins, October 20, 1833. 

First child born, Julia Anne Sherman, a negro, whose mother belonged 
to Robert Mean, Sr. This child was born July 14, 1832. 

First resident minister, Henry Avery, who came in July, 1831. 

First school, 1833. An Irishman named Johnson taught school in 
several places in Fields Creek township. Rev. Colby S. Stevenson taught 
in the fall of 1833 a few miles south of Windsor. 

First resident physician, Richard Wade, who came to Tebo township 
in 1833. 

First horse-mill put up by Dr. Wade in 1833. 

First County Court held at Henry Avery's May 4 and 5, 1835. 

First Circuit Court at William Goff's, September 21, 1835. 

First postoffice, 1835, William Goff, postmaster. 

First water-mill put up by Littleberry Kimsey, on Honey Creek, 1837. 

First marriage performed by Henry Avery, parties unknown. 

First recorded marriage certificate, November 12, 1835, Abraham 
Mellice performed the ceremony for Thomas A. Knox and Miss Nancy 
Allen. 

First will of record was that of Phillip Cecil, dated July 23, 1836. 

First deed of record is one to secure a store debt and was signed by 
John Anderson, who owed Hall and Ketcham $51.62 and who put up as 
security in the hands of George P. Woodson three yoke of oxen. 

First ferry was started by Edward Mulholland, who was granted a 
license to keep a ferry across Grand River on section 9, township 40, 
range 25, he paying to the state $2.00 for the privilege. His right was 
to be six cents for a man, twelve cents for a man and horse, twenty-five 
cents for a one-horse wagon, thirty-one cents for a two-horse wagon, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 103 

fifty cents for a four-horse wagon, hogs, cattle and sheep four cents each. 

First sale of slaves on record belonged to the estate of B. Cox and 
took place in February, 1838. 

First coroner's inquest was on the body of Peggy Givens, the total 
expense, including everything except coffin, amounted to $6.80. 

First pauper under care of County Court, George Manship. 



CHAPTER XII. 



THE ORIGIN OF NAMES IN HENRY COUNTY 



RIVES— CHANGED TO HENRY— CLINTON— BLAIRSTOWN— CALHOUN— DEEPWATER 
-LEWIS STATION— MONTROSE— URICH— WINDSOR. 

Henry County organized as Rives County on December 13, 1834, 
first named in honor of William Cabell Rives, United States Senator from 
Virginia, who was born in 1795 and who died in 1864. Senator Rives 
was educated at Hampden Sydney and William and Mary and studied 
law under Thomas Jefferson. He sen'ed in the militia in 1814 in the 
second war with Great Britain. He was elected to Congress in 1822, was 
later appointed minister to France by President Jackson. In 1832 he 
became United States Senator, but resigned in 1834 because he was un- 
willing to vote to censure President Jackson for the removal of the United 
States bank deposits, of which Rives personally approved, but to which 
the Legislature of Virginia was opposed. In 1835 he was elected to the 
United States Senate as a Whig and was again appointed minister to 
France in 1849, under Zachary Taylor. Mr. Rives was not in sympathy 
with the secession of Virginia. His daughter is the celebrated author, 
Amelia Rives. 

On account of the change of politics of Mr. Rives, the Legislature 
of Missouri, in the year 1841, changed the name of Rives County to 
Henry County, in honor of Patrick Henry, another Virginian who ren- 
dered so much service to the cause of America at the time of the Revo- 
lutionary War. The following is a copy of the Act of Legislature of 
Missouri changing the name: 

"An Act to Change the Name of Rives County. 

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, 
as follows: 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 105 

Section 1. That all that portion of country bounded as follows, 
to-wit: Beginning at the southwest corner of section 30, township 44, of 
range 28 ; thence south, to the line between townships 39 and 40 ; thence 
east, to the line between ranges 23 and 24 ; thence north to the southeast 
corner of Johnson County ; thence west to the beginning, shall compose 
the County of Henry. 

Section 2. All laws in force relating to the county of Rives 
be construed to apply, in all respects, to the county of Henry, and ail 
acts and things done and performed, and contracts made, or which may 
be done or made, before the first day of September next, in the name 
of the county of Rives, shall be as valid and binding in that county and 
all others, as if made or done in the name of the county of Henry; and 
all matters and business which is commenced, or which shall before the 
said first day of September, be commenced in the name of the county of 
Rives, shall be continued in the name of the county of Henry, and all 
officers, civil or military, appointed, or to be appointed for the county 
of Rives, shall be deemed and taken to be appointed for the county of 
Henry, and are hereby authorized to act as such. 

Section 3. All courts, hei-etofore established and directed by law 
to be held in the county of Rives, shall in all respects apply to the county 
of Henry. 

Approved February 15, 1841." 

At the same time that the name of Henry County was changed from 
Rives to Henry, the name of Van Buren County was changed to Cass 
County because of the so-called treachery of former President Martin 
Van Buren to Senator Lewis Cass, nominee of the Democratic party. The 
origin of other names, as given by David W. Eaton in the Missouri His- 
torical Review, are as follow: 

Clinton, county seat of Henry County, selected by commissioners, 
Henderson Young and Daniel McDowell, of Lafayette; and Daniel M. 
Boone, of Jackson. They fixed upon the present site of Clinton and signed 
a patent to the site to the county, dated May 1, 1843. Named for DeWitt 
Clinton, Governor of New York, one of the prime movers in constructing 
the Erie Canal. 

Blairstown, laid out by a railroad company, and named in honor of 
John I. Blair, a noted capitalist. 

Calhoun, laid off in 1837, by James Nash and named for the states- 
man, John C. Calhoun, of South Carolina. 



106 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Deepwater, founded by Keith and Perry Coal Company, of Kansas 
City, and takes its name from the stream of deep water nearby. 

Lewis Station, named for Howell Lewis, an early settler. Lewis was 
a chairman in many of the government surveys in Benton and Henry 
Counties. 

Montrose, platted in 1870, by Brad Robinson, for the railroad company. 

Urich, platted in 1871, by H. C. McDonald, and named for the French 
General "Uhrich," who so heroically defended Strasburg against the Prus- 
sians in 1870. The first "h" was dropped to simplify the name. 

Windsor, founded by R. F. Taylor, and laid off in 1855 and for a 
time was called Belmont. Robert D. Means is responsible for the present 
name by calling it Windsor Castle, after the residence of Queen Victoria 
in England. Name was changed from Belmont to Windsor by Act of 
Legislature, December 9, 1859. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



TOPOGRAPHY AND GEOLOGY 



THE PRAIRIE REGION— ALTITUDE— FORESTS— CUMATE— SOIL, TYPES — SUMMIT 
SILT LOAM— OSAGE SILT LOAM— BATES SANDY LOAM— OSWEGO SILT LOAM- 
STATISTICS. 

While it is not the purpose of the author to give any detailed state- 
ment as to the geology or topography of Henry County, yet it may be 
well to record herein some facts gathered from the bulletin on "The Soils 
of Missouri," published in 1918 by Doctors Miller and Krusekopf of the 
College of Agriculture of the University of Missouri and from the latest 
figures given by the Missouri Department of Labor, concerning the sur- 
plus products of Henry County. Henry County is located in the south- 
west Missouri prairie region, of which the above authors speak as follows : 

"This region represents the smoothest portion of the State and is 
characterized by level to gently rolling topography. These features are 
due to the character of the underlying rocks which consist largely of 
shales, limestones and sandstones, and which dip to the northwest at a 
very low angle. From such a structure is derived a succession of flat 
plains and rolling escarpments. Where the clay shale beds prevail, the 
country is flat; where sandstones or limestones prevail, the hills are gen- 
erally low and rounded. Where the rocks of the upper carboniferous 
occur, as in Jackson and parts of Cass and Lafavette Counties, there are 
very frequent alternations of limestones with shale, and the resultant 
surface is more rolling or undulating. In the remainder of the prairie 
region, wide, gently sloped valleys and streams with gentle grades, broad 
flood plains and broad rounded divides are characteristic. In short, it is 
a mature topography — a smoothness of long continued erosion." 

This prairie region is the eastern edge of the great plains region 



108 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

which extends to the Rocky Mountains. This part of Missouri is under- 
lain by carboniferous rocks; the lower beds of these consist chiefly of 
shales and sandstones and the soils- that form are varied in texture. In 
the region of the upper coal measures there is a greater alternation of 
shales with limestones. In general, the various horizons of the carboni- 
ferous rocks occur in irregular belts extending from northeast to south- 
west. 

The altitude of Henry County is about 900 feet, which is about 100 
feet lower than Morgan County and some 200 feet lower than the south- 
em part of Jackson. 

At the time of settlement, a large portion of Missouri was forested. 
In the prairie regions of which Henry was a part, belts of timber varying 
from a few rods to ten miles or more could be found all along the larger 
streams. In the extreme eastern and southeast part of Henry County 
was an area of scrub-oak timber approaching the definition of a forest. 

In climate, Henry County is at about an average with other parts 
of Missouri. The annual mean temperature of the State is about fifty- 
four degrees. The mean temperature in January is about thirty degrees 
in the central counties, while in July the temperature ranges from seventy- 
seven degrees in northwest Missouri to eighty degrees in the extreme 
southeast. Periods of extreme cold are of short duration. 

The mean annual rainfall, taking the figures for the last twenty- 
one years, is from thirty-five to forty inches, the forty-inch line running 
along the southern boundary of Henry County. 

Several soil types are found in Henry County. Those described in 
the bulletin above referred to are the Summit silt loam in the northern 
part of the county, practically covering Bogard, Shawnee and half of Big 
Creek townships; the Osage silt loam, which varies in width from one- 
half mile to three miles in the Big Creek and Grand River bottoms, while 
the rest of the county is about equally divided between the Bates fine 
sandy loam and the Oswego silt loam. The bulletin above refeiTed to 
describes these soils as follows: ' 

The Summit silt loam, frequently known as black limestone land, 
includes the greater part of Jackson, Cass, Bates and Johnson Counties, 
and portions of Vernon, Henry, Pettis and Lafayette Counties. It is pre- 
vailingly a heavy silt loam with a rather heavy, plastic silty clay sub- 
soil. Typically, the surface soil is a black, dark brown or very dark gray 
silt loam, ten to eighteen inches in depth, and containing a good supply of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 109 

organic matter. The subsoil is a dark drab to dark gray clap loam, chang- 
ing at about twenty-four inches to a yellowish gray, granular, silty clay, 
mottled yellow and gray. The gradation from soil to subsoil is gradual, 
and is not marked by a sudden change in color or texture. Usually the 
true subsoil is not reached at less than eighteen inches, where the soil 
material becomes compact and waxy and the content of organic matter 
quickly decreases. Lime concretions and calcareous streaks are found 
at various depths in the subsoil. The Summit silt loam as a whole is 
rather uniform, such variations as occur being of minor importance, and 
needing only brief consideration. 

Poorly drained areas, usually at the head of shallow draws, are black 
in color in both soil and subsoil, and in texture are almost a clay loam. 
Such areas are frequently known as gumbo. Another variation is the 
so-called mulatto land, the surface soil of which is a dark brown mellow 
silt loam, grading at about fifteen inches into a yellowish brown or reddish 
brown crumbly, silty clay loam. The subsoil averages lighter in color 
and texture than the corresponding layer in the Summit silt loam. The 
soil material is derived chiefly from limestone and shale, the former 
probably entering into the formation more largely than the latter. The 
mulatto land occurs along streams, and averages more rolling in topog- 
raphy and -has more limestone outcrops than the typical soil. In its agri- 
cultural value it is equal or superior to the latter, and is especially prized 
for alfalfa. It is extensively developed in Jackson, Cass and Johnson 
Counties. 

Included in the Summit silt loam are small areas of Summit stony 
clay loam. These occupy the isolated hillocks, the sides of ridges and 
escarpments and stony slopes near streams. In these areas thin bedded 
limestone outcrops and fragments of the stone are scattered over the 
surface, making cultivation difficult. The soil material is dark gray to 
yellovnsh brown plastic clay. Most of the land of this character is in 
pasture and orchard to which it is well suited. The larger part of the 
Summit soil in Clay, Ray and Carroll Counties belongs to this phase. 

Throughout its entire extent, the Summit silt loam has a level to 
gently rolling surface, admirably adapted to an extensive type of farm- 
ing. The undulating topography is everywhere sufficient to insure good 
drainage. The streams and draws flow through shallow valleys, and the 
level of the plain is rarely more than twenty to fifty feet above the valley 
bottoms. In general, the areas north of the Missouri River average more 



110 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

rolling than the main body of the type south of the river. The depth of 
the soil mantle is deep, frequently fifty to sixty feet, and the underlying 
rocks are rarely exposed. Limestone has entered more largely into the 
composition of the soil in the northern part of the area than in the south- 
em part. The original vegetation consisted of prairie grass, with narrow- 
belts of elm, oak, hickory and walnut timber along the streams. 

The Summit silt loam is one of the best soils in the state, and com- 
pares favorably with the better glacial and loessial soils of North Mis- 
souri. All of the type is highly improved, and is used for general farm 
crops, such as corn, wheat, grass, and oats. Com yields from thirty-five 
to seventy-five bushels, wheat twelve to twenty-five bushels, oats twenty 
to fifty bushels, hay one to two tons per acre. On the better farms the 
higher figures are approached more frequently than the lower. Grass 
and small grain do especially well. Clover and alfalfa thrive on most of 
the type. 

In general the farm practices prevailing on the Summit silt loam 
are the same as those on the better prairie lands in the northern part 
of the State. Large numbers of live stock are marketed annually. Spe- 
cial crops, such as sorghum, millet, soy beans and cowpeas are grown to 
a small extent. In former years flax was an important crop but it is no 
longer grown. 

Land values range from $65 to $150 an acre, depending up location 
and improvements. Most sales are made at $80 to $100 an acre. In a 
few areas values reach $200 per acre. The farms are uniformly large 
and are well developed. 

The composition of this soil is shown in the following table: 

Composition of Summit Silt Loam. 

(Average of 11 analyses.) 

Lime re- 
Nitrogen Phosphorus Potassium quirement 
lbs. lbs. lbs. lbs. 

In 2,000,000 pounds of soil ___ 3290 1645 30390 3235 

In 2,000,000 pounds of sub-soil 1900 1705 27030 1500 

It will be seen that this soil is among the better upland types from 
the standpoint of reserve food supply. While the lime requirement is 
rather high in many instances, in other cases the soil is not acid. The 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 111 

average requirement is approximately one and a half tons but the re- 
sulting injury is partly offset by the fertile condition of the soil. The 
nitrogen supply is not exceptionally high so that good systems of rota- 
tion and the saving of farm manures are necessary for continued pro- 
ductivity. Phosphates can be expected to give returns on the more worn 
areas, when properly used. 

The Osage silt loam a represents the alluvial soils within the re- 
sidual prairie region. The type as mapped has a wide range in texture, 
but the class name has been used to indicate the predominating char- 
acter. Aside from the difference in origin, the Osage soils are lighter 
in color than the Wabash soils of the glacial region, but are darker than 
the Huntington soils of the Ozark region. In general, the Osage soils 
vary from black to light gray in color, although dominantly they are 
dark brown or dark gray. Texturally, they range from fine sandy loam 
to heavy clay, with a preponderance of the finer grades. 

The Osage silt loam is by far the most extensive type, and almost 
completely occupies the valley bottoms along all the larger streams, except 
where interrupted by the Osage clay. It consists of a black, dark gray 
or gray, mellow silt loam, with a drab or gray silty clay subsoil. Fre- 
quently there is little change in color or texture throughout the soil sec- 
tion, but in general the subsoil contains more clay and is lighter in 
color than the surface soil. That portion of the type in the region of 
the Summit and Oswego soils is much darker in color and the surface 
soil deeper than in the southern areas. In the region of the Cherokee 
and Bates soils — notably in Vernon, Barton and Henry Counties — the 
surface soil is prevailingly a light color, ashy material carrying many 
iron concretions, underlain at about twenty-four inches by a gray silty 
clay. This light colored phase is poorly drained and is not productive. 
The greater part of it is timbered with willow, oak, ash, elm and hickory. 

The Osage silt loam, particularly the dark colored phase, is easily 
cultivated and where well drained is very productive. The greater part 
of it is used for com and yields of forty to seventy-five bushels are 
obtained. Areas not subject to overflow and having good internal drain- 
age are well suited to alfalfa. The greatest need of the soil is good 
drainage. 

In the region of the Bates fine sandy loam the alluvial soil is 
usually of a loam texture. The surface soil to a depth of ten to fifteen 



112 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

inches is a dark brown or grayish brown loam or fine sandy loam with 
a yellowish brown subsoil. The most extensive areas of this phase occur 
along Horse and Clear creeks in Benton and Vernon counties. It is 
highly prized as corn, clover, alfalfa and truck soil. 

The areas of heavy clay soil within the Osage silt loam are locally 
known as gumbo. The soil consists of a black silty clay, eight to twelve 
inches in depth, underlain by bluish black or drab, waxy, tenacious 
clay. The latter, when dry, cracks and becomes hard and intractable. 
The surface soil, although it contains a large amount of organic matter, 
is difficult to work, except under the most favorable moisture conditions. 
The most extensive areas of Osage clay are found along the Osage 
River and its large tributaries, in Bates, Cass, Henry and Vernon counties. 
All of the type is subject to prolonged overflows, and therefore little of it 
is under cultivation. It produces coarse hay, averaging one to four tons 
per acre. When moisture conditions are favorable corn and grass do 
well. Large areas have been reclaimed by ditching and tiling. 

Where properly drained the high agricultural value of the Osage soil 
is well known. Land values vary mainly with the character of the drain- 
age, but also with the grade of the soil. They range from $25 to $100 
per acre. 

The Bates fine sandy loam has a wide distribution in the southwestern 
part of the State, and is one of the most variable types mapped. The 
prevailing texture is that of a coarse loam, but ranges from silt loam to 
coarse sandy loam. The subsoils are somewhat heavier but friable. The 
surface soils range in color from dark brown to yellowish gray, the darker 
shades predominating on the smoother areas, especially in the northern 
areas of the type. The subsoils are some shade of brown and show mot- 
tlings of red, brown and yellow. Sandstone fragments are scattered 
through the soil, and frequently bed rock is encountered on the steeper 
slopes. 

The silty areas included in the Bates fine sandy loam consist of 
a dark brown to grayish brown silt loam, grading at about eight to 
twelve inches into light-brown friable silt loam, which is underlain at 
about eighteen to twenty inches by crumbly silty clay or fine sandy clay, 
highly mottled red, brown and yellow. This silty phase occupies the 
almost level areas of the type and is typical prairie land. The Bates 
loam and Bates fine sandy loam have brown or grayish brown surface 
soils with yellowish brown subsoils, usually of a somewhat heavier texture 
than the surface material, although sometimes the subsoil is coarser 




GUY P. GRAY, THE FIRST SOLDIER FROM HEXRY COLXTY TO GIVE 
UP HIS LIFE IN THE WORLD WAR 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 113 

than the soil. The latter condition obtains when the sand rock is within 
three or four feet of the surface. The sand content ranges from very- 
fine to medium, but the finer grades are usually greatly in excess. Asso- 
ciated with the more rolling areas is a large amount of shale and sand- 
stone fragments disseminated through the soil and subsoil. Sandstone 
outcrops are common and steep slopes of stony loam are found. 

The most persistent characteristic of Bates soils is the bright red 
mottlings of the subsoil, frequently so intense as to give the lower sub- 
soil a red color. The soil material is derived from sandstone and shale. 
The fonner is only a few feet in thickness, so that the resultant soil is 
varied and rather silty where the shales predominate. 

The Bates fine sandy loam forms an irregular belt along the south- 
ern and eastern edge of the residual prairie region. It occurs most ex- 
tensively in Barton, Vernon, Cedar, St. Clair and Henry counties, although 
numerous small areas are found in adjoining counties. The general loca- 
tion of the area is indicated on the soil map. However, it must not be 
considered as occupying all the country indicated as this type on the map. 
In many places small patches of Cherokee silt loam are included which 
are usually only a few acres in extent and therefore too small to be indi- 
cated. Near the eastern edge of the area there are included small amounts 
of stony loam that belong to the Ozark soils. 

The surface features of the Bates fine sandy loam vary from level 
to steeply rolling. The former represents the typical prairie land, while 
the latter includes the mounds or hillocks, and timbered land bordering 
the streams. Practically all of the type can be easily cultivated. 

Corn, grass and cowpeas are the most important crops grown. A 
considerable part of the type remains as virgin prairie sod. Corn is 
extensively grown, and where the soil is well supplied with organic matter 
fair yields are obtained. Wheat is not extensively grown except on the 
silty areas, and it usually requires fertilization to produce profitable crops. 
Cowpeas and kafir thrive remarkably well. The lighter textured soil 
is highly prized for small fruits and truck. Strawberries and bush fruits 
are successfully grown in some localities. Wherever areas of Bates 
fine sandy loam are located near transportation lines, so that potatoes 
do not need to be hauled more than three or four miles to the shipping 
point, this crop may prove an excellent money crop. Alfalfa has been 
tried with some success but owing to the deficiency of lime carbonate in 
both soil and subsoil and the rather low fertility, this land is not par- 
ticularly adapted to the crop. 



114 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

While the Bates fine sandy loam is not considered a strong soil, 
and while it quickly deteriorates under bad management, it can, by the 
use of proper rotations and treatment, be maintained in a fairly high 
state of productiveness. The cultural methods ought to be such as to 
counteract as far as possible the droughty tendency and to prevent erosion. 
It is not a grass soil, although orchard grass and clover can be made to 
grow fairly well. Greater dependence must therefore be placed on forage 
crops, such as sorghum, kafir, cowpeas, soybeans and rye to supply feed 
for the livestock. 

Although the greater part of the Bates fine sandy loam has been 
brought under cultivation, much of the sandier and more rolling land 
remains timbered. The latter occurs extensively in Cedar, Dade and St. 
Clair counties. The silt loam phase and most of the loam are under 
cultivation. In general, the proximity to railroads determines the extent 
to which the type is tilled, the more remote areas being thus only 
partially developed. 

Land values range from ten dollars to twenty-five dollars per acre 
for the timber and poorly improved areas and fifty dollars to eighty-five 
dollars per acre for the better land near the tovms. Farm improve- 
ments are of fair quality. Better transportation facilities would add 
greatly to the extension and profitableness of farming on this soil type. 

Soil management on this land varies with the phase of the soil and 
the location. It can not be considered particularly valuable agricultural 
land, although areas of it are very good and proper systems of manage- 
ment will bring good money returns. It is a soil which is well drained 
so that the principal problems are those of erosion and of fertility main- 
tenance. 

The composition of this soil area, showing the Bates silt loam samples 
and the Bates fine sandy loam samples averaged separately, is given in 
the following tables : 

Composition of Bates Silt Loam. 

(Average of 7 analyses.) 

Lime re- 
Nitrogen Phosphorus Potassium quirement 
lbs. lbs. lbs. lbs. 

In 2,000,000 pounds of soil__ 2920 1260 25425 4845 

In 2,000,000 pounds of subsoil 2795 760 22645 2040 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 115 

Composition of Bates Fine Sandy Loam. 

(Average of 4 analyses.) 

Lime re- 
Nitrogen Phosphorus Potassium quirement 
lbs. lbs. lbs. lbs. 

In 2,000,000 pounds of soil__ 2235 610 18115 1630 

In 2,000,000 pounds of subsoil 1190 595 21570 3120 

The analyses show decided deficiencies of nitrogen, phosphorus and 
potassium, particularly in the more sandy areas. While little experi- 
mental data dealing with this land is available there is little doubt from 
its general composition that it will respond to both phosphates and 
potash while in many cases lime will be needed for successful legume 
growing. The fact that the land is not very good bluegrass land warrants 
the recommendation of hardier grasses, such as orchard grass, timothy, 
and meadow fescue, combined with alsike and white clover for pastures. 
Red clover will grow satisfactorily on much of this land which is not too 
acid and it can be combined with timothy for a hay crop. Liming and 
the use of phosphates will usually make red clover satisfactory on practi- 
cally all of this soil. On the better areas, alfalfa may be grown eco- 
nomically, where lime and manure are used. 
* * * 

The Oswego silt loam, like the Summit silt loam, forms part of the 
dark prairie soils of southwest Missouri. In fact, where these two types 
come in contact, separation is extremely difficult and the boundaries 
therefore are in some places more or less arbitrary. Geographically and 
agriculturally the Oswego silt loam lies between the Summit silt loam on 
the north and the lighter Cherokee and Bates soils on the south. In its 
physical properties it is characterized by a dark gray silty surface soil, 
nearly level topography ,and a compact clayey subsoil. Typically the 
surface soil is a dark gray or grayish brown to black, mellow silt loam, 
becoming somewhat lighter in color at about ten or twelve inches, or in 
the lower six inches of the top silty layer. This light colored subsurface 
is not always present, although in general, the subsurface is lighter 
colored than the surface soil. Usually the well-developed gray layer 
occurs only on broad, level areas, and is absent where the surface is 
rolling. The subsoil at a depth of about sixteen to eighteen inches is a 
dark drab to yellowish gray, stiff, tenacious clay, passing gradually at 
about thirty to thirty-six inches into a more friable silty clay, mottled 



116 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

gray and yellow. The layer of heavy clay outcrops in banks and cuts as 
a brown, granular clay. Where the heavy subsoil is hard and compact as 
on the flat poorly drained areas, it is locally known as hardpan. In very 
wet or dry seasons these areas give considerable trouble to the farmer. 
The impervious character of the subsoil seems to be due to a compaction 
of the clay, rather than to a cementation of iron or other material. 

The Oswego silt loam occurs as an irregular belt extending from 
Moniteau county to the Kansas State line, and includes parts of Cooper, 
Pettis, Johnson, Henry, Bates and Vernon counties. In the latter two 
counties it forms the level basin-like areas within the Summit silt loam, 
but to the east it occupies the broad interstream divides. The character- 
istic topography, which is level to undulating, is due largely to the uni- 
form weathering of the shales from which the soil is derived and the 
underlying horizontal beds of limestone upon which the type rests. In 
general, the surface drainage is well established, but subdrainage is de- 
ficient. 

The Oswego silt loam is a general farming soil, and in its pro- 
ductivity compares rather favorably with the Summit silt loam, although 
the average yields are considerably lower. Corn is the chief and usually 
the most profitable crop. Wheat and oats are also extensively grown. 
Clover is not an important crop on this soil but in recent years cowpeas 
and soybeans have come into wide use. Alfalfa can be made to grow 
only where the land is limed and sometimes drained and fertilized. In 
general, a large percent of the Oswego silt loam is used for grass and 
small grains than of the Summit silt loam. Systematic crop rotation is 
little practiced. Where rotations are used they do not usually include 
enough legumes. Land values range from $40 to $100 per acre. 

The table given shows the composition of this soil: 

Composition of Oswego Silt Loam. 

(Average of 8 analyses.) 

Lime re- 
Nitrogen Phosphorus Potassium quirement 
lbs. lbs. lbs. lbs. 

In 2,000,000 pounds of soiL_ 2910 1510 27785 5440 

In 2,000,000 pounds of subsoil 1905 1575 28935 1425 

The deficiencies of nitrogen and phosphorus are the important ones in 
this soil area. The need of lime, while variable, is usually significant. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 117 

Proper soil management includes the establishment of a crop rotation 
which contains a leguminous crop at least once in four years. Where lime 
can be secured cheaply it should be applied in order to make clover grow- 
ing more certain and clover should then be included in the rotation. 
Soybeans and cowpeas may be substituted for clover under some condi- 
tions. Farm manures should be carefully saved and applied to the land. 
Phosphates can be applied with profit to wheat and usually to com. Good 
results may also be expected on clover and grass. 

Fall plowing is practiced quite largely on this soil. Where this is 
done the fields can be worked earlier in the spring, and a good seedbed 
can be secured more readily than in the case of spring plowing. Spring 
plowing is often late because of the rather poor subdrainage of this land. 
On the more level areas and under careful systems of farming, tile 
drainage will be found profitable. Certain areas such as seepy hill slopes 
and low lying tracts in the rolling areas will also respond to tiling. 

The following statistics are taken from the last report of the Bureau 
of Labor Statistics and give the surplus products of Henry County for 
the year 1915, the last year available at the present time: 

Live Stock. — Cattle, 11,203 head; hogs, 51,168 head; horses and mules, 
3,148 head; sheep, 3,620 head; jacks, stallions, 5 head. 

Farm Crops.— Wheat, 270,912 bushels ; corn, 243,017 bushels ; oats, 98,- 
736 bushels; rye, 64 bushels; millet seed, 900 bushels; hay, 413 tons: 
broom corn, 204 pounds; popcorn, 204 pounds; bluegrass seed, 41,790 
pounds; nuts, 7,508 pounds. 

Mill Products. — Flour, 63,955 barrels; corn meal, 150,000 pounds; 
bran, shipstuff, 9,500,000 pounds; feed, chops, 850,000 pounds. 

Mine and Quarry Products. — Coal, 157,233 tons; clay, 650 cars; ma- 
cadam, 14 cars. 

Forest Products. — Lumber, 3 cars ; logs, 2 cars ; walnut logs, 16 cars ; 
cordwood, 72 cars; excelsior or sawdust, 8 cars. 

Farmyard Products. — Poultry, live, 1,815,752 pounds; poultry, 
dressed, 1,164,750 pounds; eggs, 3,136,410 dozen; feathers, 51,440 pounds. 

Stone and Clay Products. — Brick, clay products, 41,055 tons. 

Packing House Products. — Hides and pelts, 34,966 pounds; dressed 
meats, 18,244 pounds ; tallow, 1,600 pounds. 

Flowers and Nursery Products. — Nursery stock, 750 pounds; cut 
flowers, 750 pounds. 

Dairy Products. — Butter, 99,181 pounds; ice cream, 2,100 gallons; 
milk and cream, 73,340 gallons. 



118 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Wool and Mohair. — Wool, 15,546 pounds. 

Liquid Products. — Soda water, 22,300 cases; vinegar, 300 gallons; 
cider, 300 gallons. 

Fish and Game Products. — Game, 68,258 pounds ; furs, 10,194 pounds. 

Medicinal Products. — Roots and hei'bs, 10 pounds. 

Vegetables. — Vegetables, 682 pounds; potatoes, 15 bushels; sweet 
potatoes, 200 bushels; tomatoes, 10 bushels; onions, 13 bushels; canned 
vegetables and fruits, 3,256 pounds. 

Fruits. — Miscellaneous fresh fruits, 500 pounds; dried fruits, 150 
pounds; apples, 306 barrels; plums, 170 pounds; grapes, 100 pounds; 
peaches, 550 pounds ; pears, 1,150 pounds. 

Apiary and Cane Products. — Honey, 881 pounds; beeswax, 100 
pounds; sorghum molasses, 145 gallons. 

Unclassified Products. — Paper bags, 216,000 pounds; mining machin- 
ery, 105 tons; coke, 914 tons; junk, 38 cars; ice, 249 tons; coal tar, 8,937 
tons; cigars, 120,000. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



FROM 1840 TO 1860 



SETTLEMENTS IN DEEPWATBR TOWNSHIP— NEAR CALHOUN— EARLY CHURCH 
ORGANIZATIONS— NEW TOWNSHIPS— INCORPORATION OF CLINTON— WIND- 
SOR SETTLED — GERMANTOWN— MONTROSE— OSAGE TOWNSHIP— LBESVILLE 
— COALESBURG. 

While it has been repeatedly stated that it is not the purpose of this 
part of the History to be a biographical account, yet the author has in 
preceding chapters suggested a few of the names of men and women who 
came among the early settlers. Prior to this chapter, he has discussed 
the arrival of many who came earlier than 1840. In that year, Deepwater 
township was organized. In 1841, Alexander Gregg was appointed justice 
of the peace. In the following year, a number of settlers had moved to 
the township; it was more than ten years later, however, before Doctor 
Stewart built the first house in Germantown and the first store there 
was opened in the year 1857 by Jacob Goldsmith. Mr. Goldsmith used 
for his store-room a little frame building which Doctor Stewart had put 
up for his office. This was the beginning of the town of Germantown. 
In 1850 a postoffice called Deepwater, was opened at John C. Stone's, some 
three miles east of Germantown. In 1855, John H. Austin took it to his 
cabin, where he held it until 1860, when James Gates moved it to his 
home, two miles farther north. Two years later, it was returned to the 
widow of John H. Austin, where it remained until 1864 when it was 
removed to Germantown, although the name of the postoffice was never 
changed. As stated elsewhere, William Tyree was the first man to 
settle in the open prairie ; here, in this part of the county, he raised his 
family. 

In the northeastern part of the county, there was also a scene of set- 



120 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

tlement activity. As was also stated in another chapter, the town of 
Calhoun was laid out by Mr. Nash, in 1835. The first tavern license 
was granted in November, 1845, to John Taylor, who paid twenty dollars 
for the privilege. Mathew Arbuckle, in February, 1846, received a license 
to open a saloon in Calhoun; in August, 1844, was held the first election 
in the town of Calhoun. 

Among the early organizations of Henry County, was the organiza- 
tion of the Bear Creek Methodist Episcopal Church, South. It is not 
necessai-y to try to recall the names of the original members ; suffice it to 
mention the fact that in 1855, they built Bear Creek Church, a frame 
structure which cost at the time, $700 ; the first pastor was Rev. McDaniel 
and the first presiding elder, Rev. Jamison. In Leesville township, the 
Tebo Baptist Church, organized in 1841, also erected a building in the 
year 1855, at a cost of some $600; this congregation, however, had pre- 
viously erected a log building in the year of their organization; the first 
pastor was Daniel Briggs. Mount Olivet Chuixh, of Springfield township, 
was organized in 1844 ; the Rev. William A. Gray, who had taught school 
several years, but who had been ordained a minister in 1843, secured 
the organization and building of a local church. Rev. P. C. Colwell, of 
Johnson County, helped to complete the organization, but the Rev. William 
A. Gray was installed the first pastor. For a number of years, the church 
also served as a school house. In 1852, however, another church was 
erected, it being displaced in 1874 by a modern church building. 

The years between 1850 and 1860 marked a steady growth all over 
the county. Two new townships were organized, Bogard being organ- 
ized in 1857 and Osage in 1858. The settlers in the town of Clinton 
thought it worth while to incorporate and consequently, in the year 1858, 
the following petition for incorporation was filed with the County Court: 

"Whereas, a petition was presented to the court siged by sundry 
citizens of the town of Clinton in this county, praying to have said town 
incorporated, and setting forth the metes and bounds thereof, and it 
appearing to the satisfaction of the court that two-thirds of the taxable 
inhabitants of said town have signed said petition, and, also, that the 
prayer of said petition is reasonable. It is thei-efore ordered by the court 
that the said town of Clinton be declared to be incorporated within the 
following metes and bounds as set forth in said petition, towit: The 
southeast quarter of section number three, and that part of the west half 
of the southwest quarter of section two, lying south of FrankHn street, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 121 

contained in Davis' Addition to said town, all in township number forty- 
one (41) of range number 26, and to be known, styled by the name of 
the "Town of Clinton" ; and the court do hereby appoint George H. Warth, 
William H. Schroeder, William H. Cock, Jerald G. Dorman and Andrew M. 
Tutt, a board of trustees for said town, according to the statute in such 
cases made and provided." 

"February 6, 1858." 

Twenty-three years after Clinton was first settled, or in the year 
1860, it had a population of 500. 

In 1855, R. F. Taylor, who had located in Henry County in 1839 and 
who had purchased the ground upon which the city of Windsor now 
stands, platted the town which was first called Belmont. An attempt 
was soon made to change the name, of Belmont to Spring Grove; upon 
taking the matter up with the postal authorities, it was found that there 
was not only another Belmont in the State of Missouri, but also another 
Spring Grove. It was then that Robert D. Means urged the name of 
Windsor. Two years before the town was platted, the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church, South, was organized. The old school house erected about 
a" half mile west of the present town site of the city of W^indsor, was 
used as the first building. In this church, the first pastor, Rev. J. M. 
Kelley preached. He was succeeded in turn by Rev. Joseph Wood and 
Rev. Bond. The first postmaster of Windsor was Jefferson Means, serving 
only three months, some three years before the town was laid out. It 
must be remembered that the postoffice was not called Windsor at this 
time. In fact, in the year 1862, Mrs. Egbert King took the postofiice 
over into Pettis County, some two miles from Belmont, as the town was 
called. 

The year 1857 saw the beginning of the town of Germantown. Here 
John H. Austin bought a lot of about one-half acre in extent for $38. 
After the village of Germantown was started, the Catholics moved their 
church from about a mile and a half away on Mr. Schmedding's land, 
to the present site of the Germantown Church. This old stone church, 
which still remains, has since that time received many additions and 
much alterations; it still stands, however, a monument to the work of 
the men and women who have lived in that community and who have 
followed the faith of their fathers all through the years. 

Prior to 1870, ther seemed to be a bright future for Germantown; 
the coming of the railroad, however, through Montrose, four miles- away, 



122 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

made Montrose and not Germantown the center of business, and therefore 
the populous town in the southwestern part of the county. During these 
ten years, Tebo township boasted of about one-fourth of the population 
of the county. In 1850, the number was 1,164; this had more than 
doubled by 1860. 

Another church was organized in the neighborhood of the Fields' 
settlement in the year 1857. The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 
was built at the cost of about $600. The first minister was Rev. Durant ; 
later. Rev. J. Headley, Rev. Henry Webster and Rev. J. C. Thompson, 
ministered to the congregation. This church was near the well-known 
Fields' settlement; Joseph Fields was one of the first settlers and after- 
wards, the first sheriff of the county. His brother, Nathan, settled in 
Henry County in 1834. On account of this settlement, the creek was 
called Fields Creek — it had formerly been called Lake Creek. This fact 
brings out the significance of many of the names of the streams of 
water; the little stream running through Clinton was called Town Creek, 
because it ran by the town. The names of Fields Creek and Town Creek 
still survive. 

The first voting precinct in Big Creek township was at the house of 
Thomas Kimsey. The Kimsey school house was designated as the voting 
precinct in 1858. In 1865, the County Court ordered the voting precinct 
to be changed to Huntingdale, where it has since remained. 

Osage township was organized in the year 1858. Judge Hillegas, one 
of the county judges, settled in this township in 1856. The order of 
the court organizing Osage township, is as follows: 

"Ordered, that a municipal township be established within the fol- 
lowing boundaries, towit: 

"Beginning at a point on Grand River, where the county line be- 
tween Benton and Henry intersects said river ; thence south to the corner 
of the county; thence west along the county line dividing Henry and 
Saint Clair Counties to where the range line between ranges 26 and 27 
intersects the county line ; thence north along said range line to where it 
intersects Deepwater Creek; thence east down the main channel of said 
Deepwater Creek to where it intersects Grand River; thence down the 
middle of the channel of said river to place of beginning. 

"And that the house of George W. Bowles be constituted and declared 
the voting precinct of said township, and that said township be known 



, HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 123 

and called by the name of Osage township and that the same be certified 
forthwith." 

In 1853, Grand River township petitioned the County Court not to 
grant a dramshop license in the township ; so far as is known, this is the 
first case where there was any organized attempt to prevent the issuance 
of dramshop licenses in the county. 

The town of Leesville was laid out by A. J. Lee and John French, in 
the year 1834. French built the first store and Lee, the first residence. 
Lee occcupied the store, however, as the first merchant and became the 
first postmaster. He called the name of the town, "Tebo," after Tebo 
township. The second residence in the town was built by Doctor Hill, 
who was the first physician. The first blacksmith was A. Dempsey. D. B. 
Reavis had a horsepower sawmill and sawed out the lumber for both his 
own dwelling and for that of A. J. Lee. Robert Briggs taught the first 
school, near Tebo Chui'ch. In 1857 the name of the postofiice was changed 
from Tebo to Leesville, because the name of the town had been so changed. 
Mr. Lee remained postmaster until 1860, at the time he closed out his 
business. He was succeeded by William L. Pigg. 

A few miles from Leesville, a little village which went by the name 
of Coale's store, was settled in 1859. The village which grew up around 
the store was called Coalesburg, after 1880. The postofiice which had 
been known as Galbreath, was called Coalesburg after that time; later, 
the name was changed to Coale, as it still remains, although the postofiice 
has been discontinued, patrons being served by rural routes out of Clinton. 
On the 6th of September, 1854, the Bethlehem Baptist Church was organ- 
ized in the residence of Mr. James Lee. In 1856, the first church was 
built, Elder Peter Brown serving as its first pastor. In the same year, but 
two months later, the Surprise Cumberland Presbyterian Church was 
organized, the Rev. J. H. Houk being the first pastor. 



CHAPTER XV. 



CIVIL WAR DECADE 



DECLINE IN POPULATION— COMING OF THE RAILRO-'UD— ORGANIZATION OF CLIN- 
TON CHURCHES— THE SILVER CORNET BAND — WINDSOR CHURCHES — CAL- 
HOUN INCORPORATED — SHAWNEE MOUND AND HUNTINGDALE — 'SQUIRE 
WILLIAM PAUL— COUNTY FARM BOUGHT— CLINTON BECOMES CITY OF 
FOURTH CLASS — DESTRUCTIVE FIRE— WINDSOR INCORPORATED— "THE BIG 
FIRE" IN MONTROSE. 

The period between 1860 and 1870 was marked by the Civil War 
that tore families apart and retarded the growth not only of Henry County, 
but of all the rest of the United States ; elsewhere in this volume, appears 
a discussion of Henry County's part in this war. The effect of the war 
on the county may be seen by the following- statement, which is taken 
from the first issue of the Advocate, January 1, 1866: 

"Clinton has a population of 250 inhabitants, white and black." 
The following boundary of Clinton was described in November, 1866 : 
"The west half section No. 2, and the east half section No. 3, town- 
ship No. 41, of range 26, or in other words; commencing at a rock near 
a peach tree, in the yard and directly south of the residence of Doctor 
McLanev running east to the northwest corner of the fair ground; thence 
north, to the township line, near one acre, owned by Charles Snyder at 
the north end of Seventh street ; thence west, one mile to the line of George 
W. Hancock's, or to the northeast quarter of section 3; thence directly 
south, one mile, to the southwest corner of Oak Grove Cemetery; thence 
east, on Ohio street, to the place of beginning." 

In 1870, the census gave Clinton a population of 840, a gain of fifty 
per cent in four years' time. On the 23rd day of August, 1870, the town 
celebrated the building of the railroad and the coming of the railway 
locomotive to the little village. The year 1870 also marked the building 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 125 

of the Franklin school building in Clinton. This will be remembered as 
the central or main part of the old eighteen-room building which stood 
on the spot where now stands the Clinton High School. Two wings were 
added later. 

In 1866, was organized the first Presbyterian church of Clinton, the 
Rev. J. B. Allen being secured to serve as pastor in the year 1870. In 
the next year, the Cumberland Presbyterian Church was organized with 
B. L. Owen and B. L. Coyles, as ruling elders. In 1868, the first church 
was erected, costing $3,000; this was replaced in 1877 by a fine brick 
structure, costing the sum of $9,000. This building is the one which is 
now occupied by the first Presbyterian Church. 

It seems that the year 1866 was the year for organizing churches 
in Clinton, for on the first Sabbath in June, under the leadership of Dr. S. 
Jones, the Methodist Episcopal Church was organized. The First Baptist 
Church was organized in September, of the same year, by the Rev. James 
Wood. The original members included the Barlowes, T. D. Hancock, Will- 
iam H. Dodge, Sallie Avery, P. S. and Laura Jennings. In the same year, 
the Christian Church re-organized under the leadership of Elder Birge, 
although the first meeting of the denomination was held as early as 1854. 

In 1869, a group of musicians gathered together the Clinton Silver 
Cornet Band. The second set of instruments which this band bought is 
said to have cost $1,000. It was one of many such organizations that 
sprang up throughout the country. A few years later there appeared in 
the newspapers the advertisement of W. L. Windsor, a well-known merch- 
ant tailor, to the effect that he "made a specialty of band uniforms." Few 
tailors in the country towns such as Clinton was would in these days, 
waste money by advertising to furnish band uniforms. 

The town of Windsor was also hit hard by the Civil War; however, 
in the last five years of the decade, 1860-1870, it doubled its population, 
having about 550 people within its limits on the latter date. 

In Windsor, these years were noted by the organization of several 
churches. The Pleasant Grove Baptist Church was moved to Windsor 
in 1867. It had been organized as far back as 1853. In 1865, the Rev. 
B. F. Lawler took charge and from that time on, notable progress was 
made. At this church, the Tebo Baptist Association was formed. 1869 
saw the beginning of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Windsor, while 
the Congregational Church had been in existence nearly a year. The 
Christian Church of Windsor met and organized in the early part of the 



126 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

decade, while the Mount Zion Church of the Cumberland Presbyterian 
organization came into existence some five years before the Civil War 
began. Outside of the towns, the Stone Chapel was organized by the 
Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 1866 in Germantown. In 1869, the 
name was changed to Camp Branch; in 1871, it became the Montrose 
Cumberland Presbyterian Church. 

Another town was incorporated in the year 1870. The petition appear- 
ing upon the records of the County Court under date of the 10th of 
February, is as follows: 

"Whereas, a petition was this day presented to the court signed by 
sundry citizens of the town of Calhoun, in the County of Henry, pray- 
ing to have the said town incorporated and setting forth the metes and 
bounds thereof, and it appearing to the satisfaction of the court that 
two-thirds of the taxable inhabitants of said town have signed said peti- 
tion, and also that the prayer in said petition is reasonable, it is there- 
fore ordered by the court that the inhabitants of said town of Calhoun 
be declared to be incorporated within the metes and bounds as set forth 
in said petition, to wit: 

"Beginning at the southwest quarter of the northwest quarter of 
the southeast quarter of section No. 36, township 43, of range 25, run- 
ning north 320 rods ; thence east 320 rods ; thence south 320 rods ; thence 
west to the place of beginning, and to be known and styled by the name 
and style of the 'Inhabitants of the Town of Calhoun.' And the court 
doth hereby appoint Tower Thomasson, Joseph Hairrell, J. W. Minish, Will- 
iam Gutridge and J. F. Agnew as a board of trustees for said town, ac- 
cording to the statutes in such cases made and provided." 

The growth of the newly incorporated town of Calhoun was de- 
pendent upon her pottery business ; this continued to be her chief industry 
until the coming of the railroads and the introduction of machinery made 
the hand potteries unprofitable. As was done in Clinton, there was a 
cornet band organized in Calhoun during this decade. 

Shortly after the Civil War, the postoffice in Shawnee was moved 
from a place about three miles west of the present little village of Shaw- 
nee Mound, where it was first established about 1860, to its present loca- 
tion, and called by the present name of Shawnee Mound. In 1869, the 
Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Shawnee Mound was organized. The 
other village in this township became the voting precinct on the 11th 
of November, 1865, when the polls were moved from Kimseyville to Hunt- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 127 

ingdale. The first house built in what is now Huntingdale, was built by 
Aaron Kahn, in the year 1855. The first physician was Doctor Royston ; 
the first postmaster, B. L. Quarles, for many years county clerk of Henry 
County. No history of this part of the county, nor in fact, of the county 
itself, would be complete without at least a mention of "Squire" William 
Paul, as he is known to all the present generation, who was bom in Hardin 
County, Kentucky, in 1820, and who came to the. land on which he is 
now living at this writing, in 1842. Squire Paul built the house in which, 
on January 1, 1919, he was still living. The stories which he tells of early 
pioneer life should be printed in a book; many a time he has driven 
cattle from near his present home to Boonville to ship them by boat to 
St. Louis. He would return on the train to Sedalia and then walk home. 
He relates as the biggest sale which he ever attended, the sale of 
negroes for which he served as auctioneer; the total sale amounted to 
$22,500; the highest price of $1,330 being paid for "Big Jim." For his 
work as auctioneer, he was given $2. He made of walnut logs the bed 
on which he slept for sixty years. He bought four hundred of the walnut 
logs for $1 per hundred. He was a justice of the peace for fifty years and 
many a time held court under the shade tree in his yard. 

The first church at Huntingdale was the Mount Zion Presbyterian 
Church, the organization of which was effected in 1855; the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, was organized in 1869, while the Methodist 
Episcopal Church appeared in 1871. In Davis township, the La Due Chris- 
tian Church was organized in 1866. The year 1867 was marked by the 
establishment of Consville by Captain J. L. Consollis, who was the first 
postmaster. Two years later, Consville was joined to Brownington, which 
was first located in 1869 by William M. Doyle. 

From 1870 to 1880, the growth, of Henry County was steady, but 
marked by no unusual events except as are described elsewhere in this 
volume. The year 1871 marks the purchase of an improved farm for 
county purposes. One hundred and sixty acres, including twenty acres 
of woodland, was purchased for the sum of $7,200, the same to be paid 
in three equal installments of $2,400 each. Robert Allen was put in 
charge as superintendent and J. W. Stewart as county physician. D. A. 
Henry became the first farm manager. 

The first city of the fourth class to be organized in the county 
was the city of Clinton. It may be of interest to know the town officers 
prior to the organization as a city of the fourth class. The list for 1876 
is therefore given: 



128 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Trustees, William H. Lawrence, chairman; R. C. McBeth, Frank S. 
Gobar, Henry Reihl, Martin W. Mann; collector, Ernest Snyder; city at- 
torney and city clerk, Samuel E. Price; assessor, Charles Snyder; treas- 
urer, Harry S. Leonard; marshal, Asa Smith; census taker, Samuel B. 
Orem; engineer, James B. Burgen. In 1872, J. G. Middelcoff was chair- 
man of the board of trustees, and Dr. P. S. Jennings in 1874 and 1875. 
The latter year the following constituted the board: Trustees elected, 
P. S. Jennings, J. B. Colt, John Oechsli, James Brannum, Dr. G. Y. Salmon. 

On February 14, 1878, an election was called at which by a practically 
unanimous vote — only one vote being cast in opposition — Clinton decided 
to incorporate as a city of the fourth class. The following April, the first 
election was held. It resulted in the election of S. Blatt as mayor, defeating 
Mr. Bollinger by thirty-eight votes. Doctor Britts, Mr. Brannum, who built 
the Brannum Mills; Mr. M. A. Fyke, who is now assistant city coun- 
sellor of Kansas City, were three of the six aldermen elected. C. A. 
Calvird, now circuit judge of the judicial circuit composed of Hemy, 
Bates, St. Clair and Benton Counties, became the first city clerk. 

The year 1875 saw the erection in Clinton of the Catholic Church, 
it being one of the last organized in the town. During the decade, 1870 
to 1880, two citizens of Clinton were singularly honored in the State, 
Harvey W. Salmon being treasurer of the State in 1872 and B. G. Boone, 
afterwards attorney general, being chosen as Speaker of the House of 
Representatives in 1874. 

The year 1876 witnessed one of the most destructive fires in the his- 
tory of the town. It destroyed several buildings on the northeast comer 
of the square, east side, the Fulkerson and Parks building being one 
of the finest in Clinton. Fulkerson and Parks lost on building about 
$15,000 and on drug stock $7,500, insurance $15,800; Doctor Dimmitt, 
surgical instruments and library, $800 ; Clinton Cornet Band, instruments, 
$300; furniture, etc., Odd Fellows, insured $500; furniture, etc., Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons $1,200, insurance $800 ; Heckler's saloon $300, 
insured ; the building belonging to Doctor Williams $500, insured for $300 ; 
Samuel Williams' loss, $500, no insurance. Goods in the express office 
were destroyed upon which were charges amounting to $75; value of 
goods not known. This was the principal damage. The heat broke some 
glass and other light damages were sustained, but not of any great value. 
The fire was believed to have been the work of an incendiary. 

On the 5th of February, 1873, the County Court granted the petition 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 129 

of the City of Windsor to be incorporated and from that date, the town 
of Windsor ceased to be a village. The trustees appointed by the County 
Court were as follows : C. C. Morse, J. W. Gray, W. J. Colbow, W. J. Living- 
ston and W. B. Pomeroy. 

This board met on the 8th of February and elected W. J. Colbow as 
chairman and appointed W. J. Clark as clerk and A. Cliff Clark, marshal. 
This organization continued until 1878, when by act of the board of trus- 
tees, Windsor was incoi-porated as a city of the fourth class. The first 
mayor was James M. Burress. At the same election, E. N. Jerome was 
elected marshal. E. Bass, M. A. Owen, David Black, Frank Ham, M. L. 
Stafford and J. C. Beatty were elected aldermen. 

In the census of 1870, Deepwater township was the second township 
in the county in point of population. In 1872 it was divided into two 
voting precincts, Montrose having been founded in 1871 ; it was located on 
land belonging to Joseph Patton and D. C. Cross. Brad Robinson was the 
first resident and built the first house, but he was soon followed by 
the business houses of the town of Germantown. Twice in the history of 
the county have towns moved as wholes — the second time being when 
the town of Urich moved from what is now known as Old Urich, to the 
present site on the railroad. 

In 1875, Montrose suffered what is known as "The Big Fire." All told, 
eleven business houses and their contents were destroyed; the total loss 
running up to $75,000. The town had been organized but a year, the 
petition for incorporation being presented to the court on the 23rd of 
July, 1874. In 1882, the town was organized as a city of the fourth class 
and George W. Dunn elected as first mayor, with a salary of fifty dollars 
per year. Other churches were organized during this decade ; the Hickory 
Grove Methodist Episcopal Church, being organized in Tebo township, in 
1874 by the Rev. John A. Murphy. The Brovmington Presbyterian Church 
came into existence in 1873, although no building was erected until 1880. 
The first pastor was Rev. J. F. Watkins. The Mt. Zion Methodist Epis- 
copal Church erected a building in 1872 within about a mile of the St. 
Clair County line. While the building was not built until this late date, 
yet it was one of the oldest churches in the county, its history extending 
back to the fifties. 

Calhoun also suffered a great fire, on December 3, 1877, an entire block 
of buildings being consumed. 

In April, 1871, H. C. McDonald built the first house in the old town 
of Urich. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



CIVIL WAR HISTORY 



MASS MEETING IN CLINTON— PETITION TO GOVERNOR STEWART— ENLISTMENTS 
IN BOTH ARMIES— EVENTS IN THE STATE— SURRENDER OF CAMP JACKSON 
— FLIGHT OF GOVERNOR JACKSON— RETREAT OF PRICE THROUGH HENRY 
COUNTY— BATTLES OF CARTHAGE AND "WTLSON'S CREEK — GENERAL OR- 
DER No. 11. 

It is hard to determine from official records, the part played by 
Henry County and its people in the war between the States. It would 
be very interesting to have all of the historical data gathered and a 
connected story written telling accurately and well the history of this 
struggle within the borders of the county, and the part played by resi- 
dents thereof in other parts of the State and Nation. The opening of the 
war, as far as this county was concerned, antedated the firing on Sump- 
ter by some months and it would seem from the following official record, 
that the war began in southwest Missouri, long before. the Star of the 
West was turned back in Charleston Harbor and the Confederate batteries 
compelled Major Anderson to haul down his flag at Fort Sumpter. 

At the opening of the session of the Legislature, in 1860-1861, the 
then Governor of the State, Clayborn F. Jackson, submitted the following 
document, with the recommendation that the Legislature should take such 
steps as the good of the commonwealth demanded, the first document 
showing results of the action of the people of Henry County in mass 
meeting assembled: 

"At a meeting of the citizens of Clinton, Henry County, Missouri, 
held at the court house on the night of the 20th of November, 1860, the 
following, among other proceedings, were had, towit: 

"After a speech from Judge Williams, of Kansas Territory, and other 
gentlemen, the following resolutions were adopted: 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 131 

"Whereas, We have received indisputable evidence of the fact that 
the notorious Montgomery, of Kansas, has lately been receiving large 
supplies of arms, money and provisions from the East, and he has erected 
a fort and has supplied the same with munitions of war, and that he 
has collected a large band of outlaws around him, and that he has pub- 
lished that the United States District Court should not convene at Fort 
Scott; that the several United States officers in that portion of Kansas 
Territory should leave the territory or be killed; that these officers have 
been compelled to abandon their official duties and flee for their lives ; that 
several citizens of the county have actually been murdered, property 
plundered, negroes stolen and the border counties threatened with in- 
vasion, and open and extensive preparations made to carry the threats 
into execution, for the purpose of murder, plunder and negro stealing. 

"Resolved, That a volunteer company be organized for the purpose 
of defending our own homes, and, if necessary, the western borders of 
the State. 

"Resolved, That a messenger be immediately sent to the Governor 
of the State with a request to provide for the purpose. 

"Resolved, That Thomas E. Owen, Norval Spangler, J. C. Alexander, 
J. Davis, A. M. Tutt, B. L. Dozier, T. W. Royston, S. P. Ashby and Burt 
Holcomb be appointed to enroll such names as may be willing to join a 
volunteer company and to effect an organization of the same. 

"Resolved, That D. C. Stone and W. A. Duncan be appointed a com- 
mittee to wait upon the governor and represent to him the emergency 
of the case, and, if possible, to procure a supply of arms. 

"Resolved, That a committee of fifteen be appointed to inform the 
citizens of the County of Henry of the meeting and its purposes, of the 
22nd instant and devise means for the same: Tebo, A. C. Avery, J. 
Davis; Springfield, R. K. Murrell, E. J. Warth; Osage, A. T. Bush, N. S. 
Spangler; Deepwater, B. L. Dozier, L. Cruce; Big Creek, B. L. Quarles, 
J. G. DoiTnan ; Bogard, Jesse Nave, B. G. Boone ; Grand River, S. P. Ashby, 
W. H. Cock, J. H. Vance. 

"Resolved, That a messenger be sent to Warsaw, Osceola, Lexington 
and WaiTensburg, and take with them a copy of the proceedings of this 
meeting and ask their co-operation: Lexington, A. Raney, Hampton 
Winew; Warrensburg, T. A. Hust, M. W. Lowry; Osceola, B. F. Cox, 
H. C. Tutt; Warsaw, H. S. Marvin, R. L. Burge. 

"L M. CRUSE, Chairman. 

"B. L. QUARLES, Secretary." 



132 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

"Clinton, Missouri, November 20, 1860. 
"Governor Stewart: 

"Sir — I am here to inform the citizens of this place of the following 
facts; and I have been requested to present them to you as Governor of 
the State: 

"The Abolitionists, under the command of Montgomery and Doctor 
Jennison, to the number of from three to five hundred, armed with Sharpe's 
rifles, dragoon sabres, navy revolvers and bowie knives each, have sud- 
denly commenced a war of extreme ferocity on the law-abiding citizens 
of southern Kansas, in the counties of Linn and Bourbon. 

"These arms arrived by the wagon load at or near Mound City, about 
one month since, in boxes marked as donations for Kansas sufferers. 
They are all new. 

"Montgomery had been at Boston during part of the summer, and 
returned with plenty of money to enlist recruits. Many of his men are 
freshly imported. He has taken possession of Fort Scott and other towns 
on the border near the Missouri line. He has murdered Mr. Moore, a 
grand juror; Mr. Harrison, Mr. Samuel Scott, Mr. Hindes, and obliged all 
of the United States officers, including myself, to fly for our lives. His 
openly expressed design in a public speech, as he said, 'Without conceal- 
ment,' is to keep possession of Fort Scott and other places near the 
State line, to preent 'a fire in the rear," while he cleaned out 'southern 
Missouri of slaves.' So far, he has carried out literally his declared pro- 
gram. 

"The citizens of Missouri on the Osage, Marmaton, and in Bates and 
Vernon, are flying from their homes into the interior. 

"He boasts that he has money and arms to sustain one thousand men. 
These are facts. 'Omne pars fui.' 

"My court was broken up by them — the United States Court for the 
Southern District. I expect they have seized the records, and also the 
records of the land office, as he publicly declared he would do so. 

"I send this in haste to accompany the proceedings, etc., of a meet- 
ing of the citizens here. Yours, etc., 

"J. WILLIAMS, 

"U. S. District Judge, 3rd Judicial District of the Territory of Kansas." 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 133 

"Warsaw, Missouri, November 22, 1860. 
"To D. C. Stone: 

"Montgomery is at Ball's Mill — stole a number of negroes and mur- 
dered six or eight men. Williams is here. Great excitement — meeting to 
be held tonight — company formed. 

"J. H. LEACH." 

"Warsaw, Missouri, November 22, 1860. 
"To General Hackney: 

"Is it possible to get the military from Saint Louis, say five hundred 
men, armed and equipped? Montgomery has actually invaded the State, 
and is now near Taberville. Reply immediately. 

"JAMES ATKISSON." 

The following extract from a letter written from Papinville, Bates 
County, Missouri, December 2, 1860, to Gen. G. A. Parsons, was also pre- 
sented by the governor to the Legislature with the others. The extract 
is as follows: 

"They have been in the State in parties, evidently for the pui-pose of 
stealing negroes and other property, and to murder some of our citizens ; 
they have also threatened the Democratic Banner, a neAvspaper published 
at West Point, Bates County, Missouri; and wherefore we would state 
that our county is virtually besieged, our lives and property being en- 
dangered by this band of outlaws, compelling us to be armed to repel an 
invasion, with which Montgomery has threatened us in public speeches. 
Our State has been invaded and is now in imminent danger of being 
again visited by Montgomery and his hired band. We would further repre- 
sent that on account of the present state of affairs, general distress now 
prevails. Slave owners have sent their negroes to the interior of the 
State. 

"All honest and law-abiding men of southern Kansas have either left 
or are leaving the territory, abandoning their all to save life. 

"In conclusion we would repeat to you, that we deem this section of 
Missouri in danger, which we are but poorly prepared to resist suc- 
cessfully. We also believe that they will attack us before spring; that 
this border has been selected as battle ground of the two great parties, 
the one for the Constitution and the Union, and the other for Abolition 
and Disunion. 



134 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

"The leaders — Montgomery and Jennison — of the latter party openly 
and defiantly state that their object is to steal and liberate negroes in 
southwest Missouri, and to hang or shoot every man who opposes them, 
being well armed with new and superior arms, and money supplied from 
the East; they have now possession of Fort Scott and other important 
places near the State line, and if not crushed, we may soon meet them in 
our State with sufficient force to carry out their program." 

The people of Missouri began to see that if something was not done 
blood and carnage would soon begin its terrible work. Union meetings 
were held in almost every county of the State, but the people while favor- 
ing union to the last degree, had no love for the abolition fanatics who 
were doing all that devils incarnate could do to precipitate a deadly con- 
flict. In Henry County strong Union sentiments were expressed as above 
and another meeting called. The proceedings are here given: 

Democratic Meeting. 

"Pursuant to a previous notice, a large number of the citizens of 
Henry County met at the court house at Clinton on the 9th of January, 
1860, for the purpose of appointing delegates to the Democratic State 
C'Onvention, which convened at Jefferson City on the 9th of April next, 
when the following proceedings were had: 

"Major William M. Wall was made chairman and R. K. Murrell ap- 
pointed secretary of the meeting. 

"On motion of R. L. Burge, it was resolved that a committee of six 
be appointed to draft resolutions expressing the sense of this meeting; 
whereupon the following gentlemen were selected, towit: R. L. Burge, 
L. -Cruce, John A. Bushnell, J. G. Dorman, G. F. Warth and James Swindle. 

"During the absence of the committee the meeting was addressed 
by Messrs. Marvin, Williams, and Murrell upon the political questions of 
the day. The committee returned and reported the following preamble 
and resolutions: 

"Whereas, The United States have advanced more rapidly than any 
other nation in all the elements that constitute greatness; and whereas, 
the administration of the general government has been in the hands of 
the Democratic party for the greater portion of that time; therefore 

"Be It Resolved, That we have entire confidence in the principles 
of the Democratic party; 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 135 

"Resolved, second, That we regard the so-called Republican party 
of the North as a sectional and fanatical one, whose avowed principles 
are directly subversive of the Constitution, and whose ultimate triumph 
would be a national calamity — greatly endangering the Union of ithe 
States ; and that we look with extreme reprobation at its attempted organi- 
zation in our own State. 

"Resolved, third. That in the Democratic party we recognize a truly 
national party, unwaveringly devoted to the rights and interests of every 
section of our common country, and to the preservation and piipetuity 
of the entire Union. 

"Resolved, fourth. That we hereby pledge ourselves unanimously 
and coi-dially to support the nominee of the Charleston convention, and of 
our State convention, which convenes at Jefferson City on rhe 9th of 
April next. 

"Resolved, fifth, That we endorse the Cincinnati platform, adopted 
June, 1856, and the principles enunciated in the Dred Scot case. 

"Resolved, sixth. That having full confidence in the ability and integ- 
rity of the Hon. Waldo P. Johnson, of Saint Clair, we hereby instruct our 
delegates to the State convention to cast the vote of this county for him 
as our first choice for governor. 

"Resolved, seventh. That having entire confidence in the qualifications, 
and fitness of our esteemed fellow-citizen, Major Daniel Ashby, of Henry, 
for the office of State Treasurer, we hereby instruct our delegates to cast 
the vote of this county for him as first choice for said office. 

"Resolved, eighth. That while we view the recent outrages committed 
at Hai-per's Ferry, as the fruits of the teachings and 'irrepressible con- 
flict' principles of the Republican party of the North, and sincerely sympa- 
thize with and approve of the course pursued by the State of Virginia, 
we regard the Union meetings recently held in the North as manifesting 
the spirit of patriotism calculated to check the disorganizing principles 
of the Abolition party, and preserve the Union of the States on true 
Constitutional grounds. 

"Resolved, ninth. That in view of the eminent abilities and long-tried 
services of the 'wheel-horse' of Democracy, Claiborne F. Jackson, we 
recommend him as the second choice of this meeting as a candidate for 
the office of governor. 

"Resolved, tenth. That the chair appoint seventeen delegates to at- 
tend a State convention at Jefferson City and cast the vote of Henry 



136 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

County in obedience to the foregoing instruction ; whereupon the following 
were appointed by the chair, towit: G. H. Warth, A. C. Marvin, S. P. 
Ashby, J. G. Dorman, A. Walmsley, L. Cruce, William Johnson, Addison 
Bronaugh, John A. Bushnell, R. L. Avery, William M. Wall, John W. 
Williams, James Swindle, William H. Murrell, A. J. Lee, John 0. Coving- 
ton and William Paul. 

"Resolved, eleventh. That each township in the county be requested 
to elect delegates to a convention to be held at Clinton on the lirst Mon- 
day in May next, for the nomination of county officers and the more 
perfect organization of the party, and the twelfth resolution called for 
the publication of the foregoing in the Warsaw Democrat, Jefferson Ex- 
aminer and Clinton Journal. From the latter and under date of January 
13, 1860, the above proceedings were taken. The report was signed. 
"WILLIAM M. WALL, President. 

"RICHARD K. MURRELL, Secretary." 

The Journal's Comments. 

"A report of the proceedings of a Democratic convention, which was 
held in this place on Monday last, January 9, 1860, will be found in 
another column. Without expi-essing any other opinion regarding the 
general tenor of the resolution adopted, and which every one is at liberty 
to construe as he pleases, yet we must say that the spirit which dictated 
the eighth resolution is worthy of general imitation. We have not seen 
before in any portion of the South, a single instance of a public recognition 
of the conservative principles which prompted the recent Union demon- 
strations in the North. Can it be that Henry County has taken the lead 
of the entire South, in a movement which sound policy as well as com- 
mon sense would suggest?" 

The Journal quoted last above was an independent paper of conserva- 
tive tendencies but of an outspoken Union sentiment; however, it dis- 
credited any relationship or adherence to the Republican party. The meet- 
ings and extracts above referred to show the temper of the people of 
Henry County and of Missouri generally, at the inception of the war, a 
feeling which was afterwards moderated by the commencing of one of 
the greatest civil wars of all history. The people of Henry County, as 
may be seen, were for the Union at the beginning; and it was not until 
guns had been fired in anger, that some took up arms to defend what they 
considered the rights of the sovereign State in which they lived. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 137 

It is impossible to get an accurate account of the number of men 
or the names of the individuals who enrolled in each of the contending 
armies. While some joined the Federal forces, the greater number en- 
rolled themselves under the Stars and Bars and followed the fortunes of 
the Confederacy. Records show that in the Federal forces there M^ere 
enrolled six volunteers from this county in the 18th Infantry, one in the 
24th Infantry, one in the 27th Infantry, nine in the 33rd Infantry, three 
in the 1st Cavalry, two in the 8th Cavalry, or twenty-two in all. In the 
Missouri State Military there were four volunteers in the 1st Infantry, 
two in the 6th Cavalry, twenty-seven in the 7th Cavalry, or thirty-three in 
all. One volunteer from Henry County joined a Kansas regiment, two 
an Arkansas regiment and two the 3rd Arkansas Regiment, or five in all. 
There is an official record of sixty who joined the Federal forces up to 
January, 1864. There were others undoubtedly, but the total number of 
Union soldiers from this county was certainly not over seventy-five or 
eighty; the war having practically ceased, as far as this section is con- 
cerned, by the date last above mentioned. 

On the other hand, probably a thousand sons of the county devoted 
their fortunes and oflfered their lives to the cause of the South. One com- 
pany which was raised at or near Windsor, was General Price's body- 
guard; but the record of those who went into the Southern army, is 
hard to obtain. Preparations for the war in Missouri actually opened 
with the call of President Lincoln on April 15, 1861, in which 75,000 men 
were asked for to suppress combinations in the Southern States. Simul- 
taneously with the call Hon. Simon Cameron sent a telegram to the Gov- 
ernors of the States not mentioned in the proclamation, asking them to 
send a certain number of militia to serve for three months; Missouri's 
quota of the total being four regiments. On the seventeenth of April, 1861, 
Governor Jackson sent the following reply to the Secretary of War, whose 
dispatch of the fifteenth inst., making a call on Missouri for four regi- 
ments of men for immediate service, had been received: 

"There can be, I apprehend, no doubt but these men are intended to 
form a part of the President's Army to make war upon the people of the 
seceeded States. Your requisition in my judgment is irregular, uncon- 
stitutional and cannot be complied with. Not one man will the State of 
Missouri furnish to carry on such an unholy war." 

This was signed by C. F. Jackson, Governor of Missouri. From 
then on things moved swiftly. On the twenty-second of April, after the 



138 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

arsenal at Liberty had been seized, the Governor issued a proclamation 
calling the Legislature of Missouri to meet May following in extra ses- 
sion, to take into consideration the momentous issues which were pre- 
sented and the attitude to be assumed by the State in the struggle. On 
the twenty-second of April, 1861, the adjutant general of Missouri issued 
the following military order: 



Headquarters Adjutant General's Office, Missouri. 

Jefferson City, April 22, 1861. 
(General Order No. 7.) 

L To attain a greater degree of efficiency and perfection in organi- 
zation and discipline, the commanding officers of the several military 
districts in this State, having four or more legally organized companies, 
whose armories are within fifteen miles of each other, will assemble their 
respective commands at some place to be by them severallj' designated, 
on the third of May, and to go into an encampment for a period of six 
days as provided by law. Captains of companies not organized into bat- 
talions, will report the strength of their companies immediately to these 
headquarters, and await further orders. 

IL The quartermaster general will procure and issue to quarter- 
masters of districts, for these commands not now proivded for, all neces- 
sary tents and camp equipage, to enable the commanding officers thereof 
to carry the foregoing order into effect. 

III. The light battery now attached to the Southwest Battalion, and 
one company of mounted riflemen, including all officers and soldiers be- 
longing to the First District, will proceed forthwith to St. Louis and re- 
port to General D. M. Frost for duty. The remaining companies of said 
battalion will be disbanded for the purpose of assisting in the organiza- 
tion of companies upon that frontier. The details of the execution of 
the foregoing are intrusted to Lieutenant Colonel John S. Bowen, com- 
manding the battalion. 

IV. The strength, organization and equipment of the several com- 
panies in the districts will be reported at once to these headquarters, 
and district inspectors will furnish all information which may be ser- 
viceable in ascertaining the condition of State forces. 

By order of the Governor, 

WARWICK HOWE, Adjutant General of Missouri. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 139 

On May 2, 1861, the Legislature convened in extra session. Among 
the many acts passed was one authorizing the Governor to purchase on 
necessity David Valentine's factory at Boonville for the manufacture of 
arras and munitions of war; authorizing the appointment of one major- 
general by the Governor and also appointing him to take possession of 
the railroads and telegraph lines of the State when in his opinion the 
security of the commonwealth demanded. Acts providing further for the 
organization, government and support of the military forces were passed ; 
also provision was made for borrowing one million dollars to arm and 
equip the militia of the State to enable them to repel invasion and protect 
the lives and property of the people. An act was also passed creating a 
"military fund" which was to consist of all money then in the treasury 
or might thereafter be received from one-tenth of one per cent, on the 
one hundred dollar valuation, which had been levied by an act of Novem- 
ber, 1857, to complete certain railroads, and also the proceeds of a tax 
of fifteen cents on the one hundred dollar assessed valuation and the 
proceeds of the two-mill tax, all of which had hitherto been appropriated 
for educational purposes. 

Following the preparations for war, as outlined above. Camp Jack- 
son was organized near St. Louis on May 3, and on May 10 Sterling 
Price, later formally known as "Old Pap," was appointed major-general 
of the State Guard ; and on the same day. General Frost, who commanded 
Camp Jackson, addressed Gen. N. Lyon, commander of the U. S. forces 
in St. Louis, as follows: 

Capt. N. Lyon, commanding United States troops in and about St. 
Louis Arsenal. 

Sir: — I am constantly in receipt of information that you contemplate 
an attack upon my camp, whilst I understand that you are impressed with 
the idea that an attack upon the arsenal and United States troops is 
intended on the part of the militia of Missouri. I am greatly at a loss 
to know what could justify you in attacking citizens of the United States, 
who are in lawful performance of their duties, devolving upon them under 
the constitution in organizing and instructing the militia of the State in 
obedience to her laws, and, therefore, have been disposed to doubt the 
correctness of the information I have received. 

I would be glad to know from you personally whether there is any 
truth in the statements that are constantly pouring into my ears. So 
far as regards any hostility being intended toward the United States, or 



140 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

its property or representatives by any portion of my command, or, as 
far as I can learn (and I think I am fully informed) of any other part 
of the State forces, I can positively say that the idea has never been 
entertained. On the contrary, prior to your taking command of the ar- 
senal, I proffered to Mayor Bell, then in command of the very few troops 
constituting its guard, the services of myself and all my command, and, 
if necessary, the whole power of the State, to protect the United States 
in the full possession of all her property. Upon General Harney taking 
command of this department, I made the same offer of services to him, 
and authorized his adjutant general, Captain Williams, to communicate 
the fact that such had been done to the war department. I have had no 
occasion since to change any of the views I entertained at the time, neither 
of my own volition nor through the orders of my constitutional com- 
mander. 

I trust that after this explicit statement that we may be able, by 
fully understanding each other to keep far from our borders the mis- 
fortunes which so unhappily affect our common country. 

This communication will be handed you by Colonel Bnwen, my chief 
of staff, who will be able to explain anything not fully set forth in the 
foregoing. 

I am, sir, very respectfully, your obedient servant, 

BRIGADIER GENERAL D. M. FROST, 

Commanding Camp Jackson, M. V. M. 

May 10, 1861, General Lyon sent the following to General Frost: 

Headquarters United States Troops, St. Louis, Missouri, May 10, 1861. 
General D. M. Frost, commanding Camp Jackson: 

Sir: Your command is regarded as evidently hostile toward the 
Government of the United States. 

It is, for the most part, made up of those secessionists who have 
openly avowed their hostility to the general Government, and have been 
plotting at the seizure of its property and the overthrow of its authority. 
You are openly in communication with the so-called Southern Confederacy, 
which is now at war with the United States, and you are receiving at 
your camp, from the said Confederacy and under its flag, large supplies 
of the material of war, most of which is known to be the property of 
the United States. These extraordinary preparations plainly indicate none 
other than the well-known purpose of the Governor of this State, under 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY • 141 

whose orders you are acting, and whose communication to the Legislature 
has just been responded to by that body in the most unparalleled legisla- 
tion., having in direct view hostilities to the general Government and co- 
operation with its enemies. 

In view of these considerations, and of your failure to disperse in 
obedience to the proclamation of the President, and of the imminent 
necessities of State policy and warfare, and the obligations imposed upon 
me by instructions from Washington, it is my duty to demand, and I do 
hereby demand of you an immediate surrender of your command, with 
no other conditions than that all persons surrendering under this com- 
mand shall be humanely and kindly treated. Believing myself prepared 
to enforce this command, one-half hour's time before doing so will be 
allowed for your compliance therewith. 

Very respectfully, your obedient servant, 

N. LYON, Captain Second Infantry, Commanding Troops. 

On the same day Camp Jackson surrendered and all of the prisoners 
were released except Capt. Emmett McDonald, who refused to sign a 
parole. On May 12, Brig.-Gen. William S. Harney, commanding the mili- 
tary district of Missouri, issued a proclamation to the people otating that 
he would carefully abstain from the exercise of any unnecessary powers 
and would only use the military forces stationed in this district in the 
last resort, in order to presei-ve peace. A second proclamation was issued 
on the fourteenth of May and on the twenty-first a conference was held 
between General Price and General Harney; on this date (May twenty- 
first) General Harney was superseded by General Lyon; and on June 
eleventh a second conference was held in St. Louis between the national 
and State authorities. This conference having resulted in no decision 
and no compromise, Governor Jackson left St. Louis and went to Jefferson 
City, burning the railroad bridges and cutting all telegraph lines behind 
him. Immediately on his arrival at Jefferson City, the Governor issued 
a proclamation under date of June twelfth, calling into active sei-vice 
50,000 militia, for the purpose of repelling invasion and protecting the 
lives and property of the people of the State. The Governor was at a 
tremendous disadvantage in the controversy that was being waged with 
the national authorities. There were disciplined and v/ell-equipped bodies 
of United States troops in the State, under trained and efficient officers ; 
while the Missouri troops, such as they were, had all been captured and 



142 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

disarmed at Camp Jackson, and it took time to organize an army and to 
equip one; therefore the Federal troops swiftly followed the fleeing Gov- 
ernor and on the fifteenth of June Col. F. P. Blair took possession of the 
State Capitol. Governor Jackson, General Price and other civil and mili- 
tary officers had left Jefferson City on the thirteenth for Boonville. On 
the seventeenth of June the Federal forces under General Lyon had pro- 
ceeded by boat to Boonville and on the hills near that city took place 
the first battle of the Civil War on Missouri soil. 

The Missouri State troops were ill-equipped, undisciplined, prac- 
tically without ammunition and arms, and although gallantly led by 
Colonel, afterwards Governor John S. Marmaduke, the engagement was 
little more than a skirmish and the total casualties were four — two on 
each side. The next day General Lyon issued a proclamation to the peo- 
ple of Missouri, while the Confederate troops were in full retreat, hurry- 
ing to southwest Missouri, where the Legislature was to meet. On their 
retreat Price, who had assumed command of the Confederate forces, led 
his men through Henry County. Hon. D. H. Mclntyre, at one time at- 
torney general of Missouri, was accustomed to relate that it was on the 
occasion of this retreat that he made his first visit to Clinton, which towTi 
w^as passed through by Price and his troops on their way to Springfield. 
Mclntyre, at the time of the breaking out of the war, was a student at 
Westminster College at Fulton and a member of the senior class. On a 
certain day he was eating his lunch in the college building when he re- 
ceived a message, together with Joseph S. Laurie of Saline County, calling 
him to the court house square. They hun-ied away from the college in 
response to the summons, leaving their books open on the desks and their 
lunch baskets uncovered, their food half consumed. On their arrival at 
the square, they found that they had been elected as officers of a volun- 
teer Confederate regiment — Mclntyre as captain and Laui'ie as first lieu- 
tenant. Courageous and hopeful, they moved forward to join Price, never 
returning to their college duties again. 

In illustration of the temper of the times — the following June, Avhen 
the president of Westminster College, S. S. Lowe, afterward president of 
the University of Missouri, awarded the diplomas, he conferred the de- 
grees "in absentia" on both Mclntyre and Laurie, in his speech, which 
was in Latin, being careful to make only a very guarded reference to 
these men, owing to the excited passions of the times. His exact language 
was that he conferred the diplomas "on Centurian Mclntyre and Legatus 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 143 

Laurie, absent in a field crowded with tents;" so bitter was the feeling 
between the adherents of the North and South that Unionists concluded 
that even such a reference was disloyal and for fifty years the usefulness 
of Westminster College was hampered by the alienation of some people, 
due to this little incident. 

Mclntyre and Laurie joined Price and went, as has been above stated, 
with him on the occasion of his passing through Henry County and Clin- 
ton on his retreat. 

On the Grand River General Price was closely pursued by Lyon. 
ICarly in July, Lyon had reached the Grand River in Henry County and 
he was there reinforced by three thousand troops from Kansas, com- 
manded by Major S. D. Sturges. In the meantime, a battle had occurred 
at Carthage between the forces of General Seigel and Jackson. On the 
sixth of July, Lyon reached Springfield. Meanwhile, a State convention 
which had been called had met and declared the offices of Governor and 
Lieutenant Governor and Secretary of State vacant, these officers having 
gone with the Southern armies; and from this time on there were two 
distinct governing bodies in Missouri. On July 26, Gen. John C. Fremont 
assumed the command of the western department and established his 
headquarters in St. Louis. The battle of Dug Springs, between Captain 
Steele's forces and General Raine's, occurred on the second of August, 
followed by the so-called Battle of Athens, on the fifth of August; and 
on August 10 occurred the most serious engagement of the war on Mis- 
souri soil, when the Federal forces under Gen. Nathaniel Lyon met the 
troops of General McCulloch at Wilson's Creek, near Springfield. The en- 
gagement resulted in a victory for the Confederate forces. General Lyon 
himself was killed and the Union troops forced to retreat. 

A series of proclamations followed, each side declaring itself to be 
the duly-appointed guardians of the welfare of the State. On August 
24, Gov. Hamilton R. Gamble, who was the recognized head of the State 
by the Federal authorities, issued a proclamation for 32,000 men for 
six months' serivce in the Union army, v.'hich was followed on August 
SO by another proclamation issued by General Fremont in which he de- 
clared martial law and promised that the slaves of all persons who should 
thereafter take an active part with the enemies of the Government should 
be free. Fremont's proclamation brought an immediate reply from Gen. 
Jeff Thompson and on the eleventh of September President Lincoln modi- 
fied General Fremont's declaration of martial law as far as the clause 



144 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

referring to confiscation of property and liberation of the slaves was 
concerned. September 12, 1861, Price attacked Lexington and eight days 
later compelled the surrender of Colonel Mulligan, with 2,600 men. Price 
retired to southwest Missouri and wintered in those counties, issuing a 
proclamation in Neosho, November 27, in which he called for 50,000 men. 
In December General Hunter, who had succeeded to the command of the 
Avestern department, levied an assessment on certain v^ealthy citizens of 
St. Louis, to provide for feeding and clothing Union refugees, and later, 
in the same month, declared martial law in St. Louis and the country 
adjacent, the declaration covering all the railroad lines. On January 8, 
1862, the provost marshal of St. Louis issued General Order No. 10, to 
the effect that it was hereby ordered "that from and after this date the 
publication of all newspapers in the State of Missouri, St. Louis city 
papers excepted, should furnish to his office immediately on publication 
one copy of each issue, for inspection." 

A failure to comply with the order would render the newspaper liable 
to suppression and local provost marshals were ordered to furnish the 
proprietors of the several newspapers with copies of the order and to 
attend to its enforcement. On January 26 General Halleck issued Order 
No. 18, which forbade the display of secession flags in the hands of women 
or on carriages, and in case of violation the carriages were to be confis- 
cated and the women arrested. On February 4 a similar order was issued 
to the professors and instructors of the State University at Columbia, 
forbidding the funds of the institution to be used "to teach treason or to 
instruct traitors." On February 20, a military commission was convened 
by Special Order No. 120, which met in March and tried Edmond J. Ellis 
of Columbia, at that time editor and proprietor of the "Boone County 
Standard," for the publication of information which was of benefit to 
the enemy, and for encouraging resistance to the United States Govern- 
ment. Ellis was found guilty and banished from Missouri during the 
war, and his printing materials confiscated and sold. During the late 
fall a battle (so-called but really a skirmish) was fought at Osceola and 
during the whole of that winter Confederate troops were in and about 
Henry County. The gradual approach of Union forces compelled the re- 
tirement of the Confederate Army to the south, and on March 6, 1862, 
occurred a battle at Pea Ridge, Arkansas, between the contending armies 
of Curtiss and Van Dorn. Skirmishes continued throughout the State 
during the year of 1862. The battle of Cherry Grove in June, between 




ROCK ISLAND PARK, WINDSOR, -MO. 




HIGH SCHOOL AND GRADE SCHOOL, WINDSOR, JIO. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 145 

the forces of Col. Joseph C. Portei' and Col. H. S. Lipscomb, was followed 
in the same month by a battle at Pierce's Mill in which Col. J. Y. Clopper 
met Colonel Porter. On July 22 occurred the Florida engagement, on the 
twenty-eighth the battle of Moore's Hill, on August 6 the battle near 
Kirksville, on the eleventh the battle at Independence, on the sixteenth the 
well-known battle of Lone Jack. The war began to assume more and 
more the character of guerilla fight in Missouri, and irresponsible bands 
made life a terror throughout the State. 

About this time the notorious Col. Jim Lane of Kansas made a raid 
in Henry County, in the course of which he visited Clinton and, in accord- 
ance with his usual habits, decided to destroy those things which he could 
not carry off, or which were not of use to him in a military way. His 
object seemed to be to injure the people as much as possible and the 
county records appealed to him as being easily destructible, and because 
of their character most liable to cause confusion and loss to the people 
if they were destroyed. He therefore decided to burn them, but he was 
finally persuaded not to do so. The people, by this time, had become 
thoroughly alarmed as to the safety of the records and so Judge J. G. 
Dorman boxed them up and took them to Sedalia. The trip was eventful 
and perilous, and on the way wagons broke down which added to the 
difficulties of the journey. However, they finally safely arrived at Se- 
dalia and were kept in safety for the remainder of the war. 

Continual skirmishes occurred there in Henry County and armed 
men of both sides passed and repassed through her fields, bringing de- 
vastation and ruin everywhere. Conditions which had been steadily grow- 
ing worse, and partisan bitterness which had been continually increasing 
until men's passions were fanned into flame, grew furious at the publica- 
tion of General Order No. 11, issued by Gen. Thomas Ewing on August 
25, 1863: 

Headquarters District of the Border, 

Kansas City, Missouri, August 25, 1863. 
General Order No. 11. 

First — All persons living in Cass, Jackson and Bates Counties, Mis- 
souri, and in that part of Vernon included in this district, except those 
living within one mile of the limits of Independence, Hickman's Mills, 
Pleasant Hill and Harrisonville, and except those in that part of Kaw 
township, Jackson County, north of Brush Creek and west of the Big 



146 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Blue, embracing Kansas City and Westport, are hereby ordered to re- 
move from their present places of residence within fifteen days from the 
date hereof. 

Those who, within that time, establish their loyalty to the satisfac- 
tion of the commanding officer of the military station nearest their pres- 
ent places of residence, will receive from him certificates stating the fact 
of their loyalty, and the names of the witnesses by whom it can be shown. 
All who receive such certificate will be permitted to remove to any mili- 
tary station in this district, or to any part of the State of Kansas except 
the counties on the eastern borders of the State. All others shall re- 
move out of this district. OflScers commanding companies and detach- 
ments sei^ving in the counties named will see that this paragraph is 
promptly obeyed. 

Second — All grain and hay in the field, or under shelter, in the dis- 
trict from which the inhabitants are required to remove, within reach of 
military stations, after the ninth day of September next, will be taken 
to such stations and turned over to the proper oflScer there, and report 
of the amount so turned over made to district headquarters, specifying 
the names of all loyal owners and the amount of such produce taken from 
them. All grain and hay found in such district after the ninth day of 
September next not convenient to such stations will be destroyed. 

Third — The provisions of General Order No. 10, from these head- 
quarters, will at once be vigorously executed by officers commanding in 
the parts of the district, and at stations not subject to the operations of 
Paragraph First of this Order — and especially in the towns of Indepen- 
dence, Westport and Kansas City. 

Fourth — Paragraph Three, General Order No. 10, is revoked as to 
all who have borne arms against the Government in the district since 
August 20, 1863. 

By order of Brigadier General Ewing. 

H. HANNAHS, Adjutant. 

General Ewing was begged not to issue this order and he was told 
that it would serve no real military necessity; but in spite of that, he 
persisted. Finally, it is related that Major John C. Bingham, the famous 
Missouri artist and at that time a member of his staff, despairing of 
being able to change the decision of the general, told him that if he did 
issue the order, "I will damn you to everlasting fame!" As a result of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 147 

that declaration, Bingham painted his famous picture, called General 
Order No. 11, and it is said that the face and figure of the Union general, 
who in the center of the picture dominates the scene of desolation and 
death, is none other than the face and figure of General Ewing, who in 
that painting actually had been "damned to everlasting fame." 

The issuing of General Order No. 11 and its enforcement caused the 
country from Kansas City to Nevada, embracing all the counties of Jack- 
son, Cass, Bates and part of Vernon, to be turned into a literal desert; 
"and the memory of this ruthlessness will never be effaced from the hearts 
of many Missourians. Useless, unproductive of any military advantage, 
it was simply an example of what a commander will do when he has the 
power and the disposition to vent his spite on a helpless people. The 
Confederate forces had been largely split up into smaller bands, and out- 
lawry became common, it being immaterial to any -of the men whether 
they assumed the character of Union soldiers or of Confederate guerillas, 
their only object being plunder and rapine. Over General Order No. 11 
came the issues accredited, many of them without reason, to Quantrell 
and Bill Anderson; and late in September, 1864, occurred the massacre 
at Centralia in which Captain Anderson practically wiped out a body of 
Union troops. There were skirmishes hardly of sufficient size to be dig- 
nified by the name of battle; during October, 1866, at Prince's Ford, at 
Glasgow and Little Blue Creek. Nothing of an especially military char- 
acter further occurred in the State. 

It is impossible to give the names of all of the battles that took 
place in Missouri, or differentiate the deeds of the sons of Henry County 
from those of the other gallant sons of the State who were engaged in 
this terrible struggle. It is well to remember the above facts in con- 
nection with the history of Missouri and particularly as they touch the 
County of Henry, in the confines of which later lived so many of the men 
who had fought so well. 



CHAPTER XVII. 



TOWNSHIPS 



OllGANIZATION AND BOUNDARIES OF THE TOYv'NSHIPS IN 1860— CHANGE IN 1868 
—NEW TOWNSHIP ORGANIZATION LAW OF 1&72-73— NINETEEN TOWNSHIPS- 
FIVE JUDGES OF COUNTY COURT— THE PEOPLE BESIDE TO CHANGE BACK 
TO THREE JUDGES — "MEADOW COUNTY." 

In a preceding chapter, the boundary lines of the several townships 
of Henry County have been set out. These remained as they were until 
1860, when at its August session the County Court on the tenth day of 
the month defined the boundaries of the several municipal townships as 
follow : 

Tebo Township. 

"Beginning at the northeast corner of the county, thence moving 
west on the county line to the northwest corner of section 36, in town- 
ship 44, of range 26; thence south on section line to the line between 
townships 42 and 43; thence east on said township line to the northwest 
corner of section 5, in township 42, of range 25 ; thence south on section 
line to the southwest corner of section 17, in township 42, of range 25; 
thence east on section line to the eastern boundary of the county ; thence 
north on county line to the beginning." 

Big Creek Township. 

"Beginning at the northeast corner of section 35, in township 44, of 
range 26; thence west on section line to the middle of the main channel 
of Big Creek to its confluence with Honey Creek; thence up the middle 
of the main channel of Honey Creek to the line between townships 43 
and 42; thence east on said township line to the southeast corner of sec- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 149 

tion 35, township 43, of range 26; thence noi'th on section line to the 
beginning." 

Bogard Township. 

"Beginning at the northwest corner of the county; thence running 
east on the county hne to the middle of the main channel of Big Creek 
on the north line of section 36 in township 44, of range 28 ; thence down 
the main channel of Big Creek to the middle of the main channel of 
Grand River; thence up the middle of the main channel of Grand River 
to the western boundary of the county; thence north on county line to 
the beginning." 

Deepwater Township. 

"Beginning at the southwest corner of the county; thence north on 
county line to the middle of the main channel of Grand River; 1 hence 
down the middle of the main channel of Grand River to the line between 
ranges 26 and 27; thence south on said range line to the southern line of 
the county; thence west on the county line to the beginning." 

Osage Township. 

"Beginning at the southwest corner of township 40, of range 26; 
thence north on said range line to the middle of Deepwater; thence down 
the middle of the main channel of Deepwater to its confluence with Grand 
River; thence down the middle of the channel of Grand River to the Ben- 
ton County line; thence south on county line to the middle of the channel 
of Osage River; thence up the middle of the main channel of Osage River 
to the south line of township 40, of range 24; thence west on township 
line to the beginning." 

Springfield Township. 

"Beginning at the northeast comer of section 24, in township 42 of 
range 24; thence south on section line to the middle of the main channel 
of Grand River; thence up the middle of the channel of Grand River to 
the mouth of Deepwater; thence up the middle of the main channel 
of Deepwater to the line between ranges 26 and 27 ; thence north on said 
range line to the middle of the main channel of Grand River; thence up 
the middle of the channel of Grand River to the mouth of Big Creek; 
thence up the middle of the main channel of Big Creek to the mouth of 
Honey Creek; thence up the middle of the main channel of Honey Creek 



150 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

to the line between townships 42 and 43; thence east on said township 
line to the northeast corner of section 6, in township 42, of rang-e 25; 
thence south on section line to the southwest corner of section 17, town- 
ship 42, of range 25; thence east on section line to the beginning." 

In 1868 it was found necessary to change the boundary lines of two 
of these townships, Tebo and Grand River. Prior to the date of chang- 
ing the boundary line two voting precincts had been established in each. 
One of the new townships was to be designated as White Oak, the other 
was Windsor. The description of White Oak township was as follows: 

"Commencing at the southwest coi'ner of section 18, township 41, 
of range 28, running thence north on county line between Henry and 
Bates to the center of the channel of Grand River ; thence down the center 
of the channel of Grand River to the section line between 2 and 3, in 
township 41, of range 27; thence south on said section line to the south- 
east corner of section 15, township 41, of range 27; thence running west 
on section line to place of beginning, and it is ordered that that part of 
Henry County enclosed in said boundaries be, and the same shall be 
known as 'White Oak township'." 

Windsor tovsmship was to be all of that portion of Tebo tovimship 
lying east of the Warsaw and Warrensburg road, while that line west 
of the road was Tebo township. These changes caused alterations in the 
township lines of Deepwater and Grand River townships, given as follow: 

Deepwater Township. 

"Commencing at the southwest corner of Henry County, thence run- 
ning north on county line between Bates and Henry, to section line be- 
tween sections 18 and 19; thence east on section line to the northeast 
corer of section 22, township 41, range 27; running thence south on sec- 
tion line to the center of the channel of Deepwater Creek; thence down 
the center of the channel of Deepwater to the range line between ranges 
26 and 27; thence south to county line between St. Clair and Henry; 
thence west on said line to the place of beginning." 

Grand River township came in for an increase of territory, the fol- 
lowing being added to her bounds: 

"Sections 1, 2 and 12, and that part that lies south of Grand River 
in township 41, range 27 ; and sections 13, 14, 23, 24, 25, 26, 35 and 36, 
in township 41, range 27, and that part of sections 1 and 2 in township 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 151 

40, range 27, lying on north side of Deepwater Creek, is hereby added to 
Grand River township." 

No change of any note was made in the township boundary lines until 
after the session of the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, which 
met in Jefferson City in the winter of 1872-73. At this session of the 
General Assembly a new township organization law was passed. Under 
this township organization law, it Avas necessary to divide the county 
into new municipal districts, so the nine townships were changed into 
nineteen — being the nineteen which now constitute Henry County. Under 
this township organization law which was adopted by a vote of the peo- 
ple, it being optional with the several counties, it was necessary to elect 
five judges of the County Court instead of three, as was formerly the 
case. The County Court therefore divided the county into four divisions, 
this division being made on July 22, 1873. 

Under this division the first district was to be composed of the fol- 
lowing municipal townships: No. 1, Windsor; No. 2, Tebo; No. 3, Shaw- 
nee ; No. 4, Big Creek ; No. 7, Honey Creek ; No. 8, Fields' Creek. 

The second district was to be composed of: No. 5, Bogard; No. 6, 
White Oak; No. 14, Davis; No. 15, Walker; No. 16, Deepwater; No. 17, 
Bear Creek. 

Clinton township, No. 13, was to compose the third district. The 
fourth district was to be composed of : No. 9, Deer Creek ; No. 10, Spring- 
field ; No. 11, Leesville ; No. 12, Bethlehem ; No. 18, Fairview ; No. 19, Osage. 

In addition to the four judges to be elected from each one of these 
districts there was to be a presiding judge elected at large. The court 
was elected on the election of the twenty-first day of August. It was 
composed of: William R. Taylor as judge at large; M. A. Stewart, F. M. 
Goff, Lewis P. Beaty, and B. L. Owen. 

The judges decided by lot which should serve for one year and which 
should serve for four years. 

This township organization law which went into effect in 1873 did 
not last long in Henry County, for in 1877 the people by their vote 
changed the County Court back to three members. In 1878 the two dis- 
tricts now existing in the county were constituted; the ten townships 
lying in the northern half of the county becoming district No. 1 ; the 
nine townships in the southern half of the county were district No. 2. 
In connection with the organization of municipal townships it is proper 
to note that during the years 1870 and 1871, and later, in the session of 



152 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

1872-73, a suggestion was made in the Legislature of Missouri that there 
should be a new county organized out of the northeast part of Henry, 
the northwest part of Benton, the southwest part of Pettis and the south- 
east part of Johnson Counties, the same to be known as Meadow County. 
A glance at the geography will show that Windsor was the geographical 
center of this proposed county ; in fact, the measure got so far along that 
on the twenty-first of February, 1871, news reached Henry County that 
the bill had actually been favorably reported in the Legislature. It got 
no farther, however, than this report of the committee. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 



IN THE EARLY EIGHTIES 



ASSASSINATION OF GARFIELD— EARLY MAIL SERVICE— RELIGIOUS TENT MEET- 
ING — OTHER COMMUNITY GATHERINGS— SOME PRICES— HAPPENINGS OP 
LOCAL INTEREST — RAILROAD AGITATION— THE CLINTON EYE— DICKEY CLAY 
WORKS — HARTWELL — URICH "MOVES" — NEW BUILDINGS — CLINTON ACAD- 
EMY AND BAIRD COLLEGE— EVENTS OP IMPORTANCE IN THE DEVELOP- 
MENT OP THE COUNTY. 

Peaceful Valley is an appropriate appellation for Henry County in 
the early eighties. 

The assassination of President Garfield spread a pall over the whole 
people of this county in common with all sections of the United States. 

The feeling was entirely different from that following the assassina- 
tion of President Lincoln. When the fatal shot from the pistol of Wilkes 
Booth startled a civilized world and struck down one of the greatest 
friends of mankind, the country was sorely divided and there might have 
been some unrepentant and unreconstructed who rejoiced even at such 
a frightful tragedy. But time had been a great healer of hurts, and 
there were none who did not sincerely mourn the untimely taking of the 
gentle and wise Garfield. 

In districts where the people were ovei-whelmingly Southern, schools 
were dismissed on the day of the funeral, and in most of the churches 
memorial services were held. 

Prejudices and hatreds engendered during the Civil War gave place 
to a feeling of fellowship, and the bitterness following the execution of 
Order No. 11 in a measure gave place to a realization that this is really 
an indivisible country with one flag, one destiny and one purpose; and 
such a country is made of individuals with only one hope — that of for- 



154 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

getting the past, looking to the future with only one ambition, and that 
to make conditions just as desirable as possible for the citizens. 

At the time this change of attitude of the people toward each other 
could hardly have been discerned, but a brief reminiscence clearly shows 
that about that time an era of good feeling hitherto lacking began, and, 
bless God, has continued to increase to this day. 

The average mind has turned to the business pursuits at hand. 
The soil was new and yielded well. The husbandman had bounteous har- 
vests as hire for his labor. Contentment was abroad in the land. One 
railroad, the Missouri, Kansas & Texas, had diagonated the country, af- 
fording rapid communication with the markets of the world. The Star 
Route brought the mail to the inland postofRces, at first weekly, when 
"mail day" was almost a gala day at the country postofRce. 

Men. women and children often came for miles to get the letter that 
seldom arrived. All would come early, and when Uncle Sam's Pegasus 
with his freight of mail would appear as a speck on the distant liorizon, 
the people would jam into the little store postoffice and often the mail 
would have to be taken in through a window, or like Peter's revelation 
from heaven, let down through the roof, with much show of almost rever- 
ence for the mail bags and the locks securing the contents, the postmaster 
would receive and open the pouches. No one dared touch the sacred 
sacks but the postmaster. When emptied of their contents and the first 
class mail would be stamped with the date of arrival, a custom now aban- 
doned, a stillness would fall upon the crowd and in stentorian tones the 
postmaster would call the names of those to whom mail was addressed, 
and the recipient of the first letter would become as chesty as a pea- 
cock and often push his way to the fringe of the crowd and proceed to 
read his communication, and if it happened that his name were called 
more than once he became the observed if not the envy of the rest of 
the eagerly expectant throng, and often jests and stale jokes were di- 
rected toward him. 

The person who came from "way up the creek" and took the mail 
for his neighbors showed that he felt himself an important personage and 
in a measure a public benefactor. 

With the lapse of years the arrivals of the mail would be increased 
to semi-and then tri-weekly and daily. 

At every quadrennium, in villages of more than one store, a great 
contest for the appointment as postmaster would be staged and would 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 155 

often bring bitterness. Not that the salary of the incumbent of the office 
paid much, but the country merchant, like the city merchant, wants to 
bring all of the possible customers into close proximity to his wares. It 
was his method of advertising, and the man who would look a newspaper 
advertising agent out of countenance and refuse to invest a penny in 
printer's ink would spend dollars in affording free space for the crowds 
that gathered on mail day. 

A decade and a half later when free rural delivery began to be in- 
troduced in many communities the people stuck to the postoffice as one 
of their bulwarks, almost as religiously as lawyers stick to precedent and 
technicality. The country postoffice was an institution hallowed by rec- 
ollections of Benjamin Franklin, and the town postoffice afforded many 
a man an excuse to go to town to satisfy his gregarious instinct, and 
frequently gratify a thirst for something less elevating. 

A great many good citizens bitterly opposed the introduction of the 
greatest unbought blessing that our country ever bestowed upon the peo- 
ple. Some tried to justify their opposition to rur-al mail delivery on eco- 
nomic grounds. Some on the theory that it would kill all the inland 
villages, and some on the ground that it could not be done. And really 
all opposition was founded upon the reluctance of the human rival to 
surrender the things to which it once has become accustomed and take 
on new and to them untried conditions. 

This instinct of "letting well enough alone" has hindered progress 
from the day Mother Eve tearfully bade farewell to her original costumes 
of smiles and sunshine and donned the cumbersome fig leaf. It is com- 
mon to all races and peoples, and Henry County folk should not be cen- 
sured too severely when the universal human propensity dominates their 
mode of life and action. 

After years of successful working of rural free mail delivery we say 
"farewell" to the long departed love of our youth and "hail" to the ac- 
commodating earner who brings our daily paper to the door, though we 
may live many miles from the noisy mail train. We now impatiently wait 
to have our mail dropped in our front yards by the aerial mail clerk whose 
ten hours run is from New York to Kansas City. This may be some years 
in the future, but few of us can rise from terra firma to oppose it. 

Another great institution of the early eighties in Henry County was 
the religious tent meeting. The tent was often only an arbor to keep out 
the too direct rays of the sun. While families frequently had tents on the 



156 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ground fitted with furniture and cooking outfits, and the home on the 
farm was almost deserted, and trips were made from the meeting place 
to home rather than to the place of religious favor. 

These meetings were a great moral uplift to the communities in 
which they were held, and in addition brought the people together, and 
when folks get in neighborly touch with each other they almost invari- 
ably feel better one toward the other. 

Some preachers of more than local fame are among the fruits of 
these spiritual gatherings. Enoch Hunt, a product of the Hunt camp 
ground in Walker township, made his mark and was sometimes spoken 
of as a possible bishop in the M. E. Church. The Lawlers and the Briggses 
of the eastei-n part of the county and Uncle Frank Williams of Clinton and 
many others were always active in the good work, and left honorable 
names dear to the hearts of many of their converts. 

They were ably seconded in this work by such sturdy laymen as the 
Longs, the Wilsons, the Bronaughs, William Adair, the Goodwins, J. P. 
Craig, the Halls, William Davis, the Gutridges and very many others of 
God's noblemen, all of whom have gone to their reward, but their good 
deeds follow them in the better lives and nobler ambitions of the younger 
generation with whom they came in contact and for whom their lives 
were a model, even as the Nazarene was their exemplar. 

The debating society and the spelling school afforded diversion and 
means of culture. The Grange was on the wane but its social side left 
its impress and gave its members the advantage of exchange of ideas. 

The Grange would not have died so young if the members had stuck 
to its original pui-pose and had steered clear of party politics. But it 
came in a day when men were permeated with the idea that to hold ofiice 
was the highest goal to be attained. Many were almost mad with the 
mania to gain some prominence in their respective communities. Folks 
had not seemed to grasp the idea that the highest ideal to possess was 
to be an American citizen worthy of the name in all its aspects. The 
community goal was abandoned for personal ambitions. The broad al- 
truistic principles of the order were sacrificed to the narrow aspirations 
and the petty desires of individuals, and decline followed. 

The public school grew more and more in favor, the teachers were 
an enthusiastic bunch, so well respected that the goal of many of the 
youth was to become a teacher. The teachers' institute became a popu- 
lar institution, and the sessions were held in the largest churches, which 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 157 

were usually filled to capacity by patrons and pupils to hear the discus- 
sions of the teachers. It became a means of weeding out the inefficient 
and of promoting those best fitted for the duties. 

The winter of 1882 and 1883 was a severe one. Snow came early and 
remained on the ground many weeks. Sleighing parties were numerous, 
and afforded great sport and a means of broadening acquaintances. 

The season of 1883 was another year of bountiful crops. Business 
was good and people were prosperous, but prices were low. Apples sold 
at ten to twenty cents a bushel. St. Louis received 4,500 hogs one day 
which sold for $4.25 to $5.50, and 1,100 cattle were received at the same 
market and brought $3.25 to $6.50; 1,800 sheep sold at $1.75 to $4.00 
a head. One bunch of cattle sold at $5.55 and had a big writeup in the 
"Globe Democrat." Calico was five cents a yard, gingham four cents, 
men's suits $7.50, bran $14 a ton, corn thirty cents a bushel, eggs seven 
cents a dozen and chickens $1.25 a dozen. Some fields of wheat yielded 
forty-two and one-half bushels an acre. 

The salary of the superintendent of Clinton schools was "high" at 
$1,000 a year. 

There was an agitation on for the establishment of a permanent 
county fair. 

A movement was on foot to adopt stock law. Brownington had a 
disastrous fire. 

On July 17 the mercury is said to have reached 102 in the shade. 

An May of 1884 Anheuser-Busch built a warehouse near the Missouri, 
Kansas & Texas depot to handle an average of six carloads of beer a 
month. 

Rev. Ben Deering was denounced for having made a prohibition speech 
in the court yard, linking the Gemians up with the business. The news- 
paper referred to his utterances as a species of fanaticism of extremists. 
But the prohibition convention which was held in Sedalia August 21 de- 
manded the submission of an amendment to the State Constitution, and 
the W. C. T. U. advertised a free reading room in Clinton. 

Mr. S. Goodin wrote an article urging county supervision for the 
schools. Prof. E. P. Lamkin was conducting Clinton Academy. 

Late in the year the county was startled by the murder of a man 
named Wells near Windsor. At the September term of court, 1884, Judge 
R. E. Lewis, now of the United States Court of Denver, assisted by George 
P. J. Jackson, prosecuted Brownfield and Hopkink for the murder. They 



158 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

were defended by M. A. Fyke, C. A. Calvird, W. S. Shirk, B. G. Boone, 
Judge Foster P. Wright, C. C. Dikinson, T. M. Casey and N. K. Chap- 
man. The report of the trial occupies several pages of the weekly paper 
and is reported by sessions. Defendants were found guilty, but after- 
wards pardoned by the Governor. 

Horse stealing was annoyingly prevalent, resulting in the organiza- 
tion of the Anti-Horse Thief Association, one lodge of which is still intact 
in the county. 

The Democratic "organ" of the county boastfully announced that 
one local speaker, still living in Clinton, made a speech at Huntingdale, 
occupying one hour and forty minutes. For obvious reasons his name 
is not mentioned here. 

One firm in Clinton advertised "Pure white corn juice for sale." 
That man is in business in Clinton now. 

A creamery for Clinton was talked of. 

L. J. Terrell, near Brownington, was killed by a son, who escaped 
and was captured at Garden City, Kansas. 

Besides the agricultural products of the county, which assumed large 
importance, deposits of coal were being worked for local consumption, 
and different kinds of clay began to attract attention and people began 
to take notice. 

Some people began to talk about mining operations and the "Peace- 
ful Valley" feeling began to give way to a feeling of healthy unrest. 

This county was naturally tributary to Kansas City, but there was 
no direct means of access or communication. Col. John I. Blair of New 
Jersey and George H. Nettleton of Kansas City, Ft. Scott & Memphis 
railroad, seemed to have heard about Henry County about the same time, 
and conceived the idea of connecting this territory, with such vast pro- 
ducing possibilities, with the markets of the coming metropolis of the 
west. Scouting parties of strange men drove through the county, whose 
peace, contentment and quietude were transformed into commotion, dis- 
content and turmoil. 

Soon these strange men made confidants of a few to the effect that 
if favorable inducements were offered a railroad might be built. A hint 
was enough. The somnolence that had gripped the countj' vanished like 
a morning fog. The spirit of 1849 was abroad in the land. A new found 
placer deposit in Grand River, or the striking of a gusher oil Avell, would 
hardly have created a greater stir. Meetings were held in churches. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 159 

school houses, and on the street comers. Men who hitherto were content 
to sit on the fence and squirt tobacco juice at a grasshopper clamored 
to be put on committees to farther arouse their neighbors. Even the 
"Nail Keg Clubs" were decimated, and only a few chronic cranks were 
left to say: "It can't be did. Only another trick to get something for 
nothing." 

But the headquarters of the Kansas City, Osceola and Southern were 
established in Clinton. Col. William Bailey took charge and the con- 
struction gang closely followed the surveying party. Colonel Nettleton 
directed his forces from Kansas City, building the Kansas City, Clinton 
and Springfield. It was a race as to which road should run the first trains. 
On September 3, 1885, Col. William Bailey invited a party of Clinton peo- 
ple to go with him on his first trip to East Lynne. The road was then 
extended to Brownington and later to Osceola, which was the terminus 
for some years, and was later built to connect with spur of the Frisco 
at Bolivar. 

Colonel Nettleton soon completed his line from Olathe, Kansas, to 
Ash Grove, Missouri, intersecting the main line at the two points, and 
Clinton had high hopes that this would become the main line, but their 
hopes long since vanished. 

The Clinton Eye is a weekly paper established in November, 1885, 
by T. O. Smith. The paper grew from the first and has continued under 
the same ovmership and management to the present. It is rightfully 
classed among the newsiest county weeklies in the State. New equip- 
ment has been added until now it is one of the most modern offices in 
this section of the country. The latest acquisition was a new Lmotype 
in 1918. Miss Ella Smith, the oldest daughter of the proprietor, lias 
learned every detail of the business even to operating the Linotype and 
is qualified to take over the management of the business. 

Along with the railroads came numerous booms. 

What is now the Dickey Clay Works asked for a small bonus to 
locate at Clinton. The bonus was refused, and the owner of the land 
where Deepwater now stands saw the opportunity. The tile factory was 
located at Deepwater. It is now the parent plant of the Tile Trust of 
America, and said to be the largest factory of its kind in the United 
States. It is the life of Deepwater, a beautiful little city of 1,500 people. 

Hartwell was laid out west of Clinton with the intention of making 
it the shipping point for that section, but the people would not have it 



160 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

that way. November 13, 1884, a petition raimerously signed was pre- 
sented to the officials asking the location of a depot on sections 15 or 16, 
where Urich now stands. The depot was not located at once, but the 
town was on land belonging to T. J. McClung and J. L. Wright. The 
inland village of Urich crowned a beautiful eminence about two miles 
north of the site for the new town. The scramble was on between build- 
ing houses and moving those already built. Soon the town on the prairie 
that had been fathered by Jonathan Miller, Mr. Wells and Capt. William 
Porter was a real deserted village, the name even going to its new rival 
on the railroad and river, but the recollections of the happy bygone days 
and the magnificent, generous people of the former village will linger. 
The Urich of the upland prairie was a delightful village, surrounded by 
a fertile country. The Urich of the woods and railroad is a delightful 
bustling town of a thousand fine folk. If not the identical persons, the 
descendants of the other village, Heniy, Jake, Will and Rhote Miller are 
four brothers now living in Urich, who were citizens of the deserted 
village. Other good men were attracted to the new town, among the 
most progressive being Doctor Noble, who established a bank which has 
had a continuous period of prosperity and is serving the public now. 

This year Montrose erected $50,000 worth of buildings, Windsor $75,- 
000, and Clinton $123,000. Among the substantial improvements in Clin- 
ton was the Britts Block and the Salmon Bank. 

J. West Goodwin, the veteran newspaper man of Sedalia, visited 
Clinton, and telling of his trip in his "Bazoo" he suggested an immigra- 
tion boom, which in 1888 resulted in an enthusiastic gathering m Clin- 
ton, where an unknown school teacher, J. K. Gwynn, of Versailles, in one 
brief speech lifted himself out of obscurity by naming Clinton the "Ar- 
tesian Princess of the Prairies," and became commissioner of Missouri 
at the Columbian Exposition in Chicago and is now a leading oflicer in 
the American Tobacco Trust in New York. Another man whose prospects 
for the nomination for Governor were fine, committed political hari kari 
by referring to this section of the country as an area of rocky, hilly wood- 
land which might become a dairy country if proper attention were given 
to the growth of certain species of clover. 

The year closed with much merrymaking even if hogs were .''elling 
at four cents. 

B. G. Boone, attorney general elect, left Clinton with his family for 
a four years' residence in Jefferson City. 




HIGH S(;ilOOI>, JIOXTROSE, MO. 




MAIN STREET, MONTROSE, MO. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 161 

The first honor that came to Henry County in 1885 was the election 
of E. R. Vance as the official reporter of the Senate and House of the 
General Assembly. 

More excitement was brought to the confines of the county by a 
topographical engineer of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railway inves- 
tigating the coal deposits. 

At the beginning of the year wheat was quoted at sixty cents, corn 
twenty cents, butter sixteen cents, dressed chickens $2.00 per dozen, 
dressed turkeys eight cents per pound on the St. Louis market. Sweet 
cider was plentiful at fifteen cents per gallon. 

Judge F. E. Savage represented the county in the House and intro- 
duced a bill requiring all persons selling intoxicants in less than five gal- 
lon quantities to take out dram shop license. This was considered a radi- 
cal temperance measure. 

Among the toll of the grim reaper early in the year was William B. 
Means, Aunt Betsy Godwin and Benjamin Barker. 

The Home Dramatic Company of Montrose presented "East Lynne" at 
the City Hall in Clinton. Some of the citizens of Montrose who took 
minor parts in the play now play second fiddle to no one. 

Clinton was visited in February by Dr. John A. Brooks, who lec- 
tured on temperance, and by Hon. Belva Lockwood, the woman candidate 
for President on the suflFrage ticket. Of course they both drew a fusilade 
of ridicule. 

Attorney General Boone gets a headliner in the St. I^ouis Repub- 
lican as "Boone's Bold Move" by filing quo warranto proceedings against 
Jay Gould for operating parallel lines of railroad in Missouri. 

Brownington gets in the limelight claiming to have shipped more 
live stock than any other town of its size in the county, and Osage desig- 
nates itself "The Banner Live Stock Township." 

March 5 was not a very summery day but the Clinton Cornet Band 
paraded in honor of President Cleveland and the first Democratic Presi- 
dent in twenty-four years. 

At this term of the Circuit Court Mr. McDowell, a petit juror from 
Montrose, found that he had met Judge Gantt before at the battle of 
Cedar Creek, Virginia, October 19, 1864. McDowell's company met an 
advance of Judge Gantt's in that engagement and the judge received a 
minnie ball in his knee which permanently stiffened his leg. 

Professor Lamkin's Academy had met with such success that other 
educational institutions began to look toward Clinton. 



162 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

H. T. Baird, of Hardin College, proposed to start a female college. 
A bonus and scholarships amounting to $40,000 were subscribed. The 
site was selected April 16 and a contract let to Harry Kemp on June 8 
at $33,462 to be completed September 20 following. The work was done 
and the building stands today without a crack in any of its walls, mute 
but eloquent testimony to the quality of material and work. 

Baird College came into immediate popularity. Its first opening had 
more than 100 boarding pupils. Many from Texas, Colorado, Indian Ter- 
ritory and other far away States. And the young women who came for 
instruction returned to their homes to be moulders of thought and leaders 
in all good works. 

Clinton Academy, directed by Prof. E. P. Lamkin, took on new life, 
was incorporated, and its attendance a little later reached 150. Among 
its alumni are found ministers, lawyers, teachers and business men of 
prominence. One of these, Ralph H. McKee, a consulting chemical engi- 
neer of New York City, has recently attracted wide attention by announc- 
ing that he has developed a method of dehydrating fish, meats, vegetables 
and fruits to such a point that the cost of transportation would be re- 
duced to a negligible figure. When this process is perfected the aeroplane 
may supersede the expensive food products trains. 

In May of this year Clinton and Osceola were connected by rail, but 
the new town of Deepwater had only a stage line leaving Clinton every 
morning at 8 o'clock. 

The towns of Garland and Maurine were laid out on the Kansas City 
& Southern, and active building continued at Urich. 

Clinton citizens agitate the building of water warks, and locate some 
of the hydrants, but the mains are not laid, the water supply is not se- 
cured, nor are any offers made for bids on the contract for building the 
plant. 

Ruffin & Putnam buy the Tebo Mill and Elevator in Clinton and be- 
gin the manufacture of fine flour and foodstuff. 

Professor Price made a successful ascension in his balloon named 
"Belle of Clinton." A precursor of the aeroplane. 

Storms visited the county doing damage at Calhoun, in Bronaugh 
neighborhood and elsewhere. William Walters, of Fields Creek town- 
ship, was killed by lightning. 

T. W. Hall, son of David Hall, of Urich, is pressed into Canadian 
military service, which threatened international complications. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 163 

In June the farmers had troubles aplenty. The season had been so 
wet that the com acreage was decreased, and the army worm and Hessian 
fly are reported as attacking the crops and the peach crop was a failure. 

Dawson B. Anderson, of Leesville township, visited McDonald county 
and was killed while he slept. Irvin Grubb was suspected as the murderer. 

On June 24 the cornerstone of the Christian Church at the corner 
of Third and Green was laid with impressive Masonic ceremonies. This 
building was abandoned in 1913 for the beautiful commodious building at 
Second and Jefferson. 

It was mentioned in the local press that the oldest brick house in 
the county is well preserved, standing on section 7 in Tebo township, 
and built by Dr. Richard Wade, the first practicing physician of Henry 
County. 

The commissioners to locate a State asylum visited Clinton and asked 
for a bonus of $200,000. Clinton precerred to make some improvements of 
her own and proceeded to improve a tract of land on Colonel Colt's farm 
for a Fair Grounds. 

Blairstown was located on July 9 and active building begun at once. 
It is now a thriving little city of 1,000 of the best people on earth. 

The spirit of progress had a strong hold on the people. Agitation 
for a pottery in Clinton began. But in the materialistic hubbub the ar- 
tistic is not neglected, and Miss Griffin put on an exhibition of the prod- 
ucts of her brush at the home of Col. J. B. Colt. 

August 12, 1885, marked an epoch in the anti-booze fight. The 
prosecuting attorney on that date filed numerous suits against the saloon 
keepers for selling intoxicants to minors. 

The Clinton Band reached such proficiency that it put on a success- 
ful concert, and the Lilly Division of the Knights of Pythias gave nu- 
merous exhibition drills. 

Squire R. L. Avery of Tebo township, who taught school in Missouri 
in 1840 at $10 per month, and who remembered a visit from Gen. Andrew 
Jackson to his father's home in Sparta, Tennessee, moved to Clinton. His 
son, H. F., later became mayor of Clinton, and after that mayor of Colo- 
rado Springs, Colorado. 

Dr. W. H. Gibbins located in Clinton in September of this year. In 
subsequent yeai's he gave the city splendid service as alderman, presi- 
dent of the board of education and president of Clinton National Bank- 
He died full of good works May 16, 1916. 



164 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Nine good and true Democrats announced their candidacy for the 
Montrose postoffice. 

A dearth of houses in CHnton was announced and the Lingle and 
Avery addition was surveyed and a lot sale was put on. 

In the race for supremacy in other lines of effort, Henry County was 
not neglectful in the improvement of the grade of its live stock. Fore- 
most among those who entered this laudable enterprise was George M. 
Casey. He had added to his famous herd of Shorthorn cattle until, with 
choice goods at its head, he captured first premiums at all the State fairs. 
This herd became a terror to all fancy cattle exhibitors. The manager 
of the great herd belonging to the Taft Brothers, of whom ex-President 
Taft was one, once remarked that they did not expect many blue ribbons 
when competing with the Choice Goods Herd. 

It may be of interest to note some retail quotations of commodities. 
Good table linen thirty cents per yard, bleached muslin five cents, twenty- 
four pounds choice white fish fifty cents, twenty-four pound pail mackerel 
fifty-five cents, seventeen pounds sugar $1.00, thirteen pounds good cof- 
fee $1.00. 

The County Fair, which opened October 7, is largely attended and 
120 children gave the fairy opera, "The Naiad Queen," at the Opera House. 

T. G. Cheesman, of Windsor, shipped a lot of cattle to Chicago that 
ave^raged between 1,900 and 2,000 pounds in weight. 

The agitation for a new court house continued, also the building of 
a $30,000 hotel. 

John Shobe'and George Jackson returned from a hunting trip near 
White Sulphur Springs, bringing venison, and reported they killed a doe 
and a buck eight years old. 

The Brownington Milling Company announced that it was turning 
out fifty barrels of fancy grade of flour per day. Adler and Gebhardt 
shipped a car load of hickory nuts. 

On November 15 the Kansas City, Clinton & Springfield railroad ad- 
vertised its through train service to Ash Grove. 

The United Brethren built Brushy Church in Bogard township, tl 
stands about midway between Urich and Blairstown and is an important 
spiritual center. 

While other parts of the county were busy with affairs pretaining 
to the several localities, Keith and Perry were working overtime develop- 
ing the natural resources at Deepwater and building the town. It is 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 165 

claimed that $50,000 had been spent in opening up the coal. Large amounts 
of money had been spent on the clays and shales. A reservoir cost $15,- 
000. A saw mill had done a capacity business for months, about sixty 
houses were built or under course of construction. Two lumber yards 
were doing a rushing business, and numerous brick yards supplied bricks 
for the more ornate and substantial buildings. 

If there had been a fuel administrator in the early winter of 1885 
he would have had an easy time as oak and hickory wood is advertised 
at $1.50 to $2.00 per cord of four foot wood. 

A great union Thanksgiving service was held in the Cumberland 
Presbyterian Church. 

The apple crop was pronounced a bumper one, bringing the orchard- 
ists handsome returns. The amount of the crop was indicated by the 
fact that three cars of cooperage were received from November 1 to No- 
vember 20, and four cars of apples were shipped at one time and eight 
cars at another. 

In November a franchise was granted for the installation of an elec- 
tric light system in Clinton. This franchise probably lapsed as the light 
plant was not built. 

Windsor had become so important that a hand fire engine was bought 
and a fire company organized for the protection of the city. This seems 
to have been the beginning of fire protection in the county. 

On December 10 S. D. Garth received the appointment as postmaster 
at Clinton and James R. Bush, now of the "Montrose Tidings," was the 
deputy. 

About the tenth of December R. B. Casey started for the cattle 
ranches in Texas and New Mexico, owned by Henry County people, with 
four carloads of Hereford and Shorthorn bulls that had been raised in 
Henry County. Many of the stockholders in these cattle ranches of the 
southern plains had all their savings of many years invested in these 
enterprises, which at first promised returns more than satisfactory, but 
the final results were disastrous. The full effects were not felt until the 
failure of the Salmon and Salmon bank many years later. 

The Christian Church of Clinton had a great revival, closing in De- 
cember with fifty-two additions. At the close of this meeting the pastor, 
Elder N. M. Ragland, accepted a call to the pastorate of the church in 
Fayetteville, Arkansas, where he removed his family and for almost a 
quarter of a century stayed in one place as pastor. He is living now in 



166 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

that famous educational center, full of years and good deeds and is truly 
loved by all the people. 

The grim reaper had among his toll the present year Col. E. C. Mc- 
Carty, who died in August; Rev. William Birge, of La Due, of whom the 
paragrapher said at "the ripe old age of sixty," in September; William 
Blizzard also died in September, and James R. Rivers in November. 



CHAPTER XIX. 



THE LAST OF THE DECADE 



AN INTERNATIONAL, INCIDENT— BOOMS IN SEVERAL, TOWNS— THE DAILY DEMO- 
CRAT—WATERWORKS AND ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT IN CLINTON— THE MAC- 
ADAM MATTER— VARIOUS ITEMS OF PROGRESS— THE ARTESIAN WELL AT 
CLINTON— THE LEWIS COAL MINES — WINDSOR BOASTS OF ITS BUTTER— THE 
SOUTHWESTERN IMMIGRATION ASSOCIATION — OLD SETTLERS MEET IN 
WINDSOR. 

The year 1886 came in with much excitement throughout the Nation. 
An American citizen named Cutting had been imprisoned in Mexico. The 
United States was becoming deeply interested and the interest in Henry 
County was great. Dr. Noble of Urich, a veteran of the Civil War, pro- 
posed to raise a company to get into the fray. Peace by arbitration 
prevailed and matters began again to assume normal conditions when a 
general strike of railroad men was declared. This proved more exciting, 
more disastrous and of more local interest than the recent war excite- 
ment. Trains were stopped, travel was uncertain and threats of violence 
were uttered. At the division points the excitement ran high, and in 
some places riots and bloodshed resulted. 

Henry County with the rest of the States suffered the inconveni- 
ences attending irregular train sei-vice and disappointing mails. But 
the spirit of progress was not quenched. It is true that almost con- 
current with the strike there was a money panic. Banks did not sus- 
pend payments locally, but they did cease lending for a time. This worked 
a great hardship, as the preceding season had been a bountiful crop year, 
and stock feeders needed money. But they pulled through and when 
the labor and financial storm clouds vanished a brighter day commercially 
seemed upon us. 

Farmers generally had caught the building fever and throughout 



168 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

the country new houses and barns were erected. Better machinery was 
introduced and the last of the ox teams was used to haul coal into Clin- 
ton from the mine on the Noble farm four miles south of town. Four 
yoke of cattle were hitched to one wagon and a load of many tons was 
thus freighted by the owner of the farm and mine to town. 

New school and church houses were built throughout the county. 
Montrose had a sidewalk boom, Urich built a new school house, a 
bank was established at Blairstown, some new potteries were established 
at Calhoun, Windsor became the line horse center for western Missouri, 
as well as the capital of the Star Route Mail service of the United States, 
and Deepwater continued to develop her coal and clay. 

J. C. Beedy and Mr. Morse had been employes of Elkins, Kerens and 
others in subletting mail contracts all over the United States. For years 
the business was a paying one to those who mastered the details and 
several fortunes were amassed in the business, but most of them were 
lost by reckless bidding and overreaching on volume of business. A few 
years later by virtue of a ruling from the postoffice department the busi- 
ness was sent to the scrap heap. 

Clinton came in for its share of hustle. 

The "Daily Democrat" was established in connection with the weekly 
by George R. and T. J. Lingle. It has never missed an issue, except on 
holidays, since the first one came off the press, and is now running under 
the management of C. H. Whitaker & Son, the son being a veteran of the 
great World War, a musician of more than local repute, a clever cartoonist 
and C. H. Ill in the conduct of the paper. Other dailies have come and 
gone in Clinton. May the "Democrat" long continue. 

After a prolonged contest, which at times became acrimonious, a 
contract was let to Colonel Perkins, of Springfield, Missouri, to build a 
water works system. Up to that time municipal ownership had not been 
much discussed and many meetings of the city council and many pow 
wows of the citizens were held before the document authorizing the work 
was signed. At first water was to be brought from Grand River two 
miles west of town. At the beginning it was somewhat satisfactory, but 
when the river reached a low stage much sediment was carried through 
the mains. A year later when a flowing well was brought in, the water 
problem was solved and drills were soon at work seeking the fountain, 
and as a result the city was finally supplied with clear sparkling water 
from 800 feet below the surface. Barring a slight mineral content prin- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 169 

cipally of salt and sulphur no city in the United States has a better 
quality of water than has Clinton ; although the service is not all it ought 
to be, it is as good as is usually found under private ownership of such 
utilities. 

An electric light plant was also built, and when the contract was 
let for macadamizing the streets the capital of Henry County began to 
be truly metropolitan. It is a striking coincidence at least to note that 
these big improvements almost immediately succeeded the advent of the 
"Daily Democrat." 

A story connected with the building of the macadam might well 
be related. Under the law governing such matters, abutting property 
has to bear its pro rata share of the cost of the improvement. It was 
supposed that the Court House square was an abutting property on its 
four sides and Mr. Thornton, the contractor, did his work in good faith 
under the joint direction of his own engineer and that of the county. 
When the work was completed and the tax bills made ready for sale 
the over careful prospective buyers, in order to be sure that there would 
be no chance of a loss, demanded a resurvey of the Court House square 
and it was found that the macadam had been built all around it, but 
missing it on all sides by about six inches. The contractor went into 
court to establish his right to collect from the county. The above was 
presented as the true statement of fact. The validity of the debt was 
denied. There was no sale for the tax bills. The company that had done 
the work was forced into bankruptcy, and it was reported that the mind 
of the owner and manager became unbalanced, and he soon after died 
in a sanatorium. 

The old frame building on West Green street that had been so long 
the Methodist Episcopal Church South was considered no longer fit for 
a place of worship. Rev. L. P. Worfleet, now of Sedalia, was the pastor 
and set about the erection of a new church at the corner of Third and 
Franklin. Though the congregation was small and not strong financially, 
he succeeded in building what was then the pride of the city. In May, 
1886, the building was dedicated by Rev. D. R. McAnally. The following 
winter a revival was conducted in the building in which all the congrega- 
tions of the town joined. The converts were many and the results far- 
reaching. Many of the leading business and professional men of Clinton 
announced their conversion, and attached themselves to the churches of 
their choice. At that time a religious spirit seemed to pervade the entire 



170 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

country. Revivals were reported in progress almost everywhere. Major 
Cole was one of the successful evangelists, and passing through Clinton 
in February, 1887, on a few hours' notice the opera house was filled to 
overflowing by men only, who came from the meeting with new and 
higher resolves. The church built at the corner of Third and Franklin 
stood until 1913, when it was burned one Sunday just after the congre- 
gation had dispersed after the service. Another, a better and a more 
modern church was erected on the site. Rev. C. A. Powers was the pastor 
and it was largely due to his executive genius that its building was a suc- 
cessful enterprise. He was succeeded by Rev. C. E. Ruyle, and under 
the leadership of this brilliant young preacher the church is growing in 
numbers and spiritual strength. Rev. Ruyle has the distinction of being 
the first pastor of his church who remained pastor in one place more 
than four years in succession. He is serving his fifth year with such 
satisfaction that his people are hoping to be able to keep him indefinitely. 

Eighteen hundred and eighty-six was another year of bountiful crops 
and was marked by much general improvement everywhere. Bridges 
were built, and the new towns kept up their growth whilst Windsor, Cal- 
houn and Clinton were all on the alert that none of the new places might 
snatch any of the honors from them. In this there has always been a 
friendly rivalry. Each community is always ready to lend a helping hand 
to the other in any local enterprise. 

During the year Clinton had invested $40,000 in Baird College, $35,- 
000 in additions to Franklin public school, and $50,000 in churches, mak- 
ing a total of $125,000 for the season. Other places in the county had 
caught the spirit and were doing as well. 

The year 1887 had hardly passed its stage of infancy until another 
sensation was on. One Shaeffer came to the country and in some way 
connected himself with many of the various enterprises. By this method 
he won the confidence of the people and was making much headway in 
all kinds of enterprises that required investment. Some misstep showed 
him an imposter and all his great plans collapsed and he was allowed to 
leave the country, though much litigation resulted from his speculations. 

In March the Court House statistician reported the total assessment 
of the county was $6,754,360, and the expenditures $36,998.61. 

The Concho Cattle Company with headquarters at Clinton, and land 
leases and live stock near San Angelo, Texas, was one of the big enterprises 
launched in Clinton. Stockholders were numerous among the ablest finan- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 171 

ciers of the county. It was at first a great success, but mismanagement 
brought failure some years later. 

Windsor was the scene of a disastrous fire during the month of Feb- 
ruary. Some good buildings were destroyed, but better ones were built 
on the burnt district. Montrose had a similar experience. 

This was a time for settling up generally and the newspapers carried 
pages of real estate sales by the sheriff and trustees. Much land sold 
for taxes during those days, and there were chances to make fortunes 
in the most legitimate and safest kind of speculation, but men who had 
money to invest hesitated and those of small means either sold for short 
profits, or let the land go to sale again. A great deal of the land thus 
conveyed is now very valuable. 

On February 3 arrangements were finally completed whereby 
Worley and Folckemer took over the old machine shop in the northeastern 
part of Clinton and started a pottery. For many years it was an impor- 
tant industry employing a strong force of skilled labor at good wages. 
But like most of such enterprises throughout the country, it was ab- 
sorbed by the Pottery Trust, and most of the men went to Monmouth, 
Illinois, or Red Wing, Minnesota, where they had employment in the par- 
ent plants of the Trust. 

The Urich Dramatic Company presented "Above the Clouds" at Clin- 
ton Opera House. The attendance was gratifying. 

Mrs. Sallie Shelton was made postmistress at Windsor, succeeding 
her husband, who died in ofiice. 

Fink and Nasse, wholesale grocers of St. Louis, bought a lot in 
Clinton for the establishment of a branch house. As soon as weather 
conditions were favorable work on a substantial brick building was begun. 
The business was started with W. F. Crome as manager. His ability as 
such is attested by the magnificent business which grew to one of the 
best in southwest Missouri. He soon established a reputation for fair 
dealing which assured for his firm a volume of business that was entirely 
satisfactory to the founders of the enterprise. His work was such that 
the firm came to be known as William F. Crome and Company. 

Mr. Crome continued at the head of the concern until January, 1910, 
when death claimed him. Like the wise man that he was, he had sur- 
rounded himself with employes whose loyalty, fidelity and business ability 
carried the business over this crisis, and his three sons, Carl, William F., 
and Conrad grew up in the business, and quite naturally for them, have 



172 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

continued it, and kept it going and growing, and today it stands second 
to none in the country for its progressive methods and financial stability. 

The retail prices of some of the commodities at that time were as 
follows : Brooms, 15 cents ; beans, 33 pounds for $1 ; hominy, 40 pounds, 
$1 ; hay, $6 per ton; dried apples, 31/2 cents per pound; dried peaches, 
6l^ cents per pound ; wheat, 77 cents per bushel ; bacon, 10 cents ; hams, 
121/2 cents; lard, 7 cents; cattle, 314 cents per pound; eggs 71/2 cents, and 
chickens, $2 per dozen; 20 pounds of rice, 18 pounds of Turkish prunes 
for $1. Silk worms were advertised at $4 per ounce by a silk worm mer- 
chant in Illinois. 

The old court house, after numerous condemnations by various grand 
juries, was finally on April 7, 1887, turned over to the wreckers, who on 
this date began to tear it down. The county offices were scattered 
over the business part of the town, none of the records having protection 
from fire. 

The fever for building more railroads throughout the country broke 
out again. This time it was a due east and west road named the Mis- 
souri, Kansas and Western, which was to connect Clinton with Ottawa, 
Kansas, and the undeveloped counties of Missouri to the east. Much sur- 
veying was done. H. P. Faris became a director. Capitalists from the 
east were associated with the enterprise, but the road reached only the 
paper stage. 

In May a Young Men's Christian Association was organized in Clin- 
ton. It flourished a few years, but met its overthrow at the hands of 
those who should have been its most enthusiastic supporters. 

In April, 1887, the Natural Gas and Development Company was or- 
ganized in Clinton. Work was soon begun on what is now the artesian 
well. A depth of 800 feet was reached with a flow of fine sulphur-saline 
water, with a prominent content of magnesium. The water has great 
curative properties, but has never been pushed as such. The Artesian 
Hotel was erected, and later a race track was built and the county fair 
was held there for a number of years. 

D. W. Wood of Unionville, Missouri, came to Clinton and was given 
a bonus for building what is now the Cozart Hotel. Mr. Woods success- 
fully managed the hotel for a good many years. 

In the Circuit Court which convened the week of March 10, there 
were four hundred and two cases on the docket. An apparently prosperous 
period for lawyers. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 173 

The Democrat carried a column write-up of the new buildings erected 
and in process in Clinton, among them being the Henry County Bank 
building. The bank was moved into its new quarters June 23. The build- 
ing is now occupied by the Citizens Bank. 

The Tebo Coal Company began work at Lewis. A daily mail between 
Clinton and Norris was established. Col. T. J. Lingle delivered an address 
on convict labor in Jefferson City, favoring the abolition of the contract 
system. 

The first session of the Y. M. C. A. was held June 30, 1887, in the 
new quarters over the Henry County Bank. 

Windsor boasted of a single shipment of 19,000 pounds of butter. 
In July of this year was chronicled the incorporation of the Brinkerhoff- 
Faris Trust and Savings Company, the sale of the Windsor Mineral Springs 
Hotel, a farmers' picnic at Peelor Springs, and a chapter of minor acci- 
dents. 

In August the Windsor Driving Association built a track, a big wind 
storm visited the county, the sawmill at Deepwater burned, the Clinton 
Fire Department returned from a tournament at Nevada, where they won 
the honors. Charles Weidemeyer closed an option with Mexico on 50,000 
acres of mineral and grazing lands. The Henry County Fair, with James 
M. Spangler superintendent opened the thirty-first of August. Judge 
James B. Gantt announced as a candidate for judge of the State Supreme 
Court. He was nominated and elected, and served with honor and dis- 
tinction twenty years. 

Many of Henry County's best citizens were gathered to their fathers 
during the year. Among them was Peter Lennartz of Montrose, Aunt Mason 
Eckles of Clinton, whose age was claimed to be 106 years; Mrs. Mana,h 
L. Thornton and Archimald Cock, one of the pioneers of the county. 

Among the Christian weddings were that of Ben C. Simes and Miss 
Jennie Brown, C. F. Blanke of St. Louis and Miss Eugenia Frowein 
of Clinton. 

Eighteen hundred eighty-eight was signalized as the year of the 
organization of the Southwestern Immigration Association. A great meet- 
ing was held in Clinton. The "Globe Democrat" wired its correspondent 
to send two hundred words covering the meeting. He sent nearly three 
thousand, was given the front page with many double heads, and more 
copy was ordered covering the succeeding sessions. 

The Governor and most of the state oflScers as well as leading busi- 



174 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ness men from all the territory south of the Missouri River and east 
to Rolla were in attendance. 

Maj. H. W. Salmon of Clinton was made the president of the asso- 
ciation and J. K. Gwynn of Versailles the secretary. Mr. Gwynn resigned 
as principal of the Versailles public schools and moved his family to Clin- 
ton and for years conducted an active advertising- campaign for this 
section of the state. He later moved to St. Louis, was made commis- 
sioner for Missouri at the Columbian Exposition. 

The Wheel, a farmer organization, was becoming strong among the 
class which so much needs an energetic and active body. Like its prede- 
cessor the Grange, a few men tried to use it to make themselves politi- 
cally prominent and it fell into hopeless uselessness. 

Among the calamities of the year was a boiler explosion at Mt. Zion 
in which George Hillegas lost his life. 

The tournament of the Southwestern Firemen's Association was 
held in Clinton in June. 

F. A. Eisner assumed the management of the Anheuser-Busch inter- 
ests in Clinton. 

The third annual meeting of the Old Settlers of Henry, Johnson, 
Pettis and Benton counties was held at Windsor. Judge James H. Lay 
of Warsaw was the principal orator. 

This was a spring of much promise of ci'ops, and many candidates 
for the county offices. 

The city of Clinton was forging ahead and put in a sewer system. 

Calhoun mills began making buckwheat flour. 

A. H. Crandall founded the machine shop, which is now the Indus- 
trial Iron Works. 

Bountiful crops were followed by good business, and building through- 
out the county continued. Broom corn had become a very important 
crop and was selling at forty dollars per ton. 

About the middle of November an agitation was started to have the 
street cars of Clinton heated. 

The Henry County Horticultural Society had held regular meetings 
for two or three years. One Clinton firm paid out over $10,000 for apples. 

The corn crop was big. W. H. Cock was said to have sold baled hay 
at four dollars and a half per ton, and Tom Cowden sold hogs at the 
top price of three dollars and ten cents per hundred. 

Dr. J. T. Noble, representative-elect, and Miss Josie A. Moses of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 175 

Sedalia were married. The bride accompanied her husband to Jefferson 
City and was the pride of officialdom of the State Capital during the 
legislative session. 

As leap year had kept the modest youths of Clinton in subjection, on 
New Year's day they asserted themselves. Many of them appeared in 
Prince Alberts and silk tiles, and made numerous calls. It was the occa- 
sion of much merry-making and general good feeling. 

Early in 1889 Wiley 0. Cox of Kansas City bought 1,600 acres of 
land about four miles southeast of Blairstown and undertook to boom 
Duplex. 

The mills at Montrose were acquired by George D. Baker, a success- 
ful mill man. He made the enterprise an important industry. 

Calhoun laid claim to being the Clay Queen of the World, and to 
have been quite a village before a house was built in Clinton. 

Clinton guttered the principal streets. John H. Lucas succeeded W. 
H. Brinkerhoff as president of the Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust and Savings 
Company, a position he has since continuously held. 

Among the deaths of the year were R. L. Avery, Mrs. Frances Carter, 
Rebecca J. Dorman, Mrs. Judge Gantt and Mrs. G. F. Warth. 

The following were a few of the weddings : I. G. Gerson of Houston, 
Texas, and Miss Theresa Goldsmith, Will Middlecoff and Miss Luttie 
Nichols of Fulton, W. M. Godwin and Miss Audree Blakemore, Prof. J. 
H. Watkins and Miss Myrtle Langley, and a double wedding in Deer Creek 
township at which W. J. Snow and Miss Hattie Thornton, W. P. Thorn- 
ton and Miss Theo Miller were married. 

Early in 1890 a farmers' co-operative store was established in Hart- 
well. It flourished for some years. 

In June the Eclipse Band of Clinton attended a band tourament and 
contest in Carthage, Missouri, and brought home the trophy awarded 
to the best band. 

Henry County was set wild with enthusiasm because of the news 
of the nomination of Judge Gantt for supreme judge at the convention 
at St. Joseph June 11. 

The patent insides of the newspapers were filled with arguments 
favoring single tax. 

The Farmers' and Labors' Union was superseding the Wheel. Hon. 
U. S. Hall was a leader in the movement. 

The Gordon Granger Post of the Grand Army of the Republic at 



176 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Clinton was an active body. On November 29, 1890, Meyer and Bulte 
of St. Louis secured a site in Clinton for the location of the White Swan 
Mills. It was built and for years ran at capacity of 1,200 barrels of 
flour per day. It was destroyed by fire about twenty years later. 

On August 31st Col. J. La Due assumed the political editorship of 
the Clinton Eye. The Colonel was a bold, forceful writer. 

The annual conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 
for southwest Missouri was held in Clinton in September. 

Among the deaths of the year were : William Driggs, age 77 years ; 
Mrs. Nancy Harness, age 72 years; George F. Royston at Huntingdale; 
Mr. McKinney, George Mitchell, age 86, and Mrs. M. R. Amick. 




STREET SCENE. DEEPWATER. MO. 




DICKEY CLAY ."MAXUFACTURIXG CO.. DEEPWATER, MO. 



CHAPTER XX. 



HENRY COUNTY IN THE NINETIES 



A SERIES OP CALiAMITIES— THE NEW HENRY COUNTY COURT HOUSE— AGITA- 
TION TO REMOVE THE UNIVERSITY TO CLINTON— URICH SHIPS MANY PROD- 
UCTS— KELLOGG'S AIRSHIP— DEATH OP "BILL,- COVINGTON— THE SPANISH- 
.^JMERICAN WAR— "COMPANY F" — MONTE BOZARTH — THE FAMOUS MALE 
QUARTETTE — IMPROVEMENTS IN THE COUNTY— TURKEYS AT SEVEN AND 
A HALF CENTS A POUND — RAILROAD TROUBLES IN ST. CLAIR COUNTY- 
MEETING IN CLINTON— LIQUIDATION OF STATE BANK OF CLINTON— REUNION 
OF EX-CONFEDERATE VETERANS — SOUTHWEST MISSOURI TEACHERS' ASSO- 
CIATION—DEATH OP GENERAL BOONE. 

Deepwater announced that during the year 3,194 cars of produce 
had been shipped from that busy little city. 

The year 1891 had a bunch of calamities in store for Henry County 
in its early months. Messick barn, on South Washington street, in 
Clinton, burned February 6th and a number of neighboring buildings 
were consumed. On the 13th the boiler of Churchill & Owsley's mill 
at Windsor exploded, killing Charles Sturdivant, Walter Beaman, Hugh 
L. Smith, and Thomas Tillery. Henry Brownsberger of Montrose was 
drowned April 28th, A. H. Crandall of Clinton machine shops was killed 
in a railroad accident near Osceola June 21st, and a disastrous storm 
visited Blairstown and vicinity July 1st. 

Weber Brothers of Kansas City bought five acres of land in the 
northeastern part of Clinton for the site of a rolling mill, which was 
built and operated for some years. 

The lot for Jefferson Park school in Clinton was bought in August 
and the erection of that building was begun soon thereafter. 

Henry County, in October, 1891, voted $50,000 bonds for the building 
of a court house. The measure carried after numerous failures. The 



178 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

contract for the building was let to D. J. Hayde & Company for $47,221, in 
February, 1892, and was to be completed May 4, 1893. The first meeting 
held in it was that of the Missouri State Press Association in June, 
1893. James Kirby of West Plains was president and John A. Knott of 
Hannibal his successor. The association went in a body from Clinton 
to the Columbian Exposition at Chicago. 

Silos were being built throughout the country, Mr. Gordrich of near 
Calhoun being among the first to have one. Sets of double harness are 
advertised at $12 to $24. 

The deaths for the year included R. F. Gaines, Mrs. W. H. McLane, 
R. Z. Fewel, H. L. Cheatham, John Loyd, Col. Joshua Ladue, Mrs. Dr. 
Jones and Casper Altringer and wife of Bear Creek tovraship, within a 
few hours of each other, on December 21st. 

A few of the weddings were: W. L. Pinkston and Miss Mattie G. 
Fentress, S. R. Mohler and Miss Anna Belle Patton, Judge J. B. Gantt 
and Mrs. M. W. Lee, F. P. Kitchen and Miss Jessie Cock. 

Blairstown claimed to have spent $75,000 in building during the year 
Clinton made a great ado because one firm had paid out $25,000 during the 
year for poultry and poultry products. 

Clinton had built its City Hall and the Council held its first session 
in it January 4, 1892. It was more in the nature of an oyster stew than 
a business session. Capt. W. F. Carter was mayor, and Col. W. H. 
McLane was an alderman from the Fourth ward. While commodities 
were selling at low prices, the spirit of improvement was abroad. Cat- 
tle brought $1.75 to $3.95; hogs, $4.10 to $4.37; corn, 32 cents; wheat, 
84 cents; best flour, $3.35 per hundred; sugar was quoted at 3 cents per 
pound. 

Withal, the year 1892 was ushered in with a grand masque ball. 

The agitation of the establishment of a Keeley Institute was on. 

The burning of the main building of the University at Columbia was 
the call to start an excitement that lasted months. 

Public meetings were held which resulted in raising a pledge of 
$100,000 to be given, conditioned on the locating of the University at 
Clinton. At the special session of the General Assembly the battle was a 
hard-fought one, and might have resulted in the gratification of the 
ambitions of Clinton, but at first the sentiment for removal was so 
strong, that Sedalia, Independence and other towns put in their claims, 
dividing the removal sentiment. The construction gang of the Missouri, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 179 

Kansas & Texas railroad pitched the tents across the river in sight 
of the Capitol, the building of a line into Columbia was guaranteed, a 
big bonus was raised in Columbia, the preparatory department was dropped 
from the University and it was re-established at Columbia, where it is 
receiving loyal support from all sections of the State, but none more en- 
thusiastic than that accorded it by Henry County people, many of 
whom would rejoice to see the University more liberally dealt with by the 
state at large, and extend its usefulness to the foremost position of edu- 
cational centers. 

At the beginning of the agitation for removal, the University boasted 
an attendance of 600, about one-third of whom were of high-school grade, 
mostly from Columbia, which at that time had a very indifferent high 
school. Clinton academy under Prof. E. P. Lamkin, and with no help 
of any kind, had an attendance of about two hundred, housed in an 
abandoned church building. 

Getting back to business, the Mound farm of 320 acres, four miles 
northeast of Clinton, sold for $10,000. 

Good roads talk was plentiful. A citizen of the county traveling in 
Indiana stated that roads were being built at $2,000 to $2,400 per mile. 

Round-trip tickets to Memphis, Tennessee, were advertised at $8. 

In a drive near Alvin Ross's farm, eight grown wolves were caught. 

Several fires occurred in Windsor, under conditions pointing to 
incendiarism. 

The com crop of the county for the season of 1891 was estimated 
at 935,000 bushels, and the oats at 524,000 bushels. 

There was much ado about building the St. Louis, Kansas City and 
Colorado railroad through the country. Horse stealing was common 
around Montrose. 

The streams of the county were unusually high. A news item clipped 
from a New England paper stated that all hope of raising a crop was 
abandoned, but the year brought forth bountifully. 

A fire visited Deepwater, destroying the Gulf House and a number 
of other buildings. The name of Coalsberg was changed to Coal, and is 
today a fine inland village. 

The first half of 1892 also was noted chiefly for the calamities 
that visited Henry County, among them being the fires already mentioned, 
hail and wind storms, floods, storms, and minor casualties. But they 
only caused greater effort to be put forth aiid the general average of 



180 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

prosperity was maintained. 

The State Dental Association met in Clinton July 5th. 

This was a national political campaign year and flambeau clubs were 
organized by both Democrats and Republicans. H. P. Faris, Prohibi- 
tionist, challenged both parties to discuss the issues of the day. 

Frank Phelps won a medal as the most expert mail clerk in the 
United States. 

Besides this being a year of disaster, though a bumper crop was 
raised, it was a year of great mortality among the older people. The 
following were among those gathered to their fathers: Cornelius East, 
age 73 ; W. M. MuUin, Nicholas Long and his wife, Elizabeth Long, within 
ten days of each other; Col. Joshua La Due; Rev. J. M. Kelly, age 78; 
Isaac Dunnaway, 92, who came to Missouri before statehood; Henry 
Cole, 83 ; Phineas Johnson, 78 ; James Colson, 80 ; William Davis of La Due, 
who came to Henry County in 1856. Mrs. Linn, age 87, drowned; Mrs. 
Nancy Lindsay, Robert McAllister, accidentally shot ; R. H. Walker ; Grand- 
ma Wiley, 85; Patrick Wallace, killed by falling from a second-story 
window in Brownington; Judge F. E. Savage, accidentally killed August 
25, by the discharge of his own gun at the end of a bird hunt on the 
Blakemore farm. He was one of the best citizens of the county. Curtis 
Givens, a young but prominent business man of Clinton; and about De- 
cember 15, Postmaster Kaiser, who while handing out mail, was shot by 
Levi Hartley. 

There were very many weddings during the year, among them that 
of C. S. Morrow and Miss Bessie Bronough and E. J. Boyer and Miss 
Lillie Bronough at one ceremony in Calhoun. On May 25, Auther Cock 
and Miss Lilia Lewis; H. G. Avery and Miss Margaret Lee Smithson in 
the Auditorium of Washington-Lee University of Virginia ; George Holland 
and Miss Kate Adamson, H. J. Arnold and Miss Clara B. Avery, and 
others, making the number two hundred and fifty, that many licenses 
being issued during the year. 

Urich claimed to have shipped live stock, $288,740; corn, $171,050; 
wheat and flour, $27,840 ; flax, $47,000 ; oats. $27,840 ; products not classi- 
fied, $284,942. Rather satisfactory for a year that threatened a total 
failure. Other shipping points did proportionately well. 

The cornerstone laying of the court house, June 24, 1894, was a big 
Masonic affair, attended by thousands. 

Eighteen hundred ninety-three was ushered in with a charity con- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 181 

cert at the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in CHnton. The proceeds 
of the evening amounted to $115. 

Rev. Frank Williams conducted a revival at Mt. Gilead, reporting 
thirty conversions. 

The Keeley graduates numbering nearly three hundred formed an 
organization in Clinton. 

There was an epidemic of an "imported disease" called lagrippe. 

Two hundred and forty acres of smooth land one-quarter mile south 
of Maurine sold "high" at $5,600. 

Dickey bought the Deepwater Clay Works for $6,200. 

A. A. Kellogg of Clinton built an airship but just before the initial 
flight the machine was destroyed by fire. Capital was not in sight for 
another one and aeronautics for Henry County adjourned for Wright 
Brothers of Ohio. 

A meeting was held in Doyle's Hall to urge a rigid enforcement of 
the law governing the licensing of saloons, and the sale of intoxicants. 

M. V. Thralls assumed editorial ownership of the Urich Herald. 
A few days afterward a third of Urich burned. 

A five-year franchise was granted the Missouri-Kansas Telephone 
Company by the Clinton City Council. 

On February 1, 1893, W. F. Covington, a prominent farmer and stock 
man of Henry County, was killed at Plato, Missouri. Mr. Covington was 
in that section of the State to buy cattle. A controversy arose among- 
some men in the country store at that place. A shot was fired with fatal 
results. The deceased was widely known and universally respected. His 
sons are among the country's prosperous citizens. 

At the school election in April, Prof. R. D. Moore was named as 
county school commissioner. Early in his incumbency he died, much 
lamented. The governor appointed Mr. E. M. Hall as his successor. Mr. 
Hall was elected to succeed himself, served with honor and distinction. 
He taught some of the best schools of the county. 

He was tendered a very desirable position in the schools of Jackson 
County, Missouri, which he accepted and a few years later died in active 
service. 

A signal honor came to Mrs. H. T. Baird, of Baird College. She 
was appointed a member of the advisory council of the Women's World 
Congress Auxiliary Council on Education. The impress of this vigorous, 
good woman was indelibly left on the lives of hundreds of young women 



"182 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

who came to her as pupils. Only the final records will reveal the extent 
of her influence for good. She died at the home of her son in Colorado 
about 1910. 

One of the big commercial transactions of the year was the sale 
of the Keith & Perry Coal Company to the Central Coal & Coke Com- 
pany, its holdings in Henry County, the consideration being $1,780,000. 

Twenty-eight cars of cattle and four cars of hogs, constituted one 
shipment from Blairstown to Chicago. 

On June 20, the County Court held a special session to examine the 
court house, which Contractor Hayde wished to turn over as completed 
according to the contract. 

The building was found up to the specifications and was formally 
accepted. Thus ended a long struggle for a suitable temple of justice in 
Henry County. The offices were ordered to be moved in July 1st, which 
was done. 

Miss Anna Barcafer, who had already won high distinction at the 
Chicago Conservatory of Music, was awarded a diamond medal in the 
post-graduate course. The previous year she had won a diamond medal. 

Among the distinguished foreigners who visited Henry County this 
summer were Hans Moss and Albert Scherer, of Luzon, Switzerland. 
They were sent by their government to examine the farming methods 
and agricultural resources of America. They made a close inspection in 
Henry County and were gratified at what they saw. 

The Winkler elevator at La Due burned. The principal topic of dis- 
cussion at the teacher's institute during the summer was the use of 
tobacco. The pedagogues put themselves on record as opposing the use 
of the weed. 

Much interest was shown in the "Strip" in Oklahoma. Very many 
people from the county made trips of investigation. Most of them re- 
turned with a final decision that Henry County was the peer of any 
section of country. 

The Clinton telephone system was opened for service October 19th 
with thirty-nine subscribers. 

On the same day C. H. Whitaker and son took charge of the Henry 
County Democrat and the Clinton Democrat. 

Dr. John H. Britts, whose side line was geology, was reappointed as 
a member of the State Bureau of Mines and Geology. He made many 
collections of fossil specimens, and furnished samples to many of the 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 183 

most prominent cabinets in the United States. He supplied a fine exhibit 
for the Columbian Exposition. 

Among the deaths chronicled during the year were: Dr. P. S. Jen- 
nings, Mrs. P. H. Trone, Mrs. Capt. John Curtis, Mrs. C. W. Drake, John 
Hart, Henry S. Marvin. 

At the beginning of the Christmas holidays Clinton and Henry County 
were pained by the announcement that Prof. E. P. Lamkin was prostrate 
with a stroke of apoplexy. Life left his body with the closing of the 
year, and on New Year's day, 1894, his remains were laid to rest in 
Englewood. 

He had been active and prominent among Missouri's educators for 
many years. He came to Clinton to the position of superintendent of 
the public schools, which position he held for a number of years. 

Retiring from the public schools he established Clinton Academy. 
This institution he conducted with much success for more than ten 
years. Many of the leading citizens of the county, and some of national 
fame were his pupils. He served as school commissioner of the county 
two terms. 

A few of the weddings chronicled during 1893 were : S. P. Francisco 
and Miss Addie Doyle, W. B. Kane and Miss Mary Ruddy of Joplin, C. A. 
Noll and Miss Louisa M. Smith, a double wedding at the home of George 
M. Casey; Ferd D. Kingsbury of Ft. Benton, Montana, and Miss Lula 
Casey ; and Edgar B. Hughes of Warrensburg to Miss Minnie Leah Casey ; 
Walter E. Owen and Miss Eugenia Britts. 

Hundreds of people from Henry County visited the Columbian Expo- 
sition during the year. 

In all, it was a good year, and brought its manifold blessings to the 
people, who, appreciative of the blessings of the Creator, renewed their 
allegiance to Him in many ways and set themselves to newer and nobler 
efforts along the paths of duty. 

The year 1898 will always be known in American history as one of 
the war periods, but at the beginning of the year, as far as Henry County 
was concerned, there was no indication of anything of an unusual charac- 
ter and no one believed that the peace that had so long existed would 
be broken and that the United States would soon be engaged in a foreign 
war. There had been some agitation in regard to the Cuban question, 
but it was never seriously considered that any serious results would 
follow. The nearest approach to anything of a martial nature in the 



184 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY , - 

county at this time was a lecture delivered by Confederate General John 
B. Gordon, who visited Clinton early in that year and was enthusiasti- 
cally received by the old veterans who had worn the gray and by the sons 
and daughters of the Southern sympathizers. 

The people were more interested in men from Clinton, Windsor, 
Blairstown and other parts of the county, who had gone with the gold 
seekers to the Klondike country and were writing back to their relatives 
in the county, telling them of their wonderful exploits and of opportuni- 
ties that existed in that region for the collecting of wealth. One or two 
of them returned from Alaska early in the year and by their glowing 
accounts succeeded in taking other gold seekers back with thm. How- 
ever, by midsummer the enthusiasm for the Klondike region seems to 
have abated and most of the argonauts from this county had returned 
poorer in purse, but richer in experience. 

Materially the business interests were considering the advantages 
that would come to the county from the extension of the Blair line from 
Osceola to Bolivar, which would give Clinton two direct and competing 
lines to Springfield and the great southwest. It was believed that all 
that was needed to insure prosperity of Clinton and Henry County was to 
have the two lines so that the people would be insured of competition 
in the matter of rates and also be better provided with train sei-vice, and 
when, in January of this year, a contract was let to build the last link 
of the Blair line, there was general rejoicing. The road had been built 
from Kansas City to Osceola and then from Springfield to Bolivar and a 
stretch of some twenty-five or thirty miles between Bolivar and Osceola 
would complete the line, and contract for this work was let early in 
January. 

The Democratic primary was ordered to be held in June and under 
the call most liberal rules were laid down as to the qualifications of voters, 
practically permitting a man to vote at any polling place in the county, 
no matter where his residence. The figures show that when the primary 
was actually held, on June 4th of that year, probably fifteen per cent of 
all the votes cast were in a different precinct than that in which the 
voter resided. This was a new departure and was a forerunner of the 
absentee ballot provision of the State-wide primary law which later on 
was made a part of the organic law of the State. The call for the pri- 
mary was signed by Thomas M. Casey, chairman of the Democratic county 
committee at that time. About the same time the Peoples party issued 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 185 

its call. The result of the Democratic primary showed selection of the 
following candidates as the nominees of that party, all of whom were sub- 
sequently elected at the regular election in November except Charles W. 
Gaines, who resigned before the primary, the Democrats naming Theodore 
J. Bolton in his stead: Representative, Charles W. Gaines; probate judge, 
James D. Lindsay; prosecuting attorney, H. F. Poague; collector, J. E. 
Finks ; circuit clerk, J. J. Chastain ; county clerk, Joshua C. Davis ; recorder, 
William M. Duncan; sheriff, Jerry G. Galloway; treasurer, William Lee 
Pinkston; coroner. Dr. W. H. Gibbins; presiding judge, Joseph F. Boyd. 

The peaceful days which marked the opening of the year 1898 were 
rudely ended when the news was flashed over the country in March 
of the sinking of the United States battleship Maine, in the Havana 
harbor. Instantly all the people began to demand war with Spain to avenge 
the insult to our national honor, and the papers were unanimous in de- 
manding war. A former resident of Henry County, Harry Williams, of 
Clinton, son of Dr. C. C. Williams, and a member of one of the best- 
known and most prominent families in the county, had for a number of 
years been in the United States Navy and at this time was serving on 
board the Cruiser Montgomery. Of course his letters linked the people 
of the county very closely with the actions of the navy and the subse- 
quent enrollment of the members of the local company of State guard 
brought to every household some personal feeling and intimate touch 
with the army. 

The need for relief to be extended to the starving Cuban refugees 
and sufferers which had hitherto been of a more or less academic nature 
now became very strong and a committee for Cuban relief was organized 
in Clinton, of which H. P. Faris was chairman ; Ben Adler, secretary, and 
William F. Carter, W. H. Cock, L. C. Lepscom, W. F. Crome, F. A. Eisner, 
Robert E. Harman and one member from each of the Clinton churches, 
served as members of the committee. Donations of money from residents 
of the towns and of provisions from farmers of the country were solicited 
and forwarded through proper channels to the sufferers. 

The papers were full of complaints as to the administration of the 
War Department. There was said to be a shortage of powder ; that there . 
were no guns and no cannon; that equipment of every sort was lacking 
and the people and press loudly denounced the Government for what was 
thought to be almost criminal negligence in not having made proper pro- 
vision for war and leaving the country defenseless in the time of need. 



186 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Evidences of patriotism on the part of citizens of the county were 
everjrwhere displayed. One of the most unique of these was that of 
Monte Bozarth, the locally prominent balloonist, who, under date of March 
28, 1898, wired Washington as follows: "His Excellency, William McKin- 
ley, President of the United States: I hereby tender my services as a 
professional aeronaut and expert in the manufacture and management of 
balloons in the event of war with Spain. I am ready to serve my country 
in any work to which you may see fit to assign me." To this the chief 
signal officer of the army immediately wired a reply, gratefully accept- 
ing the offer of this patriotic citizen. Bozarth was one of the first men 
in the country and certainly the first one noted in Missouri to offer his 
services to the government for flying in the air, a branch of the service 
then hardly considered more than a freak, but most important in these 
latter days. 

About the time that Bozarth was wiring his offer to serve in the air 
a brother of Captain Sigsby, commissioner of the lost battleship Maine, 
was in Clinton and was interviewed by many of the leading citizens of 
the town and county. Mr. Sigsby gave as his opinion that the fortifications 
of Havana were very poor and would easily fall before the attack of the 
American ships. On April 14th events had proceeded so rapidly that 
Capt. A. C. Landon of Clinton, commanding Company F of the 2nd Mis- 
souri Regiment, asked for recruits to bring his company up to war stand- 
ard. At that time the roster included commissioned officers and sixty- 
seven enlisted men. The campaign for recruits proceeded and was greatly 
accelerated by the declaration of war vnth Spain so that on May 5th the 
company had been recruited to war strength and consisted of the fol- 
lowing: A. C. Landon, captain; Dr. C. H. Steams, first lieutenant and 
assistant surgeon; James W. Avery, second lieutenant; Wilbur C. Dixon, 
first sergeant; Frank S. Douglas, sergeant; Winnie C. Arnold, corporal; 
Harvey J. Stone, corporal ; J. C. Dean, corporal ; W. A. Cock, corporal ; E. E. 
Seifried, musician. 

Cliff Allen, Berry Anderson, H. J. Bumgardner, G. N. Brandenburg, 
Ed Couse, Joe W. Canada, C. C. Canan, Harry Daum, Joe T. Doyle, 0. C. 
Davis, R. W. Edmonson, W. T. Earhart, William E. Greer, Louis Horst, 
George Huey, Will L. Haynie, T. L. Hamilton, George Herrmann, John H. 
Johnson, J. H. Knight, J. E. Lawson, J. B. Cowell, J. A. McAfee, J. W. 
Parks, C. F. Pomeroy, E. G. Bedford, H. L. Selby, W. H. Senion, C. E. 
Shreeve, R. L. SavsTthout, Allen Sheldon, Lee Violette, C. D. Wallace, Roy 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 187 

Woods, George Wells, A. J. Turner, G. W. Parks, John Henry, John T. An- 
gelo, George Armstrong, Charles Blewett, H. A. Brollire, F. R. Carpenter, 
Frank B. Clark, G. H. Dempsey, Charles A. Duerr, John P. Evans, Charles 
Howe, G. Howe, W. H. Harrison, P. C. Keyes, Fred McFadden, J. H. Rag- 
land, L. W. Stickrod, A. C. Smith, R. Z. Taylor, J. W. Westerman, A. A. 
Wilson, Fred Simpson, J. W. Damron, George East, Henry Goodnow, G. 
W. Hamell, G. E. Herndon, D. W. Keyes, E. C. Morgan, Charles Parks, H. 
F. Rimer, S. A. Selecman, E. H. Seevers, Charles L. Wilson, Frank Wiley, 
D. G. Hoard. 

All of the members of the company and the new recruits were care- 
fully examined by Doctor Stearns, who had been promoted to assistant 
surgeon of the regiment and so carefully and well did he perform this 
duty that when the company reached mobilization point at Jefferson 
Barracks only five were rejected and sent home. The company left 
Clinton in the midst of a rain, but in spite of the disagreeable weather 
probably 3,000 people were at the depot when the Henry County soldiers 
entrained. Clinton had been lavishly decorated with the American flags 
and here and there a Cuban banner was suspended, keeping before the 
eyes of the people the immediate cause of the war. There was a con- 
cert given the depai'ting soldiers by what was left of the 2nd Regiment 
Band and volunteers kept firing anvils and shooting guns on the court 
house square during most of the day. A local paper described the going 
away of the men in the following words: 

"At the depot was a scene indeed. Three thousand people at the 
least lined the platform and the tracks and there was a half hour of cheer- 
ing. The girls soon to be left behind were there in force. The small boys 
climbed to the tops of freight cars and adjacent buildings to look down 
upon the surging sea of humanity. Each soldier boy woi:e a handsome 
bouquet presented by florist Barnhart and was the center of attraction 
for several friends, usually female, who eyed his brass buttons covetously. 
When at last the train came slowly in, it swept slowly between solid 
walls of humanity. Marshal Welsh and Fire Chief Hart, going ahead to 
part the crowd. Two day coaches were attached to rear for the use 
of the company and they quickly took possession of the cars. A few 
moments more of good-byes from the windows and the train steamed out. 
There were cheers and fluttering of handkerchiefs; the Union cheer and 
the Rebel yell were mingled, the musicians played 'America' and the 
mill whistles shrieked a shrill good-bye until the train was outside of 
the city limits." 



188 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Referring further to incidents of the day of entertainment the local 
paper describes the procession and notes that among others accompany- 
ing the troops to the station were four well-known men: "In a carriage 
drawn by four spirited black horses and bearing a standard aloft from 
which floated American and Cuban flags rode Church Buck, Ben Foote, 
Eamie Campbell and Charlie Snyder, they singing patriotic songs while 
Charles Pearson guided the steeds that drew their gaily decorated chariot." 

At the time of leaving, the people raised a ration fund of $65 for the 
boys in camp to provide for temporary necessities and a few luxuries. 
The company took with them Gus Barker, a well-known negro who had 
been cook for Company F at its annual encampments in the past years 
and expected to have his services during the war. Besides the bouquets 
and the ration fund a number of other gifts were made, in the way of 
cigars, cakes and other appreciated items. Lack of some organization 
like the American Red Cross was most apparent. The company left under 
the most exciting of circumstances, because the battle of Manila Bay 
had occurred only a few days before and the nation was in a fever heat 
of excitement. 

W. M. Ballard, a very prominent citizen of the county then living 
in Clinton, was envied of all the people because of the fact that he had 
a son who was on the Baltimore of Dewey's squadron and had partici- 
pated in the great naval victory that gave to the United States the Philip- 
pine Islands and swept the Spaniards off the eastern seas. The threaten- 
ing attitude of the Gennan admiral was causing some anxiety, but the 
determined stand of the English fleet, showing in convincing way their 
eternal friendship for the American people and the American navy, made 
it possible for us to avoid any further foi-eign complications. However, 
at this time there was no such assurances and it was feared that the 
squadron under Dewey's command would soon engage the German ships 
in Manila Bay. 

Harry Williams, previously named as being in the navy, at this time 
was in the fight at San Juan Bay and wrote back a very vivid account 
of his experiences at that time. 

Events moved very swiftly and Company F after proceeding to Jeffer- 
son Barracks, St. Louis, and being incorporated with the other units of 
the 2nd Missouri Regiment, finally was sent to Camp George H. Thomas 
at Chickamauga Park, where the troops arrived the late afternoon on the 
20th of May. The Regiment was furnished with a complete new equip- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 189 

ment on the 24th consisting of underwear, uniforms, shoes and hats, 
and it is worth while to remark that in the supplies issued at that time 
was a fatigue uniform of brown denim for Cuban service. This is 
probably the first time that American soldiers were regularly issued a 
brown or khaki colored uniform. Prior to this time, of course, the United 
States troops were dressed in the army blue, but the Southern climate 
made the wearing of wool uniforms a practical impossibility, and these 
brown denim fatigue suits were the forerunners of the time when the 
whole army would be dressed in that inconspicuous color. 

The local papers carried letters from the boys in the camps which 
announced that they had become so accustomed to sleeping on the ground 
that no longer was any straw issued to them for bedding, but they 
slept on the ground without any protection between them and the earth. 

About this time Dr. C. H. Stearns, who had been acting as major 
and chief surgeon of the 2nd Regiment, became assistant surgeon again, 
owing to the fact that Dr. S. K. Crawford, former surgeon of the regi- 
ment, who had been dismissed from the service owing to the age limit, 
was reinstated. 

The country was filled with anxiety lest the Spanish fleet under 
Cevera should escape our warships and attack the exposed unprotected 
cities on our coast, or, failing in that, that he should waylay and destroy 
our first-class battleship, Oregon, which was badly needed by the Atlantic 
Fleet and was racing from San Francisco harbor to the West Indies by 
the way of Cape Horn. The Oregon, however, safely reached its ren- 
dezvous the latter part of May and on the 25th of that month a Kansas 
City dispatch was printed in the Clinton Democrat glaringly announcing 
that Cevera was blocked at Santiago with Admiral Schley on the out- 
side. On the same day President McKinley called for 75,000 additional 
troops, the men to serve for two years unless sooner discharged and to be 
apportioned among the States. 

It is very interesting to know the influence of the press and people 
in these days, in regard to the attitude of other nations at the time of 
the war with Spain. Denunciations of France were most vigorous and 
persistent and demands were frequently made that all American girls 
must come home from French schools ; that American women must cease 
to buy clothes in French shops. That American men must not attend 
the Paris Exposition, which was about to be held. At the same time a 
former popular candidate for governor of the State of Missouri, while 



190 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

making a speech at Columbia, attempted to tear down a British flag and 
his action was resented by the people. The blockade around Cuba became 
mSre stringent and the Henry County boys on the fleet situated off Ma- 
tanzas were waiting for Cevera to appear. The whole nation was anxiously 
expecting details of a naval battle the results of which were not at all 
certain as the Spanish ships were supposed to be nearly, if not quite, 
equal to our ships. 

It is interesting to know some of the things said about the United 
States by the Spanish newspapers of this time. For instance, EI Pro- 
gressio, a newspaper of Havana, under date of May 23rd, says: "The 
Americans have tried to starve us, but on the contrary, they are starving 
themselves, for bread and meat are higher in New York than they are 
in Havana. We have plenty to eat, while the Yankees have been com- 
pelled to open free soup houses in all the big cities to feed their hungry, 
and the people die from starvation. Already our gallant fleet has bom- 
barded their city of Boston and driven the inhabitants of that place 
into the interior, compelling them to flee for their lives. Next we will 
move on to New York and no Yankee ship dare attack us, knowing their 
inability to cope with the formidable Spanish navy. There is turmoil 
and insurrection among the Yankees because of the failure of their armies 
and the people are blaming President McKinley. A military guard of 
1,000 soldiers surrounds his palace to prevent an assassin from reaching 
him. He never goes out and it is expected daily that news will be sent 
of his death." 

Early in June the 2nd Regiment sent a recruiting detail from Chicka- 
mauga Park to fill the regiment to war strength. The detail consisted 
of three officers, one from each battalion of the regiment, three sergeants 
and nine privates. Will L. Haynie of Clinton, because of his soldierly 
conduct, being asked to enlist twenty-eight men for Company F to bring 
it to full war strength. In two days fifteen men applied, but only six 
passed the examination. They were as follows: Clarence L. McBride, 
Clinton; John T. Lee,- Clinton; Charles W. Harp, La Due; Charles W. 
White, La Due; Alfred M. Childs, Deepwater; Wiley D. Grant, Deep- 
water. These recruits were forwarded to the regiment. 

The American Christian Commission, a branch of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, had established headquarters in a large tent near 
the 2nd Regiment in Chickamauga Park and was supplying the soldiers 
with all the comforts possible to men in the field. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 191 

On July 3rd the Spanish fleet, which had been trapped at Santiago, 
emerged and gave battle to the American fleet under Admiral Schley 
and was entirely defeated and destroyed. This virtually ended the war, 
although interest continued until the demobilization of the Henry County 
troops. 

Appeals were made from time to time for contributions from pa- 
triotic people so that the chaplain or other authorized officer could ex- 
pend the same for worthy work and the purchase of lemonade, ginger ale 
and other delicacies that soldiers needed. 

On July 7th Admiral Dewey engaged and captured the forts adjacent 
to Manila and at the same time General Shafter had extended a truce 
to the Spaniards at Santiago preliminary to the surrender of that city, 
which followed soon. 

The Henry County boys in camp had changed in the way of officers 
and non-commissioned officers. Wilbur C. Dixon, formerly first sergeant, 
was made second lieutenant, and the following was the non-commis- 
sioned standing the middle of July: First sergeant, F. S. Douglas; 
quartermaster sergeant, A. A. Wilson; sergeants, W. C. Arnold, G. N. 
Brandenburg, C. C. Canan and F. L. Paxton; corporals, Clifford Allen, 
Berry Anderson, Henry Bumbardner, W. A. Cock, Claud Dean, William 
L. Haynie, D. G. Hoard, D. W. Keyes, E. H. Seevers, Lee A. Violette, C. D. 
Wallace and C. L. Wilson. 

The men were anxious to see active service by being sent to Porto 
Rico, but the close of the war prevented them realizing their ambition. 
The impression made by Company F and the regiment to which they 
belonged was most favorable whenever the troops were in sei-vice. The 
Lexington, Kentucky, "Leader" remarked: "Were it not for the fact 
that frequent comment was favorable upon the conduct of the 2nd Mis- 
souri Regiment, located at Camp Hamilton, few would know of their 
being here, so quiet and well behaved are the men composing this regi- 
ment. The 2nd Missouri is composed of a splendid set of men. This 
body of men was organized from the southwestern part of Missouri and 
the membership was made up of a fine-looking set of men. At Chickamauga 
Park there was much sickness among the men and the effect of the fever 
has not yet worn off of some of them. 

"The 2nd Missouri is well drilled and several companies could com- 
pete favorably with any in the regular army. They feel proud of the 
fact that the Provost Marshal, in selecting men to do guard duty in the 



192 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

city, selected thirty-three of the members of this regiment. People of 
Lexington and Fayette County have extended a warm welcome to the 
Missouri boys, as there is a tie of friendship as well as relationship exist- 
ing between many of this regiment and the people of Kentucky." After 
remaining at Camp Hamilton for a period of time the Missouri boys were 
mustered out. 

During the year there was considerable activity in the way of im- 
provements throughout the county, but particularly in Clinton, where the 
sewer system was inaugurated on a large and comprehensive scale and 
was put into operation. During the year the Tebo Mills were sold to 
Henry G. Sherman of Kansas City, and a carrier service for the delivery 
of mail was established in Clinton for the first time. Postmaster at the 
time was H. H. Mitchell and pursuant to orders from the United States 
Government, after civil service examination Eugene Brandenburg, Frank 
P. Daum and Carter Canan were selected as carriers and George Fergu- 
son as substitute carrier. 

The most notable death in the county during the year was that of 
Col. William H. McLane, who was one of the oldest settlers of the county, 
a Missourian by birth and 83 years of age at the time of his death. 
There was no one in the county that was more widely known than he 
and his wide acquaintanceship, his services in the Missouri Legislature 
and in the army gave him a certain State-wide profninence. Another 
notable death of a man well known to all the people of the county was 
that of Sam Kahn, a prominent merchant of Clinton. 

The railroads between Kansas City and Springfield seemed to be 
justifying the expectations of the founders. On one night over the Frisco 
line there was so much business, going south through Henry County, 
that the fast freight had to be run south in five sections and the north- 
bound freight in two sections. The one telegraph wire of the Blair line 
was found totally insufficient to handle the business, and it took two 
gangs of men some time to string additional wires enough to accommo- 
date the traffic. Responsible very largely for the increased business on 
these railroads was the establishment and development of the new sewer 
pipe tile works and brick manufacture of the Dickey Company at Deep- 
water. The Dickey plant at that time was claimed to be one of the larg- 
est establishments of the kind in the United States and had just com- 
pleted the erection and fitting up of extensive brick buildings and had 
filled them with the necessary machinery of the latest kind for the pro- 




FARM SCENE, URICH, JIO. 




FOURTH STREET, URICH, MO. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 193 

duction of the various kind of wares. In order to show Kansas City 
capitalists and others who were interested, the extent of the new works 
of the company, Mr. Dickey and the Memphis railroad people brought a 
large number of excursionists to Deepwater, where a complete inspection 
of the plant was had. This was the largest single industry in the 
county at that time and has continued to increase in importance. 

C. C. Dickinson was endorsed at the Democratic county convention 
for State senator, but was defeated at the senatorial convention. About 
the same time Judge W. W. Graves 1-eceived the nomination for circuit 
judge, defeating Hon. W. E. Owen of Clinton. This was the first step 
that led Judge Graves ultimately to the supreme bench of Missouri. 

Prominent in th^ Henry County bar for a great many years was 
Robert E. Lewis, one-time candidate for governor on the Republican 
ticket and intimately associated with the people of Henry County as a 
former prosecuting attorney, and as a long-time citizen, who late in the 
year decided to go to Colorado and an elaborate farewell meeting was 
held by the attorneys and representative citizens before his departure. 

It will be interesting to note that during the Christmas season of 
1898 the local poultry firms at Clinton advertised that they would pay 
seven and a half cents a pound for turkeys and farmers brought their 
birds for twenty miles to get this enormous price. One of the poultry 
men is quoted to have stated that he bought over 8,000 turkeys, which 
cost about $7,000 and the turkeys were brought from Benton County 
farmers who got notices of the sale one day and drove all night for fear 
they would not get to Clinton before these fabulous prices ceased to be 
paid. At the same time reports in regard to wheat show that D. Yount, 
near Maurine, had fifty acres which yielded eighteen and a half bushels 
to the acre, grading No. 2, and he received sixty-five cents a bushel for it. 
This was a very high price evidently, as Mr. Yount was very much con- 
gratulated. At the close of the year hogs were worth $3.60 per hundred. 
Best steers, $5.40 a hundred, and sheep $4 a hundred. 

Tebo Mills, which had been sold a few months before, was adver- 
tised to be sold under deed of trust on account of the fact that the 
insurance on the property was not properly kept up. This mill, which 
was of a great deal of importance to every citizen of the county, 
had recently been in various hands and suitable ownership was greatly 
to be desired. This long standing hope on the part of the people and 
customers of this mill was fulfilled when Markus Bernheimer, of St. 



194 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Louis, bought the property early in March from J. W. Harrelson of Kan- 
sas City. He associated with him in the management and operation of 
the property J. H. Kracke, formerly of St. Louis, who was well known 
to the people of the county and was at that time manager of a large com 
meal mill and elevator in Clinton. Plans were made for the immediate 
remodeling and enlarging of the mills and to put in them the most modern 
milling machinery and increase the capacity to 700 barrels of flour per 
day. The elevators were also to be enlarged so that they would have a 
capacity of 60,000 bushels of grain. The county was to be congratulated 
on having Mr. Bernheimer enlist a part of his fortune in Henry County. 
The mills were rechristened "The Banner Mills." 

The winter of 1899 was one of the coldest ever known in this county. 
Not only was it severe, but it was of unusual length. Ordinarily the 
extreme cold weather in this county only remains one or two days, but 
this year the reading showed that beginning on Wednesday, February 
8th, until the following Tuesday, February 14th, the thermometer never 
rose above 10 degrees below zero and more than half of the time it was 
below 20 below zero, reaching 32 degrees below on Sunday, February 12. 
This broke the record for thirty years in Henry County. 

The Bank of Montrose, the oldest bank in that town, closed its doors 
in March, 1899, owing to the fact that considerable past due paper was 
carried. 

The Tebo and Neosho Railroad Company troubles which had agitated 
St. Clair County for many years continued to be of interest to the peo- 
ple of Henry County. The county judges constantly refused to levy a 
tax to pay a judgment against the county laid on it by the United States 
Court. The tax was to satisfy interest and principal of bonds issued 
for the building of the above-named railroad and as said road was never 
constructed the members of the court were always pledged before their 
election to vote against any such levy. They were regularly arrested 
after qualifying as judge and a good deal of the time they served the 
most of their term of office in the Henry County jail at Clinton. Early 
in this year two of the judges, Nevitt and Walker, hid in the brush to 
avoid the United States officer who was sent to arrest them for con- 
tempt of court and take them to the Clinton jail for safe keeping. It is 
related that the officer drove to Nevitt's farm in a buggy about 3 o'clock 
in the morning and hid in the barn and sei-ved papers on the judge when, 
clad in overalls and cap, he appeared to feed his stock about 7 o'clock. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 195 

The judges continued to be kept in the Henry County jail from time to 
time for a number of years. 

A meeting of representatives of the St. Clair County people with 
representatives of the holders of the Tebo and Neosho railroad bonds 
was held in Clinton, May 13, 1899, and a vain effort was made to reach 
some sort of a compromise. The week previous a compromise conven- 
tion was held in Osceola and by a narrow margin a resolution was voted 
favoring paying the face value of the bonds amounting to $231,000, and 
a committee of one from each township was selected to present this 
proposition to the bond holders at Clinton. The fact that even this propo- 
sition should have carried signified that the compromise sentiment was 
growing stronger and that sooner or later the unfortunate complication 
would be settled for the best interests of all concerned. Probably none 
of the men who attended this meeting realized that it would be twenty 
years before the two conflicting interests would reach a final agreement 
and relieve the neighboring county from its burden of debt. In fact the 
controversy continued until the latter part of 1918 before it was finally 
adjusted. The committee had a long session at Hotel Livingston (now 
Hotel Cozart) and for two hours sat behind closed doors while General 
John B. Henderson, John H. Overall and Thomas K. Skinker of St. Louis 
sat in the office below and awaited the pleasure of the St. Clair County 
representatives, and finally the two groups of men met; there was a long 
and spirited debate, but without any personal rancor. At times both 
sides would appear conciliatory and the representatives of St. Clair County 
would appear to be drifting toward a half-way point so as to make a 
settlement when someone would remind them of the wrong committed 
against the county and instantly all harmony would disappear. After 
an all-day session they adjourned without reaching any conclusion. The 
federal marshals continued in their effort to arrest the county judges 
after this fruitless meeting at Clinton and the judges continued to out- 
wit the deputy marshals. The public print briefly related how two United 
States marshals guarded the court house in Osceola continuously from 
12 o'clock, midnight Sunday, to midnight Wednesday. The deputies knew 
that the court was to meet and select depositories for county funds, 
but their vigil was in vain. No judges appeared upon the scene. How- 
ever, on Monday night following, the judges came in and held a ses- 
sion of the county court between 9 and 10 o'clock at night. The judges 
continued in this manner to elude the officers of the Federal Court until 
a final settlement of the debt. 



196 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The building of a Catholic Church in Clinton was assured during 
this year and the congregation which had hitherto been very unsatis- 
factorily housed were now assured of an adequate place of worship. 

The Clinton ice plant burned on May 16, 1899. Ordinarily its capacity 
amounted to ten tons daily, but it was really much less than that, because 
the water from the private artesian well was so impregnated with sulphur 
that the plant had to be idle one day a week in order to clean the boilers. 
Early in 1896 F. A. Eisner, the proprietor, determined to rebuild his 
factory and enlarge it to the capacity of fifty tons daily and in June of 
that year the new plant was finished. It was a model in every detail. 
Two private artesian wells furnished the water. The machinery was the 
best procurable. A cold storage department was added and the city and 
county were justifiably proud of what was unquestionably one of the 
finest ice plants in the state of Missouri. The property was estimated to 
have been worth $80,000 and the origin of the fire was a mystery. 

The city school board of Clinton elected Fred B. Owen as superin- 
tendent of the schools in May. Mr. Owen was a son of Judge Lee Owen, 
one of the oldest and most prominent men of Henry County. He suc- 
ceeded Superintendent Holliday, who was not an applicant for the elec- 
tion. Beginning at this time the Clinton schools started on a period of 
steady progress. 

The State Bank of Clinton went into voluntary liquidation on 
Wednesday, June 28, 1899, papers on that day having been drawn up trans- 
ferring the assets of the bank to the banking house of Salmon & Salmon, 
who immediately upon beginning of business on the following day were 
prepared to pay all depositors. 

The State Bank was organized and commenced business in July, 1890, 
with a capital stock of $100,000. Its officers at the time of liquidation 
were. Dr. C. H. Watkins, president; and J. M. Weidemeyer, cashier. The 
bank did a splendid business for about seven years. In 1896 it reduced 
its capital to $50,000, at the same time paying to all its stockholders 
one-half the amount of their holdings, or $50,000 in cash. It had already 
paid in dividends to stockholders the sum of $51,000. Since 1897 the 
business of the institution had not been profitable and the matter of volun- 
tary liquidation had been discussed among the officers and stockholders 
but action had been deferred from time to time. The bank was said to 
be entirely solvent and the assets to be good, all of which, including cash 
and credits, were transferred to Salmon & Salmon, who were instructed 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 197 

to realize on them by paying all claims on demand except those of the 
stockholders and the residue of such assets distributed among the stock- 
holders according to their holdings when the affairs of the bank were 
finally closed. No excitement was created by the news of the liquida- 
tion of this bank and when the notice was posted on the door announcing 
the liquidation through Salmon & Salmon's Bank no depositor felt at all 
uneasy. Much sympathy was expressed for President Watkins and 
Cashier Weidemeyer, whose business careers in Clinton were so long and 
honorable. There was much interest taken in the action of the officers 
of the bank and general satisfaction was expressed that the step had been 
taken in such a wise and prudent manner that business confidence was in 
no way disturbed. 

The State Reunion of the United Confederate Veterans met in Clin- 
ton, September 28 and 29, 1899. A committee appointed by Major General 
Robert McCulloch, commanding Missouri Division, had met in the Planters 
Hotel in St. Louis earlier in the year and had chosen Clinton as the meet- 
ing place after a brisk contest between Salisbury, Clinton and Warrens- 
burg for the location. The citizens of the town and county united in 
demonstrations of appreciation and welcome for the veterans who had 
worn the gray and no men were more hospitable than the old Union 
soldiers. Every train brought gray-clad men who had followed the Stars 
and Bars and they were accompanied by fair maids of honor to typify 
the maids of the South and exemplify the endurance of that chivalric 
deference toward women which is the keynote of the Southern character. 
The veterans were welcomed by their old comrades in arms and the 
ladies by Clinton's fairest daughters. They were taken into the hearts 
and homes of the people and made to feel the warmth of that Southern 
hospitality which has always been characteristic of Henry County. Major 
General McCulloch had as aides six handsome boys dressed in neat uni- 
forms who were as follows: Hal Piper, Percy Allen, Steve Carter, Clem 
Dickinson, Young Spangler and Mark Finks. The parade was partici- 
pated in by nearly 1,200 veterans who fought for the Confederacy, nearly 
800 ex-Union soldiers, about 1,200 school children and Company F of the 
2nd Missouri Infantry, recently back from Chickamauga. Among the 
prominent men of the State who were present was Dave Ball of Pike 
County; Frank L. Pitts, State treasurer; State Senator C. H. Vandiver, 
Col. M. E. Benton of the Fifth Congressional District; Judge William L. 
Jarrott of Cass County; R. P. Williams of Fayette, afterwards State 



198 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

treasurer, and Hon. David A. DeArmond, representative of Heniy 
Coui'cy irt the National Congress. 

The Southwest Missouri Teachers' Association held annual meeting 
in Clinton, December, 1899. It was said to have been the most successful 
one so far ever held. A great many teachers of State-wide reputation 
were present, among whom were Supt. I. N. Evrard of Greenfield, now of 
Missouri Valley College at Marshall; Dr. Frank Thilly, at that time pro- 
fessor of philosophy at the University of Missouri; Supt. E. E. Dodd of 
Springfield; Dr. J. C. Jones, dean of the University of Missouri; Hon. 
John R. Kirk, ex-State superintendent of schools; Supt. G. V. Buchanan, 
then of Sedalia; the then State superintendent of schools, W. T. Carring- 
ton, and other prominent educators. 

Among the deaths of prominent and well-known citizens during the 
year was that of W. W. Jackson, who had been a resident of Henry County 
since 1855 and in the undertaking business in Clinton since 1872; John 
W. Wilder, for fifteen years a resident of the town, and Alvin Haynie, 
one of the most prominent lawyers in the county and a leading member 
of the Presbyterian Church. 

General Banton G. Boone, after an illness of but little more than 
twenty-four hours, passed away Sunday afternoon, February 11th, at 
his home in Clinton in the sixty-second year of his age. While his death 
was somewhat unexpected, yet his many friends in the county and State 
were not unprepared, for he had been feeble physically for some time 
and the nature of his malady was such that it was certain that the end 
was not far off. A native Missourian, born in Callaway County in 1838, 
he lived his whole life in Missouri. When but eighteen years of age he 
removed to Clinton and lived continuously in Henry County until his 
death. Soon after his taking up his residence in Henry County he was 
appointed deputy circuit clerk and held the position for four years and 
employing his leisure moments, both day and night during this period, in 
the study of the law, in 1859 he was admitted to the bar, but scarcely 
had he begun the practice of his profession when the terrible war between 
the States began and, true to his Southern blood. General Boone cast 
his fortunes with the Confederacy, enlisting in the Southern ai-my and 
serving for the lost cause. After the war was ended he returned to Clin- 
ton and resumed practice. In 1874 he was nominated by the Demo- 
crats of this county as a candidate for the Legislature and elected by a 
very large majority. On the convening of the Legislature he was nomi- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 199 

nated and elected Speaker of the House, over such prominent Democrat 
rival candidates as General James Shields and M. V. L. McLeland. In 
1880 he entered the race for Democratic nomination for attorney general 
and in the convention came within one-third of a vote of being nomi- 
nated. In 1884 he again sought the honor and was successful, being elected 
at the general election the following fall. During his term of office as at- 
torney general he appeared as counsel for the State of Missouri in various 
important cases and after the conclusion of his term he was appointed 
by various governors to positions of honor where he represented his county 
and his State with great credit. There was no resident of Henry County 
who was more widely known than he and in the death of Banton G. Boone 
the county lost one of its most distinguished citizens. 



CHAPTER XXL 



BEGINNING IN 1900 



THE 'FRISCO BUYS THE BLAIR LINE— THE BEER INSPECTION LAW — INDUSTRIAL 
IRON WORKS — THE FRISCO CONTROLS THE MEMPHIS— GAS AND OIL — THE 
CASEY HERD— RURAL MAIL DELIVERY- THE URICH REUNION— THE FIRST 
CLINTON CHAUTAUQUA— THE HENRY COUNTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COM- 
• PANY'— THE Y'OUNGERS— STREET CAR HISTORY — GOOD ROADS MOVEMENT — 
HENRY COUNTY AT THE "R^ORLD'S FAIR— THE CANDIDACY OF FOLK FOR 
GOVERNOR— THE "FOUR COUNTY FAIR" — THE 'RTJATHER. 

An important railroad merger was effected early in 1900, when the 
Frisco railroad bought the Kansas City, Osceola and Southern, or what 
was familiarly known to the people of Henry County as the Blair line. 
The Kansas City, Osceola & Southern railway had been built by John I. 
Blair and after the death of this capitalist the Frisco had leased the road 
and operated it since the middle of the year 1898 until the completion 
of the link between Bolivar and Osceola. It had never been a paying 
proposition, but with the road running to Springfield it had become a 
paying investment. The purchase of the road was consummated in New 
York between the Frisco directors and representatives of the Blair estate. 
It was announced that the Frisco management planned to expend $1,000,- 
000 on the reconstruction of the line and would ballast it with rock and 
relay with sixty -five pound rails. 

The Democratic county convention met in Clinton on Saturday, April 
7, 1900, for the purpose of selecting delegates to the various conventions. 
After an enthusiastic meeting the following prominent Democrats of the 
county were sent to the convention at Kansas City to nominate State 
officers and were instructed for A. M. Dockery for governor, Sam B. Cook 
for secretary of State, E. C. Crow for attorney general and W. C. Bro- 
naugh of Henry County for railroad commissioner; J. P. Allen, C. E. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 201 

Griffith, L. P. Beatty, R. H. Garrett, W. L. Pinkston, Dr. W. H. Gibbons, 
C. H. Whitaker, Sr., Henry Adkins, J. E. Gutridge, J. E. Jeter, J. R. 
Bradley, Clay Adair, P. A. Parks, W. L. McDonald, W. W. Adamson, Dr. 
J. S. Wilson. 

The school census of Clinton, which was compiled by T. P. Bates, 
showed that in 1900 there were 1,682 white children of school age, of 
whom 795 were boys and 887 were girls ; with eighty-six negro boys and 
ninety-five negro girls, making a total enumeration of 1,863 in the school 
district. 

One of the unique characters in Missouri politics was Gen. Billy 
Rider. Every session of the Legislature he was certain to appear. His 
object in attending the Legislature was problematical, but every citizen 
of Missouri who went to Jefferson City for any purpose always saw Billy 
Rider and never forgot his peculiar appearance. In the Legislative ses- 
sion of 1899 there was passed a pure beer law, but this statute was more 
popularly known as Billy Rider's beer bill from its author. While nomi- 
nally designed to prevent adulteration or introduction of impurities the 
principal object of the bill was to raise revenue from all beer made within 
or imported into the State. It provided for the appointment of a State 
inspector and assistants for the inspection of all beer and for the placing 
of labels on beer so inspected, the manufacturers to pay specified fees 
into the State treasury. Proper penalties were provided for in the bill, 
and as the breweries refused to recognize its constitutionality the attor- 
ney general determined to test the matter legally and determined to do 
so in Henry County. In order to make this test the attorney general wired 
the Henry County authorities to summon a special grand jury to bring 
necessary indictments and the following prominent citizens of the county 
were summoned: C. W. Gains, John Doyle, H. L. Hunter, T. E. Baskett, 
W. W. White, W. L. McDonald, Robert E. Harman, W. E. Sams, Ellis 
Smith, Al Craig, T. P. Carnes and J. T. Hendricks. Two well known saloon 
keepers were arrested on indictments returned by this special grand jury 
and the constitutionality of the statute affecting the whole State was de- 
termined by proceedings instituted in the Henry County Court. 

The Industrial Iron Works at Clinton, which had been but a small 
enterprise at the first, had been recently making a remarkable growth 
and foreseeing the increasing demand for small motor engines of the gas 
and gasoline type experiments were made by William F. Hall, proprietor 
of the concern, looking towards the manufacture of an engine superior 



202 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

to those then in the market and at such a low price as to bring it in reach 
of all requiring small power. Hall's efforts were remarkably successful 
and the engine manufactured embodied the two points aimed at by other 
machinists, strength and simplicity. In 1900 two sizes of upright gaso- 
line engines were manufactured in these works at Clinton and it was in- 
tended to build engines of greater horsepower. The largest machine so 
far made was an eight horsepower engine for the Windsor waterworks 
and proved to be very economical in operation and successful in use. The 
plant planned additions and was preparing for increased growth. 

Early in 1901 the St. Louis and San Francisco railroad obtained con- 
trol of the Memphis. The purchase of the control in the Memphis rail- 
road by the Frisco gave the latter railroad three parallel lines between 
Kansas City and Springfield. The Clinton division of the Memphis had 
never been a money maker and it was the general opinion that the rails 
of the Clinton division from Olathe to Ash Grove would be torn up and 
the line abandoned. However, it was believed that too much money was 
invested to warrant such a wanton destruction of property. The suc- 
ceeding years proved the contention that both the Kansas City, Clinton 
& Springfield and the Kansas City, Osceola & Southern railroads could 
not be profitably operated. In other words, there seemed to be abundant 
business for one good road, business that would warrant one railroad 
being maintained in first class condition, but not enough business to jus- 
tify the best of service on two competing and almost parallel lines. In 
the succeeding years it was continually found necessary to try to har- 
monize the conflicting interests of these two roads. The consolidation of 
the Memphis and Frisco lines first went into effect June 1, 1901, and 
played havoc with train service and employes on both roads. The Frisco 
local agents at Kansas City, Harrisonville, Lowry City and Osceola lost 
their positions, their work being taken over by the former agents of the 
Memphis road and the Memphis agents at Belton, Clinton and Walnut 
Grove were let out, while the Frisco agents took charge of the interests 
of both roads. The change also affected employes and a number of the 
passenger conductors and passenger trainmen went back to the freight 
service or were transferred to other lines. The consolidation of the two 
lines was productive of a reduction of train service, and yet there were 
some benefits that came to the traveling public and to the shipper as well. 
By orders of the manager of the road a purchaser could buy a round trip 
ticket to Kansas City on either road and return on the other if he did 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY "203 

not care to come back on the same road. The same choice was given 
him in regard to the shipment of freight. This arrangement seemed to 
be a forerunner of the conditions in the World War when the Govern- 
ment sent freight by the shortest and most direct line, no matter what 
road received it. 

The articles of association of the Clinton Light and Water Company 
were filed with the county recorder in May, 1901, preliminary to incor- 
porating the company under the State law. Col. John L. Woolfork had 
sometime before acquired control of both the Home Waterworks Company 
and the Clinton Gas and Electric Company, and the consolidation made 
no change, except to effect the management of both systems as one prop- 
erty. The articles of association stated that the purpose of the company 
was the manufacture, distribution and sale of gas and electricity and to 
furnish public and private consumers with water. The capital stock was 
$180,000, divided into 1,800 of $100 each. 

In the spring of 1901 agitation was begun for the boring for gas 
and oil and it was claimed that Clinton was in a gas belt. This feeling 
had already led to the drilling of the artesian wells which furnished the 
town with water, and while there had been discussion from time to time 
as to the practicability of boring for gas or oil, nothing ever had been 
done, although on several occasions a movement was started to resume 
drilling. There is good reason for the belief that gas underlays Henry 
County. About 1890 a flow of gas was struck at Lewis while drilling for 
coal. It was so strong that it was piped to the boiler of the engines at 
L. W. Good's mine and for several months furnished the fuel. It may 
only have been a large pocket or the pipe may have been defective, but 
at any rate it finally ceased to flow. However, fuel gas has been fre- 
quently struck in digging wells and oftentimes in considerable quantities. 
These gas pockets, while not large, afford convincing proof of the proxi- 
mity of some larger sources of supply, but this can only be reached by 
drilling, and probably to a great depth. 

A special city election was held October 22, 1901, to vote on the 
question of annexing eighty acres more ground adjoining the southern 
part of the city. There was a light vote cast, but resulted overwhelm- 
ingly in favor of extending the city limits ; the total vote being as follows : 
For 261, against 49. The addition to the town included the Artesian 
Hotel and part of the lake, not the bath house or auditorium, and also 
included the waterworks and electric light plants, the Martin grocery 



204 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

store and the vacant lots known as the Salmon & Britts addition. The 
extension of the city limits was deemed wise and desirable, both on ac- 
count of police and fire protection and for the purpose of taxation. 

At the American Royal Cattle Show at Kansas City, in October, 1901, 
Col. G. M. Casey of Shawnee Mound, Missouri, brought fifty-two head of 
pure bred Shorthorns, and he captured a great many more cash prizes 
than any other exhibitor. His total special prize winning aggregated 
$2,190, which does not include the numerous prizes awarded his cattle in 
the regular classes in which they won every day. The first day of the 
show Colonel Casey received thirteen ribbons and at the conclusion of 
the show Colonel Casey made a deal with a butcher of Kansas City 
"whereby the latter bought fifteen head of fat steers which attracted so 
much attention at the show, for $16.00 per hundred pounds on the hoof, 
which, up to this time, was the highest price ever paid for a carload of 
fat stock in the history of the world. Among the noted animals exhibited 
by Colonel Casey in the show rings was Alice's Prince, which headed his 
herd and for which he paid $2,750; Rose Prince, which wap placed 
at the head of the Shorthorn aged cow class; Princess Violet, Prince of 
Tebo Lawn and other prize animals well known to the breeders of this 
section. Colonel Casey enjoyed the reputation of producing the best fat 
steers placed on the Kansas City or Chicago markets. 

Early in 1901 the first rural free delivery routes wei'e established in 
Henry County, the sei'vice being inaugurated by two carriers over two 
routes and shortly afterwards increased. Its effect on the country post- 
office was almost immediately apparent and before the end of the year 
the postoffice department had formally discontinued the oifices at Quarles, 
Hortense, Alberta, Sparrow and Huntingdale. This was the beginning of 
the present system of rural carriers that reaches every farm in the 
county every day in the week with regularity that was unthought of in 
the cities but a few years before. 

Henry County Court at its first session in 1902 let a contract for 
enlarging the county jail. When the jail was built the jail portion of 
the building was designed for two cell rooms, one above the other, but 
only the lower room was completed and it had been insuflflcient to meet 
the county's need. Designed to take care of sixteen prisoners, there have 
been twenty or more confined there and once thirty were crowded in by 
the jailer, who was compelled to exercise the greatest vigilance to guard 
them in the crowded condition of the jail. The work cost the county about 
$4,000, and was completed within a few weeks. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 205 

The Democratc campaign was opened most auspiciously in the county 
by William J. Bryan, who spoke to a magnificent audience at Clinton on 
September 10. There was a tremendous crowd present from all over 
the county and at the close of his address he was overwhelmed by men 
and women who tried to shake his hand. The entire Democratic county, 
State and National ticket was carried in Henry County in November. 

Delegates to the Democratic State convention which was to nominate 
candidates for supreme judge and railroad and warehouse commissions 
were selected at a county convention which met in Clinton June 16, 1902. 
Hon. W. C. Bronaugh of Levds was a candidate for railroad and ware- 
house commissioner. The delegates were instructed to support him and 
to use all honorable means to secure his nomination and as a further 
testimony of esteem the convention permitted Mr. Bronaugh to name the 
delegates to the convention, who were as follow: G. M. Casey, W. F. 
Carter, Joseph P. Allen, P. A. Parks, C. F. Morrow, F. W. Bronaugh, 
George H. Hackney, James E. Bennett; alternates, T. J. Lingle, James 
M. Spangler, Rolla M. Owsley, W. H. Shackleford, Ed Avery, J. E. Finks, 
Mack Thralls and Bruce Wilson. The delegates from Henry County la- 
bored to their utmost, but unavailingly, for the nomination of their dis- 
tinguished fellow citizen at the State convention which was held at St. 
Joseph. 

The annual reunion of the Henry County Veterans' Association was 
held at Urich September 16, 17, 18 and 19, 1901, and was noteworthy 
because of the attendance of Dr. R. E. Bronson, department commissioner 
of the Grand Army of the Republic of Missouri and Major Henry New- 
man, adjutant of the United Confederate Veterans of Missouri. The 
attendance was very large and the occasion was one that marked an 
epoch in that section of the county. 

Three very prominent and popular citizens of Henry County died 
within a short time of each other during 1902. George H. Blakemore, 
for over forty years in business in Clinton, was one of the trio, departing 
this life April 13. Col. John B. Colt, long a resident of Clinton, one of 
the original contractors for the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad when 
it was built and highly successful in carrying out various business in- 
terests, died on April 21 following, while B. L. Quarle, well known all 
over Henry County and beloved by every man who knew him, entered 
into rest July 10. Mr. Quarles had been one of General Price's body- 
guard during the war between the States and from time to time had 



206 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

held the offices of county and circuit clerk. All three of these men left 
large families and their places in the community were hard to fill. 

The ever recurring Rock Island rumor was revived early in 1903, 
that the impression prevailed generally that there was some merit in the 
contention of the city council of Clinton which had inaugurated proceed- 
ings against the Frisco for consolidating parallel lines and it was the gen- 
eral impression that the Frisco would be willing to sell the Kansas City, 
Clinton & Springfield railroad to the Rock Island and thus avoid the 
necessity of defending itself in the suit brought against them by the 
State of Missouri. 

One of the most important matters to come before the forty-second 
General Assembly was the election of a United States Senator for a term 
of six years, beginning March 4, 1903. In the Senate the speech nomi- 
nating William J. Stone was made by Senator C. C. Dickinson of Henry 
County. Senator Dickinson said in part: "I desire to present the name 
of the distinguished Democrat who by the Democratic caucus has been 
named for the high position of United States Senator. He is known to 
you all. He is a man of commanding ability, a fearless leader of his 
party and unquestioned fealty to its principles and nominees. He is a 
worthy successor to that great Senator, George G. Vest, and woi'thy 
colleague of the Hon. F. M. Cockrell. Born in Kentucky he has fought 
his way to success. He has been crowned from time to time because he 
deserved it. He has overcome obstacles. Every leader is assailed. It is 
the part of him who stands in the forefront of battle, but the people re- 
spond, so they award this high honor to this great man. The voice of 
the people is the law of the Republic. The voice of the people has re- 
corded their desires. I take great pleasure in presenting the name of 
William J. Stone. I have been his friend for twenty years. I helped him 
when he was first nominated for Congress. He voluntarily retired when 
he could have been renominated without opposition. I placed his name 
in nomination when he was nominated for Governor. Now, after six 
years of private life, he has asked for higher honors. The people desire 
that he shall be the United States Senator from Missouri." The Repub- 
licans had nominated R. C. Kerens of St. Louis and a vote on the Senator 
was as follows: In the Senate Stone 25, Kerens 7; in the House, Stone 
82, Kerens 59. 

Early in 1903 agitation was begun for the holding of a chautauqua 
at Clinton with the idea of making it a permanent institution, and, at a 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 207 

meeting of business men a committee consisting of Col. J. L. Woolfork, 
Major H. W. Salmon, J. R. Gunn, T. M. Casey, J. F. Lindley and S. Degen 
were appointed to ascertain the sentiment of the community and to try 
to determine on some original plan for undertaking the project. The 
matter of acquiring Artesian Park for chautauqua purposes was touched 
upon, but not gone into in detail. The committee finally arrived at an 
agreement with the Seven Hills Chautauqua Company and formed a 
permanent organization by the election of J. L. Woolfork as president, 
T. M. Casey first vice-president, S. Degen second vice-president, J. R. 
Gunn treasurer and W. M. Godwin secretary. A splendid program was 
prepared and the preparations for the holding of a most successful meet- 
ing were perfected. The chautauqua was very largely attended and was 
a great success. The most prominent celebrities who took part in the 
chautauqua were William J. Bryan, who opened the meeting; Gen. Fitz- 
hugh Lee, and Capt. Richmond Pearson Hobson. 

A statement of business transacted and financial condition of the 
Henry County Mutual Insurance Company for the year beginning De- 
cember 1, 1901, and ending November 30, 1902, is interesting to the 
farmers of the county and affords a ready means of comparison between 
the present Farmers' Mutual and the organization existing at the time 
above mentioned. H. T. Burris made the statement in the weekly Demo- 
crat to the effect that the company at that time consisted of 885 members, 
carrying a total assessed valuation of $755,000. The business had in- 
creased $81,477 in the last year. During the year 1902 two assessments 
of fifteen cents each on the $100 valuation were made and it wa^ ex- 
plained that the assessments were so heavy because of unusually heavy 
losses that were sustained in the latter part of 1901. An abridged state- 
ment for the business done in the period above mentioned follows : 

Receipts, balance in treasurer's hands $ 27.05 

Receipts from eighteenth and nineteenth assessments 2,506.35 

Total $2,533.40 

Expenditures, loss by fire and lightning from 1901_- 950.00 

Expense account carried from 1901 149.26 

Loss by fire and lightning, 1902 1,139.50 

Expense account, 1902 215.36 

Balance 79.28 

Total expenditures 2,533.40 



208 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Assets, balance November 30, 1902 79.28 

Assessment No. 20, of ten cents on the $100 valua- 
tion and a total valuation of $755,000 755.00 

Total assets 834.28 

Liabilities, losses carried to 1903 154.00 

Expense account carried from 1903 215.00 

Balance to meet any losses that may occur 465.28 

Total liabilities 834.28 

Capt. Wall C. Bronaugh spent the latter part of his life in attempt- 
ing to secure the liberty of the Youngers, who were confined in the State 
prison at Minnesota under punishment for the final raid of the James 
Younger desperadoes of the Northfield, Minnesota, bank, in which the 
cashier, Haywood, was killed, September 7, 1876. The three Younger 
brothers were captured in the pursuit that followed the attack on this 
bank and were condemned to life imprisonment, and for years Captain 
Bronaugh devoted his entire efforts towards securing them their liberty. 
For more than thirteen years he devoted his entire time, talents and 
means toward the liberation of Cole Younger and it was generally sup- 
posed that his activity was due to the fact that he was an old-time per- 
sonal friend of the Younger boys and knew them before they became 
outlaws. This fact Captain Bronaugh himself denied, saying that he had 
never seen Jim Younger before he saw him in the Minnesota prison and 
had never seen Cole Younger more than once or twice before visiting him 
in prison and that the only times that he had seen Cole Younger were 
when they were serving together with the Confederate Army. Captain 
Bronaugh took the attitude that he knew the conditions surrounding men 
in western Missouri in war times, and he believed that because they were 
his old comrades he should do all he could to liberate them, and he trav- 
eled thousands of miles, securing signatures to petitions for pardon and 
letters from men of influence. When Cole Younger was finally released 
from prison Captain Bronaugh was the first man to meet him and brought 
him with him to St. Louis and remained with him day and night. In 
April Captain Bronaugh brought Cole Younger to Henry County with 
him on a visit and while Younger's coming was unexpected he was readily 
recognized from his pictures and was greeted cordially by the hospitable 
people. Younger recognized a great many landmarks as he came on the 
train from Kansas City through Cass and Henry Counties and pointed 
out land formerly owned by their family, which he had not seen for 




A BROOM CORN SCENE ON THE DAHLMAN FARM 




>A DUE GRAIN ELEVATOR. OWNED BY FARM EI 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 209 

probably thirty years. He remained at the Bronaugh home for some 
days and was visited by a great many people of the county, particularly 
those who had known him in the Confederate service. 

Clinton was at one time very proud of the fact that it had a street 
car line and the citizens gave themselves metropolitan airs over the horse 
drawn cars that made semi-occasional trips from the terminus of the 
line, which was where the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad crossed 
Franklin street at what is now the Cozart Hotel, to Artesian Park. The 
line was a great deal like the railroad in Texas which was said not to 
have any destination at either end, but for a number of years it was 
popular and used to a considerable degree by the people. However, as 
the popularity of the "well" declined and people ceased to visit it with 
the regularity that they had formerly done, the patronage of the car 
line decreased and finally all attempt at the regular schedule was aban- 
doned and trips were made only at very rare intervals, sometimes as 
much as thirty days apart, simply for the purpose of maintaining the 
franchise. 

The question of paving the streets came up about this time and it 
was proposed to put down brick pavement in Clinton and consequently 
(part of the work being planned for in the year 1903 and much of it 
completed in that time) the sti-eet car track was an obstacle to the suc- 
cessful progress of any plan for paving. There was no public action 
taken in regard to the track. In fact, no one ever knew what had become 
of it. The only thing we could be certain about at this late day in a 
court of law is that one evening as the sun set the track was in existence 
and functioning as well as could be expected, ready to carry the street 
cars on their semi-occasional trips and that at daylight the next morn- 
ing there was none within the limits of the town, nor anywhere in the 
neighborhood thereof. Some resident of the town or county detained 
fater than usual on the street might have seen the rails and ties being 
carried away during the night by unknown parties, but if he did, nothing 
was ever said. 

Among some of the prominent citizens who appeared before the city 
council which met in March to discuss the matter of paving were James 
L. Elliston, Dr. S. T. Neill, Col. J. L. Woolfork, James T. McKee, Dr. J. 
H. Britts, W. F. Crome, John Bixman, Joe Harness, John Price and C. A. 
Calvird. 

Henry County Good Roads Association, which held a meeting in 



210 HENKY COUNTY HISTORY 

Clinton on May 9, 1903, was presided over by Dr. John H. Britts as presi- 
dent. Interesting talks were made by James Finks, H. H. Armstrong, 
Jacob Snyder and 0. L. Kehler. Concrete results of the meeting were 
embodied in a series of resolutions empowering the several vice-presi- 
dents of the association to call meetings in their township or school dis- 
trict for the purpose of promoting good roads and selecting of delegates 
in addition to the vice-presidents to attend the county meeting. The men 
who acted as vice-presidents of the Good Roads Association were pioneers 
in Henry County and should be remembered. A list of the vice-presidents 
for 1903 follows: Bear Creek, C. E. Dutro; Bethlehem, W. A. Hastian; 
Big Creek, A. M. Butcher; Bogard, Dr. Joseph Noble; Clinton, E. P. 
Mitchell; Davis, John Miller; Deepwater, Van Brown; Deer Creek, Will- 
iam H. Combs; Fairview, F. P. Aldrich; Fields Creek, George Spangler; 
Honey Creek, R. W. Covington; Shawnee, S. M. Thompson; Osage, A. 
Johnson; Springfield, Thomas P. Parks; Tebo, Chase E. Avery; Walker, 
William Moore ; White Oak, Benjamin Henny ; Windsor, William H. Davis. 

Particularly enthusiastic over the question of good roads was the 
Calhoun Clarion, whose editor, James Bush, advocated the building of 
them with perennial persistence. In June, 1903, this newspaper had just 
moved into a new office and its efforts for the upbuilding of the com- 
munity were appreciated by the people who had shown their apprecia- 
tion in a practical fashion. 

The summer of 1903 will be remembered as a period of most disas- 
trous storms. Continual rains threw all of the creeks out of their banks, 
flooding the lowlands and making all connection by rail or wagon road 
impossible where either went through the bottoms or across a water 
course. Water stood six or eight feet deep in the Kansas City Union 
Depot and for some days no trains were able to reach Kansas City at 
all. Finally one of the Frisco trains from Clinton got into Kansas City. 
The storm that swept over Henry County the twenty-first of July, 1903, 
was one of the worst ever known. The chautauqua had just adjourned 
when the storm broke. The damage over Clinton and Henry County was 
very considerable. The Frisco round house in Clinton was destroyed and 
a great deal of damage was done in town. The county alms house was 
damaged and a new barn belonging to W. L. Bowman was scattered over 
an eighty acre field. The house of W. L. Petennans was damaged and 
one of his children was badly hurt. Barns belonging to Ed Empey, Andy 
and Fritz Detwiler were unroofed. The roof and porch was blown off of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 211 

Charles McDonald's house and damage through the whole county was ex- 
cessive and serious. 

Preparations for the Henry County exhibits at the World's Columbian 
Exposition, to be held in St. Louis in 1904, were made in the summer of 
1903. Most of the samples of grain necessary were selected from the 
products of 1902. Clay Adair was made commissioner for the county by 
order of the executive committee, of which Thomas Day was chairman. 
Notification was made that the exposition would offer prizes for the best 
twenty ears of white corn and of yellow corn; also prizes for the ten 
largest and for the ten longest ears and for the best twenty ears of calico 
or bloody butcher corn. It is worth while to note that the prize offered 
was $10 for the best ten ears of either white or yellow corn and only 
$5 for the best twenty ears of bloody butcher corn. Twenty years later 
prizes of $150 were offered for exhibits of corn under certain conditions 
by some counties of the State. 

The candidacy of Joseph W. Folk for Governor began to be agitated 
in midsummer throughout the county. The popularity gained by Folk 
when as circuit attorney of St. Louis he had successfully prosecuted the 
boodling aldermen of that city caused the Democrats of the State and of 
Henry County to look upon him as a fit candidate for Governor. Early 
in September a Folk Club of fifty members was organized at Hunting- 
dale. The meeting after organization was addressed by C. A. Calvird of 
Clinton, who was present by invitation, and fifty of the seventy Democrats 
in Huntingdale precinct of Shawnee township quickly enrolled. Jesse 
Spitzer, a prominent farmer, was elected president and E. E. Schroff, a 
well known Huntingdale merchant, was elected treasurer. A Folk Club 
was organized at Montrose of which James H. Vickers was elected presi- 
dent and Judge James M. Ballard was elected secretary. This club was 
also of large membership and numerous others were organized throughout 
the county. 

James A. Reed of Kansas City announced his candidacy for Gov- 
ernor in a formal meeting held in Sedalia in September, 1903, and was 
followed by Joseph W. Folk, in his announcement in October, whose open- 
ing speech was made at St. Joseph. 

Harry B. Hawes of St. Louis and Judge James B. Gantt of Henry 
County were also candidates. 

The Democratic county committee at a meeting held in March, 1903, 
decided to have a county primary, at which time the voters might ex- 



212 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

press their preference between the several candidates for Governor, 
and adopted resolutions to the effect that the names of all candidates for 
the nomination for Governor who might desire to contest Henry County 
be printed on the primary ballot to be voted at the primary election to 
be held in the various precincts of the county on the ninth day of April, 
1904. The candidate for the nomination for Governor receiving the high- 
est number of votes at such election should be the choice of the county 
for such nomination and such vote be taken and considered positive in- 
struction of the democracy of the county for such candidate; that the 
delegates to the State convention should be men who were known to be 
unqualifiedly for the candidate for the nomination for Governor who should 
have received the highest number of votes at the primary; such delegates 
shall pledge themselves to use all honorable means to secure the nomi- 
nation of such candidate, and finally, that each candidate for Governor 
who may desire his name printed on the primary ballot may have it done 
by notifying the chairman of the county committee in writing at least 
six days before the primary election. On motion it was ordered that no 
assessment be made for State candidates at the coming primary, and in 
explanation it was stated that many candidates were making heavy 
charges upon State candidates, which example, if generally followed, would 
prove burdensome and unjust to the candidates. The committee voted 
that the county convention should be held on Saturday, May 28, and the 
delegates thereto be selected on the basis of one for every fifty votes 
cast for Bryan or fraction of twenty-five votes or over. 

The city election in Clinton resulted in the selection of E. A. Barn- 
hart, Republican, for mayor by a majority of sixty-nine over Henry 
Stark, who was the Democratic nominee. The balance of the Democratic 
ticket, except two aldermen, was elected. The total vote cast for mayor 
was: Stark, Democrat, 528; Barnhart, Republican, 597; Simison, Prohi- 
bition, forty-four. The Prohibitionists cast fifty-four votes for Norcross 
for marshal, which was the highest number received by them. When 
the day came for the county primray no candidate for governor except 
Joseph W. Folk filed. Out of a total of 3,100 votes cast in the county pri- 
mary. Folk received all but about 100 and probably half of these simply 
scratched his name without writing in that of any of his rivals. The vote 
in Clinton township for Governor was an example of what was going on 
throughout the county. In this township Folk received 862, Reed seven, 
Gantt nine, Hawes one. It was a fact that at the time of the holding of the 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 213 

Democratic primary in Henry County, the selection of Folk as a Demo- 
cratic candidate for Governor was assured and the other candidates had 
practically withdrawn from the race. The Democratic ticket as nomi- 
nated in the primary and which was elected in the fall consisted of John 
I. Hinkle, candidate for prosecuting attorney; E. M. Goodwin for collec- 
tor, J. D. Hall for sheriff, A. T. Loyd for assessor, A. M. Highnote for 
surveyor. Clay Adair for treasurer, Alfred Slack and T. W. Ogg for county 
judges, John Drach, Jr., for public administrator and B. B. Barr for 
coroner. 

On May 11 James A. Reed formally withdrew from the contest for 
Governor. In his statement he announced that it was now manifest that 
he was defeated and under the circumstances to prolong the contest would 
be without results. He thanked his friends for their support and pledged 
his loyalty to the ticket. Folk was elected Governor and the rest of the 
Democratic ticket defeated. 

The new opera house was opened in Clinton on December 16, 1903, 
with a gala production of "Peggy from Paris." The house was crowded 
with people from Clinton and delegations from Windsor, Calhoun, Mont- 
rose and Deepwater. The building was erected by John M. Bixman and 
had a capacity of about 1,100 people. It covered an area of sixty-nine by 
ninety-nine feet. The stage was thirty-five feet deep by sixty-two wide, 
the proscenium opening being twenty-eight feet. It was forty feet from 
the ground to the top of the "shoe." The playhouse was one of the most 
complete in the interior of the State and afforded a splendid place for 
county and State gatherings. 

Joseph Pollock, who was for many years a resident of Clinton and 
for nearly thirty years in the clothing business, died in late September 
and James M. Avery, who had been born in Henry County in 1838 and 
lived there continuously ever since, died in November. The death of 
these two well known citizens was a distinct and enduring loss to the 
county, both of them being progressive citizens and always standing for 
the upbuilding of the town and county. 

Organization of the "Four County Fair" was effected at Windsor 
in February, 1904. J. G. Callison was made chairman of the organiza- 
tion and W. M. Amick secretary. It had already been demonstrated that 
Windsor could maintain as good a fair as any town in the State and 
it was proposed to make the association permanent and hold a fair an- 
nually at Windsor, Missouri. 



214 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The Henry County cattlemen were very much elated at the victory 
of the celebrated Casey herd of Shorthorns at the Minnesota State Fair. 
These Henry County products headed by choice goods were shown by 
the best herds from several neighboring States as well as Canada and 
received first premiums. From Minnesota the Casey herd were shipped 
to the World's Fair at St. Louis, where the finest herds of cattle in the 
United States and Canada were on exhibition. Expert cattle judges were 
aware of the fact that this herd would come in contact at St. Louis with 
the best and most expensive herds of Shorthorns in the world and Henry 
County people were very much delighted when Choice Goods took the 
first prize in the World's Fair Shorthorn contest and was judged to be 
the best male in the world. 

At the time of the World's Fair a meeting of the Missouri Division 
of the United Veterans of the Confederacy was held on October 6 at the 
Missouri building at which time Major H. W. Salmon of Clinton was 
elected major general of the division. The com.pliment was appreciated 
by the old veterans of Henry County and by the people among whom 
Major Salmon had lived so long and where he had so many friends. 

George M. Casey was in some ways the most prominent citizen of 
Henry County. Born in Kentucky in 1837 he settled in Henry County 
in 1842. He served throughout the war in the 16th Missouri Confederate 
Infantry and at the conclusion of the war between the States he resumed 
farming beginning to systematically breed Shorthorns. At the time of 
his death in April, 1904, he was recognized throughout the Union as one 
of the greatest breeders of fine Shorthorns that there was in the country. 

The seventeenth of June Judge James Parks died in Clinton. He 
was born in Kentucky in 1827, but had lived in Henry County since 1834. 
He was assessor by appointment and assessed Henry County in 1860. He 
was circuit clerk from 1863 to 1867 and probate judge of Henry County 
from 1879 to 1899, retiring on account of advancing years. For a time 
he was a member of the law firm of Parks, Thornton and Gantt. William 
T. Thornton, one of the partners, being an ex-Governor of New Mexico 
and J. B. Gantt, the other, was later chief justice of the State of Missouri. 

Mrs. H. T. Baird, who was founder and president of Baird College, 
for fifteen years a noted school, died in October, 1904. Her leaving the 
college sealed its doom as an educational institution, as her personality 
made it the school that it was. 

In June, 1904, the agitation for oil had come to the point where a 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 215 

company of fifty representative citizens had agreed to pay SlOO each, 
and with the ifS.OOO thus raised to bore for oil. The company which was 
organized as a result of this agreement was called The Clinton Oil and 
Development Company, and after some delay selected as a point to begin 
drilling a location about a mile from the coi-poration and on the dividing 
line between the farms of Dr. G. Y. Salmon and R. E. Harman. In the 
fall of that year the demck which was built for the purpose of drilling 
was destroyed by a wind storm and after work had been suspended for 
several months L. C. Davis, a new contractor, took hold of the enterprise, 
rebuilt the derrick and commenced drilling in December, 1905. After 
about two weeks' work the derrick and all its machinery was destroyed 
by fire. It was believed that the fire was the work of an incendiary, as 
Mr. Davis stated that he was certain there was no fire left. The well had 
only been drilled fifteen feet after cleaning out the hole, but it was claimed 
that they were working in sand that gave promise of results. The local 
company had put $500 worth of pipe in the hole, but after so many dis- 
couragements, there was little hope of pursuing the drilling any further. 
The matter was abandoned for three years when again the idea of drill- 
ing for oil was discussed and in September, 1908, President Stark of the 
Clinton Oil and Development Company called a meeting and reported that 
the hole which had been drilled afforded strong evidence of oil. A wind 
mill and pump had been installed and had been operated for a week and 
as the hole was piped the water drawn up came from the bottom of the 
well. The character of the water changed as the standing water was 
drawn out, first becoming very salty and then holding in suspension large 
quantities of heavy brown oil. All who visited the well at that time be- 
lieved that the project had been abandoned just as results were at hand. 
The meeting was presided over by Henry Stark and James L. Elliston 
was secretary. It was found that about half the original company had 
died or moved away and the secretary was ordered to correspond with 
the pioneer members or their heirs to see how many were willing to re- 
tain their membership and the stock of those who refused was to be 
allotted to new members who would be received on the same basis as 
the old ones. A committee to solicit new members was appointed, which 
consisted of R. E. Harman, J. M. Blakemore and F. P. Kitchen and a 
committee to secure a new lease, the old one having been forfeited, was 
appointed, which consisted of Henry Stark, William Ming, A. C. Landon 
and E. A. Bamhart. About this time the Windsor people were organizing 



216 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

a company to bore 2,000 feet for oil near that town. In spite of the 
hopes entertained, no results were obtained from the search and Clinton 
has never been successful in locating oil in paying quantities. 

The extremes of weather in Henry County were exemplified in Feb- 
ruary, 1903, when, on the twelfth the thermometer showed what it really 
was capable of accomplishing when it wanted to perform. On the morn- 
ing of February 12 it was eight degrees below zero. By 2 o'clock in the 
afternoon it had moderated until it was six degrees above zero and then 
the mercury decided to hunt the bottom of the tube and by 8 P. M., that 
same day, Government thermometer showed thirty-three degrees below 
zero, ordinary thermometers showing thirty-four and one registering 
thirty-eight below. This was the coldest day ever known in Henry County. 

An attempt to organize a company for the manufacture of an auto- 
mobile delivery wagon was made early in 1905. Charles McKiearnan, a 
well known citizen of Clinton, had long been studying and working on a 
new automobile with the idea that it should be of simple construction, of 
substantial character, but built in an economical way so it could sell for 
about $350, which was several hundred dollars less than any similar ma- 
chine. Mr. McKiearnan arranged to incorporate and manufacture the ma- 
chine and was backed by sufficient money to insure the success of his 
project, but owiog to various obstacles the plan did not materialize. Had 
it done so the county would have been greatly benefited. The proposal 
to establish an automobile factory at Clinton failed, however, and in 1910 
Mr. McKiearnan went to Wichita Falls, Texas, where he was offered a 
large amount of money by way of a bonus, together with a site for the 
establishment of his factory. 



CHAPTER XXII. 



FINANCIAL DISASTER AND DEPRESSION 



CLINTON NATIONAL BANK ORGANIZED— THE SALMON & SALMON FAILURE— THE 
LOCAL OPTION ELECTION— RESIGNATION OP WINDSOR OFFICIALS — MURDER 
OP CAPT. ALLISON— MUNICIPAL OWNERSHIP IN CLINTON. 

Clinton National Bank was organized and chartered by the Govern- 
ment' and an election held by the stockholders on Saturday the thirtieth 
of April, 1905, and the following directors were chosen: Dr. W. H. Gib- 
bons, C. H. Avery, E. C. Kent, W. L. Gurner, all of Clinton ; W. C. Henrici 
and Thomas B. Lee, of Kansas City; C. W. Snider of Whiting, Kansas, and 
W. E. Docking of Clay Center, Kansas. The directors elected as the first 
officers of the bank, president, W. E. Docking; vice-president, Dr. W. H. 
Gibbins ; cashier, C. W. Snider ; bookkeeper, Harry R. Gilbert. 

On June 21, 1905, the Salmon & Salmon Bank in Clinton failed to open 
its doors for business, although the bank had been widely considered as 
stable as it was possible for a bank to be, yet it had been involved in 
financial difficulties for some time. In a large measure the embarra'''^- 
ment being due to its indorsement of the paper of the Tebo Cattle Com- 
pany. The failure was precipitated when a draft for $15,000 went to 
protest in St. Louis. The protest of this draft was not known in Clinton 
until after banking hours. The secretary of State, John E. Swanger, and 
R. M. Cook, State bank examiner, posted a notice on the door of the 
bank early on Wednesday morning, stating that the bank was in the 
hands of the secretary of State. Before this was done the news of the 
failure had spread through the town. Excited people gathered on the 
streets and the two telephone exchanges were overworked spreading the 
news throughout the county. 

The bank of Salmon & Salmon was intimately related to most of 
the business interests of Clinton and this whole section of the country. 



218 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

It was the city and county depository, the city having $2,100 on deposit 
at the time of its failure and the county $63,000, besides the current 
collections of city and county collectors. The secretary of State took 
temporary charge of the affairs of the bank and an exhaustive examina- 
tion was immediately made of its condition. Both Dr. G. Y. Salmon and 
Major H. W. Salmon immediately made over all their personal estates 
to the bank for the benefit of depositors. The bank was the oldest finan- 
cial institution in Clinton, having been organized under the name of Sal- 
mon & Stone on December 1, 1866. It was since a partnership bank and 
when D. C. Stone retired in 1873 he left the Salmon brothers as sole 
owners. The last published statement of the bank prior to its failure 
was of date May 29, 1905, and was as follows: 

Resources, loans and discounts, personal or col- 
lateral $614,638.31 

Loans, real estate 35,885.35 

Overdrafts 9,042.77 

Bonds and stocks 000.00 

Real estate, banking house 17,500.00 

Other real estate 7,500.00 

Furniture and fixtures 2,000.00 

Due from other banks and bankers 0,000.00 

Subject to check 52,099.27 

Cash items 8,373.15 

Currency 15,855.00 

Specie 3,290.46 

Other resources as follows 31,198.43 

Total .$797,382.74 

Liabilities, capital stock paid in $ 50,000.00 

Surplus fund 6,000.00 

Undivided profits, net 7,660.38 

Due to banks and bankers subject to check 6,123.29 

Individual deposits, subject to check 366,627.44 

Time certificates of deposit 358,408.85 

Demand certificates of deposit 2,567.78 

Cashier's checks 000.00 

Bills payable and rediscounts 000.00 

Other liabilities as follows 000.00 

Total $797,382.74 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 219 

One always to be feared effect of a closing of a bank is a run on 
other institutions in the same community. This was happily missing 
at the time of the closing of the Salmon & Salmon Bank. The officers of 
the Citizens Bank were notified on the evening before of the trouble in 
the Salmon bank and took immediate steps to fortify themselves. Ample 
funds were rushed from Kansas City, St. Louis and Sedalia to carry the 
Citizens Bank through any emergency. The good sense of the community 
would not be stampeded by a causeless scare as to the stability of other 
institutions. As a result, there were few ■ withdrawals of funds, and ab- 
solute and justifiable confidence was felt in the Citizens Bank. The liqui- 
dation growing out of the suspension of this bank covered a period of 
■years. It developed that there was a great deal of forged paper and 
that the bank's condition was very much worse than it had been thought 
at the time of its failure. The failure was a most deplorable affair and 
worked untold hardships on the people of the city and whole county. 

A local option election was held in Clinton and Henry Counties on 
Saturday the fourth of November, 1905, and resulted in the county going 
dry by a vote of 1,876 dry to 1,096 wet. As an effect of this the saloons 
then operating in Windsor, Montrose and Deepwater were compelled to 
close. The election in Clinton, which voted separately from the county, 
was carried by the wets by 199. The vote cast in the city was over 1,000, 
being larger than was expected. If the day had been a pleasant one it 
would probably have reached 1,200. The vote in Clinton on this ques- 
tion by wards was as follows: 

Ward Wet Dry 

First 179 125 

Second 96 54 

Third 196 83 

Fourth 129 139 

Totals 600 401 

As an echo of the local option election at this time the city of Wind- 
sor had an unusual experience of having Mayor Davis and four of the six 
councilmen resign. The action was the culmination of the local option 
fight in the county. The mayor and councilmen of Windsor favoring sa- 
loons of a source of revenue to pay for street lights and other expenses 
of the municipality. At the first meeting of the city council after the 



220 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

county went dry and thereby put the Hd on Windsor, the mayor had a 
financial statement printed, showing where the city money was spent. By 
such statement the city owed accounts amounting to $747.58 with only 
$100 in the treasury. Following the reading of the financial statement 
the following proceedings transpired, according to the Windsor "Review:" 
"At this point all business being transacted, it was thought that a motion 
to adjourn would be the next order. Not so, however, and considerable 
consternation and surprise were expressed when Clerk Fields rose and 
read the resignation of H. F. Davis as mayor of Windsor, effective Janu- 
ary 1, 1906. A motion to accept the resignation of Mayor Davis was ac- 
cepted without debate. Then in succession came the resignation of H. B. 
McClaverty, of the Third ward; John Bowen, of the Third ward, and C. 
E. Griffith, of the First ward. Each accepted in order without question 
and without debate. J. W. Mclntire, of the Second ward, also resigned. 
Aldermen Kabrich and Bridges refused to resign. Alderman Bowen taid 
there was nothing secret about his reason for resigning, that he, for one, 
did not care to longer try to run the tovm without money. Mayor Davis 
then made a brief statement to the members of the council that he had 
never asked for the office, that he only took it at the urgent solicitation of 
the people ; that he consented only when assured of being given sufficient 
funds to administer the city affairs as they should be; that he had given 
practically his entire time in his efforts to build up the town ; that he had 
paid for car loads of rock out of his own pocket in order to have the neces- 
sary work done before bad weather; that the council had done the very 
best it could ; that he could see no way of Windsor maintaining her posi- 
tion as a live, up-to-date city with practically half her revenue cut off; 
that he did not care to longer assume his part of the responsibility ; that 
in making his resignation effective January 1, he did so in order to give 
the people plenty of time to study the matter well and to select the best 
man possible to fill the office." 

In a desperate attempt to escape from the State penitentiary on Fri- 
day, the twenty-fourth day of November, 1905, Capt. Ephriam Allison, 
long a prominent citizen of Clinton, laid down his life in performance of 
his duty. Four desperate convicts attempted to escape, engaging in a 
terrific battle with weapons and nitroglycerine at the prison gates, fol- 
lowed by a running fight through the streets of Jefferson City, with the 
final capture of all four of the convicts, two of whom were fhot and 
wounded. There was not the slightest premonition of any trouble within 
the prison walls. Suddenly Convicts Harry Vaughn, Charles Raymond, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 221 

Hiram Blake, George Ryan and Eli Zeigler, who were working in close 
proximity to the prison gate inside the enclosure, as if by a given signal, 
made a rush for the gate. From their pockets they drew pistols and it 
is presumed that at least one of them carried a bottle of nitroglycerine. 
Where the weapons and the explosives were obtained was unknown. Rush- 
ing past the gates they entered Deputy Warden See's office and shot him 
as he sat in his chair. He sank back and was unable to resist them. In- 
stantly they returned to the gate and met Gateman John Clay, who had 
been alarmed by the shots. Before he could raise his weapon he was shot 
dead. Captain Allison, who was in charge of the commissary department, 
as the outbreak occurred at the gate, ran out to the assistance of the 
guard. Crane. As he stepped out of the door Captain Allison received a 
bullet in his breast and fell unconscious. He passed away without regain- 
ing consciousness. 

Captain Allison was born in Saline County in 183-5 and with his 
father moved to Henry County in 1852. At the beginning of the war 
he enlisted in Captain Owen's company of the Missouri State Guards. 
This company, however, soon disbanded and he re-enlisted in Company I, 
16th Missouri Confederate Infantry. The close of the war found him in 
Madison County, Texas, where he remained until 1867, when he came to 
Clinton and engaged in merchandising, first in grocery and later in dry 
goods. He was very successful and built up the largest store in Clinton, 
making a fortune. He, however, made large real estate investments in 
Kansas City and suffered financial reverses when the inflated values of 
that place collapsed. He was prominent locally in Democratic politics, had 
served as county treasurer, as member of the County Court and later as 
pi-esiding judge thereof. In his later life he was employed in the peni- 
tentiary in various posts of responsibility and importance. Nearly two 
years later Convicts Raymond, Vaughn and Ryan, who had killed Captain 
Allison, were hanged in the jail yard and suffered the penalty for their 
crime. 

The city council in January, 1906, held a special session at which 
time the first step toward municipal ownership of the public utilities was 
taken by rejecting a franchise proposition presented by the water com- 
pany and ordering the city clerk to prepare a resolution to submit to the 
vote of the people a bond issue to build a municipal light plant. All of 
the members of the council were present except Councilman Cheatham. 
At a subsequent meeting of the council, a week or so later. Attorney 
Owen for the city brought in a resolution calling for a special election 



222 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

to vote $30,000 bonds to build a municipal electric light plant. At that 
time Mayor Barnhart advocated a municipal water system and declared 
that to be more important than a light plant. 

The council was divided as to whether or not it was advisable to sub- 
mit both propositions at the same time, but they did not oppose the 
mayor's wishes and a resolution to submit both propositions to a vote of 
the people was passed unanimously. Both resolutions provided for a spe- 
cial election to be held on Thursday, February 15, 1906. The first vote 
to be submitted was on the proposition to issue $30,000 at four per cent, 
bonds to build or acquire a municipal light plant. The second proposition 
to be voted on at the same time was to issue $70,000 in bonds to build or 
acquire a waterworks system. At the time members of the light and 
water committee of the council stated that a Kansas City engineering 
fiiTTi had estimated that $70,000 would build a water system, obtain the 
water either from the surface pond or from deep wells, filtering and soft- 
ening it before it passed into the pipes. Pursuant to the calls the special 
election was held and the result was overwhelmingly in favor of the bonds. 
There was no preliminary work done to get out the vote and no active 
workers. In spite of that fact more than 800 votes were cast, which 
showed the interest that the proposition aroused in the minds of the peo- 
ple and clearly demonstrated where they stood on the matter. The result 
of the vote was as follows : 

For $30,000 light bonds : 

Wards For Against 

First 264 10 

Second 123 9 

Third 198 3 • 

Fourth 213 12 

Total 798 34 

For $70,000 water bonds: 

First 261 13 

Second 125 11 

Third 198 3 

Fourth 216 12 

Total 804 39 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 223 

Following the vote on municipal ownership, which resulted so over- 
whelmingly in favor of the city ovraing the public utilities, came the April 
city election. The election resulted in the selection of Shackleford for 
mayor on the municipal ownership ticket by a majority of 435 over Sol 
Blatt. The whole municipal ownership ticket was overwhelmingly elected, 
the majorities averaging above 300 except in the case of city attorney, 
where J. F. Delaney beat Fred B. Owen, Democrat, by only 110. The 
municipal ownership aldermen were all elected and the entire administra- 
tion was committed to that proposition. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 



RECUPERATION AND PROGRESS 



THE PEOPLES BANK OF CLINTON— UNION OF PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES— SALOON 
LICENSES— DEATH OF BROTHER GI\^N — THE U. D. C. BESTOWES CROSSES 
OP HONOR— JUDGE BOYD'S PICNTC- THE BANKS IN URICH— THE PANIC OF 
1907— NEW BANK IN MONTROSE— POLITICS IN 1908— FARIS NOMINATED FOR 
GOVERNOR— EXPLOSION AT WINDSOR— DEATH OF DE ARMOND — DICKINSON 
ELECTED TO CONGRESS. 

The Peoples National Bank was formally organized and opened for 
business early in January, 1907. Organization was effected by the elec- 
tion of the following directors: James M. Spangler, R. H. Piper, J. D. 
Carney, John Arvin, Dr. J. H. Britts, J. J. Chastain, J. C. Wyatt. The 
directors elected the following officers: President, John Arvin; vice-presi- 
dent, R. H. Piper; cashier, J. C. Wyatt; assistant cashier, J. J. Chastain. 
The new bank had a paid up capital of $50,000, acquired the Salmon & 
Salmon Bank building and opened for business using that building for its 
banking business. Two of these men were from out of the county, the 
president, John Arvin, who was a recent resident of Howard County, com- 
ing from Armstrong, Missouri, and the cashier, J. C. Wyatt, removed 
from Higbee to assume the position in this bank. The intention of the 
new organization was to give the county a bank conducted on conservative 
lines, which would be an assistance to the upbuilding of the whole com- 
munity. 

Representative M. B. Thralls, of Henry County, introduced a bill in 
the House of Representatives which was inspired by Governor Folk's 
wishes to enforce the Sunday "lid law." The proposed law made viola- 
tion of the dramshop law outlawry and subjected the violator to arrest by 
a posse which might be called out by the Governor if he should become 
satisfied that local officials would not, or could not, enforce the law. The 





PRIZE WINNERS, HENRY COUNTY CALF CLU 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 225 

cost of the enforcement of the law in such a case was to be borne by the 
State and the members of the posse to have the same authority in making 
arrest as a sheriff. This was a law designed to assist the authorities in 
preventing violations of the liquor laws, particularly in counties or in 
sections of the larger cities where the sentiment for Sunday observance 
and proper enforcement of the dramship laws was not strong. 

The question of union between the Presbyterian and Cumberland 
Presbyterian Churches had been agitated for a number of years and while 
Henry County Presbyterians did not take any prominent part, yet they 
were all concerned as to the ultimate results of the proposed merger. At 
the meeting of the General Assembly of the two churches in 1906, articles 
of union were formally agreed on and arrangements were made for the 
joining of the two congregations in towns where both branches of the 
united church had organizations ; and in the case of such union, to vacate 
one of the church buildings and unite all of the people under one pastor 
and in one church body. Pursuant to such action of the general assemblies 
of the two churches, there was a meeting held in Kansas City early in 
January, 1907, at which the Kansas City Presbytery of the Kansas City 
Church and the Lexington Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian 
Church were both represented and at such meeting final steps were taken 
to legally unite the two bodies; and particularly included were the two 
Clinton Presbyterian Churches. The local Cumberland Presbyterian 
Church was represented by Rev. G. P. Beaty, who presented a communica- 
tion from that church bearing upon the matter. The Kansas City Pres- 
bytery formally transferred the First Presbyterian Church of Clinton to 
the Lexington Presbytery, in order to get the two churches in the same 
presbytery, and the Lexington Presbytery accepted the transferred church 
in order to perfect the union of the two churches. 

The committee of ministers, consisting of Rev. Beaty and Rev. Howell 
of Clinton, and Walker of Kansas City, were appointed to visit Clinton 
on January 31 and carry out the orders of the Presbytery, formally con- 
stituting the union of the two churches upon the basis of union adopted 
by each. On the occasion of the visit of the committee from the Pres- 
bytery, the two Clinton Presbyterian Churches were formally merged 
into one body, to be known as the First Presbyterian Church of Clinton. 
The new body was organized, as to elders, deacons and trustees, by an 
equal number being named from each of the two constituent churches; 
and, after the formal interrogation and replying to the regular constitu- 



226 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

tional questions, were declared to be the officers of the united church. 
The officers elected were as follows : From the Presbyterian Church, elders, 
J. G. Middlecoff, Dr. B. B. Barr, Dr. E. Y. Nichols, Millard Lane, H. P. Far- 
ris, J. E. Akey; deacons, U. W. Lamkin, Charles Tobias, Otto Detweiller, 
Carter Cannon, George D. Coon. From the Cumberland Presbyterian 
Church : Elders, B. L. Owen, Hale Montgomery, W. H. Shackleford, M. B. 
Knowles, C. H. Van Dyke, Frank C. Shaver ; deacons, A. C. Haysler, Ernest 
Vale, E. H. Dooley, Dr. S. C. A. Rubey, F. B. Waddell. Rev. J. R. Birchfield, 
who had hitherto been the pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, was 
installed as the first pastor of the new body. 

'yie union of the two churches was not acceptable to all of the mem- 
bers of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and at the same time the 
above proceedings were being had a meeting was held in the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, in Clinton, of those members of the Cumber- 
land Presbyterian Church who had all the time steadfastly opposed the 
union. Presiding at this meeting was the Rev. J. E. Duggins of Mont- 
rose. J. W. King was elected elder and S. D. Garth trustee. J. M. Weide- 
meyer and J. G. Turk were appointed to find a suitable place in which 
to have a Sunday school and prayer meeting, and it was resolved to con- 
tinue the organization and as soon as possible to employ a regular min- 
ister. The dispute between the two branches of this church was carried 
from the ecclesiastical into the State Court and after a long litigation 
extending to the Supreme Court of the United States was formally de- 
cided in favor of the merger. However, in 1908, Judge Denton had be- 
fore him in the Circuit Court of Henry County a case involving one phase 
of the union on which depended the ownership of Mt. Carmel Church in 
Davis township. It seems that nearly fifteen years before Dr. J. G. Turk 
of Clinton deeded to the trustees of the Mt. Carmel Presbyterian Church 
a tract of ground about an acre in extent on which the church v/as built 
and stood at the time of the suit. There was inserted in the deed by 
the grantor a stipulation that the building to be erected should be used 
as the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and also the provision that 
should it cease to be so used the ground should revert back to him or 
his heirs. Since the union the building was used by the unionists and, 
as Dr. Turk adhered to the loyal branch of the Cumberland Presbtyerian 
Church, the suit was brought to gain possession of the ground under the 
condition that the church was no longer used by the Cumberland Pres- 
byterians. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 227 

The city of Clinton having voted to remain wet, the question of 
saloon licenses was considered at a special meeting of the city council 
held on Monday, May 6, 1907. The attitude of many of the people seemed 
to be that saloons should pay a very high license fee, at least such was 
the presumption from the action of the council, which on this date intro- 
duced and passed an ordinance raising saloon licenses in Clinton from 
$1,000 to $3,000 per year, which together with additional taxes made the 
saloon licenses $3,800 each. The action was taken probably in anticipa- 
tion of saloon licenses about to be applied for in the County Court on 
the following Monday, and the passage of this ordinance and its imme- 
diate going into effect made the granting of additional saloon licenses 
improbable. In fact it was predicted at that time that the raising of the 
license fee would result in the closing of all the saloons, with perhaps 
one exception. The prediction that the saloons would not pay the license 
prescribed by the ordinance was fulfilled and as the licenses of the vari- 
ous saloons expired one by one they closed, so that for a period of nearly 
four months there was no licensed saloon in Clinton, the town, while it 
had voted wet, being diy on account of the license fee charge. The County 
Court in the meantime had granted five saloon licenses, but none of them 
had been taken out, owing to the Clinton ordinance. However, the long 
drouth in Clinton was broken on the convening of a special meeting of 
the city council in mid July. The council at that time reduced the ealoon 
license from $3,000 to $1,500 annually and two saloons were immediately 
opened, followed by others. 

In the death of Rev. J. C. Given at Springfield during the month of 
April was removed from Henry County and Missouri one of the most 
popular and widely known ministers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South. There is no resident of Henry County who lived there during the 
pastorate of Brother Given in Clinton who did not know him. He was 
remarkable for his friendliness and his most striking feature probably 
was his innate hospitality and extraordinary love for fellowman. In all 
of his career it was an inviolate maxim of his that a stranger in his 
town should be shown the same courtesies that one receives while among 
his friends and acquaintances. Following this theory it was the usual 
thing for him to accost a stranger on the street with a hearty handshake 
and a cheery smile and venture any information about the town or its 
citizenship that would tend to facilitate the business or make more in- 
teresting the sight seeing trips of the unacquainted one. This habit 



228 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

brought him into contact with and gained for him the lasting friend- 
ship of many commercial travelers; although on some occasions the 
drummers would not meet his advances. It is related that on one oc- 
casion he was going down the street extending the greetings of the day 
in his customary manner, when he chanced to meet a drummer who 
refused his extended hand. After the drummer had learned who it was 
that had attempted to shake hands with him, he stepped up to Rev. Given 
and said: "When you offered to shake hands with me a while ago, I 
thought you were a confidence man. I have since learned that I was 
mistaken." Givens looked him squarely in the eye and replied: "We 
were both mistaken; you took me for a confidence man and I took you 
for a gentleman." 

Only a small degree less than his enthusiasm for his church and 
ministry was his ardor as a fisherman. He loved to fish and rarely let 
an opportunity pass to take a trip to the banks of some good stream and 
there angle for the fish tribe. Jovial, warm hearted, courteous, conse- 
crated — his passing was a distinct loss to his church and to every com- 
munity in which he served or was knowm. 

The United Daughters of the Confederacy have a very beautiful 
custom of conferring crosses of honor on the old veterans who wore the 
gray. It is a recent thing with them, for up to this time no mark of 
distinction had been given to the heroes of the Southern Confederacy. 
Elaborate ceremonies were held by the K. K. Salmon Chapter of the U. 
D. C. which was in Clinton and on the occasion of the celebration of 
the birthday of Jefferson Davis. The custom of giving the crosses arose 
in the desire to confer some emblem upon the Southern soldier who had 
served with honor in the war between the States, and was conceived by 
Miss Mary Ann Cobb Irwin, of Athens, Georgia. The design was offered 
by Miss I. E. Gabbett of Atlanta, Georgia, and was accepted by the Na- 
tional Conference of the United Daughters of the Confederacy at Rich- 
mond, Virginia, in 1899. There are strict rules governing the bestowal 
of these crosses and the veteran who receives one justly feels that he is 
indeed honored. The crosses are made from the metal of a cannon which 
had served in the war between the States, and while they have no in- 
trinsic value they are freighted with that which gold cannot buy. 

On the occasion of the first bestowal of these crosses in Henry 
County, the following twenty Confederate veterans were so honored: 
Frank Nash, W. G. Watkins, W. F. Mastin, Eli Wade, Joseph W. Wilson, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 229 

Capt. J. M. Ragland, Capt. J. M. Weidemeyer, Lieut. W. F. Carter, Rev. 
J. F. Watkins, Dr. J. H. Britts, Judge O. M. Bush, T. H. Violette, W. C. 
Bronaugh, Judge Joe Boyd, Judge L. P. Beaty, Judge J. F. Hargrave, W. 
B. Johnson, William Goforth, W. J. Stevens, A. B. Hopkins. 

The following January, on the occasion of the celebration of the birth- 
day of Robert E. Lee, the following veterans were also presented crosses : 
Abner E. Adair, James A. Dunn, J. C. Gilliam, D. T. Hampton, John M. 
Salmon, J. T. Wiley, W. T. Wilson, Charles P. Duncan, W. C. Greer, 
Ephraim Goff, Robert C. Owens, S. F. Snodgrass, J. P. Williams, J. S. 
Howerton. 

An occasion characteristic of the times was a picnic and barbecue 
arranged during this summer by Judge Joe Boyd, who extended his hos- 
pitality to all his friends the latter part of August in his beautiful pas- 
ture that skirts the bank of Deepwater Creek. There was "no night" in 
that big pasture the preceding evening, fires were started in trenches 
as dusk came on and the flames shooting skyward drove back the dark- 
ness and sent a crimson flush between the tree trunks. As the flames 
died down, over the bed of glowing coals were stretched the carcasses 
that were to feed the many visitors. John Bixman acted as superinten- 
dent and was ably assisted by John Belton and Tom Shoemaker, who 
were past masters in the science of barbecueing. By the trenches were 
two big kettles of Burgoo and stores of bread and coffee and pickles 
awaited the expected guests. By 1 o'clock nearly a thousand happy 
men, women and children had arrived in the grove. Before this there 
was a fox chase which Judge Boyd's hounds followed in full cry and the 
riders, though they failed to bring back the fox, returned with wonder- 
ful appetites. 

After the dinner speeches were made by Rev. A. N. Lindsey, Senator 
Dickinson, P. A. Parks, C. A. Calvird and Judge James B. Gantt. The 
part that Judge Boyd had played in the historj^ of Henry County, the 
years when the sparsely settled neighborhood had struggled to avoid 
paying an unjust debt, the later period of compromise and adjustment 
and refunding to get the county at its present low rate of interest, and in 
particular how during his four years' service on the County Court, had 
been paid $98,000 railroad and $50,000 court house bonds were all sub- 
jects of eulogy. The occasion is remarkable and worthy of remembrance 
because such things were characteristic of the people of this time and 
the presence of such pioneers and sturdy citizens as Judge Boyd always 
is worthy of note and a blessing to the county. 



230 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The National Bank of Commerce of St. Louis and C. A. Davis of 
Clinton purchased the Bank of Urich in October. All the old officers 
remained in the bank except Dr. J. Noble, who was compelled to retire 
on account of failing health. The officers elected were: W. B. Moreland, 
president; J. A. Kerr, vice-president; W. H. Erwin, cashier; C. A. Davis, 
assistant cashier. 

The Bank of Urich was one of the most solid and substantial of the 
smaller banks of Missouri. . Under the wise management of Dr. Noble 
and his associates it had steadily added to its resources and to its surplus. 
The retirement of Dr. Noble from this bank was followed within less 
than a month by his death. He had planned to go to California on a 
trip to recuperate his failing health and was only delaying until he could 
dispose of his interest in the Bank of Urich; but he was stricken with 
paralysis the day following the transfer and died the thirtieth of the 
month. 

At about the same time, arrangements were completed for a new 
bank at Urich, to be known as the Farmers Bank, which new institution 
was organized with $15,000 capital, among the prominent stockholders 
being John R. Green of Clinton, H. B. Hackney and Scott Graham of Urich. 

The financial condition of the Nation in 1907 was such that on the 
thirty-first of October of that year the banks of the county by unanimous 
action issued notice that beginning on that day no cash should be paid 
to anyone in excess of $25 a day and not exceeding $50 in any one week, 
on any account. All amounts in excess of $25 were to be paid in cash 
interest checks, certified checks or drafts on Kansas City or St. Louis, 
and might be deposited. The manifesto from the banks further stated 
that all local banks were in good condition and had strong cash reserves 
and the step was taken to keep the currency at home, so it would not 
interfere with local business afl'airs and to protect the interests of de- 
positors. The agreement was signed by the People's National Bank, the 
Clinton National Bank, the Bank of Calhoun, the Citizens' Bank of Wind- 
sor, Farmers' Bank of Windsor, Bank of Urich, Bank of Blairstown, Sav- 
ings Bank of Montrose, and followed similar action of the banks at Se- 
dalia, Warrensburg, Nevada and Butler, which had acted in a similar way 
some days before. The enforcement of the rule did not cripple business 
in the slightest degree. It simply insured financial stability and was in 
the interest of all depositors. In case of payment of over $25 cashiers' 
checks were given by the bankers which were accepted by any bank or 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 231 

business man just as cash. Business men had long been prepared for the 
action and its promulgation was creative of no surprise whatever. They 
recognized it as a measure of safety and approved the courses of the 
various banks in adopting it. 

On December 1 the new Farmers and Merchants Bank of Montrose 
opened for business. Its capital was $10,000 and the first board of di- 
rectors was composed of Kansas City capitalists, who were: John C. 
Hughes, C. M. Scanlon, H. H. Briggs and Frank Stoddard. H. H. Briggs 
was president and Frank Stoddard cashier. 

During the year a number of pi'ominent citizens of the county passed 
to their reward. Judge J. M. Ballard of Montrose died on June 17. He 
had long been prominent in business and politics in this section, first in 
Bates and later in Henry County. He was formerly State Senator from 
the district and voted for George G. Vest on the last occasion of his 
election to the United States Senate. 

James H. Callaway, a resident of Clinton since 1878, died in his 
home in that town in mid-summer. He had been sheriff of the county, 
holding the office two terms. As an official he was efficient, manifesting 
splendid judgment and yet, while kind hearted in the performance of his 
duty, he showed absolute fidelity in everything committed to nim. 

R. B. McConnell was born in Clinton in 1857, was elected circuit 
clerk of Henry County and entered on his duties of office January 1, 1883, 
serving continuously for sixteen years. 

On the fourteenth of November Frank B. Waddell, one of the most 
popular men who had ever lived in Clinton, died in a St. Louis hospital. 
Of a sunny disposition he was extremely well liked, and as a business 
man he had no superior in the county. 

The death of Dr. G. Y. Salmon removed from the community one 
of its oldest citizens. He had come to Clinton in the middle forties, first 
as a physician, where he built up a large practice. During the war his 
business was destroyed and on the conclusion of the struggle he returned 
and engaged in the live stock business. In 1867 he entered the banking 
business with D. C. Stone, under the firm name of Salmon & Stone. In 
1877 it became the firm of Salmon & Salmon and his partner was his 
brother, Major H. W. Salmon. This bank continued in business until its 
failure, June 21, 1905. During his years of active business life Dr. Sal- 
mon was noted for his kind disposition. It was said that no friend ever 
sought a reasonable favor in vain, and he had every v/ord of cheer and 
friendship. 



232 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

At the first meeting of the County Court in 1908 Henry C. Allen, 
at that time county surveyor, was appointed to fill the ofl[ice of county 
highway engineer, which had just been created. His salary was fixed at 
$1,400 a year, Mr. Allen to pay his expenses. This was the beginning 
of a movement that it was hoped would result in the improvement of 
roads and the betterment of living conditions in the rural districts. At 
about the same time the Civic Association of Clinton planned a rest room 
in the court house. Representatives from various women's clubs of the 
town were present and pledged their encouragement and grave substantial 
financial aid. The room chosen was the one west of the north corridor 
of the court house, opening into the office of probate judge, but not used 
by him. The room was fitted up with chairs, sofas, tables and toilet 
accessories, etc., and an invitation extended to visitors from the county 
to make use of it when in Clinton. 

The Clinton Pottery, which had been in trouble for some time, was 
closed in February, the management making the statement that it was 
immaterial to the company whether or not the Clinton plant was run. 
The difficulties between the men and the management of this plant had 
been growing ever since it was taken over by outside corporations and 
the business had ceased to be a local institution, and finally was closed 
up. An opportunity existed in Clinton, provided that the manegement 
was really interested in the upbuilding of a business, but under the con- 
ditions there was no real efl'ort made to continue this branch of manu- 
facturing in the town. 

An abstract of the county assessment for the year 1907 shows the 
following: 463,185 acres were assessed at $4,547,289, an average valua- 
tion of $9.81 an acre. Of town lots there were 73,224, assessed at $1,489,- 
410, making a total real estate assessment of $6,036,699. Personal prop- 
erty assessment shows 11,218 horses valued at $343,547, or an average 
of $30.62 a head; 3,300 mules valued at $105,561, or an average of $31.99; 
83 asses valued at $4,111 ; 28,045 cattle valued at $287,012, or an average 
of $11.02; 4,560 sheep valued at $6,612, averaging $1.45; 30,138 hogs 
valued at $87,898, averaging $2.91 ; other live stock $424 ; money, goods, 
etc., valued at $543,910; banks, $192,630; total personal property, $1,- 
980,979; grand total of real and personal property, $8,017,676. 

The winter of 1908 was unusually mild for Henry County. Not once 
during the three winter months did the temperature fall to zero and the 
lowest tabulation was two degrees above in February. February came 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 233 

in with an electrical storm which lasted from dusk Saturday evening until 
midnight. The highest temperature in February was twenty -seven de- 
grees, on the twenty-ninth; the lowest two degrees, on the second. The 
mean maximum temperature was fortj^-eight degrees; the minimum 
twenty-six degrees and the mean average thirty-seven degrees. The total 
rainfall was 33.3 inches and the greatest rainfall in one day was .87 
inches, on the fourteenth. On the same day there was thunder, a very 
unusual phenomena in winter. During the month there were sixteen 
clear, five partly clear, and eight cloudy days, and very little snow, only 
four days having any at all and then not enough to measure. It would 
be well to remember this winter of 1908, as it was one of the mildest 
ever known in this climate. 

The Christian Church in Clinton, under the leadership of Elder A. 
N. Lindsey, had grown in a phenomenal way and the congregation erected 
a new church building to accommodate the increased membership and to 
provide for the work of the church. 

The city campaign in 1908 in Clinton was very animated. The munici- 
pal ownership party, which was in power, renominated all of the officers 
serving at that time whose terms expired. Their nominations were: For 
mayor, W. H. Shackleford; assessor, A. E. Boyd; collector, R. Belisle; 
marshal, J. M. Davis; city attorney, Harold Pierce; treasurer, J. H. 
Scherff; police judge, A. C. Avery; councilmen, S. T. Neill, Roy Labaugh, 
James E. Wright, George Paul. The Democrats nominated: For mayor, 
W. M. Stevens; assessor, Alvin Faith; collector. Mason Anderson; treas- 
urer, E. R. Lingle; marshal, Wallace Bennett; police judge, Solomon 
Blatt; city attorney, Charles Calvird; councilmen. Dr. J. R. Wallis, John 
J. Chastain, John W. Penland, John R. Doyle. 

The election resulted in the defeat of the entire Democratic ticket 
with the exception of C. A. Calvird for city attorney. The Democratic 
county convention which met in Clinton on Saturday, May 16, 1908, was im- 
portant because of the fact that it was the last time they were to select 
delegates to a State convention, as the candidaes for Sate officers were 
to be elected by State-wide primary. A number of suitors for State offi- 
cers were present, among whom were John 0. Long, candidate for State 
auditor; John P. Gordon, of Lafayette County, also a candidate for audi- 
tor ; Hon. William R. Painter, editor of the Carrollton "Democrat," candi- 
date for the office of lieutenant-governor, and Hon. Wall Bronaugh, of 
Henry County, candidate for railroad warehouse commissioner. The 



234 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

resolutions adopted expressed confidence in William J. Bryan, admiration 
for William J. Stone and approval of his record, endorsed the official 
record of Joseph W. Folk along the line of law enforcement, commended 
Hon. D. A. DeArmond, recommended to the voters at the primary W. C. 
Bronaugh for railroad commissioner, voted for Peyton A. Parks as dele- 
gate to the Democratic National Convention at Denver and for dele- 
gate at large to that convention, declared itself for Stone, Folk, Francis 
and Reed. The delegates to the convention were then named as follow: 
J. S. Turk, Davis township; Clay Hurst, Bethlehem township; Frank 
McCausland, Bogard township; C. C. Dickinson, of Clinton; C. A. Calvird, 
of Clinton; J. D. Hall and Bruce Wilson, Deepwater township; Henry 
Carter, Fairview township; R. W. Carrington, Honey Creek township; 
H. B. Salsbury, Osage township; H. B. Hughes, Tebo township; T. B. R. 
Hackney, White Oak township; J. F. Wall and L. K. Meyer, Windsor 
township. 

These fourteen delegates were authorized to cast the eleven votes 
to which Henry County was entitled at the State convention. The dele- 
gates returned in a jubilant frame of mind, having been able to assist 
in the election of all the men recommended by the county convention and 
the reports of harmony encouraged the local democracy. The candidacy 
of Hon. W. S. Cowherd and Hon. Dave Ball for Governor were overshadow- 
ing all others at this time before the Democratic voters. The people were 
hopeful that the enactment of a primary law would secure the selection 
of the best men for the various offices and recognized that the merit of 
this system was on trial in the State-wide primary which was held for 
the first time in August, 1908. 

The result of the primary showed the selection of W. S. Cowhei'd 
for Governor on the Democratic ticket. Mr. Cowherd carried Henry 
County by a vote of practically two to one over his nearest competitor, 
David A. Ball. The other winners on the Democratic ticket were William 
R. Painter for lieutenant-governor, Cornelius Roach for secretary of State, 
John P. Gordon for State auditor, John R. Knott for railroad commis- 
sioner, W. W. Graves for judge of the Supreme Court. 

The following candidates carried the county in the Republican pri- 
mary: Governor, H. S. Hadley; lieutenant-governor, J. F. Gmelich; sec- 
retary of State, John E. Swanger; auditor, Jesse A. Tolerton; State treas- 
turer, W. F. Maring; attorney general, F. B. Fulkerson; railroad commis- 
sioner, W. W. Wilder; Supreme judge, Argus Cox. 

The Prohibition party polled thirty-nine votes. The only State officer 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 235 

voted for was Hon. H. P. Fai'is for Governor, who received thirty-seven. 
This was the second time that Mr. Faris had been given the Prohibition 
nomination for Governor and it is related that as he returned home after 
receiving the Prohibition nomination for Governor as a result of the State 
primai-y he was given a unique recepton. At the train he was met by 
a band and a large crowd of citizens. The band played "The Old Oaken 
Bucket" as the nominee was greeted on the platform, while nearby stood 
the city water wagon gaily decorated with the National colors. A re- 
ception was held on the southwest corner of the square, where speeches 
were made by Mayor Shackleford and Rev. A. N. Lindsey, to which Mr. 
Faris briefly responded. The local papers add that it is noteworthy that 
the tent show which at that time was playing in Clinton that night played 
"Ten Nights in a Barroom," and several hours later a copious shower 
refreshed the earth. 

The Democratic campaign in the county was very active in the fall. 
Among the speakers were Hon. Elliott W. Major, candidate for attorney- 
general, who spoke at Deepwater, Montrose and Windsor. Governor 
Joseph W. Folk spoke at Montrose and Clinton on Tuesday, the twentieth 
of October, and Governor A. M. Dockery spoke on October 8. United 
States Senator William J. Stone spoke at Windsor on October 21 and that 
night at Clinton. The farmers of the country were very much interested 
in the election of Bryan and had contributed over $1,000 in one dollar 
subscriptions toward the Democratic National campaign. On the seven- 
teenth of October there was a tremendous rally in Clinton in which James 
B. Reed was the leading speaker, and at a night meeting Congressman 
DeArmond and Hon. Frank M. Lowe of Kansas City made addresses. The 
results in the county showed a clean sweep for the Democratic ticket, 
the lowest man being H. F. Poague for prosecuting attorney, who won 
by approximately three hundred plurality, and the leading candidate J. 
D. King for sheriff, whose plurality exceeded 800. Bryan carried the 
county for President by nearly 800, while Stone's majority over Folk for 
the Senate was nearly the same. Cowherd for Governor ran about 200 
votes below the National ticket. The Democratic State ticket was elected 
with the exception of Governor, the Republican candidate, Herbert S. 
Hadley, being successful. 

On September 15, 1908, a terrible explosion occurred at the depot 
at Windsor. A consignment of ten kegs of rifle powder — 270 pounds in 
all — was in a car being consigned to W. F. Crome, wholesale grocer at 
Clinton. Five kegs of this powder securely floored were at one end of 



236 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

the car and the other five equally well fastened to obviate jarring were 
in the other apartment. The usual four powder posters were placed on 
the car to caution those who were to handle it. As the car was loaded 
with general merchandise besides the powder, it was switched to the 
south end of the depot. The station agent and a number of trainmen, 
draymen, helpers and one tramp gathered around it to sort over and 
take out the Windsor freight. The most plausible story of the explosion 
is that one of the kegs of powder had sprung a leak and some of it had 
sifted out on the floor. One of the negroes, helping, procured a broom 
from the depot and swept up the powder, intending to take it out. Some 
one dropped a match, the powder lighted along the floor and there oc- 
curred a terrific explosion, blowing out with awful force the side of the car. 

Twelve lives in all were lost in the accident, including Frank Yake, 
the station agent; J. G. Hall, a drayman of Deepwater; James McCabe, 
a brakeman; Ernest Igo, a depot helper; Ira Malone, a miner; Elmer 
Keach and Walter Bachs, two boys who were loitering about; Charles 
Dawes, John Walker and Howard Kerns, three nero helpers, and Harry 
Gravestone, a tramp. In addition eight or ten others were more or less 
seriously injured. This was one of the most terrible and deplorable acci- 
dents that ever occurred in Henry County. 

Clinton indulged in another local option campaign in November, 
1909, the holding of such elections having become a habit. Henry County 
being dry, there was a continual agitation on the part of the drys to 
vote the saloons out of Clinton and thus destroy the only oasis in the 
county. After several weeks of active campaign, an election was held 
on Tuesday, the 23rd of November, and resulted in a wet victory by a 
majority of 129. Owing to the high license at this particular time, while 
Clinton's status as wet territory was not changed by the election, yet 
the town had actually been dry for some six months. The vote on the 
question by wards follows: 

Ward. Wet. Dry, 

First 191 125 

Second 66 54 

Third 176 85 

Fourth 164 204 

Totals 597 468 

Wet majority 129 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 237 

Henry County people were horrified in late November, when the ap- 
palling news came of the burning to death of their beloved Congressman 
David A. DeArmond in his home at Butler. The Congressman and his 
five-year-old grandson were sleeping on an upstairs porch in the DeArmond 
residence, when the house caught fire from some unexplained cause, evi- 
dently starting near the place where Judge DeArmond and the little boy 
were sleeping, and that portion of the house was all in flames when neigh- 
bors reached the scene. It is said that a maid-servant who slept in the 
rear of the house was the first one awakened and that only when the 
flames burst into her room. She escaped in her night clothing and ran to 
the front of the house, where her screams aroused the neighbohood. No 
one could get near the front of the building on account of the intense 
heat. Mrs. DeArmond and Mrs. Harvey C. Clark, her daughter, were 
aroused by the cries of the boy and the assurances of his grandfather 
that he would be saved. Judge DeArmond could easily have saved him- 
self but he remained to save his beloved grandson and both were burned 
to death. The people of Henry County felt peculiarly close to Judge 
DeArmond ; though born in Pennsylvania, he had been long a resident of 
Bates County, had served as judge of the circuit in which Henry County 
was located and several times had been a representative of Henry County 
in Congress and was known to practically all the citizenship of the county. 
Few men in the last half-century have had a more spectacular or brilliant 
career than he, winning his political spurs in his home as a lawyer. Presi- 
dential elector and State Senator, later as judge of the Circuit Court and 
member of Congress, he was greatly admired because of his commanding 
ability. Rarely has any district had a man to represent it, who was 
so relied upon and whose judgment on all matters was so implicitly ac- 
cepted by his constituents. 

Every possible token of respect was paid to him by the people of his 
district and the greatest sympathy was felt for his bereaved family by 
all of his constituents whom he had so long and so faithfully served. The 
death of Judge DeArmond of course, necessitated the immediate election 
of his successor and national conditions were such that the election in the 
Sixth district was looked on with a great deal of interest all over the 
country. The election of a Congressman here afforded the first direct 
expression in any country district, of the popularity of the Payne-Aldrich 
tariff law just enacted by the National Congress; of what was called 
Cannonism in the House of Representatives, and, in general, of the Taft 
administration. 



238 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The Democratic convention insisted that national issue should con- 
trol in this fight. The plurality with which Judge DeArmond was elected 
in 1908 was about two thousand; both Democratic and Republicans alike, 
agreed that it would be a test whether the successor to Judge DeArmond 
should receive the same or a larger vote, and decided to nominate a con- 
gressional candidate by convention and to hold such convention on De- 
cember 21st. The place was fixed at Butler and the ratio of representa- 
tion was one delegate to every 250 votes cast at the last election for the 
Democratic candidate for President, or each fraction over 125 or more 
votes. Such ratio gave the following representation in the convention: 
Bates County, 13; Cass County, 13; Cedar County, 6; Dade County, 6; 
Henry County, 14; Johnson County, 14; St. Clair County, 8. 

Pursuant to the call of the congressional committee, the convention 
met at Butler and besides the seventy-four delegates present, there were 
many Democratic leaders from the various counties in the district. More 
than thirty citizens of Henry County were in attendance, promoting the 
interests of C. C. Dickinson, who received the solid vote of Henry County 
from the start. There were four counties which had home candidates 
and whose delegates were instructed for them. Henry's fourteen dele- 
gates were instructed for C. C. Dickinson ; in addition. Bates County was 
also instructed for him; Mr. Dickinson also had two out of Cedar and 
two from Cass, giving him a total of thirty-one votes. Johnson's fourteen 
delegates were instructed for J. W. Suddath ; St. Clair's eight delegates 
were instructed for C. P. Hargus, and Dade's six for Charles W. New- 
man ; the eleven delegates from Cass County usually voted with Johnson's 
fourteen, for Suddath; occasionally, some of these Cass County Suddath 
delegates would vote for Newman or Hargus. Hargus had four votes 
from Cedar, in addition to his eight from St. Clair. Newman had no out- 
side strength except an occasional Suddath delegate or two from Cass 
County. The officers of the convention were: Charles R. W. Sloan, of 
Cass, presiding, and W. R. Bowles, of Dade, secretary. Hon. W. E. Owen 
nominated C. C. Dickinson and the other three candidates were placed 
before the convention in equally eloquent speeches. 

On the first ballot, Cass scattered six votes between Hargus and 
Newman. On the second ballot, five between these two men; on the 
third and fourth ballots, four; the fifth ballot two, and finally the sixth 
ballot brought them back to Suddath ; on this sixth ballot, the vote was : 
Dickinson, 31 ; Suddath, 25 ; Hargus, 12 ; Newman, 6. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 239 

This represented practically the actual strength of the various can- 
didates, as the five earlier ballots had only differed from this result be- 
cause of the complimentary votes from Cass County, given to Hargus and 
Newman. Balloting continued until midnight Tuesday, more than one 
hundred ballots being taken with no change, an adjournment was had 
until Wednesday morning. Wednesday, Dickinson gained one vote from 
Suddath and thus increased his vote to thirty-two ; the balloting proceeded 
all day Wednesday without any further break, although various rumors 
were afloat — some that one man was going to receive accessions, others 
that it was another ; but the most persistent was that Dade was preparing 
to go to Dickinson and nominate him. After over three hundred ballots 
had been taken, the convention again adjourned until Thursday; ballot- 
ing continued all day Thursday without any indication of a break until 
nearly midnight; finally, after nearly seven hundred ballots had been 
taken, the instructions were taken off the delegates and each was left 
to vote according to his own inclination. On the 675th ballot, C. C. Dick- 
inson of Henry County received forty-two votes, or four more than were 
necessary to nominate him. On this final and decisive ballot, the counties 
voting for Mr. Dickinson and the number of votes from each were as 
follows: Henry County, 14; Bates County, 13; St. Clair, 4; Dade, 3 ; 
Cass, 2 ; Cedar, 6. Total, 42. 

The announcement of the result in a scene of great enthusiasm, caused 
Mr. Dickinson's opponents to vie with each other in their efforts to move 
to make his vote unanimous. The result of the roll-call was never offi- 
cially announced. Mr. Dickinson and the men who had remained with 
him, returned home and were enthusiastically received, although they 
arrived in Clinton at one o'clock in the morning in the midst of a driving 
snowstorm. The interest taken in the contest in Clinton and Henry 
County had been intense; it was not confined to the Democrats alone, 
but the nominee was assured the support of his many friends, irrespec- 
tive of party. In the campaign that followed, a great many Republicans 
and Independents declared themselves in favor of Mr. Dickinson and 
against the Republican nominee. The result of the election was a Demo- 
cratic landslide. Mr. Dickinson carried his own ward by 147; he car- 
ried the city of Clinton by 429, Henry County by 1,309 and the Sixth 
district by 3,790, which was practically twice the normal majority of 
the district. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 



OTHER EVENTS AFTER 1905 



A FEDERAL. BUILDING— DRAINAGE QUESTION— FOUNT PIPER'S AIRPLANE— THE 
CENSUS OF 1910— BAIRD COLLEGE PURCHASED— THE ELECTION OF 1910 — 
BUILDING ACTIVITIES. 

In November, 1910, the council provided for another election to pur- 
chase the public utilities. The first proposition prepared was to issue 
$60,000 in bonds drawing not over five per cent interest, to acquire water- 
works and gas plants from the Clinton Light and Water Company. The 
second proposition was to issue $10,000 in bonds to enlarge, extend and 
perfect its present electric light plant. The election under the order 
of the council was duly held on December 20th and both propositions 
were voted down by a vote as follows: 

On the $60,000 Proposition. On the $10,000 Proposition. 

Yes. No. Yes. No. 

First Ward 39 100 First Ward 49 93 

Second Ward 22 55 Second Ward 24 53 

Third Ward 28 106 Third Ward 33 101 

Fourth Ward 58 100 Fourth Ward 60 47 

Totals 147 381 Totals 166 294 

The result was not surprising as from the start public sentiment 
was against the deal. The council acted in good faith in securing the 
lowest option ever submitted for the purchase of the plants, but the 
people decided otherwise. 

. A land mark of prominence near Clinton and to every one who had 
occasion to pass through on the train, was the old North Clinton depot. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 241 

which was destroyed by fire in early summer of this year. The fire 
started from a spark thrown by a passing locomotive and owing to the 
distance of the building from the town there was no hope of saving it, 
owing to the fact that it had attained great headway before the depart- 
ment could make the run. The building was the original depot of the Blair 
line and before the "Y" was built which enabled the trains to come down 
to the Second Street Depot, it was a place of considerable importance. 
In fact, it was seriously projected to extend the late lamented street-car 
system to it. However, while its importance was diminished by the build- 
ing of the depot on Second street, yet all trains, both on the Blair and 
Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad, stopped at this depot until the burn- 
ing of this house. For a time it was a very busy place, and when the 
Frisco first purchased the Blair line it was a most important link be- 
tween Texas and Kansas City and for a year a Fred Harvey eating house 
was maintained in the building. When, however, the Frisco bought the 
Memphis and Texas, traffic was diverted over other lines, the eating house 
was taken away and the Katy trains no longer stopped. At the time 
of its destruction the building was unoccupied and used only as a store 
room. 

The Public Building Committee of the National House of Represen- 
tatives, early in July, 1906, reported a provision for the purchase of a 
postoffice site at Clinton. In January of that year Mr. George S. Holli- 
day, president of the Commercial Club of Clinton, and acting under the 
authority of the club, had gone to Washington and began a quiet, but 
active campaign for public building and had worked so thoroughly that 
the report of the committee insured the final erection of the building. 
A bill can-ying the appropriation of $7,500 for the site was duly intro- 
duced and passed and after an inspection of a great many locations the 
Secretary of the Treasury, the following November, announced the selec- 
tion of the southwest corner of Second and Franklin streets. The lot 
has a frontage of 150 feet on Franklin street and 208 feet on Second street. 
It was owned by Dr. John H. Britts and was a high and idle lot with a 
number of large trees growing on it and while a block from the square, 
is near the center of the town population. Nearly every business man 
in Clinton had signed a petition favoring the selection of this lot and it 
was so well adapted for postoffice purposes that even men to whom other 
sites would have been more convenient, rose above that consideration 
and asked the selection of the Britts tract. Congress later appropri- 



242 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ated $65,000 for the erection of this building and after advertising for 
bids, the contract for the erection of the building was awarded to the 
firm of M. Yeager and Sons of Danville, Illinois, for the sum of $68,359. 
The sum was considerably in excess of the appropriation for the building, 
but arrangement was made to carry the work forward and to finish it 
under additional appropriations. Under the terms of the bid Bedford 
lime stone, a beautiful light gray stone quarried at Bedford, Indiana, 
was used in the main part of the building. The south or rear wall was 
of light-colored brick. The Government moved slowly, but surely, and a 
considerable time had elapsed between the appropriation for the site 
and the letting of its contract, which was done in October,- 1910. Exca- 
vation was started on the Government building and were continued until 
they reached the depth set forth in the specifications, when it was found 
that the contractors had not yet reached bed rock and work was sus- 
pended for more than two months until the Government could be con- 
sulted and arrangements made for alteration of plans. Work was re- 
sumed again in March, 1911, and on the 19th of April following, the 
cornerstone of the building was laid by the Masonic Grand Lodge of 
Missouri. An account written at the time, says: "The cornerstone was 
set properly by the workmen. It is severely plain, bearing only this 
inscription: 'Franklin McVeigh, Secretary of the Treasury; James N. 
Thomas, Supervising Architect, MCMX.' There was no cavity for the 
reception of coins, documents or relics. After the stone was placed the 
symbolic implements of Masonry was presented by Grand Architect S. 
Degen, to the proper officers, as follows: The square to the Right Wor- 
shipful Deputy Grand Master, H. L. Hunter, who applied it and reported 
the stone to be square; the level to the Right Worshipful Grand Senior 
Warden, W. W. Kitchen, who applied it and reported the stone to be level ; 
the plumb to the Right Worshipful Grand Junior Warden, Uel W. Lam- 
kin, who applied it and reported the stone to be plumb. Grand Master 
Briggs then declared the stone properly tested and. that the craftsmen 
have successfully performed their duty." At the conclusion of the laying 
of the stone, the Grand Master made an address to the assembled peo- 
ple and following him Dr. W. F. Kuhn, the Grand Orator, was intro- 
duced and delivered a scholarly and eloquent oration. During the course 
of the exercises Hon. A. L. Armstrong, in a proper address on behalf 
of the people of Clinton, presented George S. Holliday with a gold-headed 
umbrella in recognition of his services in connection with the securing 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 243 

of the building. Work was continued without interruption on the build- 
ing and it was finally completed and taken over by the Government from 
the contractors, March 1, 1912. This was the first Government building 
erected in Henry County, and is commodious and splendidly arranged for 
which it is designed. 

The Republican nominees for county ticket in 1906 were as follows: 
For representative, Fred Darnell; for prosecuting attorney, N. B. Con- 
rad; recorder, B. S. Gi'aham; sheriff, J. W. Shy; county clerk, J. H. Ken- 
nedy; collector, Jasper N. Shivers; circuit clerk, C. H. Williams; treas- 
urer, J. Walter Ford; probate judge, D. C. Blanchard; coroner. Dr. F. F. 
Netherton; presiding judge, Thomas Day; associate judge, north, William 
H. Tillman; south, Willard Charles. 

As a result of the Democratic primary the following county ticket 
was nominated: Representative, Mack V. Thralls; prosecuting attorney, 
H. F. Poague; circuit clerk, R. L. Covington; county clerk, Walter L. 
Finks; sheriff, J. D. Hall; recorder, W. A. McConnel ; collector, Robert 
H. Piper; treasurer, S. M. Thompson; probate judge, J. D. Carney; coroner, 
James R. Wallis; presiding judge, T. W. Ogg; judge north district, M. 
R. Amick; judge south district, John Harrison. As a result of the elec- 
tion the entire Democratic ticket was elected except H. F. Poage for 
prosecuting attorney. N. B. Conrad, his Republican opponent, being 
elected by 145 majority. J. D. Hall, Democrat, for sheriff, received only 
49 majority, and R. L. Covington, Democrat, for circuit clerk, but 36. 
There was a great deal of "scratching" as evidenced by the three votes 
mentioned, the ticket in general having polled a majority of between 400 
and 500 

In July, 1906, Charles H. Whitaker, senior editor of the Democrat, 
died at his home in Clinton. Long a sufferer from a chronic malady, he 
had remained at his post of duty through sheer force of will and only 
a few days before his death was he compelled to lay aside his work. 
Born in Pennsylvania in 1836, he was a newspaper man all his life, finally 
purchasing the daily and weekly Democrat in 1893 and remaining 
its head until called home. He was a man of distinguished ability and 
widely known and respected through the county and State as well. 

The question of drainage of swamp lands was agitated more or less 
continuously for a number of years and various projects were proposed. 
The overflow lands along the Grand River and the various creeks of the 
county are naturally wonderfully fertile, but the uncertainty which always 



244 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

existed because of the frequency and destructiveness of the overflow 
water, caused them to be very carelessly farmed. Various projects were 
put into effect in the period between 1910 and 1018, resulting in the 
establishment of a number of drainage districts, some of which have 
resulted in benefit to the country. 

In 1910, an aeroplane was a great curiosity and there were few who 
were brave enough to express the opinion that they would ever become 
practical instruments for any purpose. The idea that they might be 
used as reliable means for the waging of war or the purpose of peace 
was not seriously advanced. Therefore it is well to remember that it 
was worthy of remark when one was brought to Clinton. Fount Piper, 
a very popular and well-known Clinton boy who had gone on the stage 
and taken the name of Bobby Fontaine, was managing a traveling show 
and one of the attractions that he advertised for the summer season 
of his enterprise was an aeroplane that was exhibited at every per- 
formance. He had arranged it so that the machine could be set up very 
easily at any place that he was exhibiting and while the machine nevei- 
flew, yet it proved a very great drawing card. 

Windsor had a great deal of difficulty about this time in getting a 
new high school. There was no question but what the people were in 
favor of the high school, but it seemed impossible for the school board 
to have a special bond election without holding it in some way that the 
legality thereof was threatened. Their second attempt to secure the 
bond issue was made in March, 1910, when the proposition to vote $20,000 
was carried, but the bond companies refused to purchase the bonds owing 
to the fact that two judges of the election were young ladies and it 
was the opinion of their attorneys that the whole issue was illegal be- 
cause Misses Nellie Collins and Irene Mofllitt acted as clerks at this elec- 
tion. A third election was called immediately thereafter and a month 
later Windsor voted the third time on the proposition. This time they 
overwhelmingly declared themselves in favor of educational progress. 
The bonds received 326 votes in their favor and 127 against. The bonds 
were duly sold and a splendid building erected. 

H. A. Higgins, census supervisor for the Sixth district of Missouri, 
appointed census enumerators for Henry County in March and assigned 
them as follows: Bear Creek township, Fred R. Darnell; Bethlehem, Roy 
Mills ; Big Creek, William G. Smith ; Bogard, Frank M. Causland ; Clinton, 
William N. Cornick; Clinton, First ward, Edna P. Scott; Second ward. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 245 

Lester L. Cain; Third ward, Jerome McCoy; Fourth ward, May Lovan; 
Davis, G. M. Hull; Deepwater, A. H. Wiley; Deer Creek, Thomas Day; 
Fairview, Howard S. Weaver; Deepwater City, Guy C. Hartsock; Fields 
Creek and Honey Creek, Walter Griffith; Leesville, C. L. Peek; Osage, 
M. R. Knisely; Shawnee, Emily Coats; Springfield, Roland G. Atwell; 
Teboe, Theodore Evans; Walker, William L. Pinkston; Whiteoak, Will- 
iam N. Overby; Windsor, Daniel F. Renfro; Windsor City; Mrs. Mary 
V. Fields. 

The city election in Clinton on April 5, 1910, resulted in the election 
of every candidate nominated by the Democrats. The results of the elec- 
tion, together with the majorities, follows: For mayor, S. Blatt, Demo- 
crat, 119; majority over C. H. Snyder, Republican; for marshal, J. P. 
McGinnis, Democrat, by 4 majority over A. Moore, Republican; for col- 
lector, Mason Anderson, Democrat, by 211 majority over Watson Hart, 
Republican ; for assessor, W. B. Kyle, Democrat, by 185 over H. D. Staples, 
Republican; for treasurer, E. R. Lingle, Democrat, by 134 over E. T. 
Montgomery, Republican; for police judge, D. L. Byler, Democrat, by 
171 over Jerome McCoy, Republican; E. H. Hess, James Wells, Charles 
Sherman and 0. Kniseley, all Democrats, were elected aldermen. 

Baird College, which was founded in Clinton in 1885, and which 
had gone through many changes of ownership in the years following the 
surrender of the building by the Bairds, seemed to have a chance for 
continuation when the proposition was made in June by the Seventh Day 
Adventists, who were desirous of acquiring a location to develop the 
German work of that denomination. A committee composed of a num- 
ber of the officials of the college, came to Clinton and made a thorough 
inspection of the building and held a meeting with the people of Clinton, 
in which a proposition was made to buy the building and ',the sur- 
rounding ground. A. A. Olson of Washington, D. C, who was in charge 
of the educational work of the Seventh Day Adventists, stated that it 
was the purpose of the denomination, if the deal was made, to imme- 
diately put the building into good shape and to establish a school which 
would draw from the German citizenship, not only of this country, but 
from Canada. The proposition was briefly to accept Baird College build- 
ing pi'oper, the lots north of it and two tracts aggregating 106 acres, 
lying east of the College, for which they agreed to pay $30,000 in cash, 
in return they asked a bonus of $12,500 from Clinton and an option on 
six acres immediately south of the college. After some further nego- 



246 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

tiations the transfer of the property to the church was made about the 1st 
of August and the school was opened the succeeding fall and has been 
continued ever since, with continued success. 

The Artesian Park at Clinton, which had passed, under a great many 
vicisitudes into the ownership of H. P. Faris, was offered by him to the 
city as a gift, in July, 1910. The idea was suggested by Rev. W. A. 
Pearman, rector of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, and in a letter to the 
Democrat, written and published shortly before that time, advocating 
the purchase of this park for a public playground. Mr. Faris was away 
at the time the article appeared, but on his return, he wrote an open 
letter announcing that he was ready to give the park to the city of Clinton 
under a lease for the term of ninety-nine years. The terms of the lease 
were to the effect that the tract transferred, comprised of a tract of 
seventy acres which was known as the Artesian Park tract. The lease 
was to be for ninety-nine years and to commence August 1, 1910. The 
lesee, H. P. Faris, and his heirs were to reserve nominal rights, the use 
of the artesian water for their own purposes and the right of ingress 
and egress across the property. The city as a rental, was to pay for 
the property one wreath of flowers to be placed on the grave of Adda C. 
Faris, deceased wife of H. P. Faris, in Englewood Cemetery, on the 22nd 
day of June annually. The city can not assign or under-let the lease 
without the consent of the lesee. It should pay all taxes and if any de- 
fault is made in the terms, the property would revert to the lesees or 
their heirs. The city was called on to bind itself to place control in a 
board of directors, both men and women, to be named by the various 
denominations, all of whom should be church members and one should be 
a member of the H. P. Faris family or their descendants, so long as 
qualifications will permit. The following provisions are the only ones 
made relative to restrictions: 1st. That all money-making features of 
whatever kind or character shall be closed and not allowed to be opened 
or used on the first day of the week, commonly known as Sunday, and 
no ball games or similar sports or railroad excursions shall be allowed on 
the said premises on said first day of the week, commonly called Sun- 
day, but this shall not be construed as preventing the furnishing of 
meals by any established hospital, restaurant or hotel that may be author- 
ized by said board. 2nd. No intoxicating liquors of any kind shall be 
permitted or allowed to be taken upon or used, or sold, given away or 
otherwise disposed of upon said premises, but all such intoxicating liquor 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 247 

shall be forever barred. The list concludes by the condition that it 
shall be inoperative if not accepted on or before September 1, 1910. The 
proposal was not accepted. 

The fall election in Henry County resulted in the election of the entire 
Democratic ticket. The party had renominated H. F. Poague for prose- 
cuting attorney. Two years before Poague had been defeated by N. B. 
Conrad and a keen fight was made on him from every side. However, 
Mr. Poague was elected by 813, which was the lowest majority on the 
ticket, the highest majority being 1,116 for Peeler for county clerk. 
Eleven constitutional amendments were submitted for the consideration 
of the people and all of them were overwhelmingly defeated. Prohibi- 
tion being defeated by 495 in the county, which was the smallest major- 
ity returned against any of the eleven on which a vote was taken. 

The last of November Judge B. L. Owen, one of the oldest residents 
of Henry county, passed away. By his death the county and city lost 
a venerable and beloved citizen who possessed characteristics of rugged 
integrity, sincerity and industry; a born Missourian who loved the state 
of his nativity and her people and was by them honored. 

In January, 1911, the west wing of the Franklin High School build- 
ing in Clinton was condemned as unsafe and was abandoned. The part 
of the school building which was endangered was erected in 1870 and 
contained six school rooms, five of which were in use, being occupied by 
160 pupils. Supt. Arthur Lee had noticed cracks in the wall some weeks 
since and as the bricks used in construction of this wing were very 
soft, the cracks in the wall justified the gravest apprehension. The 
school board, at the suggestion of the superintendent, investigated the 
conditions at the school and at once vacated it, putting the children in 
different schools and in rented rooms at different places through the city. 
Agitation was begun immediately for the issuing of bonds for the erec- 
tion of a new high school and a new ward school to take the place of 
the one condemned. The Franklin school was abandoned and the elec- 
tion was called by the board for March 23rd, at which the people were 
asked to vote $45,000 for the new high school and $15,000 for the new 
ward school. The campaign for the new building was one of intense 
interest and the vote was overwhelmingly in favor of the schools, the 
people declaring themselves in favor of educational progress by 891 for 
to 95 against. The board immediately sold the issue of bonds to the 
Mississippi Valley Trust Company of St. Louis, the bonds selling at a 



248 HEISTRY COUNTY HISTORY 

premium of II/2 per cent, netting the city $60,900 for the issue. The 
school board engaged practical wreckers to tear down the old Franklin 
school building as its condition was such that it was unsafe to use it for 
any purpose. When the building was torn down a number of things 
were recalled in connection with the original school in Clinton. Harvey 
Tutt found an old deed from the Teboe Masonic Lodge to the Board of 
Education, conveying to it lot 43 in the original town of Clinton. This 
deed was dated June 1, 1868, and the school building was erected on the 
lot which served until 1872, when the old Franklin building was erected. 
The location of the first school building was on West Jefferson street, 
where the Curtis livery stable stood. On the deed conveying this property 
to the school district was the signatures of the entire membership of 
Teboe Masonic Lodge No. 68. That lodge is now no more, but has been 
succeeded by Clinton Lodge No. 548. The deed is signed by the following 
officers and members: B. L. Quarrels, worshipful master; George F. 
Warth, senior warden; S. D. Garth, junior deacon; J. W. Stewart, tyler; 
R. Allen, past master; G. Y. Salmon, past master; Matt Zener, junior 
warden; D. T. Terry, senior deacon; James Parks, secretary; Thomas D, 
Hancock, treasurer; S. E. Price, W. B. Cock, G. F. Royston, James R. 
Connor, John H. Britts, James Bradley, S. F. Williams, J. B. Riggins, Ausby 
Fike, F. M. Estes, J. W. Taylor, H. Dunnig, L. Bergheim, W. T. Thorn- 
ton, Sr., Will S. Stone, B. L. Oeven, C. H. Smith, J. F. Norman, James 
Clifton, H. C. Adkins, J. H. Webster, N. 1. Dunn, V. 0. Grant, M. S. Peeler, 
John A. Stewart, J. G. Middlecoff, A. M. Fulkerson, W. W. Jackson, F. M. 
Groff , William Paul, John W. Fike, Charles T. Collins, William A. Duncan, 
J. Bergheim, William Settles, W. T. Thornton, Jr., J. H. Nelson, A. B. 
Riggins, W. A. Norris, T. B. Sharp. 

Plans for the new building were accepted by the school board and 
bids asked on the same, which were opened on August 10th. Nineteen 
different firms bidding for the contract. The Anderson Construction Com- 
pany of Kansas City, Kansas, receiving both bids. Their bid for the 
high school building was $31,060, and the bid for the ward school, $14,854. 
In addition the buildings cost $12,167 for heating and plumbing, $3,000 
for architect's fees and $650 for the lot, making a total expenditure of 
$61,731. The cornerstone for the new high school was laid by the Ma- 
sons with their very impressive ceremony, on Friday, October 12, 1911. 
Th cornerstone is at the southeast corner of the building and is simply 
inscribed "Clinton High School, 1911." 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 249 

The completion of the building left the board confronted with the 
necessity of building walks and procuring suitable furniture for the new 
schools and a special election was necessary to procure the money needed 
for the above purpose. It required three attempts to secure the passage 
of this tax. The first election the proposition was not well understood 
and the people defeated it, thinking it was an annual tax. The second 
the friends of the measure were overconfident, but on the third time the 
proposition was submitted, in July, 1912, it was carried by a vote of 592 
for to 149 against. The formal opening of the new high school building 
was had on Friday evening, October 25, 1912. Its erection was creditable 
to the city and insured the maintenance of a high standard of educa- 
tion in the community for all time to come. 



CHAPTER XXV. 



RAILROADS 



RAILROADS— PAYMENT OF BONDS AND THEIR HISTORY— CELEBRATION OF BOND- 
BURNING — FIRST ISSUE OF BONDS— LITIGATION-COMPROMISE— PAYMENT- 
OFFICIAL RECORDS— JUDGE PHILLIPS' ADDRESS. 

At the date of publication, there are four railroads running through 
Henry County; one, the main line of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas sys- 
tem, which enters the county at the northeast, passing through the city 
of Windsor, and going in a southwesterly direction through Calhoun, 
Lewis Station, Clinton, Deepwater and Montrose; a branch line of the 
St. Louis & San Francisco or Frisco road (formerly known as the Kansas 
City, Osceola and Southern, or Blair line), which runs through Blairs- 
town, Maurine, Harvey, Clinton and Brownington; the other, which is 
also in reality a branch line of the Frisco system, called the Kansas City, 
Clinton and Springfield, (or "Clinton Line") passes through Urich, Hart- 
well, Clinton and Deepwater. With the building of the three railroads 
named, there is little that is not common to the history of other railroads. 
The fourth is the St. Louis-Kansas City branch of the Rock Island, which 
passes through the city of Windsor. 

The greatest interest in the railroad history of Henry County centers 
around the issuing of bonds for a railroad which had to be paid by the 
people of the county. After the payment of the bonds, they were burned 
in Clinton, on Saturday, October 2, 1915. The following account of the 
burning is taken from the Henry County Democrat: 

"The day of Jubilee: Henry County freed of the fraudulent debt 
placed upon her happy homes and fertile fields nearly a half century ago, 
rejoices and is exceeding glad. 

"It was a happy inspiration which prompted the suggestion, months 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 251 

ago when the end of the long road was foreseen, that the payment of 
the last dollar of indebtedness and the burning of the bonds be made a 
day memorable for the people of Henry County. As the plans developed, 
it was determined to invite all of Missouri to rejoice with us, and espe- 
cially, to urge the presence of Missourians of prominence. Then, since 
the soul of Missouri is hospitality, came the thought of hospitable en- 
tertainment. The present county court arising to the spirit of the occasion 
resolved to provide out of the funds left after paying the last dollar of 
bonded debt and interest, an old-fashioned barbecue and burgoo, such 
as delighted older Missourians, such as the present generation has heard 
related around the fireside but has never witnessed. 

"The spirit of the Bond Burning Jubilee was contagious. Our invi- 
tation has traveled far and wide to the remotest part of the State, for 
our lighted candle has not been hidden under a bushel. Henry County 
towns vied with each other in arranging for delegates, while our railroads 
fully co-operated by providing special trains. There were bands of music 
galore, and the greatest crowd of Missourians ever gathered together 
for such an occasion. 

"For all roads Saturday morning led to Clinton. At midnight, when 
the long trenches in the court house yard shone with the embers and 
there were laid across them the sacrificial animals which would later give 
forth delightful odors to the hungry, there also shone in many a Henry 
County farm house the lamp which lighted the family with their prepara- 
tions for the long drive through the crisp October morning to Clinton 
to see the bonds burned. As the morning advanced there were in every 
country lane and road, long processions of neighbors who fell in at the 
cross roads and jogged together, save when some impatient auto swept 
by with staccato jeerings at faithful Dobbin. And then came the excur- 
sion trains, on the Missouri, Kansas & Texas, the Frisco and the Clinton 
line, otherwise in local vernacular, the "Katy," the "High Line," and 
the "Leaky Roof," each bringing in their hundreds. 

"So the crowd came; and coming, filled the spacious Clinton square, 
told to be the largest square in the State, as it was never filled before; 
and neighbor greeted neighbor and friend hailed friend, as they circulated 
around and sniffed the aromatic aroma arising from the west side of 
the court house yard where trench and kettle steamed away right merrily. 

"Let us tell you about the barbecue. There were 200 feet of four- 
foot trenches in which glowed the embers of ten cords of wood burning 



252 , HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

since 4 o'clock the afternoon before. There were twelve beeves and 
eight sheep slowly roasting over this open fire, under the watchful eye 
of that prince of barbecuers, John Calloway, and his helpers. A few 
feet distant were the kettles, a whole flock, 20, count 'em, simmering away 
importantly, filled with that delicious stew of the Southland, the Burgoo. 
Into it were put material things which can be scheduled ; but there went 
also the spirit of hospitality, the rare October sunshine, the sharpness 
of the atmosphere, the zest of the occasion which brought it to perfec- 
tion. But let us also classify the material things which went into the 
kettles: Of beef, 500 pounds; of mutton, 100 pounds; of soup bones, 300 
pounds; forty-eight chickens, with two turkeys for good measure; 75 
cans each of tomatoes and corn, 200 pounds of cabbage, 50 bunches of celery 
and a bushel each of carrots and onions and two bushels of beans. 

"Then there were 1,800 loaves of bread and a crew of lads put in 
the morning slicing them. Of tin cups, spoons and plates, 4,000 each 
were provided ; and tables which if put together would reach considerably 
over a quarter of a mile awaited the serving. 

"The excursion trains arrived from 9 to 10 o'clock, adding to the 
crowds and bringing willing hands to help the hilarity of the occasion. 
The special from Windsor had attached the sleeping coach with the State 
officials and others prominent in politics. They were met by a numerous 
reception committee and escorted in parade to the Elks club-rooms, which 
was headquarters for the day for visitors. 

"At 10 :30 the program commenced at the south platform. Chairman 
Stevens, of the Commercial Club, extended a welcome to all visitors, and 
Hon. Peyton A. Parks followed with a condensed historical review of the 
bonds, which is well worthy of preservation as an accurate survey of the 
experience which Henry County has gone through. Mr. Parks said: 

" 'This is a scene, an occasion the like of which has never been wit- 
nessed by any of us; in fact, an event unique and novel in the history 
of this State. Assembled with the body of the citizenship of this county, 
we have more distinguished guests and eminent men than ever gathered 
together at one time in a city of this size; we have with us in addition 
to the speaker of the day, Judge John F. Phillips, judge of the Supreme 
Court, both United States Senators, members of the Public Service Com- 
mission, Congressmen, the Attorney General, Secretary of State, State 
Auditor, State Superintendent of Education, and other State officials, for- 
mer Secretary of State John E. Swanger, Hon. Walter S. Dickey, Hon. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 253 

E. E. E. McJimsey, the vice-president, general attorney, general passen- 
ger agent, and other high officials of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas, and of 
the Clinton and Frisco lines, and other public men of note. 

" 'The citizenship of our neighboring towns and vicinity are brought 
here through the kindly assistance of the officials of all railroads center- 
ing here, are brought with their bands on special trains to help us cele- 
brate. 

" 'This afternoon the County Court, with the supreme judges sitting 
with them, and with our distinguished guests and witnesses selected 
by the court in compliance with the statute, in the sight of assembled 
thousands, will burn the bonds which we have been paying in principal 
and interest for forty-eight years ; an event, an occasion which is a source 
of inspiration and at the same time a lesson to the young, a matter of 
greater rejoicing for the old and of congratulation and joy to all. 

" 'Many of our people, those who have in recent years come as wel- 
comed citizens into our midst, and those who have been to the manor 
born since the earlier bond history, have been and are today asking for 
information. To answer in a measure, at this opening meeting of the 
day, I have been placed on the program for an address at this time, chiefly 
because my father. Judge James Parks, fought the bonds from the in- 
ception, so that through him perhaps with the exception of Major Salmon 
I am more familiar with the history of our bonds, litigation and settle- 
ment than any other now living. 

" 'Necessarily the address should be, and will be, as short as it can 
be, in fairness to the occasion. The history of our bonded indebtedness, 
commences with 1866 and ends with 1915; with the year following our 
Civil War, while the passion of that era still curtained the hills of our 
commonwealth ; a span of a half a century of marvelous growth and de- 
velopment; brief illustrations of which are not now permitted by time 
allotted for the address. 

" 'Such history for sake of clearness of statement, logically subdivides 
itself into four periods: (a) The creation of the debt; (b) The litigation 
over the debt; (c) The compromise and refunding of the debt; (d) The 
payment of the debt. 

" 'Recurring to its creation, the history of which will be given this 
afternoon by one of the distinguished men of this State, one of Missouri's 
greatest orators and jurists. Judge John F. Phillips. He was part and 
parcel, both in war and in peace, in the history of this State, preceding 



254 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

and during the creation of the debt. He defended Henry County in the 
bond litigation which went to the Supreme Court of the United States. 
For him is reserved to place before you that history of creation and liti- 
gation and the lessons taught thereby as well as by the subsequent history 
of the compromise and payment. 

" 'Suffice it now to say that this bonded debt which we have been 
paying for over forty years, originally amounted to six hundred thousand 
dollars and was created in three separate issues. The first issue of 
$150,000 was issued on January 1, 1867, after a vote in its favor at a 
special election on September 26, 1866. This issue bore 7 per cent com- 
pound interest.' 

(The author has included in the address of Mr. Parks such infor- 
mation as did not appear in the issue of the paper, but is necessary to 
make a complete history of the transactions leading to the creation of the 
debt and to the litigation which followed, up to the compromise in the 
payment. The matter not in Mr. Parks' address is enclosed in parenthesis.) 
The order of the court which is a record of January 5, 1867, is as follows : 

"In response to said resolutions and in compliance with the vote of 
the county at a special election held on the 26th day of September, 1866, 
it is considered and ordered by the court: That the County of Henry, 
in the State of Missouri, take and subscribe to the capital stock of the 
Tebo and Neosho Railroad Company, fifteen hundred shares of one hun- 
dred dollars each, amounting to the sum of one hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars, and that Royal L. Burge, be, and he is hereby appointed, the agent 
of said county, to subscribe said shares to the capital stock of said com- 
pany, with full power and authority to represent said county and trans- 
act all business of the same pertaining to said stock. It is further ordered 
that a single bond of said county for the sum of one hundred and fifty 
thousand dollars, bearing date on the first day of January, 1867, payable 
ten years after date, with interest at the rate of seven per centum 
per annum, payable semi-annually, and both principal and interest pay- 
able in the City of New York, be issued and delivered to said company 
for its immediate use; and it is further ordered that upon the return of 
said bond to said county, that one hundred and fifty bonds of the said 
county for one thousand dollars each, payable ten years after date, bear- 
ing seven per cent interest per annum, with suitable coupons attached, 
be issued in lieu of said bond, and delivered to said company in payment 
of the subscription aforesaid. It is ordered by the court that Peter A. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 255 

Ladue be requested to prepare form for said bond with coupons attached 
and ascertain the expense of lithographing the same, and report to the 
court at the next February term thereof." 

This is, therefore, the first issue of bonds by the county; however, 
it is not the first project which had been suggested to the people of 
Henry County and for which they have been asked to subscribe for 
stock; for in the year 1851, the people at the August election subscribed 
$10,000 to the stock of the Pacific railroad; we find no record that this 
stock was ever taken by Henry County. A year later, the County Court 
at a meeting held on the 25th day of August, 1852, made the following 
record of a vote held at the election in August of that same year: 

"Under the direction of a majority of the people in this county, it 
is ordered by the court that $50,000 worth of stock be subscribed to 
the Pacific railroad on the part of the county, provided, that said road 
is located on the route surveyed on the dividing of the Missouri and Osage 
Rivers, known as the Kirkwood Survey, passing by the high point of 
Tebo, or through the county. The county bonds for which stock to be 
issued whenever the railroad is under contract to the county line, or 
north of it, and upon the further condition that the Legislature of this 
State hereafter legalizes the action of this court." 

Six months passed, until in February, 1853, the court appointed James 
M. Gatewood as the agent to subscribe stock to the amount above named, 
or $50,000 for and in behalf of the county. The court also appointed 
William Wall, Joseph Davis and Asa C. Marvin, as agents to attend the 
meeting of the directors of this proposed Pacific railroad and vote its stock. 
In 1854, at the February term of the court, ten per cent of the subscrip- 
tion, or $1,100, was ordered paid over; in order to get this money, it 
was necessary to borrow from the road and canal fund $3,860 ; from Will- 
iam M. Hall, the county borrowed $500 and paid him in lieu of the cash, 
$914 worth of swamped land bonds. In addition to this, the court ordered 
a warrant for $800 drawn in favor of Joseph Davis on the money to be 
paid on the call made by the Pacific Railroad Company. The receipt 
for this $5,000, or ten per cent of the subscription, was presented at 
the May term of the court by Asa C. Marvin, who was the financial agent 
of the county in railway matters. It was signed by George R. Smith, 
the agent of the Pacific Railway Company. 

The tax levied for the purpose of paying interest and cost on stock 
in this Pacific Railroad Company, was resisted by one J. Davis, who got 



256 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

out an injunction restraining the sheriff, or ex-officio collector, from col- 
lecting the taxes ; as a result of this injunction, the sheriff at the Febru- 
ary term, 1857, was ordered to pay back the railroad tax to parties who 
had already paid it and await the result of the injunction proceedings. 
In May, Robert Allen, was appointed commissioner with full power to 
act on behalf of Henry County in all railroad matters. He was requested 
to give a bond in the sum of $20,000. At the October term of the fol- 
lowing year, 1858, the commissioner was ordered to turn over all the 
money he had collected by taxation into the county treasury, while at 
the November term, the sheriff, Dewitt C. Stone, reported that he had at 
that time in his hands funds amounting to nearly $1,800, arising from 
the railroad tax. This money also, was ordered placed in the county 
treasury by the County Court. Nothing further appears on the records 
as to the Pacific railroad matters, other than the payment of $400 for 
attorney fees, to Russell Hicks, in the year 1861 until June 12, 1863, when 
the treasurer was ordered to invest all the railroad funds in the county 
treasury in county warrants, the same to be held for the use of the rail- 
road tax fund. This order of the court seems to be the last chapter in 
the Pacific Railroad Company. However, in 1866, there was some corre- 
spondence with a view to transfer the stock held by the county to the 
new Tebo and Neosho Railroad Company; as a result of this, in August, 
1866, an order was made for an election to be held as above stated, on 
September 26, 1866, to determine whether or not the people of the county 
would vote $150,000 in stock to the Tebo and Neosho railroad; the ques- 
tion was carried and the $150,000 was subscribed to the railroad stock. 
As a result of this election, the following order was made by the County 
Court in session January 5, 1867 : 

"In response to said resolution and in compliance with the vote of 
the county at a special election held on the 26th day of September, 1866, 
it is considered and ordered by the court: That the County of Henry, in 
the State of Missouri, take and subscribe to the capital stock of the Tebo 
and Neosho Railroad Company, fifteen hundred shares of one hundred 
dollars each, amounting to the sum of one hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars, and that Royal L. Burge, be, and he is hereby appointed, the 
agent of said county, to subscribe said shares to the capital stock of 
said company, with full power and authority to represent said county 
and transact all business of the same pertaining to said stock. It is 
further ordered that a single bond of said county for the sum of one 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 257 

hundred and fifty thousand dollars, bearing- date of the first day of Janu- 
ary, 1867, payable ten years after date, with interest at the rate of seven 
per centum per annum, payable semi-annually, and both principal and 
interest payable in the City of New York, be issued and delivered to 
said company for its immediate use; and it is further oi'dered that upon 
the return of said bond, to said county, that one hundred and fifty bonds 
of said county for one thousand dollars each, payable ten years after 
date, bearing seven per cent interest per annum, with suitable coupons 
attached, be issued in lieu of said bond, and delivered to said company 
in payment of the subscription aforesaid. It is ordered by the court that 
Peter A. Ladue be requested to prepare a form for said bond with coupons 
attached, and ascertain the expense of lithographing the same, and report 
to the court at the next February term thereof." 

These bonds were to be signed by the president of the County Court 
and countersigned by the county clerk, when issued. On July 17, 1867, 
the first of the single series were signed and ten of them were turned 
over to the county treasurer. Additional bonds were issued and placed 
in the hands of Roy L. Burge, the agent of the county, until 107 had 
been issued. After that, upon order of the court held October 8, 1868, 
the later bonds were turned over to the treasurer of the Tebo and Neosho 
railroad. 

"The second issue of $250,000 was issued on January 1, 1870, by the 
County Court (one of its members spreading his protest on the record). 
This issue bore ten per cent compound interest. This issue was made 
without an election." 

(This issue was authorized in May, 1869, and was to be in coupon 
bonds of $1,000 each. The principal condition was that the road should 
run diagonally across the county in the direction of Ft. Scott and that 
$150,000 of it should not be paid to the road until the cars were running 
as far as Clinton. On these bonds, the principal and interest were pay- 
able to the Park Bank, New York City; the bonds were drawing ten per 
cent interest, the interest payable semi-annually. William Jennings, a 
member of the court, was made county agent to subscribe the stock to 
the railroad.) 

"These two issues of bonds, aggregating $400,000, were for stock in 
what was then known as the Tebo and Neosho railroad, which was built 
and is now a part of that great system which accords to Missouri a place 
in its corporate name, the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railway. The third 



258 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

and last issue was for the aggregate sum of two hundred thousand dol- 
lars in two blocks of bonds, one for $150,000, and the other for $50,000, 
both issued on January 1, 1871, and bearing ten per cent compound interest. 
This issue was made by the County Court without an election. (One mem- 
ber. Judge Jared Stevenson, protested as in the case of the second issue. 
As a matter of private history, this protest was written by my father 
for Judge Stephenson, at his request.) 

"This $200,000 bond issue was for the branch line through the coun- 
ties of Jackson, Cass, Henry and St. Clair, which was never built. The 
issuing of bonds for this branch resulted in the killing by enraged tax- 
payers of Cass County of a promoter and county judge of that county in 
the litigation in Henry County and in the troubles in our neighboring 
county of St. Clair. It is the hope of the people and the speaker that 
our neighbor may escape the clutches of the speculators in that fraudu- 
lent issue and we express our admiration for the courage of her people 
and their valiant fight to protect hearth and home. 

"These bonds were issued for stock under the provisions of the law as 
it then stood and is now found in section 17, page 338, General Statutes 
of 1865, which provided that County Courts could subscribe for stock 
to build railroads and issue bonds for same with the provisions that the 
same should be authorized by a two-thirds vote of the qualified voters 
voting on the proposition. 

"Many of the citizens of this county fought the issuance of all these 
bonds in the election mentioned and in the county court. Most of them 
have passed over to that realm where it may be said 'the bondholders 
cease from troubling and the taxpayers are at rest.' Among those who 
opposed the creation of the debt were James Mason Avery, A. P. Frowein, 
Judge James Parks and many others whose names memory and time 
do not permit the mention of. Such opposition of men of that charac- 
ter, then criticised as "mossback" and "lacking in progress" was unavailing 
and the debt was created by the issuance of the bonds as stated." 

The $200,000 in bonds, above referred to, were issued as subscrip- 
tions to what was known to be a branch of the Tebo and Neosho railroad, 
to be called the Clinton-Memphis railroad. This railroad was run in the 
direction of Memphis and certainly was to extend to Osceola, in St. Clair 
County. This proposition was made at the August, 1870, term of the 
County Court. At the same time, the Clinton and Kansas City branch 
of the Tebo and Neosho railroad was proposed and $50,000 was the sub- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 259 

scription to be authorized for it. Both of these stock subscriptions were 
made without a vote of the people and by a vote of two to one in the 
County Court. The presiding judge of the County Court, William Jen- 
nings, entered his protest on the record against the last of these bonds : 

"First. The court is prohibited by the seventeenth section of chap- 
ter 63, of the General Statutes of Missouri, from taking the stock it 
subscribed, or to lend its credit to said proposed railroad, without having 
first ordered an election at which two-thirds of the qualified voters of 
Henry County should give their assent to said subscription. There hav- 
ing been no such election, the subscription is illegal and void. 

"These bonds were issued for stock under the provisions of the law 
as it then stood and is now found in section 17, page 338, General Statutes 
of 1865, which provided that county courts could subscribe for stock to 
build railroads and issue bonds for same with the provisions that the 
same should be authorized by a two-thirds vote of the qualified voters 
voting on the proposition. 

"Second. Because there is no legal corporation organized under any 
law of this state by the name of the Clinton and Memphis Branch of the 
Tebo and Neosho railroad, nor any lawfully organized corporation by the 
name of the Clinton and Kansas City Branch of the Tebo and Neosho 
railroad. 

"Third. Because the County Court has no right to do indirectly 
what she is prohibited from doing directly by the statutes before cited, 
namely, to vote money and aid to a railroad organized since the adoption 
of the new constitution of Missouri, without the preliminary steps of 
an election at which two-thirds of the qualified voters of the county should 
vote in favor of the subscription. 

"Fourth. Because by the order of the County Court of last term the 
subscription was agreed to be voted by the majority of the court, upon 
a petition of a majority of the taxpayers of Henry County, and there 
has been no legal or suflScient evidence produced to the court that said 
majority have been so petitioned. 

"Fifth. Because in view of the burdensome taxation already im- 
posed on the citizens of Henry County, I consider this new tax ruinous 
in its tendencies and inexpedient at this time. 

"WILLIAM JENNINGS, President. 

"(Signed) August 4, 1870." 



260 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

In November, 1870, the court ordered $150,000 in bonds to be deliv- 
ered to the committee on construction.. In 1871, the court turned over 
$50,000 in bonds to the chairman of the construction committee of the 
Clinton and Kansas City branch of the Tebo and Neosho railroad. The 
order to turn these over was protested by Jared Stevenson, as recited by 
Mr. Parks above. The follow^ing is the protest entered by Judge Stevenson : 

"To the above action of Judges Munson and Hillegus in appointing 
an agent to cast the vote of Henry County, I enter my protest, for the 
following reasons: 

"First. Because the said Clinton and Kansas City branch and Clin- 
ton and Memphis branch of the Tebo and Neosho railroad have no ex- 
istence in law, and any subscription of stock to said branch roads by the 
County of Henry for the construction of said branch roads is void. 

"Second. Because the pretended subscription made by the County 
Court to aid in the construction, of said branch roads was made in vio- 
lation of law and against the interest and wish of the tax-paying citi- 
zens of this county. 

"Third. Because the bonds of said Henry County, issued in payment 
of said subscription to said branch roads are illegal and utterly void. 

"JARED STEVENSON. 

"(Signed) August 15, 1871." 

(The stockholders of the Clinton and Memphis branch and of the 
Clinton-Kansas City branch of the Tebo and Neosho railroad, held a meet- 
ing on the 13th of August, 1871, at which time they voted the franchise 
to a new company known as the Kansas City-Memphis and Mobile Rail- 
road Company. The County Court accepted 2,000 shares of a par value 
of $100 each in the new company in lieu of its interest in the branch 
roads above set out. For the $200,000 bonds, the county has never received 
any fund. By the two issues of bonds totaling $400,000 the county was 
enabled to aid in the building of the present Missouri, Kansas and Texas 
railroad. 

Some of these bonds passed into the hands of what the Supreme 
Court of the United States afterward declared to be "innocent purchas- 
ers." The County Court refusing to pay, led to the period of litigation 
described by Mr. Parks in his address as follows:) 

"A period of eleven years, from 1871 to 1882, was devoted to the 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 261 

resistance of the debt. The test case of Nicolay vs. Henry County was 
commenced in April, 1873 or 1874." 

The case referred to is the case of A. H. Nicolay against Henry 
County; the plaintiff secured a judgment of $25,000 and mandamus was 
issued compelling the county to pay. In order to do so, a levy of fifteen 
cents on the one hundred dollar assessed valuation was made, in May, 
1878. Other suits followed and it soon became necessary to levy a tax 
to pay the judgments and buy all the bonds that could be bought at forty 
cents on the dollar.) 

"The county was defended by Judge Phillips, who will deliver the 
leading address this afternoon, and by our distinguished fellow-townsman. 
Judge James B. Gantt. The county lost in the trial court and appealed 
to the Supreme Court of the United States, where this test case was 
decided against the county on the ground that the bondholder was an 
innocent purchaser. Under this judgment thus affinned, an execution 
was issued and the lands of the sureties on the appeal bond, which in- 
cluded A. P. Frowein, J. A. Avery and James Parks, were advertised for 
sale by the United States marshal of this district. 

"The county protected its securities by making a levy in 1878 to pay 
the judgment, and through the taxes collected, the Nicolay judgment as 
well as the Church judgment, a similar case pending at the same time, 
were with all costs of litigation paid. Other bondholders reduced their 
bonds to judgment, and the payment of the debt was thus fastened on 
the county either for its compromise or for a long continued fight as has 
been pursued by other counties in this State. 

"During this period there sat upon the County Court one of the lead- 
ing business men of Clinton, Judge E. Allison, one of its leading farmers, 
Judge Lewis P. Beaty, both longheaded men of rugged integrity, common 
sense and natural ability, who, with others, foresaw that in the long run 
it would be more profitable to compromise than to continue for years a 
warfare with the bondholders. While Judge Beaty was a member of the 
County Court, the county still o\vned its stock in the Tebo and Neosho, 
or as reorganized in the Missouri, Kansas & Texas. Such stock could 
have been levied on and sold under the judgment. In other counties, this 
was done and the bondholders bought in the county stock for a song. 
The County Court with the assistance of Major Salmon and Judge Gantt 
sold this stock for over $85,000, and with that sum bought in bonds, 
coupons and judgments for over $183,000,000." 



262 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Judge Gantt's report is as follows: 

"To the County Court of Henry County, Missouri: I have the honor 
to report that in compliance with the order of this court, made and en- 
tered of record at the August term, 1879, and on the twelfth day of Au- 
gust, 1879, appointing me the agent of Henry County to exchange the 
4,000 shares of stock held by Henry County in the Tebo and Neosho 
Railway Company, for a like number of shares of the stock of the Mis- 
souri, Kansas & Texas Railway Company, and to sell the same for the 
use of said county, and in pursuance of the verbal instructions of the 
court, that I should associate with myself Major H. W. Salmon to assist 
and co-operate with me in effecting the exchange and sale of the Missouri, 
Kansas & Texas railway stock. We proceeded to New York City, reach- 
ing there on Saturday, the fourth day of October, 1879. We succeeded 
in effecting the exchange of the old stock, and the issuance of the new 
stock in the name of H. W. Salmon, on the eighth day of October, 1879, 
and sold said new stock on that day, and the day following, through the 
firm of S. F. Johnson & Company, No. 2 Nassau street. New York City, 
whose statement of the sale and accounting for the proceeds thereof, are 
herewith filed and made a part of this report, and is marked 'Exhibit A.' 

From these statements it will be observed they account to Major H. 
W. Salmon for the proceeds of 7,000 shares, instead of 4,000 shares, the 
amount of Henry County's stock. This excess of 3,000 shares is the 
stock of Vernon County, Missouri, whose agent. Judge Paul F. Thorn- 
ton, accompanied us and transferred the stock of Vernon County to 
Major H. W. Salmon, also, in order to accomplish for Vernon County the 
same purpose we had in view, and in accounting Vernon County had three- 
seventh and Henry County four-seventh of the net proceeds. That is 
to say, the whole amount received by Major H. W. Salmon of S. F. John- 
son & Company was $151,525, of which amount I received of Major Sal- 
mon four-sevenths, or $86,585.71, and Judge Paul F. Thornton for Vernon 
County three-seventh, or $64,939.29 ; so that I have had in my hands the 
said sum of $86,585.71, which sum, after deducting the amount of our 
expenses incurred in this behalf — that is, for traveling expenses, hotel 
bills and other expenditures on this account, which were both for Major 
Salmon and myself, $600 — left in my hands for investment $85,985.71. 
You will further notice that the stock was sold at from $21 per share to 
$221/8 pel" share, thus averaging the highest price that Missouri, Kansas 
& Texas stock had ever commanded in the stock market, as can readily 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 263 

be seen by the 'Stock Report' compiled from the record of the New York 
Stock Exchange covering a period of twenty years from 1860 to 1880, 
which shows in tabulated form the highest and lowest prices this stock 
brought during each month since it was placed on the stock board of 
the New York Stock Exchange, which said report I also file herewith as 
a part of this report of mine, making it 'Exhibit B.' 

It may be proper for me to state in this connection that this Mis- 
souri, Kansas & Texas stock declined and advanced for several weeks 
after this sale, going as low as $20 per share in November following our 
sale in October and afterwards advancing in the late winter and spring 
until some of the counties, viz.: Pettis County, sold for $30 per share. 
While on the one hand it may be a subject of regret that we did not hold 
this stock and obtain the highest price therefor, yet it will and must be 
remembered that the order of the court was made under peculiar cir- 
cumstances. For years the stock had been considered utterly valueless, 
and even in January, 1879, was quoted at three and five-eights dollars 
per share, so great was the mortgage debt of the railroad and the con- 
tinued default of the company to pay interest on its first mortgage bonds. 
When your honors determined to sell the stock you had a two-fold object 
in view, namely: To prevent a levy and sale of this stock in favor of 
some of the numerous judgments, creditors of Henry County, who had 
obtained their judgments in the United States courts prior to your order, 
as had been done in a number of cases against other counties, notably 
Schuyler and Callaway Counties, and they entirely sacrificed the stock 
and at the same time paid out its proceeds at dollar for dollar on these 
judgments. Your order prevented this sacrifice and saved thousands of 
dollars to the county. Your other object as to obtain from this stock a 
fund with which you could purchase in the outstanding railroad indebted- 
ness of the county while they were at a large discount. This you have 
accomplished in a large measure and whatever the result has been, no 
one can question the motives of the court, and considering the advance 
in securities of all kinds the past year there is still no doubt you sold at 
the proper time. In carrying out the verbal instructions of the court 
and furthering its purpose to invest the money received from the sale 
of this stock in buying in the outstanding indebtedness of the county 
consisting of its railroad bonds together with the interest thereon and 
the judgments obtained on the same against the county, I have with the 
aid and assistance of Major H. W. Salmon, whom I called to my assistance 



264 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

as desired by the court, bought Henry County bonds, judgments against 
the county, interest coupons and interest thereon amounting in the ag- 
gregate to $183,301.77, buying the same as rapidly as I could under the 
circumstances, avoiding at the same time making any purchase that was 
in our opinion calculated to advance the price of the bonds of the county 
and thus increasing our indebtedness, and, as your honors are aware, 
consulting in almost every instance with the court, prior to making an 
investment. 

By reference to a detailed statement herewith filed, marked 'Exhibit 
C you will find that I have purchased with the funds aforesaid fifty-one 
bonds of $1,000 each of tens of 1870; fifty-four bonds of $1,000 each of 
tens of the C. & M. Branch Tebo and Neosho railroad of 1871, and twelve 
bonds, tens of 1871, of $1,000 each of the Clinton and Kansas City Branch 
of the Tebo and Neosho railroad, with interest coupons thereto attached 
as per statement; also judgment against the county on railroad bonds 
and coupons and a small amount of extra detached coupons from bonds. 
The total expenditures on account of the purchases made as stated above 
together with the expenses of H. W. Salmon, myself and W. D. Tylor, 
incurred in traveling expenses, telegrams and express charges, etc., 
amounts to $84,666.57, leaving in my hands $1,319.14, which sum I now 
here hand to the court. Concerning the prices paid for these bonds, I 
will say that the bonds of Henry County, as well as the bonds of other 
counties, and all other securities have advanced since this business was 
undertaken, caused, as all are aware, in a large measure by the easy 
money market, and the general prosperity of the country. 

He Bears Testimony. 

Before closing this report I desire now and here to bear testimony 
to the skill and fidelity to Henry Couny shown by Major H. W. Salmon 
throughout this whole business. I do not desire to arrogate to myself 
the credit of having made the purchase of these bonds, and managing 
the negotiations with the various persons with whom we had to deal, as 
I have relied in a great measure on his large experience and extensive 
acquaintance with such matters. 

At one time we thought it best to send some discreet person to Ken- 
tucky, where a large number of our bonds are held, and we selected for 
this purpose Mr. W. D. Tyler, cashier of the First National Bank of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 265 

Clinton, and while he did not succeed in making the purchase, he obtained 
much valuable information, and his expenses, $125.00, I have paid as was 
agreed beforehand. In conclusion I desire, both in behalf of Major Sal- 
mon and myself, to thank this court and its individual members for the 
uniform courtesy and confidence reposed in us in the management of 
this matter, coming as it did unsought by us. And I will only add, in 
my own behalf, that every act and move I have made in the premises 
has been to subserve the best interests of Henry County. All of which 
is respectfully submitted for your approval. 

JAMES B. GANTT." 

The following are the papers referred to: 

"Exhibit C." 

Statement of bonds, interest coupons and judgments purchased for 
Henry County with funds arising from sale of Tebo and Neosho stock, 
showing the date of each purchase, from whom purchased and the amount 
paid therefor: 

November 1, 1879. Lot No. 1. — Bought of Donaldson and Fraley 
twenty-two bonds Clinton and Memphis Branch Tebo and Neosho rail- 
road, Nos. 76, 77, 78, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, S8, 89, 90, 91, 
92, 93, 94, 95, 96 and 97, with coupons of 1872 and subsequent. Paid 
$11,000. 

January 28, 1880. Lot No. 2.— Bought of Alfred Ennis, attorney 
for Portsmouth Savings Bank, forty bonds, tens of 1870 issue, Nos. 113, 
114, 115, 116, 117, 119, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 
142, 143, 144, 145, 148, 149, 150, 152, 156, 157, 158, 166, 167, 168, 169, 
182, 184, 214, 215, 216, 217, 218, 219 and 220, with July, 1879 coupons 
and those subsequent. Also three coupons of July, 1878, from bonds 
142, 143 and 144. Also two judgments in favor of the Portsmouth Sav- 
ings Bank vs. Henry County, in the United States Circuit, Western Dis- 
trict of Missouri, Nos. 1035 and 1300, as per statement accompanying 
said bonds. Paid $28,368.90. 

March 20, 1880. Lot No. 3.— Bought of the Farmers and Merchants', 
Hannibal, Missouri, one bond. No. 24, Clinton and Kansas City Branch 
of Tebo and Neosho railroad, with July, 1878, and subsequent coupons 
attached. Paid $410. 

March 20, 1880. Lot No. 4.— Bought of W. J. McNight, four Janu- 



266 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ary, 1876, coupons, from bonds Nos. 139, 145, 149 and 150, of issue of 
1867. Paid $52. 

May 5, 1880. Lot No. 5. — Bought of Donnell, Lawson and Simpson, 
twenty-one bonds, Nos. 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 49, 50, 56 and 57 of Clinton 
and Memphis Branch, and Nos. 12, 13, 14, 17, 19, 20, 27, 28, 29, 30 and 
49 of Clinton and Kansas City Branch of Tebo and Neosho railroad, 
with coupons of 1879 and subsequent attached, also judgment No. 1297 
of E. C. Lewis vs. County, June 30, 1879, for $8,852, in United States 
Court. Paid $16,832.67. 

August 29, 1880. Lot No. 6.— Bought of Donalson and Fraley, ten 
bonds, Nos. 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 44, 45, 46 and 47, Clinton and Memphis 
Branch, Tebo and Neosho Railroad, with coupons of July, 1876, and 
subsequent. Paid $7,775. 

September 1, 1880. Lot No. 7. — Bought of Donnell, Lawson and 
Simpson ten bonds, Nos. 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109 and 
110 Clinton and Memphis Branch, Tebo and Neosho railroad, with coupons 
of July 1875, and subsequent. Paid $7,850. 

November 10, 1880. Lot No. 8. — Bought of Donalson and Fraley one 
bond, No. 64, Chicago and Memphis Branch of the Tebo and Neosho rail- 
road with coupons of 1875 and subsequent. Paid $860. 

December 1, 1880. Lot No. 9. — Bought of Donnell, Lawson and Simp- 
son "Patty B. Lex bonds," nine bonds, 10s of 1870, Nos. 226, 227, 228, 229, 
230, 231, 232, 233 and 234 with coupons January, 1879, and subsequent, 
together with judgment of W. R. and Patty B. Lex vs. Henry County in 
the United States Circuit Court, Western District of Missouri, No. 1274, 
November 21, 1879, for $2,570.50. Paid $8,542.50. 

December 1, 1880. Lot No. 10. — Bought of Donnell, Lawson and Simp- 
son one bond. No. 4, 10s of 1870, with coupons of July, 1876 and subse- 
quent. This bond is now held by Donnell, Lawson and Simpson, of New 
York, for H. W. Salmon. Paid $885. 

December 6, 1880. Lot No. 11. — Bought of Donnell, Lawson and 
Simpson, one bond, No. 109, 10s of 1870, with coupons of July, 1876, and 
subsequent. This bond is also in the hands of Donnell, Lawson and Simp- 
son, of New York, held for H. W. Salmon. Paid $915. 

December 6, 1880. Lot No. 12. — Bought of James M. Avery, one 
bond, No. 120, Clinton and Memphis Branch of the Tebo and Neosho 
railroad, 10s of 1871, with coupons of January, 1875, attached, and sub- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 267 

sequent, and six extra coupons, Nos. 153 and 154, July, 1874, 10s, 1871, 
and July, 1876, January, 1877, July, 1877, and January, 1878; coupons 
from bond 24, Clinton and Memphis Branch of the Tebo and Neosho 
railroad. Paid $1,050. 

Lot No. 13, W. D. Tyler's expenses to Kentucky, $125. 

Total amount expended, $84,666.57. 

"Which said report, being seen and duly considered by the court, is 
ordered filed. And now comes James B. Gantt and turns over to the 
court all the bonds, coupons and judgments as per statement in his 
report, including bonds Nos. 4 and 109, mentioned in lots 10 and 11, 
also the treasurer's receipt for balance not expended of $1,319.14. It is 
thereupon ordered by the court that James B. Gantt be fully released from 
further responsibility as agent of Henry County in the matter aforesaid. 
It is further ordered by the court that the bonds, coupons, and judg- 
ments, aforesaid, and all other papers in the matter be filed in the office 
of the clerk of this court, and that said bonds and coupons be and are 
hereby cancelled in the presence of the court, by writing the word "can- 
celled," date, etc., across the face or the signature on the bonds with red 
ink. 

"It is ordered by the court that a warrant be drawn on the sinking 
fund for the sum of $400, payable to James B. Gantt for legal services on 
behalf of county per account, this day allowed and filed." 

This report was made to the county court and entered of record 
December 8, 1880. 

There was also in the county treasury subject to levy by the bond- 
holders at one time, $18,000. Again on the advice and with the assistance 
of Judge Gantt and Major Salmon, this sum was used to buy in bonds 
at from thirty to forty cents on the dollar. At another time something 
over $11,000 was used with the assistance of Charles B. Wilson to buy 
in bonds at a little over forty-one cents on the dollar. Charles B. Wilson 
expended $11,946.80 in cash in the purchase of coupons and bonds. 
He gave the number of the coupons and bonds and his account was correct, 
but there were so many of them and of diflferent dates, that it was a 
good job to figure! them up. Again an entry was made that two bonds 
were purchased for $700 and five were purchased for $2,050. These were 
$1,000 bonds but how many coupons were attached, if any, was not stated. 
The purchases showed a pretty good bargain, one being at about 30 per 



268 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

cent and the five at a trifle over 40 per cent, the over-plus, probably, 
being commission on purchase. However, the reduction of the debt can 
be got at pretty close. It is given below: 

Forty-five bonds, of $1,000 each, bought for_-$18,058.10 

Two bonds, of $1,000 each, bought for 700.00 

Five bonds, of $1,000 each, bought for 2,050.00 

Twenty-nine bonds, C. B. Wilson at a little 

over forty-one cents on the dollar 11,754.90 

Making eighty-one bonds, costing $32,754.90 

Sale of Missouri, Kansas & Texas stock invested $84,666.57, reduced 
the debt $183,301.77, but of this $117,000 only were bonds, the re- 
mainder being coupons, judgments and costs. So from these purchases 
we have a reduction of the principal, that is in bonds of $169,000 be- 
sides the bonds purchased by Mr. Wilson, say a full reduction of $180,000 
of the principal; the balance being paid in coupons or interest. The 
County Court have in new six per cent bonds $525,000. 

The speaker may be pardoned for a brief statement that during 
all this period Judge James Parks was one of those whose advice and as- 
sistance was sought by and given without fee or recompense to the County 
Court. The result of this timely and efficient management was to greatly 
reduce the debt when the era of adjustment and compromise came. 

Era of Compromise and Refunding, 1882-1902. 

In 1881, in obedience to the mandamus of the Federal Court, the 
County Court of this county made the levy of one dollar and forty 
cents on the $100 as "railroad taxes," but in order to defeat its collec- 
tion, such taxes were extended in a special tax book for that purpose 
separate from the tax book containing the general taxes, and it was 
tacitly understood that such railroad taxes would not be paid and that 
no effort would be made to collect, with the result that these taxes were 
not paid. In 1882 a compromise of 75 cents on the dollar was submitted 
to a vote of the people, and the compromise was authorized by a very 
strong vote in its favor; the majority in favor of the proposition being 
880. 

The debt thus remaining was thus originally refunded at 75 cents on 



HENEY COUNTY HISTORY 269 

the dollar in six per cent bonds for approximately $525,000. In a few 
instances the bondholders refused to accept and were paid 90 cents on 
the dollar, and perhaps as much as par in the windup. The bonds could 
none of them be paid under five years. Private interest rates were high, 
many of the farms were encumbered by eastern loans bearing a higher 
rate of interest than the new bonds. During this period we built our 
new court house with a $50,000 issue, and paid that court house bond 
issue in full by 1902, so that during the period from 1882 to 1912 the 
County Court contented itself with refunding the bonds at lower rates 
of interest ranging from five per cent down to four per cent, and with 
building and paying for court house, county jail and bridges. 

End of Payment, 1902-1915. 

For the adoption of the policy which has resulted in the final extinc- 
tion of this railroad debt, the people of this county are indebted to 
Judge Joe Boyd, who was presiding judge of the County Court from 
1899 to 1907. Judge Boyd came to my office within the first year he 
was on the bench. He said that he made it his rule not to get into 
debt if he could help it, and to pay out as quick as he could, and he 
wanted to "start to paying off the bonds;" that he wanted the county 
to pay off its court house bonds which would fall due in 1902 and then 
to commence to pay off the railroad bonds and to pay them as fast as 
could be done without hardship to the taxpayers, and that he hoped 
to live long enough to see them paid. 

The last court house bond was paid on July 31, 1902, and the first 
railroad refunding bond was paid July 2, 1902, at which date railroad 
bonds were paid amounting to $20,000. This policy thus organized by 
Judge Boyd was continued through his administration with the help of 
Associate Judges Wilson and McCann, and under the administrations of 
Judges Ogg, Amick and McKnolly, aided by Associate Judges Sullivan, 
John Harrison, Frank Boyd and W. B. Collins. 

As the debt was cut down, the interest was reduced and the pay- 
ents of the principal increased under the same levy without any sub- 
stantial increase in taxation. 

At times others have claimed credit for this policy but to Judge 
Joe Boyd, the rugged, honest, old-fashioned farmer, the credit belongs 
and I take benefit of this occasion to help to see that he gets it. He did 
not live to see the bonds burned, but this memorable event, made the 



270 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

more so by the attendance of so many eminent Missourians, is a testimonial 
to him and the policy he caused to be commenced and followed. Peace 
to his ashes and honor to his memory ! 

This address would lack in justice if it did not take time enough 
to say that the refunding and payment of the bonds was honestly and 
faithfully attended to during the years from 1882 to 1915 by the judges 
of the County Court comprising a splendid type of citizenship in the 
names of Judges Mark Stewart, E. Allison, Lewis P. Beaty, James M. 
Harrison, C. H. Hartsock, O. M. Bush, George H. Hackney, William M. 
Allen, John S. Kelly, M. F. Finks, William Moore, S. A. Marks, Joe Boyd, 
J. H. McCann, William M. Wilson, T. W. Ogg, Alfred Slack, M. R. Amick, 
John Harrison, P. H. Sullivan, Frank Boyd, J. M. McKnolly and W. B. 
Collins, nine dead and fourteen living. 

After paying all the bonds in full there remains a surplus and your 
present County Court has deemed it but just to join with the other citi- 
zens of this county in this jubilee of rejoicing and commemoration, and 
to that court on behalf of the executive committee and of the people 
thanks and credit is given. 

In conclusion, many have asked how much has been paid in all from 
inception to finish in this period spanning practically half a century on ac- 
count of this debt. It is difficult to obtain and give exact figures, be- 
cause at the time we were in litigation the County Court and its clerk 
had to keep a private index to the records to keep the bondholders from 
learning through their local agents and attorneys what the County Court 
was doing, in selling the stock of the county, and in buying county bonds 
at a discount. A laborious search through the records no doubt would 
show. However, the total amount paid since the compromise in 1882, 
principal and interest, is one million, two hundred and twenty-eight 
thousand, three hundred and ten dollars and ninety-four cents ($1,228,- 
310.94). So that it is safe to say that this experience has cost the tax- 
payers in all something like one and one-half million of dollars. 

However, it should not be forgotten that during this period of forty- 
five years the railroads have paid to Henry County and its citizen tovras 
from $350,000 to $400,000 in taxes and will continue in the future to 
thus contribute in taxes. A further tribute should be and is paid to 
the people of this county, those of the splendid old and the splendid new, 
to the pioneers as well as the good people who of choice and with wis- 
dom have made this county their home, all of. whom through years of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 271 

toil have contributed their share to the extinction of this debt. And now, 
without regard to party, with our faces to the future, in the presence of 
so many distinguished guests who honor us with their presence and 
contribute to the success of the occasion, we are met to rejoice that Henry 
County's bonds are all paid. And we now return our thanks to our guests, 
our neighboring citizen towns, and to the great newspapers of the State 
for the help extended and we welcome one and all to our good county 
and our fair city. 

The chief speaker at the celebration was Judge John F. Phillips 
of Kansas City. Probably nowhere has his connection with the bond 
matters been so closely set forth as in his speech which, with the intro- 
duction by Mr. Peyton A. Parks, follows : 

Introduction by Hon. Peyton Parks. 

"I deem it one of the greatest pleasures of my life to take part in 
this demonstration. Not only because of my father, who fought these 
bonds' issue, and afterwards helped to pay the debt ; but there is another 
reason and that is because I have the privilege of presenting to this 
magnificent audience the life-long friend of my father and the able law- 
yer who presented the side of this county in the controversy that culmi- 
nated in the defeat of the county in the Supreme Court of the United 
States. As a boy, in the old court house, my esteem and admiration for the 
speaker of the afternoon commenced. In all the years that have passed, 
about fifty — a half a century — it has grown both in esteem and admi- 
ration and love, and I take pleasure now in introducing to this audience 
one of Missouri's most distinguished orators, one of her greatest citizens 
and one of her ablest jurists. Judge John F. Philips." 
Address by Judge Philips. 

"Ladies and Fellow-citizens: The remarks of your distinguished 
chairman call to my mind the fact that fifty-eight summers and winters 
have passed over my head since I first came to Clinton, and I came on 
horseback and through the mud. I was then in the lustihood of young 
manhood. Today I stand before you an old man, over eighty years of 
age. I have seen three generations of lawyers come upon the stage and 
pass behind the curtain. The faces that greeted me with gladness when 
I first came among this people have turned to ashes, and today if I were 
to look for their names I would find them engraved on the tablets and 
monuments in your beautiful City of the Dead. 



272 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

"I am too old to flatter — to flatter anybody or to be flattered. I was 
drawn to the people of this county by reason of their broad hospitality, 
their rugged honesty and possession of that rare faculty of common 
sense which is the first to defense and the last to surrender in the 
battle of life. 

"I have no language to express to you, my fellow citizens, how it 
rejoices this old heart of mine today to be here with these people to 
share in the celebration of a civic event that proclaims to the people of 
the world the commercial integrity and high sense of honor of the peo- 
ple of the best county in the State of Missouri. Conservative in action, 
broad in its policy and progressive in its spirit, this was one of the first 
counties in southwest Missouri to recognize the importance of railroad 
communication with the outer world and the march of trade and commerce. 

"In 1859 your representative in the Legislature of Missouri procured 
the adoption of the charter of the old Tebo and Neosho Railroad Company 
at a time when there was not a railroad south of the Missouri River, west 
of the Osage and extending to the southwest border of the State. The 
purpose of that chartered road was to get a connection with the Pacific 
railroad then projected from the city of St. Louis westward toward the 
border of the State. It was intended to bisect this county from the 
north to the southwest. Today I can appreciate the fact of the prescient 
wisdom of the men who then lived here and projected that enterprise. 
Kansas was a new State, Texas was far away, but the far-seeing, wise 
men of this community looked down the vista of time and they foresaw 
that on the west would spring up a great State and that farther to the 
South lay the empire of the State of Texas and there was the Gulf look- 
ing out on the march of commerce in the old world. 

"The charter of that railroad authorized the judge of the County 
Court of their own initiative to subscribe to the capital stock of that 
railroad. When the Legislature of the State, both by private charter and 
public statutes conferred this great and dangerous power upon the judges 
they assumed that they were worthy depositories of such a trust and 
that it would be conservatively and honestly exercised. The character 
of men the people of this county elected to the office of county judge was 
well known for honesty — they were known for their integrity and for 
their solid judgment and for their high sense of responsibility. There 
was no such thing in those days of judges on the bench bartering judg- 
ment for pay or becoming the immediate beneficiaries of their own judi- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 273 

cial action, and so you can very well understand how it was and why it 
is that with an honesty constantly discovered that such trusted agents 
invested with such power should betray their trust and deceive or sell 
out the people how they would be filled with indignation. 

"But the people of this county then wanted this Tebo and Neosho 
railroad built, but when the war came on all efforts to build it were 
suspended. When it ended your public spirited men betook themselves 
to the consideration of the question as to how it might be revived and 
reinstated. It was discovered that its charter had lapsed by nonusal. Such 
men as Robert Allen, James Parks, Doctor Thornton, A. C. Marvin and 
others came to Sedalia to see me to see how this enterprise could be 
revived and the charter resuscitated. They had no money to pay me for 
a fee and I didn't expect any. I had so much of public spirit and so 
much love and admiration for the people of this county that it was a 
labor of love to me to do what I could to promote it. I drew the act 
of 1865-6 which revived this charter and the Legislature adopted, and 
as a mere compliment to me and one that has never borne any revenue, 
and one that has never brought me any honor that I know of but a great 
deal of criticism and abuse — but I am one of those people that believes 
that the less a man is being abused and criticized the less he is doing 
right. And I was named one of the directors of that road in connec- 
tion with some of the business men in this and Bates County, and I 
don't expect there ever was a cruder, rawer set than were got together 
in that board of directors. There wasn't any of us knew anything about 
railroads and we had access to one hundred and fifty thousand dollars 
subscribed for that enterprise and we were actually afraid to have it con- 
verted into money because we couldn't trust ourselves with so much 
money. 

"There was an old fellow came up here from Ft. Scott by the name 
of Wilson. He was a tall, raw-boned, sandy-haired, cadaverous old fel- 
low, and I think he just elected himself general manager of that enter- 
prise. He surveyed the whole route of this road from Sedalia to Ft. 
Scott on a mule, without assistance. We had what was known as the 
Striker law, which authorized the people living within an area of ten 
miles of the road to subscribe to the stock of the road by conceding them 
land. That old fellow rode up and down this country on that roan mule, 
making speeches at every cross-road, school house, or wherever he could 
get three or four farmers together, until the old mule himself got tired of 



274 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

waiting on him and the farmers knew when he was coming by that mule's 
braying. He never failed to call the board of directors together to make 
his report, and that got to be so often that it got tiresome. One day 
he met a peddler down here with a pack, the mule got frightened at the 
pack and ran off across the road and down to the river, swam the river and 
Wilson lost his saddle-bags with his survey, his copy of the script law, 
and his bill for services to the road, which has never been paid so far 
as I know to this day. So the loss of his notes and maps of the survey 
and without that mule to carry on the survey, the board of directors 
found themselves up against it. And, like the fellow from Indiana who 
moved out into the arid regions of western Kansas who said that he 
fooled the man to whom he sold his cow and calf by slipping into the 
bill of sale a conveyance to his one hundred and sixty acres of land, we 
said we would fool the Missouri, Kansas & Texas corporation — a corpo- 
ration organized to build a road to Texas — by getting them to take the 
Tebo & Neosho off our hands. 

"I drew the act of 1870-71 which authorized the Tebo & Neosho 
railroad to transfer by consolidation lease or sale to the Missouri, Kan- 
sas & Texas Company. That was done and the subscription of this county 
of $250,000 was turned over to the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railroad 
Company and the railroad was built and made good, and you got exactly 
what you contracted for and what you needed. There was never any 
question raised by the people of Henry County about the subscription to 
that road. The whole trouble originated with the subscription made by 
the County Court to what was known as the Clinton branch of the Tebo 
& Neosho road. As you will recall, the Constitution of 1865 prohibited 
any county from subscribing to the railroad stock of any railroad without 
the concurrence of two-thirds of the voters of the county. Now, I have 
always tried to make it a part of my public life never to say anything 
unkind or ungenerous. I would rather exhibit that sort of gentle Chris- 
tian charity as the old hard-shell Baptist preacher down in Tennessee 
showed when called upon to preach the funeral sermon of a pretty hard 
case who died. He said: "Gentlemen, this oneiy cuss is dead and I 
come to preach his funeral sermon. He had horses and he run'em, he 
had pups and he fit 'em, he had cards and he played 'em, but let us forget 
his vices if we can and remember his virtues if he had any, for of such 
is the kingdom of heaven." There were some smart, sharp, shrewd pro- 
moters and adventurers in this country who conceived the project of avoid- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 275 

ing the Constitution of this State, and they got up the act of 1868 known 
as the act for building branches to railroads. 

"Now that board of directors of the Tebo & Neosho railroad, of which 
I was one, didn't know anything about that. We never asked to build 
any branch road. We couldn't build a main road, but those fellows took 
it upon themselves to undertake to build this branch railroad and tried 
to hitch it onto the charter of the old roads, and they persuaded the 
County Court of this county then in office, elected when all people couldn't 
vote, and persuaded them to subscribe a hundred and fifty thousand dol- 
lars to this road, two or three hundred had subscribed from St. Clair 
County, three or four hundred from Cass County and some more from 
Jackson County, making in the aggregate over eight hundred thousand 
dollars, and I have never been able from that day to this — nor anybody 
else — to ascertain whatever became of all that money. It went where 
the woodbine twineth with the result that only a part of it was applied 
to obtain the right of way over this route from Kansas City to Osceola 
and making some embankments and some grading. 

"The county judges who came into office in 1872 thought that they 
would arrest the issuing of the bonds on that subscription, and to that 
end they employed Parks and Gantt, local lawyers, and George Vest 
and myself to resist their issuance. We brought an action of injunc- 
tion before Judge Avery, then of the Court of Common Pleas, as most 
accessible, and we were right about it. But we were not up to the 
practices and habits of the syndicates of those days for before we had 
got out our injunction they had issued their bonds and put them into 
the hands of a gentleman of this county who, armed by an opinion of its 
validity by a distinguished old lawyer of this city, went on to New 
York and sold them to a man by the name of Nicolai for about ninety 
cents on the dollar — so our injunction was on the wrong fellow. Instead 
of branding the horse we branded the stable, and so the result was that 
Nicolai brought suit in Jefferson City on some matured coupons, and 
we defended it. I have seen, my fellow citizens, an assembly of great 
lawyers in this State, but I never saw such an array of able-minded and 
forceful lawyers as gathered around that court to engage in the discus- 
sion of questions involving this and other counties in the State. They 
were such men as Waldo P. Johnson, General John B. Henderson, James 
O. Broadhead and James B. Reynolds, General John B. Stevens and others, 
to say nothing of Vest and my humble self. That discussion covered three 



276 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

days. It was a battle royal. If there was anything left unsaid that 
could have been said, pro and con, I have never been able to discover it, 
and I want to say here and now one thing, I don't want you to forget 
that it has been most unjust to attribute the loss of that fight and the 
fastening on this people of that debt, to the federal judiciary. That court 
at Jefferson City was presided over by one of the ablest jurists of this 
land : learned, incorruptible and fearless Judge Dillon. The very moment 
we began that discussion we were confronted with the fact that the 
Supreme Court of this State in what was known as the Macon County 
case had held that the inhibitive provision of the Constitution in 1865 
was only prospective in its operation and did not control or limit the 
operation of a charter granted to a railroad prior to the adoption of the 
Constitution, and that is, I guess, sound law. Our contention was that 
that so-called Branch Road Act of 1868 was in effect an independent enter- 
prise; that it could not legally nor honestly be taken on to the ante- 
cedent of the Tebo & Neosho railroad. But before that discussion had 
gotten cold the Supreme Court of this State in an opinion delivered by 
Judge Wagoner in what is known as the Greene County case held that 
under that branch railroad act a subscription could be made to any fund 
on an antecedent charter from which such branch started. 

"It has ever been the settled rule of the federal jurisdiction of the 
Supreme Court of the United States that whenever a certain construc- 
tion is given to the Constitution of a State or to one of its legislative 
enactments by one of the highest courts of the State, the Federal Courts 
are bound by it. In preparing my brief in that case I found an old act 
of the Legislature of 1860-61 which declared that 'it shall be unlawful 
for any county to subscribe to any railroad without first obtaining the vote 
of the people of the county.' As that act was prohibitive in its character 
and penal in its expression, and as it had been passed before any bonds 
were issued under the Tebo & Neosho railroad charter, my argument was 
that it cut up by the roots the subscription made by this county in 
1869-70, and Judge Dillon was so much impressed with that proposition 
that he took the case under advisement until the next term of court. 
And then what happened ? I am not going to tell any tales out of school, 
but I just want to whisper in your ear the fact that between the adjourn- 
ment of that term of court and its convening the next fall, the Supreme 
Court of this State in what is known as the Clark County case wrote an 
opinion, and by one of the very men who had participated in the discus- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 277 

sion of this question before Judge Dillon, holding that the act of 1860-61 
did not have the effect to eliminate the power granted under former 
statutes of the State. Well, I am free to confess to you here today, fel- 
low citizens, I have never been able to comprehend that decision. It defies 
the laws of common sense and the force of human language and the only 
principle upon which I could ever explain it was that which I heard once 
in the court room of my old predecessor. Rider Hall was discussing be- 
fore him the construction of a statute and the old judge said: 'Mr. Hall, 
stop right where ye is, that statute means whatever this court sees fit 
to make it mean.' 

"When Judge Dillon's attention was called to that decision in the 
Clark County case he said he felt constrained to follow it, and he said to 
me after court adjourned that but for that decision of the Supreme Court 
he was inclined to accept my contention and decide the bonds invalid. 
Well, we didn't resort to the usual alternative of going down to the corner 
grocery, getting a drink and cussing the court, but we did appeal to the 
Supreme Court of the United States, but I had not more than gotten 
into the argument until Justice Bradley, with a voice that sounded like 
the crack of a whip and which I have never forgotten, leaned over and 
said to me, 'Mr. Philips, how can you expect this court, no matter what 
our individual opinion may be, to do in the face of the fact that your 
own Supreme Court has decided that the provision of the act of 1865 
did not invalidate these bonds, that the act of 1868 authorized the sub- 
scription, and that the act of 1860-61 does not apply? Whatever may be 
our opinion we are concluded by the decision of the court of last resort 
in your State.' The only answer I could make was that as these de- 
cisions of the Supreme Court of the State had not been made when 
these bonds were issued, that the Supreme Court of the United States 
ought to feel at liberty to exercise an independent judgment of its own. 
But it said that in view of the fact that the opinions were rendered be- 
fore the case had reached a conclusion in the Federal Court they were 
bound to follow it, so I was in the condition of the fellow who was blow- 
ing about his wonderful experiences in the mountains, he said he was 
out hunting one day and he was beset by a band of fierce Indians so 
he took refuge in a cave, and when he got in there he saw a huge bear 
with eyes blazing coming right at him, and at the entrance to the cave 
stood the Indian ^vith painted face and a gleaming tomahawk in hand, 
coming right at him, and someone said to him 'Well, what could you 



278 HENEY COUNTY HISTORY 

do with the bear on one side and the Indian on the other, what could 
you do?' and he said, 'Well, I just died.' So between the Indians of our 
Supreme Court and the bears of the Supreme Court of the United States, 
I was literally scalped and done for. 

"Well, what was to be done? What, my fellow citizens, could you 
have expected your lawyer to do under such circumstances ? I felt about 
as bad as you did for I had lost my contingent fees. Mr. Vest and I 
came home and made our report to the judges of the Cass County Court, 
which we represented, and the judges of the Henry County Court and 
St. Clair County Court — that we had fought our battle and lost and 
that all that was left to be done was to endure what could not be cured, 
and our advice to the county was 'Get together and make the best adjust- 
ment and compromise you can. You can't avert the law of the land as 
declared by the Supreme Court of the land.' Henry County never hesi- 
tated one moment to accept our report. These were a brave and courageous 
people who loved honor more than they did money, and you made a 
compromise of seventy-five cents on the dollar for the greater part of 
it, and some you paid ninety cents, and some you had to take up at face 
value. 

"Fellow citizens, I need not have told you when I began that I was 
an old man, for you see I talk a long time, but through the courtesy 
of the chairman of this committee, and the assistance of your county 
clerk upon my application I received reliable information about the his- 
tory of these bonds which I have reduced to writing in brief form and 
I want to read it to you: 

"I have reduced to a condensed form the essential facts relative to 
railroad indebtedness of this c6unty, for the sake of convenience and easy 
comprehension: (1) First subscription to the old Tebo & Neosho rail- 
road January 1, 1867, $150,000; second subscription January 1, 1870, 
$250,000; total, $400,000. These bonds bore seven per cent interest. 

"In 1879 the County Court, through its commissioner, James B. 
Gantt, sold its stock in the road for $183,000, which was applied to the 
reduction of the bonded debt. 

Clinton Branch. 

"(2) January 1, 1871, the County Court subscribed to the capital 
stock of the Tebo & Neosho Kailroad Company, for the benefit of the so- 
called Clinton branch, $200,000, making the total subscriptions $600,000. 



HKNRY COUNTY HISTORY 279 

Compromised Debt. 

"The county compromised the greater bulk of this indebtedness at 
seventy-five cents on the dollar, a small amount at ninety cents on the 
dollar, and a few remaining bonds, in order to get rid of the annoyance 
of further attempts at adjustment, were taken up at face value. So that 
it may be said with approximate accuracy, the indebtedhess of the 
county was scaled down to about $475,000. 

Taxes Collected From Railroads. 

"Covering the period between the making of the subscriptions and 
1914, the county, according to the best data we have, has collected from 
the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad, the successor of the old Tebo & 
Neosho Company, $318,645; from the Frisco branch, $102,700; from the 
Clinton branch, $97,584.75 ; total, $518,928.75. 

"The city of Clinton, an integral part of the county, has collected 
taxes, in the aggregate, amounting to $10,392; from other cities and 
towns, through which the road runs, probably $4,000, making the aggre- 
gate $532,929; adding to this the $183,000 realized on sale of the railroad 
stock, makes $715,929. 

"Because of the long period of time which the county took to pay oif 
interest and principal, it is estimated that the aggregate paid by the 
county amounted to $1,223,319, which leaves the excess paid by the 
county $507,390. 

Offset. 

"But the county has received further benefits. The population of the 
county in 1872 was 17,401. In 1915 it is 31,595 ; gain in population, 14,193. 
Assessed valuation of property in 1872, $5,464,560. In 1915 it is 11,117,- 
935. Gain in assessed valuation, $5,633,372. 

Comment. 

"The increase in population may not, at first view, seem large, but 
it is to be kept in mind that this is essentially an agricultural commun- 
ity, and there are no large cities in it. The lands being so desirable for 
farming, the owners are content and do not part with their homes readily. 
The valuation placed on them by the assessors is so low as to invite the 
owners to stay. I doubt not that the actual value of property in the 
county today is not less than $20,000,000. There are more heads of fami- 



280 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

lies in Henry County, in proportion to population, who are free-holder*, 
than elsewhere in Central Missouri. 

Continuing Benefits. 

"The process of collecting taxes from the railroads will not ceas« 
with the burning of the bonds today. It will go on in an ever increasing 
ratio, for all time. This will invite immigration and capital to con- 
tribute to the burdens of taxation, and enable the county to add to all 
those things that make for the public welfare. 

"Now, fellow citizens, in conclusion, speech is but dumbness for mt 
to undertake to express to you what is in my heart as I stand here to- 
day delivering, doubtless, my valedictory address to this people. It Avill 
be another bright oasis in the long journey of my life and it will help 
to make the gulf stream of youth flow farther and farther into the arcti« 
regions of old age." 



CHAPTER XXVI. 



STATISTICS 



SIZE OF COUNTY— NUMBER AND SIZE OF FARMS— FARM FIGURES — ^VALUATION- 
NUMBER AND WORTH OF FARM ANIMALS— DISTRIBUTION OF WEALTH- 
FIGURES ON ILLITERACY- POULTRY INDUSTRY— ACREAGE OF VARIOUS 
CROPS. 

Statistical information as to Henry County is most illuminating. The 
years show steady progress in every way. The present limits of the 
county embrace 476,160 acres, of which 436,833 acres or 91.7 per cent of 
the total is in farms by the census of 1910. In 1900 there were 437,720 
acres in farms. Under the census of 1900 370,976 acres in the county 
were improved, but this increased in 1910 to 376,261 acres, when 86.1 
per cent of the total land in the county was in the improved class. 

The average size of a farm under the census of 1910, the last avail- 
able, was 126.7 acres. Of this 126.7 acres on the average 109.1 was im- 
proved. The total number of farms in the county in 1910 was 3,448; 
in 1900 it was 3,447. Thus though there were many changes of owner- 
ship and sales of farms in the decade between 1900 and 1910, in this 
latter year there was only one more farm in the county than had been 
there ten years before. Under the last census there were two farms, so- 
called, of less than three acres; forty-five between three and nine acres, 
and one hundred and seventeen of from ten to nineteen acres. Thus one 
hundred and sixty-five of the farms listed by the federal officers were of 
nineteen acres or less. 

Five hundred sixty-three farms were between twenty and forty- 
nine acres in size. Farms between fifty and ninety-nine acres numbered 
one thousand sixty-three, and those between one hundred and one hun- 
dred and seventy-four acres numbered nine hundred and sixty-five. As 



282 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

the farms get larger than one hundred and seventy-five acres the numbers 
fall off sharply. There were three hundred ninety-one between one hun- 
dred seventy-five and two hundred fifty-nine acres in extent — but two 
hundred forty-six between two hundred sixty and four hundred ninety- 
nine acres, and only forty-seven farmers owned farms of an average 
between five hundred and nine hundred ninety-nine acres. Finally there 
were, by this census, nine farms in Henry County of one thousand acres 
or more. 

Of the farmers in the county under the last census there were three 
thousand two hundred and fifty-six who were native bom white, one hun- 
dred and fifty-four foreign bom white, and thirty-eight negroes. Of the 
3,256 native bom white men 2,037 owned the farms they operated ; of the 
154 foreign bom white farmers 138 owned the land they tilled and of the 
thirty-eight negroes twenty-four were owners of their farms. About sixty- 
three per cent of the native white and negro farmers thus are listed as 
owners, while nearly ninety per cent of the foreign born whites had title 
to their lands. 

One thousand two hundred and sixteen of the farms in the county 
operated by owners were free of all mortgage incumbrance, while nine 
hundred sixty-six had a total indebtedness against them of $1,194,453 
with a total valuation of the incumbered farms of $4,283,347. 

In 1910 there were 63.8 per cent of the total of all farms operated by 
owners, a slight decrease from 1900 when 64.4 per cent were operated 
by the men who held title to them. The value of the land and buildings in 
the farms operated by their owners totaled $15,458,476. The value of the 
land and buildings on the tenant farms amounted to $6,455,350. 

The increase in land value and in the value of farm property in the 
years between 1900 and 1910 was remarkable. By the census of 1900 
the total value of all farm property in the county was placed at $13,516,- 
508, but in ten years it had increased to $27,248,189 ; a gain of 101.6 per 
cent. The value of the land also showed a gain of over one hundred 
per cent— advancing from $9,309,020 in 1900 to $18,811,754 in 1910. The 
buildings on the farms showed about the same increase — in 1900 being 
valued at $1,854,500 and in 1910 being $3,488,812. Land in Henry County 
in 1900 was valued at $21.27 per acre, but in 1910 it had advanced to 
an average of $43.06. 

Three thousand three hundred and ninety-six of the 3,448 farms in 
the county reported having domestic animals on the premises and the 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 283 

value of the same reached the great total of $3,987,080. A total of 35,- 
474 cattle were reported, 10,092 being dairy cows, 3,885 other cows, 3,562 
yearling heifers, 3,946 calves, 4,609 yearling calves and bulls, 9,380 other 
steers and bulls. The value of the cattle amounted to $1,076,202. 

There were 15,462 horses reported, 13,390 being mature horses, 1,551 
yearling colts and 521 spring colts with a total value of $1,653,234. The 
farmers at the time of the census owned 4,935 mules, of which number 
3,744 were mature animals, 895 yearling colts and 296 spring colts. A 
value of $635,540 was placed on these animals at that time. Properly 
included in these statistics are 122 asses and burros with a valuation of 
$26,485. 

The total number of swine reported was 70,609, of which number 44,- 
756 were mature animals and 25,853 were spring pigs. The Government 
estimated these to be worth $550,109. The county reported only 9,685 
sheep, of which 5,992 were rams, ewes and wethers and 3,993 spring 
lambs. The sheep were valued at $44,663. Two hundred and ninety-three 
goats with a nominal value of $847 completes the list of domestic ani- 
mals as reported by the 1910 census. 

The county reported 304,132 different individuals of the various sorts 
of poultry, having a value of $204,485, and had 3,566 colonies of bees, 
worth $9,008. 

In 1900 the Government figures showed that the value of farm imple- 
ments and machinery owned in the county totaled $344,350, while in 1910 
the value of this property had doubled, amounting to $745,750. Domestic 
animals, poultry and bees, which in 1900 were valued at $2,008,658, had 
more than doubled by 1910, when they totaled $4,201,873. 

The distribution of the rural wealth in the county by the 1910 census 
is shown by computing percentages. On a basis of one hundred per cent, 
sixty-nine was in the farms themselves, 12.8 per cent in the buildings 
on the farms, 2.7 per cent was invested in machinery and implements 
and 15.4 in domestic animals, poultry and bees. Averaging the reports 
as shown by the census the average of all property for farms was $7,903, 
of which an average of $6,468 per farm was in land and buildings and 
$1,435 in machinery, implements, domestic animals, poultry and bees. 

In common with the most of the rural communities of Missouri, Henry 
County showed a slight decrease in population in 1910 over the pre- 
ceding census of 1900 and even of the census of 1890. The decrease 
was practically uniform through the whole county and in some of the 



284 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

towns. However, Urich, Calhoun, Montrose and Deepwater showed 
slight increases, and Windsor a sharp growth, with Davis, Fairview, Tebo, 
Whiteoak, Windsor townships being a little larger; though the fact that 
Fairview and Windsor did not show a loss was due entirely to the fact 
that Deepwater was included in the limits of Fairview and the growing 
clay industries and the population attracted thereby in that thriving little 
city prevented the township from falling off in its population, while the 
Rock Island railroad and the growth of Windsor accounted for Windsor 
township growth. 

By the last census the total population of Henry County was, as set 
forth in the above tables, 27,242, of whom 13,728 were males and 13,514 
females. Of the males 13,306 were white and 422 were negroes; of the 
females 13,094 were white and 420 negroes. Seven thousand six hundred 
forty-nine males were of voting age, an increase of 123 over the census 
of 1900, when the voters of the county numbered 7,523. Six thousand 
two hundred ninety of the voters were white males of native parentage 
as compared vdth 6,073 white males of native parents ten years before. 
Seven hundred ninety-six white males were of foreign or mixed parentage 
as against 764 in the last preceding census. Four hundred fifty-five of 
the whites not of native parentage had both parents foreign born while 
341 were of mixed parentage and 330 white males of voting age in the 
county were foreign born. In 1900 there were 431 foreign born white 
males in the county ; so in ten years the number of this class of inhabitants 
had decreased over 100, or more than twenty-five per cent. The negro 
males of voting age in 1910 numbered 233, which was twenty-two less 
than the enrollment in 1900. By percentages 82.2 per cent of the males 
of voting age were of native white parentage; 10.4 per cent were of for- 
eign or mixed parentage; 4.3 per cent, were of white foreign parentage 
and three per cent, negroes. Of the foreign bom white 233 were natural- 
ized; two had first papers; eleven were aliens and eighty-four made no 
report and their status as to citizenship was unknown. 

The question of illiteracy is always important. In 1900 5.3 per cent, 
of the population of the county of voting age was illiterate, but in 1910 
this had been reduced to 4.7 per cent, or 362 individuals. Three and eight- 
tenths per cent, of the total native whites or 270 individuals were illiterates. 
Eleven or 3.3 per cent, of the foreign born white were illiterate and eighty- 
one or 34.8 per cent, of the negroes. 

Taking the population of the county as a whole there were under the 
1910 census 21,204 persons in the county ten years old and over. Of this 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 285 

number 715 or 3.4 per cent, were illiterate. There were 19,941 native 
white persons in this total of whom 2.4 per cent, or 488 individuals were 
illiterate. Of the 588 foreign bom white persons in the county in 1910 
thirty-seven, or 6.3 per cent., were unable to read or write and of the 67.5 
negroes 28.1 per cent, or 190 individuals were in this uneducated class. 
The illiteracy however was largely confined to the older people, the splen- 
did school system being responsible for the gradual improvement of their 
deplorable condition. Evidence of this fact is found in the fact that while 
the total number of illiterates in the gross population of 21,204 aged ten 
years and over was 715 or 3.4 per cent, yet in the 6,088 persons between 
the ages of ten and twenty years there were only fifty illiterates or eight 
tenths of one per cent. 

By the enumeration of 1910 there were 8,472 children in the county 
between the ages of six and twenty years of whom 6,220 or 73.4 per cent, 
were attending school. Statistics as to the ages of those in school are 
interesting and instructive. Of the total enumeration of children of school 
age 2,385 were between the ages of six and nine years and of their num- 
ber 2,114 or eighty-four per cent, were in attendance at the various schools. 
Between the ages of ten and fourteen years there were 2,839 children and 
of this number 2,729 or ninety-seven per cent, were in actual attendance. 
Between fifteen and seventeen years there were 1,674 children and sixty- 
two per cent, or 1,135 were in school, while of 1,575 between the ages of 
eighteen and twenty years only 342 individuals or less than twenty-three 
per cent, were in the schools. The total school enumeration between the 
ages of six and fourteen years was 5,224 and of this number 4,743 or 90.8 
per cent, were in actual attendance. Between the ages of six and fourteen 
years there were 4,784 children of native white parentage with 4,380 or 
91.6 per cent, in attendance; of the 284 native white of foreign or mixed 
parentage 91.2 per cent, or 259 children were in attendance. Only one 
foreign born child was in the county in 1910 and it was in attendance at 
school while of the 155 negro children within the ages last above specified 
only 66.5 per cent, were actually enrolled. 

It is of interest to know that there were 6,463 dwelling houses in the 
county in 1910 and 6,557 families with a total population of 27,242. The 
statistics show that there was an average of 4.2 persons to a family and 
with a total school enrollment of 8,473 that the average of children of 
school age to the family was 1.3. 

The population of the county decreased in the decade from 1900 to 
1910 by 2.9 per cent., or 812 individuals. In the decade between 1890 and 



,286 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

1900 the population decreased six-tenths of one per cent, or 181 people. 
With the land area of 744 square miles the population per square mile in 
1910 was 36.6 and excluding Clinton (the only city of sufficient size to 
be excluded by the census) the rural population was 29.9 per square mile. 
However, excluding the incorporated cities and towns of Blairstown, Clin- 
ton, Montrose, Deepwater, Brownington, Calhoun, Urich and Windsor, 
whose population aggi-egated 11,102, the actual rural population was 21.7 
per square mile with a total of 16,140 individuals. While the white popu- 
lation of the county decreased from 27,076 in 1890 to 26,962 in 1900 and 
then to 26,400 in 1910, the negro population decreased much more in pro- 
portion; for while there were 1,158 negroes in the county in 1890 they 
had decreased to 1,092 in 1900 and to only 842 in 1910. 

Of the total population 23,562 were of native white parentage, being 
86.5 per cent, of the whole. In 1900 23,737 or 84.6 per cent, were native 
whites. In 1910 2,250 or 8.3 per cent, of the population were of native 
white of foreign or mixed parentage, while in 1900 there were 2,485 or 
8.9 per cent, belonging to this class. There were 588 foreign bom white 
or 2.2 per cent, of the population as against 740 or 2.6 per cent, of this 
class in 1900. Of the foreign born in Henry County by the 1910 census 
fourteen were Austrians, five Belgians, two French Canadians, twenty-six 
Canadians, eight Danes, eighty-six English, fourteen French, 290 Germans, 
six Hollanders, one Hungarian, twenty-eight Irish, two Italians, two Rus- 
sians, fifteen Scotch, fourteen Swedes, fifty-two Swiss, five Turks, ten 
Welch and eight from other countries. 

Under the reports as shown by the 1910 census there were 9,356 dairy 
cows on farms reporting dairy products and 9,121 dairy cows on farms 
reporting milk products. There was reported a production of 2,460,974 
gallons of milk, of which 28,361 gallons were sold. Fifteen thousand nine 
hundred eighty-one gallons of cream were sold during the year and 36,348 
pounds of butter fat. During that year the farmers of the county pro- 
duced 598,871 pounds of butter and sold 258,395 pounds and also pro- 
duced 800 pounds of cheese and sold 620 pounds of it. In value the dairy 
products, excluding home production of milk and cream, amounted to 
$156,275. 

The poultry industry was profitable and particular statistics are worth 
while. The number of fowls of all sorts raised in 1910 in the county was 
522,697 and 191,163 were sold. During the year 1,607,648 dozens of eggs 
were produced and 1,139,858 dozens of eggs were sold. The value of the 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 287 

poultry and eggs raised and produced that year totalled $528,399 and the 
actual cash received for that sold amounted to $307,107. The bees of the 
county produced 31,156 pounds of honey and 412 pounds of wax of a total 
value of $4,011. Four thousand seven hundred twenty-one fleeces were 
shorn from the sheep in the county in 1910 and together with 156 goats 
or mohair fleeces made a value of $7,999 of wool and mohair produces in 
that year. In 1910 there were sold or slaughtered in the county 2,248 
calves and 17,668 other cattle together with 74,383 swine and 4,430 sheep 
and goats. The receipts from such animals above as were slaughtered 
amounted to $186,044. There were sold during this year 3,246 horses, 
mules and asses ; the receipts from sale of animals during the year totalled 
$2,108,799. 

Included in the county's wealth in live stock but owned in the towns 
and not on the farms as shown by the 1910 census were various animals, 
reported from 1,095 various enclosures and of a total value of $222,493. 
The animals reported included 1,037 cattle, 817 being dairy cows valued 
at $37,323; 1,412 horses, including sixty-two colts with a total value of 
$149,492; 155 mules, asses and burros, 129 of them mature animals with 
a total valuation of $25,440 ; 1,217 swine of all ages worth $10,222 and five 
sheep and goats nominally worth $16. 

Acreage and value of the principal crops in the county according to 
the last available census show the very remarkable total of $2,946,598. 
The total value of all crops of cereals was $2,267,312. The value of other 
grain and seeds $5,471 ; value of hay and forage $370,811 ; value of vege- 
tables $147,681; value of fruit and nuts $52,839, and of all other crops 
$102,484. 

The total acreage in cereals in 1910 was 184,210 acres and the total 
production reported was 4,255,122 bushels. By crops 142,689 acres were 
in corn with a production of 3,520,626 bushels; oats 23,935 acres and a 
total production of 499,627 bushels; wheat, 16,404 and a yield of 211,943 
bushels. Only eleven acres were in barley and but 250 bushels were pro- 
duced; 105 acres were in i-ye and the total yield was 697 bushels. One 
thousand forty-six acres were planted to milo and kaffir and the yield was 
21,689 bushels. Of other products twenty-one acres were planted to dry 
peas and yielded sixty-seven bushels and 387 acres were in flax seed with 
a yield of 2,516 bushels. 

Forty-six thousand nine hundred fifty-six acres were in hay and for- 
age and produced 52,851 tons. Of this 41,491 acres were in tame or cul- 
tivated grasses and yielded 44,554 tons. Of this 19,653 acres were in 



288 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

timothy with a yield of 19,217 tons; 17,413 acres were in timothy and 
clover mixed and yielded 19,560 tons ; 930 acres in clover alone and yielded 
999 tons ; 129 acres in alfalfa and yielded 267 tons ; 3,000 acres in millet 
with a yield of 4,197 tons and 366 acres in other tame or cultivated grasses 
from which 305 tons of hay were harvested that year. There were 3,170 
acres in wild and prairie grasses cut, yielding 3,753 tons of hay. On 1,325 
acres the grain was cut green for fodder and the yield was 1,616 tons 
while from 970 acres in coarse forage 2,928 gross tons was cut. Com- 
paratively little attention was paid to any special crops. The largest single 
acreage was in potatoes, 1,056 acres producing 90,240 bushels while seventy- 
six acres in sweet potatoes yielded 8,775 bushels. A total of 1,230 acres 
were devoted to other vegetables of various sorts while six acres culti- 
vated to tobacco produced 3,500 pounds. In common with many other 
Missouri counties some attention was paid to the raising of cane for feed 
and for sorghum, there being 521 acres so planted in 1910, yielding 2,507 
tons of cane from which was manufactured 21,279 gallons of syrup. 

The county reported 136,419 fruit trees with a total production of 
56,833 bushels of various sorts of fruit during the decennial year. Di- 
vided into particular sorts there were 78,853 apple trees and a reported 
production of 53,692 bushels. The peach crop that year was light, the 
39,237 trees only bearing 1,753 bushels. Four thousand five hundred thirty- 
nine pear trees bore 545 bushels while 8,641 plum trees are reported as 
bearing only 493 bushels ; 4,859 cherry trees yielded 286 bushels. Twenty- 
seven thousand five hundred seventy-six grape vines in the county bore 
238,805 pounds of grapes. 

The total cultivated acreage in small fruits was eighty-four, produc- 
ing 68,258 quarts of fruit. Of this acreage sixteen were in strawberries, 
showing a yield of 22,844 quarts and fifty-four acres were in blackberries 
and dewberries with a reported production of 35,216 quarts. In the sta- 
tistics of the county for the year 960 cultivated nut trees are noted and 
the production totalled 12,240 pounds. 

During the year 1910 there was spent for hired labor on 1,378 farms 
reporting $166,054 in cash and to the value of $36,522 in board and lodg- 
ing. Only fifty-seven fanns that year reported the use of fertilizer and 
but $1,686 was expended for the same. There were 1,281 farms on which 
purchased feed was fed, $316,813 being spent for it while the farms of 
the whole county received a grand total of $395,521 in cash from the sale 
of feedable crops. 



CHAPTER XXVII. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



William F. Crome.— (Personal achievement of moment and conse- 
quence to the community in which the individual under review has suc- 
ceeded in his life work is deserving of more than casual mention. The 
late William F. Crome, founder of the William F. Crome and Company, 
wholesale grocery company, of Clinton, Missouri, was a pioneer in his line 
of endeavor, and succeeded in establishing a wholesale business in Clinton 
when the undertaking was looked upon as of doubtful success by others 
of the business world. He established one of the first wholesale grocery 
concerns in western Missouri and did more than any other Clinton citi- 
zen in placing Clinton in the front rank of Missouri commercial towns. 
For a quarter of a century he contributed to the commercial develop- 
ment of Clinton and western Missouri. As far back as 1887, at a time 
when it was generally considered impracticable, if not imposible, to estab- 
lish a wholesale grocery house in Clinton, Mr. Crome came here and 
placed in operation a branch house of the Fink and Nasse Wholesale 
Grocery Company of St. Louis. He began the business here under the 
name of William F. Crome and Company and his sons are at this day 
proprietors of the business which he founded and are operating success- 
fully under the original title of the concern. Nearly a third of a century 
of square dealing has made the name of William F. Crome and Com- 
pany the leading one in the wholesale grocery world of this section 
of Missouri. 

William F. Crome was born in Germany in 1853. When sixteen 
years of age he immigrated to America, without money or even influential 
friends to assist him in the upward climb to prosperous well being which 
became his after years of patient endeavor. He came to this country im- 



290 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

bued with the idea of making his fortune and was able and wilhng to 
perform any honest labor of which he was capable. He first located in 
Kentucky and from there went to Nashville, Tennessee, where he ob- 
tained employment in an eating place — a position which was no sinecure 
in those early days and requiring the hardest kind of labor. From Nash- 
ville he went to Decatur, an inland Missouri town, where he was employed 
as general assistant in a flouring mill and a general store. It was here 
that he secured his first experience in handling retail merchandise and 
gained an experience in business which was valuable to him in later 
years. His next move was to Bunker Hill, Kansas, where he operated a 
general store. Not long afterward he went to St. Louis and was married, 
shortly afterward returning to Bunker Hill with the intention of remain- 
ing there in business for himself. He soon sold out his interests in 
Kansas and, going to St. Louis, became connected with the firm of Fink 
and Nasse. Attaining a partnership in this concern, he remained in St. 
Louis until 1887, when he came to Clinton and established the wholesale 
grocery business which still bears his name and is operated by his sons. 
This was the first wholesale grocery business established in Henry County 
and is the leading one, covering a broad scope of territory in western 
Missouri. 

The trade of this establishment covers a radius of about fifty miles 
of prosperous territory around Clinton, and everything usually found in a 
first-class, well-equipped wholesale grocery house can be had at short 
notice from the William F. Crome and Company. The reputation and 
high standing of this institution has been builded upon the twin pre- 
cepts of success — quality and service. 

William F. Crome departed this life January 12, 1910 at his home 
in Clinton. He was in active management of his immense business until 
his health began to fail him. During his long years of residence in 
Clinton he took an active part in the upbuilding of the city and its de- 
velopment, contributing probably more than any other citizen of his 
day to the devolpment of this city and through his business, giving the 
city a wide advertisement as a trade center. He was a member of the 
Presbyterian Church and lived a clean and upright life, being ever ready 
to contribute liberally to worthy religious and charitable enterprises. 
For a number of years he was a member of the Clinton school board 
and took an active and influential interest in educational matters until 
compelled to resign from the board on account of failing health. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 291 

Mr. Crome was married in 1882 to Miss Julia Fink, of St. Louis. 
Mrs. Julia (Fink) Crome is the daughter of Conrad Fink, a man who 
had a remarkable business career and during his time was one of the 
captains of industry of St. Louis. Mr. Fink began his career as a steam- 
boat captain on the Mississippi River and became the owner of a fleet 
of boats plying that waterway in the days when the Mississippi was the 
great artery of commerce through the western and central sections of 
the country. He commanded the first boat to reach Memphis, flying the 
Union flag during the Civil War. After the war he engaged in the mill- 
ing business in St. Louis and amassed a fortune. Later, he engaged 
in the wholesale grocery business there and amassed another fortune. 
Mr. Fink died at Ashville, North Carolina, while sojourning there for 
his health. 

To William F. and Julia (Fink) Crome were born five children: Carl 
A., William F., Robert, Conrad E., and Alice. William F., Conrad E., and 
Carl A., are now the owners and active managers of the business founded 
by their father, and which is carried on under the name of William F. 
Crome and Company. All are well educated and received a thorough 
training in the business under their capable and successful father and 
are enterprising and worthy citizens of the city of their birth and rearing. 
The sons of William F. Crome were all educated in the Culver Military 
Academy of Indiana, and are aflSliated fraternally with the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
and are Knights Templars and members of the Mystic Shrine. The Crome 
Brothers represent a high type of progressive business men and good 
citizenship, being ever ready and liberal in their contributions and sup- 
port of worthy local enterprises. Carl A. Crome married Miss Helen 
Mitchell of Clinton, and has one child, Helen Elizabeth. Miss Alice Crome 
resides with her mother in Clinton. William F. Crome was married in 
July, 1918, to Miss Cory McConnell of Clinton. Conrad F. Crome was 
born August 5, 1892, is an enlisted officer in the National Army of the 
United States, was graduated from the Second Officers' Training Camp at 
Fort Sheridan, August 28, 1917, and is now serving as captain with the 
305th Supply Train, with the American Field Army at the western front 
in France. 

Charles Houston Whitaker, owner and editor of the Clinton daily and 
weekly "Democrat," was born in Savannah, Missouri, February 22, 1862, 
his parents being Charles Houston and Mary Elizabeth (Selecman) Whita- 



292 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ker. He pursued his education in the schools of Macomb, Illinois, where 
he completed the high school course. His boyhood and youth were passed 
in Macomb and his initial training in newspaper work came to him in the 
office of his father, who was then owner and publisher of the Macomb 
"Eagle." Mr. Whitaker has been a resident of Clinton since 1894. He 
has made the "Democrat" both a mirror and molder of public opinion, 
utilizing the most progressive methods of modern journalism in the pub- 
lication of his paper, which in both the daily and weekly editions now has 
a wide circulation. The name indicates the political complexion of the 
paper and its editor, who has always been a stalwart advocate of Demo- 
cratic principles, content, however, to support the party as a private citizen 
rather than seek the rewards of office in recognition of party fealty. 

On the seventh of October, 1891, in Galesburg, Illinois, Mr. Whitaker 
was united in marriage to Miss Ella May Martin, a daughter of T. B. Mar- 
tin, of Galesburg. They now have three children : Helen Elizabeth, Charles 
Houston and Marian Frances. Mr. Whitaker belongs to the Masonic fra- 
ternity, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Benevolent Protective 
Order of Elks, being exalted ruler of Clinton Lodge, No. 1034, in the years 
1913-14. In private life as well as through his journalistic connections he 
stands for progressiveness in citizenship and for civic betterment and has 
made the "Democrat" a power for good along those lines. 

Clay Adair, the well known postmaster of Clinton, Missouri, is a de- 
scendant of pioneer Missouri families on both the maternal and paternal 
sides. Mr. Adair was born in Fayette County, Texas, August 24, 1869, a 
son of Joseph and Margaret (Payne) Adair, both natives of Missouri, 
born at Independence. Joseph Adair was the first male white child born 
in Independence. He grew to manhood in Jackson County, and when gold 
was discovered in California in 1849 he made the trip via the overland 
route with Upton Hayes. After remaining on the coast for two years he 
returned by way of the Isthmus of Panama in 1851. In 1855 he went to 
Texas, where he was residing when the Civil War broke out. He enlisted 
in the Confederate army and after serving two years was discharged. His 
service was under General Myers. He died in 1904 and his wife died 
March 13, 1901, and their remains are interred in the Englewood Cemetery 
in Clinton. Margaret (Payne) Adair was a daughter of A. J. Payne, a 
pioneer of Independence, Missouri. He died in that locality and later his 
family started for California and the mother died on the way. 

To Joseph and Margaret (Payne) Adair were born the following 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 293 

children, Thomas, deceased ; John, deceased ; Mrs. Mary Wellborn, Chicka- 
sha, Oklahoma ; A. J. Adair, deceased ; Joseph D., deceased ; Isaac, resides 
in Clinton, Missouri; Clay, the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Maggie Chap- 
man, deceased ; Mrs. Frank Taylor, El Keno, Oklahoma, and Mrs. Ray Wade, 
Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

Clay Adair was reared in Texas and educated in the district schools 
and Ad Ran College at Thorpe Springs, Texas. In early life he was engaged 
in the cattle business in western Texas, where he remained until 1888. 
The family then returned to Henry County, Missouri, and settled on a 
farm near Calhoun. Here Mr. Adair was engaged in general farming and 
stock raising until 1896, when he came to Clinton and engaged in the livery 
business. Two years later he was appointed deputy recorder of deeds for 
the county and at the death of William Duncan, Mr. Adair was appointed 
to serve the unexpired term by Governor Dockerty. In 1904 Mr. Adair 
was elected county treasurer of Henry County, and served one term of two 
years. He then accepted a position to serve as farm loan examiner for 
the Prudential Insurance Company, and on March 19, 1914, he was ap- 
pointed postmaster of Clinton, Missouri, by President Wilson, and re- 
appointed to that office at the expiration of his first term in 1918. 

November 22, 1892, Mr. Adair was united in man-iage with Miss Ollie 
M. Gutridge of Calhoun, Missouri. She is a daughter of John W. and 
Elizabeth (Pigg) Gutridge, one of the very early pioneer families of Henry 
County. A more complete history of the Gutridge family is given else- 
where in this volume. To Mr. and Mrs. Adair have been born three chil- 
dren: Eugene D., now serving as deputy circuit clerk of Henry County; 
Louise N., married T. L. Francisco, Clinton, Missouri, and Mary Margaret, 
who resides at home with her parents. 

Mr. Adair is one of Henry County's foremost citizens and a capable 
and efficient public official. He has ever been true to any public trust 
delegated to him. He is public spirited and takes a keen interest in all 
matters pertaining to the betterment and upbuilding of the county and 
its institutions. 

Peyton A. Parks. — The name of Parks figures prominently in connec- 
tion with the history of the courts in Henry County and Peyton A. Parks 
is today one of the distinguished members of the bar of Henry County. 
He was born in this county, August 22, 1855, a son of James and Mary 
(Allen) Parks. His paternal grandfather was one of Missouri's honored 
pioneer settlers and laid out and founded the city of Clinton. He was 



294 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

licensed to practice law in Kentucky in 1823 and became one of the early 
and prominent members of the Missouri bar, displaying notable ability in 
the trial of cases and the handling of important litigated interests en- 
trusted to his care. The name of Parks has for eighty years been closely 
associated with the history of Henry County and has ever been a synonym 
for progressiveness and public-spirited citizenship. James Parks, father 
of Peyton A. Parks, was born near Stanford, Lincoln County, Kentucky, 
October 23, 1827. In early life he devoted his attention to farming and 
school teaching. He accompanied his parents on their removal to Cooper 
County, Missouri, in 1827, and to Henry County in 1834 so that he here 
practically spent his entire life. In 1860 he was elected county assessor 
and made a creditable record in that capacity. Subsequently other official 
honors were conferred upon him. He became circuit clerk and recorder 
of deeds and while thus engaged his interest in the law led him to take 
up the study of the principles of jurisprudence and he was admitted to 
the bar. He then entered upon active practice as a member of the firm 
of R. Allen & Company and following the withdrawal of Mr. Allen, Judge 
Gantt joined Mr. Parks in a partnership, and with the addition of a third 
member, William T. Thornton, the firm style of Parks, Thornton & Gantt 
was assumed. That relation continued until Mr. Thornton was appointed 
governor of the territory of New Mexico by President Cleveland, and 
Judge Gantt went upon the circuit bench. Mr. Parks was joined by his 
son Peyton in 1880 and they continued together in the practice of law 
until the father retired because of old age. He was probate judge for 
twenty years and was long accounted one of the foremost members of the 
bar in his section of the State. He held to the highest ideals of the pro- 
fession and the thoroughness and care with which he prepared his cases 
and the clearness, force and logic with which he presented his cause before 
the courts made him notably successful. He died June 26, 1904, honored 
and respected by all who knew him. For about three years he had sur- 
vived his wife, who passed away July 2, 1901. 

Peyton A. Parks was the only son in a family of six children. He at- 
tended both public and pi'ivate schools of Clinton and when twenty years 
of age began teaching, remaining as principal of the Montrose schools for 
three and a half years. In the meantime he took up the study of law, to 
which he devoted his leisure hours, and following his admission to the bar 
he entered upon active practice in connection with his father. He has 
since continued as a general practitioner and devotes his entire time to 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 295 

his professional duties. Four generations of the Parks family have been 
connected with the legal profession in Clinton, for Peyton A. Parks is 
now associated with his only son, James A. They have one of the best 
equipped and most complete law offices to be found outside of the large 
cities. They occupy a suite of rooms in a two story building which they 
erected. The lower floor is divided into two large general offices, separated 
only by a broad archway and grille work. In the rear of these are the 
private offices. The walls are lined with long cases filled with works on 
law. The upper floor consists of one large room, richly carpeted, and at 
each end of the room is a long council table. In this room the four walls 
are completely lined with continuous shelves of books rising from the floor 
to more than three-fourths the height of the wall. Above the cases 
on one side of the room are enlarged pictures of the father and grand- 
father of Peyton A. Parks and also of his maternal grandfather, while 
the other four walls are adorned with pictures of well known statesmen 
and eminent men. With the contents of an extensive library Peyton A. 
Parks is largely familiar. He is a constant student of the law and seems 
never at a loss for principle or precedent to cite in proof of the correctness 
of his position. 

On the twenty-first of September, 1882, Mr. Parks was married to 
Miss Mary E. Gathright, who was bom in Callaway County, Missouri, a 
daughter of James and Hester E. (Shackleford) Gathright, both of whom 
were natives of Virginia and at an early day went to Callaway County. 
The father engaged in farming, but afterward turned his attention to 
merchandising in Henry County, although death soon terminated his busi- 
ness career in the latter county. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Parks was born a 
son, James A., whose natal day was October 13, 1883. He is now associ- 
ated with his father in law practice. He married Miss Lizzie Wallis, and 
they have one child, Frances, born August 16, 1913. James A. Parks de- 
votes his entire time to his professional duties. Both father and son arc 
members of the Masonic fraternity and hold membership with the Mod- 
ern Woodmen and with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Pey- 
ton A. Parks as well as the junior member gives his political allegiance 
the Democratic party and always keeps well informed on the questions 
and issues of the day. He was county school commissioner when engaged 
in teaching from 1879 to 1881 and also a member of the State tax com- 
mission under Governor Dockery. Both father and son have been very 
active in all patriotic lines and war activities. The former has been and 



296 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

is vice-chairman of the Red Cross in Henry County, speaking and organiz- 
ing on that line. For the past twenty-six years, or from 1892, Mr. Parks 
has been chairman of the sixth congressional committee. Mr. Peyton 
Parks and his wife are members of the Baptist Church and their social 
position is one of well deserved prominence. Theirs is a hospitable home 
and its good cheer is enjoyed by a constantly increasing circle of friends. 
A lifelong resident of Henry County, Peyton A. Parks has made an hon- 
orable record, following in the footsteps of father and grandfather and 
carrying on the work which was instituted by them in behalf of city and 
county. No history of this section would be considered complete without 
extended mention of the Parks family, so active have they been in sup- 
port of all that pertains to the welfare, progress and improvement of this 
section of the State. 

J. W. Penland, one of Henry County's most successful men and a 
member of a pioneer family of this section of Missouri, is a native of 
Tennessee. He was born in Cox County, Tennessee, August 23, 1843, a 
son of Aaron and Catherine (Phillips) Penland, the former a native of 
Tennessee and the latter of South Carolina. Aaron Penland came to Mis- 
souri with his family in 1871, and settled in Henry County on the Grand 
River, west of Clinton. Here he followed farming during the remainder 
of his life. He died in 1885, and his wife departed this life in 1893. 
They were the parents of six children, as follow: S. K., Clinton, Mis- 
souri; J. W. the subject of this sketch; Jane, now Mrs. Bryant, Galena, 
Kansas; Edna Langley, now deceased; Mrs. Maggie Stephens, Galena, 
Kansas, and A. G., deceased. 

In early life J. W. Penland worked by the month as a farm laborer. 
When he came to Henry County he had saved about $1,000, and he de- 
posited $600 of that in a bank which failed a short time afterward. He 
then went to work on the construction of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas 
railroad and when the I'oad began to be operated he took charge of the 
Grand River pumping station, which furnished water to the tank there 
to supply the locomotives with water. At first the water was pumped 
by hand, which task Mr. Penland performed with the assistance of an- 
other man. Later improved machinery was installed, which consisted 
of horse power. This continued to be the method of pumping until the 
water tank was removed to Deepwater, where a steam pump was installed. 
Mr. Penland was in the employ of the railroad company eleven years in all. 

Early in life Mr. Penland realized the earning power of money and 




JOHN W. PENLAND 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 297 

while in the employ of the railroad company he not only purchased two 
hundred acres of land, but loaned considerable money, and during his 
entire business career in Henry County has loaned large sums of money. 
He was engaged in farming for ten years and in 1894 came to Clinton, 
where he has since made his home, and during that time has carried on 
an extensive loan business. During his time he has owned a great deal 
of land in Henry County and has bought and sold several hundred acres 
in the course of his various transactions. He is one of Henry County's 
substantial citizens and has accumulated a comfortable fortune. He has 
invested $14,000 in Liberty Bonds. 

Mr. Penland was united in marriage in 1881 to Miss Anna Potter, 
a native of Indiana. She departed this life January 12, 1912. No chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Penland. Mr. Penland has been a life 
long Democrat and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He 
has seen much of the development of Henry County and in its upbuilding 
has contributed his part. He is public spirited and has ever co-operated 
with any movement for the betterment of Clinton and Henry County. 

W. T. Runner, the well known and popular sheriff of Henry County, 
is a native of Illinois. He was born in Peru, Illinois, November 20, 1865, 
and is a son of William and Helen (Epperson) Runner, the former a native 
of that part of Virginia which is now West Virginia and the latter of 
Missouri. 

The Runner family were early settlers in western Missouri. Michael 
Runner, grandfather of Sheriff Runner, settled in Post Oak township, John- 
son County, on Mineral Creek several years prior to the Civil War. He 
was a Virginian and came to this State with his family and followed 
farming in Johnson County until his death. He was a victim of bush- 
whackers during the days of the border war. He was an old man at the 
time when the Civil War broke out, and on account of his advanced age, 
he believed that he would be unharmed and remained on his place, but 
subsequent events proved that he was mistaken, for his blood-thirsty 
assassins were no respecters of gray hairs. They murdered him the next 
day after they had murdered his son, Isaac, who was a cripple, having 
lost a leg in an accident some years previous. The father and son were 
killed while they with the assistance of their women folks were preparing 
for the burial of an uncle of Sheriff Runner, a brother of his father, 
whom the bushwhackers had previously killed. After murdering the three 
members of the family, the marauders robbed the house of everything 



298 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

of value and took the horses with them. Sheriff Runner's grandmother 
spent her hfe on the old home place in Johnson County, which is still 
owned by her descendants. 

William Runner, father of Sheriff Runner, went to Illinois, where he 
remained during the Civil War and at its close returned to Johnson County, 
where he was successfully engaged in farming and stock raising during 
the remainder of his life. He died January 26, 1892. His wife departed 
this life November 15, 1903. She was born in Pettis County, and her 
parents were early settlers in that section of Missouri. They were Ken- 
tuckians. 

Sheriff Runner is one of a family of six children born to his parents 
as follows: James, Joplin, Missouri; W. T., the subject of this sketch; 
Walter, Memphis, Tennessee ; Joseph, died at the age of twenty-one years ; 
Leota, now the wife of Thomas Garnett, a railroad contractor residing at 
Lake Charles, Louisiana, and Maud, the wife of J. B. Thompson, Lake 
Charles, Louisiana. 

W. T. Runner was reared to manhood in Johnson County, Missouri, 
and reecived his education in the public schools. He followed farming 
there until 1889, when he came to Henry County and bought a farm in 
Shawnee township. Here he was engaged in farming and stock raising 
until 1916, when he was elected sheriff of Henry County, and since that 
time has resided in Clinton and devoted himself to the duties of that 
office. He is a capable and conscientious public official and has a broad 
acquaintance in Henry County and friends without number. He has a 
valuable farm of 160 acres in Shawnee township which he has rented 
since he assumed the duties of the office of sheriff. Sheriff Runner is a 
Democrat and has been identified with that party since boyhood. 

In 1887 W. T. Runner was united in marriage with Miss Blanche 
Cameron, a native of Henry County, and a daughter of James Cameron, 
a Henry County pioneer, now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Runner have been 
born three children: Rolla, now a member of the One Hundred Twenty- 
ninth Field Artillery, National Army, in service on the western front in 
France; Glenn, and Earl, who reside at home. Mrs. Blanche Runner, 
mother of the foregoing children, died in 1907. Mr. Runner married Mrs. 
Carrie Cochrane, a widow, in 1909. Mrs. Carrie Runner has one daughter 
by a former marriage, Jessie, at home. 

Sheriff Runner is a member of the Masonic Lodge and the Baptist 
Church. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 299 

Charles J. Keil. — Starting out in the business world at an early age, 
Charles J. Keil has since been dependent upon his own efforts and resources 
and the success which he has achieved has come to him as the direct result 
of his determination and energy, guided by sound judgment. He was 
born at Huntsville, Alabama, October 6, 1864, a son of Joseph W. and 
Louisa A. (Plath) Keil. The father was a native of Austria, born April 3, 
1838, while the mother's birth occurred in Prussia, March 2, 1838. The 
father learned the jeweler's trade in his native land and when a young 
man came to the United States, working for a time in New York City, 
after which he removed to Huntsville, Alabama. There after remaining 
for a brief period in the employ of another he started in business on his 
own account. His final naturalization papers were granted him in 1866. 
He was married in Huntsville in 1860 and left that State in December, 
1864, removing to Burlington, Iowa, but after a few months there he took 
up his abode in Rushville, Illinois. He had sacrificed all his property in 
Alabama owing to the exigencies of the war. After five years at Rush- 
ville he removed to Clinton, Missoui'i, on the tenth day of June, 1870, and 
engaged in the jewelry business, in which he continued until his death on 
the twenty-eighth of August, 1897. While his stock was at first com- 
paratively small, he built up the largest business not only in Henry County 
but in his part of the State and became recognized as one of the foremost 
merchants of Clinton. He devoted much time to his commercial interests, 
but when he had leisure moments spent them in caring for his flowers. 
He was the possessor of the finest flower garden in this part of the State, 
cultivating every species and variety of flowers that could be raised in 
this climate. He found both pleasure and relaxation in this and his fellow 
townsmen pointed with pride to his beautiful gardens. Mrs. Keil still 
makes her home in Clinton, where she has now resided for forty-four 
years. They were the parents of four children. 

Charles J. Keil, the third in order of birth, attended the public schools 
of Clinton and under his father's direction learned the jeweler's trade. He 
took his place behind the counter when but nine years of age. His father 
gave him most thorough instruction in all branches of the work. He 
would not allow him to take down a watch until he knew how to make 
every part of it. He continued in the store and eventually was admitted 
to partnership by his father, the relationship being thus maintained until 
the father's death, although for some years prior to his demise the son 
was in full control of the business, owing to the condition of his father's 



300 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

health. Charles J. Keil has devoted his entire time and attention to the 
store and its interests and the Keil jewelry establishment is known all 
over this part of Missouri. He carries one of the largest and most com- 
plete stocks outside of Kansas City and, in fact, his establishment would 
compare favorably with many of the leading jewelry houses of the metrop- 
olis of western Missouri. He occupies two floors of a building one hundred 
by twenty-two feet and the property is owned by Mr. Keil. He carries a 
most interesting line of both foreign and domestic manufacture and a 
very attractive stock of diamonds and other jewels. 

In September, 1897, Mr. Keil was united in marriage to Miss Hen- 
rietta Kemper, who was born in Audrain County, Missouri, near Mexico, 
a daughter of Jonathan and Martha E. (Early) Kemper, who were natives 
of Owen County, Kentucky. The father, who was born January 2, 1826, 
died January 13, 1902, at the advanced age of seventy-six years. His 
wife was born August 13, 1849. In early life he engaged in the stock 
business in his native State and after removing to Missouri he continued 
in the same line in Audrain County, where he preempted land and developed 
a good farm. After residing there for a number of years he removed to 
Montrose, Henry County, where he continued in the same business, re- 
maining in that locality throughout the rest of his days. His widow sur- 
vives him and now makes her home in Clinton with Mr. and Mrs. Keil. 
A little nephew of Mrs. Keil, born in 1901, also resides with them, for, 
having been left an orphan when a mere child, he was adopted into their 
family. In politics Mr. Keil is an independent Democrat. He has filled 
the office of city treasurer, yet has never been a politician in the usually 
accepted term of office seeking. Fraternally he is connected with the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Fra- 
ternal Aid. He is likewise a member of the Christian Church and his life, 
at all times honorable in its purposes, has won for him the high regard 
of those with whom he has been associated. Mr. Keil is a deacon in the 
Christian Church and is secretary and treasurer of the Henry County Board 
of Christian Churches, a position which he has capably filled for several 
years. He never fails to meet an obligation or keep an engagement, holds 
to the highest standards of commercial ethics and the consensus of opin- 
ion on the part of his colleagues and contemporaries places him with the 
leading business men and citizens of Clinton. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 301 

W. H. Hurley, president of the W. H. Hurley Grain Company of Clin- 
ton, Missouri, is one of the progressive business men of Henry County. He 
was born at Saukville, Wisconsin, November 8, 1873, and is a son of James 
and Hannah (McCarthy) Hurley, the former a native of New York and 
the latter of Massachusetts. They came west and settled in Wisconsin 
at an early day. The mother is now deceased and the father resides in 
Wisconsin. They were the parents of the following children: James F., 
Green Ridge, Missouri; Agnes, married Merton Emery, West Bend, Wis- 
consin; Catherine, a trained nurse in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Robert, a 
locomotive engineer on the Northern Pacific railway, resides at Tacoma, 
Washington; Frank, employed in the city treasurer's office at Seattle, 
Washington; Anna, the wife of Lieut. J. J. Clark, who is now in France 
with the National Army, and she resides at West Bend, Wisconsin, and 
W. H., the subject of this sketch. 

W. H. Hurley was reared in Wisconsin and attended the public schools. 
He also took a business course in the Spencerian Business College, Mil- 
waukee, Wisconsin. He began his business career in a lumber yard at 
Rich Hill, Missouri, where he remained two years, and in 1897 came to 
Clinton, where he was engaged in the lumber business for ten years. In 
1907 he engaged in the grain business at Clinton, continuing in that busi- 
ness under his individual name until 1916, when the W. H. Hurley Grain 
Company was incoi-porated and Mr. Hurley became its president. This 
company is one of the important commercial institutions of Clinton and 
Henry County. They have a large storage elevator in Clinton which is 
the headquarters of the company. They have an elevator at La Due also, 
and about twelve buying stations in various parts of the country. The 
main office of the company and elevator are located on Main, Grand and 
River streets in Clinton and they employ about eight men. 

Mr. Hurley was united in marriage October 8, 1897, to Miss Winifred 
L. McCarty of Rich Hill, Missouri. Four children have been born to this 
union as follow: Jessie, a student at Loretta College, Webster Groves, Mis- 
souri ; Winifred, student in the Clinton High School ; Robert, a student in 
Clinton High School, and Margaret, also a student in the Clinton schools. 

Mr. Hurley is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks and the Knights of Columbus. His political affiliations are with the 
Democratic party, but he is inclined to be independent in politics. He is 
one of Clinton's substantial and progressive business men, whose contri- 
bution to the commercial importance of the town is no small factor. 



302 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

L. C. Jones, the well known recorder of deeds of Henry County, is a 
native of Indiana. He was bom in Jennings County in 1868, a son of Louis 
E. and Catherine (Burns) Jones, both natives of Indiana. The Jones 
family is of old Virginia stock and George D. Jones, grandfather of L. C, 
was a Virginian, and went to Indiana from his native State at a very 
early day in the history of Indiana. Later, or about 1867, he went to 
Illinois, where he spent the remainder of his life. Louis E. Jones removed 
from Indiana to Illinois in 1868, and now resides near Chester, Randolph 
County, Illinois. Catherine (Burns) Jones is also a descendant of one of 
the very early pioneer families of Indiana. 

L. C. Jones is one of a family of seven children born to his parents, 
six of whom are living as follow: E. W., Terre Haute, Indiana; I. H., 
Sparta, Illinois; Nellie, the wife of John Boyd, Effingham, Illinois; Ina, 
now the wife of John Kull, who resides in northern Indiana; Susan, the 
wife of Lee Nolan, Sparta, Illinois, and L. C, the subject of this sketch. 

L. C. Jones was reared and educated in Illinois. He spent his boy- 
hood days on the home farm and in 1887 came to Henry County, Missouri, 
where he followed farming and threshing for twenty-three years. He was 
engaged in the mercantile business at Quarles for eight years, although 
he has always been interested in farming and threshing. In 1914 he was 
elected recorder of Henry County and is now serving in that capacity, 
although he continues to reside on his home place, which is a splendid 
farm of 180 acres in Deer Creek township. In addition to general farm- 
ing Mr. Jones is extensively engaged in raising cattle, horses and mules, 
and is well known as a successful breeder of pure blood Shropshire sheep. 

Mr. Jones was married April 22, 1892, to Miss Lillian I. Spicer, a na- 
tive of St. Louis County, Missouri. Four children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Jones, Luther C, Bisbee, Arizona; Grace E., Claud and Alice, 
who reside at home with their parents. The family are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and Mr. Jones is a member of the 
Modern Woodmen of America, the Masonic Lodge and has been identified 
with the Democratic party since boyhood. He is one of the substantial 
and enterprising citizens of Henry County. 

Edgar Comick, proprietor of the Clinton Green House, is one of the 
progressive business men of Clinton, and at the head of the oldest estab- 
lished green house in the county. This green house is located in the south- 
western part of the city on Artesian avenue, and was established about 
twelve years ago. About three acres are devoted to flower and plant 
culture and about 6,500 square feet are under glass. Here all kinds of 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3?03 

plants, flowers, bulbs and shrubs usually found in a modem green house 
are kept growing summer and winter. The plant is equipped with steam 
heat so that the temperature can be kept normal for plant life during the 
most severe winter weather. The Clinton Green House has customers 
covering a large scope of territory and flowers are shipped to numerous 
towns in the surrounding country. 

Edgar Cornick was born near Ripley, Brown County, Ohio, December 
1, 1874, a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Van Landingham) Cornick. 
Thomas Cornick, the father, was a son of John Cornick, who came to Ohio 
with his parents when he was a child. He died in 1874. He was a native 
of Pennsylvania and a son of Thomas Cornick, who came to Ohio with his 
family at a very early date, before Ohio was admitted to statehood, and 
settled in what later became Brown County. When the Comick family 
crossed the Allegheny Mountains on their way to Ohio, which was then 
the far west, they carried their belongings on pack horses, and the sub- 
ject of this sketch has heard it related by his ancestors how they carried 
their children in two large baskets that were suspended on either side 
of one of the horses, and the grandfather of Mr. Cornick of this review 
was one of the children that was thus carried from Pennsylvania. 

Thomas Cornick, the great-grandfather of Edgar, was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary War and spent the latter years of his life in Ohio. Thomas 
Cornick, the father of our subject, was a soldier in the Union army during 
the Civil War and served in Battery F, First Ohio Light Artillery. He 
enlisted when the war broke out and served until its close, and took part 
in several important engagements but was never wounded. Elizabeth 
(Van Landingham) Comick was born in Flemmingsburg, Kentucky, in 
1831 and came to Ohio with her parents in 1845. She was a daughter of 
Manly Van Landingham. She died in 1911. Her husband departed this 
life in 1909. 

Edgar Cornick was one of a family of six children born t'o his parents 
who are now living: Thomas, resides near Ripley, Ohio; Mary, married 
G. C. Jordan, Lavanna, Ohio; W. N., Clinton, Missouri; Ida, married W. 
T. Jordan, a former resident of Clinton, now residing at Lavanna, Ohio; 
Arthur, Clinton, Missouri, and Edgar, the subject of this sketch. Mr. 
Comick was reared and educated in Ohio. He first came to Missouri in 
1898, and after spending about a year here retumed to Ohio and for a 
time was engaged in farming and later entered the shoe business. In 
1913 he retumed to Missouri, and for two years was employed in the 



304 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

green house which he purchased in 1915, in partnership with W. T. Jor- 
dan, and later bought Mr. Jordan's interest. Mr. Comick is a member of 
the Modern Woodmen of America and the Woodmen of the World, and 
politically is identified with the Republican party, although he is inclined 
to be independent. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

George N. Angle. — The Angle farm in Davis township is one of the 
finest farms in Missouri. The home farm upon which the residence is 
located on a sloping hillside and overlooking a vast tract of country stretch- 
ing away on every hand, consists of three hundred sixty acres. In addi- 
tion to this tract another farm of ninety-five acres lies in the Grand River 
bottoms and is noted for its fertility. Mr. Angle has made this place his 
home since 1883 and has gradually built improvements until it is one of 
the beautiful places in Henry County. The residence of seven rooms 
was erected in 1903, supplanting the old house which had stood on the 
site for many years. On the Angle farms have been sown for this sea- 
son's crops one hundred fifty-six acres of wheat, one hundred fifteen acres 
of oats and one hundred five acres of corn. Mr. Angle's sons are farm- 
ing one hundred eighty acres of their own land and one hundred eleven 
acres which they are renting. The Angle farm is a very productive one, 
which boasts a heavy output of live stock each year. Only recently Mr. 
Angle has disposed of a carload of cattle and one of hogs (April, 1918). 
The average output of Hereford or white face cattle from the place is 
about one hundred five head. The yearly production of Duroc Jersey hogs 
is over one hundred eighty head. Fifteen head of work horses and mules 
are maintained on the place. 

George N. Angle was born August 7, 1855, in Pike County, Missouri, 
and is the son of John and Sarah Elizabeth (Ferguson) Angle, who set- 
tled in Henry County in 1866. 

John Angle was born in Pike County, Missouri, February 4, 1830, 
and died in Clinton, Missouri, November 18, 1914. He was the son of 
Jacob Angle, a native of Germany who emigrated to America and settled 
in St. Louis in 1812. Some years later he went to Pike County, Missouri, 
and settled on Salt River, not far from the city of Louisiana. John Angle 
was reared in Pike County and there married Elizabeth Ferguson, Octo- 
ber 26, 1854. Elizabeth (Ferguson) Angle is a daughter of John and Re- 
becca (Stevenson) Ferguson, natives of Kentucky who were pioneer set- 
tlers of Pike County, Missouri. Mrs. Elizabeth Angle was born September 
3, 1835, and is now living in Clinton, one of the oldest of the pioneer women 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 305 

of Henry County. The Angle family came to Henry County in 1866 and 
first settled a few miles northwest of Clinton and some time later settled 
in Davis township, where John Angle improved a splendid farm and be- 
came fairly well-to-do and highly respected. John and Elizabeth Angle 
were parents of eleven children, five of whom are living, as follow : George 
N., the subject of this review; Sarah, died in 1855; John Richard, resid- 
ing in Clinton ; Harvey, deceased ; Ernest Angle, died in 1905 ; Solon, lives 
in Canada, and has a family of eight children; Mrs. Orpha Dooley, lives 
in Clinton and has a family of four children, and Daisy Jeffries, lives in 
Oklahoma. John Angle became owner of two hundred sixty acres of 
land in Davis township and resided there until he removed to Clinton, 
where he died four years later. 

George Angle was eleven years of age when he accompanied his par- 
ents to Henry County. He received his early education in the Fields 
Creek school. He located in Davis township in 1879 and remained with 
his parents on the home farm until he was twenty-five years old. He be- 
gan to make his own way when he attained his majority and has been 
successful from the start of his career. He purchased his first land in 
1883 and with his wife's assistance and the joining of their respective 
capitals he became owner of one hundred twenty acres. With the excep- 
tions of forty-seven acres, which was Mrs. Angle's by inheritance, all of 
the Angle lands have been purchased on time. Mr. Angle found it a good 
business policy to go in debt for land and make the land pay for itself 
with wise cultivation and good business management. His large farm of 
four hundred fifty-five acres is one of the best in Henry County and one 
of the most productive. He has deviated considerably from the old time 
methods of agriculture and is progressive. 

March 20, 1881, the mari-iage of George N. Angle and Miss Ella 
Rogers was solemnized. This marriage has been blessed with the follow- 
ing children : Albert F., born April 20, 1882, married Miss Marie Bassaird 
of Sonora, California, February 12, 1918, and resides at Sonora; John 
Ferguson, born April 17, 1883, died at the age of twelve years; Leslie, 
born April 25, 1885, resides in Isabelle, South Dakota ; Bertha, bom Octo- 
ber 4, 1887, married W. L. Coonrod in October, 1915, and lives at Carter- 
ville, Missouri; Earl, born October 30, 1889, Fairfield, Montana, married 
Alma Zimmerman August 20, 1917; Ralph, a farmer of Davis township, 
born November 11, 1891, married Clara Ogan in October, 1916; William 
A., bom November 19, 1893, graduated from the Clinton High School, 



306 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

studied at the State University and is now engaged in farming on the 
home place; Clarence, born January 19, 1896, enlisted in the United 
States Navy in December, 1917, and was located at the Great Lakes Naval 
Training Station, and is now a member of the crew of the United States 
battleship Wisconsin; Donald, born April 28, 1898, is a graduate of the 
Clinton High School; Mary, born February 9, 1901, is a student in the 
Clinton High School; Velma, born May 3, 1903, died January 4, 1905. 
The mother of this fine family of children was born December 2, 1860, 
in Henry County, and is the daughter of Thomas and Lucinda (Fletcher) 
Rogers, the latter of whom was born on December 4, 1831, at Lexington, 
Missouri, a daughter of James Fletcher, a pioneer settler of Henry County. 
She died in 1866. Thomas Rogers was born at Winchester, Kentucky, 
February 18, 1824, and died May 16, 1883. He was among the earliest 
of the Henry County pioneers and established one of the first stores in 
Clinton. He was the first postmaster of Clinton and came from Kentucky 
to Henry County in the late thirties. His wife was the first to be buried 
in the old Clinton Cemetery. After her mother's death, Mrs. Angle was 
reared by her aunt, Mrs. Jane Trotter of Carrollton, Missouri. 

Mr. Angle is a Republican and he has generally taken an active and 
influential interest in civic matters in his home township. For over 
thirty-one years he has been school trustee. He and Mrs. Angle and 
their children are members of the Mt. Carmel Presbyterian Church. Mr. 
Angle is affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a charter 
member of the Mt. Carmel Presbyterian Church and has served as an 
elder for thirty years and has been Sunday school superintendent for 
past thirty years. 

Capt. W. F. Carter, a Civil War veteran, now engaged in the real 
estate, loan and insurance business at Clinton, comes of a long line of good 
old Southern stock and is one of the representative pioneers of Henry 
County. Captain Carter was boi-n in St. Clair County, Missouri, March 4, 
1843, Osceola being his native town. He is a son of William F. and Eliza 
A. (Conn) Carter. The father was a native of Culpeper County, Virginia, 
and was a member of the "first families of Virginia." Anna Hill Carter, 
of Shirley, Virginia, a close relative of William F. Carter, was the wife 
of Gen. Robert E. Lee, and this branch of the Carters trace their lineage 
back to Robert Carter, who was the agent of Lord Fairfax, and he was 
a conspicuous figure in the colony of Virginia prior to the Revolutionary 
War and a very wealthy man. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY STOT 

William F. Carter, the father of Captain Carter, the subject of this 
review, was at General Washington's funeral, but was a baby in his 
mother's arms. He grew to manhood in Virginia and became very wealthy, 
at one time owning 8,500 acres of land, which was located in Kentucky. 
Later he removed to Missouri and bought what was known as the "two 
mile farm" near St. Louis. He went to St. Clair County about 1842, and 
was engaged in farming the balance of his life. He was a thorough scholar 
and was a graduate from the law department of the University of Virginia, 
taking his degree from that institution when he was eighteen years of 
age. He was a fine Latin and Greek scholar and an accomplished gentle- 
man of the old school and a great enthusiast in educational matters. He 
died at the age of sixty-two years. He was related to the Washington 
family in the following manner: George Washington's sister, Bettie, mar- 
ried Col. Fielding Lewis, Washington's aide-de-camp. To this union was 
bom one daughter, Bettie, who married Charles Carter, and Charles Carter 
and Bettie Lewis were the parents of W. F. Carter, Captain Carter's father. 
Eliza A. Conn, Captain Carter's mother, was bom at White Sulphur Springs, 
Kentucky. She was a daughter of Colonel Conn, who was the owTier of 
White Sulphur Springs. She died in 1872. 

Captain Carter is the only living member of the children born to his 
parents. When a youth he attended the public schools at Osceola, Mis- 
souri, and was prepared for college under the preceptorship of his father. 
He was a student in the University of Missouri when the Civil War broke 
out. In April, 1861, at the first call to arms, he enlisted in the Confederate 
cavalry service and later was transferred to the infantry, serving as sec- 
ond lieutenant in the Ninth Missouri Infantry, and practically had com- 
mand of Company A most of the time. He participated in many impor- 
tant engagements but was never wounded, sick nor taken prisoner. He 
was of the cheerful type of soldier, never seeing the discouraging nor 
gloomy side of life, even in the most trying hours. He won the reputa- 
tion of being the j oiliest soldier in his regiment. During his term of ser- 
vice he was with his command in Missouri, Arkansas, Texas and Louisi- 
ana, and served four years, two months and ten days. As a soldier his 
fidelity to duty never ceased and his service never ended until the prin- 
ciples for which he fought were hopelessly inscribed, "the lost cause." 

At the close of the war Captain Carter returned to Missouri, and 
located at Sedalia. In 1868 he came to Henry County and engaged in the 
mercantile business at Montrose Here he prospered and built up a large 



308 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

business establishment, but in 1876 he met with a severe financial loss, 
his business being destroyed by fire. He was then elected county treas- 
urer of Henry County and moved to Clinton. After the expiration of his 
term of office he was employed as clerk in Sammons & Sammons Bank 
until that institution failed. In 1905 he engaged in real estate, insurance 
and loan business, in which he is still engaged. In 1915 he was elected 
collector of Clinton township and re-elected at the expiration of his first 
term, serving until 1918. 

Captain Carter was married September 2, 1869, to Miss Frances 
Vickars, a native of Missouri, of Virginia parentage. To this union was 
born seven children, four of whom are living: Fanny, wife of Frank S. 
Callaway, Kansas City ; Jennie Washington, married Ed Covington, Deep- 
water, Missouri ; Frank, proprietor of the Troy Laundry, Clinton ; Stephen 
v., engaged in Government service at Tacoma, Washington. The mother 
of these children died in 1887 and in 1895 Captain Carter was united in 
marriage with Miss Jennie Kennedy, who had been a teacher in the Clinton 
public schools for a number of years prior to her marriage. 

Captain Carter has been a Mason for fifty-three years, and is a Knights 
Templar. He has been a lifelong Democrat and is a member of the Metho- 
dist Church, South. He is well known in Henry County and in this section 
of Missouri, and no man stands higher in the estimation of his fellow 
citizens than Captain Carter. 

Dr. Bernice B. Barr, with thorough preparatory training in the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore and the Bellevue Medical 
College of New York City, entered upon the practice of his profession well 
equipped for the onerous duties that have devolved upon him in this con- 
nection. He was born in Benton County, Missouri, January 4, 1857, and 
is a son of William T. and Elizabeth M. (Wilson) Barr, who were natives 
of Tennessee. The father, who made farming his life work, came to 
Missouri in 1850, settling in Benton County, where he lived for about six 
years. He then removed to Henry County, establishing his home near 
Montrose, where he resided until 1861, when he retunied to his native 
State. He had a short time before entered the Confederate army under 
General Price and fearing to leave his family in Missouri he took them 
to Tennessee. There he joined the forces under Gen. John Morgan, with 
whom he served until Morgan was killed. Mr. Barr continued in the 
army until the close of the war and was never wounded, but was captured 
several times and released. After the war was over he engaged in farm- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 309 

ing in Tennessee until his death, which occurred in the year 1894. He had 
for five years survived his wife, who passed away in 1889. 

Dr. Barr was the third son and the third child in a family of six 
children. He attended school at Gallatin, Tennessee, and, having deter- 
mined upon the practice of medicine as a life work, attended the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore. He graduated from the Belle- 
vue Medical College at New York in March, 1880, and has since taken 
post-graduate work, while throughout his professional career he has re- 
mained a close student of the science of medicine. Following his gradua- 
tion in 1880 he began practicing at Shawnee Mound, in Henry County, 
where he remained for five years. He then went to Montrose, in the same 
county, spending eight years there. On the expiration of that period he 
went to Clinton, where he has since practiced continuously, devoting his 
entire time to his profession, the duties of, which he discharges with a 
sense of conscientious obligation that prompts him to put forth the best 
possible effort, not only to alleviate suffering, but also to promote his 
efficiency through further study and research. He is a member of the 
Henry County Medical Society, the State Medical Society and the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, and through the meetings of those organizations 
keeps in touch with the trend of modern scientific thought in the field of 
medical and surgical practice. 

On the fifteenth of September, 1881, Dr. Barr was united in marriage 
to Miss Maggie Squires, who was born at Calhoun, Henry County, Mis- 
souri, a daughter of Jerome B. and Cynthia (McNealey) Squires, the for- 
mer a native of Calhoun and the latter of Warsaw, Benton County, Mis- 
souri. In early life the father engaged in merchandising and continued 
in that business until a few years prior to his death, which occurred in 
1901. His wife passed away in 1906. Dr. and Mrs. Barr became the par- 
ents of four children, one of whom died when one and one-half years old. 
The others are: Ella Bernice, Robert W. and Herbert M. Robert was 
graduated from the West Point Military Academy in 1910 and remained 
in the army for three years when he resigned in order to look after his 
wife's estate. He enlisted as a volunteer in the National Army in Sep- 
tember, 1917, was commissioned as captain and went to Fort Benjamin 
Harrison. In November, 1917, he was commissioned as major of artillery 
in the Three Hundred Forty-second Field Artillery and sent to Fort Riley 
December 1, 1917. Major Barr became ill on December 14, 1917, and has 
been seriously ill since, and is now in Colorado for his health, although 



310 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

still a major. He is now the owner of large landed interests near Clinton. 
Herbert M., residing at Kansas City, is in the employ of the wholesale 
jewelry house of C. B. Norton. The twin brother of Herbert died at the 
age above mentioned, of pneumonia. 

Dr. Ban- gives his political allegiance to the Democratic party and is 
active in its support. He has served as county coroner and for three terms 
has been alderman from his ward, exercising his official prerogatives in 
support of many progressive public measures. He belongs to the Modern 
Woodmen of America and the Woodmen of the World, and his religious 
faith is indicated by his membership in the Presbyterian Church. Nearly 
his entire life has been spent in Missouri and those who know him — and 
he has a wide acquaintance — entertain for him warm friendship, not only 
because of his high professional skill, but also by reason of his many 
excellent traits of character and those social qualities which make for 
personal popularity. 

Dr. Robert D. Haire, a well known and successful physician of Henry 
County located at Clinton, is a native of Missouri. He was born in Dade 
County September 22, 1855, and is a son of Samuel H. and Eliza J. (Le- 
Master) Hare, the former a native of Georgia and the latter of east Ten- 
nessee. They came with their respective parents to Missouri at a very 
early day and were among the pioneer settlers of Dade County. He was 
a forty- niner, making the trip to California overland during the gold ex- 
citement of 1849. After following the shifting fortunes of gold mining 
for three years, he returned to Missouri by way of the Isthmus of Panama. 
When the Civil War broke out Samuel H. Haire removed with his family 
to Alton, Illinois, but returned to Missouri in 1863 and settled at Smithton. 
He was engaged in the mercantile business, but like many others was brok- 
en up in business on account of the war. He died in California May 25, 
1869, aged forty-five years and three days. His widow survived him a 
number of years and departed this life at Connersville, Indiana, Novem- 
ber 18, 1906, aged eighty years. 

Dr. Robert D. Haire was one of a family of five children bom to his 
parents as follow: N. H., was a prominent stockman at Smithton, Mis- 
souri, where he died January 26, 1916 ; Josephine, married James Layman, 
Smithton, Missouri, and died April 18, 1880; Dr. Robert D., the subject 
of this sketch ; Mary Elizabeth, the widow of Dr. S. M. Hamilton, resides 
at Seattle, Washington, and Charles H., assistant superintendent for Emery 
Bird & Thayer Company, Kansas City, Missouri. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 311 

Dr. Haire received his preliminary education in the public schools of 
Smithton, Missouri, and later attended Lincoln University, Lincoln, Illi- 
nois. He then entered the Missouri Medical College at St. Louis, Missouri, 
where he was graduated in the class of 1878 with a degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. He then engaged in the practice of his profession at Schell 
City, Missouri, and for twenty years was one of the successful physicians 
of that locality. In 1898 Dr. Haire came to Clinton and since that time 
has ranked as one of the leading physicians and surgeons of Henry County. 
During recent years he has confined himself largely to office work and 
surgery. Dr. Haire has done a great deal of post-graduate work and given 
much time and labor to scientific research along the lines of his chosen 
profession. After graduating from Missouri Medical College he later took 
a course in the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, where he was graduated 
in 1883, with a degree of Doctor of Medicine. In 1890 and 1891 he studied 
in Vienna, Austria, taking a general post-graduate course. In 1910 he 
took a special course in Berlin, Germany, and again returned to Berlin in 
1913, taking special post-graduate work. 

Dr. Haire was united in marriage November 17, 1892, with Miss Maud 
Maus, a native of Schell City, Missouri, and a daughter of. J. H. Maus, 
a pioneer of that section of Missouri, who is now deceased. To Dr. and 
Mrs. Haire have been born four children, as follow : Frances, a graduate of 
the Sargent School of Physical Education, Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
a Clinton High School graduate, and is now instructor of physical training 
at Lindenwood College, Lindf nwood, Missouri ; Cornelia Carter, a graduate 
of the Clinton High School and Lindenwood College, and is now instructor 
in domestic science in the public schools of Clinton; Marian, a student in 
Lindenwood College, where she is specializing in music, and Robert D., Jr., 
a student in the Clinton grade schools. 

Dr. Haire is a member of the County, State and American Medical 
Association and the Southern Medical Association. He is a member of 
the Masonic Lodge, being a Knights Templar Mason, and a member of 
the Mystic Shrine. He also holds membership in the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Dr. 
Haire not only devotes himself to a busy professional career, every minute 
of which is crowded with activity and responsibility, but he is also alive 
to the best interests of his town and county. He has served on the 
Clinton school board for twelve years. He and his wife have traveled a 
great deal. They have not only made several trips to different sections 
of Europe, but have also visited Alaska and the Tropics. 



312 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

J. Melvin Hull. — For over half a century the Hull family have been 
prominent in the affairs of Henry County, and since the arrival in this 
county of Silas C. Hull and his family on June 29, 1866, the descendants 
of this pioneer have occupied useful and honorable places in the civic and 
agricultural life of the county. 

J. Melvin Hull, assessor of Davis township, member of the County 
Council of Defense for his township and for many years a real leader in 
his community, is a worthy scion of this old family, which came to Mis- 
souri from an eastern State in time to assist in laying the foundation 
for the development and progress which Henry County has enjoyed dur- 
ing past years. J. M. Hull was bom on April 4, 1854, in Oneida County, 
New York, and is the son of Silas C. and Angeline P. (Linebeck) Hull. 
Silas C. Hull was born in 1829 and died in 1877. He was a native of New 
York and was a son of Nathaniel Hull, who was born and reared in Con- 
necticut and served his country as a soldier in the War of 1812. The Hulls 
are descended from one of the oldest and honorable American families of 
Colonial ancestry. Nathaniel Hull was twice married and reared several 
sons. Several members of the family served in the Civil War. Angeline 
P. (Linebeck) Hull was born on May 7, 1829, and died on March 5, 1891. 
She, also, was a native of Oneida County, New York, and was a daugh- 
ter of Adam Linebeck (born 1801), married Phoebe Nichols (bom 1799, 
died 1876), the daughter of a Hessian named Nichols, who was an aide- 
de-camp to Gen. John Burgoyne and was present with Burgoyne at the 
surrender of the British Army at the battle of Saratoga during the War 
of the American Revolution. Mr. Nichols then made a permanent settle- 
ment in this country, like many others of his nationality. Adam Line- 
beck, grandfather of J. M. Hull on the matemal side, was the son of a 
British soldier who served under General Cornwallis, and he also settled 
in New York after the close of the Revolutionary War. Soon afterward 
the grandmother of Mrs. Phoebe Linebeck, who was a Hagedorn, came 
to America. During the War of 1812 the Hagedorns were robbed of a 
large sum of money. 

Silas C. Hull left his native State of New York in the fall of 1856 
and settled in De Kalb County, Illinois, where the family resided until 
May 27, 1866, and then started for Missouri, arriving here in the follow- 
ing month. Mr. Hull purchased the farm which is now owned by his 
son in 1868 and resided thereon until his death. Mr. Hull assisted in the 
organization of school district No. 68 and served as the first school trus- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 313 

tee of the district. He was then elected to the office of township clerk 
and held this office for four years. During the Mexican War he offered 
his services to the Government and with his command was ready to en- 
train when word came that Mexico City had fallen and the war was over. 
The following children were bom to Silas C. Hull and wife: Herman M., 
a resident of Davis township, and J. Melvin, of this review. Silas C. Hull 
was a life long Democrat and he and his wife were devout members of the 
Methodist Church, always interested in religious works and ever trying 
to advance the educational interests of their community. They were good 
and faithful pioneers who left their impress for good upon the community. 

J. Melvin Hull received his education in the Willow Branch school 
and has always been a student and reader who has kept abreast of the 
times. For a period of seventeen years he taught school, five years of 
which were spent in continuous service in his home district. While teach- 
ing his work was always within the radius of a few miles of his resi- 
dence so as to enable him to remain at home with his family. He is ca- 
pably farming a well improved tract of two hundred forty acres, eighty 
acres of which comprises his home place and one hundred sixty acres of 
which is his wife's inheritance. For sixteen years Mr. Hull was a suc- 
cessful breeder of O. I. C. hogs, a department of animal husbandry of 
which he has made a special and exhaustive study. 

December 28, 1891, Mr. Hull was united in marriage with Miss Eliza- 
beth Woodson, who was born in Walker township June 3, 1871, a daugh- 
ter of Chesley G. Woodson, a pioneer resident of Henry County, concern- 
ing whose career an extensive review is given elsewhere in this volume. 
C. G. Woodson was born in Kentucky and migrated to Henry County, Mis- 
souri, in pioneer days with his father, Silas Woodson. He served in the 
Confederate Army during the Civil War. The mother of Mrs. Hull was 
Mary Ann Harness prior to her marriage (born 1837, died 1898). Three 
sons and a daughter have been born to Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Hull, as follow: 
Chesley De Loss, bom August 29, 1893, residing in Walker township with 
his grandfather Woodson, married Olga Robinson September 26, 1917; 
Orin D., bom April 10, 1895, enlisted in the National Army, now a cor- 
poral, auto mechanic in Truck Company B, 2nd Corps, Artillery Park, 
Camp Stewart, Newport News, Virginia; Melvin Adam, born November 
9, 1897; Mary Angeline, born June 6, 1904, now attending school. 

The Democratic party has always had the unqualified support of J. 
M. Hull and he has served his party and the people in various useful 



314 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

capacities. For fifteen years he served as school trustee and has ever 
been found in the forefront of educational affairs. He has served as 
assessor of Davis township ever since the township organization went 
into effect. During the height of the Grange movement he was active 
in the affairs of this organization. He and Mrs. Hull are valued and 
useful members of the La Due Methodist Episcopal Church, and for a 
period of fifteen years she served as superintendent of the La Due Metho- 
dist Sunday school. Mrs. Hull retails her membership with Stone's 
Chapel of the M. E. Church, South. Mr. Hull is a very useful citizen who 
is highly respected in Henry County and widely known among the best 
citizenship of the county. It is his nature to be always active in good 
works and he is continually being called upon to take the lead in all mat- 
ters affecting the public welfare, be it religious or school work, matters 
affecting the township government or raising funds for charity, or spread- 
ing patriotic feeling and lining up the citizens for the purchase of Liberty 
Bonds for the furtherance of the Government's war program. 

Dr. J. R. Wallis, a prominent physician and surgeon of Clinton, Mis- 
souri, was born at Marshfield, Missouri, January 18, 1860. He is a son 
of Dr. C. S. and Elizabeth (Hoover) Wallis. Dr. C. S. Wallis, the father, 
was a pioneer physician of Missouri and practiced his profession at Marsh- 
field for over fifty years. He was a native of Columbia, Tennessee, and 
came to Missouri in 1844. He died in 1903, aged seventy-four years. His 
wife was a native of North Carolina. She departed this life in 1905, aged 
seventy-three years. They were the parents of ten children, six of whom 
are living as follow: Sarah Elizabeth, married Samuel N. Dickey, an at- 
torney at law of Marshfield, Missouri; Dr. J. R., the subject of this sketch; 
Emma, is the widow of Emmet Ming and she now re'sides at San Antonio, 
Texas; Sophia, the widow of Harry Fyan, Marshfield, Missouri; Hattie, 
the wife of J. L. Pipkin, Marshfield, Missouri, and Dolly, the wife of W. 
H. McMahan, Marshfield, Missouri. 

Dr. J. R. Wallis received his preparatory education in the public 
schools of his native town, and entered the Washington University at St. 
Louis, Missouri, where he was graduated with a degree of Doctor of 
Medicine in 1883. He then entered the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, 
New York City, where he also was graduated with a degree of Doctor of 
Medicine in 1884. After practicing for one year in Marshfield, Missouri, 
he came to Henry County and located at La Due and after five years went 
to Montrose, where he was engaged in practice for fifteen years. In 1905 



HENKY COUNTY HISTORY SIS 

he removed to Clinton. Dr. Wallis' removal from La Due and Montrose 
by no means meant that he had given up his practice in that section of 
the county. He merely extended his field of operation, and since coming 
to Clinton he has continued to treat many of his old patients in the vicinity 
of La Due and Montrose. 

Dr. Wallis was united in marriage in 1884 with Miss Frances Ming of 
Washington, Missouri. She is a daughter of Judge James N. Ming and 
Jemima (Osbom) Ming, both of whom are now deceased. To Dr. and 
Mrs. Wallis has been born one child, Elizabeth, now the wife of James 
Parks, a well known attorney of Clinton, who is associated with his father, 
Peyton Parks, in the practice of his profession. 

Dr. Wallis belongs to a family notable for its great number of physi- 
cians. Not only his father, but two of his father's brothers were physi- 
cians, and a number of their sons, cousins of Dr. Wallis, are also physicians. 
Dr. Wallis has never ceased being a hard student of the science of his 
profession and has taken a number of post-graduate courses. He has done 
post-graduate work in the St. Louis Post-Graduate School of Medicine and 
has also taken a post-graduate course in the Polyclinic Medical School of 
New York City. He is a member of the County, State and American 
Medical Societies and the Southern Medical Society. He holds member- 
ship in the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and he is a member 
of the Methodist Church, South. He is a Democrat. 

Dr. William M. Marseilles, a prominent osteopath of Clinton, Mis- 
souri, is a native of this State. He was born at Hannibal, Missouri, May 
31, 1875, and is a son of William F. and Mary Adelia (Allen) Marseilles. 
The Marseilles family is of French descent. William F. Marseilles was 
bom in Hannibal, Missouri. He was a son of William Peter Marseilles, 
who came from France with a brother and sister to America at a very 
early day. Joseph, the other brother, located somewhere in the North 
and the sister remained at Baltimore. William Peter Marseilles, grand- 
father of Dr. Marseilles, came west and located at Hannibal, which at 
that time was a mere boat landing. He was a blacksmith and worked at 
his trade in Hannibal, where he spent his life. William F. Marseilles 
remained in Hannibal until 1890, when he removed to Brookfield. His 
wife, Mary Adelia (Allen) Marseilles, was a native of Sheboygan, Wis- 
consin. She died in 1912. 

Dr. Marseilles is one of a family of five children born to his parents : 
Florence, married C. H. Mount, who is now deceased, and she is a student 



316 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

in the American School of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Missouri; William 
M., the subject of this sketch; C. E., manager of a Thompson restaurant 
in Chicago; F. F., an osteopath, Flint, Michigan, and Allen, a farmer, 
Brookfield, Missouri. 

Dr. Marseilles was educated in the public schools of Hannibal and 
Brookfield, Missouri. He then took a course in osteopathy at the Ameri- 
can School of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Missouri, and was graduated in 
1904 with a degree of Doctor of Osteopathy. He practiced his profession 
a little over two years at Brookfield and in 1906 came to Clinton, where 
he has since been successfully engaged in the practice. He was married 
in 1895 to Miss Myrtle A. Rickett, a native of Brookfield, Missouri. She 
is a daughter of Abel and Alice (Leavy) Rickett, the former of whom is 
a native of Pennsylvania and the latter a native of Missouri. Mrs. Mar- 
seilles is also a graduate of the American School of Osteopathy, having 
been a member of the same class as her husband. She and her husband 
have practiced together since their marriage, and both are successful 
and skillful osteopaths, and since coming to Clinton have built up a 
large practice. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Marseilles have been born two children, Frances 
Willard, married Grady Spangler, Clinton, Missouri, and Alice Adelia, 
a graduate of the Clinton High School, class of 1918. The elder girl is 
also a graduate of the Clinton High School. 

Dr. Marseilles is a Knights Templar Mason, a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, the Modern Woodmen of America, 
and he and his wife and the older daughter are members of the Eastern 
Star. The family are members of the Christian Church and Dr. Mar- 
seilles is a Democrat. 

Dr. Marseilles is an active and energetic member of the Clinton Com- 
mercial Club and takes a keen interest in every movement that has for 
its purpose the building up and betterment of Clinton and Henry County. 
His influence and efforts have been a large factor in promoting a "white 
way" in Clinton, and he has used his influence for the industrial de- 
velopment of the town in the way of encouraging factories to locate here. 
Dr. Marseilles is a charter member of the Clinton Rotary Club, recently 
organized. Both he and his wife have an extensive acquaintance in Henry 
County, and are prominent in the community. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 317 

Dr. Stephen Thompson Neill, successfully engaged in the practice of 
dentistry in Clinton and is mayor of the city; was bom in Lexington, 
Missouri, April 9, 1865. He is a son of Henry and Sallie Ann (Elliott) 
Neill, the former a native of Lee County, Virginia, and the latter a daugh- 
ter of Col. Newton Glasgow Elliott of Howard County, Missouri. In 
early life Major Neill followed merchandising in Lexington, Missouri. 
He served throughout the Civil War, was major and colonel of his regi- 
ment and participated in the battles of Lone Jack, Pea Ridge, Wilson's 
Creek and others ; he was commander of the post at Clinton, Henry County, 
where his many acts of kindness and protection were appreciated by those 
holding opposite views to his. After his military service was concluded 
he studied law, was admitted to the bar and moved to Warrensburg, 
Missouri, where he began to practice, and there he remained until his 
death, which occurred in 1895. His wife passed away in 1871. They 
were the parents of six children. 

Doctor Neill, the youngest, upon the death of his mother was taken 
by his father's sister, Mrs. Jane H. Wilson, to Lexington, Missouri, where 
he attended the public schools until the marriage of his father to Mrs. 
Lizzie Pennock. He then returned to Warrensburg and attended the 
public schools of that city. In 1876, when eleven years of age, he moved 
to the home of his sister near Dover and began farm work for his brother- 
in-law at a salary of five dollars per month, and during the winter months 
he attended the district school. At the age of sixteen his aunt, Mrs. 
Wilson, sent him for a term to Wentworth Military Academy at Lexing- 
ton and in 1882 he began the study of dentistry, attending the Phila- 
delphia Dental College and the St. Louis Dental College. At the age of 
twenty years, in 1885, he graduated and began the practice of his pro- 
fession in Corder, Missouri; a year later he moved to Harrisonville, this 
State; and in 1887 he came to Clinton, where he has continued in the 
general practice of dentistry, being widely recognized as one of the most 
able and efficient representatives of the profession and one of Clinton's 
most progressive citizens. 

In February, 1892, Doctor Neill was married to Miss Cannarissa 
Adair, of Shawnee Mound, Henry County, Missouri, a daughter of Will- 
iam and Dorcas Ann (Fuqua) Adair, both natives of Kentucky. Her 
father was a farmer and stock raiser, conducting an extensive business. 
His parents were residents of Westport, now a part of Kansas City, near 
Swope Park. He was born in Kentucky, to which his mother had gone on 
a visit. In 1849, when eighteen years of age, he crossed the plains to 



318 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

California in command of a party from Westport, and made the journey 
across the Isthmus of Panama upon his return home two years later. 
In 1856 he settled in Henry County, where he engaged extensively in 
farming and stock raising, owning about six hundred acres. The family 
resided on the old homestead until the death of the father which occurred 
when he was seventy-eight years of age, while his wife passed away at 
the age of eighty-three. Mrs. Neill is the youngest of six children. There 
has been bom a son to Doctor and Mrs. Neill, Stephen T. EI, whose natal 
day was October 1, 1904. 

Doctor Neill has ever been interested in the welfare and progress 
of his community. He assisted in the organization of the Missouri Union 
Telephone Company in 1898 and for twenty years has served as a direc- 
tor. He has been identified with the independent telephone throughout 
the state and nation, acting as president of the State association and 
several times as a delegate to the national conventions. He is likewise 
associated with several other local enterprises. In politics Doctor Neill 
is a Democrat and for seven years was councilman of Clinton, acting at 
one time for six months as mayor. In April of 1918 he was elected to 
the office of mayor of Clinton and is now serving the people of his home 
city in this executive capacity faithfully and well. He belongs to the 
Blue Lodge, of which he is a past master, and the chapter of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, and also to the Knights of Pythias. He is a man of 
many sterling traits of character, of pronounced professional ability and 
business enterprise, and wherever he is known he is held in the highest 
regard. 

James S. Spore, proprietor of the Spore & Son, furniture and under- 
taking business, Clinton, Missouri, is the most extensive furniture dealer 
in Henry County. Mr. Spore was born at Odessa, Missouri, November 
12, 1886, and is a son of Elmer E. Spore and Emma (Summer) Spore. 
Elmer E. Spore was born near Edenburg, Illinois, June 1, 1860, and came 
to Missouri with his parents when a child. His father was a physician, 
and later in life was engaged in contracting and building at Odessa, Mis- 
souri. Elmer E. Spore was a graduate pharmacist. He came to Henry 
County and located at Blairstown, where he organized the firm of Spore 
& Sweatman, hardware and implement dealers. He disposed of his inter- 
ests in this business in 1896 and bought a farm east of Clinton. In 1904 
he sold his farm and engaged in the furniture business in Clinton. He 
died February 12, 1917, and his son James S., who was a partner in 
the business at the time of his father's death, has continued the business 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY , 319 

under the same firm name of Spore & Son. Emma (Summer) Spore was 
born in Quincy, Illinois, and is a daughter of James Summer, a native 
of Kentucky, who was one of the first pioneer settlers in the vicinity of 
Quincy, Illinois. He pre-empted Government land near Quincy, where 
Mrs. Spore, the mother of James S., now resides. 

Elmer E. Spore was strictly a business man. He did not aspire to 
hold political office, although he took a deep interest in public affairs 
and for civic betterment from the standpoint of the citizen rather than 
from the desire to hold public office. He was active in the betterment 
and upbuilding of Blairstown, building his residence there and took the 
same deep interest and civic pride in the advancement of the city of 
Clinton, after that city became the scene of his business activity. He 
was a member of the Masonic Lodge, the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, the Woodman of the World and the Christian Church. 

James S. Spore was educated in the public schools and the Gem City 
Business College, Quincy, Illinois, graduating from that institution in 
1905. He was then employed in Hannibal, Missouri, for about a year, when 
he returned to Clinton and engaged in the furniture business with his 
father, and has been continually associated with this business ever since 
that time. He and his father conducted the business from 1908 until the 
time of the father's death and since then James. S. has continued the busi- 
ness under the same firm name . Before the senior Mr. Spore bought this 
business, it was known as the Clinton Furniture Company, and had been 
so conducted for a number of years. 

The Spore & Son furniture house is located on the south side of the 
public square and has a frontage of fifty-five feet, and is two hundred 
feet deep, with two large balconies which practically amount to a second 
fioor. The most complete line of furniture, including rugs, linoleums 
and wall paper, in the county, are to be found here. They also carry talk- 
ing machines and have the best equipped undertaking establishment in 
the city. Mr. Spore is a licensed embalmer. 

June 25, 1914, James S. Spore was united in marriage with Miss 
Lula Ann Griffith, a native of St. Clair County, Missouri, and a daughter 
of Wesley and Sarah E. Griffith. To this union has been born one child, 
James D. 

Mr. Spore is a Mason and past master of the Clinton Lodge, and 
belongs to the Christian church. He is one of the progressive young 
business men of Henry County. 



320 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Conrad Houck, a well to do farmer and Union veteran of Davis town- 
ship, is one of the oldest of the living pioneers of Henry County. He was 
born in Baden, Germany, August 1, 1831, and is the son of Valentine 
and Elizabeth Houck, both of whom spent their lives in their native land. 
When but a boy of fourteen years Conrad was moved by the spirit of 
adventure and the tales of the new world across the Atlantic, and set 
sail for America from a Belgian port. He set sail on March 5, 1854, and 
after an eventful voyage of sixty-five days he arrived at New Orleans. 
He was possessor of five francs (one dollar) when he arrived here and 
he immediately went to Rock Island County, Illinois, where he was em- 
ployed for three years upon a farm at eight dollars per month. In 1857 
he brought his savings to Henry County and purchased forty acres of 
land on time, but continued to work out as a farm hand and at the time 
of the outbreak of the Civil War he was still working on the neighbor- 
ing farms. 

Mr. Houck enlisted in the 7th Kansas Cavalry and served for four 
years and one month in active and continuous service of the hardest char- 
acter. He fought at the battle of Corinth, Mississippi, and the battle of 
Hollow Spring. His division assisted in driving the army of General 
Price out of Missouri. When they were ordered to Missouri to take up 
the pursuit of Price's army his command marched from Tupelo, Missis- 
sippi to Memphis, Tennessee, and thence by boat to St. Louis. From St. 
Louis they crossed the State and took up the pursuit of Price and fought 
a battle at Pleasanton, Kansas. Col. William F. Cody, "Buffalo Bill," was 
a member of Conrad Houck's company and he became well acquainted 
with Colonel Cody. Mr. Houck carefully saved his army pay and at the 
close of his service he returned to Henry County and invested his savings 
in land located south of La Due in Davis and Bear Creek townships. He 
built a small house in 1867 and developed his fine farm to the utmost 
and during the years that have passed he has become one of the most 
substantial farmers of the county. 

In the fall of 1867 Mr. Houck was married to Mary Jane Morgan, a 
native of Indiana, who was born September 16, 1833, and departed this 
life on September 2, 1911. She was a daughter of Morrell Morgan. Mrs. 
Houck accompanied her brother-in-law to Henry County soon after the 
close of the war. One son has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Houck, Stephen 
Houck, bom September 25, 1868, an industrious farmer who is operating 
the home farm of two hundred acres. 




{ 


I- -^^ 


ri>' 


1 


.fUr 





HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 321 

Prior to the Civil War Mr. Houck was a Democrat. During the course 
of the war he became a Republican and since that time has voted inde- 
pendently. His son, Stephen, is also an independent voter who believes in 
supporting good men for office. 

Conrad Houck is one of the few remaining patriots of foreign birth 
who offered their lives that the Union might be saved and who still thinks 
that the United States is the greatest country on the face of the globe. 
While too old to actively assist his Government in the present great World 
War of democracy against the autocracy from which he came in order that 
he might be free and independent, he has willingly loaned to the Govern- 
ment thousands of dollars of his accumulations in order to finance the 
war. Mr. Houck and his son, Stephen, are fine citizens who have a repu- 
tation for honesty and industry that is unexcelled in the county. 

Dr. L. M. Klutz of Clinton, Missouri, is the pioneer veterinary surgeon 
of Henry County, and the first regularly graduated veterinary surgeon 
to practice in this section of Missouri. He was born near Gold Hill, North 
Carolina, February 22, 1855, and is a son of Tobias and Elizabeth (Peck) 
Klutz, both natives of Cabarrus County, North Carolina, and descendants 
of old Southern stock. The Klutz family settled in North Carolina in 
Colonial days and probably came from Pennsylvania to North Carolina. 
Tobias Klutz resided in his native State until the Civil War broke out, 
when he enlisted in the Confederate Army. He was wounded at the 
Battle of the Wilderness, from the effect of which he died shortly after- 
wards in a Confederate Army hospital at Richmond, Virginia. His wife 
spent her life in North Carolina, where she died in 1883 at the age of 
sixty-seven. They were the parents of seven children, four of whom 
are living, as follows: John D., Gold Hill, North Carolina; Mrs. Margaret 
Nussman, Salisbury, North Carolina; George L., Gold Hill, North Caro- 
lina, and Dr. L. M., the subject of this sketch. Paul, Jerry, Josephine, 
Rose Ann are deceased. 

Doctor Klutz was reared and educated in North Carolina. In 1887 
he went to Chicago, and entered the Chicago Veterinary College, and was 
graduated from that institution March 21, 1889, with a degree of Doctor 
of Veterinary Surgery. He immediately came to Henry County and 
engaged in the practice of his profession, which he has followed ever 
since. When he came here he was the only graduate veterinary surgeon, 
not only in Henry County, but over a vast stretch of country, including 
adjoining counties, and his practice extended into St. Clair, Johnson, Cass, 



322 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Bates, Vernon, and other counties in western Missouri. Dr. Klutz has 
conducted a well-equipped veterinary hospital in Clinton for over twenty 
years. It is located at 510 Bodine avenue. He has ever been a close 
student of the science of his profession, and has been a part of the de- 
velopment of the science of veterinary surgery, which has made such 
marked progress during the last quarter of a century. He was one of 
the organizers of the Missouri State Veterinary and Medical Association 
which was organized in 1892. He bears the distinction of being the first 
president of that organization, and as a tribute to his great worth in 
the profession, he was elected an honorary member for life of the Mis- 
souri State Veterinary and Medical Association in 1913. 

Doctor Klutz was united in marriage with Miss Adella McKinney, a 
native of Clinton, Henry County, a daughter of William and Elizabeth 
(Ryan) McKinney, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Indiana. 
They were early settlers in Henry County and are now deceased, and 
their remains rest in Englewood Cemetery. To Doctor and Mrs. Klutz 
have been born the following children: Mary Elizabeth, a graduate of 
the Clinton High School, now a teacher in the Deepwater public schools, 
resides at home; Harry Lawson, a graduate of the Clinton High School, 
at home; Lee McKinney, a student in the Clinton High School; Mabel 
Irene, Paul Jerry, and Margaret Adella, all students in the Clinton grade 
schools. 

Doctor Klutz is a Democrat, although he is inclined to take an inde- 
pendent view of politics. He holds membership in the Woodmen of the 
World, and belongs to the Presbyterian church. 

George Samuel Poague, now deceased, was a worthy pioneer of 
this section of Missouri. He was born in Ashland, Kentucky, February 
6, 1827, a son of Thomas Hoge Poague and Nancy Allen (Frame) Poague. 
The former was a native of Augusta County, Virginia. He was born near 
Staunton, February 4, 1792, and died at Victoria, Texas, May 31, 1841. 
He was an extensive land owner and also owned and operated an iron 
furnace. Thomas Hoge Poague was a son of Maj. George and Ann Allen 
Poague, the latter being a daughter of Capt. James Allen, of Virginia. 
Maj. George Poague was born in Augusta County, Virginia, March 28, 
1754; he died September 16, 1821. He qualified as captain of the Augusta 
County Militia June 20, 1781 (Chaukly, Vol. I, page 221). He was in 
active service. (See Pensions Declarations of William Green, Chaukly, 
Vol. II, page 495; Edward Stuart, Chaukly, same; and Ralph Wonless, 



ULNRY COUNTY HISTORY 323 

same Vol., page 498.) Maj. George Poague was a son of John and Mary 
Crawford Poague. John Poague was born in Ireland about 172G, mar- 
ried June 3, 1751, and died in Augusta County, Virginia, in 1789. He 
qualified as captain of a troop of horse, August 19, 1752, qualified as 
justice of "the Augusta County Court November 23, 1762, and regularly 
thereafter until after the close of the Revolutionary War, including the 
dates, August 20, 1776 (Chaukly's Abstracts, Vol. I, page 196) and No- 
vember 19, 1779 (Chaukly, Vol. I, page 2) and he qualified as high sheriff 
of Augusta County March 17, 1778 (Chaukly, Vol. I, page 196) and was 
elected Burgess of the Virginia Legislature in 1776 (Chaukly, Vol. I, 
pages 504-6) and also qualified as surveyor. 

John Poague's parents were Robert and Elizabeth Poague, who set- 
tled near Staunton, Virginia, about 1737. They had nine children when 
they settled there, and one son was born afterwards. 

Nancy Allen Frame, mother of George Samuel Poague, was a daugh- 
ter of Captain Samuel and Nancy (Allen) Frame. Nancy Allen was a 
daughter of Captain James and Margaret Allen, who had two sons and 
eight daughters, and lived in Augusta County, Virginia. Captain James 
Allen had two brothers, John, who was a lieutenant under Washington, 
and was killed at the time Braddock was defeated in 1754, and Hugh 
Allen, who was a lieutenant under Gen. Andrew Lewis and was killed 
at the Battle of Point Pleasant in 1754. Capt. James Allen and his 
brothers came from Ireland and settled in Augusta County, Virginia. He 
was one of the first elders of the historic old stone church, which was 
erected on Middle River, near Staunton. 

George Samuel Poague was reared to manhood in Ashland, Ken- 
tucky, and received his education there. In early life he engaged in the 
mercantile business, and in 1858 he came to Missouri, and first settled 
in Johnson County, near Warrensburg. Two years later he removed to 
Benton County, and purchased a farm, part of which was in Benton and 
part in Henry County, and here spent the remainder of his life. He was 
a staunch Democrat, and a man highly respected by all who knew him. 
He did not serve in the Civil War on account of physical disabilities. 
He died December 13, 1882. 

July 25, 1853, George Samuel Poague and Eliza Christena Kellar 
were united in marriage at Louisa, Kentucky. She was born at Bar- 
boursville. West Virginia (then Virginia), September 28, 1833, and died 
at her home in Clinton, Missouri, September 12, 1913. She was a daugh- 



324 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ter of John Louis, and Hannah (Miller) Kellar, natives of Germany, 
and early settlers in Missouri. 

To George Samuel and Eliza Christena (Kellar) Poague were born 
the following children: John Thomas, retired, Clinton, Missouri; George 
Madison, farmer, Jerico Springs, Missouri; Frederick Gary, Greeley, Colo- 
rado; Emma Eugenia, died at the age of two years; Dr. Samuel Allen, 
a sketch of whom appears in this volume; Henry Fewel, a sketch of 
whom also appears in this volume; Hattie Adelaide, the wife of Law- 
rence Grotty, a locomotive engineer on the Kansas Gity, Glinton and 
Springfield railway; William Rhea, merchant, Glinton; and Thomas, who 
is an adopted son, named Thomas Gude, but took the name of Poague, and 
is in the employ of the Glinton Waterworks. 

Henry F. Poague, successfully engaged in the active practice of law 
in Glinton since 1893, and recognized as one of the forceful and resource- 
ful members of the Henry Gounty Bar, was born in Benton Gounty, Mis- 
souri, March 17, 1868, a son of George Samuel and Eliza G. (Kellar) 
Poague. The father was born in Ashland, Kentucky, February 6, 1827, 
and was a son of Thomas Hoge and Nancy Allen (Frame) Poague. The 
former was born February 4, 1792, and the latter on the 2nd of January, 
1801. Both were natives of Kentucky and Thomas H. Poague was the 
ninth in order of birth in a family of thirteen children. The great-great- 
grandfather of our subject was John Poague, who was a native of Ireland 
and settled in Virginia in 1737, his last days being spent in Augusta 
Gounty, that State, where he departed this life in 1789. The children 
of John and Mary Poague were as follows: Robert, born in Augusta 
Gounty, Virginia, in 1752, married his second cousin, Mary Hopkins, on 
the 17th of June, 1782, and died near Ashland, Kentucky, in 1810. Maj. 
George Poague was born in Augusta county, Virginia, March 28, 1754. 
He married Ann Allen, daughter of Gapt. James Allen, the wedding being 
celebrated in 1774. He qualified as captain of the Augusta Gounty, 
Virginia, Militia, and was in active service. He died near Ashland, 
Kentucky, September 16, 1821. Gol. William Poague, the third of the 
family, was bom in Augusta Gounty, Virginia, February 17, 1756, mar- 
ried Margaret Davis and died in Pocahontas Gounty, West Virginia, De- 
cember 7, 1830. John Poague was born in Augusta Gounty, Virginia, De- 
cember 23, 1757, married his second cousin, Rebecca Hopkins, and died 
in his native State in 1827. Gol. James Poague, born in Augusta county, 
Virginia, March 17, 1760, was married March 19, 1787, to his cousin, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 325 

Mary Woods, and died at Ripley, Ohio, April 19, 1820. Elizabeth, born 
in Augusta County, Virginia, became the wife of Rev. Moses Hoge, D. D., 
on the 23rd of August, 1783, and passed away in Virginia in 1802. Rev. 
Thomas Poague, born in Augusta County, Virginia, married Laura Wat- 
kins in 1792 and passed away in the Old Dominion in the same year. Ann, 
born in Augusta County, became the wife of Andrew Kinkead and died 
in Kentucky. 

Thomas Hoge Poage, as previously stated, was the ninth of thirteen 
children born unto Maj. George and Ann (Allen) Poague. He was forty- 
nine years of age when he passed away May 31, 1841. His wife, Nancy 
Allen (Frame) Poague, long survived him and died July 13, 1889. Thomas 
H. Poague became an extensive landowner, planter and slave-owner, oper- 
ating plantations near Ashland, Kentucky. He also had large tracts of 
land in Texas and to his plantations there took many of his negroes be- 
cause of the agitation in Virginia against slavery. While on a trip of in- 
spection to his plantations in the Lone Star State he became ill of yellow 
fever and died there. Unto him and his wife were born eight children: 
Margaret Ann, who was born July 30, 1821, died in infancy. Agnes Vir- 
ginia, born October 7, 1824, resides on a large plantation near Car- 
lisle, Kentucky. She is the widow of William Shanklin, who was a banker 
and extensive landowner of that locality. George Samuel was the third 
in order of birth. Hugh Calvin, born June 16, 1829, died in 1900. Isabel 
Jane, born August 12, 1831, died at the age of two and one-half years. 
Thomas C, born August 4, 1834, died December 15, 1877. Rebecca Craw- 
ford, bom August 7, 1836, became the wife of R. C. Wilson and is now 
a widow living in Carlisle, Kentucky. John William, born February 9, 
1840, died July 9, 1868. 

George Samuel Poague spent the days of his boyhood and youth 
in Kentucky and in 1858 came to Missouri, residing for a year upon a 
farm in Lafayette County. He then removed to a farm near Warrens- 
burg, where he continued for about a year, after which he took up his 
abode in Benton County, Missouri, where he became a landowner and 
where he resided until his death, which occurred December 13, 1882. 
In early life he had engaged in merchandising in Ashland, Kentucky, but 
his store was destroyed by lire and, though he still owned considerable 
land, he had little ready money. Having heard much of the opportuni- 
ties. to be enjoyed in Missouri, it was this that decided him to come to 
this State, and as the years passed he retrieved his lost possessions and 



326 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

became one of the substantial citizens of Benton County. His life was an 
active and useful one and his many sterling traits of character gained for 
him the highest regard of all with whom he was brought in contact. He 
lived in consistent harmony with his profession as a member of the Baptist 
church and his example is one well worthy of emulation. His political 
allegiance was given to the Democratic party and he took an active inter- 
est in State and county affairs, supporting all the measures which he 
deemed beneficial to the community. On the 25th of July, 1853, he mar- 
ried Miss Eliza Keller, who was bom September 28, 1833, in Barbours- 
viJle, West Virginia. She was the eldest of ten children, whose parents 
were Louis and Hannah (Miller) Keller, both of whom were natives of 
Germany, but were brought to America in childhood by their parents. 
The father was a mechanic and in early life was engaged in making shoes 
for horses and mules and also manufacturing horseshoe nails. The busi- 
ness grew to large proportions, until he was operating a number of shops 
and employing a number of men. He ranked among the prominent repre- 
sentatives of industrial activity in the community in which he made his 
home. John Thomas, born July 30, 1854, married Evelyn Harvey and is 
now living retired in Clinton. George Madison, born October 31, 1856, 
married Miss Laura Oaks and is a landowner and capitalist of Jerico 
Springs, Cedar County, Missouri. Frederick Cary, born April 20, 1859, 
married Fannie Wilsin and resides on the old homestead in Benton County. 
Emma Eugenia, born March 25, 1861, died September 26, 1862. Samuel 
Allen, born May 10, 1865, married Ethel Baugh, and is a practicing physi- 
cian, surgeon and druggist of Clinton, Missouri. Henry Fewell is the 
sixth in order of birth. Hattie Adelaide, born November 11, 1871, was 
married January 3, 1910, to Lawrence Crotty, who is a railroad man 
and one of the prosperous and valued citizens of Clinton. William Rhea, 
born March 29, 1873, married Ethel Shobe and is associated with his 
brother. Dr. Poague, in the drug and general mercantile business in Clin- 
ton. Mr. and Mrs. George S. Poague also reared an adopted son, who 
was taken into the family when six years of age. He resides with W. R. 
Poague at the old home in Clinton and from early boyhood has been in 
the employ of the Clinton Water & Gas Company, his long connection 
therewith indicating his fidelity as well as his ability. 

Henry F. Poague devoted his youth largely to the acquirement of 
an education until he reached the age of sixteen years, when he began 
farming. He continued upon the farm until twenty -one years of age and 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 



327 



in his business affairs he met with substantial success. He began in 
the stock business when he owned but one Httle bay mare, but 
he continued trading and buying. He woiald purchase cows and 
hogs and when twenty-one years of age he had accumulated twenty- 
one hundred dollars in this business. He then sold out and left 
the farm, for, realizing the value of education, he desired to enjoy 
better opportunities along that line. He went to the University 
of Missouri and was graduated from the law department in June, 1892. 
He then returned to the farm and again turned to the stock busi- 
ness, but his friends and neighbors began to seek his professional 
services, and after a year he returned to Clinton and opened a law 
office, since which time he has been engaged continuously in practice. 
Something of his ability along professional lines is indicated in the fact 
that he has four times been called to fill the office of county prosecuting 
attorney. He is very careful and systematic in the preparation of his 
cases and is seldom, if ever, at fault in the application of a legal principle. 
The court records, therefore, show that he has won many notable ver- 
dicts and indicate that he is well qualified to solve the intricate and 
complex problems of the law. When he was elected prosecuting attor- 
ney, Henry County owed over six hundred thousand dollars of principal 
and' interest in bonded indebtedness and was not paying any of the 
principal of the debt. He began figuring the levies and on the 1st of 
April in each year would carefully figure the finances of the county and 
pay all the money on the public debt, except enough to meet the current 
expenses, until the taxes would be collected in the fall. The assessment 
of 1913, when collected, will pay every dollar of the public indebtedness 
owed by the county. Moreover, during this time, there had been two 
hundred and fifty-three steel bridges built in Henry County at a cost of 
one hundred and eighty-five thousand dollars, and in addition, the wooden 
bridges and culverts have been built; the county jail has been repaired 
to the amount of several thousand dollars ; and the county farm buildings 
were rebuilt — and all paid for. 

He was a very careful man in his administrations and established 
for himself a reputation throughout the State of Missouri as being a 
"criminal cost saver." It is believed by the various officers in the State 
that he could handle more cases with better success and less criminal 
costs than any man holding the position; he was brief and vigorous in 
his prosecutions, but believed in tempering justice with mercy. He had 



328 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

many political combats, but the people stood close to him and he would 
come out successful. And his official record stands as a monument for 
economical principles and successful financial management to the citizens 
and taxpayers. 

In August, 1896, Mr. Poague was united in marriage to Miss Hattie 
Haysler, who was born in Clinton, Missouri, and is a daughter of Charles 
H. and Elizabeth (Humbrock) Haysler, the former a native of Germany 
and the latter of Cole County, Missouri. The father became an extensive 
dealer in harness, saddlery and sporting goods in Clinton, where he ar- 
rived in early manhood, winning recognition there as one of the leading 
and enterprising business men. He passed away in Clinton, where Mrs. 
Haysler still resides. In politics he was a Democrat and his religious 
faith was that of the Christian Church, to the teachings of which he 
was ever loyal. Mr. and Mrs. Poague became the parents of two chil- 
dren, Haysler A. and Vashti H., both at home. In addition to a com- 
fortable residence, Mr. Poague owns other valuable property. He is 
prominent in the Masonic fraternity, having taken the degrees of lodge, 
chapter and council, and he also belongs to the Modern Woodmen, the 
Woodmen of the World, the Knights and Ladies of Security, the Fraternal 
Aid, the Homesteaders, the Yeomen and the Mystic Workers. His time 
is practically given to his profession, with just enough leisure for public 
duties and private interests that will constitute an even balance to his 
professional activity. In a calling where advancement must depend en- 
tirely upon individual merit he has made steady progress and that he 
remains a close and discriminating student of his profession indicates that 
he will continue at the front. 

Chesley G. Woodson. — Nearly four score years have elapsed since 
Chesley G. Woodson of Walker township was brought to Henry County 
by his parents. Far back in 1839 this county was largely an unpeopled 
waste with here and there a lone settler's cabin in the timber tracts 
along the streams. The nearest trading point was Boonville, on the Mis- 
souri River, or Jefferson City. The pioneers of those faraway days would 
drive to either of these cities with ox teams and the trip required a week's 
time in the making. For a long time the pioneers would of necessity 
have their milling done at Boonville or Jefferson City until Cook's mill 
was erected on Grand River. During the days of his young manhood, 
Chesley Woodson shot many deer and wild turkeys and he recalls that 
his father killed a bear on Bear Creek. Various settlers operated grist 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 329 

mills by horse power and some of them ground their corn meal by hand. 
The main commodity which the settlers had to sell were hides and furs. 
These they would take to Boonville and exchange for salt and groceries 
sufficient to last for several months. 

Mr. Woodson has a distinction which few men possess. He served 
in both armies during the Civil War, having first enlisted in the Confed- 
erate Army and later through force of circumstances over which he had 
no control he was compelled to serve in the Union Army. Mr. Woodson 
was born on February 25, 1837, in Hancock County, Kentucky, and is the 
son of Shadrich and Agnes (Gates) Woodson, the former of whom was 
born in Virginia and the latter in Kentucky. Shadrich Woodson came 
to Missouri in 1838 and after a year's residence in Johnson County he 
came to Henry County and entered a tract of Government land in Walker 
township. He cut and hewed the logs for his two room cabin and spent 
the remainder of his days on the farm which he broke up and placed in 
cultivation. He was a hunter and killed a great deal of game which was 
very plentiful in those eai'ly days. He died December 4, 1852, at his home 
in Walker township. Of the children born to Shadrich Woodson and wife 
three are living: Jonathan, residing with Adam H. Woodson, his nephew; 
Mrs. Elizabeth Steele, who makes her home with William Steele in Walker 
township, and Chesley G., subject of this review. 

Chesley G. Woodson was reared to young manhood under primitive 
conditions and enjoyed the frontier life to the utmost. He grew up a 
strong and sturdy lad who was skillful with axe or gun and knew how to 
till the soil. He served for two years in the Southern Army during the 
war between the States and after his term of service expired he went to 
St. Louis. While in that city he became a member of the 87th Missouri 
Regiment of the Federal Army under Capt. A. J. Smith and served for 
one year with the Union forces. After the expiration of his term of ser- 
vice he returned home. After his marriage he settled down to active farm 
life and accumulated a total of one hundred sixty-six acres. Of late years 
Mr. Woodson has retired from active farm life and is now making his 
home with his son, Adam H. Woodson. 

The marriage of Chesley G. Woodson and Mary Ann Harness took 
place on March 1, 1866. Mrs. Mary Ann (Harness) Woodson was born 
in Franklin County, Missouri, February 10, 1839, and was a daughter of 
Adam Harness, a pioneer of Henry County, concerning whom an account 
is given elsewhere in this volume. Mrs. Woodson died on March 31, 1898. 



330 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The following children were born to Chesley G. and Mary Ann Woodson: 
Chesley A., deceased ; Nancy Agnes, deceased ; Adam H., and Mary Eliza- 
beth, wife of J. M. Hull, a biography of whom is given in this volume. 

Adam H. Woodson was born February 7, 1869, and has achieved a 
splendid success as an agriculturist in Walker township. He is owner 
of three hundred twenty-four acres of well improved farm land upon 
which he has placed all of the buildings and fencing. Mr. Woodson has 
resided upon his farm for the past thirty years. He is a Democrat in 
his political faith as is his father, and has served as school director of 
his district. The other members of the Woodson household are Chester 

D. Hull and wife, nee Olga Robinson, who are keeping house for Adam 
H. Woodson. Mr. Hull was born August 29, 1894, the son of J. M. Hull 
of Davis township. He was married September 26, 1917, to Olga Robin- 
son, the daughter of Thomas and Mary (Moreland) Robinson. 

Dr. Samuel Allen Poague, a leading physician and surgeon of Henry 
County, is a native son of Missouri. His parents were George Samuel 
and Eliza Christena Kellar Poague. A sketch of George Samuel Poague 
appears in this volume, with a detailed history of the Poague family. 
Doctor Poague was born in Benton County, just east of the Henry 
County line, May 10, 1865. He was reared on a farm and attended the 
public schools. Later he attended Missouri University and for four years 
taught school in Benton and Henry Counties. In 1889 he matriculated in 
the St. Louis Medical College and was graduated April 25, 1892, with a 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He immediately engaged in the practice 
of his profession at Clinton, where he has built up a large practice and 
won a place in the foremost ranks of his profession in this section of 
the State. Doctor Poague also owns a drug store in Clinton, which is 
one of the most complete and best equipped drug stores to be found 
anywhere. He has a manager in charge of this store, which is located 
on the south side of the square, and the doctor's office is located over 
the drug store. 

June 1, 1904, Doctor Poague was united in marriage with Miss Ethel 

E. Baugh, a daughter of Doctor J. H. Baugh, who was engaged in the 
practice of medicine at Leesville, this county, for a time. He died at 
the age of thirty-six years. Mrs. Poague was born at Leesville. To Doc- 
tor and Mrs. Poague have been born two children, Martha Christena and 
Henry Frederick. 

Doctor Poague is a member of the Henry County and the Missouri 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 331 

State Medical Societies. At present he is the county and city physician 
and is a member of the local military draft board. He is a member of 
the Christian Church and is a Democrat. Doctor Poague is a man who 
makes friends and keeps them. He is a genial gentleman and is inter- 
ested in the welfare of his fellow men. 

Edward Austin Gracey of Clinton, Missouri, is a leading member 
of the bar of Henry County, and has practiced his profession here for 
thirty-six years. Judge Gracey was born at Sparta, Tennessee, May 22, 
1861. His parents were Wayman L. and Martha (Hudgins) Gracey, both 
natives of White County, Tennessee. The Graceys are of Irish descent, 
the great-grandfather of Judge Gracey coming from Bainbridge, Ireland, 
to America. On the maternal side. Judge Gracey's ancestors came from 
Scotland. 

Wayman L. and Martha (Hudgins) Gracey spent their lives in Ten- 
nessee. The mother died in 1885 and the father departed this life in 
1887, and their remains rest in the cemetery at Sparta, Tennessee. They 
were the parents of fifteen children, ten of whom are living, as follows: 
Edward Austin, the subject of this sketch; Alice, Sparta, Tennessee; Josie, 
the widow of W. C. Rogers, Sparta, Tennessee ; Mary, wife of James Meyer, 
Sparta, Tennessee; Charles, Louisville, Kentucky; Crockett, Chillicothe, 
Texas ; Augusta, unmarried and resides in Clinton, Missouri, and Mack 
and Wayman, twins, reside at Sparta, Tennessee; and Ethel, unmarried, 
Sparta, Tennessee. 

Judge Gracey was reared in Sparta, and received his early education 
in private schools, and after preparing for college entered Cumberland 
University at Lebanon, Tennessee, where he was graduated in the class of 
1880. He then read law in the office of Judge D. L. Snodgrass for a 
time at Sparta and in 1881 came to Clinton, Missouri, where he con- 
tinued the study of law under the preceptorship of Gen. B. G. Boone, 
and in 1882 he was admitted to the bar of Missouri. He has been suc- 
cessfully engaged in the practice of law at Clinton since that time and 
is well known throughout this section of the state as an able and con- 
scientious lawyer. 

September 6, 1882, Edward Austin Gracey was united in marriage 
with Miss Olive Blakemore, a native of Henry County, and two children 
were born to this union: Francis and George Wayman, both residing in 
Clinton. George Wayman is employed as teller in the Brinkerhoff-Faris 
Trust & Savings Company. Judge Gracey's first wife died February 10, 



332 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

1899. On January 29, 1916, he was united in marriage with Caroline 
Coats of Kansas City, Missouri. 

Judge Gracey is a Democrat and has taken an active part in politics 
for a number of years. He has served two tei-ms as prosecuting attorney 
of Henry County, from 1887 to 1891. For the past nine years he has 
served as a justice of the peace. He is a member of the Baptist Church 
and is one of the widely and favorably known citizens of Henry County. 

Perce Bolinger, senior member of the B. & S. Plumbing Company 
of Clinton, Missouri, is a native son of Henry County. He was born in 
Clinton, in the house where he now lives, at 301 North Washington street, 
June 3, 1872, and is a son of W. W. and Eulalia (Lowden) Bolinger, 
natives of Pennsylvania, the former born near Beech Creek, Clinton County, 
and the latter was born at Jersey Shore, Lycoming County, Pennsylvania. 

W. W. Bolinger, the father of Perce Bolinger, was a jeweler by trade, 
and when the Civil War broke out he enlisted in a Pennsylvania regi- 
ment, and served in the Union Army until the close of the war. In 1867 
he came to Missouri, his destination being Osceola. He came as far 
as Sedalia by rail, and at that time there was no railroad from that point 
to the Southwest, but transportation facilities from Sedalia to Osceola, 
consisted of a stage coach which carried the mail, making the round 
trip from Sedalia to Osceola twice a week. Mr. Bolinger reached Se- 
dalia just as the stage had left on one of its weekly trips, and rather 
than wait until the following week, he proceeded to make the journey 
on foot. However, after reaching Clinton, he was so favorably impressed 
with the town that he decided to engage in business there and for 
thirty-five years he was actively engaged in the jewelry business. He 
spent his latter life in retirement, and died October 25, 1912. His wife 
preceded him in death a little over two years, having departed this life 
in January, 1910. They were the parents of three children, T. S., who 
died at Moberly, Missouri, in 1902, Perce, the subject of this sketch, 
and Blossom, now the wife of R. C. Woods, Sedalia, Missouri. 

Perce Bolinger was reared and educated in Clinton, attending the 
public schools and Lamkin's Academy. After leaving school, he learned 
the printer's trade, which he followed about sixteen years, after which 
he served as chief of the Clinton Fire Department for six years. He 
then engaged in the bottling business in Clinton in partnership with R. 
C. Woods, which they conducted for nine years, when Mr. Bolinger dis- 
posed of his interest in that enterprise and engaged in the plumbing busi- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 333 

Mr. Bolinger was united in marriage July 2, 1893, with Miss Etta 
Onwiler, and one child has been born to this union. John W., a member 
of 128th Machine Gun Company, 35th Division, National Army. He 
volunteered in the service early in the summer of 1917. Mr. Bolinger's 
first wife died in 1894. On June 20, 1896, he was married to Miss Alice 
Simmons of Clinton, Missouri, a native of Illinois. 

Mr. Bolinger is one of the progressive and enterprising business men 
of Clinton, and takes a just pride in his native city and county. He 
has been a life-long Republican and has been active in politics since he 
was eighteen years old. He has served as city and county committee- 
man, and has been chairman of the Republican County Central Commit- 
tee. Although he has taken a deep interest in politics and been identi- 
fied with the local Republican organization, he has never been a candi- 
date for office but once and was then elected councilman of the Second 
Ward of Clinton, and is now serving in that capacity with the same 
progressive spirit which characterizes his private business methods. He 
is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Knights of 
the Maccabees, and the Woodmen of the World. He is one of the widely- 
known and substantial citizens of Henry County. 

George W. Schweer, secretary and general manager of the Mis- 
souri Union Telephone Company, is at the head of one of the most 
important institutions of Henry County. Mr. Schweer was bom at Shot- 
well, now Gerald, Franklin County, Missouri, February 16, 1860, and is 
a son of John H., and Catherine (Harshman) Schweer, pioneers of Frank- 
lin County, Missouri. They were both natives of Germany and came to 
this country with their respective parents when young, the father being 
twelve years of age when he came and the mother ten. 

John H. Schweer was a foreman in a lumber yard for a few years in 
St. Louis, and was later engaged in the general mercantile business at 
Shotwell for a number of years. He also served as postmaster and held 
the ol!ice of justice of the peace. He was prominent in local affairs and 
in early life was a Democrat. Later he became what was known as a 
Douglass Democrat, and when the clouds of Civil War appeared on the 
horizon and the issue between Union and secession became well defined, 
he became a Republican and supported Lincoln at his second election. 
He was a strong Union man and served as captain of the Home Guards 
during the Civil War, and at one time was captured by General Price^s 
army, but was released a short time after his capture. Both he and his 



334 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

wife are buried at Windsor, Missouri. They were the parents of nine 
children, eight of whom are living: Mrs. Lizzie Henicke, Gerald, Missouri; 
Mrs. Emma Stineker, who lives on the old homestead at Gerald, Mis- 
souri; Mrs. Carrie Martin, Denton, Johnson County, Missouri; George W., 
the subject of this sketch; Julius H., assistant cashier of the Bank of 
Blairstown, Missouri ; John W., deceased, and his widow resides at Greeley, 
Nebraska; Mrs. Kate Farrar, Windsor, Missouri, and H. A., who is engaged 
in the mercantile business in Jamesport, in the northern part of Missouri, 
and G. H., agent for the Iron Mountain Railroad Company at Hot Springs, 
Arkansas. 

George W. Schweer was reared in Franklin County, and attended 
school in the old log school house at Shotwell, and later attended the Uni- 
versity of Missouri at Columbia. When he was sixteen years of age he 
taught a term of school near Shotwell. He then entered the employ of 
a wholesale grocery house in St. Louis, and was traveling salesman for 
that concern a part of the time for two years. He then engaged in the 
retail grocery and commission business for a period of two years. In 
1884 he embarked in the general mercantile business at New Haven, 
Missouri, and in 1889 moved with his family to Windsor, Henry County, 
where he was also engaged in the general mercantile business. In 1897 
he was appointed postmaster of Windsor by President McKinley, and at 
the expiration of his term was reappointed in 1902, and reappointed 
again 1906 by President Roosevelt, thus holding that office for nearly 
thirteen years. While a resident of New Haven, Missouri, he was elected 
mayor of that town serving two years. 

Mr. Schweer has been interested in the telephone business for a 
number of years. April 10, 1899, he organized the Missouri Union Tele- 
phone Company, which owns and operates the Windsor, Clinton, La Due, 
Deepwater, Montrose and Urich exchanges, with toll lines connecting the 
surrounding independent exchanges. He was elected secretary and gen- 
eral manager of this company one year after it was organized, and held 
that position to the present time. Clinton, having been made the central 
point of the operation of this company, Mr. Schweer moved his family 
here September 1, 1916. 

Mr. Schweer's iirst wife, whom he married in 1882, bore the maiden 
name of Miss Meekie Farrar, and to them were born six children, as 
follows : Eugene, cashier of the Citizens Bank, Monroe, Missouri ; Julius, 
a traveling salesman; Claud, was commissioned first lieutenant in United 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3S5 

States Signal Coi-ps, but resigned on account of defective hearing; later 
enlisted as an electrician in the United States Navy; Guy W., wire chief 
of the Windsor Telephone exchange ; Cora, a teacher ; Lillie, now the wife 
of Elmo Witcher. Mr. Schweer's first wife died in March, 1898, and he 
married Miss Lizzie Holloway, April 10, 1899, and three children have been 
born to this union, Anna, Christena and Theodore Roosevelt, all attending 
school at Clinton. 

Mr. Schweer is essentially a business man, and has been successful. 
Politically, he is a Republican and has held many liositions in that party 
organization. Being a great admirer of Colonel Roosevelt, he went with 
the Progressive wing of the party during the campaign of 1912, and was 
chairman of the Progressive State Committee in 1914-16, when he again 
went back to his first love, the old Republican party. He is a member 
of the Masonic Lodge, the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Wood- 
men of America, and is a member of the Christian Church. 

Dr. C. L. Cheatham, a prominent veterinary surgeon of Clinton, is 
a member of a well-known pioneer family of this section. He was bom 
in Henry County in 1870 and is a son of Claude E. and Jemima Jane 
(Hurst) Cheatham. The father was born in Calloway County, Missouri, 
in 1844 and the mother was a native of Kentucky, born in 1846. Claude 
E. Cheatham was reared in Calloway County, and about 1866 came to 
Henry County, and settled in Bethlehem Township, and is still the owner 
of the farm which he bought in that township at the time, although 
he resides in Clinton. Claude E. and Jemima Jane (Hurst) Cheatham 
are the parents of the following children: Etta, married Joseph Black, 
and they reside in Henry County; Pearl, married Benjamin Campbell, 
Chicago, Illinois; Dr. C. L., the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. C. L. Cheatham was educated in the public schools of Clinton 
and entered the Kansas City Veterinary College, where he was gradu- 
ated in 1900. He immediately engaged in the practice of his profession 
and for the past eighteen years, with the exception of about one year, 
he has been successfully engaged in the practice of veterinary surgery 
in Henry County, although his practice has frequently extended to other 
sections of the State. He has been deputy State veterinarian for a 
number of years and is now serving his fourth term in that office. He 
is frequently called to different parts of the State in the capacity of deputy 
State veterinarian. 

Doctor Cheatham was united in marriage September 30, 1914, with 



336 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Miss Lilla Broaddus, a daughter of Rev. M. E., and Lilla (Caldwell) 
Broaddus, the fonner a native of Virginia and the latter of South Carolina. 
Rev. M. E. Broaddus is a well-known Baptist minister and came to Clinton 
in charge of the local Baptist Church in 1911, and is now located in Kansas 
City, Missouri. To Doctor and Mrs. Cheatham have been born one son, 
Claude Edwin, born October 15, 1916, and a daughter, Lilla Jane, born 
August 9, 1918. 

Doctor and Mrs. Cheatham have an extensive acquaintance in Clin- 
ton and are universally esteemed. Doctor Cheatham was a schoolmate 
of Uel W. Lamkin, the editor of this work, when they both attended 
Lamkin's Academy, at Clinton. 

Josiah G. McDonald, a Civil War veteran and an early pioneer of 
Henry County, is a native of Illinois. He was born in Sangamon County 
September 26, 1836, a son of John and Elizabeth (Knight) McDonald, the 
former a native of Kentucky and the latter of Culpeper County, Virginia. 
John McDonald came to Missouri from Illinois with his family in 1841, 
driving the entire distance with an ox team and wagon. Upon coming 
to this State he first settled in Audrain County and came to Henry County 
prior to the Civil War. He settled at the town of Lucas, which was then 
quite a commercial center, for pioneer days, and here he engaged in the 
mercantile business. He also owned land in that vicinity. He died about 
18831 His wife died in Audrain County before the family came to Henry 
County. They were the parents of the following children: Joseph and 
John, who are deceased; Josiah G., the subject of this sketch; Chapman, 
deceased; Frank, deceased; Mrs. Mattie Hargraves; Mrs. Ellen Ridgeway 
and Mrs. Mollie Carter, the last three named being also deceased. 

Josiah G. McDonald spent his boyhood days amid the pioneer sur- 
roundings of Audrain County and attended school in a primitive log school 
house of the early days. He was engaged in farming in Clinton when the 
Civil War broke out. He then joined the Confederate Army and served 
about three years. During his military career he served, principally, in 
Missouri and Arkansas. He participated in the battles of Springfield, 
Wilson's Creek, Prairie Grove and numerous other engagements and skir- 
mishes. At the close of the war he and his brother. Chapman, engaged 
in the general mercantile business at Lucas, which they conducted for a 
number of years in partnership, when the brother died and Josiah G. 
continued until 1897. 

Mr. McDonald was united in marriage January 15, 1865, to Miss Mary 




J. G. JIcDOx\ALD 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 337 

M. Snedigar, a daughter of Robert and Malinda Jane (Clinkscale) Orear 
Snedigar, early Missouri pioneers. The father was a Confederate soldier 
and died at Springfield, Missouri, in 1862, and the mother died at Lucas, 
Missouri, January 18, 1910, at the advanced age of ninety-one 
years and two months. Mrs. McDonald was born April 2, 1840, 
in Rawls County, Missouri, and was one of the following children 
born to her parents: Mrs. Martha J. Mason, deceased; Mary'M., wife of 
Josiah G. McDonald; Mrs. Sarah Katherine Lee, deceased. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Josiah G. McDonald were born seven children as follow: Dora, who 
resides at home with her parents ; Robert E., Urich, Missouri ; Catherine, 
married D. Gates, Craig, Colorado; Josiah, Urich, Missouri; George W., 
Urich, Missouri; Mary Florence, married James Marksbarry, Blairstown, 
Missouri; Viola, married Estelle Pelley, Craig, Colorado. 

Mr. and Mrs. McDonald are truly entitled to be classed among the 
foremost pioneers of Henry County. They have lived on their present 
place for forty-five years. When the McDonald family settled in Henry 
County deer, wild turkey and other game of the unsettled frontier were 
in abundance. Clinton was a mere village and the few settlers that lived 
in the section of the country where the McDonalds located have long 
since passed to their reward. The McDonald family have in their pos- 
session a number of interesting relics of pioneer days, among which are 
a Seth Thomas clock which is over seventy years old and still measures 
time as accurately as it did during the Civil War. They also have a 
cherry dresser which has been in the family for four generations. The 
McDonald family are among the respected pioneer families of Henry 
County. 

Mason Anderson, a {prominent clothing and furnishing dealer ,at 
Clinton, Missouri, is a native of Henry County, and a member of one 
of its pioneer families. He was born at Leesville, February 17, 1875, a 
son of Christopher and Martha (Bell) Anderson. Christopher (better 
known as "Kit") Anderson, was a native of Virginia, and came to Mis- 
souri when a young man and settled on the little Tebo, near Warsaw. He 
was a man who had a varied pioneer experience. In 1849 he started 
across the plains to California, but was taken severely ill. The parties 
who accompanied him drove away with his team and left him sick and 
alone. After his return to Missouri, he engaged in the mercantile business 
and for a time was located at Pleasant Hill, and later at Sedalia. He 
sei-ved in the United States Army for a time. He came to Henry County 



338 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

after the close of the Civil War and engaged in the mercantile business 
at Leesville. He remained there until 1884, when he came to Clinton 
and purchased the William Allison store on the east side of the square, 
just two doors north of where Mason Anderson's clothing store is now 
located. Here he was successfully engaged in business for a number of 
years. He died in 1888. "Kit" Anderson iwas twice married. His 
first wife was Miss Bradshaw, and one child was bom to this union, 
who is now the widow of Dr. J. H. Baugh, and resides at Clinton. 
After the death of his first wife Mr. Anderson was united in marriage 
with Miss Mattie Bell, a native of Tennessee, who came here with her 
parents at an early day. She was a daughter of Rev. William Bell, who 
was a minister and also engaged in the mercantile business at Otterville, 
Missouri, during the Civil War. To Mr. Anderson's second marriage were 
born the following children: Christopher, traveling salesman for the 
Peters Shoe Company of St. Louis, lives in Kansas City, Missouri ; Pauline, 
who was a teacher in the Clinton schools for a number of years, and is 
now engaged in teaching at Waitsburg, Washington; Mason, the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Berry, manager of the Osage Mercantile Com- 
pany, Osceola, Missouri. 

Mason Anderson was nine years of age when he came to Clinton 
with his parents. He received his education in the public schools and 
in Lamkin's Academy. After the death of his father, the mother con- 
nitued the store for a number of years, and Mason assisted his mother 
in the business. In 1895 he went to Lowery City, Missouri, where he 
engaged in the drygoods, clothing and shoe business. In 1897 he moved 
his stock of goods to Clinton, and opened a store in the Reynolds building 
on the northwest corner of the square. In 1899 he sold out, and clerked for 
Mr. Weidemeyer in Clinton until March, 1918, when he bought out the 
Williams Clothing Company, on the east side of the square, where he 
has since conducted a first-class clothing store, with all the accessories 
in the way of furnishing goods that goes with it. He is located in the 
Weidemeyer building, which is one of the old commercial land-marks 
of Clinton. 

Mr. Anderson was united in marriage June 30, 1898, to Miss Kate Cal- 
loway, a daughter of James Calloway, a former sheriff of Henry County, 
now deceased. Mrs. Anderson was bom in Henry County and her parents 
were pioneers of this section. To Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have been 
born three children, as follows: Mason, Jr., a graduate of the Clinton 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 339 

High School, and now attending school at Fulton, Missouri; Berry and 
Frank, both attending the Clinton schools. Mr. Anderson is a Democrat 
and has served two terms as collector of Clinton. He is a member of 
the Elks and the Modern Woodmen of America and is a progressive and 
enterprising business man. 

Ben Rentchler, a prominent merchant of Clinton, who for a number 
of years has been successfully engaged in the grocery business, is a 
native of Nebraska. He was born at West Point, in 1871, and is a son 
of Christian and Barbara (Braun) Rentchler, natives of Germany, who 
came to America in 1860 and settled at West Point, Nebraska, where the 
father homesteaded Government land. Later he was engaged in the gro- 
cery and bakery business at West Point for a few years and in 1875 came 
to Kansas City, Missouri, where he followed truck gardening until 1890. 
He then came to Henry County, Missouri, and bought a farm six miles 
northeast of Clinton. Later he moved to Clinton, where, after living 
retired for a few years, he died in September, 1913, and his i-emains are 
buried in Englewood Cemetery. His widow now resides in Clinton. They 
were the parents of four children, as follows: John, Kansas City, Mis- 
souri; Benjamin, the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Lizzie Schleiche, Rose- 
dale, Kansas, and William, farmer, Clinton, Missouri. 

Ben Rentchler was educated in the public schools of Kansas City, 
Kansas, and Kansas City, Missouri, and in early life was engaged in 
truck gardening with his father. After coming to Henry County he fol- 
lowed farming until 1905, when he came to Clinton and for about a 
year was employed by the White Swan Mills. In 1906 he purchased 
the grocery business from W. S. Hodd, and since that time has been 
engaged in that business. He is one of the live, progressive and up-to-date 
grocers in Clinton. The Rentchler grocery store is one of the busy places 
of Clinton. Besides his two sons, Mr. Rentchler is assisted by two other 
clerks, and this business is an example of the result of square dealing 
and good service. 

Mr. Rentchler was united in marriage in October, 1905, to Miss 
Carrie Mann of Clinton, Missouri, a daughter of Valentine and Caroline 
Mann, early settlers in this vicinity, coming to Clinton in the sixties. 
Valentine Mann is now deceased and his widow resides in Clinton. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Rentchler have been born three children as follows : Philip, 
Ernest and Freda, all of whom reside at home with their parents. The 
two boys assist their father in the store. Mr. Rentchler is one of the 



340 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

progressive citizens of Henry County and the Rentchler family stand 
high in the community. 

V. J. Day, the capable cashier of the Clinton National Bank, al- 
though comparatively a young man, has had an extensive and successful 
career in the field of banking and finance in western Missouri. Mr. Day 
is a native son of Missouri. He was bom in Johnson County, near War- 
rensburg, July 4, 1877, and is a son of Daniel L., and Fanny (Covington) 
Day. The Day family are truly a pioneer family of western Missouri. 
Daniel L. Day, father of V. J., was born in Johnson County in 1851. He 
has been a successful farmer and stock raiser in the county of his birth 
and is now living retired at Chilhowee, Missouri. He is the son of 
Richard W. Day, a native of North Carolina, who settled in Johnson 
County, south of Warrensburg, in the early forties, and spent the remainder 
of his life in that vicinity. Fanny (Covington) Day, mother of V. J. 
Day, is a native of Kentucky and came to Johnson County, Missouri, 
with her parents when she was about twelve years of age. 

To Daniel L. and Fanny (Covington) Day, have been bom three 
children, as follows: V. J., the subject of this sketch; Robert, a farmer 
and stock man near Chilhowee, Missouri, and Dennis, a well-known live 
stock dealer and farmer at Chilhowee. 

V. J. Day was reared on his father's farm in Johnson County, re- 
ceiving his early education in the district schools. Later he attended 
the Warrensburg State Normal School, after which he was a student at 
the Central Business College, Sedalia, Missouri, and was graduated from 
that institution in 1900. He then accepted a clerkship in the Commer- 
cial Bank of Warrensburg, and was continuously employed in that bank 
for ten years. He began as bookkeeper and when he resigned, in Sep- 
tember, 1909, he was assistant cashier. He then returned to his farm, 
near Warrensburg, which he sold a short time afterwards and for about 
six months was assistant cashier of the Farmers Bank of Chilhowee. 
He then bought an interest in the Schell City Bank at Schell City, Mis- 
souri, and was elected cashier of that institution. He conducted the 
affairs of that bank very successfully until he resigned to accept the 
cashiership of the Clinton National Bank in the fall of 1917, which posi- 
tion he now holds. 

The Clinton National Bank is one of the important financial institu- 
tions, not only of Henry County, but of western Missouri. It was organ- 
ized April 29, 1905, under the Federal Banking Laws with a capital stock 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'41 

of $50,000. The first officers were, William Docking, president; Dr. W. 
H. Gibbons, vice-president, and C. W. Snyder, cashier. The original 
stockholders were William Docking, George S. Hovey, Lee Clark, J. D. 
Robertson, William C. Henrice, C. W. Snyder, Dr. W. H. Gibbons, C. H. 
Avery, E. C. Kent, W. L. Garner, Thomas B. Lee. Thomas G. Hutt 
succeeded William Docking as president of the bank, and later went to 
Kansas City, Missouri, with the Drovers National Bank. He was suc- 
ceeded by Dr. W. H. Gibbons, who served as president of the Clinton 
National Bank until January, 1915, when E. C. Kent became its presi- 
dent, and is still serving in that capacity. C. W. Snyder served as cashier 
from the organization of the bank until 1910, when he was succeeded 
by William L. Poynter, who served until September, 1917, when V. J. 
Day became cashier. 

v. J. Day was united in marriage April 7, 1901, with Miss Mary 
Lewis of Warrensburg, Missouri. She is a daughter of Elijah Lewis, 
who settled in the vicinity of Pertle Springs. To Mr. and Mrs. Day have 
been born two children, Frances Louise and Mary Katharine. 

Mr. Day is a man who possesses the unusual mental qualifications 
that go to make up a successful banker. He is a progressive business 
man, and at the same time possesses that degree of conservatism so 
essential to safety in the great field of finance and banking. Mr. Day 
takes a commendable interest in local affairs and while a resident of 
Schell City, he served three terms as a member of the local school 
board, and takes a deep interest in the public schools. He is a member 
of the Masonic Lodgfe, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and he and Mrs. Day are members of the Presbyterian Church. 

James E. Bennett, a former Henry County sheriff who has been 
prominently identified with the affairs of this county for a number of 
years, is a native of Kentucky. He was bom June 19, 1850, and is a son 
of John and Martha (Ham) Bennett, both natives of Kentucky and 
descendants of Kentucky pioneer stock. 

James E. Bennett's parents moved to Bates County from Benton 
County, Missouri, in 1856, when James was six years of age. They first 
settled in Benton County and after remaining a short time there went to 
the western part of Bates County and settled on a farm not far from 
the Kansas State line. This section was in the heart of the Border War 
district. When the Civil War broke out the father joined the cause 
of Confederacy, serving under General Price. A few months after the 



342 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

outbreak of the war he returned to his Bates County home and removed 
his family to Henry County on what is known as the Lafe Cruse place, 
near where Cook's old mill stood on the Grand River. About a year later 
the family went to Pettis County. After the war the father bought a 
place in Pettis County on Flat Creek. Here he followed farming, meet- 
ing with a fair degree of success until his death. The mother survived 
him eight years. Both died on the old home place on Flat creek in Pettis 
County. 

James E. Bennett was one of a family of eleven children, ten of 
whom are now living: W. T., Orange California; G. L., Green Ridge, 
Missouri; James E., the subject of this sketch; H. L. Spokane, Washing- 
ton; Susan, married Milton Durrell, Ionia, Missouri; Martha J., mar- 
ried May Field, who is now deceased and she resides at Hot Springs, 
Arkansas; Walter L., Rockville, Missouri; Lillie, married Philip Snovall, 
a member of the board of county judges at Benton County, and resides 
at Ionia, Missouri; John M., Brownington, Missouri; and Ed A., who 
resides on the old home place in Pettis County. Of the ten members of 
this family, the youngest is fifty-one years of age and the oldest about 
seventy-two. 

The boyhood days of James E. Bennett were spent amidst the scenes 
and hardships of the Border and Civil Wars, and he has a distinct recol- 
lection of many of the tragedies of that time. He witnessed a number 
of minor engagements between the contending factions and many of 
the events of those times left an indelible impression on his-'mind. He 
was reared on a farm and received his education in the schools which 
the early times afforded and began life as a farmer in the vicinity of 
Windsor, Missouri. About 1880 he was elected marshal of Windsor, 
serving in that capacity for six years, and during that time he also held 
the office as constable. He was then appointed deputy sheriff of Henry 
County under Sheriff W. J. Ellison, and had charge of the county jail 
during the latter part of Sheriff Ellison's administration. Sheriff Elli- 
son was succeeded by Sheriff James H. Calloway, and Mr. Bennett was 
appointed deputy sheriff under Sheriff Calloway, continuing to have 
charge of the jail for four years more. He was then elected sheriff of 
Henry County, and at the expiration of his first term, was re-elected and 
served for four years. In going out of the office of sheriff, Mr. Bennett 
left a record as one of the capable and conscientious officers of Henry 
County. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'43 

At the close of his official career, Mr. Bennett bought a farm, near 
Windsor, where he was engaged in farming and stock raising about eight 
years. In 1904 he came to Clinton and since that time has been engaged 
in buying and selling horses and mules, and he is one of the extensive 
dealers in that line in this section of the State. 

On June 17, 1873, James E. Bennett was united in marriage with 
Miss Catherine I. Hines, a daughter of Brantley and Elizabeth (Douglas) 
Hines. The father was a soldier in the Confederate Army and when 
the war ended he was in Texas in the service of the "lost cause." After 
the close of the war and while on his way home, on a transport on the 
Red River, the' boat sank on account of overloading and he was drowned. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Bennett have been born four children, as follows : Mary 
Myrtle (oldest), married Charles Gray, and is now deceased; Walter, 
supervisor of the State Hospital at Nevada, Missouri; Wallace, who is 
engaged in the transfer business at Long Beach, California ; Edwin, asso- 
ciated with his father in business in Clinton. 

Mr. Bennett has been identified with the Democratic party since 
boyhood, and it may be truly said of him that he is a staunch Demo- 
crat. He is a member of the Ancient Order of United Workman and 
the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a public spirited and progressive 
citizen and there are few, if any, men in Henry County who have more 
friends than "Jim" Bennett. 

Dr. L. L. Cress, a well-known and successful veterinary surgeon of 
Clinton, Missouri, is a native of North Carolina. He was born at Salis- 
bury March 9, 1878, and is a son of Adolphus and America (Cody) 
Cress, both natives of North Carolina, and now residents of Salisbury. 
The Cress family is of Holland descent, members of whom settled near 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, probably about 1700. Many descendants of 
these early Pennsylvania pioneers are scattered throughout the East, 
including Ohio and Illinois. The great-grandfather of Doctor Cress went 
to North Carolina and the Southern members of the Cress family are 
descendants from him. Many members of the Cress family served in 
the Revolutionary War in Washington's army. Americas Cody, mother 
of Doctor Cress, comes from a long line of Southern ancestors who suffered 
severe losses during the Civil War. The late William F. Cody, "Buffalo 
Bill," was a cousin of Doctor Cress' mother. 

Doctor Cress was one of a family of ten children all of whom are 
now living. He received his early education in Rowan County, North 



344 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Carolina in an old log school house near Salisbury. Doctor Cress is a 
young man but he has experienced the atmosphere of the log school house. 
His early life was spent on his father's farm and in 1898 he came to 
Missouri and located at Clinton. Here he was employed by a veterinary 
surgeon, and young Cress soon discovered that he had a liking for the 
profession of his employer and under the preceptorship of his employer 
began the study of veterinary surgery, and at the same time getting 
considerable actual practice! He was thus employed for eighteen months 
when he entered the Kansas City School of Veterinary Surgery and 
after studying there two years, entered the Ontario Veterinary College 
at Toronto, Canada, where he was graduated in the Class of 1904. He 
then returned to Clinton, where he has since been engaged in the practice 
of his profession. Doctor Cress has met with well-merited success in 
his chosen profession and is one of the capable veterinaiy surgeons of 
the State, and is recognized as such. 

In 1910, Doctor Cress was united in marriage with Miss Pearl Haw- 
kins of Clinton. They are both members of the Presbyterian Church. 
Doctor Cress is a man who has read a great deal and traveled much 
He has been in the East, the West and the South, but as he expresses 
it himself, after he returned to Missouri from a trip, he feels like "jump- 
ing up and cracking his heels together, and saying that he is glad he's 
back home." 

Archalus Binum Redford, a Henry County pioneer now residing at 
Urich, is a native of Tennessee. He was born in Knox County July 18, 
1829, a son of Noah and Phoebe (Dodson) Redford. Noah Redford was 
a native of North Carolina. He came to Missouri in 1834 and first set- 
tled in Moniteau County, and moved from there to Johnson County, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. He was a resident of Johnson 
County for over fifty years, and died in that county and his remains are 
buried at Warrensburg. His wife also died in Johnson County and is 
also buried at Warrensburg. A. Binum Redford is the only member of 
a family of eight brothers and sisters now living. 

Binum Redford came to Big Creek township, Henry County, in 1857, 
and first purchased two hundred acres of land at $7.50 per acre. He 
then entered one hundred sixty acres of Government land, which cost him 
seventy-five cents per acre, and he is now one of the large land owners 
of Henry County. He owns nine hundred ninety-nine acres. When Mr. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 345 

Redford came here there were very few settlers in western Henry County, 
James Smith was the only settler in the vicinity where Mr. Redford lo- 
cated and the country was one broad expanse of unfenced prairie, and Mr. 
Reford recalls the days of free range with a sort of regret, common to 
the cattle men of the early days. There were no public schools when 
he came here and Clinton was a small hamlet. Mr. Redford has seen 
many changes in the sixty-one years of his residence in Henry County. 
When he came here there were a number of Osage Indians in this vicinity. 
They were friendly and inofi'ensive. During the Civil War Mr. Redford 
remained on his place and was one of the few men who had no trouble 
with either side, although some of his horses were taken. Mr. Redford's 
first wife was Hannah Anderson, to whom he was married in Johnson 
County, and the following children were born to this union: Mrs. Serepta 
Overbey, Urich, Missouri; Noah, deceased; John, deceased, and Robert, 
a farmer and stockman in Big Creek township. The mother of these 
children died in March, 1906, and Mr. Redford was married to Miss Dora 
Barnett, now deceased. Mr. Redford was united in marriage August 28, 
1913, with Hannah N. Colson, widow of Archibald B. Colson, a Henry 
County pioneer, who settled in Walker township. He died in 1906. Mrs. 
Redford is a native of Missouri, born in Osage County, September 24, 
1848. She is a daughter of Moses and Susan Glenn (Hibler) Sevier. They 
were early settlers in Henry County and came from Osage County in 
1855. The father was a native of Birksville, Kentucky, and a grandson 
of Governor John Sevier, the first Governor of Tennessee. Moses Sevier 
was a captain of a Confederate company in the Civil War. He died Sep- 
tember 11, 1876, aged sixty-eight years, at Dallas, Texas. His wife died 
in 1884. Mrs. Redford is the oldest of a family of ten children born to 
her parents, only two of whom are living. Mrs. Redford and Mrs. Pliny 
Hanes, Dallas, Texas. By her marriage to Archibald B. Colson, Mrs. Red- 
ford has seven children: Doctor John, Sch ell City; Mrs. Mattie Angle, 
Clinton, Missouri; Mrs. Laura Crissman, Bonham, Texas; Mrs. Mollie 
Clizer, Montrose, Missouri; Mrs. Gertrude Harness, Walker township, 
Henry County; B. S. Colson, Appleton City, Missouri, and Richard P., 
Montrose, Missouri. 

Mr. and Mrs. Redford are among the honored pioneers of Henry 
County and are highly respected in the county, which has been their home 
for over half a century. 



346 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

William M. Poynter of Clinton has had an unusual and successful 
business career, and has been identified with the banking industry for 
a number of years. He was born in Kentucky, July 7, 1855, a son of 
William H. and Frances Lucinda (Asbury) Poynter, both natives of Ken- 
tucky. The Poynter family belong to old Kentucky stock, the great- 
great-grandfather of William M. Poynter being the founder of the family 
in Kentucky. He was a native of Ireland, and went to Kentucky about 
the time that the celebrated Daniel Boone did. He fought Indians where 
Boonesborough, Kentucky, now stands. He had the characteristic, en- 
dured the hardships and is entitled to the honor of the Kentucky pioneers 
of the early days. His vdfe was a Scotch woman. 

William H. Poynter, the father of the subject of this sketch, came 
to Missouri from Kentucky in 1858 and settled in Holt County, where 
he spent the remainder of his life. He was a soldier in the Union Army 
during the Civil War, sei-ving as a member of the 9th Regiment, Missouri 
Cavalry. He was a man of considerable means when the war broke out, 
but like many others met with heavy financial losses on account of 
the disturbed conditions created by that conflict. In early life he was 
a Whig and later became a Democrat. He died August 13, 1909, aged 
eighty-five years. His wife and the mother of William M. Poynter, pre- 
ceded him in death a number of years, she having departed this life 
about the time the Civil War broke out. They were the parents of 
nine children, three of whom are now living: William M., the subject 
of this sketch; Mrs. Henry Myer, who lives in Holt County, Missouri, 
and James H., who also lived in Holt County, Missouri. 

William M. Poynter was reared and educated in Holt County, Mis- 
souri, and began life as a farmer, which he successfully followed until 
1901, when he sold his farm in Holt County and went to Vernon County. 
In 1902 he went to Creighton, Missouri, where he organized the Bank 
of Creighton, and was its first president. He was identified with that 
bank until February, 1905, when he disposed of his interest and went to 
Avalon, Missouri, and organized the Citizens Bank of Avalon. He was 
elected cashier of that institution, and retained his connection with that 
bank until 1914. He organized the Bank of Bigelow in February, 1902, 
and his son George W., has been cashier of that bank since its organi- 
zation. Mr. Poynter was one of the organizers of the Citizens Bank 
of Oregon, Missouri, which organization was affected in 1890. He was 
engaged in farming at that time and served as a director of that bank 
for a number of years. He is a stockholder in the Clinton National 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'47 

Bank, Clinton, Missouri, and a member of the board of directors. He 
is also a stockholder in the Denton Title and Trust Company of Butler, 
Missouri. In addition to his banking interests, Mr. Poynter owns con- 
siderable land, much of which is located in Arkansas. 

Mr. Poynter was united in marriage April 25, 1905, with Miss Minnie 
Single, a native of Indianola, Texas, and a daughter of Charles and Mary 
A. (Studley) Single, the former a native of Stuttgart, Germany, and 
the latter of Dorsett, England. The father was a soldier in the United 
States Regular Army prior to and during the Civil War. He was killed 
by lightning while in his tent at Chattanooga, Tennessee, August 6, 1863. 
He was first lieutenant in the 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry, and 
at the time of his death was acting quartermaster general. Mrs. Poyn- 
ter was one of a family of three children born to her parents, the other 
two being Charles, who lives near Blairstown, Henry County, and John, 
who lives just across the line in Cass County. The mother married again, 
March 6, 1867, her second husband being J. B. Weymeyer of St. Louis, 
now of Henry County, and four children were born to this union, W. H., 
farmer, Bogard township, Henry County; George S., also a farmer in 
Bogard township; Annie C, married George Wisely, and is now deceased, 
and Robert W., who also resides in Bogard township. The mother died 
December 12, 1903, and her husband now resides with his son, George. 

Mrs. Poynter's stepfather and her mother came to Henry County 
with their family March 10, 1867, settling in Bogard township, and the 
old home place is still owned by a member of the family. Mrs. Poynter 
is one of the pioneer teachers of Henry County. In early life she had 
excellent educational advantages, receiving much of her education in 
Florida, and later attended Webster's School in St. Louis, Missouri. She 
began teaching in Henry County when sixteen years old, and during the 
course of her career as a teacher taught in every school district in Bogard 
township, except the Blairstown district. She taught the first term that 
was ever taught in the brick school at Urich, and from the time she was 
sixteen years of age she taught school every year until she was married. 
She owns a valuable farm of 200 acres, eighty acres of which is in Henry 
County and 120 in Cass County, which she bought and paid for out of 
her earnings while teaching school. 

Mr. and Mrs. Poynter have no children but by a former marriage 
Mr. Poynter has eight children, as follows: W. L., engaged in the oil 
business, Clinton, Missouri; George W., cashier of the Bank of Bigelow, 
Bigelow, Missouri; James A., Kansas City; Mrs. Ethel Clayton, Carney, 



848 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Missouri ; Emery C, cashier of the Minden State Bank, Minden, Missouri ; 
R. F., cashier of the Bank of Fortesque, Missouri; Samuel C, farmer in 
Holt County, and Harold L., bookkeeper in the Cameron Trust Company 
at Cameron, Missouri. 

Mr. Poynter has been a life long Democrat and is a member of the 
time honored Masonic Lodge. 

John Nicholson Pierce, a prominent retired minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, residing at Clinton, is a native of Pennsylvania. He 
was born twenty miles south of Pittsburg, December 12, 1834, a son of 
Andrew and Sarah (Nicholson) Pierce. The Pierce homestead in Penn- 
sylvania is located on what is said to have been a grant of land by the 
Government of 4,000 acres to Andrew Pierce> for services rendered in 
the Revolutionary War, and the homestead is still owned by his de- 
scendants. 

John Nicholson Pierce grew to manhood on the Pierce homestead 
farm and here in the fresh air of farm life developed a sound body and 
mind. After receiving a good preparatory education, he entered Alle- 
gheny College at Meadville, Pennsylvania, where he was graduated in the 
class of 1857 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Later this same in- 
stitution conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts. After leav- 
ing college, Mr. Pierce spent one year at the head of public schools at 
McKeesport, Pennsylvania. He then began preaching in the Methodist 
Church on a circuit which consisted of eight preaching places in eastern 
Ohio, receiving $185 for his first year's work. This was in 1858 and the 
membership of the church on this circuit was largely increased during 
his labors. One church was built and dedicated in New Waterford, where 
there had never been a Methodist organization before, and that church 
is still standing and in a flourishing condition. During this period he 
held a successful revival at Columbiana, Ohio, which was followed by 
the building of a new church which is now in a prosperous condition. 
After a trial year spent on this circuit. Reverend Pierce was admitted on 
trial into the Pittsburg Conference and given a good place, and success 
continued to crown his efforts. At that time a Methodist minister was 
permitted to remain only two years in charge of the same church. Rev- 
erend Pierce was given charge at Dayton, Pennsylvania, and before his 
time was out there he was taken to New York and ordained both a deacon 
and elder and appointed to take charge of a mission in Arizona. But 
before he could reach the location of his new field the Civil War broke 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY Sf49 

out and he went to Washington as chaplain of the 85th Regiment, Penn- 
sylvania infantry, and served in the capacity as chaplain throughout the 
war. At the close of that conflict he was sent by Bishop Ames into Mis- 
souri to do ministerial work for the church and his work in this State 
has all been south of the Missouri River. He was the first pastor of the 
Grand Avenue Church in Kansas City, Missouri, and preached the first 
sermon and the last one ever preached in that church, a period of forty- 
two years intervening between them. Trinity Church in St. Louis was 
built and dedicated under his pastorate. He was pastor and presiding 
elder in Sedalia and Clinton and pastor in Carthage, Springfield and 
Warrensburg. 

Few ministers of the Gospel have had a more active career, a career 
crowned by results equaled only by the efforts put forth, than Rev. John 
Nicholson Pierce. He did his part in building churches and parsonages, 
for thirty of the best years of his life, and at the close of this long and 
successful career he retired with more achievement to his credit than 
can be said of but few men in any line of endeavor. 

After retiring from the regular work of the ministry, Mr. Pierce 
engaged in the lumber business and was later interested in the Industrial 
Iron Works of Clinton. He has also been interested in other industrial 
and financial affairs. He was largely interested in Oklahoma City during 
its early days and built more than forty houses there, which was no small 
contribution to the up-building of that city of marvelous growth. Mr. 
Pierce has been successful in his business undertakings and is now living 
practically retired, with the exception of the personal attention which 
he gives his investments. 

In 1857, soon after his graduation from college, John Nicholson Pierce 
was united in marriage with Miss Emma Curtis of Meadville, Pennsyl- 
vania. To this union were born two sons and two daughters, as follows: 
Ida May, now the widow of Rev. Charles Newell, and her son, Charles 
Newell, is editor of the Dallas, Texas, "Dispatch," and Rev. John T. 
Newell, prominent Methodist preacher of Des Moines Conference is also 
her son; Emma C, wife of Dr. A. A. Thompson, district superintendent 
of the Des Moines Conference, and their only son, A. R. Thompson, is 
one of the prominent bankers of Nebraska, being vice-president and gen- 
eral manager of the Nebraska National Bank, Hastings, Nebraska ; Frank 
R. Pierce, resides in St. Louis and is president of one of the largest lum- 
ber companies of that city; and Andrew B. Pierce, a retired merchant, 



350 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

the youngest son of Reverend Pierce of this marriage, Ironton, Missouri. 
Mr. Pierce's first wife and the mother of these four children died at 
Independence, Missouri, in February, 1867. In April, 1868, Mr. Pierce 
was united in marriage with Miss Lucy Bennett, and to this union have 
been born the following children: Herbert, a planter in Arkansas; Helen, 
wife of Espey C. Jones, Boone County, near Columbia, Missouri, and 
Harold, a lawyer in New Mexico; Mrs. Hallie (Hall), Clinton, Missouri. 
Mrs. Lucy (Bennett) Pierce was bom in January, 1841, at Zanesville, 
Ohio, daughter of Uriah P. Bennett, who served as editor of the "Zanes- 
ville Courier" for a period of twenty-five years. For the past twenty- 
five years Mrs. Pierce has been secretary of the Clinton Shakespearian 
Club, and is active in literary and religious work. Mr. Pierce has eleven 
grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. 

Reverend Pierce is now in his eighty-fourth year and is as active in 
body and keen in intellect as the average man of fifty. He enjoys an 
extensive acquaintance not only in the immediate vicinity of his home 
but throughout the country. He numbers among his intimate acquain- 
tances many of the prominent men and women of the United States. He 
has just cause, at the end of his active career, to feel that sense of satis- 
faction that his life's work has been a success, both from a spiritual and 
a business standpoint. It may be truly said of him that he has not lived 
in vain. 

Dr. W. B. Calvert, a prominent dentist of Clinton, is a native son of 
Henry County, and a descendant of one of the honored pioneer families 
of this section. He was bom near where Delmar now stands in Davis 
township, August 20, 1871, a son of Samuel and Mary S. (Beckett) Cal- 
vert. The father was a native of Kentucky, born in Harrison County, 
March 1, 1831. He was a son of Isaac Calvert and Mildred (Chambers) 
Calvert. Isaac Calvert was bom in Culpeper County, Virginia, October 
18, 1783, and married Mildred Chambers in Harrison County, Kentucky, 
June 25, 1823. He died near Franklin, Harrison County, Kentucky, July 
13, 1853. He was a son of Isaac and Katherine Calvert, the former a 
native of Prince Williams County, Virginia, born in 1743 and married in 
1771. He died February 1, 1809. The Calvert family traced the found- 
ing of that family in this country to the first permanent English settle- 
ment in America at Jamestovm, Virginia, in 1607, Doctor Calvert of this 
review being a direct descendant from a Calvert who was a member of 
the Jamestown Colony. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'51 

Mary S. Beckett, Doctor Calvert's mother, was born at Chambers- 
burg, Clark County, Missouri, July 19, 1841, a daughter of Woodford 
and Duranda (Taylor) Beckett. Woodford Beckett was a native of Pen- 
dleton County, Kentucky, and an early pioneer of Missouri. He came to 
this State in 1837 and located near Hannibal, where he remained until 
1839, when he went to Clark County and there spent the remainder of 
his life. He was a surveyor and prominent in Clark County. He was 
of English descent and traced his ancestors to the same family as that 
of Sir Thomas Beckett, well known in English history. Duranda Taylor 
Beckett, wife of Woodford Beckett, was a native of Kentucky, and was 
related to Zachariah Taylor. Doctor Calvert's parents were married April 
18, 1869, and two children were born to this union, of whom the doctor is 
the eldest, and Ellen, boni March 15, 1874, now the wife of William Kious, 
Kahoka, Missouri. 

Samuel Calvert came to Henry County in 1857 and settled in Davis 
township, where he engaged in farming, which was his life occupation. 
When the Civil War broke out his sympathies were with the South and 
he joined the Confederate army, serving under Gen. Sterling Price in 
Missouri, Arkansas and Texas, participating in all the principal battles 
fought by General Price's army. He received a gunshot wound at the 
Battle of Lone Jack. He died November 6, 1896. His ^vife preceded him 
in death a number of years, having departed this life in January, 1874, 
when Doctor Calvert was a little over three years old. 

When his mother died Doctor Calvert went to live with his grand- 
parents, Woodford Beckett and wife, who resided in Clark County, Mis- 
souri. His grandfather was a surveyor, and when Doctor Calvert was a 
boy he assisted his grandfather a great deal in that line of work and 
became quite proficient as a surveyor himself. He received his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Clark County and Kahoka College at Kahoka, 
Missouri. After receiving a good preparatory education he entered the 
Western Dental College at Kansas City, Missouri, and after studying 
there one year entered the Keokuk Dental College at Keokuk, Iowa, where 
he was graduated with a degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery in 1900. 
He then engaged in the practice of his profession at Milan, Sullivan County, 
Missouri, where he remained about six months, and in the spring of 1901 
he came to Clinton, where he has since been engaged in the practice. 
Doctor Calvert is a skillful dentist and recognized as one of the capable 
professional men of western Missouri, who are schooled and skilled in 
the great science of dentistry. 



352 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Doctor Calvert was united in marriage June 26, 1902, with Mrs. Lil- 
lian (Sawyer) Pugh, who was born near Indianapolis, Indiana, of North 
Carolina parentage. Mrs. Calvert has one son by a former marriage to 
John Pugh, Joel S. Pugh, who was engaged in the wholesale lumber busi- 
ness at Ardmore, Oklahoma. 

Doctor Calvert is a member of the Masonic Lodge and is a Democrat. 
He takes an active interest in local municipal affairs and for ten consecu- 
tive years has served in one capacity or another in connection with the 
city government of Clinton. He has been councilman for four years and 
was a member of the public works commission when the electric light 
plant was built by the city. He is a progressive citizen and a professional 
man of high standing. Doctor Calvert can always be safely relied upon 
to co-operate with any movement that has for its purpose the betterment 
or upbuilding of his city and county. 

Joseph H. Wilson. — Among the noted personages of Henry County 
who have figured prominently in the development of this county since the 
, pioneer days none has had a more varied nor more honorable and useful 
career than Joseph H. Wilson, the "Sage" of Deepwater township, who 
has lived in Henry County since his parents brought him to this county 
an infant in arms. Well educated, intelligent, progressive and endowed 
with a keen and discerning intellect, his long life has been filled with deeds 
well done, not only in enhancement of his own personal interests, but he 
has accomplished much in behalf of Henry County and his fellow citizens. 
Reared in the southland, and of decided southern sympathies, he was 
among the first to take up arms in behalf of what he deemed to be a 
just and righteous cause. Deeply religious, he has devoted many years 
of his life to the furtherance of the cause of Christianity and especially 
delighted in the training of the young in the paths of right living and 
in giving them a knowledge of the Scriptures. So remarkable is Mr. 
Wilson's memory and so constant is his reading and study that for many 
years he was the final authority in settling disputes and questions of 
boundary lines between farms in his section of the county. 

Joseph H. Wilson, pioneer, Deepwater township, was born in Cabelle 
County, West Virginia, October 31, 1840, and is the son of James Ramsey 
(born January, 1803, died June, 1897) and Susan (Everett) Wilson (born 
1811, died 1875). 

James Ramsey Wilson was born in Maysville, Kentucky, and was 
the son of James Wilson, who was born in Ireland. James Wilson of 




JOSEPH H. WILSON 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY SbS 

Maysville, Kentucky, married a Miss Bailey, who was a daughter of Col. 
Samuel Bailey, a Revolutionary soldier who was killed by the Indians 
during an attack made upon the settlement by the savages in the early 
history of Kentucky. James Wilson and his family were among the first 
pioneer settlers in Kanawha County, West Virginia, and it is a matter 
of history that James Wilson made the first salt at the Kanawha Salt 
Works, located above the city of Charleston, in partnership with John 
Savaryn, a Frenchman. As previously stated the Wilsons came to Henry 
County from Kanawha County in March, 1841, and established a perma- 
nent home in this county. The first settlement of the Wilson family 
was made near the Teays settlement on Marshall Creek in March, 1841. 
In 1845 they settled permanently in Deepwater township. James R. and 
Susan Wilson reared a splendid family of sons and daughters: John M., 
went west when seventeen and had mines in the West, Mexico and South 
America, died in 1914, aged seventy-seven years, at El Paso, Texas ; Mrs. 
Mary E. Houx, widow of the late Rev. J. H. Houx, Warrensburg, Mis- 
souri; Joseph H., subject of this review; Capt. Edwin, born 1842, died 
June 10, 1910, at Austin, Texas ; Susan Elizabeth, living on the old home 
place; William W., makes his home with Richard B. Wilson, and 
Richard B., postmaster of Montrose. 

The first company of Confederate soldiers enlisted in Henry County 
in May, 1861, found Joseph H. Wilson enrolled as a member. In the 
spring of 1862 he was invalided at Lexington, Missouri, ill with typhoid 
fever and received his discharge from the service in the fall of 1862. He 
enlisted in the service the second time at Springfield December 25, 1862. 
Three of his company came home to get horses but storms prevented their 
accomplishing the task and the effort to capture Springfield failed and 
General Price's army fell back to Arkansas. Mr. Wilson disguised him- 
self and went to St. Louis, thence to Cincinnati, Ohio, and from there 
made his way through Cabelle County, West Virginia, to Red Sulphur 
Springs, Monroe County, Virginia. He was imbued with the idea of get- 
ting into the thick of the fight and believed that he could only do so by 
joining a Virginia regiment. He offered his services to General Williams, 
brigade commander, and Col. Patton, of the 22nd Virginia Infantry, and 
was sworn into the Confederate service for a third time. His command 
marched from Monroe County to the Kanawha River Valley and took 
possession of the valley, fighting the battles of Fayette Court House and 
Cotton Hill. He was forced to march without a gun for some time but 



354 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

managed to secure a weapon and took part in this light. Mr. Wilson 
served until the close of the war but was made prisoner near Boone 
Court House on the Guyandotte Eiver April 9, 1864. He was paroled 
and sent back from Camp Chase to Baltimore. From there he went down 
the bay and up the James River, arriving at Richmond, Virginia, March 
9, 1865, just before the surrender of General Lee's army at Appamattox 
Court House. Mr. Wilson participated in the battles of Carthage, Mis- 
souri, Wilson's Creek, Drywood and Lexington. 

After his return from the battlefields of the South, Joseph H. Wil- 
son, in November, 1868, settled on a farm on Round Prairie, Bates County, 
Missouri, where he resided until the spring of 1876, when he came again 
to Henry County and settled upon the old home place of the family in 
Deepwater township. In 1888 he removed to Appleton City, Missouri, and 
in the spring of 1889 moved to his present place near Montrose. This 
farm consisting of one hundred twenty acres is one of the most pictur- 
esque and attractive places in Henry County. A handsome brick resi- 
dence surrounded by beautiful shade trees and shrubbery occupies a 
commanding site at the top of a gently rising knoll or hill which affords 
a view of the surrounding country for many miles — a view which is un- 
surpassed for magnificence and beauty of the landscape in this section 
of Missouri. A beautiful pastoral scene unfolds to the view as one gazes 
in any direction. This section which is now dotted with handsome farm 
homes and waving fields of grain and is unsurpassed in its richness of 
soil anywhere in the state of Missouri was once a virgin wilderness and 
Joseph H. Wilson himself has hunted deer and other wild animals and 
fished in the streams nearby at a period when settlers were few and far 
between. Geese and ducks were plentiful and it was no trouble for him 
to bag a dozen or so with ease in a short time. He often visited the 
Indian camps on the Deepwater during his boyhood days and the height 
of his aspirations when a boy was to have a gun and a dog. His next am- 
bition as he grew older was to have a nice home with every comfort and 
even luxuries and to own a big orchard with trees hanging loaded with 
big red apples. He has owned several guns and dogs, and has the beau- 
tiful home and has hunted and fished to his heart's content, and is truly 
thankful for all the blessings which Providence has showered upon him. 

In 1876 he organized the firm of J. H. Wilson and Brothers and dur- 
ing all these years he has managed the Wilson estate, which has been 
kept intact and farmed for the benefit and to the great profit of every 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 355 

member of the Wilson family, although each has his individual holdings 
aside from the estate. Mr. Wilson is owner of four hundred acres of 
land in his own right. This business of Wilson Brothers has been so 
managed for over forty years that he has never had a lawsuit and has 
never sued nor has he been sued. 

On November 8, 1866, the marriage of Joseph H. Wilson and Miss 
Susan Cassandra Bruce, a daughter of Simeon C. and Zerilda Catherine 
(Browning) Bruce of St. Clair County was consummated. Simeon C. 
Bruce was a native of Tennessee, a son of Robert Bruce of Sumner County, 
Tennessee. Mrs. Zerilda (Browning) Bruce was the daughter of Dr. 
Jacob Browning, a native of Tennessee and a Henry County pioneer, after 
whom Brownington was named. Mrs. Wilson was born November 4, 1844 
and has born him twelve children, seven of whom are living: Bruce Mc- 
Farlan Wilson, farmer and stockman, Montrose, Missouri, married Maud 
Colson; Kate, wife of D. W. Stewart, Kansas City, Missouri; James En- 
nels, operates the home farm; Susan R., wife of William T. Lampkin, 
Payette, Idaho; Walter B., at home with his parents; Henry Everett, St. 
Louis, Missoui-i, a stockman and salesman; Anna, wife of Benjamin P. 
Lampkin, Deepwater township. Bates County, Missouri. 

Since attaining his majority Mr. Wilson has been a stanch Democrat. 
He is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons Lodge No. 
408, Montrose, Missouri, and has been a Mason since 1878. He is a mem- 
ber of Chapter No. 90, George Frank Guley, Appleton City, Missouri. 

Mr. Wilson is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 
of Montrose and was steward of his church from 1870 to 1910. He was 
superintendent of the Sunday school for twenty-six years and is conceded 
to be the best authority upon family genealogy as concerns those families 
living in his section of the county. He was first made a steward of the 
church at Round Prairie in Bates County and when he removed to Henry 
County the same office was given him by the Montrose church. When 
he retired from the Sunday school superintendency by reason of advanc- 
ing age the members of the Sunday school gave him a beautiful embossed 
Bible as a testimonial of their love and high esteem, in token of his twenty- 
six years of faithful and unremitting service in behalf of the young folks 
of the church. Mr. Wilson has lived an honest, honorable and just life 
according to the precepts of the greatest Teacher of all, and although 
during his long business career he has seen men take advantage of their 
fellows he has never succumbed to similar temptations and has treated 



356 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

his fellow men in a just and upright way. He likes to do right because 
it is right and because he has loved to deal justly and honorably with 
others. His seventy-seven years have been well and profitably spent and 
now in the eventide of his life he is able to look back over the years that 
have passed and calmly await the last great summons with a heart and 
mind at peace with all mankind. Mr. Wilson attributes much of his suc- 
cess in life to the faithful and loving counsel and assistance of his wife, 
whom he has invariably consulted regarding his business transactions. 

Although he has passed the age when men are active in civic affairs, 
this aged gentleman still takes a keen interest in movements of the day 
and is a constant reader who keeps abreast of the times and is well in- 
formed on many subjects. He was a member of the "One Hundred 
Booster Club," which put across the Third Liberty Loan in Henry County, 
and made the big drive to obtain the quota of this county in bond sub- 
scriptions an overwhelming success. 

Henry Baum, a well known hardware merchant of Clinton, Missouri, 
has been identified with the business development of Henry County for 
many years. He was born in Wittenberg, Germany, April 10, 1853, and 
is a son of Patrick and Mary Ann (Walter) Baum, and was the fifth 
child in the order of birth in a family of six boys. The father died in 
his native land when Henry was about three years old and in 1859 the 
mother and her six boys, Henry then being about six years of age, came 
to America and on Christmas Day, 1859, the family landed at New Or- 
leans, Louisiana. They then came up the Mississippi River as far as 
Cairo, Illinois, by boat, and on January 1, 1860, reached St. Louis by rail. 
They then went to Lebanon, Illinois, where the boys grew to manhood 
and the mother spent the remainder of her life there. Of this family 
Henry, the subject of this sketch, is the only one living. 

Mr. Baum was educated in the public schools at Lebanon, Illinois, 
and in 1870, when he was seventeen years of age, he went to St. Louis 
to make his own way in the world. Here he learned the tinner's trade 
and worked at his trade in St. Louis about seven and one-half years. He 
then worked as a journeyman tinner in different places, including Kan- 
sas City. October 1, 1884, he came to Clinton and entered the employ 
of the Hasler Hardware Company, having charge of their tinshop for 
eighteen years and seven months. On June 19, 1902, he engaged in busi- 
ness for himself in Clinton. At first he engaged in the tinning business 
and gradually added a stock of hardware which he increased from time 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 357 

to time until today he has one of the most complete stocks of hardware 
to be found in Henry County, and is one of the leading hardware mer- 
chants of this section. Mr. Baum has but one rule in business and that 
is to give a square deal to everybody, which accounts for the rapid growth 
and development of his humble beginning sixteen years ago to a business 
of the present magnitude of Henry Baum's Hardware Store at Clinton. 
Mr. Baum employs five men in the store and tin shop. 

January 19, 1879, Henry Baum was united in marriage with Miss 
Melora Eleanora Bergmann, a native of St. Louis. She was reared in that 
city and received her education under the training of the nuns in St. 
Peter and Paul's Parish. To Mr. and Mrs. Baum were born three children, 
as follow: Catherine Eleanora, a graduate of the Clinton High School, 
the Missouri State University, and is now a teacher in the Clinton High 
School; Emil Henry, a sheet iron worker, Chicago, Illinois; and Edgar 
Walter, with his father at Clinton. Mrs. Baum departed this life March 
30, 1918. She was a woman of noble character and led an exemplary 
Christian life, and no small part of her husband's success is due to the 
wisdom of her counsel and her sympathetic co-operation. She was a 
devout member of the Catholic Church and Mr. Baum and his children 
are communicants of the same denomination. He is a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of Clinton and has been identi- 
fied with that lodge for a number of years. 

Thomas B. Parks, county sui-veyor of Henry County, is a native son 
of this county and a member of a well known pioneer family of western 
Missouri. He was bom at Leesville, Missouri, April 10, 1860, and is a 
son of Bird D. and Lourinda J. (Lee) Parks. Bird D. Parks, the father, 
was born in Kentucky and when twelve years of age came to Missouri 
with his parents, who located in Cooper County. He was a son of Peyton 
Parks. Bird D. Parks came to Henry County in 1844 and settled on a 
farm on Grand River south of Leesville. He bought his land from the 
Government at $1.25 per acre. At that time the Government land office 
was located at Lexington and Mr. Parks went there to pay for his land, 
and like other settlers of that time paid for it in silver dollars. Here he 
followed farming until the Civil War broke out, when he entered the 
Confederate Army and sei-ved as captain of a company in General Price's 
army. During the early part of the war he participated in a number of 
important engagements, including the battles of Lexington and Wilson 
Creek. Afterwards he returned to his Henry County home and removed 



358 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

with his family to Cooper County, and after the war returned to Henry 
County and settled in Springfield township, where the town of Thrush 
now stands. Here he spent the remainder of his life engaged in general 
farming and stock raising. He was a man of unusual ability and his life 
was filled with experiences out of the ordinary. In 1849 he made the trip 
to California. He went by the Overland route with ox teams and after 
remaining about a year at the mecca of the gold seekers, he returned 
home by way of the Isthmus of Panama. On this trip he was ship- 
wrecked in the Carrabean Sea. He was a Democrat and prominent in 
the political affairs of Henry County and for eight years held the position 
of county surveyor. He was widely known as a prominent Mason. He 
died in 1903 at the age of eighty-six years. His wife, who was also a 
Kentuckian, died in 1893, aged seventy-five years. 

To Bird D. and Lourinda J. (Lee) Parks were born eight children 
who grew to maturity, three of whom are living as follows: Louisa, mar- 
ried Thomas Baughman, who is now deceased and she resides in Okla- 
homa; H. A., of Kansas City, Missouri, and Thomas B., the subject of 
this sketch. 

Thomas B. Parks received his early education in the public schools 
of Henry County and later entered the State Normal School at Warrens- 
burg, where he was graduated in the class of 1878. He then engaged in 
teaching in Henry County and taught about seven years in all, during 
which time he was principal of the Calhoun schools one year. He was 
appointed county surveyor of Henry County in 1887 and elected to that 
office a number of times, serving thirteen years in succession. He then 
went to Montana, and for a number of years was in the employ of the 
Government as a surveyor, during which time he surveyed and sectionized 
a portion of the Flat Head Indian Reservation. In 1907 he returned to 
Henry County and from that time until 1916 was engaged in farming. 
He was then elected county surveyor again, which oflSce he still holds. 
He owns a valuable farm and is interested in farming and stock raising. 

Mr. Parks was mai-ried January 9, 1888, to Miss Minnie L. Strieby, 
a native of Michigan, who came to Henry County with her parents in 
1871. She is a daughter of Joel and Melvina (Norris) Strieby, who now 
reside in Clinton. To Mr. and Mrs. Parks have been born the following 
children: Pearl, married Mode Davis, Clinton; Clayta, married Albert 
Dunning, Jr., Fairview township; Zoe, at home with his parents; Man- 
ford, resided on his father's farm until he became a soldier in the Na- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY S59 

tional Army ; Gordon, a midshipman in the United States Naval Academy 
at Annapolis, Maryland; Mildred, a teacher in Saskatchewan, Canada, 
and Vivian, a graduate of the Clinton High School, class of 1918, who 
resides at home. 

Mr. Parks is a Democrat and has been identified with that party all 
his life. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge and the Modern Wood- 
men of America. 

William Avery Foote, a pioneer business man of Clinton, now living 
retired, is a native of New York. He was born in Oneida County, De- 
cember 12, 1839. His parents were John and Mary (Lull) Foote, both 
natives of the State of New York. The Foote family is of English lineage 
and the ancestors of William A. Foote were early settlers in New Eng- 
land. Nathaniel Foote, of England, immigrated to New England in 1636 
and was one of the first settlers of Weathersfield, Connecticut. Mary 
Lull, the mother of William Avery Foote, is a descendant of one of the 
early families to settle in New York. John and Mary (Lull) Foote went 
to Wisconsin and spent the last years of their lives in Dane County, 
that State, where they both died. They were the parents of nine children 
and three of their sons served in the Union Army during the Civil War. 

William Avery Foote was ten years of age when his parents removed 
from Oneida to Wyoming County, New York, where the father conducted 
a tannery. In 1858 William went to Springfield, Illinois. Here he attended 
school for a time and for four years was employed in a hardware store. 
He then went to Indianapolis, Indiana, to work in a hardware store for 
the same employer, where he remained about four years. In 1869 he 
came to Henry County, Missouri, where he and his brother, Ebenezer 
Lull Foote engaged in the hardware business under the firm name 
of Foote Brothers. They also conducted a grain and elevator business in 
partnership, E. L. having charge of that department while William A. 
conducted the hardware business. When the Foote Brothers started in 
business in Clinton there was no railroad in Henry County and their 
goods were hauled mostly from Warrensburg. They continued business 
in Clinton for forty years, disposing of their mercantile business in 
1909, and since that time Mr. Foote has been practically retired, with 
the exception of looking after his various business interests. 

Mr. Foote was united in marriage September 14, 1869, with Miss 
Emma D. Wood, a native of Springfield, Massachusetts. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Foote were born two children, Mary L., who married Henry W. Kerr of 



360 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Denver, Colorado, who is now deceased, and she resides with her father 
in Clinton; and S. EHzabeth, married Robert E. Harmon of CUnton, Mis- 
souri. Mrs. Foote departed this life January 12, 1917. She was a highly 
educated and cultured woman who lived a consistent Christian life.^ She 
was a life long member of the Baptist Church and was active in the work 
of her denomination. Mr. Foote is also a member of the Baptist Church 
and has been a Republican. To Henry W. and Mary L. Kerr was born 
one son, Derry William Kerr. Robert E. and S. Elizabeth Harmon have 
one child, Elizabeth Agnes Harmon. 

John D. Brown. — Fifty-one years ago John D. Brown, well-to-do re- 
tired farmer of the Montrose neighborhood in Deepwater township, came 
to Henry County from his old home in Illinois and purchased a large tract 
of unimproved prairie land at a cost of $13 an acre. He and his brother, 
M. V. Brown, bought together seven hundred acres of land. Mr. Brown 
erected his handsome and substantial farm residence in the fall of 1868 
and has had the extreme satisfaction of developing his fine farm of four 
hundred acres from unbroken prairie. He has placed every shrub and 
tree upon the place and year after year has witnessed the growing of 
crops in succession upon the acreage which he reclaimed. As he has 
grown old he has likewise prospered and now in his old age is well content 
with what has come to him through his own endeavors and the assistance 
of his noble wife, who has gone to her reward. 

John D. Brown was born near Springfield, Illinois, on March 1, 1842. 
He is the son of Reason B. and Rachel (Ernest) Brown, both of whom 
were born and reared in Kentucky and were early settlers in Illinois. 
After their two sons had settled in Henry County the parents came to 
Missouri and settled upon a farm one mile south of John D. Brown's 
place. In old age they retired to a home in Appleton City, where both 
died and lie buried. In 1861 John D. Brown went to Idaho and worked 
in the gold and silver mines of that State and also served as a packer 
and freighter of merchandise between Walloolo and Bannock City and 
Placerville, all mining camps in the West. He returned to his home in 
Illinois in 1866 with his savings from five years of hard work. In 1867 
he came to Missouri and purchased his farm. 

November 7, 1867, John D. Brown and Miss Louise Cecil were united 
in marriage and Mr. Brown says of this marriage : "It was the best thing 
I ever did." One child is the offspring of this happy marriage : Gertrude, 
wife of John Henry Holland, a farmer living near Hartwell, Henry County. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'61 

Mrs. Louise (Cecil) Brown was descended from one of the oldest pioneer 
families of Henry County. She was born February 25, 1847, on a pioneer 
farm near old Leesville, in eastern Henry County, and was the daughter 
of Wilson and Henry Cecil, pioneer settlers of Henry County. Mrs. Brown 
died April 10, 1909. She was a good and faithful wife to her husband 
and the married life of this devoted couple was a most happy and con- 
genial one. She was a true helpmeet and was a deeply religious woman, 
being active in the aflfairs of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, of 
which she was long a valued member. 

Mr. Brown has generally voted the Democratic ticket and is a mem- 
ber of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Now living a comfortable 
retired life upon his place he varies the days with trips to the nearby 
town of Montrose, where he enjoys hob-nobbing with his old friends of 
many years standing. He recalls the days of old, when people were happy 
and hospitable and kind — when the neighbors would take turns in going 
to mill, their nearest grinding place being the Xenia mills, thirty-five 
miles away on a tributary emptying into the Osage River. They would 
take a very heavy load of grain and the trip to Xenia and return would 
require two days. Mr. Brown enjoyed hunting and fishing in the early 
days and his boon companion on many hunting trips was the late Bill 
Salmon of Germantovni. He has killed many deer and prairie chickens. 
No man is more highly regarded in his section of Henry County nor more 
universally respected than John D. Brown, who is intelligent, well read 
and companionable. 

Charles H. Snyder, a Union veteran of the Civil War, is one of the 
substantial pioneer residents of Henry Country. Mr. Snyder was born 
in Dresden, Saxony, October 31, 1839, a son of Ernest and Emelia A. 
(Laonhardt) Snyder. The Snyder family came to America in 1849, land- 
ing in New York November 3. Ernest Snyder, the father, was a promi- 
nent civil engineer and held a high station in that profession in his native 
land. He took a prominent part in politics and was a political associate 
of Carl Shurtz, of whom it will be recalled was prominent in a political 
revolution that took place in Germany about the middle of the last cen- 
tury. On account of his political activity in opposition to the govern- 
ment, Ernest Snyder left his native land with his family and came to 
America, and thus escaped prosecution for opposing the same Prussianism 
with which the world is contending today. 

After coming to America Ernest Snyder with his family located in 



^c^3ti! of a telf caisr- 






HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 6b6 

in Company F, Second Regiment, East Tennessee Volunteers. He par- 
ticipated in the battle of Mill Springs, which was fought January 19, 1862, 
and after that he served on detached duty until 1863. Mr. Snyder then 
entered the employ of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company as 
assistant auditor with headquarters at Louisville, Kentucky. He re- 
mained in that capacity until 1865, when he came to Henry County, 
Missouri. 

Upon coming to Henry County Mr. Snyder engaged in the lumber 
business. He opened the first lumber yard in Clinton. This was before 
there were any railroads here and all his lumber was hauled from War- 
rensburg, which was the nearest railroad point. After being in the lum- 
ber business for about one and one-half years, Mr. Snyder was appointed 
deputy county clerk. In 1870 he was elected county clerk and served 
two terms. Mr. Snyder, perhaps, has held a commission as notary public 
longer than any other man in Henry County, receiving his first commis- 
sion in 1875, and has served as notary public ever since that time, and 
so far as known he bears the distinction of being the oldest ex-county 
official of Henry County. Mr. Snyder has been in the real estate loan and 
fire insui'ance business for nearly forty years, and during that time he 
has loaned a great deal of eastern money to the farmers of Henry County. 

Mr. Snyder was united in marriage March 26, 1861, to Miss Mattie 
Boyes, a native of Jersey City, New Jersey, but at the time of her mar- 
riage a resident of Tennessee. To Mr. and Mrs. Snyder were born three 
children: Meta, married H. H. Williams, Clinton, Missouri; Charles W., 
who served in the Eleventh United States Infantry during the Spanish- 
American War. He made a good military record but his health failed 
while he was in the service and he died May 27, 1900; Margaret C, is 
unmarried and resides with her father in Clinton. Mrs. Mattie Snyder 
died May 25, 1912, at the age of seventy-one years. 

Mr. Snyder has always been identified with the Republican party 
although in a political sense he is inclined to be independent. As he 
expresses it, he proposes to do his own thinking. He is a member of 
the Knights of Pythias and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
also the Ancient Order of United Workmen. 

Herman Millard Hull, a "real old settler" of Davis township, was 
born September 8, 1859, in De Kalb County, Illinois, a son of Silas C. and 
Angeline Hull, pioneer settlers of Henry County, a sketch of whose lives 
appears in this volume in connection with the sketch of J. M. Hull, brother 



364 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

of Herman Millard Hull. Mr. Hull accompanied his parents to Henry 
County in 1866 and was here reared to young manhood and educated in 
the Willow Branch district school, of which his father was one of the 
founders. Mr. Hull is owner of a fine farm of eighty acres located in 
section 23, Davis township, and also owns a timber tract of five acres in 
section 33. For the past thirty years Mr. Hull has been engaged in 
carpenter work and farming. He has done a great amount of foundation 
building in Henry County and has erected more dwelling houses from the 
ground up than any other carpenter and builder in his section of Henry 
County. Mr. Hull has always taken a just pride in the thoroughness and 
reliability of his work, which compares favorably with the best. From 
1911 to 1912 he resided in Los Angeles, California, and was there engaged 
in carpenter work. 

Mr. Hull was married on April 30, 1884, to Ida May Fahnestock, and 
to this marriage have been born children as follow: Gary Millard, born 
February 15, 1885, now managing the La Due Lumber Yard, married Stella 
Ferry and has one child, Walter G. ; Irvin Milton, born October 22, 1888, 
resides in La Due, married Nellie Maddox and has two children, Richard 
Henry and Vivian Marie. Mrs. Ida May Hull was born July 26, 1866, in 
Darke County, Ohio, and is a daughter of Ephraim L. and Sarah (Gessa- 
men) Fahnestock, the latter of whom died in her native State. The 
Fahnestocks migrated to Henry County, Missouri, in 1871 and Ephraim 
L. Fahnestock died in this county. 

H. M. Hull has always been allied with the Democratic party and 
has held many positions of trust and responsibility in Davis township. 
He served for some years as township treasurer and for the past twelve 
years he has filled the office of justice of the peace. Mrs. Hull and the 
members of the family belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
Hull is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, La Due 
Lodge No. 772. 

B. F. McKeaigg, president of the Bank of La Due, and a prosperous 
farmer of Davis tovmship, was born in LavsTence County, Indiana, April 
30, 1868. He is the son of Robert C. (bom 1833, died 1893) and Alferna 
(Swindler) McKeaigg. Robert C. McKeaigg was a native of Indiana and 
a son of Harrison McKeaigg, of Kentucky, who was an early settler of 
Lawrence County, Indiana. In 1884 Robert C. McKeaigg came to Henry 
County, Missouri, and after residing here for a short time he went to 
Oklahoma, where he homesteaded a tract of Government land and died 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 365 

in that State. Mr. and Mrs. Robert McKeaigg were parents of nine chil- 
dren, seven of whom survive : William H., resides in Pasadena, California ; 
B. F., subject of this review; (twins), Jasper N. and Oscar C, of Thomas, 
Oklahoma ; Thomas, lives at Newkirk, Oklahoma ; Louis, La Due, Missouri ; 
Mrs. Carrie Massey, living near La Due. 

Mr. McKeaigg accompanied his parents to Henry County in 1884 
and was iirst employed as farm hand by Mr. Hinkle. He married and 
resided upon the Hinkle place as tenant for a period of seven years. In 
1891 he purchased forty acres near Independence school house. Three 
years later he sold this tract and then purchased his present farm, located 
in Davis township, west of La Due. This farm consists of seventy acres 
and is nicely improved. For the past twelve years Mr. McKeaigg has 
successfully farmed this tract and has splendid improvements thereon 
consisting of a handsome white cottage, modern in its appointments, good 
barns and fencing kept in excellent repair. 

Mr. McKeaigg was married November 24, 1893, to Mrs. Mary Reed, 
a widow, who was born in Illinois and is a daughter of J. B. and Caroline 
(Fellahauer) Sherbourne, who came to Henry County from Illinois in 
1880. By a former marriage with Edward Reed, deceased, Mrs. McKeaigg 
has two children : Mrs. Allie Hemperley, Flagstaff, Arizona, and Harry E. 
Reed, of Clinton, Missouri. One child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
McKeaigg, Everett Ray, who died at the age of two years. 

The Democratic party has generally had the support and allegiance 
of Mr. McKeaigg, and he and Mrs. McKeaigg are members of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows Lodge No. 772 of La Due. 

R. H. Maddox, cashier of the Bank of La Due, was born in Callaway 
County, Missouri, March 17, 1866. He is the son of Dr. R. J. and Mary 
(Keithler) Maddox. R. J. Maddox was bom in 1837, a son of Stephen 
Maddox, a native of Virginia who was a pioneer settler in Callaway County. 
He was educated for the medical profession and became a successful 
practicing physician, residing on the farm while ministering to the sick 
folks of the country neighborhood in which he made his home. Doctor 
Maddox was married in Callaway County to Mary M. Keithler, who was 
bom in St. Louis. In 1882 Doctor Maddox removed to Bates County, 
Missouri, and practiced medicine in that county in the rural sections 
until his death in 1887. Dr. R. J. and Mary Maddox were parents of six 
children: W. J., a resident of Callaway County; Mrs. Minta P. Farmer 
and Mrs. Fannie E. Davis, both residents of Callaway County; S. J., liv- 



366 HENEY COUNTY HISTORY 

ing in Cedar County, Missouri; R. H., subject of this review, and E. M., 
a citizen of Cedar County. 

There were no public schools in the Big Survey region of Callaway 
County where R. H. Maddox received his early upbringing and he had 
little opportunity to secure an education. His father had settled in this 
section of the county in order to practice his profession and the son grew 
to yoQng manhood without the opportunity to even attain the rudiments 
of an education. His boyhood days were spent in tilling the soil of the 
family farm and cutting firewood until he was twenty years of age. He 
then went to Colorado and homesteaded a tract of Government land. Dur- 
ing a twenty months' sojourn in that State he proved up on a claim in 
Bent County and then returned to Missouri, locating in Bates County. 
He took charge of a star mail route which extended from Rockville to 
Papinville, Missouri, and operated it for two years. When he attained 
young manhood he realized the need of an education and he began a 
practice of self study which he has maintained to this day, and at the 
present time is a well informed, pi'ogressive citizen. After two years on 
the mail route he sold the route and then went to Cedar County and en- 
gaged in the mercantile business at Pleasant View in 1890. In 1906 he 
disposed of his mercatile business and came to La Due, in this county, 
where he established a mercantile business which he conducted until en- 
gaging in the banking business. Besides his banking business Mr. Mad- 
dox is interested in farm land. 

On April 11, 1889, R. H. Maddox and Florence S. Bradley were united 
in marriage. Mrs. Maddox is a daughter of the late Judge Burton Brad- 
ley and a niece of Senator Bradley of Bates County. Mr. and Mrs. Maddox 
have children as follow: James N., manager of a grain elevator, at home 
with his parents ; Mrs. Nellie Pearl Hull, Davis township ; Edith, assistant 
cashier of the Bank of La Due ; Claranett, deceased ; Grace G. and Codie 
C, at home. 

Mr. Maddox is aligned with the Democratic party and for the past 
six years has served as treasurer of Davis township. He is a member 
of the Baptist Church and is fraternally affiliated with the Woodmen 
of the World, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modem 
Woodmen of America. It can truly be said of Mr. Maddox that he has 
made a success of his life work and is self made from every standpoint. 

The Bank of La Due was organized in 1912 by R. H. Maddox, H. B. 
Hollopeter and others. The bank was capitalized and chartered for $10,- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 367 

000. The past year has been the most prosperous that this bank has 
ever known as the statement of the increase of bank deposits will show. 
On March 17, 1917, the bank deposits were $24,612.15 ; on June 20, 1917, 
the total deposits were $28,451.91; on November 20, 1917, they were 
$58,487.12 ; on March 4, 1918, the deposits had reached the figure of $76,- 
050.26. This substantial condition is evidence of the growing prosperity 
of the neighborhood served by the bank. The bank has a surplus of $1,- 
279.30 and undivided profits of $600. The present officers are: B. F. 
McKeaigg, president; Robert D. Ming, vice-president; R. H. Maddox, 
cashier; H. B. Hollopeter and E. Maddox, assistant cashiers. The bank's 
directors are J. A. Vansant, R. D. Ming, H. B. Hollopeter, B. F. McKeaigg 
and R. H. Maddox. The stock of this bank is all held by thirty-one indi- 
viduals who are engaged in farming. The institution is housed on its 
own new brick building erected in 1912 and fitted up with modern bank- 
ing fixtures. 

Otto Volkmann, manager and treasurer of the La Due Grain and 
Supply Company, La Due, Missouri, is a native son of Henry County, 
and was born on a farm in Clinton township, January 22, 1884. He is 
the son of C. H. and Catherine Volkmann, natives of Germany, who im- 
migrated to America in 1862, first locating in Indiana. C. H. Volkmann 
later came to St. Louis and thence to Henry County in 1875, where he 
purchased a tract of prairie land and improved it, residing on his farm 
until his death in November of 1906 at the age of seventy-six years. 
Mrs. Catherine Volkmann died in August of 1906 at the age of sixty-nine 
years. They were parents of eight children: Louis and William, living 
at Wallace, Idaho; Henry, Lincoln, Missouri; Otto, subject of this sketch; 
Mrs. Louise Beckmeyer, Fayette County, Missouri; Mrs. Emma Seifried, 
Clinton; Mrs. Mary Quest, deceased; and Bertha, living in Lafayette 
County. 

Otto Volkmann attended the Independence district school and resided 
on the home place of his parents until the farm was sold in 1906. He 
was then employed as a farm hand until 1910 at which time he began 
farming on his own account. He followed farming pursuits until Febru- 
ary 10, 1916, when he took charge of the La Due Grain and Supply Com- 
pany as its manager and treasurer. Mr. Volkmann is a Democrat in 
politics and a member of the Lutheran Church. He is affiliated with the 
Travelers' Protective Association and the Modem Business Brotherhood 
of America. 



368 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The La Due Grain and Supply Company, of which Mr. Volkmann is 
manager and treasurer, was organized in the spring of 1915 and is a 
co-operative concern, the stock of which is held by the farmers of the 
surrounding country tributary to La Due. The capital stock was $6,000 
at the time of organization. The company erected all of the buildings, 
the elevator having a capacity of 12,000 bushels of grain. During 1917 
there was handled by this elevator 24,000 bushels of corn, 30,300 bushels 
of oats and 16,500 bushels of wheat. In addition to handling grain the 
concern retails seeds, flour, feeds, cement and building material, the vol- 
ume of business transacted during 1917 exceeding $100,000. The officers 
of the company are as follow : President, Claud Cordry ; secretary, Clyde 
A. Rice; treasurer and manager. Otto Volkmann. The directors are as 
follow: William Lobaugh, F. K. Miller, George Mayes, Frank White, M. 
A. Harrison, C. H. Hartsock, George N. Angle, John Layman, John Wol- 
fert, J. W. Brown, C. A. Rice, Claud Cordry, C. C. Collins, T. D. Vansant 
and William Mida. 

Albert Dunning. — The oldest pioneer in Fairview township and prob- 
ably the oldest settler in the southern part of Henry County is Albert 
Dunning, one of the largest land owners in Henry County, who began 
his career as a plain farmer after his war service ended, with just three 
dollars in money. He made his first purchase of land in 1883 when he 
bought one hundred twenty acres. Mr. Dunning formerly owned 2,100 
acres of rich farm land but has been giving land to his children until his 
ownership now claims but 1,700 acres. Almost in the exact center of his 
large tract (the home place) he erected a splendid country home of im- 
posing appearance to which he added two rooms in 1893 and again re- 
modeled in 1916. Mr. Dunning leases some of his land, but the greater 
part of it is cultivated by his sons. 

Albert Dunning was born in Trigg County, Kentucky, January 15, 
1838, and is the son of Shadrach and Ada (Morris) Dunning, the former 
of whom was a native of Kentucky and the latter of Virginia. Shadrach 
and Ada Dunning were married in Kentucky and made their home in the 
Blue Grass State until 1840, when they left Kentucky and moved to Mis- 
souri. Leaving his family at Springfield, Greene County, Missouri, Shad- 
rach Dunning came to Henry County, entered land and then returned 
for his family, who came here the following year. He died at his home 
in this county at the age of fifty years. The following children were 
born to Shadrach and Ada Dunning: Freeman, deceased; Mrs. Martha 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3^69 

Glass and Mrs. Eliza Nichols, deceased; Mrs. Malinda Arnold, aged 
eighty-eight years, lives in Texas; Mrs. Amanda Reed, aged eighty-six 
years, lives in North Dakota; John Henry, aged eighty-four years, lives 
near Carthage, Missouri; Albert, subject of this review; Mrs. Sarah Eliza- 
beth McFarland, lives at Porterville, California, aged seventy-six years. 

The original Dunning home was located in Fairview township, just 
four miles east of Albert Dunning's home place. Shadrach Dunning built 
a double log cabin, southern style, with two rooms below divided by a 
passage way, and a sleeping loft above. A big fireplace at the end of 
each room cheered and comforted the family in the winter time. Shad- 
rach Dunning brought his slaves with him from Kentucky, and one old 
darkey, "Uncle Ben," was especially favored each Christmas. It was a 
custom in the family to give the old darkey a holiday as long as the Christ- 
mas back log would burn. The old fellow would range the timber and 
cut the biggest and toughest log he could possibly handle and would be 
resting easy for days as a consequence of the log burning for a long 
time. Deer were plentiful in those faraway days and fish swarmed in 
the streams. When a boy Albert Dunning had no difficulty in catching 
one hundred pounds of fish in a day's fishing with hook and line. He has 
shot deer and wolves without number and frequently caught young wolves 
and deer and trained them. He recalls that a panther was killed down 
on the Osage after the brute had terrorized the neighborhood for days. 
Indians were numerous and they frequently came to the Dunning home 
on begging expeditions but gave little trouble to the white folks. 

When the Southern States rebelled against the Federal Government 
Albert Dunning enlisted in the Southern Army and fought for the cause 
which he believed with all of his soul to be just and right. He enlisted 
in 1861 in Company K, 16th Regiment Missouri Infantry and fought at 
the battles of Lone Jack, Carthage, Oak Hill, near Springfield, Missouri, 
where he was dismounted. He served in General Price's army and was 
in the engagements of Cane Hill, Arkansas, and took part in the defeat 
of General Banks on the Red River. His service extended in all parts 
of the Southern States and he was severely wounded in the upper left 
cheek by a shell at the battle of Helena, Arkansas. He was laid up in 
a hospital for several weeks and during the period of his illness Uncle 
Joe Davis came to the camp and took him home, where he could get better 
treatment. After the close of the war he came to St. Louis and thence 
home by railroad to Sedalia, Missouri, walking to his home in Henry 



370 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

County from that city, almost destitute and with exactly three dollars 
in his pockets. 

After returning from the war Mr. Dunning lived on the home place 
of the family until he began for himself. He saved his first money by 
buying calves, growing them and selling them for good money. In this 
way he managed to save enough to buy a piece of land. Since his first 
purchase he has continued to buy land and more land and has always 
been an extensive feeder of live stock. 

Mr. Dunning was married October 10, 1880, to Miss Ellen Ann Fudge, 
who was born July 22, 1863, in Illinois, the daughter of Adam and Martha 
Fudge, who came to Henry County not many years after the close of the 
Civil War. The children born to Albert and Ellen Ann Dunning are as 
follows: Mrs. Martha Strickland, Fairview township, has two children, 
Albert, aged thirteen years, and Donald, aged five years; John, Fairview 
township; Albert, a farmer in Fairview township; Shadrach, at home 
with his father; Lillian, a high school teacher at Areola, Missouri, who 
was educated in the Warrensburg Normal School; Robert L., Earl and 
Archie, eleven years, all at home. Robert L. was born January 26, 1895, 
and is now a private in the National Army, drafted July 22, 1918. 

This section of the State was called Rives County during the younger 
days of Albert Dunning, and it was very thinly settled. Cattle had free 
range and few people had any idea that the land would ever be valuable 
and that the country would become so thickly settled. Between the Dun- 
ning home and Clinton the only house was one built by Colonel Tutt, a 
noted old pioneer. Albert Dunning has seen this entire section of Mis- 
souri settled up and where once the deer, wild turkey and other wild 
game ranged at will there are now fertile farms and prosperous cities 
and towns. On the State line of Kansas and Missouri there were herds 
of buffalo and elk, and each season some of the settlers would journey to 
Kansas and kill a winter's supply of meat. Albert Dunning is a Demo- 
crat and is a member of the Pleasant Valley Baptist Church. 

Kindly disposed, at peace with the world and satisfied with his ac- 
complishments as a pioneer of Henry County and the great state of Mis- 
souri he is spending his declining years in comfort and east with the 
knowledge that his work on this earth is done. The verdict of the Re- 
cording Angel will undoubtedly be: "Well done, thou good and faithful 
servant." 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 371 

R. C. Grigsby. — The La Due Hardware Company, operated by R. C. 
Grigsby, La Due, Missouri, and owned by Mr. Grigsby and H. Welling, 
is one of the flourishing business concerns of Henry County. The store 
was established February 17, 1912, when Mr. Grigsby took active charge 
of it. During the past six years the business has increased and broad- 
ened. A general stock of hardware, oils, paints, agricultural implements, 
harness, buggies, wagons, etc., is carried and sold to the people of the 
surrounding country. The firm has the agency of the Buick automobiles. 
The business is housed in a large business room and two implement rooms 
which are filled with high grade stock of the best makes. 

R. C. Grigsby was bom in Licking County, Ohio, November 24, 1869, 
and is the son of Alfred and Sarah (White) Grigsby, both of whom were 
natives of Licking County, Ohio. Alfred Grigsby was a son of Harry 
Grigsby, a native of England. Sarah Grigsby was the daughter of -John 
White, also a native of England. The Grigsby family migrated from 
Ohio to Missouri in 1870 and located on a farm situated three miles south- 
west of La Due, in Henry County. Mr. Grigsby hauled the first ties used 
in the building of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railway in the neighbor- 
hood of La Due. His farm was located in Bear Creek township. He suc- 
cessfully tilled his acreage until old age came upon him and he then re- 
moved to California in 1911. His death occurred at the home of his son 
in that State in 1913. Mrs. Grigsby died in Henry County in 1908. They 
were parents of the following children: Mrs. Ella Strieker, deceased; 
Henry, living in California; Mrs. Lizzie Strieker, residing in California; 
George, deceased; Nelson, living in California; Mattie, deceased, and R. 
C, the subject of this sketch. 

R. C. Grigsby was ten months old when he came with his parents 
to Henry County and here he was reared and educated. He attended the 
Willow Branch school and the Franklin school in his youthful days and 
received his higher education in the academy at Warsaw, Missouri. Mr. 
Grigsby qualified for the teaching profession, but took up farming and 
followed this vocation until 1910. For a period of two and a half years 
he was located in California, going to that State in 1906, and being em- 
ployed in the orchard district as manager and also was engaged in the 
real estate business for a time. After returning to Henry County he 
farmed for one year and then took charge of the hardware business in 
La Due. Mr. Grigsby disposed of his farm in 1915. 

On April 14, 1897, R. C. Grigsby and Miss Nannie E. Reavis of Bear 



372 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Creek township were united in marriage. Mrs. Grigsby is the daughter 
of Mrs. Marian (Hunt) Reavis, widow of Edwin Reavis, a pioneer of 
Bear Creek township. Mr. and Mrs. Grigsby have a son, Cecil, bom 
December 12, 1902. 

Mr. Grigsby is aligned with the Democratic party and is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is affiliated, fraternally, Avith the 
Woodmen of the World. 

Samuel A. Vansant. — For fifty years Samuel A. Vansant has resided 
upon his splendid form of 160 acres in Davis township and has prospered 
as the years have passed. He has reared a fine family of children and 
he and his faithful wife have lived to celebrate their golden wedding an- 
niversary surrounded by their children and grandchildren. No man is 
more universally respected and admired for his sterling qualities than 
this old settler whose first home, when he came to Henry County in Sep- 
tember of 1868, was a tent in which he lived until his modest frame 
house, 16x24 feet in dimension, could be erected. In the year 1883 he 
erected a nice home of six rooms which is surrounded by cedar and de- 
ciduous trees, which have grown during the time of his residence on the 
place. 

Samuel A. Vansant was bom in Madison County, Illinois, April 8, 
1841. He is a son of Abner B. and Susan (Christ) Vansant, natives of 
Pennsylvania and Ohio, respectively. Abner B. Vansant was bom in 
Bucks County, Pennsylvania, removed to Zanesville, or Muskingum County, 
Ohio, and was there married to Susan Christ, who was bom in that county. 
During the early thirties he removed to Madison County, Illinois, and 
purchased a farm near Collinsville, which he developed into a fine prop- 
erty. He died in 1856. There were four sons and two daughters in the 
Vansant family, as follow: Mary Ellen and Elizabeth Ann, deceased; 
Samuel A, subject of this review; George, deceased; Joel, Cedar County, 
Missouri; William, Pittsbui-g, Kansas. 

Samuel A. Vansant was reared to young manhood in Madison County, 
Illinois, and was there married to Elizabeth Boyles on October 16, 1862. 
Mrs. Elizabeth (Boyles) Vansant was bom on July 11, 1842, "and is a 
daughter of Henry and Sarah (Funderburg) Boyles, who were early set- 
tlers of Madison County, Illinois. Mr. Vansant was engaged in farming 
in Illinois until 1868, and during that year he disposed of his Illinois 
farm with the intention of coming to Missouri, where land was much 
cheaper and just as productive as the high priced land of his native county. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 373 

When he came to Henry County he was possessed of the snug sum of 
$3,000, quite a fortune in those days. This amount enabled him to pay 
half cash for his quarter section at a cost of $8.50 an acre, and erect a 
comfortable residence on his prairie land. One year later he succeeded 
in paying the balance of the money due on the land, and as the years 
have passed he has grown prosperous and well contented with his lot in 
Henry County. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Samuel A. Vansant have been born nine children, 
all of whom have been reared to maturity and useful citizenship : George 
Franklin, a farmer on Bear Creek township ; Mrs. Emma Isabel Barr, died 
in 1884, leaving two children, one of whom, Howard, is living ; Joel Henry, 
a carpenter and contractor in La Due, Missouri; James A., born August 
11, 1869, is operating the home farm and is a director of the Bank of 
La Due, and is fraternally affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows; Mrs. Bertie Gale Grider, living at Pontiac, Livingston County, 
Illinois; Thomas, a fanner in Davis township; Arthur, a farmer living 
in Bear Creek township; Mrs. Mattie Fellhauer, La Due, Missouri; Mrs. 
Ida Lawsoh, Clinton, Missouri. 

Politically Mr. Vansant is aligned with the Democratic party. He 
and his family are members of the Christian Church. Fifty-five years 
have passed since Samuel A. and Sarah Vansant were united in marriage 
and time has served to mold them into comfortable and respected old 
age, admired and valued as friends by all who know them. Hospitable 
to the core, they are ever ready to share with their friends and acquain- 
tances that which they have. This splendid Henry County pioneer couple 
have twenty-six grandchildren and three great-grandchildren who were 
gathered at the old home on the occasion of the golden wedding anni- 
versary. May the years to come deal kindly with them and bring them 
continued prosperity and well being. 

Judge James M. Harrison, of Davis township, has resided in Henry 
County for over sixty-two years and is probably the oldest pioneer in the 
western part of the county, not only in age but in years of residence in 
the county. Few people who settled in his vicinity sixty years ago are 
now living, and practically none of the old pioneers are now living in this 
neighborhood. Judge Harrison has outlived them all and has resided on 
his farm since he first entered the land from the Government in 1857. 
Times have changed greatly in that long period and Judge Harrison has 
lived to see the vast unbroken prairies thickly populated with a thriving 



374 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

population. His first home on the prairie was a pole cabin roofed with 
boards, the spaces between the poles being filled with mud. A stick and 
clay chimney, leading upward from an old fashioned fireplace, sufficed 
for heat and cooking purposes. The cooking and baking for the family 
were all done over the open fire. Judge Harrison recalls that he had a 
very happy time in the old days and there was always plenty to eat. 
Game was easily killed and he shot many wild turkeys and praiiie chick- 
ens for the table. Local hunters made a business of killing deer for the 
settlers and the larder was always supplied with wild deer meat. Fish- 
ing was excellent and altogether everybody enjoyed life. This primitive 
and carefree condition of living was common among the pioneers until 
the border troubles and the ensuing Civil War engulfed the neighbor- 
liood. Mr. Harrison enlisted in the Confederate forces under General 
Price in 1861 and served for about eight months, taking part in the bat- 
tles of Drywood and Lexington and was at Sedalia when the city was 
invested by the Federal forces. Sickness incapacitated him for continued 
duty and he was discharged from the service. During the course of years 
spent in farming activities and stock raising. Judge Harrison became 
prosperous and accumulated several hundred acres of land, all of which 
he has given outright to his children excepting 160 acres. Judge Har- 
rison now makes his home, in his old age, with his son, Mordecai A. 
Harrison. 

James M. Harrison was born in Mason County, West Virginia, May 
24, 1832, and is the son of William Henry Harrison, a native of Rocking- 
ham County, Virginia (born August 22, 1809, died March, 1897). His 
mother was Esther Allen, a native of Mason County, West Virginia (born 
December, 1809, died 1862). William H. Harrison hved all of his days 
in Mason County, West Virginia, although he made trips to visit his 
children in Missouri, but the climate not being agreeable to him he did 
not remain for long at a time. He was father of eleven children, only 
two of whom are living : Josiah, a resident of Jackson County, West Vir- 
ginia; and James M., subject of this review. Another son, Jeremiah, 
fought as a Union soldier during the Civil War and died at Salt Lake 
City in 1915. William H. Harrison, the youngest son, died in September, 
1917. He served in the Confederate army. 

Judge Harrison came to Missouri in 1856 and during the first year 
lived at the home of his brother-in-law, Leonard Fisher, who had located 
in Henry County in 1855. He entered his home place of 160 acres in 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 375 

1857 and made his home thereon as herein stated. On January 10, 1851, 
the marriage of James M. Harrison and Esther Fisher was consummated 
in Jackson County, West Virginia. This marriage was blessed with the 
following children : The first child born died in infancy ; Mrs. Mary Eliza- 
beth Wagner, deceased, left one child. May Wagner; John W., deceased, 
married Anna Rutledge and left three children, James G., Mrs. R. B. 
Gates and Ray H., now serving in National Army in France, Company 
B, 18th Regiment Railway Engineers ; James Henry, living in Oklahoma, 
married Mattie Birge and has two children, Mrs. Odessa Harris and 
Charles Wesley, and Mordecai M. Mordecai M. Harrison was born in 
1865 and is the owner of a fine farm of 160 acres. He married Linnie 
Suttles and had five children, two of whom are living, Esther and Mamie. 
Mrs. Esther Harrison died December 5, 1877, aged fifty-two years. On 
January 2, 1881, Judge Harrison was married to Margaret P. Greer, who 
bore him one child, Clement J., now deceased. 

During his entire life, since attaining his majority. Judge Harrison 
has been a stanch Democi-at and has been one of the leaders of his party 
in Henry County. He served eight years as a judge of the County Court, 
his first term having been in the early eighties and his second term from 
1894 to 1898, during which time the present court house at Clinton was 
erected. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 

William Lincoln Gilkeson. — The late William L. Gilkeson, whose 
widow and family are now residing in Davis township, Henry County, 
was born on August 6, 1864, and departed this life April 7, 1895. He 
was bom in Indiana, and was a son of George Nelson Gilkeson, who 
settled in Cass County, Missouri, in 1868. William L. Gilkeson was reared 
to young manhood in Cass County and was there married and engaged 
in agricultural pursuits until his death. After his death, Mrs. Gilkeson 
removed to Garden City, Missouri, where she resided until 1915, and 
then came to her native county of Henry and purchased a farm of eighty- 
two acres in Davis township. 

Mr. Gilkeson was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and 
was an excellent citizen, industrious, energetic, and stood high in the 
community in which he resided. He was fraternally affiliated with the 
Ancient Order of United Workmen, the Knights of Pythias, the Modem 
Woodmen of America and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

William Lincoln Gilkeson and Miss Mary J. Rogers of Henry County 
were married in 1887. Mrs. Mary J. Gilkeson was born on the Rogers 



376 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

home place in Henry County July 22, 1866, and is the daughter of Thomas 
Sidney and Lucinda (Fletcher) Rogers, who were among the earliest 
pioneer settlers of Henry County and were prominent in the affairs of 
this county during the early days. 

The children bom to William and Mary Gilkeson are as f ollov/ ; Mary 
Louise, wife of Martin E. Dunham, Sweet Springs, Missouri, mother of 
one child, Eugene Milton; Ella Florence, at home with her mother; Will- 
iam Lawrence, operating the home farm. All of the children were edu- 
cated in the Garden City public and high school. Ella Florence attended 
the Howard Payne College for Girls at Forsythe, Missouri, and Louise 
taught school for two years prior to her marriage. Mrs. Gilkeson still 
owns her former home at Garden City in addition to her fme farm, which 
she is constantly improving. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

William Rusk. — The oldest settler in the southwestern part of Fair- 
view township is William Rusk, who for over fifty years has resided upon 
his quarter section farm. He was the first settler in his neighborhood 
who located upon the prairie. William Rusk was born at McConnells- 
ville, Ohio, January 10, 1834, on the Muskingum River. He is the son 
of Humphrey and Margaret (McDonald) Rusk, the former a native of 
Ohio and the latter of Pennsylvania. Until he was twenty-two years of 
age, William Rusk resided in his native county. In the fall of 1855 he 
went to Illinois, and after a residence of ten years in De Witt County, 
that State, he went to Iowa. Two years later, in November of 1868, he 
located on a tract of prairie land in Fairview township. He improved 
this farm and has mined coal on the place since 1884. The entire tract 
is underlaid with coal. Mr. Rusk sold eighty acres of the farm to his son, 
who has erected improvements thereon, and is farming the entire tract. 

April 13, 1878, William Rusk and Mrs. Mary S. Sweazy were united 
in marriage. Mrs. Rusk was the widow of James Sweazy. Two sons 
were bom of this marriage : Ira T., living in Kansas City, Missouri ; James 
M., Harris, Kansas. Mrs. Mary S. (Harnett) Rusk was born in Lawrence 
County, Pennsylvania, on September 9, 1846, and is the daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah Walker (Corey) Harnett, natives of Pennsylvania. 
The mother of Samuel Harnett was Barbara Lutzenheizer prior to her 
marriage. The great-great-grandfather of Mrs. Rusk was James Harnett, 
who served in the American Revolution and whose wife was a girlhood 
friend of Martha Washington, nee Custis, and it is a matter of family 




WILLIAM RUSK AND WIFE 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY g?? 

tradition that one time when the women were doing a washing down by 
the sea coast they covered their heads with a large kettle and a clothes 
basket and ran from hostile Indians on the banks of the Potomac. The 
Harnett historical kettle is still preserved as an interesting relic by mem- 
bers of the Harnett family. Samuel Harnett, father of Mrs. Rusk, lo- 
cated in Ohio in 1855, and in 1866 removed to Illinois, where a brother 
of Mrs. Rusk, named Joseph M. Harnett, became very prominent in Cham- 
paign County, was a soldier of the Union and served as special pension 
examiner for the United States Government, with offices in Washington. 
He was high in Masonic circles. Mary S. Harnett was first married in 
Illinois to James Sweazy, who died. Later William Rusk came on from 
his new home in Missouri and wooed and won her for a wife. The town 
of Enon Valley was built upon the farm owned by Samuel Harnett in 
Lawrence County, Pennsylvania, and upon his farm is located the famous 
spring which furnished water for the Pittsburg and Fort Wayne railroad 
for many years. The first train which Mrs. Rusk saw passed over this 
road and it was the first train to go over the road. The Harnett children 
were all well educated. Mrs. Elizabeth Frederick, Mrs. Rusk's oldest 
sister, who lived in Henry County, was a classmate of Mrs. James A. 
Garfield, nee Rudolph, at Hiram College, Ohio. John and Ezra, her two 
oldest brothers, were classmates of James A. Garfield and completed their 
classical education at Bethany College, West Virginia. They taught in 
the South for a number of years. 

The children of William and Mary S. Rusk are as follow: William 
Harnett Garfield Rusk, born March 4, 1881, married Daisy Barker, and 
has three children, Gladys Dimple, aged fourteen, William Wilson, twelve 
years old, and Ethel Gertrude, aged ten years; Sarah Corey, born Octo- 
ber 7, 1885, married Robert Arthur Faris and lives at Cimmarron, New 
Mexico, mother of four children, William Theodore, eight years old, Bar- 
bara Evelyn, aged seven, Harry Arthur, four years of age, Robert Leon- 
ard, an infant of four months. Robert Arthur Faris volunteered for ser- 
vice in the National Army for overseas service, enlisting in the 115th 
Regiment Regular United States Army, the Engineering Corps, and is 
located at Camp Kearney, California. 

William Rusk's first marriage was with Rebecca A. Farhner in Illi- 
nois and took place in 1862. The first Mrs. Rusk died in 1876, leaving 
five children: Jacob Humphrey, accidentally killed at the age of fourteen 
years ; Horatio Seymour, Norwood, Colorado ; Margaret Elizabeth, wife of 



378 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Alfred Dunham, Colorado ; James McDonald, California ; Otha Perley, Nor- 
wood, Colorado. 

Since 1880 William Rusk has been allied heart and soul with the 
Prohibition party and has devoted many years of his life to the cause 
of prohibition. For years he stood alone as the only Prohibitionist in his 
township but has lived to see actual prohibition in Henry County became 
an accomplished fact. If he is spared for a few more months or years 
longer he will see his heartfelt wish realized — national prohibition. He 
was one of the charter members of the Westfield Presbyterian Church at 
its organization in 1870 and has been a ruling elder of this church for 
nearly fifty years, a record of which any citizen can well be proud. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rusk are kindly, intelligent and hospitable people who are highly 
regarded in Henry County. 

Charles H. Mertel, who for forty-five years has been a citizen of 
Henry County, a useful and successful citizen, whose geniality and pub- 
lic spiritedness is marked, is one of the best known of the "real old 
settlers" of the county. Mr. Mertel was bom in Saxony, Germany, Octo- 
ber 25, 1852, the son of Frederick and Natalia (Witchell) Mertel, natives 
of Saxony. The parents of Charles H. Mertel immigrated to America in 
1856, crossing the Atlantic in a sailing vessel, which required seven weeks 
to make the voyage to New Orleans. The family journeyed up the Mis- 
sissippi from New Orleans to St. Louis, arriving there on New Years 
day just when navigation on the Mississippi closed for the winter. After 
a year's residence in St. Louis they removed to Iowa and lived there for 
two years, then, after a six months' stay in St. Louis, they located in 
St. Charles County, Missouri, and resided on a farm there during the 
Civil War period. In 1871 they located in Johnson County on Clear Fork. 
Two years later they came to Henry County and settled on section 14, 
Davis township. Mertel, Sr., was a great hunter and was constantly 
engaged in hunting expeditions during the deer season. In 1878 while 
he was absent on a deer hunt near Warsaw, Missouri, with others, he was 
shot and killed by natives who objected to the hunters being in the 
neighborhood. He was father of four children: The first bom died in 
Saxony; Frederick W., is deceased; Edward L., deceased, and Charles, 
the subject of this review. 

When Charles H. Mertel attained the age of twenty-five years, he 
began his own career. After tilling his father's farm for one year, he 
obtained possession of the tract and built up the farm to a splendidly 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3^79 

improved tract of 200 acres, rated as one of the finest improved farms 
in western Missouri. In the meantime, he purchased his present home 
farm in the northern part of Davis township and in 1902 he sold the old 
home place and located on the farm of 170 acres where he is now making 
his home. He has lived in this county for forty-five years, with the 
exception of three years, from 1911 to 1913, inclusive, which time he 
spent in Oklahoma. He was the prime promoter in the building of the 
town of Wynona on the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad, situated be- 
tween Parsons and Oklahoma City, and was town manager, filling the 
offices of mayor, justice of the peace and editor of the "Wynona En- 
terprise." 

Mr. Mertel is a Republican in politics. He is a member of Mt. Carmel 
Presbyterian Church and is one of the best citizens of Henry County. He 
was married in 1876 to Miss Kate Cook, born at Cook's Mill, on Grand 
River in Henry County, a daughter of Jacob and Amelia Cook, the for- 
mer of whom erected and operated the mill which bore his name. Seven 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Mertel as follow : Annie Florence, 
wife of L. J. Hendricks, Davis township; Fred C, a banker at Minneap- 
olis, Minnesota; Edna May, wife of W. F. Landrum, Monett, Missouri; 
Ella Augusta, wife of Newton Price, Walters, Oklahoma; Edward, man- 
ager of the Farmers Elevator at Plaza, North Dakota ; Walter 0., a farmer 
living near Quincy, Illinois; Ruth C, a teacher in the Monett, Missouri, 
schools. Mr. and Mrs. Mertel have nine grandchildren. Best of all they 
have the extreme satisfaction of having educated each of their children 
and have given them a good start in life so that they are all well-to-do, 
and prosperous and occupy important places in the various communities 
in which they reside. When a wedded pair such as Mr. and Mrs. Charles 
H. Mertel can look back over the long years spent in doing good, and are 
satisfied that they have done their best and have given to the Nation 
such a splendid family of sons and daughters, they can well be content, 
and their later years can be lived peacefully and without regret. 

Judge William M. Wilson has been a resident of Henry County for 
over fifty years and is one of the best knovim horsem.en in the western 
part of Missouri. While Judge Wilson's vocation has been that of farmer 
and stockman, his hobby has been that of a horseman. For many years 
Judge Wilson has been training fast horses and has been a breeder of 
track animals. He is the present owner of "El Casco," trial 2:15, a five 
year old. He has some very fine road horses in his stables, among them 



380 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

being "Hummingbird," a blue ribbon winner who has won ribbons and 
prizes at the various fine stock shows and fairs held in this section of 
the State. "El Casco" was bred at the Walnut Hall Farm, Donnerail, 
near Lexington, Kentucky, and is a beautiful and intelligent animal. 

Mr. Wilson was bom on a farm in Tennessee and is the son of Samuel 
and Martha (Weaver) Wilson, natives of Tennessee and Kentucky, re- 
spectively. Martha Weaver Wilson was a daughter of Benjamin Weaver, 
a soldier of the War of 1812. In 1854 the parents of William M. Wilson 
removed to Iowa and after a residence there of a few months they came 
westward and located in Macon County, Missouri. In 1865 Samuel Wil- 
son came to Henry County and settled in Walker township, where he be- 
came a large land owner and was widely known throughout the county 
as a successful farmer and stockman. He died in 1886 at the age of 
sixty-nine years. His father was Samuel Wilson, a native of Tennessee 
who was descended from ancestors who came to America from the North 
Ireland country. 

Samuel and Martha Wilson were parents of ten children, seven of 
v/hom were reared to maturity: Gerald, deceased; Benjamin, Marceline, 
Missouri; Philander, deceased; Mrs. Cordelia Hibler, Walker township; 
Mrs. Sarah Ann Short, Barton County, Missouri; William M., subject of 
this review; John M., a farmer of Walker township. The mother of 
these children was born in 1818 and departed this life in 1885. 

William M. Wilson was reared to manhood in Henry County and has 
resided on his farm in Davis township for the past forty years. He is 
owner of 235 acres of good land in this township. 

William M. Wilson and Janie Smith, a daughter of the late J. P. 
Smith of Henry County, were united in marriage in 1872. They have 
had four children: Mrs. Willie Young, living in Walker township; Mrs. 
Lulu Warner, Davis township; Samuel and Benjamin, who are tilling 
the home place. 

The Democratic party has always had the support and allegiance of 
Judge Wilson. He has served two terms as a member of the County 
Court for the second district of Henry County. He is a member of the 
Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and is highly esteemed by all who 
know him. 

J. L. Ferry, a prosperous farmer and stockman of Davis township 
and owner of 200 acres of splendid farm land near the town of La Due, 
was born in Keokuk County, Iowa, July 14, 1861. He is the son of Chester 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY STSl 

and Elizabeth (Stokesberry) Ferry, who were natives of Ohio and In- 
diana, respectively. 

Chester Ferry was born in Ohio in 1832 and died in 1914. He was 
a son of Harvey Ferry, who was an early pioneer settler in Keokuk 
County, Iowa. Elizabeth (Stokesberry) Ferry was bom in Indiana in 
1839 and is the daughter of John Stokesberry, who entered Government 
land in Keokuk County as early as 1843, at a period when the north- 
eastern part of Iowa was largely in a wild unsettled state. She is now 
residing in Sigouniey, Iowa. There were five daughters and two sons 
born to Chester and Elizabeth Ferry, as follow: Mrs. Martha Lockridge, 
Corvallis, Oregon; J. L. Ferry, subject of this review; Mrs. Mary Bowker, 
Rock Island, Illinois ; Mrs. Lillie Wood, Atlanta, Macon County, Missouri ; 
John, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa; Mrs. Lizette Price, Walla Walla, Washington; 
Mrs. Leona Slacks, wife of Prof. John Slacks, Sac City, Iowa, county 
superintendent of schools in Sac County, Iowa. 

J. L. Ferry had little opportunity to secure an education in his youth- 
ful days and at an early age began working on his father's farm. He 
resided at home until his marriage with Miss Lucy Lockridge on October 
IG, 1883. Mrs. Lucy (Lockridge) Ferry was born near Sigourney, Iowa, 
a daughter of William and Hannah (Gray) Lockridge, the former of 
whom was born near Wheeling, West Virginia, and the latter was a na- 
tive of Pennsylvania. William Lockridge located in Iowa as early as 
1844, settling in Keokuk County. Prior to this he had farmed for a time 
in Washington County, Pennsylvania. He was born in 1820 and died in 
1903. Mrs. Hannah Lockridge was born in 1822 and departed this life 
in 1883. They were parents of eight children: Mrs. Mary Demarce, 
Delta, Iowa; Mrs. Sarah Chesney, died at Keota, Iowa; Mrs. Margaretta 
Overturf, died at Sigourney, Iowa; Jesse, Corvallis, Oregon; Mrs. Jane 
Hahn, Sigourney, Iowa; Mrs. J. L. Ferry; James, Delta, Iowa. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ferry began their married life on the Ferry farm in 
Iowa and resided there for one year. They then purchased forty acres 
of land and resided upon it for three years. This farm they sold and 
then moved to a farm near Fairfield, which they rented for two years. 
For the following ten years they lived upon a farm situated between 
Fairfield and Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, which they eventually sold. They came 
to Missouri after selling this farm and bought a place located six miles 
east of Memphis in Scotland County, Missouri, upon which they lived for 
one year, selling out the place at an advance over the purchase price. 



382 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Mr. Ferry's next investment was in a farm located between Gorin and 
Wyaconda, Missouri, where they resided for two years, disposing of this 
farm at a profit of $10 an acre above the purchase price. For the follow- 
ing three years they resided upon a farm of 160 acres located in Shelby 
County, Missouri, near the town of Letner. This farm was sold at an 
advance of $25 an acre after Mr. Ferry had improved it and made the 
tract more valuable. In 1907 the Ferry s came to Henry County, where 
Mr. Ferry owns 200 acres of excellent land just north of La Due, in Davis 
township. Eighty acres of this land lies in section 14, and 120 acres is 
located in section 23. The farm is well improved and during the past 
ten years Mr. Ferry has encircled the land with a hog tight wire fence 
and has been engaged in raising pure bred Duroc Jersey hogs for the 
market as well as producing cattle. 

Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Ferry are parents of the following children: 
Estella, wife of Garry Hull, La Due, Missouri; Mary, deceased; Cressie, 
wife of Julius Kiefer, Wyconda, Missouri; Elsie, wife of Clyde Louder- 
man, a soldier in the National Army; Ralph, deceased; Raymond, born 
May 5, 1896, a private in the National Army, trained at Camp Travis, 
San Antonio, Texas, and saw service on the firing line in France; Ruth, 
deceased; Wilson and Paul, at home. 

Mr. Ferry is a Republican in politics and is looked upon as one of 
the best and progressive citizens of his township and county. The Ferry 
family have taken their places among the citizens of Henry County and 
have made many warm friends during the eleven years of their resi- 
dence in this county. 

Jacob Schneider. — If any individual can correctly be called a "jack 
of all trades" it is the average agriculturist. Often remote from centers 
of population ft is impossible for him to obtain the advantages of skilled 
labor in building or repairing so necessary on the fann. The farmer's 
stronghold must, of necessity, be a complete plant in itself, and the 
farmer is very often a mechanic, able to do many things besides intelli- 
gently cultivating the soil. Jacob Schneider and his sons, successful 
farmers of Davis township, are striking examples of "all round" capa- 
bility in the management of this large estate of 381 acres. When Mr. 
Schneider located upon his place in 1898 there were many things to be 
done to create a first class agricultural plant. One hundred seventy acres 
of his farm were Grand River bottom lands, subject to overflow. To 
protect the land from periodical inundations and render it productive, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'83 

he built two miles of levy which successfully stopped the overflowing of 
his land. This bottom land produces fifty bushels of corn to the acre. 
There were seventy-five acres of wheat on the place which averaged 
twenty-seven and one-half bushels to the acre this year, a total of 1,775 
bushels. Mrs. Schneider and the Schneider girls have one of the largest 
gardens in Henry County, the cultivation of which adds materially to 
the family income. Mr. Schneider raises from forty to sixty head of 
pure bred Duroc Jersey hogs annually. The Schneider home is an at- 
tractive one, which sets far back from the highway and was practically 
erected and improved from time to time by Mr. Schneider and the mem- 
bers of his family. The success of Mr. Schneider is due to the excellent 
co-operation and assistance he has always received from his wife and 
the various members of his family. Some men are prone to take all 
credit to themselves for their accomplishments, but not so with Mr. 
Schneider, who says that his success is due to the help given him at all 
times by his wife and children. 

Jacob Schneider was born in St. Charles County, Missouri, in 1855 
and is the son of Jacob and Annie Catherine (Gerlach) Schneider, na- 
tives of Baden, Germany. His parents were born near the city of Heidel- 
berg, there were reared and married and in 1854 set out for America 
with their three children to found a home in this great country. Jacob, 
the elder, was concerned with the uprising of the German people in 1849 
and was forced to flee from the land of his birth in order to save his 
life. He found a haven in this country and made a home near Cottleville, 
St. Charles County, and resided there until his death in 1870 at the age of 
fifty years. The wife and mother died in 1897, at the age of seventy-two 
J ears. Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Schneider, seven 
of whom were reared to maturity: George Henry, deceased; Mrs. Anna 
Maria Vierling, St. Charles County ; Catharine, deceased ; Jacob, the sub- 
ject of this review; Michale, deceased; John, died in October, 1917. 

Mr. Schneider came to Henry County in 1883 and first located on a 
farm three miles north of La Due. This was the old Birch place and 
consisted of eighty acres which Mr. Schneider purchased. One year later 
he traded this farm for a tract of 160 acres which he sold after cultivating 
it for a period of fourteen years. He then bought his present farm, 
which he has improved into one of the finest farms in western Missouri. 

On May 28, 1878, occurred the marriage of .Jacob Schneider and 
Caroline Kohler, in St. Charles County. Mrs. Schneider was born in 



384 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Schleusburg, St. Charles County, and is the daughter of Henry Kohler, 
a native of Germany. The following children have been bom of this 
marriage: Louis, at home and assisting with the farm work; George, 
deceased; Jacob, Kansas City, Missouri; Catherine, wife of John Hilde- 
brandt, a farmer of Davis township; Benjamin, at home; John, living 
in Washington, where he is engaged in lumbering ; Charles, Mary, Bertha, 
Ruth and Philip, at home with their parents. 

For over forty years Mr. Schneider voted the Democratic ticket but 
is now inclined to Socialism. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen 
of America Lodge. 

James E. Teays. — The Teays family is one of the oldest pioneer fami- 
lies of Henry County and western Missouri. Since 1840 when the elder 
Teays, father of James E. and Edward Teays, of whom this sketch is 
written, first entered a large tract of land in the southeast corner of Bear 
Creek township, this land has remained in possession of the family. James 
T. Teays, the elder, in his dying words to his sons, said: "Take care of 
the place." Ever since that time the sons have been improving this splen- 
did tract of seven hundred seventy acres, one of the largest individual 
farms in Henry County. There are two sets of splendid improvements 
on this farm. The homestead is one of the largest and best built struc- 
tures in the county; 

James E. Teays was born March 20, 1844, in a log cabin which was 
the first structure erected by his father upon his land in 1841. He is 
the son of James T. Teays (born 1807, died April 1, 1875). James T. 
Teays was a native of Kanawha County, West Virginia, and he migrated 
to Missouri in 1840. The following year he brought his family to the new 
home in Henry County and resided here until his death. He was accom- 
panied by his father-in-law, John Everett. Until the log cabin could be 
erected in 1841 the family lived under a large tree which stood upon a 
high point of the Teays land. Mr. Teays entered Government land and 
also purchased land at $1.25 an acre until he accumulated a large tract 
of nearly 800 acres. In West Virginia James T. Teays married Eliza 
Ann Everett, born in Cabell County, Virginia, in 1810 and departed this 
life in 1880. The children born to James T. and Eliza Ann Teays were: 
Stephen, Francis Asbury, William Carroll, and Mary Elizabeth, deceased; 
James E., of this review; Edward, also of this review; Virginia and Henry 
deceased. 

Mr. Teays was a Democrat and a member of the Methodist Episcopal 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 385 

Church, South. The brothers, James E. and Edward Teays, erected the 
Teays Chapel on a beautifully wooded and grassy plot of ground between 
the two residences on the place, because of the expressed wish of their 
parents. James T. Teays and his wife had planned, eventually, to build 
the church and had selected the place for its erection. Not long before 
her death the mother accompanied her son, James E., to the site she 
preferred and said to him : "Father and I often talked of building a church 
on this spot, and if you build it, build it right here." He did so and the 
church is a handsome, substantially built structure, situated on a grassy 
sward shaded by giant forest trees, making it one of the most beautiful 
country churches in this section of Missouri. The Teays brothers built 
this chapel in 1881, and consecrated the edifice to the memory of their 
parents. What better memorial could devoted children erect than a re- 
ligious edifice? The deed showed nobility of character and a reverence 
for the memory of godly parents seldom surpassed or equaled. 

The mother of Joseph H. Wilson, the sage of Deepwater township, 
and James T. Teays' mother were sisters, of Revolutionary ancestry, the 
particulars of which can be found in the biography of Mr. Wilson, else- 
where in this volume. The great-grandfather of James T. Teays was 
once captured by savage Indians and kept captive for seven years in Vir- 
ginia. James T. Teays was the son of Stephen Teays, who man-ied a 
Miss Carroll of the Carrolls of Carrollton, Virginia, and of Carrollton, 
Ohio. Thomas Teays, father of Stephen Teays, married Catherine Lee 
and was an officer in the Colonial Army which served in the French and 
Indian Wars. He was captured by the Indians and condemned to death 
at the stake, but his life was saved by the intercession of a squaw. He 
was held a prisoner for seven years. The family is of French Huguenot 
origin and the direct ancestors in France fled to Germany to escape re- 
ligious persecution. 

James E. Teays has lived all of his life upon the land where his 
birth occurred. He has never married but has devoted his life to the care 
of tiis brother's family. He is one of the best citizens of Henry County, 
who is universally respected and stands among the leaders of his county. 

Edward Teays was born on the Teays homestead June 5, 1850, and 
was married April 15, 1875, to Miss Elizabeth Dickason, who has borne 
him seven children, six of whom are living: Rev. William Com.bes Teays, 
a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, at Papinville, Mis- 
souri; Mary Everett, wife of F. W. Drake, Glenwood Springs, Colorado; 



386 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

James Dickison, residing on the old home place; Sarah Virginia, wife of 
F. L. House, Appleton City, Missouri; Edna Eliza, wife of W. B. Wool- 
dridge, Trinidad, Colorado; Betsy Eleanor, wife of W. F. Henry, Walsen- 
burg, Colorado. 

Mrs. Elizabeth (Dickison) Teays was born in Bear Creek township, 
Henry County, January 23, 1854, and is the daughter of Samuel (born 
May 25, 1807, died 1862) and Mrs. Sarah Ann (Combes) Dickison (born 
July 23, 1816, died March 5, 1876), natives of Virginia. Samuel Dickison 
moved to Ohio from his native State with his parents in" 1819 and was 
there reared to young manhood. He came to Henry County and entered 
a tract of Government land in Bear Creek township in 1836. Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Teays was the only child of this second marriage of her father. 
There were three children born of a former marriage, one of whom is 
living: Artemus Jefferson Dickison, Sumpter, Oregon. Sarah Ann (Combes) 
Dickison was the daughter of Col. John Combes, who was born September 
11, 1777, and was a pioneer in Johnson County, Missouri. He served as 
commissioned officer in the War of 1812 and received a tract of land in 
Kentucky for his services. 

Wiley H. Alexander. — The Alexander farm in Davis township is one 
of the finest tracts of productive land in this section of Missouri. The 
tract, which consists of 180 acres, is one mile and one-eighth in length 
and one-fourth of a mile wide and has been the home of the Alexanders 
since 1896. All of the improvements were placed on the land by the 
present owner. The residence, a pretty white cottage, is located on one 
of the highest spots in Henry County and from this place one can see 
in every direction for many miles. Five towns can be seen from the 
Alexander residence, Clinton, eight miles away ; Montrose and Deepwater, 
twelve miles distant; Urich, twelve miles to the northwest, and Hartwell, 
while La Due, four miles to the southeast, can be plainly seen. This 
farm is well improved and Mr. and Mrs. Alexander are continuously add- 
ing to the attractiveness of the place. Mr. Alexander is engaged in gen- 
eral farming and stock raising and has fifteen horses and mules on the 
place, including seven brood mares. 

Wiley H. Alexander was bom December 19, 1859, in Kentucky, the 
son of John B. (bom 1819, died 1887) and Julia (Rowland) Alexander 
(born 1826, died 1871), to whom were bom children as follows: R. C, 
living in California; L. G., deceased; John F., California; Mrs. Nannie 
S. McMurdray, Kentucky; and Wiley H., subject of this review. John 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'87 

B. Alexandef was the son of Philip Alexander, who left Kentucky en 
route to Missouri in 1831 and was killed by Indians while crossing south- 
ern Illinois. His widow later made her home in Illinois, but the parents 
of Wiley Alexander lived all of their lives in Cumberland County, Ken- 
tucky. 

Wiley H. Alexander resided in his native State until 1882, when he 
came to Missouri, and after a residence of six months in Sedalia he 
located in Henry County on a farm situated about four miles from his 
present home place. He rented land for a time and then bought his farm 
which he improved and sold when he purchased his present place in 1896. 

On May 12, 1892, there occurred the marriage of Wiley H. Alex- 
ander and Miss Lillie Gragg and to this union were born children as fol- 
low: Naomi Elizabeth, a graduate of the Warrensburg Normal School and 
who is now teaching the Carterville High School ; Mary May, who studied 
at the Warrensburg Normal and Oklahoma City High School and is a 
teacher in the Deepwater schools; Herbert Henry, who spent two years 
in the Clinton High School and became a student in the Quincy, Illinois, 
Business College, where he contracted a fatal sickness, dying on February 
28, 1917, at the age of twenty years ; Nina, graduated from Clinton High 
School, class of 1918; Ralph Lee, a student in the Clinton High School; 
Margaret Maurine, attending the district school. By a former marriage 
in 1884 with Jennie Gilmer, Mr. Alexander has two children: Mrs. Julia 
Gates, a former teacher of Henry County, and Georgia, principal of one 
of the ward schools at Carthage, Missouri, and a graduate of the War- 
rensburg Normal School. Mrs. Jennie (Gilmer) Alexander died in 1889. 
Mrs. Lillie Alexander taught school for nine years, beginning at the age 
of eighteen years. She studied for one year in the Pilot Grove Collegiate 
Institute and graduated from this institute in 1889. 

Mrs. Lillie (Gragg) Alexander was born in Henry County, January 
27, 1865, and is the daughter of Henry H. (born 1820, died 1893) and 
Elizabeth (Sevier) Gragg (bom 1835, died 1912), natives of Missouri and 
Tennessee, respectively. 

Elizabeth (Sevier) Gragg was a daughter of Abraham Sevier, a de- 
scendant of the famous Sevier family of Tennessee, who were of French 
descent and included Governor Sevier. Abraham Sevier came to Henry 
County and settled on Camp Branch as early as 1851. Henry H. Gragg 
was a son of Malcolm Gragg, a pioneer settler of Howard County, Mis- 
souri, who entered Government land in that county nearly a century 



388 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ago. During the early forties, three sons of Malcolm Gragg came to 
Henry County and entered land in this county. Their parents also lo- 
cated in this county. Henry H. Gragg was twice married, being the 
father of seven children by his first marriage. He was married to Eliza- 
beth Sevier in 1864 and this marriage was blessed vdth four children: 
Mrs. Lillie Alexander; George W., Rockville, Missouri; Mrs. C. O. Swift, 
Springfield, Illinois; Amos E., Hutchinson, Kansas. Prior to coming to 
Missouri, the Graggs resided in Illinois. 

The Democratic party has always had the allegiance of Mr. Alex- 
ander. Both he and Mrs. Alexander are members of the Mt. Carmel 
Presbyterian Church. He is fraternally affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and the Modem Woodmen of America Lodges at 
Clinton, Missouri. 

Ernie C. Brown. — The pretty farm residence of Ernest C. Brown, 
located in Walker township on a beautiful stretch of well kept State high- 
way, is in the midst of one of the most fertile sections of Missouri. Mr. 
Brown is owner of 300 acres of land, but is farming a total of 400 acres 
in the vicinity of his home farm of 240 acres. Mr. Brown was born 
August 17, 1874, in Deepwater township, and is a son of M. V. (born 
March 4, 1837) and Helen M. Cecil (bom August 7, 1847') Brown. His 
mother was bom in Leesville township, a daughter of Judge Wilson M. 
Cecil, a pioneer of Henry County who came to this county from Kentucky 
and was one of the first county judges of the county. M. V. Brown is 
a native of Sangamon County, Illinois, and is the son of R. D. Brown, 
a native of Pennsylvania. M. V. Brown came to Henry County in 1872. 
His father came to Missouri at a later date and died at Appleton City. 
Mr. Brown, Sr., is still residing at his home place in Deepwater town- 
ship. The old Brown homestead is a splendid Colonial style house, built 
of hardwood lumber as early as 1857 and was used as a hospital and a 
fort during the Civil War when the residents of Bates County were 
ordered from the county as a result of General Ewing's Order No. 11. 
For further particulars regarding M. V. Brown the reader is referred 
to his biography given elsewhere in this volume. 

Ernie C. Brown was educated in the district schools and the Apple- 
ton City Academy. He has always followed the vocation of farmer. In 
the spring of 1896 he settled on the farm nearby where his brother 
Charles now lives and cultivated this large tract until 1904, when he went 
to Benton County, Missouri, and remained in that county for two years, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 389 

returning to Henry County in 1906. He then settled on the Hackler 
place, which he has improved considerably. 

Mr. Brown was married on November 28, 1900, to Miss Mable C. 
Hackler, who was born in Benton County, Missouri, a daughter of J. R. 
and Nannie E. Hackler, the latter of whom died when Mrs. Brown was a 
child. J. R. Hackler was a native of Virginia who ran away from home 
at the age of fourteen years and enlisted in the Confederate Army. Dur- 
ing one of the battles in which his regiment took an active part he was 
shot through the leg and ever afterward was a cripple. For a year after 
leaving the service he was forced to live on com bread and milk. In 
1866 he went to the mining region and remained for four years, during 
which time he accumulated a competence which he invested in land in 
Benton County. He also bought land in Henry County upon which he 
resided until 1898 and then returned to Benton County, where his death 
occurred on October 23, 1896. He was father of two children: Mrs. 
Mabel C. Brovra and James E. Hackler, who is owner of the home place 
in Benton County. 

Mr. Brown is an independent Democrat who votes the National 
Democratic ticket as a rule but is inclined to independence of thought 
and action in local, county and township affairs. He has filled the office 
of treasurer of Walker township and is one of the best known of the 
younger generation of farmers in Henry County. 

Albert L. Steele. — For nearly fifty years Albert L. Steele has resided 
upon the farm where his birth occurred December 10, 1869. He is the 
son of Albert Han-ison Steele (bom 1827, died December 18, 1893) and 
Elizabeth (Woodson) Steele (born December, 1842). Albert H. Steele 
was a native of Kentucky and was a pioneer settler of Henry County. He 
was one of the original "forty-niners" and crossed the plains with the 
gold seekers and returned to Missouri by way of the Isthmus of Panama 
after mining for some time on the Pacific slope. He first settled in Deep- 
water township and later made a permanent settlement in Walker town- 
ship on the place now owned by his son, Arthur L. Steele. He was mar- 
ried in 1864 to Elizabeth Woodson, who was born in a log cabin located 
near the "old adobe" church in Walker tovraship in 1842. She was a 
daughter of Shadrich Woodson, who was one of the earliest pioneers of 
Henry County. For further particulars concerning the Woodson family 
the reader is referred to the biography of Chesley G. Woodson in this 
volume. The elder Steele became a large land owner in Henry County 
and was widely and favorably known. He was father of children as 
follow: Mrs. Mollie Belt, deceased; Albert L., subject of this review; 



390 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Nannie, died in infancy; William J., Walker township; Frank H., Kansas 
City, Missouri ; Ida, died in infancy ; Mrs. Pearl Walker, Walker to'wnship. 

Albert L. Steele ■ attended the home district and received such edu- 
cation as the schools of his day afforded and has always resided on the 
home place of the Steele family with the exception of a few years spent 
in Kansas City. He is owner of 112 acres of excellent farm land. 

Mr. Steele was married on October 24, 1900, to Miss Ella Markie 
Simpson, who was born in Texas, May 24, 1877, a daughter of Duke and 
Alice (Lutzenheizer) Simpson, the latter of whom died in 1881. Duke 
Simpson later went to California and remained in that State until 1913, 
when he returned to Missouri, visiting among relatives and friends for 
some time and is now making his home in Oklahoma. He was twice 
married. After her mother's death Mrs. Ella Markie Simpson Steele was 
reared in Bates County by Judge Francis M. Steele. Mr. and Mrs. Albert 
L. Steele have four children : Earl, born November 29, 1901 ; Paul, born 
June 13, 1904; Alice Elizabeth, born October 16, 1906; Francis A., born 
November 7, 1909. 

Mr. Steele is a pronounced Democrat. He and the members of his 
family are associated with the Hopewell Cumberland Presbyterian Church 
and frequently attend Stone's Chapel for divine sei-vices. He is affiliated 
with the Woodmen of the World Lodge of Piper, Missouri. 

John F. Focht. — Although John F. Focht, well-to-do farmer of Walker 
township, during a career as an agriculturist, has earned the right to re- 
tire from active labor, he willingly gave up his mode of living which 
provided for a round of travel and sight-seeing throughout the country, 
to return to Henry County and take active charge of his farm in order that 
the food supply of the nation might be enhanced. Mr. Focht is owner of 
246.67 acres of fann lands in the northwest corner of Walker township, 
four acres of which lies in Bates County. Mr. Focht has had an inter- 
esting career and is one of the best posted and intelligent citizens of 
Henry County. 

Born on an Ohio farm, near the city of Wapokaneta, Ohio, August 
15, 1863, he enjoys the distinction of being a son of the first white child 
born within the confines of his native county. He is the son of Daniel 
and Maria (Justus) Focht, the former of whom was a direct descendant 
of one of Baron Steuben's soldiers who came to America and assisted in 
the fight for the independence of the American colonies. Daniel Focht 
was bom near Wilkesbarre, Pennsylvania, in May, 1813, and was a son 
of Adam Focht who settled in the wilderness of western Ohio as early 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3^1 

as 1836, cleared a home from the forest and swamp land and reared a 
family of sons as follows: Louis, Adam, John, Samuel, William, Daniel, 
and Jacob. His father established a home in Pennsylvania, the western 
part not many years after the Revolutionary period upon a grant of 
land which had been given to the family by a grateful Government. 

Tradition says that the original Focht ancestor paid his passage 
across the Atlantic with Steuben's expedition by fighting with the Ameri- 
can forces. Daniel Focht was reared to young manhood in Schuylkill 
County, Pennsylvania, and in 1836 located in western Ohio. He was 
there married and reared a family of twelve children, nine of whom 
are living: Mrs. Jane Hulbert, living in Ohio; Jacob, a citizen of Ohio; 
Mrs. Hannah Abbot, Bates County, Missouri; John F., subject of this 
review; William, living in Ohio; Mrs. Dora Cummins, Indiana; Mrs. Susan 
Winegardner, Ohio; and Mrs. Leora Butler, living in Southern Idaho. 

John F. Focht was reared in Auglaize County, Ohio, and was there 
married in 1890 to Miss Vona Brackney, who was also bom in Auglaize 
County, a daughter of Riley and Matilda Brackney, well-known residents 
of that county. One son has been bom of this marriage: Russell C, 
born in March, 1893, a successful farmer of Walker township, who mar- 
ried Mazie Hughes. 

Leaving his native State in November 2, 1882, John F. Focht went 
to Iowa and was employed at farm labor in that State for a period of 
ten months. He was then employed in Nebraska for seven months ; Kansas, 
eight months ; New Orleans and the Southland, three months. After this 
sight-seeing trip over the country, he returned to Ohio and after a short 
visit with the home folks of four months he made a trip through Iowa, 
Kansas, Texas, Oklahoma, stopping for a time in Kansas City and Omaha, 
where he was employed at gainful labor. After his marriage in 1890 he 
settled down on an Ohio farm for six years. In 1896 he sold out and 
traveled a distance of three thousand miles to Chehalis, Washington, 
toured Idaho, attended the Portland, Oregon Exposition and then located 
near Chehalis, where he was engaged in farming for eleven months. He 
and Mrs. Focht then toured California, Arizona, New Mexico, and Colo- 
rado and ended their trip at Creighton, Missouri. Since that time he 
has ovraed three farms and is now located on one of the good fanns in 
Henry County. His last trip was a tour of Idaho in 1917. 

Mr. Focht is a Democrat in politics and is one of those widely 
traveled men who are well posted upon the events of the day and knows 
his native land and loves it for its vastness and beauty. 



392 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

John Bernard Schmedding. — Eighty-four years ago the four Schmed- 
ding brothers, John, Theodore, Garrett and Bernard, came to Henry County 
and founded the Germantown settlement. They erected the first Catholic 
Church on Schmedding land in 1834 and also assisted in the building of 
the present church prior to the Civil War. Theodore Schmedding later 
went to the Osage Mission at St. Thomas in Kansas and died there. The 
others remained in Henry County and reared families and assisted ma- 
terially in the development of the county. As the years passed, others 
came from Germany and a large settlement has grown up and prospered 
in the neighborhood of Germantown, extending over three adjoining town- 
ships and reaching over the line into Bates County to the westward. The 
Schmedding family originated in Westphalia, Germany, and the Schmed- 
ding brothers crossed the Atlantic in a sailing vessel in 1831. They 
walked to their destination from Lexington, Missouri, to Henry County. 

John Bernard Schmedding, Montrose, Missouri, is owner of 400 acres 
of land, consisting of three farms and with three sets of improvements, 
320 acres of which is located northwest of Germantown and eighty acres 
just west of Montrose is a worthy descendant of pioneer stock. He was 
born near Germantown, Henry County, August 12, 1850, and is the son 
of John Bernard (born 1800, died 1865) and Elizabeth (Walbert) Schmed- 
ding (born 1807, died 1872). His mother was born in Westphalia, Ger- 
many, and came to America when a young lady and was married to John 
B. Schmedding in Osage ounty. To John Bernard and Elizabeth Schmed- 
ding were born five children: Bertha, died in infancy; Annie, wife of 
Anton Mucke, died in Henry County; Henry, died in 1862; John Ber- 
nard, subject of this review; Joseph H., a resident of Germantown. 

There were no free schools in this section of Henry County during 
the boyhood days of John Bernard or "Barney" Schmedding. He and 
his brother, Joseph, managed the home place of the family until Barney 
was married. He then settled upon his own land and made a division 
of 880 acres of land which he and Joseph H. owned together and farmed 
in common after the death of their mother. John Bernard received 400 
acres and the brothers gave a sister a tract of 160 acres, which they im- 
proved for her. For three years after his marriage, Mr. Schmedding 
lived in a log house and then erected a handsome house, which was his 
place of residence until the fall of 1911, when he and Mrs. Schmedding 
moved to a pretty cottage home in Montrose. 

Mr. Schmedding was married in 1880 to Miss Nora Buckley, who was 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3^3 

born in Canada December 14, 1863, the daughter of Michael and Helen 
(Quilligan) Buckley, both of whom were natives of Ireland. The Buck- 
leys immigrated to Canada and from Canada came to the United States 
in 1868. They resided at Jacksonville, Illinois, for two years and then 
came to Henry County, settling upon a farm nine miles north of Montrose. 
Michael Buckley died April 22, 1907, aged sixty-seven years. Helen Buck- 
ley died February 22, 1911, aged seventy-seven years. They were parents 
of four children : Mrs. Nora Schmedding ; Mrs. Catherine Carver, Walker 
township; Mrs. Mary Matheny, Montrose, Missouri; Ella, is deceased. 

The children born to John Bernard and Nora Schmedding are: John, 
Joseph H., Lee, Lawrence, Nina Viola and William Edwin. John is a 
farmer in Deepwater township, married Lena Cook and has five children : 
Edith, Geneva, Marcellus, Mildred and Edwin. Joseph H. lives on the 
home place, married first time to Edith Cook, who died, leaving two chil- 
dren: Josephine and Bernard. His second wife was Minnie Towns. Lee 
Schmedding is deceased. Lawrence lives on the home place, married 
Hilda Licher, and has three children: Harry, Amanda Fredericka, Erschell 
Justin. Nina Viola is deceased. William Edwin, bom November 16, 1891, 
is now a member of the National Army and after undergoing training at 
Camp Funston is now in France fighting on behalf of world freedom. He 
is a member of the 355th Supply Company, 89th Division, National Army. 
He went to France June 2, 1918. 

The Republican party has always had the support of Mr. Schmedding 
and he has served as justice of the peace of Deepwater township. He 
and all of his family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Schmed- 
ding is the oldest native born citizen of the southern part of Henry County. 

Earl R. Caldwell, one of the progressive young farmers of Walker 
township, who is farming 120 acres of the Caldwell home place, was born 
in 1890 and is a son of John Caldwell, who was bom in Ohio in 1844, 
and who first located in Pettis County when he came from his native 
State to Missouri. In the spring of 1875, he came to Henry County and 
settled on a tract of prairie land which he improved with a splendid farm 
residence which is a mansion in size and became very successful as an 
agriculturist. John Caldwell became owner of 320 acres of well improved 
land, and he tilled his acreage until his removal to Urich on April 1, 
1911, where he engaged in the milling and feed business. Mr. Caldwell 
married Abigail Neptune, who was born in Ohio in 1844 and died in 
March, 1914. Of the children bom to John Caldwell and wife, six are 



394 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

now living : Charles, Urich, Missouri ; Francis, Urich, Missouri ; Mrs. Net- 
tie Toalson, Urich, Missouri ; Mrs. Flora Long, Walker township ; Earl R., 
subject of this sketch; Florence Chenoweth, Walker township. 

Earl R. Caldwell was educated in the district school and took charge 
of the home farm when his father removed to Urich. He was married 
in 1911 to Miss Nelia Allison, daughter of A. H. Allison of Walker town- 
ship, a sketch of whom appears in this volume. They have two children : 
Vestal Harvey, aged four years; and Frances Willard, aged three years. 

Mr. Calwell is a Republican and is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. John Caldwell operated the first threshing outfit ever 
used in Henry County and for a number of years after coming to Henry 
County, he operated a sawmill and threshing outfit operated by steam. 

George Gretzinger. — The home place of Mr. and Mrs. George Gret- 
zinger in Walker township is one of the truly attractive farmsteads in 
Henry county, and its owners can truthfully say that they have placed 
every tree, shrub, building and all improvements upon the tract upon 
which they settled in February of 1889. The nucleus of the Gretzinger 
fai-ms was a tract of ninety-six acres which came to Mrs. Gretzinger from 
the Lebold estate upon the death of her mother, Mrs. John Earth. Mr. 
Earth gave them enough additional land to eke out 160 acres, which they 
built up and created into a splendid prairie farm. In addition to this 
home place they own 200 acres in White Oak township which Mr. Gretznger 
and his sons are cultivating and raising large crops upon. 

George Gretzinger was born December 4, 1859, in Tuscarawas County, 
Ohio, a son of Jacob and Magdalena Gretzinger who died in Ohio. George 
Gretzinger came to Henry County in 1889 and on February 24th of that 
year was married to Miss Dora Earth, who was born June 21, 1867, in 
Tuscarawas County, Ohio. She was six months of age when her parents, 
John and Mary (Lebold) Earth came to Henry County and settled in 
this vicinity. For further particulars regarding the biography of John 
Earth, who was one of the most successful and enterprising of Henry 
County's departed old settlers, the reader is referred to various sketches 
in this volume. Mr. Earth not only accumulated a fine estate, but he 
reared a splendid family of sons and daughters who have attained to 
positions of honor and affluence in their community. All have excellent 
homes and are prosperous, as well as being leaders in their home county. 
The following children have been bom to George and Dora (Earth) Gret- 
zinger: Earl, died at the age of three years; Arthur Lee, born Decem- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 3'95 

ber 9, 1893, at home with his parents; John Ross, born November 8, 
1895, lives at home, married on September 2, 1917, to Mildred, daughter 
of Ellis Greenhalge, of Walker township. 

Mr. Gretzinger is a Republican in politics. Mr. and Mrs. Gretzinger 
and the children of the family are members of the Lucas Methodist 
Episcopal Church, excepting Arthur, who belongs to the White KDak 
Methodist Episcopal Church. The Gretzinger's are an industrious family, 
progressive, intelligent, and endeavor to keep abreast of the times in all 
things. 

Joseph H. Harness. — Along a stretch of well-kept highway in the 
Southeastern part of Walker township are a number of very attractive 
farm homes. The surroundings are ideal for a progressive farming 
community, with a flowing stream and beautiful timber tracts in the 
vicinity. This corner of the township is undoubtedly one of the most 
fertile and progressive in Henry County. The home of Joseph H. Harness 
and wife is one of the pretty places of the county, and shows in its appear- 
ance that the dwellers therein have a taste for the better things of life 
and believe in beautifying their surroundings. The Harness residence 
is a very pretty cottage, standing on a rise of ground on the west side 
of the highway and the other buildings and fencing are in keeping with 
the house. 

The Harness farm consists of 210 acres of well-improved farm lands, 
eighty acres of which are in the home place. 

J. H. Harness was born October 6, 1871, on the Harness homestead 
within one-half mile of his present home. He is the son of William 
Harness (born April 30, 1844; died July 3, 1914), a native of West Vir- 
ginia and a son of Adam Harness, who was one of the first pioneers to 
make a settlement in what is now Walker township. Mr. Harness pre- 
empted or entered Government land at a time when there was but one 
house between his cabin and the old settlement of Germantown in the 
early forties. There were no homes on the way to Clinton which was 
then but a frontier settlement. William Harness enlisted in the Con- 
federate Army in 1863 and served for one year with the Confederate 
forces during the Civil War. He became very ill with measles and it 
was necessary for his father to make the long journey to St. Louis and 
bring him home in order that he might receive proper care. Adam Hai'- 
ness made the long trip to St. Louis and returned by ox-team, the only 
available method of transportation in those days. 



396 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

William Harness received a tract of land from his father and mar- 
ried Mary Ann Mullen, who was born in Henry County, a daughter of 
William Mullen, a pioneer from Kentucky who gave the land for what 
is now known as the Mullen Cemetery. Mary Ann Harness was born 
in 1848 and died November 15, 1896. To William and Mary Ann Harness 
were born fourteen children, twelve of whom were reared to maturity: 
William A., a farmer in Bear Creek township; A. L., Kansas City, Mis- 
souri; Mrs. Mary Hackney, Urich, Missouri; Mrs. Martha Long, White 
Oak township; Sterling V. and Mrs. Stella McCoy, twins, the former of 
whom resides in Bates County, Missouri, and the latter is deceased; Har- 
vey, White Oak township; John S., deceased; Edgar died at the age of 
nineteen years; Mrs. Sarah Wort, living in Kansas; Mrs. Frances Jen- 
nings, Maxville, Kansas. 

J. H. Harness was educated in the common schools and has spent 
his whole life in the vicinity of his birthplace with the exception of one 
and a half years' residence in Eldorado Springs, Missouri. 

Mr. Harness was married, October 18, 1893, to Miss Gertrude Col- 
son, who was born in Walker township, the daughter of Archibald and 
Hannah (Sevier) Colson ,the former of whom came to Henry County and 
made a settlement in the early fifties, dying here in 1906. He was a 
Union veteran, one of the best-known of the old settlers of Henry County, 
and reared a splendid family. His widow now resides in Urich. She is a 
direct descendant of the famous Sevier family of Tennessee, one of the 
members of which family was Governor Sevier of Tennessee. She was 
born in Osage County, Missouri, in September, 1846 and is the mother 
of seven children: Dr. J. R. Colson, Schell City, Missouri; Mattie, wife 
of Richard Angle, Clinton, Missouri; Mrs. Laura Chrisman, Bonham, 
Texas; Mrs. Mollie Clyzer, a widow living at Montrose; Mrs. Gertrude 
Harness ; B. S. Colson, Appleton City, Mo ; R. P. a live stock buyer, Mont- 
rose, Missouri. 

To J. H. and Gertrude Harness have been born two children: Glen 
W., and Richard P. C, both of whom are at home with their parents. Po- 
litically, Mr. Harness is a Democrat. He and Mrs. Harness are mem- 
bers of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. They are intelligent, well 
informed, sociable people, who while industrious and enterprising, be- 
lieve in enjoying the good things of life while they may. 

The history of the Harness family in America begins with Peter 
Michael Harness, a native of Holland, who accompanied one of the expe- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY oQT 

ditions of William Penn to the colony of Pennsylvania in search of a 
home and religious freedom. He settled later in Virginia. A descendant 
of this Peter Michael Harness was Capt. Jack Harness, who served as a 
captain of a company in Gen. George Washington's Army, during the 
War of the American Revolution. He is mentioned in the History of 
the Valley of Virginia as one of the noted characters in the Revolutionary 
epoch of American history. He was an inveterate Indian fighter and 
killed many Indians during his eventful career; three of his brothers 
lost their lives at the hands of hostile Indians. His son, Lee Adam Har- 
ness, was the father of Adam Harness, who was married to Nancy 
Ellen Murdock and came to St. Louis County, Missouri, as early as 1830. 
In 1855 he came to Henry County, and settled on Granddaddy Creek, 
near Stone's Chapel. His son, William Harness, enlisted in the Confederate 
Army in 1863 and fought at the battle of Wilson's Creek. He served 
under General Price and was in Price's Raid through Missouri and Kan- 
sas, his commander being Captain Spangler of the cavalry. At St. Louis, 
he became ill with measles and his father made the long trip to bring 
him home, as before stated. 

John Layman. — After a number of years spent as a successful con- 
tractor and builder in Kansas City, John Layman listened to the call 
of his country and the land and returned to the farm in Bear Creek 
township in order to do his part in swelling the vast amount of food 
stuffs needed to feed the people and armies of America's allies in the 
Old World who are battling for the rights and freedom of mankind. John 
Layman and Georgiana Layman are owners of 320 acres of farm land 
in Bear Creek township which they are improving and fixing up so as 
to make a good counti-y home in time to come. Mr. Layman was born 
in Clark County, Missouri, in 1860 and is the son of George and Eliza 
(Combs) Layman, natives of West Virginia and Missouri, respectively. 
Mrs. Eliza Layman was a daughter of Kentucky parents who were Mis- 
souri pioneers. George Layman came to Missouri with his parents when 
but a boy. He was bom in 1817 and died in 1901. In 1865, he moved 
to Henry County from Clark County and lived for three years upon a 
farm east of Clinton, and in 1868 he located near Montrose. There are 
ten children of the Layman family : Mrs. Renie Skelton, Topeka, Kansas ; 
Mrs. Emma Fair, deceased; Mrs. Belle Triplett, Topeka, Kansas; Will- 
iam; Henry, Kansas City; Mrs. Florence Durnell, Joplin, Missouri; Mrs. 



398 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Florida Burks, Joplin, Missouri ; Mrs. Maude Davis, Cliicago, Illinois ; Mrs. 
Bab Trott, Joplin, Missouri. 

In early manhood, Mr. Layman learned the trade of bricklayer 
and builder and many of the brick houses in his section of Henry county 
were built by him, among them being the old Nick Erhart mansion 
which in days gone by was one of the show places of the county. He 
and Mrs. Layman and the family spent eight years in Kansas City 
where Mr. Layman was employed as foreman of brick construction on 
many of the largest public buildings of the city. On account of his 
health and the fact that the farm needed their personal attention they 
returned to Bear Creek township and resumed cultivation of their large 
acreage in 1914. 

John Layman and Georgiana Erhart were united in marriage in 
1886 and to them have been born five children: Iva, wife of Fred 
Roberst, Muscogee, Oklahoma; Joseph, living on the home place, mar- 
ried Nannie Lober and has two children, Aubertine and Burnell ; J. Nick, 
resides in Bear Creek township, married Pearl Minnich, and has one 
child, Margaret; Ida, at home with her parents; Frankie, the youngest 
of the family. Mrs. Georgian Layman was born in Bear Creek town- 
ship, in 1868 and is the daughter of the late Nicholas Erhart. 

Nicholas Erhart was bom on July 19, 1831 in Bavaria, Germany, 
and died at his home in Bear Creek township, July 18, 1915. In 1844, 
he emigrated with his parents, George and Susannah (Schrepfer) Erhart 
who settled in Cole County, Missouri, near Jefferson City. On the way 
to the West, his mother died at Johnstown, Pennsylvania. George Erhart 
made a home near Jefferson City and died there. Nick Erhart was there 
reared to young manhood and enlisted and served as a soldier in the 
Mexican War, receiving for his services a Mexican Land Grant in Henry 
County to which he came soon after the war ended. Not content with hav- 
ing served his country in Old Mexico, he enlisted with the Union Army at 
the outbreak of the Civil War and was badly wounded at the Battle of 
Lone Jack. He was hit in the shoulder and was honorably discharged, 
but after his wound had healed he returned again to the Union service. 
Mr. Erhart was very successful as a farmer and stockman and accumu- 
lated a total of 1,280 acres of land, much of which he gave to his chil- 
dren, owning at the time of his death 320 acres. 

Mr. Erhart was married to Malvina Coffelt (born 1832; died 1910), a 
native of Knox County, Kentucky, and daughter of Philip Coffelt, a 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY rfyy 

pioneer of Moniteau County, Missouri, who also made an early settle- 
ment in Henry County. Four children born to Nick and Malvin Erhart 
are living: Mrs. Viola Dutro, Brownsville, Texas; Mrs. Georgian Lay- 
man ; Mrs. Ida Adkins, Bear Creek township ; Mrs. Nellie Harness, Kansas 
C;ity, Missouri. Mr. Erhart was a Republican and a member of the 
Lutheran Church. He was a charter member of the Montrose Lodge 
of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 

John Layman is a supporter of Republican political principles. He 
is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Montrose. 
He and Mrs. Layman are popular, well liked, industrious and enterpris- 
ing people, who are hospitable to the core and have many warm friends 
among the people of Henry County. 

Woodford A. Snapp. — There is nothing more pleasant than to meet 
an Missouri old settler who has lived a useful life, reared his family, 
at peace with the world and friends with his neighbors, and glad to be 
alive; having accomplished his destined mission on earth — that of rear- 
ing an excellent family, creating a home for himself and having pro- 
vided for his declining years, is the estimable record of Woodford A. 
Snapp, one of the old timers of Henry County who is still hale and hearty 
despite his more than three score years and ten as allotted him by 
divine interpretation of the Scriptures. 

Mr. Snapp was bom June 2, 1847, in old Tennessee, and is the son 
of A. A. and Lavine (Bird) Snapp, natives, respectively, of Vii'ginia 
and Tennessee. Both parents come from old Southern families of the. 
true pioneer type. As early as 1848 the Snapp family came to Cooper 
County, Missouri, and there established their home amid many of their 
former friends and acquaintances from Tennessee who had preceded 
them. In this county the elder Snapp created a fine farm, reared a useful 
family and departed this life after his work was done. 

W. A. Snapp was reared to young manhood in Cooper County and 
when he had attained the age of twenty-five years (1872) he started out 
for himself and made a location in Pettis County, Missouri. Here he 
followed farming pursuits and was married in September of 1874 to 
Miss Sarah J. Lacey, a native of Pettis County, and daughter of George 
W. Lacey one of the well-known citizens of that county. To this mar- 
riage were born a large family of children, eight of whom were reared: 
Alpheus A. Snapp, is a clerk in the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railway 
offices at Sedalia, Missouri ; Mrs. Mary Sargent lives in Bear Creek town- 



400 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ship; Jacob A. resides in Springfield township, Henry County; Walter 
M., at home with his parents; Robert L., Tulsa, Oklahoma; Rev. George 
B. Snapp, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, now stationed 
at Chilhowee, Missouri; Mrs. Lillie Myrtle Crouch, Bear Creek township; 
Fred, a farmer in Bear Creek township. 

Mr. Snapp has resided in Henry County since the year 1876, made 
his start in this county, and has OAvned various farms throughout the 
county. His fine farm of forty acres located in Bear Creek township is 
well improved and affords him a comfortable living. It is probable that 
there is not a more contented nor a happier and jollier citizen in Henry 
County than Mr. Snapp. He is a Democrat and has always espoused 
Democratic principles and supported the policies of his party and firmly 
believes that President Wilson is the greatest living figure in the world 
today. He and the members of his family are Baptists. 

Judge William Benjamin Collins, a member of the County Court from 
the north district of Henry County, is a native son of this county and 
belongs to one of the pioneer families of western Missouri. Judge Collins 
was born July 18, 1856, in Big Creek township, a son of Thomas and 
Sarah (Wooster) Collins, natives of Virginia. Thomas Collins was born 
in Albemarle County, Virginia, August 20, 1816, and came to Warren 
County, Missouri, with his parents in 1825, when he was about nine years 
of age. He was a son of George Collins, who spent the remaininder of his 
life in Warren County after coming to this State. 

Thomas Collins went to California in 1849 with an ox team train. He 
met with more than the success of the average gold seeker and when he 
returned he came by way of the Isthmus of Panama and New Orleans, 
and had several thousand dollars in gold, which he exchanged for cur- 
rency at New Orleans. He came to Henry County in 1855, settled near 
where Garland is now located in Big Creek township. Here he bought 
three hundred twenty acres of land, and later added more acreage until 
at one time he owned over eight hundred acres. He died February 10, 
1899. His wife departed this life September 9, 1872, and their remains 
are buried in the Norris Cemetery. Thomas and Sarah (Wcoster) Col- 
lins were the parents of the following children: William B., the subject 
of this review, and James T. and John Pressly, twins. James T. lives in 
Bogard township and John Pressly died at the age of eight years. 

When the Collins family settled in Henry County this section of Mis- 
souri was sparsely settled. Indians were still within the present borders 




WILLIAM B. COLLINS AND WIFE 



r 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 401 

of Henry County. When Judge Collins was a baby the squaws who lived 
in the vicinity of the Collins family often wanted to borrow the white 
pappoose, but his mother, fearing that they might forget to bring him 
back, persistently refused to loan him for the amusement of the squaws. 
Judge Collins lives practically on the same place where he was born, and 
still drinks water from the same well from which he drank during his 
boyhood days. He attended school in the rural district school in Big 
Creek township and in Honey Creek township. His first teacher as he re- 
members was a Miss Spangler. He has made general farming and stock 
raising his life's occupation and has met with a reasonable degree of 
success. He owns a valuable farm of two hundred acres in Big Creek 
township and eighty acres in Honey Creek. In addition to general farm- 
ing he is also extensively engaged in stock raising, and is recognized 
as one of the successful stockmen of Henry County. 

Judge Collins has been a life long Democrat and has always taken 
an interest in political affairs. He was elected county judge for the north 
district of Henry County in 1914 and re-elected in 1916. He has made 
a capable and conscientious public officer and has conducted the affairs 
of the county in the same capable, conscientious manner characteristic 
of him and his private business affairs. 

Judge Collins was united in marriage February 20, 1876, to Miss 
Mary Blevins, a daughter of R. P. and Missouri Ann (Crockett) Blevins, 
the former a native of Henry County and the latter of Indiana. Further 
mention of the Blevins family history is made elsewhere in this volume. 
To William B. Collins and wife have been boi'n two children: Ella and 
John Pressley. Ella Collins is now the wife of Dr. S. W. Woltzen, a native 
of Illinois, born May 6, 1870. He was educated in the public schools of 
Minook and Benson, Illinois, and the St. Louis Medical College of St. 
Louis, Missouri. He practiced medicine for twenty-three years in Henry 
County and on June 23, 1917, was commissioned captain in the Medical 
Reserve Corps of the United States Army and served in that capacity 
until his honorable discharge on account of sickness in June, 1918. John 
P. Collins, the only son born to Judge Collins and wife, is now engaged 
in farming in Big Creek township, Henry County. He married Ethel 
Miller November 14, 1906. 

William Daniel Hendrick. — To have been one of the first white chil- 
dren bom in Henry County and to have fought for the preservation of 
the Union were two of the honors which fell to the lot of the late Will- 



402 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

iam Daniel Hendrick of Bear Creek township. He also bequeathed to 
Henry county and the nation one of the largest families ever reared in 
the county. Death called him from his earthly labors too soon for him 
to rear his large family to maturity and the task devolved upon his 
noble and capable helpmeet who has achieved one of the most remark- 
able successes as a successful agriculturist and business woman in this 
section of Missouri. 

William Daniel Hendrick was boi'n November 27, 1841, in the north- 
west part of Henry County, and was the son of Asa and Martha (Hig- 
gins) Hendrick, natives of Kentucky and Tennessee, respectively, and 
who settled in Henry County during the early thirties. William D. Hen- 
drick was reared to young manhood in Henry County and enlisted in the 
Union Army in 1863 as a Government teamster, serving for nearly one 
year. He was married in 1876 to Miss Margaret Mohler, who was born 
June 20, 1858, in Dark County, Ohio, the daughter of Rev. John S. and 
Mary H. (Risser) Mohler, natives of Ohio and Pennsylvania, respectively, 
both of whom were descended from Pennsylvania German stock. The 
Mohlers came to Missouri in 1868 and after spending one year in John- 
son County, near Knob Noster, they came to Henry County in the fall 
of 1869 and settled on a farm three miles northeast of Urich, residing 
there until 1878. They then moved to a farm near Deepwater. After 
residing here for some time they removed to Brown County, Kansas, 
and from there they went to Gove County, Kansas, with their children. 
Rev. John S. Mohler was a minister of the Gennan Baptist Church and 
his whole life was spent in ministerial and agricultural pursuits. He 
was born May 30, 1831 and died November 1, 1911. Mary H. (Risser) 
Mohler, his wife, was born November 11, 1852, and died March 17, 1912. 
They were parents of the following children: Mrs. Nannie R. Bene- 
zette, deceased; Martin R., Maurine, Missouri; Mrs. Maggie R. Hen- 
drick; Mrs. Cassie R. Johnson, Kansas City, Missouri; Joseph R., Gove 
County, Kansas; Samuel R., Monti'ose, Missouri; Mrs. Rebecca R. Eisen- 
bise, Gove County, Kansas; John R., Preston, Nebraska. 

When William Daniel and Maggie R. Hendrick were married they 
settled on a farm two miles northeast of Urich which Mr. Hendrick had 
purchased. They lived for two years on this farm and then made a trade 
v/ith John R. Mohler, sold the place which he obtained to Mr. Hendrick's 
brother and then bought a farm south of Urich. One year later Mr. 
Hendrick sold this farm and made his home with his parents until 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 403 

1881. In the fall of that year he purchased the farm in Bear Creek 
township which served as their home for six years. They sold this place 
and moved to a farm three miles of Montrose, remaining there until 
1894, when they purchased the present home place of the family, con- 
sisting of 220 acres in Bear Creek township. During the dry year of 
I'JOl, when there was very little to occupy Mr. Hendrick in caring for crops 
he erected a splendid farm home which has been beautified until it is one 
of the attractive farm homes in Henry County. 

Fourteen children were born to William D. and Maggie Hendrick: 
Etta May, born July 9, 1877, wife of Thomas Dugan, living near Mont- 
rose, and has six children, Emmet, Estell, Robert, Bernard, Margaret, 
and Dorothy; W. Warren, bom August 13, 1880, resides near Maxville, 
New Mexico, married Viola Nelson and has six children, Deena, William, 
Ruth, Rachel, Gracie, Mary Margaret; Maude M., born January 6, 1882, 
wife od Rufus Long, of Walker township, and has two children. Ruby 
Myrtha, and Roland; Anna M. born March 24, 1883, wife of Elmer Long, 
of Walker township, has five children, Ewall, Daniel, Estell, Nannie, 
and Anna Lee ; Gertrude L., born December 3, 1884, wife of Robert Skaggs, 
of Davis township; Grover R., born March 28, 1886, lives in Davis town- 
ship, married Myrtle Tribble, and has one child, Glenn; Otis M., born 
April 14, 1888, lives near Manzanola, Colorado, and is a fruit and alfalfa 
grower, married Dorothy Rodman and has one child. Ruby Lois ; Bell, born 
May 27, 1890, wife of Harry Mason, of near Uneda, Missouri, Bear Creek 
township; Asa, born November 28, 1891, lives near Manzanola, Colorado, 
married Golden Hood, and has two children, Carl and Mary ; Virgie, born 
November 12, 1893, at home; Frances, born July 15, 1895, wife of Percy 
Pinkston, Bear Creek township, has one son, William Lee; Ruby; Ralph; 
Fern. William Daniel Hendrick, father of this remarkable family of chil- 
dren, died November 19, 1902. Mrs. Hendrick was left with their care and 
upbringing. She has accomplished the task in a most capable and really 
praiseworthy manner. Every child has been reared to become a good 
and worthy citizen and Mrs. Hendrick has ably managed her affairs so 
as to excite the admiration of those who know her. The farm improve- 
ments have been kept to a high standard; she has educated everyone 
of her fourteen children and assisted those who have left home to get 
a start for themselves and led them all to lead upright and worthy lives 
so that every child is a valued member of society in their respective 
communities. 



404 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Politically, William D. Hendrick was a supporter of the Democratic 
party although he was never active in political affairs. He was reared a 
Baptist by his parents, but Mrs. Hendrick and her children are members 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. He was a member of the 
Agricola Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. Henry County 
and the State of Missouri has benefited by his sojourn upon this earth 
and his life was within blemish; his place in the history of Henry County 
is well deserved. 

H. Bryant Hollopeter. — Born and reared upon the farm in Henry 
County, H. B. Hollopeter of Bear Creek township, achieved a success 
as a railroad man, and then returned to his first love, after having 
accumulated sufficient funds to purchase a splendid farm near his old 
home in this township. Unlike many of those who have been employed 
in salaried positions for a number of years, he carefully saved his earn- 
ings, always with a view to becoming a tiller of the soil and thus be 
independent of the tenure of a railroad job, and to become his own boss 
on the farm. Mr. Hollopeter was born in 1859 in York County, Penn- 
sylvania, the son of Frederick (born July 4, 1808; died March 3, 1893) 
Hollopeter, the son of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. Frederick Hollo- 
peter was reared in Pennsylvania and was there mai-ried in 1858 to 
Christian Troy, who was born August 26, 1836, in Clearfield County Penn- 
sylvania, the daughter of Samuel and Catherine (Miles) Troy, natives of 
Pennsylvania. 

Frederick Hollopeter came to Henry County in 1871 and purchased 
an eighty-acre tract of prairie land upon which he erected his permanent 
home in this county. Here he tilled his acres and lived to a good old 
age, surrounded by the comforts of his industry and thrift. He was 
father of four children: H. Bryant, subject of this review; Mrs. Phoebe 
Catharine Etter, Kansas City, Missouri; Mary, deceased; Irvin, Kansas 
City, Missouri ; Lydia, deceased ; Nellie, at home with her widowed mother, 
who has three gi'andchildren. Mr. Hollopeter was a Republican in his 
political faith and a member of the Brethren Church. 

Bryant Hollopeter attended the Glenwood district school and also 
studied at Lamkin's Academy at Clinton. Like the greater number of 
Prof Lamkin's students he has achieved a success of his life. Prior to his 
marriage, in 1887, he had purchased a forty-acre tract of land which 
formed the nucleus around which he has built up his splendid 200-acre 
farm. When he was twenty-one years of age he began teaching school 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 405 

and continued teaching and farming until his marriage. In 1890 
Mr. Hollowpeter engaged in railroad work with the Ft. Scott & 
Memphis Railroad Company and followed the profession of telegraph 
operator and station agent for twenty years. He was stationed at Deep- 
water, first as a helper, and then transferred to Cherokee, Kansas. 
Later he had charge of the railway station at Aldrich, Missouri; then 
he went to Creighton, Missouri, and after a term of service at Garden 
City, Missouri, he returned to his farm in 1910. During his career as a 
railroad man he purchased an additional 160 acres of land. In the year 
1903, he erected a handsome brick residence upon his farm. Mr. HoUopeter 
has 120 acres in his home place, and an eighty-acre tract located two 
miles east of his home which he uses for pasture land. During this year 
(1918) he is cultivating twenty acres of corn, twenty acres of oats, 
and has seventy acres in grasses. Mr. HoUopeter is using fertilizer for 
his crops with the idea that it is his duty to raise bumper crops in 
this year of all years for the good of the country. He was one of the 
organizers of the Bank of La Due and served as cashier of the bank for 
some time, and is now a director and the assistant cashier of this bank. 

The maiTiage of Bryant HoUopeter and Miss Ella Varner took place 
in 1887 and has been blessed with four children, two of whom are living: 
Freddie and Edith are deceased ; Paul, is railroad agent for the Missouri, 
Kansas & Texas Railroad Company at La Due and is making a success of 
his profession, being one of the youngest agents of the line; Ray is at 
home with his parents. Mrs. Ella (Varner) HoUopeter was bom in 
Ohio and is the daughter of Daniel and Mary Varner, who came to 
Henry County from Ohio in 1885. 

The Republican party has generally had the allegience of Mr. Hollo- 
peter. He is a member of the Brethren Church and is regarded as a 
highly desirable and progressive citizen of Henry County and ranks 
among the successful men of this county. 

James Washington Johnson. — Prominent in the affairs of Henry 
county for nearly thirty-five years, energetic and progressive to a high 
degree, the late James W. Johnson was a man whose name will long be 
remembered in Henry County. He created a splendid farm during the 
course of his residence in this county and reared a fine family of children. 

James W. Johnson, widely known as Judge Johnson, was born in 
Morgan County, near Versailles, Missouri, in 1846, and was the son of 
Anderson and Rebecca (Smith) Johnson, who were natives of Kentucky 



406 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

and settled in Missouri during the early thirties, when the greater por- 
tion of the State was an unpeopled wilderness. Anderson and Rebecca 
Johnson reared a family of ten children, of whom James W. was the 
fifth child. He, James W., was reared to young manhood in Morgan 
County and resided there until the spring of 1879, when he came to 
Henry County in search of a permanent home for his family. He enlisted 
in the Confederate service in 1864 during the Civil War and became a 
soldier when but seventeen years of age. He served under General 
Marmaduke and saw much active and hazardous service in southwest 
Missouri, Arkansas and Texas for over one year. Mr. Johnson's first 
purchase of land was eighty acres in Bear Creek township. This farm 
was hardly improved and an old log house which had been erected by a 
former proprietor served as the Johnson home for four years. Mr. and 
Mrs. Johnson then erected a substantial frame house. He set out a large 
orchard which bore bountiful crops of apples for many years until the 
past six years of drought practically ruined many of the trees. He 
added another eighty acres to his farm and then added forty acres, 
making two hundred acres in all in the Johnson farm. 

In April of 1879, James W. Johnson and Miss Mary McCloud of Mor- 
gan County were united in marriage. Mrs. Mary Johnson was born in 
1858 in Morgan County, Missouri, and is a daughter of W. H. and Eliza- 
beth (Adams) McCloud, the former of whom was a native of South 
Carolina and the latter a native of Indiana. Elizabeth (Adams) McCloud 
was the daughter of Adam Adams, a pioneer settler of Morgan County, 
Missouri, whose wife lived to the great age of ninety-two years. Mrs. 
Mary Johnson is one of the seven children bom to her father's second 
marriage. He was father of six children by a former marriage. Her 
mother departed this life in February, 1898, her father having died in 
1874. Three children were bom to James W. and Mary Johnson, as fol- 
lows: Barrington Salmon, bom 1881, lives in Texas, married Jewell 
Rhodes, and has one child, James Samuel; Ewing McCloud Johnson, 
born April 1, 1893, enlisted in the department of mechanical service in 
the National Army for overseas service in the World War in behalf of 
world freedom, April 5, 1918 ; James Winkler, bom April 21, 1896, married 
March 14, 1918, to Crystal E. Hood, daughter of J. C. Hood of Montrose, 
Missouri. 

Mr. Johnson was a life-long Democrat and prominent and active in 
the affairs of his party in Henry County. He was once a candidate for 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 407 

county judge and came within two votes of being elected. He was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and took a proper interest 
in religious work. He was affiliated with the United Confederate 
Veterans, Norvel Spangler Camp No. 668, Clinton, Missouri, and took a 
great interest in the affairs of this organization. Mi. Johnson was a 
man worth while who left an indelible impress upon the life of the com- 
munity in which he spent so many active years. 

Charles Malcolm Adkins. — The Adkins family is one of the oldest 
of the prominent families of Henry County and dates back to the early 
forties when the grandfather of Charles M. Adkins came from Warren 
County, Missouri, to Henry County and settled upon a large tract of land 
located south of Clinton. 

C. M. Adkins was born on a farm six miles southwest of Clinton, 
in 1872, and is the son of Henry G. (bom 1828, died 1875) and Zilpha 
Jane (Collins) Adkins. Henry G. Adkins was born in Virginia and was 
a son of John Ward Adkins, who was a pioneer in Warren County, Mis- 
souri, and came to Henry County in the early forties and made a perma- 
nent settlement south of Clinton. The mother of C. M. Adkins was 
born in 1828 in Tennessee, and was a daughter of Louis Collins. She 
died in October, 1903, in Clinton. There were five sons and five daughters 
born to Henry G. and Zilpha Jane Adkins, as follows: Missouri Ann, de- 
ceased wife of Joseph A. Harness, Kansas City, Missouri, died in May, 
1918; John T., Clinton township; Louisa J., wife of Robert B. Casey, 
both of whom are deceased; Henrietta J., wife of Isaac J. Hinkle, both 
of whom are deceased, the former of whom died at her home in Montrose, 
April 11, 1918 ; Mary Elizabeth, wife of Granville Taylor, deceased ; Will- 
iam H., Greeley, Colorado; James J., deceased; Mrs. Zilpha H., deceased 
wife of Frank White; Charles H., deceased; Charles Malcom, subject of 
this sketch. 

Henry G. Adkins achieved a remarkable success as an extensive 
farmer and stockman. He became owner of 2,400 acres of farm lands 
in Henry County and gave to each of his children, a tract of 240 acres. 
He came to Henry County without any capital whatever, and entered 
land. He was very prominent in affairs of Henry County during the 
early days and was widely known throughout the county. He farmed his 
land on an extensive scale and was a large feeder of live stock. Mr. 
Adkins was a charter member of the Clinton Lodge of Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons. 



408 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

C. M. Adkins attended the district schools and the Clinton schools 
and pursued a higher course at Lamkin's Academy. After completing 
his schooling he located on his grandfather's old place in Clinton town- 
ship and farmed this 240-acre tract until his removal to Clinton, where 
he resided for ten years, coming to his present farm in Bear Creek 
township in 1914. 

Mr. Adkins was married in 1892 to Miss Ida B. Erhart, a daughter 
of Nick Erhart, a biography of whom appears in this volume in con- 
nection with the sketch of John Layman. Mrs. Ida B. Adkins was edu- 
cated in the district school and Baird College, and studied music and 
art. She is an accomplished musician and an artist of ability who has 
produced many paintings of merit. Mr. and Mrs. Adkins have three chil- 
dren: Monna Lucille, bom 1893, wife of D. S. Fuden, Jr., Clinton, Mis- 
souri; Mildred Viola, born January 1, 1895, wife of Charles L. Grimes, 
Clinton, Missouri, has two sons, Charles Louis, and James Adkins ; Henry 
Merritt, the youngest son, was born September 20, 1897. 

Mr. Adkins has long been prominent in the affairs of the Demo- 
cratic party and he served four years as deputy sheriff under Sheriff 
Hall while a resident of Clinton. He cast his first vote for Grover 
Cleveland for the presidency and has consistently voted for the Demo- 
cratic candidates ever since. He and Mrs. Adkins are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 

James H. Waugh, a leading farmer and influential citizen of Big Creek 
township, was born in Montgomery County, Indiana, February 27, 1866. 
He is a son of John W. and Julia A. (Hamilton) Waugh, natives of Indiana. 
The Waugh family trace their family history back to northern England 
to the year 1687, to John Waugh ,who was born in 1687 and died in 1781. 
His son, Joseph, was born in 1726 and died in 1819. Joseph's son, Josteph, 
Jr., was born in 1763 and died in 1849. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary War. His son, Milo, was born in 1804 and died in 1857. Milo 
was the father of John W., who was bom in 1839 and died in 1910, and 
he moved from Ohio to Indiana. His son, James H., is the subject of 
this sketch. John Waugh, the first above mentioned, who was born in 
England in 1687, immigrated to America in 1718, landing at Boston. Later 
he lived for a time in Maine and then New Hampshire. In 1745 he moved 
from New Hampshire to Litchfield, Connecticut. 

John W. Waugh, the father of James H., came to Henry County, 
Missouri, in April, 1866, and located on section 17, Big Creek township, 




JOHN W. WAUGH 



N''''i 




^ 




HOWARD HARRISON— MRS. JESSIE M. MERRILL— JOHN W. WAUGH 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 409 

where he bought one hundred twenty acres of land. He was a prosperous 
farmer and stockman and at the time of his death was the owner of 
eight hundred forty acres. He died August 14, 1911. He was prominent 
in public affairs and at one time was candidate for county judge on the 
Republican ticket. His wife died May 22, 1885, and their remains are 
interred in the Carpenter Cemetery. 

John W. and Julia (Hamilton) Waugh were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: James H., the subject of this sketch; E. R., Blairstown, 
Missouri ; Mary, now the wife of Dr. L. L. Smith, Urich, Missouri ; R. H., 
Clarksville, Iowa; Jennie M., married Charles Crist and died at Chanute, 
Kansas, in 1910, and her remains are buried in Carpenter Cemetery; 
Walter S., on the home farm in Big Creek township; Minnie, married 
James Adair, Shawnee township, and Emma E., died in infancy. By a 
former marriage to Mary E. Henderson, the following children were born 
to John W. Waugh: William B., Baxter Springs, Kansas, and Martha, 
who married Ed Darr, and now resides at Blairstown, Missouri. John 
W. Waugh's first wife died June 28, 1864. 

James H. Waugh received his education in the district schools of 
Big Creek township, attending school at district number two. He re- 
mained at home with his parents until he was twenty-two years of age, 
when he engaged in fanning on his own account in Big Creek township. 
In 1895 he bought one hundred forty-five acres of land one-half mile 
south of Norris and since then he has added one hundred acres to his 
original purchase and now owns two hundred forty-five acres, which is 
one of the valuable farms in Big Creek township. The place is well im- 
proved, with a good farm residence and an ample supply of barns and 
other farm buildings. Mr. Waugh is a successful stockman and is an 
extensive feeder of both cattle and hogs, and his place is well equipped 
for stock raising and feeding purposes. He is of the type of agriculturist 
who follows farming not for a living, but as a business. 

Mr. Waugh was united in marriage March 28, 1888, to Miss Gertrude 
Haines of Macon County, Missouri. She is a daughter of Joshua and 
Minerva (Kinzer) Haines, natives of Ohio, the former of Highland County 
and the latter of Adams County. The Haines family came to Missouri 
in 1867 and settled in Macon County. The father died in 1871 and the 
mother afterwards returned to Ohio and was there married to Thomas 
Murphy, and they came to Johnson County, Missouri, in 1879, and the 
following year settled in Henry County. They now reside at Chilhowee, 
Missouri. 



410 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

To James H. and Gertrude (Haines) Waugh have been born the fol- 
lowing children: Edward H., married Gertrude Albin and is now engaged 
in farming and stock raising near Norris, Missouri, has one child, Sylvia 
Daphney; John W., married Ursel Gilliam and lives near Norris, Mis- 
souri, has one child, Lyle Gilliam, and Jessie N., married James Hunter, 
Merrill, Blairstown, Missouri. Mr. Merrill is now a private in the Na- 
tional Army. 

Mr. Waugh is a progressive citizen and is of the type of men who 
has contributed to make Henry County what it is today. Since coming 
to this county he has seen many changes and has many pleasant recol- 
lections of pioneer days. He has in his possession a picture of his first 
cabin home in Henry County, which he prizes very highly. He is one of 
the substantial men of Big Creek township whose citizenship means some- 
thing to the community and county. He is a Republican. He is affiliated 
with Agricola Lodge No. 343 Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He 
and Mrs. Waugh and the children are members of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. 

Fred C. Hill. — The success of an institution depends almost entirely 
upon the personality and ability of the executive head. A banking con- 
cern depends for its popularity and success upon the personality and 
ability of the cashier, especially in the smaller cities where the cashier 
is practically the only individual with whom the patrons are brought 
into personal contact while transacting business with the bank. The 
Montrose Savings Bank is a popular, thriving financial concern whose 
success is due in no small measure to the energy, geniality, progressive- 
ness, and ability of its cashier, Fred C. Hill. 

Fred C. Hill was born May 15, 1878 in Calhoun, Missouri, and is the 
son of George and Mary (Ostermeyer) Hill, natives, respectively of Indi- 
ana and Illinois. George Hill was born in 1853 and was the son of 
Christopher A. Hill, a native of Indiana who moved to Henry County, 
Missouri, in 1865 and made a settlement near Montrose. After a few 
years' residence in this vicinity he located at Calhoun, Missouri, where 
George Hill was married and embarked in the smithing business, being 
thus engaged for a number of years until his recent retirement. He, 
with his sons conduct a thriving mercantile business in Calhoun, which is 
one of the most prosperous towns in Henry County. Three sons were 
born to George and Mary Hill: Charles L. and Walter 0., merchants at 
Calhoun, Missouri; and Fred C, subject of this sketch. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 411 

Fred C. Hill was educated in the public schools of his native town, 
his education being supplemented by experience in the usual school which 
affords a thorough training for a young man who if possessed of ability, 
can make his own way in the world without an academic education and 
training. We refer, to the school of experience which requires that a 
man actually do things worth while. Mr. Hill's training has been such 
as to eminently fit him for banking. His first experience in banking was 
as bookkeeper in the Bank of Cahoun, a position which he entered upon 
in 1898. Two years later he became bookkeeper of the Citizens Bank 
of Windsor. In January of 1906 he became teller of the Clinton Na- 
tional Bank, a position which he resigned in June, 1906, to become cashier 
of the Montrose Savings Bank. 

Mr. Hill was married in October, 1904, to Miss Earl Morrow, of 
Buffalo, Missouri, a daughter of R. A. Morrow. Two children have been 
born of this marriage: George Robert Hill, aged ten years; and Mary 
Ellen Hill, aged five years. 

The Democratic party has always had the support and allegiance 
of Mr. Hill. He is affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of 
Elks of Clinton. Mrs. Hill is interested in religious works and is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 

The Montrose Savings Bank was established in 1895 by R H. Dugan, 
0. P. Wilson, W. S. Winkler, and others. Mr. 0. P. Wilson sei-ved as the 
first cashier of the bank, and was succeeded by W. S. Winkler, who 
served as cashier until succeeded by the present incumbent, Fred C. 
Hill. This bank has a capital of $15,000, with a surplus of $15,000 
and is in a flourishing and prosperous condition. The undivided profits 
on hand at this writing (April, 1918) exceed $1,750, all of which has 
been earned by the bank in due course of business. The bank is owned 
by twelve individual stockholders who live in Montrose or vicinity. The 
deposits now exceed $210,000. The officers of the bank are as follows: 
R. H. Dugan, president; H. Welling, vice-president; Fred C. Hill, cashier; 
R. H. Dugan, H. Welling, Fred C. Hill, A. J. Mann, Mrs. W. N. Nickell, 
Joseph DeBold, and W. L. Gurner form the board of directors. 

Charles M. Clark, cashier of the Farmers and Merchants Bank, Mont- 
rose, Missouri, was born August 4, 1869, in Deepwater township, Henry 
County, and is the son of David W. and Sarah E. (Jackson) Clarke, the 
former of whom was a native of Virginia and the latter was a native of 
North Carolina. 



412 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 



David Clark was the son of Joseph Clark, a native of Ireland, who 
emigrated from his native land to Virginia, and after a residence of 
some years in that State, he came to Missouri, as early as 1837, and 
settled in Lafayette county, developed a farm in that county and there 
ended his days. David Clark was reared to maturity in Lafayette County 
and was married in that county to Sarah E. Jackson. During the early 
fifties he came to Henry County and settled in Deepwater township, de- 
veloping a farm which is still in possession of the Clark family. Dur- 
ing the Civil War he served in Capt. John B. Newberry's company of 
Missouri State Militia. He resided upon his farm of 140 acres in Deep- 
water township until death came to him. Nine children were born to 
David W. and Sarah E. Clark: Dr. J. W. Clark, Liberal, Missouri; Mrs. 
Louisa J. Barker, Kansas City, Missouri ; Mrs. Elizabeth Marsh, a resident 
of Indiana; Mrs. Lucy A. Gutridge, deceased, was a resident of Montrose, 
where he died in 1900; Wesley, who is tilling the home place east of 
Montrose; Mrs. I. J. Marsh, living in Bear Creek township; Charles M., 
subject of this review; Mrs. Lillian Covey, Appleton City, Missouri. 

After receiving such education as was afforded by the district schools 
in the vicinity of his home, Mr. Clark attended the Academy at Butler, 
Missouri. For a period of two years he taught school and then engaged 
in the mercantile business at Montrose, a vocation in which he was profit- 
ably engaged for over twenty years. In 1913 he entered the Farmers 
and Merchants Bank as cashier. His work as cashier of this bank is 
marked by efficiency, courtesy of demeanor and a desire to attend to the 
wants of the patrons of the bank in the most painstaking and obliging 
manner. 

On November 12, 1893, Charles M. Clark and Miss Vina Campbell 
were united in marriage. Mrs. Vina Clark was born in Bates County, 
Missouri, a daughter of John Campbell an old settler of that county. The 
children born of this union are as follows: Constance E., a teacher in 
the Windsor High School, is a graduate of the Montrose High School, 
and holds a state teacher's certificate from the Warrensburg State Nor- 
mal School; Ralph C, born in April, 1896, a soldier in the National Army 
who enlisted as a member of Supply Company, 137th Infantry, in April, 

1917, and is now the regimental supply sergeant at Camp Doniphan, 
and who prior to his enlistment, was with the International Harvester 
Company at Hutchinson, Kansas, left for the front in France April 13, 

1918, and is now on the fighting line serving his country and the great 
cause of world freedom for all nations and peoples. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 413 

The Republican party has always had the allegiance and support of 
Mr. Clark and he served four years as postmaster of Montrose under 
Presidents Roosevelt and Taft. He is a member of the Baptist Church 
and is frateraally affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
Lodge No. 408, Montrose, Missouri. 

Robert H. Dugan. — The life story of Robert H. Dugan, Union veteran 
and president of the Montrose Savings Bank, is an interesting one which 
borders upon the romantic in many instances, especially during his youth- 
ful days when he was obsessed with the idea of joining the Union forces. 
Mr. Dugan began his career in Henry County as a farm hand and se- 
cured his first job with J. D. Brown, south of Montrose. Upon arriving 
at Germantown, he learned that Mr. Brown was a former Illinois man, and 
he hastened to the Brown place, remarking in later years, that it was 
the only place he ever worked where a man could get breakfast, dinner 
and two suppers after working hours. Mr. Brown is fond of telling 
their mutual friends that "Bob Dugan is one of my boys; who got his 
start while working for me." 

Robert H. Dugan was born in Bureau County, Illinois, January 27, 
1844, and is the son of Thomas and Pyrena (Ellis) Dugan, natives of 
County Down, Ireland, and Virginia, respectively. Thomas Dugan was 
born in 1809 and died in 1849. He was reared to young manhood in Ire- 
land and crossed the ocean to America, locating in Illinois, where he 
was married to Pyrena Ellis (born 1830, died September 9, 1902). Mrs. 
Pyrena Dugan was the daughter of Virginia parents. Thomas Dugan 
died in Grundy County, Illinois. Mrs. Dugan spent her last days at the 
home of her son, Robert, in Henry County. There were but two children 
in the family, a brother of Robert H., dying in his youth. 

Four times after the breaking out of the conflict between the North 
and the South, Robei't Dugan tried to join the Union forces, running 
away from home and joining the army against the wishes of his mother 
and the home folks. He was three times sworn into the service, and 
twice he was compelled to return home on account of being under the 
required age for enlistment. At last, in June, 1864, he realized his heart's 
desire and having enlisted at Morris, Grundy County, Illinois, in June, 
1864, he was mustered into the service as a member of Company H, 138th 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and served for six months. He saw service 
in Kansas and Missouri on provost duty, mostly. After his honorable 
discharge from the service he returned to his old home in Grundy County 



414 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

and remained there until 1868, when in March of that year he came to 
Henry County. Sometime after coming to this county he bought eighty 
acres of land located two and a half miles northeast of Montrose. This 
land cost $7 an acre and Mr. Dugan had a cash capital of $700. In 
1869 he erected a cabin on the place and broke up the ground with an 
ox-team, having driven through from Illinois in the fall of 1868. He 
spent the spring and summer of that year working on the J. D. Brown 
farm as previously stated. Mr. Dugan increased his holdings to 175 
acres in his home place upon which he made his home until 1900. He 
accumulated a total of 300 acres and made a profitable business of buy- 
ing and selling farm land in Henry County. He owns eighty acres in 
Oklahoma and has given farms to each of his children, to the extent of 
from forty to 120 acres. He gave his home farm to his sons. Mr. 
Dugan owns considerable town property in Montrose. He owns a large 
brick business block, a hotel, and has a handsome brick residence which 
sets in a park which Mr. Dugan purchased and laid out fronting the 
railway depot. He erected the City Hotel and operated it for one year. 
Mr. Dugan is one of the principal organizers and is president of the 
Montrose Savings Bank. 

On February 2, 1871, Robert H. Dugan and Clara Miller, were united 
in marriage. Mrs. Clara Dugan was born in 1852 and departed this 
life on April 6, 1909. She was a daughter of James Miller, a pioneer of 
Henry County. James M. Miller, father of Mrs. Clara Dugan, was a 
veteran of the Mexican War who enlisted with Illinois troops at Paris, 
Illinois. He came to Henry county in the fifties and made a permanent 
settlement in the vicinity of Montrose. Eleven children were born of this 
marriage: Mrs. Cora Dunlap, living five miles southeast of Montrose; 
James, Albuquerque, New Mexico; Mrs. May Kelland, Montrose, Mis- 
souri; Mrs. Mary Burnaugh, Lebanon, Laclede County, Missouri; Mrs. 
Ida Pumphrey, Paola, Kansas ; Mrs. Margaret Warner, Paola, Kansas ; 
Mrs. Beulah Petty, who died at Paola, Kansas ; Thomas, a farmer located 
three miles southwest of Montrose; and Edward, a farmer living four 
miles southwest of Montrose; William, residing six miles northwest of 
Appleton City, Missouri. 

In politics, Mr. Dugan has always been a Republican. For many 
years he has been a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 
and is affiliated with the Grand Army of the Republic Post, Appleton City, 
Missouri. Personally, Mr. Dugan is a kindly, intelligent citizen of the 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 415 

old school whose last days are being spent in peace and comfort in the 
city which he has seen grow from its very inception and in which he 
has been such an important factor in upbuilding. 

H. J. Reiling, manager of the Farmers Elevator and Supply Com- 
pany, Montrose, Missouri, was bom in Deepwater township, December 
26, 1866, and is the son of Henry and Gertrude (Schistler) Reiling, natives 
of Germany who emigrated to America with their respective parents 
when young and located in Henry County, Missouri where both were 
reared to maturity. Henry Reiling died in Oklahoma in 1913, at the 
age of seventy-two years. Gertrude Reiling died in 1914, at the age 
of seventy years. They were parents of three children: H. J., the eldest 
of the family; John Reiling, died in Oklahoma; William lives on the 
old home place of the family in Deepwater township. 

Reared upon the home place of the family near Germantown, in 
Deepwater township, H. J. Reiling naturally took up the vocation of 
his forebearers and became a farmer. He rented the old Cordell farm 
in 1893, and in 1911 he purchased this tract of 169 acres located south- 
west of Montrose. He had this place nicely improved but suffered a 
severe loss from fire in 1914. He immediately rebuilt and continued 
to cultivate and improve his place until taking charge of the Farmers 
Elevator and Supply Company, upon its organization in 1915. Mr. Reiling 
is given thorough satisfaction in the performance of the duties of his 
position. 

Mr. Reiling was manned in 1895 to Otillie Conrad, who was born 
at Benedict, Iowa, the daughter of Ben Conrad, who resides in Nebraska. 
Eight children have been born of this marriage, six of whom are living, 
namely: William, Charles, Henry, August, Ida, and Edward, all of whom 
are at home with their parents. 

Mr. Reiling is a Republican in politics and is affiliated with the 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Montrose. He is universally recog- 
nized as an excellent citizen who believes in progressive methods of 
business and continual civic betterment and is always ready and willing 
to put his shoulder to the wheel and assist in moving things onward. 

The Montrose Farmers' Elevator and Supply Company was organized 
in June, 1915, with a capital of $6,000 all of which was subscribed by 
farmers in the vicinity of Montrose. The principal organizers were men 
of the highest standing in the community. The concern purchased an 
elevator which had been operated by other parties for some time previous. 



416 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

The grain elevator has a capacity of 6,000 bushels. During 1917 there were 
shipped from this elevator over 150,000 bushels of grain. The stock 
of this concern is divided among 123 stockholders. When the Company 
was first organized, H. J. Reiling was elected president; H. J. Hueser 
was elected vice-president; J. E. Dugan became secretary; John Swaters, 
Jr., served as treasurer. The present officers are: Lewis Tilling, presi- 
dent; P. J. Meyer, vice-president; John Swaters, Jr., secretary and treas- 
urer; H. J. Reiling, manager. 

General Lafayette Park, a prominent farmer and stockman of Big 
Creek township, is a native of Tennessee. He was born in Cock County 
April 9, 1860, a son of John A. and Catharine M. (Garrison) Park, na- 
tives of Tennessee. The father died April 11, 1910, and the mother now 
resides with her son. John A. Park was a Confederate veteran. He 
enlisted in his native State and served in behalf of the lost cause until 
the fall of Vicksburg. At the close of the war he went to Indiana, where 
he remained until 1868. He then came to Missouri, settling near Lees 
Summit, in Jackson County, where he was engaged in farming until 1889. 
He then came to Henry County and he and his son. General Lafayette, 
purchased a farm in Big Creek township, which the latter now owns. 
Mr. Park's farm consists of nine hundred forty acres and is one of the 
well improved and valuable farms of Henry County. Mr. Park carries 
on general farming and stock raising. He is known as an extensive 
stockman and raises about one hundred head of cattle annually. He has 
shipped as many as four cars of hogs in one year. 

March 10, 1888, G. L. Park was united in marriage to Miss Anna 
Lou Gault of Jackson County, Missouri. She is a daughter of James and 
Rebecca J. (Flanery) Gault. Mrs. Park's mother died in 1908, and her 
father is now living retired and spends much of his time with his chil- 
dren. To General Lafayette Park and wife have been born the following 
children : James, farmer and stockman in Big Creek township, who makes 
a specialty of breeding Percheron horses and mammoth jacks; Anna 
Belle, married Roy Albin, Big Creek township; Lafayette, farmer and 
stockman in Big Creek township, and Mabel, married Ralph Butcher, Big 
Creek township. 

Mr. Park is a member of the Masonic Lodge and is a director in the 
Farmers Bank of Chilhowee, Missouri. He is a progressive and enter- 
prising citizen and always stands ready to co-operate with and support 
any enterprise for the betterment or upbuilding of his township and 
county. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 417 

Henry B. Hecker — Hecker Brothers. — The late Henry B. Hecker, 
father of George J. and Joseph B. Hecker, well-known druggists of Mont- 
rose, was one of the best-known and useful citizens of the second gene- 
ration of a Henry County pioneer family. He was born in Germany in 
1839 and his father emigrated from Germany and settled in the German- 
town neighborhood as early as 1854. Henry B. Hecker was reared to 
young manhood upon his father's farm and at the outbreak of the Civil 
War he enlisted with the Union forces. He served for three years and 
three months as a member of the Sixth Missouri Cavalry Regiment and 
fought battles in Missouri, Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana, and was in 
the thick of the campaign which resulted in General Price's Confederate 
Army being driven out of Missouri. After the war he settled down to 
farming and for some years served as postmaster of Germantown. Dur- 
ing President Arthur's administration, he was appointed postmaster of 
Montrose and served for three years. He then established a drug business 
in Montrose which he conducted successfully for some years. 

Henry H. Hecker was married to Margaret C. Teeman, who was born 
in Germantown in 1850, and departed this life on February 25, 1918, at 
Boulder, Colorado, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Lizzie Lennertz. 
The following children were bom to Henry B. and Margaret Hecker: 
George J.; Lizzie, wife of H. A. Lennertz, Boulder, Colorado; Henry S., 
North Platte, Nebraska; Joseph B.; John P., Sterling, Colorado; Edward 
A., Kansas City, Missouri; Mrs. Florence Brushwiller, Virginia, Minne- 
sota. Mr. Hecker died in 1892. 

Mr. Hecker was a member of the Catholic Church. He was a Re- 
publican in politics and prominent in the affairs of his party in Henry 
County. Being a well-educated man, he was a pronounced leader in his 
home community and county. He was well versed in legal lore and legal 
practices and his services in drawing up legal documents for the people 
of the countryside were constantly in demand. Mr. Hecker served for 
some years as justice of the peace in Deepwater township. He also ably 
filled the important post of county assessor of Henry County and was 
a very useful citizen in many ways. His life was so well spent that his 
place in the history of his home county is forever assured. 

George J. Hecker was born in Germantown in 1869 and received his 
early education in the Montrose public schools. He graduated from the 
Kansas City School of Pharmacy in 1891 and then took charge of his 
father's drug business until 1903. In that year he went to St. Louis 



418 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

and served as a drug clerk until his return to Montrose in 1915. In 
June of 1915 the firm of Hecker Brothers, druggists, was established 
in Montrose. 

Hecker Brothers succeeded the firm of Hecker and Hinkle which 
was established in 1912 by Joseph B. Hecker and John P. Hinkle. Mr. 
Hinkle was succeeded by George J. Hecker as the senior member of 
the firm. Hecker Brothers have a flourishing business, conducted in one 
of the most modern and handsomely furnished drug stores in western 
Missouri. The stock carried is the latest and best of drugs and drug- 
gist's sundries and the firm is in a prosperous condition. 

In politics, George J. Hecker is a Republican. He is a member of 
the Church of the Immaculate Conception, Catholic, at Montrose, and 
is fraternally affiliated with the Knights of Columbus. 

Mr. George J. Hecker was united in marriage with Miss Julia Hess 
in 1900. Mrs. Julia Hecker is a daughter of Clement Hess. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hecker have three children: Clementine, Pauline, and Georgia. 

Joseph B. Hecker, junior member of the firm of Hecker Brothers, was 
born at Germantown, in 1881 and received his primary education in the 
public schools of Montrose. He graduated from the Kansas City School 
of Pharmacy in 1908. He practically worked his way through the school 
of pharmacy and worked as a drug clerk in Kansas City for nine and a 
half years. He returned to Montrose in 1912 and engaged in business 
with Mr. Hinkle in 1912 as previously stated. 

In 1903, Joseph B. Hecker and Maude Hinkle were united in mar- 
riage and this union has been blessed with three sons: Bernard E., 
Joseph B., Jr., and William H. Mrs. Maude Hecker is a daughter of 
Isaac and Henriett J. (Adkins) Hinkle, both deceased, the latter of whom 
died at her home in Montrose, April 11, 1918. Mr. Hecker is a Repub- 
lican in politics, and a member of the Catholic Church. He is affiliated 
with the Knights of Columbus. 

James McNeal Miller, M. D. — Thirty-two years in the successful 
practice of his profession in Henry County, has marked the career of 
Dr. James McNeal Miller of Montrose as a medical practitioner of high 
rank and one of the leading physicians of Henry County, being among 
the oldest of the medical practitioners of the county in point of years 
of service in the healing art. Twenty-five years of his practice has been 
spent among the people of Montrose and vicinity where he is univer- 
sally esteemed and highly regarded. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 419 

Dr. Miller is a native son of Henry County and is a member of one 
of the oldest pioneer families of the county. He was born on a farm in 
Fairview township, near Deepwater, November 6, 1863, and is the son 
of James McNeal (born April, 1822 ; died December 24, 1906) and Arte- 
mesia (Elledge) Miller (born 1822; died 1872). James McNeal Miller, 
the elder, was born in Kentucky, a son of James Miller who was de- 
scended from an old pioneer American family of Scotch ancestry. Arte- 
mesia (Elledge) Miller was also born in Kentucky and was the daugh- 
ter of Isaac Elledge. Both the Miller and the Elledge families removed 
from Kentucky to Edgar County, Illinois in the thirties and there the 
parents of Doctor Miller were reared to maturity and were married. 

James McNeal Miller was a veteran of the Mexican War and both 
he and his father were prominent in the affairs of Henry County. His 
father served as county clerk of Edgar County, Illinois, and he, himself, 
served as clerk of the Circuit Court in that county when Abraham Lincoln 
practiced law in that county. He came to Henry County, Missouri, in 
1856 and settled upon a tract of land in Fairview township which he 
improved into a good farm. During the Civil War he served as a mem- 
ber of the Missouri State Militia in Capt. William Weaver's company. In 
1868, he sold his place in Fairview township and settled upon a farm 
northeast of Montrose in Bear Creek township, where Mrs. Miller died. 
Later, the elder Miller moved to La Due and then came to Montrose, where 
he lived retired until his death. 

Ten children were born to James McNeal and Artemesia Miller: 
Bruce, deceased; Clara, deceased wife of Robert H. Dugan, Montrose, 
Missouri; Frank, Peon Prairie, Washington; Ellen, Montrose, Missouri; 
Isaac, deceased; Marie L., a teacher in the Clinton Public schools; Susan, 
wife of George F. Vansant, Bear Creek township; Dr. James M. Miller; 
Dr. Sherman Miller, former physician at Mayesburg, Bates County, Mis- 
souri, killed in an automobile accident in 1916; John S., Pasadena, Cali- 
fornia. 

James McNeal Miller, the elder, was prominent in the political and 
civic affairs of Henry County for many years. He served as collector of 
taxes for Henry and St. Clair Counties shortly after the Civil War and 
filled the office of sheriff of the county during the reconstruction days. 
He was a Free Mason. 

After his graduation from the Kansas City Medical College in 1886 
Doctor Miller began the practice of his profession at Mayesburg, Mis- 



420 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

souri, where he remained for seven years. In 1893 he came to Montrose 
and has successfully practiced medicine in this city and vicinity for over 
twenty-five years. In every advance made in the science of medicine he 
has consistently endeavored to keep abreast of the times and has studied 
continuously since his first graduation. He graduated from the Missouri 
Medical College at St. Louis in the spring of 1895 and pursued a post- 
graduate course at the Marion Sims-Beaumont College at St. Louis in 
1903 and 1904. 

Doctor Miller was married in 1895 to Miss Minnie B. Mayes of Bates 
County, Missouri, a daughter of J. M. Mayes, of the prominent family of 
that name in Bates County. 

The Republican party has always had the consistent support of Doc- 
tor Miller and he has served as mayor of Montrose for seven years. He 
is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons. Professionally he is connected with the Henry 
County Medical Society, the Missouri State Medical Association and the 
American Medical Association. 

William Wilson. — The ranks of the Old Guard are fast thinning. It 
is only here and there can be found one of the sturdy veterans of either 
side of the great civil conflict which convulsed the Nation from 1861 to 
1865. The wounds of that great struggle have long since healed and it 
is a matter of history that the fighting men of both armies never at any 
time had any great personal animosity towards one another. The feeling 
which existed between the North and the South for so many years was 
kept alive by politicians of both sides of the imaginary line which divided 
the two sections. In these trying days when the grandsons of these old 
veterans are far across the Atlantic giving up their life's blood that the 
principles for which their ancestors fought and died might be kept alive 
on this earth forever, the ties which bind the people of this great Nation 
together are stronger than ever before. William Wilson, or "Major" 
Wilson as he is affectionately called in Montrose, Missouri, is one of the 
last survivors of the old guard which fought in defense of the Union. 

William Wilson was born in Licking County, Ohio, in 1840 and is 
the son of John A. and Agnes (Curry) Wilson, natives of Pennsylvania, 
and Licking County, Ohio, respectively. His mother was of Scotch descent. 
John A. Wilson was born in 1815 and died in 1880. Mrs. Agnes Wil- 
son was born in 1817 and died in 1886. They came to Henry County 
in 1867 and settled upon a fai-m located three and a half miles 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 421 

northeast of Montrose. John A. and Agnes Wilson were parents of ten 
children: William, subject of this sketch; Stewart, Omer C, John W., 
Mary E., Eoline and Clara, deceased; Thomas, resides at Reynoldsburg, 
Ohio; Monroe lives at Cincinnati, Ohio; James resides in Montana. 

In 1861 William Wilson enlisted in Company A, 76th Regiment, Ohio 
Volunteer Infantry, and served for nearly four years with his command, 
being honorably discharged from the service on July 15, 1865. He served 
with the 15th Army Corps under Generals John A. Logan and Sherman. 
He participated in the great battles of Fort Donelson, Shiloh, Vicksburg, 
Mission Ridge, Lookout Mountain, and was in the campaign through 
Georgia, marched from Atlanta to the sea with General Sherman's Army, 
and thence through the Carolinas to Richmond, after the surrender of 
General Lee. He marched in the Grand Review of the victorious Union 
troops through the streets of Washington and then returned home. He 
accompanied his parents to Henry County and engaged in farming in 
this county until 1885, when he located in Montrose and engaged in the 
retail meat and butchering business. He followed this for several years 
and was also employed in a local grocery store for some time. Of late 
years Mr. Wilson has been living in peaceful and well earned retirement. 

William Wilson has been twice married. His first marriage occurred 
in 1868 with Eliza E. Stubblefield, who died in 1890. His second marriage 
took place in 1893 with Miss Emma Tuttle. Mr. Wilson is a Republican 
in politics and has served four years as city assessor of Montrose. He 
also filled the post of city collector of taxes. He is a member of the Pres- 
byterian Church and is aflftliated fraternally with the Grand Army of the 
Republic Post at Appleton City, Missouri. 

Jacob Rhoads, pioneer settler and president of the Bank of Deep- 
water, was born in Edgar County, Illinois, July 30, 1847, the son of Alney 
McLean (born January 11, 1820, died February 12, 1892) and Susan 
(Dixon) Rhoads (born 1820, died December 24, 1859). Alney McLean 
Rhoads was born in Kentucky and was the son of Jacob Rhoads, who 
migrated to Edgar County, Illinois, in 1823 and was a pioneer settler of 
that county. The parents of Jacob Rhoads were reared and married in 
Edgar County, Illinois, and resided there until 1854. In that year A. M. 
Rhoads, wife and six children, gathered up their belongings and drove 
in wagons across the intervening country to find a new home in Henry 
County, Missouri. They arrived at their destination after a three weeks' 
trip and located upon a tract of land situated on the banks of Deepwater 



422 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Creek, two and a half miles north of the town of Deepwater. Mr. Rhoads 
built a cabin of poles, having a stick chimney and a dirt floor to supple- 
ment the tent which had sheltered them of nights when making the long 
trip from Illinois. This rude structure served as the family domicile 
while the father was cutting and hewing logs to build a cabin. This log 
cabin was erected in September of that year and served as the home of 
the family until 1868, when a frame house was built. There were nine 
children in the Rhoads family, only two of whom are living: Jacob, sub- 
ject of this review, and Mrs. Elizabeth Moyer, Deepwater, Missouri. 

During the Civil War Jacob Rhoads enlisted for service in the Mis- 
souri State troops but was exempted from active service on account of 
the fact that he was deficient in the sight of one eye. He was married 
in 1868 and began life for himself upon his father's farm. The family 
estate was left to him and his sister at the time of his father's death, 
but Mr. Rhoads had accumulated land on his own account. He has sold 
some of his land but is the owner of a total of 870 acres in Henry County. 
Mr. Rhoads has been active during his entire life and only of recent 
years has he turned over the actual cultivation of his farm land to his 
sons. Every day he makes a trip to the farm and does some Avork about 
the place. He believes that it is better to wear out in the harness than 
to rust out as so many retired fanners do when they retire to a home 
in town. 

In 1868 Jacob Rhoads and Augusta V. Flecker were united in mar- 
riage. Mrs. Augusta Rhoads was born in Augusta County, Virginia, June 
2, 1852, the daughter of John W. (born April 15, 1817, died March 25, 
1877) and Anna Eliza (Craum) Flecker (born March 15, 1820, died De- 
cember 19, 1889). The Flecker family came to Henry County in 1866 and 
settled upon a farm which had been owned by A. M. Rhoads previously. 
To them were born ten children, eight of whom were reared to maturity : 
David B. Flecker, Oklahoma; Edward J., North Dakota; John A., Okla- 
homa; James F., Deepwater, Missouri; A. H., Lynchburg, Virginia; Mrs. 
Mary Frances Pomeroy, Colorado; Margaret Ann, wife of James Moyer, 
Clinton township; Mrs. Augusta V. Rhoads. 

The children boi-n to Jacob and Augusta Rhoads are as follow: Rosa 
Lee, John Alva, Dessie Ellen, Virginia Ann, Jettie Celeste, Harlan Francis, 
Mrs. Rosa Lee Sprouse lived in North Dakota, is deceased and left three 
children: Mrs. Edith Florence Wintsell, who has two children, Marie 
Wintsell and Nora; Earl Jacob Frouse, now in France serving in the Na- 
tional Army. Mrs. Bertha Virginia Lovell has one son, Eugene Merrill 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 



423 



Lovell. John Alva Rhoads lives on the old home place, married Maude 
Haines and has nine children: Mrs. Cecil Audrey (Smith), Florence Floyd, 
Clifford Clyde, Carmel, Fay, Jacob Carroll, Fay Carmel, Ruby Lee, Ray- 
mond, Lois Virginia and Woodrow Wilson. Mrs. Dessie Allen De Armond, 
Deepwater, has two children: Goldie Fern and Dimple Violet. Mrs. Vir- 
ginia Ann Woods lives in Deepwater. Mrs. Jettie Celeste Wilson, Deep- 
water, has one child, Leota. Harlan Francis, living on the Rhoads home 
place, married Gladys Holmes and has three children: Cleo Jacob, Opal 
Francis and Glenn, born July 4, 1918. 

Mr Rhoads is a pronounced Democrat who has taken a more or less 
active part in political matters during his entire life. He was the first 
treasurer elected in Fairview township under the township organization 
and has filled several township offices. He is a director and president ot 
the bank of Deepwater and assisted in the organization of this bank. He 
and Mrs. Rhoads are members of the Baptist Church. 

Prior to his election as president of the bank in 1917 Mr. Rhoads 
served several years as vice-president of the bank. ^ 

It is a matter of history that A. M. Rhoads rebuilt Jackson s old 
water mill after the war and for a time it was operated by his oldest son 
until it passed into other hands. Jacob Rhoads recalls that the grinding 
of meal for the family table was done by tread-mill operated by cow 
power " This mill was located southeast of Calhoun and he took com 
there to be ground and remained all night. There was a "still" near this 
grist mill and the distiller would trade whiskey for corn, more whiskey 
being given in exchange for yellow com than for white corn. 

In point of years of residence Jacob Rhoads is probably the oldest 
living pioneer settler in the southern part of Henry County. Despite his 
age he is energetic, well preserved and keeps well informed of daily hap- 
penings, taking a great interest in everything that is going on in the 
world He believes that a man, especially a man who is getting old, 
should keep alive his interest in everything which happens and wiU thus 
prolong his life and live much more happily than otherwise. When a 
man begins to lose interest in things mundane, he is ready for the grave. 
In this case Jacob Rhoads has a long time yet to live and enjoy life. 

Alfred H. Allison, proprietor of a well improved farm of 128.64 acres 
in Walker township, was bom in Bates County, Missouri, December 18. 
1868, and is the son of Otho C. and Zerelda (Baker) Allison the former 
a native of Illinois and the latter was born in Missouri. Otho C. Allison 
was bom in 1845 and died in 1915. Mrs. Zerelda Allison was bom m 



424 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

1850. Otho C. Allison came to Missouri in 1865 and drove the stage from 
Sedalia to Butler, Missouri, for a period of two years. He then settled 
on the old Baker farm in Bates County, where he resided until 1870 and 
then located in Henry County. He improved the farm which his son, 
Alfred H., now owns and lived thereon until his death. He was father 
of two sons and two daughters: Alfred H., Rolla C, lives in Kentucky; 
Mrs. Roberta G. Williams, Walker township; Mrs. Cornelia Wilcoxen, 
lives near Lucas, Missouri. 

Alfred H. Allison was educated in the district schools of Walker 
township and has always followed the vocation of farmer and stockman. 
In 1903 he purchased a farm of eighty acres and in 1915 he traded his 
farm for the home place. 

Mr. Allison was married in February, 1893, to Miss Bertie McClenny, 
the daughter of Frank McClenny, of Henry County. The following chil- 
dren were bom to this marriage: Mrs. Cornelia Caldwell, Walker town- 
ship; Mrs. Carrie Hart, Walker township; Ruby, at home with her par- 
ents; two children died in infancy; Hazel, the last born, died at the age 
of one year and eight months. 

Mr. Allison is a Republican and is a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. He is a good, industrious citizen, who tills his acreage so 
as to get the maximum yield of crops and is ever ready to assist a worthy 
local enterprise to the best of his ability. 

Michael Kedigh, a Union veteran of the Civil War and an early set- 
tler of Henry County, is a well known farmer of White Oak township. 
Mr. Kedigh was born in Germany December 11, 1840, and is a son of 
Jacob and Elizabeth (Moring) Kedigh, both natives of Germany. The 
Kedigh family emigrated to America in 1845, when Michael was five 
years old. They settled in Tuscarawas County, Ohio, whei'e both the 
parents spent the remainder of their lives. The father died the same 
year that he settled in Ohio and the mother died in 1870. They were the 
parents of the following children: Michael, the subject of this sketch; 
George, who also served in the Union Army during the Civil War, and 
died at the age of seventy; Mrs. Caroline Ricker, spent her life in Tus- 
carawas County, Ohio, and is now deceased. 

Michael Kedigh received such schooling as the rural districts afforded 
in Ohio in his boyhood days, but as he says himself, his principal educa- 
tion was learning to work. Just about the time that he reached man- 
hood the Civil War broke out and in November, 1861, he enlisted in Com- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 425 

pany E, 80th Regiment Ohio Infantry for a period of two years, and at 
the expiration of his term of service he re-enlisted as a veteran volun- 
teer and served throughout the war, being mustered out of service at 
Little Rock, Arkansas, in August, 1865. He was a good soldier and made 
an unimpeachable war record of which he and his descendants for genei-a- 
tions to come may be justly proud. He participated in many important 
battles and campaigns of great historic moment. He was with Sherman 
on his memorable march to the sea and took part in the battles of luka, 
Corinth, Jackson, Missionary Ridge and numerous other battles and en- 
gagements of lesser importance. He participated in the Grand Review 
at Washington, D. C. At the close of the war Mr. Kedigh returned to 
his Ohio home and bought a small farm which he tilled for a short time. 

In 1870 Mr. Kedigh came to Missouri and located in White Oak town- 
ship, Henry County. The first eighty acres which he purchased here was 
at a cost of twenty dollars per acre. He has added more land and now 
owns one hundred ninety acres, which is well improved and is one of the 
valuable farms of Henry County, and Mr. Kedigh is regarded as one of 
the successful farmers and stockmen of the county. 

Mr. Kedigh has been twice married. In 1868 he was married to Miss 
Christena Baker in Ohio. She died in 1880, leaving the following chil- 
dren: Caroline, now the wife of C. D. Martin; Jacob, who was engaged in 
the mercantile business at Ballard, Missouri, for some time and is now 
a successful farmer and stockman of Bates County, Missouri; John, who 
resides at Mountain Home, Arkansas. Mr. Kedigh's second wife, to whom 
he was married in 1881, bore the maiden name of Margaret Henny. She 
is a daughter of Benedict and Martha (Zehnder) Henny of Tuscarawas 
County, Ohio. Benedict Henny was a native of Switzerland and came to 
America and settled in Ohio in 1854. In 1881 he came to White Oak town- 
ship, Henry County, and died here November 6, 1893. His wife died in 
Ohio in 1880. They were the parents of the following children: Bene- 
dict, deceased; John, lives at Delmar, Missoui'i; Rudy, deceased; Chris- 
tian, Delmar, Missoui'i; William, White Oak township; Margaret, the wife 
of Michael Kedigh, the subject of this sketch; Edward; Mrs. Emma Good- 
man, Urich, Missouri; Mrs. Elizabeth Fraley, Bogue, Kansas, and Mrs. 
Mary Little, Walker township, and Mrs. Sarah Graff, deceased. 

To Michael Kedigh and Margaret (Henny) Kedigh have been born 
three children, as follow: Benedict Edward, married Edith Scanlon and 
lives in Bogard township; Omer Frances, married Inez Hargrave and lives 
on the home place, and George William, married Lorena McDaniel and 
lives in White Oak township. 



426 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Mr. Kedigh is a public spirited and progressive citizen and takes a 
keen interest in all matters for the public good. He took an active inter- 
est in the reclamation project in Henry County and for seven years served 
as a director of the drainage district board. He is one of Henry County's 
most valued citizens. 

Sol Kahn. — Since the year 1871 the name of Kahn has been favorably 
known in Henry County. Sol Kahn has the distinction of being the oldest 
merchant in the southern part of Henry County and of Montrose. The 
name of Kahn is recognized as an honorable one and the goods sold from 
the Kahn stores are dependable. An extensive business has been built 
up, a large department store growing from a very small beginning in 
Montrose in 1871. 

Mr. Kahn was born in the Grand Duchy of Oldenburg, Fuerstenthum- 
Birkenfeld, Germany, June 4, 1844, and was the son of Moses and Eva 
Kahn, who belonged to the Jewish fraternity. Moses Kahn was a dealer 
in horses in his native land, and both he and his wife, Eva, lived all of 
their lives in Germany. 

Sol Kahn received a good education in the schools of his native land 
and sei'ved three years as an apprentice to a dry goods merchant who 
for a consideration of $100 a year allowed him to work in the business 
and learn as much as he possibly could during his apprenticeship. He 
then spent two years in a dry goods store at Brussels, Belgium, after 
which he was employed in a store at Treves, Germany, for four years. 
By means of thrift and the strictest economy, Mr. Kahn saved up a few 
hundred dollars and immigrated to America in 1869. His first two years 
in this country were profitably spent in a dry goods store at Macon, 
Missouri. In 1871 he came to Montrose, Missouri, and in partnership 
with Louis Baum he purchased the store which had been founded and 
operated by Kahn & David. The firm was conducted under the name of 
Kahn & Baum for two years, at the end of which time Mr. Kahn pur- 
chased his partner's interest and operated the business under his own 
name. 

The Kahn stores progressed from year to year and grew from an 
ordinary sized store, carrying a stock of goods worth about $4,000, to a 
large department store carrying a stock of goods ranging in value from 
$30,000 to $40,000. The large Kahn building was erected in 1884 so as 
to afford ample quarters for the growing business. In 1904 an addition 
to the building became necessary and the business of the Kahn stores 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 427 

now occupies two floors of a large brick structure measuring 85x80 feet. 
Of late years Mr. Kahn has retired from the active management of the 
stores and the Kahn Commercial Company was organized in 1908 to op- 
erate the business. While Mr. Kahn holds a substantial interest in the 
business, his son, Carl Kahn, is president of the company, Ed Rock is 
secretary and Max Kahn, another son, is manager. 

Mr. Kahn was married in 1876 to Miss Kate Marsh, born in Illinois, 
a daughter of George Marsh, one of the early settlers of Henry County. 
The children born of this marriage are as follow: Max and Carl, who are 
successful merchants. 

Mr. Kahn is a Democrat but has never taken an active part in political 
matters. He adheres to the faith of his fathers, and is of the Jewish 
persuasion in religious matters. 

Bernard Menker. — In the neighborhood of Germantown, in Deep- 
water township, Henry County, Missouri, is the oldest German settlement 
in the western part of Missouri. This settlement began nearly ninety 
years ago when the Schmedding brothers came to this locality and built 
the first cabins in this part of the county. A Catholic Church was built 
and a congregation formed as early as 1834, and its growth was steady 
as the years passed. Many excellent German families crossed the ocean 
to become a part of the new settlement which gradually spread to all 
parts of the southwest part of Henry County. The people living in this 
part of the county are prosperous, happy and loyal to the land of their 
adoption and all have excellent homes and good families who take a 
just pride in the accomplishments of their ancestors, who came to this 
country to find homes for themselves and their kinfolks. Bernard Men- 
ker, who resides on the old Weisman place, which was originally the 
Barney Hagebock place, the first proprietor of the farm having erected 
a splendid stone house as early as 1860, he having come from Osage 
County to Henry County in 1839, is one of the oldest and best known of 
the old settlers of the Germantown neighborhood. 

Mr. Menker was born in Germany May 26, 1843, and immigrated to 
America in 1861. He was accompanied across the ocean by his sister, 
Francesca Menker, who later became the wife of Franz Weisman. Mr. 
Menker joined his relatives in Henry County and has been a continuous 
resident of the Germantown neighborhood with the exception of one 
year spent in Germany in 1880, when he returned to the land of his birth 
for an extended visit. He is a Democrat in politics and is a member of 



428 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

the Germantown Catholic Church. Mr. Menker makes his home with his 
nieces, the Misses Josephine, EHzabeth and Louisa Weisman, on the Weis- 
man homestead. He is owner of 240 acres of land. 

The late Franz Weisman was born in Germany in 1835 and died at 
his home near Germantown in 1907. He immigrated to America in 1866 
and settled at Germantown, Henry County, where he was married to 
Francesca Menker in August, 1866. Mrs. Francesca Weisman was born 
in 1836 and died in 1895. Mr. and Mrs. Weisman made their home con- 
tinuously in the large stone house which now shelters their three daugh- 
ters and Mr. Menker. They accumulated 290 acres of land, 170 acres of 
which adjoins Germantown and 120 acres is in another tract. 

There were eight children born to Franz and Francesca Weisman as 
follows : Mrs. Francesca Tilling, Walker township ; Frank Weisman ; Mrs. 
Anna Schmedding; Elizabeth, Josephine, Louisa, Mrs. Mary Goth. Fran- 
cesca married Louis Tilling and is mother of seven children: Anna, wife 
of Frank Bettels of Deepwater township, mother of one child, Ida ; Jennie, 
Joseph, Minnie, Fred, Louis and Clara; Frank Weisman married Katie 
Bettels and died in 1905, leaving two children, Henry and Bernard, who 
reside with their mother in Walker township; Anna is the widow of 
Barney Schmedding and resides near the Bates County line with her four 
children: Monica, Frank, Elizabeth and Mary. Elizabeth, Josephine and 
Louisa reside on the home place. Mary is the wife of Edward Goth, who 
resides on a farm near Montrose. Mr. and Mrs. Goth have four children : 
Orpha, Bertha, Omer and Ethel. All of the family are members of the 
Catholic Church. 

Joseph Schmedding. — To the Schmedding family or to the ancestors 
of the present members of the family in Deepwater township belongs 
the honor of having established the Germantown settlement and of hav- 
ing erected the first Catholic Church in Henry County or in western 
Missouri. Gerhardt, Theodore, Herman, Bernard and John Schmedding, 
brothers who were all born in Germany, immigrated to this country from 
their native land in the early twenties, and John Schmedding came to 
Missouri from New Orleans and purchased a farm of eighty acres in 
Warren County. About 1832 he joined his brothers at the new settle- 
ment in the northern part of Deepwater township in Henry County and 
his name has ever since been linked with the early history of this section 
of the county. 

Joseph Schmedding, subject of this review, was born at Germantown, 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 429 



Deepwater township, April 20, 1852, and is the son of John and Ehza- 
beth (Walbert) Schmedding, both of whom were natives of Germany. 
John Schmedding was born in 1800 and died in 1864. Mrs. Ehzabeth 
Schmedding departed this life in 1876. After coming to Henry County 
in 1832 John Schmedding entered free Government land, and here reared 
his family. There were three children in the family of John and Eliza- 
beth Schmedding: Joseph, subject of this sketch; J. Bernard, Montrose, 
Missouri; and Henry, deceased. 

There were no free schools in this section of Henry County before 
the Civil War time and the education of Joseph Schmedding was of ne- 
cessity limited. He has always been a farmer and he came into posses- 
sion of the old home place of his parents. Mr. Schmedding formerly 
owned 400 acres of land but has recently sold some of his land and now 
owns a tract of 170 acres upon which he erected a new frame house in 1912. 
In 1886 the marriage of Joseph Schmedding and Mary Myers took 
place. Mrs. Mary Schmedding was born August 28, 1865, in Bates County, 
Missouri, and is the daughter of Morris and Mary (Schmedding) Myers, 
the former of whom was a native of Germany and the latter was born 
in the Germantown neighborhood, the daughter of Barney Schmedding, 
pioneer. To Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Schmedding have been born eight chil- 
dren: Catharine, Nebraska City, Nebraska; Mrs. Lavina Stewart, Walthill, 
Thurston County, Nebraska; Henry, Winnebago, Nebraska; Clements B., 
a merchant in Germantown; Charles, Winnebago, Nebraska; Mrs. Anna 
Cook, Henry County; Bernardina and George (twins), at home; Mrs. La- 
vina Stewart has four children: Angeline, Josephine, Marion and Nina 
Stewart. Henry Schmedding married Mary Rotert and has two children: 
Maurice and Dennis. Charles Schmedding married Therese Rotert and 
has one child, Emmet. Mrs. Anna Cook has one child, Leroy Cook. 

Mr Schmedding was formerly a Democrat but of late years has 
espoused the cause of the Republican party. He and his family are mem- 
bers of the Germantown Catholic Church and he is fraternally affiliated 
with the Woodmen of the World. 

Rev. William Hovestadt.— The story of the work and struggles of the 
Immaculate Conception Parish of Montrose would be incomplete without 
some mention of the man who has made it what it is. Fr. William Hove- 
stadt was born in Germany of a German father and an Alsatian mother. 
He received his early education in the primary schools of his native land. 
His classical education was received at one of the recognized Gemnasiums 



430 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

from which he proceeded to Botingue for his philosophical studies. He 
made his theological course at the University of Louvain. 

After his ordination, Father Hovestadt came to America to seek, like 
many other immigrants, that broader field of labor and the better oppor- 
tunities for good that seemed to be lacking at home. He and his congre- 
gation, though of German origin or of German descent, refuse to be 
known except as Americans. They are fully conscious of the blessings 
of liberty and they fully appreciate the opportunities offered in this land 
where "rich and poor stand equal in the light of freedom's day." They 
are doing their bit for Old Glory. In their church hangs a service flag 
displaying thirty-four stars — the boys who have gone to fight the bat- 
tle of freedom. 

In 1872, when the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad was being built 
through Henry County, Missouri, the town of Montrose was laid out and 
the typical American railroad village soon began to rise on the site of 
the new town. About this time thrifty German farmers, hearing of the 
beautiful, mild climate of Missouri and of the fertile plains and prairies 
around Montrose, began to come down from Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa and 
the less favored parts of Missouri, and Montrose and the adjacent parts 
of Henry County began to assume the appearance of a German settlement. 
Most, if not all, of the new arrivals were Catholics who quickly realized 
that it behooved them, if they were to abide permanently in this new 
country, to procure some means of attending to their religious need and 
obligations. The first step was to procure the services of a priest. 

In 1879 Reverend Father Daly was appointed to look after the spirit- 
ual welfare of the Catholics of Montrose. In the same year a little frame 
church 20x26 feet was erected. A few of the pioneers, who helped in 
the good work, are still alive to tell the story of their early struggles: 
Joseph, Frank and Jacob Wagner, the Witmer and Lenartz families. The 
new parish grew so rapidly that within a few years a necessary addition 
of twenty-four feet was made to the church. In 1888 the Fathers of the 
Precious Blood were placed in charge of the parish by Bishop Hogan. 
So rapidly did the parish grow that a new and larger church was built in 
1887 by Rev. Edward Jacobs, then pastor. 

In 1903 Rev. William Hovestadt was appointed pastor of Montrose. 
Thei'e were in the parish at that time fifty-three Catholic families. The 
church property, on which was a debt of $1,087, consisted of the original 
frame church and the new brick one erected in 1887. The newly appointed 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 431 

pastor proceeded at once to place things generally on a more desirable 
basis. A collection amounting to $1,113 was taken up and the debt was 
wiped out. A school was the next urgent need of the parish. The old 
public school property was acquired at a cost of $1,500. An additional 
expenditure of $650 sufficed to render the building suitable to the needs 
of seventy-five children. The rectory at that time was also renovated 
at a cost of $800. 

While these improvements were under way and perhaps because of 
them the Catholics in and around Montrose were steadily increasing in 
numbers and the need for more accommodation began to be apparent. 
The subject of a new church was broached, but the people, many of whom 
were new arrivals to whom Henry County was as yet but a land ox prom- 
ise, were not inclined to assume new burdens and responsibilities. In 
1909 the pastor felt that the time was ripe to begin preparing for the 
greater things of the future. He established a sinking fund to which old 
and young made generous monthly contributions till at the end of three 
years the amount in the treasury was nearly $5,000. The congregation 
now numbered ninety-three families. 

In the autumn of 1911 plans and specifications having been made and 
approved, ground was broken for a new church. June 11 was to be a "red 
letter" day in the Catholic annals of Montrose. It was the day appointed 
for the laying of the cornerstone by Right Reverend Bishop Lillis of 
Kansas City. It was to have been a gala day. All was set for a big cele- 
bration but the weatherman tried to spoil everything by sending thunder 
and lightning and rain. But it would take more than the worst that the 
weatherman could do to dampen the ardor of those who had set them- 
selves to build a house to the Lord. The congregation turned out en 
masse and the cornerstone was laid. The new church, a masterpiece in 
Romanesque, was dedicated in the fall of that year. When completed it 
had cost $32,000. The beautiful high altar, the gift of the school chil- 
dren, cost $1,250. Only God knows the numberless acts of self-sacrifice 
and of self-denial that the little ones of His house made to present Him 
with their gift. 

The public school buildings of our American cities are, for the most 
part, the pride of the communities they serve. What is true of the best 
equipped public school in the State is true also of St. Mary's Parochial 
school of Montrose. It is built of brick and Carthage stone. The base- 
ment is fitted up as a gymnasium and play hall for the pupils in inclement 



432 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

weather. The first story is divided into four large class rooms, while 
the third story is divided into a large theater and rest rooms. The build- 
ing was erected at a cost of $17,000. There are in school 160 children 
taught by four Sisters of St. Benedict. The course of studies embraces 
the usual grade course to which will be added soon the high school and 
commercial courses. This school, like all similar Catholic institutions, 
is supported by the Catholic people of the parish, who do their full duty 
towards the public schools by paying their share of the public school taxes. 

At present a beautiful rectory is under process of construction at 
Montrose. It is the last item in the splendid parochial "plant" and when 
finished will be in harmony with the rest of the magnificent work done 
by the Rev. William Hovestadt. 

James B. Gillilan. — The Gillilan family is one of the oldest and most 
honored of the pioneer families of Henry County whose members have 
been active and influential in the civic affairs of this county for nearly 
sixty years. They are descended from old American stock whose ances- 
tors have been noted for their patriotism and each generation of this 
family have been pioneers in some undeveloped part of this country. 

The beginning of the family in America is traced to the Gillilans of 
North Carolina of whom James Gillilan, great-grandfather of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, was a member. He emmigrated from Ireland in 1750. 
This James Gillilan was a soldier of the Revolution and was a pioneer 
of Greenbrier County, West Virginia. The history of Greenbrier County 
states that he cut the first roadway up the Kanawha River Valley and 
drove the first wagon into Greenbrier County over one hundred years 
ago. James Gillilan was a native of the North Ireland country and was 
of Scotch-Irish descent, his forebears having emigrated from Scotland 
to the north of Ireland many, many years ago to escape religious per- 
secution. 

George Gillilan, grandfather of James B. Gillilan,, was born and reared 
in Greenbrier County, Virginia, and served in the War of 1812. His son. 
Judge James T. Gillilan, father of J. B. Gillilan, was born in 1829 and 
died May 9, 1877. He was born and reared in Greenbrier County, Vir- 
ginia, and migrated to Henry County in 1856. He purchased a tract of 
land in Bogard township which he developed into a splendid farm, became 
well-to-do and was prominently identified with Henry County affairs. 
During the Civil War the family removed to Davis County, Missouri, and 
remained in that county for three years, returning to the home in Henry 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 433 

County after conditions had returned to normal. Mr. Gillilan was elected 
to the office of county judge in 1874 and served one term as presiding 
judge of the County Court. He was married to Amanda E. McClung, 
who bore him children as follows: Harvey, died in youth; Mrs. Mary A. 
Wright, lives in California; James B., subject of this review; Amanda 
E., or "Bettie," wife of W. R. Menafee, resides in White Oak township; 
George William is deceased, and John Franklin is deceased. 

Mrs. Amanda E. (McClung) Gillilan was born in 1832 and departed 
this life in 1868. She was a daughter of Bollar McClung, a native of 
Scotland, whose mother was an English lady named Bollar. He married 
a woman of French descent whose ancestors came to America from France 
early in the eighteenth century. 

James B. Gillilan was born April 11, 1861, in Bogard township. He 
received his education in the Urich district school and has always been 
a farmer and stockman. He left home in 1884 and located in Davis 
County, Missouri, where he became owner of a farm of one hundred fifty 
acres, which was a part of the family estate in that county. In Febru- 
ary of 1902 he sold his holdings in Davis County and purchased land in 
Walker township, which he improved to a considerable extent. Fire de- 
stroyed his residence and some other buildings in 1907 and he has since 
rebuilt the residence and barns, the Gillilan home place now being one 
of the most attractive and best improved farms in the county. Mr. Gil- 
lilan is owner of five hundi'ed eighty-five acres of land, five hundred five 
acres of which are located in Henry County and eighty acres are situated 
just over the line in Bates County, Missouri. 

April 25, 1883, James B. Gillilan and Miss Mary A. Nelson were 
united in marriage and to this marriage have been born children as fol- 
low: James W., a successful farmer in White Oak township, married Iva 
Dale; Lee A., born February 12, 1888, died at Clinton, Missouri, May 2, 
1918, and who at the time of his death was serving as deputy county re- 
corder and was a candidate for the office of recorder, married Etta Gregg, 
left one child; Virgil P., a farmer in Walker township, married Orpha 
Hunt; Gilbert B., a farmer just over the line in Bates County, married 
Stella Horton; Mrs. Robina Gregg, whose husband is engaged in the hard- 
ware and implement business at Urich, Missouri; Mrs. Mamie Calvird, 
Davis township; three sons died in infancy. 

The mother of the foregoing children was bom in Christian County, 
Illinois, November 22, 1863, the daughter of William C. and Jane (Finney) 



434 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Nelson. The parents of W. C. Nelson were natives of Tennessee and were 
pioneers in Christian County, Illinois. W. C. Nelson and Jane Finney 
were married in 1860 and resided in south Missouri during the Civil War 
period. In 1863 they located in Sangamon County, Illinois, and then re- 
turned to Christian County in 1864, removing fi'om there to Henry County 
in 1879. Mr. Nelson made a permanent settlement on a farm in White 
Oak township three miles southeast of Urich. Their children were as 
follow: T. L. Nelson, was an attorney, deceased; John W., lives in Kansas; 
Mildred C, deceased; Maggie, died in youth, and Mrs. J. B. Gillilan. 

The Democratic party has always had the steadfast allegiance of Mr. 
Gillilan, who is a pronounced Bryan Democrat of the old school. He has 
served as member of the Walker township board of trustees. He and 
Mrs. Gillilan are members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Well 
informed upon most matters of general interest, intelligent, a constant 
reader, a true American citizen of the highest and best type, progressive 
to a considerable degree, James B. Gillilan is one of the leading citizens 
of Henry County who is universally respected and admired by all who 
know him. 

Dr. Richard B. Fewel, actively engaged in the practice of medicine 
at Montrose, Missouri, was born in Johnson County, Missouri, May 9, 
1857, a son of Richard Benjamin and Nancy Ann (Avery) Fewel. The 
father was born in Rockingham County, North Carolina, and the mother 
in Tennessee. Her father built the iirst house in Henry County that had 
glass windows, bringing the glass with him from Tennessee. The first 
County Court of Henry County was held at his home, and he was other- 
wise prominently connected with many pioneer incidents. Richard Ben- 
jamin Fewel was a stockman, dealing in fine horses, mules and cattle. 
He came to Missouri in the fall of 1839, settling in what is now Henry 
County, in company with his parents. Here he was reared and eventually 
became a land owner, engaging in business as a dealer in fine stock. He 
met with success in his undertaking and remained upon the home farm 
until his death, February 11, 1880. His wife passed away some years 
later in Johnson County. 

Doctor Fewel was the fourth in a family of nine children. He began 
his education in the public school near his old home and in 1870 was a 
student at Sylvan and through the succeeding two years attended school 
at Center Point Academy. He next entered Gem City Business College 
at Quincy, Illinois, from which he was graduated June 27, 1877. He de- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 435 

termined to make the practice of medicine his life work and with that 
end in view began reading medicine in 1878 at Shawnee Mound, Missouri. 
He was in business at that time as a member of the firm of C. 0. Fewel 
and Brother. He afterward attended the St. Louis College of Medicine 
and was graduated March 3, 1881. He later attended the Chicago School 
of Higher Arts and Sciences, completing his course in 1893, and he took 
post-graduate work in the Chicago Polyclinic in 1901, completing his 
course on June 21. Throughout his professional career he has continued 
a student in the science of medicine and has thus constantly benefited 
his knowledge and promoted his efficiency. 

In early life, however, before he was able to take up the study of 
medicine. Doctor Fewel taught school. He was then about nineteen or 
twenty years of age. He afterwards engaged in merchandising at Shaw- 
nee Mound for about three years, but sold out in 1880 in order that he 
might continue his studies. He began practicing at La Due, where he 
continued for a year, and in 1882 came to Montrose, where he has since 
followed his profession. He now devotes practically his entire time to 
his practice, which is large and growing. Besides, he is the owner of a 
fine farm of 160 acres in Henry County, to which he gives general super- 
vision. In his practice he specializes to some extent in the diseases of 
women and children. 

September 22, 1881, Doctor Fewel was married to Miss Rosa Frances 
Vickars, who was born on the old home now owned by her. She is a 
daughter of Henry Clay and Elizabeth (Roberts) Vickars. Her father, 
a native of Kentucky, went to Virginia in early life and was there reared. 
The mother was born near Charleston, West Virginia, where she was 
married and removed from Virginia to St. Louis. Mr. Vickars engaged 
in farming near St. Louis for a number of years, but afterwards came to 
Henry County, where he carried on general agricultural pursuits until 
his death. In early life he was a merchant in Virginia. Both he and 
his wife are deceased. 

Doctor Fewel votes with the Democratic party and keeps well in- 
formed on the questions and issues of the day. He is a member of the 
Masonic Lodge and belongs also to the Modern Woodmen Camp and he 
and his wife are members of the Eastern Star. Professionally he has 
membership in the County Medical Society, the Medical Society of South- 
west Missouri, the State Medical Association and the Amei'ican Medical 
Association. Doctor Fewel had the first telephone line in Montrose run- 



436 HENEY COUNTY HISTORY 

ning from his drug store to his residence, over a quarter of a mile, put 
up by George Paxton in 1884. 

He was appointed a member of the Henry County Council of National 
Defense and received his commission from Governor Gardner in June, 
1917. He was elected vice-chairman of County Council at its second meet- 
ing. Also was appointed and served as deputy county food administrator 
for Henry County. 

Doctor Fewel has ever been an earnest and discriminating student 
of the science of medicine and is very conscientious and capable in the 
discharge of his duties. His ability has increased with the passing years 
and both his colleagues and the public pay high tribute to his professional 
service and to his fidelity to the highest standards of his profession. 

Edward F. Rock, buyer and salesman of the grocery department of 
the Kahn Commercial Company of Montrose, Missouri, was born in Frank- 
lin County, Missouri, May 1, 1880. He is the son of Fred and Rosina 
(Bauer) Rock, natives of Switzerland. Both parents of Edward F. Rock 
came from their native land to America when young with their respective 
parents. They were reared to maturity in Illinois and were maiTied at 
Herman, Missouri. He removed to a farm in Montgomery County, Mis- 
souri, in 1887, where he died in 1915 at the age of sixty-seven years. 
Mrs. Rosina Rock was born in 1845 and still resides upon the fann in 
Montgomery County. They were parents of eleven children, six of whom 
are living: Edward F., Victor, Walter and Rosina, at Big Springs, Mont- 
gomery County, Missouri; Herbert, McKittrick, Missouri; Henry Rock, 
a farmer in Davis township, Henry County. 

Edward F. Rock was educated in the public schools and the college 
at Warrenton, Missouri. After completing a business course at War- 
renton, he was employed in a store at McKittrick, Missouri, until 
his removal to Montrose, in 1908. He became a member of the firm upon 
its organization in 1909 and is now of the grocery department of this 
large establishment. 

February 3, 1911, Edward F. Rock and Miss Nell Faulk of Montrose, 
Missouri, were united in marriage. This marriage has been blessed with 
a son, Edward F., Jr., aged three years. Mrs. Nell Rock is a daughter 
of Samuel Faulk. 

Mr. Rock is a Democrat and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He is a good, thorough business man who has made good in 
his chosen vocation and his place among the leading citizens of Montrose 
is established as one of the leaders of the community. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 437 

Anton Bartels, proprietor of a splendid farm of 322 acres located 
in the Germantown neighborhood in the northwest part of Deepwater 
township, was born in 1861 in a log cabin which stood on the farm which 
he now owns. He is the son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Kleine) Bartels, 
both of whom were born in Germany. Joseph Bartels made a settlement 
in Henry County as early as 1853, or thereabout, and departed this life 
in 1869. After the death of his parents, Anton Bartels lived with the 
neighbors and friends and worked out by the day at whatever he could 
get to do and earn an honest dollar. For over thirty years he was em- 
ployed in Kansas City and returned to the old home farm in 1912. For 
sixteen years he served as baggageman in the union depot at Kansas City 
and for ten years he was in the employ of the William Voelker Whole- 
sale Company of Kansas City. During the thirty years spent in steady, 
constant employment, he saved his money and invested it in the old home 
place of his father in Deepwater township and additional land. In 1912 
he returned to his birthplace and is contented to live the life of an agri- 
culturist and stockman, independent of the time clocks and the bosses for 
the rest of his natural life. 

Mr. Bartels was married July 16, 1912, to Miss Geraldine Black, an 
orphan girl, who was born May 9, 1892, and came to Missouri when three 
years of age, living first at Montrose and later at Germantown. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bartels have one child: Virgil Anton, born December 6, 1917. 

Mr. Bartels is an independent voter who is not held by the party 
fetish worship idea. He thinks and acts for himself and votes accord- 
ingly. He and Mrs. Bartels are members of the Catholic Church. 

August Engeman, a successful farmer and stockman of the German- 
town settlement and owner of 1871/2 acres of good farm lands, was born 
in Hickory Grove township, Warren County, Missouri, a son of Henry 
Engeman, who emigrated from England to America in the thirties. Henry 
Engeman was a native of Germany and in his younger days was em- 
ployed in a sugar refinery at London, England, prior to his immigration 
to America. His wife was Mary Fisher, who bore him the following 
children: August, the subject of this review; Mrs. Dena Dansenbrink, 
Montrose, Missouri; Henry Engeman, Jr., of Warren County; Charles 
Engeman, Montrose, Missouri; Lena, Montrose, Missouri; Lizzie Enge- 
man, a Sister in Ohio, and John Engeman, Montrose, Missouri. In 1871 
Henry Engeman came to Henry County, where he remained until he re- 
tired to a home at Appleton City, where his death occurred. 



438 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

For a good many years August Engeman supported his parents and 
helped the family with his earnings. He began life with the handicap 
of poverty and the additional burden of having to support his parents. 
For four years he was employed on the irrigation ranches in Humboldt 
County, Nevada, and during that time he sent regular remittances to 
the home folks. During one season when he was in Nevada he took his 
mother with him and she remained there one year. Even after his re- 
turn from Nevada he still cared for his parents. His first purchase of 
194 acres of land was made in 1879, near Appleton City, Missouri. In 
1897 he made his first purchase of land in the Germantown locality, and 
has been adding to his acreage continuously until he now owns 189 V2 
acres in different tracts. Mr. Engeman paid good prices for his land and 
has managed to accumulate his acreage by the exercise of hard work, 
industry and economy of the strictest character. In 1900 he erected a 
comfortable and imposing brick residence of eight rooms. 

Ml'. Engeman was married in 1884 to Miss Lizzie Meyer, who was 
born in Franklin County, Missouri. To this marriage have been born 
eight children : Mary resides with an aunt in Franklin County, Missouri ; 
Joseph, at home assisting his father in the farm work; Annie, died at 
the age of three years ; Regina, a Sister in Perry County, Missouri ; August, 
Jr., Louise, Rose, Henry and Anthony at home with their parents. 

Mr. Engeman is an independent in political matters and votes for 
the individual rather than supporting the man who bears a party label. 
He and all of his family are members of the Germantown Catholic Church. 

John J. Cook. — One of the oldest living pioneers of Henry County is 
John J. Cook of Germantown, who enjoys the distinction of not only 
having resided in this county for a period of over fifty-seven years, but 
also served in the Union Army during the Civil War. For years Mr. 
Cook was the well known merchant of Germantown and became widely 
knovm throughout Henry County as a shrewd business man and an in- 
telligent and enterprising citizen. He is now living in peaceful retirement 
at his home in Germantown. 

John J. Cook was bom in Germany February 23, 1844, the son of 
John and Frances (Koch) Cook, who immigrated to America in 1851. 
John Koch was twice married, his first wife, Catherine, dying in 1848, 
and he then married Frances, his second wife. When he came to America 
he located in Henry County upon a farm situated just one-half mile west 
of Germantown, where his death occurred in June, 1877. There were 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 439 

four children by his first marriage, of whom John J. Cook, subject of this 
review, is the only survivor. Two children out of three born of the sec- 
ond marriage are living: Henry, deceased; Joseph, a farmer in Walker 
township; Anna, widow of William Rotert, resides in Nebraska. 

On February 23, 1863, John J. Cook enlisted for service in the Civil 
War in Company H, 7th Missouri Cavalry, under Captain Box and Gen- 
eral Brown. He served until his honorable discharge, April 20, 1865. He 
enlisted at Greenfield, Missouri, and from that point went to Linden, in 
southeast Missouri, thence to Marshfield, always fighting the bush- 
whackers who infested the State during that troublesome period. It was 
the duty of his division to give protection to the loyal citizens of the 
territory assigned them for patrol. His next station was at Warsaw, 
then to Tipton, Missouri, thence to Warrensburg, Missouri, and from there 
he went to St. Louis, where he was mustered out of the service. His 
brother, Anton Cook, was shot three times while serving with the Union 
forces at the battle of Lone Jack. 

After his return from the war Mr. Cook tilled his father's place for 
three years, then after his marriage he purchased a farm of eighty acres 
near Montrose which he tilled for five years, eventually trading this farm 
for another tract, which he owned and farmed for twelve years. He then 
rented his farm and came to Germantown, where he engaged in the mer- 
cantile business for twenty-five years. Mr. Cook has done well. He has 
accumulated a comfortable competence, reared a splendid family and can 
now live in peace for the remainder of his days. He retired from active 
business in 1911, but is still kept busily engaged in raising vegetables 
on his tract of four acres, which, as Mrs. Cook says, "the plot just fur- 
nishes enough vegetables to feed the children when they come to visit 
the old folks on Sundays and holidays." 

On May 19, 1867, John J. Cook and Elizabeth Schmedding were united 
in marriage. Mrs. Elizabeth Cook was bom in Deepwater township April 
16, 1869, and is the daughter of Bernard and Mary Schmedding, natives 
of Germany who came to America in 1830 and were among the very first 
settlers of the Germantown neighborhood, Bernard Schmedding locating 
near the site of the village as early as 1834. Seven children have been 
born to John J. and Elizabeth Cook, as follow: Mrs. May Cook, Montrose, 
Missouri, mother of six children; Mrs. Minnie Bettels, Deepwater town- 
ship, mother of seven children; John F., a clothing merchant in Mon- 
tana, has one child; Mrs. Kate Kirsch, lives in Texas and has two chil- 



440 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

dren; Mrs. Emma Fick, Deepwater township, has six children; George 
A., with Armour & Company, in Texas, father of two children; Andrew 
B., a farm owner in Deepwater township, married Anna Cook and has 
two children. Mr. and Mi's. Cook have five great-grandchildren. On 
May 21, 1918, Mr. and Mrs. Cook celebrated their golden wedding anni- 
versary with their children and grandchildren. 

Depsite his age Mr. Cook is still active and strong, and takes a keen 
interest in life. He and Mrs. Cook are a jolly, contented and happy 
couple who keep themselves well informed on what is going on during 
these interesting days. Mr. Cook is one of the finest gardeners in the 
State of Missouri and is proud of his accomplishments in this respect. He 
is a Republican and served sixteen years as postmaster of Germantown. 
He served for two years as justice of the peace and is a notary public. 
He and Mrs. Cook are good Catholics, and he is affiliated with the Grand 
Army of the Republic. 

William Doll. — In the north central part of Walker township is a 
group of some of the prettiest farms in western Missouri in which the 
owners take a just and abiding pride in constantly improving and making 
more beautiful. The farm home of William Doll furnishes a striking ex- 
ample of what can be done upon a tract of Missouri prairie land, and 
the tract of one hundred sixty acres is undeniably one of the finest im- 
proved farms in the western part of Missouri. A pretty cottage home 
faces a well kept roadway, the home being fronted by a beautiful lawn 
ornamented with large shade trees, and a handsome wrought iron fence. 
All of the farm buildings are kept in first class condition and well painted. 
Mr. Doll has another farm of one hundred sixty acres in White Oak 
township. 

William Doll was born in 1864 in Edgar County, Illinois, and is the 
son of John and Mary (Wisner) Doll, natives of Germany, who first set- 
tled in Ohio after emigrating to America. They next made settlement in 
Illinois and from that State came to Henry County, Missouri, in 1867. 
The Doll family can justly lay claim to being one of the pioneer families 
of this county. The elder Doll settled in White Oak township and resided 
on his farm in that township until his death in 1907. The widowed mother 
still resides at White Oak having arrived at the great age of eighty-one 
years, her birth having been April 1, 1837. Mrs. Doll came to America 
aboard a sailing vessel. She boarded a ship at London on March 19, 1857, 
and the ship "Victoria" required forty-nine days to make the journey to 




WILIJAM DOLL. WIFE AND DAVCJHTEU 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 441 

New York. John Doll, the father, was born in Baden, Germany, No- 
vember 17, 1831, and died September 2, 1907. He was married on Feb- 
ruary 14, 1858, to Mary Wisner. He removed from Ohio to Illinois in 
1862 and thence to Missouri in 1867. To John and Mary (Wisner) Doll 
were born five children: William, subject of this review; John, Walker 
township; Jacob, a successful farmer of White Oak township; EfRe and 
Lizzie, the former of whom is at home with her mother and the latter is 
in Kansas City, Missouri. 

William Doll was married in 1896 to Miss Elizabeth Barth, who has 
borne him three children : Anna Mabel, born June 26, 1908 ; Florence May, 
died at the age of nine years, eleven months and nineteen days ; one child 
died in infancy. Mrs. Lizzie (Barth) Doll was born in 1872 in White 
Oak township, and is a daughter of John and Mary (Lebold) Barth, who 
were among the best known of the substantial pioneer citizens of Henry 
County. 

John Barth was born in Wurtemburg, Germany, January 10, 1838, 
and died near Lucas, Missouri, June 6, 1917. He was married September 
21, 1862, to Maria Lebold, who was born in Bolivar, Ohio, and died Janu- 
ary 12, 1874. This marriage was blessed with five children, as follow: 
John W., Dora Gretzinger, Mrs. Helen Doll, Mrs. Lizzie Doll, and Jacob 
S. Barth. On November 4, 1875, Mr. Barth was married to Sophia Rom- 
bold, who died May 27, 1911. She bore him ten children, nine of whom 
are living: Albert H., Maggie, deceased; Mrs. Clara Sevier, Josie, George, 
Tressie, Mrs. Ida Henny, Robert, Walter, David. John Barth immigrated 
to America in 1852 and located in Tuscarawas County, Ohio. From there 
he came to Missouri in the spring of 1868 and settled in White Oak town- 
ship. During the course of years in active farming operations in Henry 
County he accumulated a large estate valued at over $100,000. He be- 
came owner of 2,280 acres of land which he divided among his children 
as they became of age and desired to make homes of their own. He was 
president of the Farmers Bank of Urich and was universally respected 
and admired as one of the county's most sterling, upright and successful 
citizens. He was a member of the Lutheran Church and his life was so 
lived that the example he set of industry and right living will forever 
serve as an inspiration and guide to his descendants. 

Upon his marriage William Doll settled upon a one hundred sixty 
acre farm which was given to Mi\ and Mrs. Doll by the late John Barth. 
This farm they have successfully built up and have added another tract 
of one hundred sixty acres to their holdings in this county. 



442 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Mr. and Mrs. Doll are members of the Lucas Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Mr. Doll is inclined to the Republican view of things political, 
while Mrs. Doll is a pronounced adherent of Democratic principles. They 
are kindly and hospitable people who are progressive and enterprising 
in their views and stand high among the citizenship of Henry County. 

John Witzel. — The two greatest fishermen in the southern part of 
Henry County are John Witzel and his long time friend, Joseph H. Wil- 
son. These two old settlers have spent many happy days in fishing for 
the finny denizens which are plentiful in the Deepwater River and even 
now, when age has come upon them, they love to take hook and line and 
spend a long summer day in angling for the watei'y denizens. In the early 
days Mr. Witzel also liked to hunt and remembers shooting a deer while 
working in a field. Despite the fact that the deer got away he is prac- 
tically certain that he shot the animal, which was afterwards chased by 
dogs and fell dead in a neighbor's yard. 

John Witzel of Germantown was born in Prussia, Germany, in 1835, 
and is the son of Martin and Mary Elizabeth Witzel, both of whom died 
in Germany. John Witzel emigrated from his native country to America 
in June, 1866, and arrived at St. Louis when the cholera epidemic was 
raging in that city. He labored in that city for day wages until 1869 
and then came to Henry County, where he rented a farm situated three 
miles southwest of Germantown. He purchased his home farm in 1881 
and the place has been beautified until it is one of the pretty farmsteads 
in the county. For some yeai-s he and his son-in-law, Mr. Cook, farmed 
the place together and during that time many improvements were made 
of a substantial nature. Mr. Witzel is owner of seventy-seven acres of 
land. 

On June 2, 1868, John Witzel and Elizabeth Kloer were united in 
marriage. Mrs. Elizabeth Witzel was bom March 7, 1848, in Germany, 
the daughter of Theodore Kloer, who immigrated to America in 1852. 
Both of Mrs. Witzel's parents died when she was but a child at their 
home near Cape Girardeau, Missouri. To John and Elizabeth Witzel were 
born children as follow: Frances, wife of J. H. Puthoff, Deepwater town- 
ship; Mary, wife of August Schepers, a farmer near Montrose, who has 
three children : Joseph, Lizzie and Anton ; Josephine, wife of Henry Cook, 
who died at the Witzel home February 14, 1915. Mrs. Frances Puthoff 
has five children: Norbit, Clements, Lizzie, Agnes and Josephine. On 
June 2, 1918, Mr. and Mrs. Cook celebrated their golden wedding ani- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 443 

versai-y at their home near Germantown. Over forty people were in at- 
tendance. 

Mr. Witzel is an independent Democrat and he and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Germantown Catholic Church. He is one of the best respected 
and highly esteemed old settlers of this section of Henry County. 

M. B. Witherspoon, cashier of the Bank of Deepwater, Henry County, 
Missouri, is a son of one of the oldest pioneer families in this section of 
Missouri. He was born near Gaines, Missouri, July 13, 1868, and is the 
son of H. B. and Amanda (Levy) Witherspoon, the former a native of 
Kentucky and the latter of Illinois. H. B. Witherspoon was a son of one 
of the first pioneers of this county who settled east of Deepwater as 
early as 1840. 

H. B. Witherspoon was born in Kentucky in 1835 and died in 1914. 
He was a son of Isaac Witherspoon. Mr. Witherspoon followed farming 
during his entire life and died at Brownington, Missouri. His wife and 
mother of M. B. Witherspoon died in March, 1917. H. B. Witherspoon 
was twice married, there being two children by his first marriage: Mrs. 
J. N. Dunnin, a widow living in Deepwater, and Mrs. M. T. Beelor, Clinton, 
Missouri. There were four children born to the second marriage: M. B., 
subject of this review; B. H., Troy Mills, Iowa; R. L., died at Browning- 
ton in 1915, and Mrs. E. M. Beelor, living in Oregon. 

M. B. Witherspoon was educated in the district school and attended 
Lamkin's Academy at Clinton. For a number of years he was engaged 
in the mercantile business at Brownington, Missouri, and came to Deep- 
water in 1905 and one year later (1906) he became cashier of the Bank 
of Deepwater. 

Mr. Witherspoon was married in 1893 to Miss Lena L. Taylor, a 
daughter of Dr. M. B. Taylor of Brownington, Missouri. He is a Demo- 
crat and he and Mrs. Witherspoon are members of the Christian Church. 
Mr. Witherspoon is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 
and other fraternal societies. 

The Bank of Deepwater was organized as a State banking institu- 
tion on February 13, 1889. The principal organizers were W. F. White, 
C. N. White, J. H. Yentzer, Matthias Hageman and Isaac Shaffner. J. H. 
Yentzer was chosen president and served for a number of years, until 
his death in February, 1905. M. B. Witherspoon succeeded J. C. Smith 
as cashier in 1905. Mr. Smith is now in Okmulgee, Oklahoma. J. C. 
Yentzer was succeeded by Robert Terrill as president. Mr. Terrill was 



444 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

succeeded by Wesley Griffin, who was followed by J. M. Marmaduke, who 
in turn was succeeded by Jacob Rhoads, the present incumbent of the 
office, who is a substantial man of affairs. 

The Bank of Deepwater is in a very prosperous condition. This bank 
has a capitalization of $10,000 ; a surplus of $10,000 ; undivided profits of 
$9,000, and deposits exceeding $145,000. The present officers are Jacob 
Rhoads, president; Fred C. Hill, vice-president; M. B. Witherspoon, cash- 
ier; F. A. Houston, assistant cashier. The directoi's are: Jacob Rhoads, 
Fred C. Hill, George S. Hovey, F. A. Huston, M. B. Witherspoon and L. 
L. Shaffer. 

James F. Flecker. — In every county are individuals who have been 
able to accomplish more than ordinary success. Whether it is because 
of exceptional ability or the power to take advantage of opportunities 
which present themselves is a moted question. If one were to ask the 
most successful men of Henry County as to the reason for their suc- 
cesses in the agricultural field of endeavor, we are of the opinion that 
the answer would be the same as that given by James F. Flecker, retired 
farmer and stockman of Deepwater and one of the largest land owners of 
Henry County, "Hard work, keeping everlastingly at it, raise lots of live 
stock, buy land and make the land help pay for itself." It is practically 
the truth of the matter and the only agriculturist who achieves more 
than an ordinary success is the fellow who is not afraid to woi'k, com- 
bined with good business management in order to make good. 

James F. Flecker was born in Augusta County, Virginia, August 29, 
1843, and is the son of John W. (born 1819, died 1877) and Eliza (Craum) 
Flecker (born 1820, died 1887). Mr. Plecker's parents were both natives 
of Virginia. They emigrated to Missouri and arrived in Henry County 
March 20, 1866, and until his death John W. Flecker was engaged in 
farming pursuits. He first settled upon 160 acres of land east and south- 
east of the Moyer place, where he lived for two years, and in 1868 moved 
to a tract of prairie land four and a half miles southwest of Deepwater, 
near the Fleasant Valley district school, and improved the land. 

To John W. and Ann Eliza Flecker were born eight children: A. H. 
Flecker, an artist, Lynchburg, Virginia, an ex-Confederate soldier, aged 
seventy-eight years; James F., of this review; Mrs. Margaret Ann Moyer, 
Clinton township; Mrs. Mary Fomeroy, a widow, living at Kokomo, Colo- 
rado; Mrs. Augusta Virginia, wife of Jacob Rhoads, Deepwater; David 
Brown, Nowata, Oklahoma; Edward Jackson, Minot, South Dakota. 

James F. Flecker enlisted in Company H, Valley Rangers, Confed- 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 445 

arte Army, in 1862 and served for the Southern cause for three years 
under Gen. William H. Lee, in the 10th Virginia Cavalry under Captain 
Newham. He took an active part in many battles and fikirmishes, among 
them being the great Battles of Gettysburg and Cold Harbor, and dur- 
ing a greater part of his time he was on skirmish and picket duty with 
cavalry detachments. 

After the close of the war he returned home and began farming on 
forty acres of prairie land in 1868. From this small beginning, fifty 
years ago, he has become owner of 1,000 acres of land m Henry County. 
Seven hundred acres of this land is rented and he and his sons are farm- 
ing the remainder. Mr. Flecker is also owner of 720 acres of land near 
Mt. Zion in St. Clair County, Missouri. He has some land in Texas. He 
has always been an extensive feeder of live stock and his success can 
be attributed to the fact that for years he has kept large herds of cattle 
and hogs on his farms. Mr. Flecker left the farm in 1913 and now makes 
his home in Deepwater, but continues to visit the farm daily and take a 
considerable part in the farming operations. In 1910 he located in New 
Mexico and farmed there for a few years but found that old Missouri 
was the best place after all, and he returned here in 1915. 

Mr. Flecker was married in 1876 to Miss Millie A. Whitford, who 
was born in Moultrie County, Illinois, on January 9, 1859, and is the 
daughter of George W., a native of Illinois, and Henrietta (Hedrick) 
Whitford, a native of Kentucky. Henrietta Hedrick Whitford was born 
July 30, 1839, and was a daughter of John and Eliza (Fletcher) Hedrick, 
who removed to Illinois from Kentucky in 1839. George W. Whitford 
was born in 1834 and died October 12, 1903. Three children were reared 
out of seven born to Mr. and Mrs. George W. Whitford: Mrs. James F. 
Flecker; William Alonzo, Nowata, Oklahoma, and George Franklin, Great 
Falls, Montana. The Whitfords came to Missouri in the fall of 1868 and 
settled in the Fleasant Valley neighborhood. After some years they 
went to Colorado, thence to Oklahoma and from there to Arkansas, where 
Mr. Whitford died. 

James F. and Millie A. Flecker have reared a large family of nine 
children: Ida May, Etta May, Roberta Mendora, Olive Frances, Naomi 
Alvira, Estella, Bessie Virginia, George Washington, Archie Lee. Ida 
May married William Cannon, resides near Windsor, Missouri and has 
one son, Orville. Etta May married Will Craig and lives in Kansas City, 
is mother of three children: Imogene, Marjorie and Roy Lee. Roberta 
Medora is the wife of William Bradley, Kansas City, and has seven chil- 



446 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

dren: Jewel Fern, Ernestine, Glenn, Helen, Wilma, Joseph, Eugene and 
Mark. Olive Frances married Harvey Sw^itser, Lawrence, Kansas, and is 
mother of a son, James David. Naomi, wife of James Eames, Denver, 
Colorado, has a daughter, Virginia Louise. Bessie Virginia, wife of Clyde 
Jackson, Denver, Colorado, has a son, William Benton. Estella is keep- 
ing house for her brothers on the home farm. George Washington Flecker 
is a farmer on the home place, married Maggie Huffman of Artesia, New 
Mexico. Archie Lee is on the home place. Mr. and Mrs. Flecker have 
fourteen grandchildren and up to a few years ago there were five genera- 
tions of the family living on Mrs. Flecker's side and including her chil- 
dren and grandchildren. 

The Democratic party has always had the allegiance of Mr. Flecker 
but he has never devoted much time to political matters. He and Mrs. 
Flecker and all of the family excepting one are members of the Christian 
Church and they are hospitable, jolly and kindly people who are highly 
respected and esteemed in Henry County. 

Woodson A. Hastain. — The Hastain family is one of the oldest if 
not the oldest pioneer family living in Henry County at the present time. 
It is one of the old, honorable and well established families of the county, 
members of which have always taken a prominent and influential part 
in Henry County affairs. The late Woodson A. Hastain of Clinton was 
a worthy representative of this fine old family and left a record behind 
him of which his family and descendants can well be proud. 

Woodson A. Hastain was born October 8, 1835, and departed this life 
February 18, 1914. He was born at old Tebo, five miles north of Calhoun, 
Henry County, and he was a son of Daniel McCumskey and Anna (Green) 
Hastain. Daniel McC. Hastain was born in White County, Tennessee, 
and came to Henry County in the early twenties, being among the very 
first pioneers of this county. He died here during the early seventies. 
Anna (Green) Hastain was born December 15, 1815, and died April 13, 
1839. She was a daughter of Reverend John and Rachel (Mackey) Green. 
The Rev. John Green was born in North Carolina and died in Tennessee. 
He was the son of Jarvis and Sarah (Griggs) Green. The former was 
a private under Capt. Robert Forter, North Carolina, and enlisted in the 
Army of Independence for service in the American Revolution in 1777. 
He was killed in a battle with the Indians some time later. Daniel Mc- 
Cumskey Hastain was the son of David, who was born in 1772, and Mar- 
garet M. (Roddy) Hastain, born September 23, 1775, natives of Virginia 
who were in the vanguard of the early settlers of Tennessee. It will 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 447 

thus be seen that the Hastains are of the purest and oldest American 
stock of undoubted colonial ancestry of English origin. 

Daniel McC. Hastain had children as follows: James Preston and 
John Green, deceased; Montgomery died in California; Mary Ann, wife 
of Abner Dice; Woodson A., subject of this review. All were reared in 
Henry County. Daniel McC. Hastain was twice married, his second wife 
being Martha Jane Wade, who bore him children as follow: Thomas Jef- 
ferson, died near Calhoun,, Missouri; Minerva Jane, Almira Elizabeth, 
deceased; Susan Melvina (Pigg) Ruhl, Denver, Colorado; Purlina Jack- 
son, deceased; Mrs. Sarah Frances Schirk, died in Sedalia; Joseph Co- 
lumbus, deceased; Mrs. Jennie L. Reese, Los Angeles, California; Pleas- 
ant Dawson, deceased. 

When W. A. Hastain attained young manhood he was married, March 
28, 1865, to Miss Sarah Jane Walker, who was born June 22, 1847, on a 
farm ten miles north of Clinton. She is the daughter of Pleasant (born 
1796, died 1879) and Missouri Adeline (Lindsey) Walker (born 1816, 
died 1855). Pleasant Walker was born and reared in Kentucky and came 
to Henry County, Missouri, with George Wilcox Walker and made settle- 
ment in the northern part of Henry County in 1832. Pleasant Walker 
and George Wilcox Walker were brothers and partners during their en- 
tire lives. Mrs. Missouri Adeline Walker was a native of North Carolina. 
By a former marriage Pleasant Walker had a daughter, Mrs. Sarepta 
Avery, who died in 1917. The children of Pleasant and Missouri Adeline 
Walker were as follow: Mrs. Bethia or Bertha Middagh, deceased; Harriet 
Ann, died in childhood ; Mrs. Sarah Jane Hastain ; Mrs. Mary Doyle, Kan- 
sas City, Missouri; Almira, died at the age of ten years. Taylor Lindsay 
died in Henry County, and Mrs. Emily Glasgow, deceased. 

After their marriage W. A. and Sarah Jane Hastain settled upon a 
tract of partly improved prairie land in Henry County, just south of the 
town of Leeton, and there made their first home and improved a splendid 
farm of 300 acres. They resided upon this farm until 1870, and then 
moved to a fine farm of 400 acres situated five miles east of Clinton. At 
first they bought an eighty acre tract which formed the nucleus around 
which they built up a large 400 acre farm. They erected a comfortable 
residence and good farm buildings and beautified the premises with shade 
trees and shrubbery, which in the course of years made a beautiful 
country home. Mr. Hastain was an extensive stockman who was a large 
feeder and grower of live stock and accumulated a comfortable compe- 
tence in this manner. He took a considerable interest in affairs outside 



448 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

of his agricultural interests, and for twenty years he served as vice- 
president of the Citizens Bank of Clinton. Mr. and Mrs. Hastain moved 
to Clinton in 1905, but after four years' residence in the city they again 
moved to the country, this time locating upon a place one mile east of 
the city, where Mr. Hastain died. 

To Woodson A. and Sarah Jane Hastain were born a family of thir- 
teen children: William T., a farmer living in the northern part of Henry 
County; Mrs. Anna Adeline Hoist, Los Angeles, California; Pleasant 
Walker, died at the age of two years; Emma Lena, wife of Thomas Wil- 
son, Osceola, Missouri; Bertha May, widow of Joseph McCuan, Colorado 
Springs, Colorado ; Jennie Lind, died in infancy ; Sarepta, lives in Boston, 
Massachusetts; George Woodson, Searcy, Arkansas; Mrs. Sarah Frances 
Ellett, Tulsa, Oklahoma ; Sarah Frances had a twin who is deceased ; Mrs. 
Marie Farnham, Tulsa, Oklahoma; Maggie Ella, died in infancy; Maude 
Glasgow, wife of E. H. Cornick, assistant manager of the Larrabee Mills, 
Clinton, Missouri, makes her home with Mrs. Hastain. Each of the chil- 
dren received a high school education and several of them received a 
collegiate training at Baird College. It is also a matter worthy of re- 
cording that in 1858 Mr. Hastain, with others, drove a large herd of cattle 
across country to the Pacific Coast and engaged in milling on the coast 
for some time. The Hastains were married in Saline County, Missouri, 
and resided in Johnson County, Missouri, from 1865 to 1870. 

Mr. Hastain was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 
as is Mrs. Hastain. He was a Democrat but took little or no active part 
in political matters, being devoted to his home and family. All of the 
daughters of the family are members of the Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. 

Richard B. Wilson. — The Wilson family is one of the oldest and one 
of the most honored families in Henry County and dates their beginning 
with the history of Henry County as early as 1841. The striking char- 
acteristics of this family as a whole is the spirit of co-operation which 
has manifested itself during all these years among the various members 
of the family and which has brought prosperity in no small degree to 
the members of the family. Richard B. Wilson, better known as "Dick" 
Wilson, postmaster of Montrose, is a worthy descendant of excellent 
ancestry who has made a success of his life's work. 

R. B. Wilson was born in Deepwater township April 9, 1854, and is 
the son of James R. and Susan (Everett) Wilson, natives of Kentucky 




WILLIAM W. WILSON 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 449 

and Virginia, respectively. James R. Wilson was bom November 26, 
1803, and died June 7, 1898. He was a son of James Wilson, a native of 
North Ireland who was of Scotch descent. He was one of the early 
pioneers of the state of Kentucky. James R. Wilson came to Henry 
County, Missouri, in 1841 and first settled in Bear Creek township, later 
entering free Government land in Deepwater township. To his first 
tract he added a considerable acreage which he purchased from the Gov- 
ernment, improved his farm and resided thereon until his death. Susan 
(Everett) Wilson, his wife, was a daughter of John Everett, a native of 
Virginia. John Everett was a soldier of the Revolution and belonged 
to a prominent Virginia family. James R. and Susan Wilson reared a 
family of seven children: John M. Wilson, a miner in the West and in 
Califoniia and who died at El Paso, Texas ; Mary Everett, widow of Rev. 
James H. Houx, former noted minister of Warrensburg, Missouri ; Joseph 
H., of Deepwater township, a sketch of whom appears in this volume; 
Edwin Wilson, removed to Texas after the close of the Civil War, and 
died in Austin; Susan Elizabeth, residing on the old home place of the 
Wilson family; William W., born December 26, 1851, Montrose, Missouri, 
residing with R. B. Wilson; Richard B., subject of this sketch. 

During the Civil War the Wilson home was a place of refuge for 
Bates County people who were forced to abandon their homes. During 
part of this period the Wilsons lived in Johnson County, returning to 
their home after peace was declared. Mr. Wilson received such educa- 
tion as was afforded by the district and private schools of his day and 
took up the life of a farmer. He is owner of a splendidly improved farm 
of 160 acres in Deepwater township and also owns another farm of 120 
acres in Bear Creek township. He resided on his farm until 1913, at 
which time he came to Montrose, although his family are still living 
upon the home place, Mr. Wilson's position as postmaster requiring that 
he live in Montrose. 

December 22, 1892, Richard B. Wilson and Marion Vickers were 
united in marriage. Mrs. Marion Wilson was born in Bear Creek town- 
ship, a daughter of William H. Vickers, a pioneer of Henry County and 
whose people were old neighbors of the Wilsons in Virginia. To this 
marriage were bom three children: Edwin Vickers Wilson, who is tilling 
the home farm in Deepwater township; Katherine Frances and James 
Ramsey, at home. 

The Democratic party has always had the steadfast allegiance of 



450 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Mr. Wilson. He received the appointment of postmaster at Montrose in 
1913 and assumed the duties of his position in July, 1913. Mr. Wilson's 
conduct of the affairs of the office have been such as to commend him to 
the many patrons of the office. He is a member of the Methodist Church 
South, and is affiliated with the Woodmen of the World Lodge of Montrose. 

William H. Vickars was one of the earliest of the pioneer settlers 
of Henry County who was reared in this county and spent practically 
his entire life here. He was born in Kanawha County, Virginia, Decem- 
ber 25, 1842 and departed this life in Montrose, August 17, 1911. He 
was the son of Stephen Decatur Vickers, who was born in Maysville, 
Kentucky, in 1813, and died in Henry County, 1895. Stephen Decatur 
Vickars was the son of James Vickars of Virginia, who was a native 
of North Ireland and was descended from Scotch Presbyterian stock. 
When James Vickars immigrated to America, he first settled in Virginia 
and from that State went to Maysville, Kentucky, about the same period 
that the Wilsons settled in that vicinity. From Maysville, Kenucky, he 
went to the Kanawha Valley region of Virginia now West Virginia in 
company with the Wilsons. James Vickers built the first steamboat and 
operated it upon the Kanawha River, a feat which did much to open up 
the Kanawha Valley to settlement and development. He also in company 
with James Wilson freighted produce to New Orleans down the Ohio and 
Mississippi rivers. 

Stephen Decatur Vickars left his home in the Kanawha Valley coun- 
try in 1842 and came to Henry County, Missouri in search of a future 
home for his family. He entered free Government land in Bear Creek 
township and spent all of his days in this county engaged in agricultural 
pursuits, taking a prominent and important part in the early develop- 
ment of Henry County. His wife, prior to her marriage, was Frances 
Marion Stewart of the old Stewart family of Virginia of undoubted Revo- 
lutionary ancestry. She was the daughter of Daniel Stewart, who was 
also a pioneer settler in Henry County, who enlisted for service in the 
War of 1812 and received a grant of Government land in Henry County, 
coming here not long after Stephen Decatur Vickars and his family made 
a permanent settlement in this county. Mrs. Francis Marion Vickars, 
was born in Fauquier County, Virginia, in 1821 and died in 1915, one of 
the best beloved of the pioneer women of Henry County. Her life was 
devoted to good deeds and she was loved and revered by all the people 
of the countryside for her goodness and kindliness, a friend to all, all 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 451 

were friends of hers. She was deeply religious and an ardent and tireless 
church worker. It is a matter of history that the first school held in this 
section of Henry County, was taught in the home of Stephen Vickers and 
through his influence and liberality a teacher was obtained and the edu- 
cation of the youth of the neighborhood began and continued through 
the years. This school was taught by Mrs. Susan Bronaugh. After a 
residence here of some years the modest pioneer home of the Vickers 
family was supplanted by an imposing frame edifice erected by Mr. Vick- 
ars much of the material used in its construction, such as window sash, 
etc., being brought by steamboat from Cincinnati and then hauled over- 
land from the landing place at Boonville on the Missouri. This house 
was one of the very first large residences erected in the county and for 
many years was a landmark. 

To Stephen Decatur and Frances Marion Vickars were born three 
children: William Henry; Emeline, died at the age of fourteen years; 
Mrs. Frances Ann, or Nannie, deceased wife of William F. Carter. 

William H. Vickers was reared to manhood in Henry County and be- 
came a farmer, following this vocation until a few years before his death, 
when he removed to a home at Montrose, where his death occurred. His 
farm was situated in Walker township. Mr. Vickers was married to 
Susan Cornelia Peyton, who was born in Boonville, Missouri, in 1846 and 
died in 1895. She was the daughter of Frederick S. and Lurcetia (Hartt) 
Peyton, who were natives of Fredericksburg, Virginia, and were early 
pioneers of Cooper County, Missouri. 

Five children were born to William H. and Susan Cornelia Vickers, 
as follow: Ella Peyton, wife of Harry Armstrong, a farmer in Davis 
township, a sketch of whom appears in this volume ; Frederick resides in 
California; William Carter Vickars lives in California; and Mrs. Marion 
Wilson of this review. 

Mr. Vickars was a Democrat and was a member of the Methodist 
Church South. 

L. E. Grant, retired merchant and live stock dealer of Deepwater, 
Missouri, was born in Knox County, Missouri, July 25, 1855. He is the 
son of Samuel Russell, bom in 1818 and died in 1871, and Elizabeth 
(Sharp) Grant. His father was a native of Zanesville, Ohio, and was a 
son of Samuel F. Grant, a native of Ohio. Mrs. Elizabeth Grant was 
born in Kentucky June 27, 1818, and died in September, 1910, and her 
parents were early settlers of Knox County, Missouri, where Samuel 



452 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Russell Grant removed in 1831. They were married in that county, set- 
tled permanently upon a fann and spent the remainder of their lives in 
agricultural pursuits. Samuel R. and Elizabeth Grant reared a family 
of six children: Samuel R., deceased; G. W. Grant, Tulsa, Oklahoma; 
Abram S., Seattle, Washington; Mrs. Sarah Maria Hicks, Pleasanton, 
Kansas; Mrs. Margaret Malvila Bryant, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; L. 
E. Grant, subject of this review. 

Born, reared and educated in Knox County, Missouri, L. E. Grant 
resided there until 1885, when opportunity beckoned to him and he came 
to Deepwater, Missouri, and engaged in business pursuits in which he 
achieved more than ordinary success. For a period of twenty-one years 
he was engaged in the grocery and hardware business in that city and 
became well and favorably known throughout Henry County as a reliable 
and able business man. From his boyhood days he had always been in- 
terested in live stock and is an excellent judge of farm animals. Along 
with his other business, he has been engaged in the buying and shipping 
of live stock and probably holds the record as a live stock shipper in 
Hemy County in the number of live stock he has bought and shipped 
from this section. Mr. Grant's shipments from Deepwater would aggre- 
gate from 100 to 150 carloads of stock yearly and his dealings with the 
live stock raisers were so fair and honest that he was kept busily em- 
ployed in taking care of the business. He retired from active business 
pursuits in 1917, but is looking after his farm of 290 acres, situated 
within two and a half miles of Deepwater, and he is also owner of an- 
other farm located five miles south of Deepwater in St. Clair County. 

February 9, 1881, L. E. Grant was united in marriage with Miss 
Martha Gorman (born June 17, 1852, died January 7, 1915), a native of 
Darksville, Berkeley County, Virginia, a daughter of Edwin and Matilda 
(Vyse) Gorman, the former of whom was a native of Ireland and the 
latter of Virginia. Edwin Gorman came to America with his parents 
when a child. The Germans moved to Edina, Knox County, Missouri, 
from Virginia in 1857. Mrs. Grant was a true and faithful wife to her 
husband, devoted to her family, a kind mother to her children and a 
worthy helpmeet in every sense the word implies. She was an inspira- 
tion to her husband during the many years of their married life. She 
became a member of the Methodist Church, South, when but a child, and 
was a devout Christian woman whose activities and interests outside of 
her home were mainly in religious works. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 453 

Three children were bom to L. E. and Martha Grant, as follow: 
Russell Lee and Mary Leta, twins, and L. Elmer, Jr. Russell Lee Grant 
is a successful real estate operator at Tulsa, Oklahoma. Miss Mary Leta 
Grant is her father's housekeeper in Deepwater. L. Elmer, Jr., is en- 
gaged in the real estate business with his brother at Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

Mr. Grant has always been a worker in the ranks of the Democratic 
party in Henry County and has served as treasurer of his home city. He 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and is affiliated 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Deepwater and the Benevo- 
lent Protective Order of Elks of Clinton. He is a well preserved, genial, 
hospitable citizen who is well iiked and highly esteemed by his many 
friends and acquaintances throughout Henry County. 

Rev. William Perry Armstrong. — "Hollyhock Place." — Unselfish de- 
votion to duty and the cause of humanity has characterized the lives of 
the late William Perry Armstrong and his devoted wife, Mrs. Laura Avery 
Armstrong. Their beautiful suburban place in the northern part of the 
city of Clinton is noted the country over as "Hollyhock Place," because 
of the profusion of hollyhocks and flowers of all kinds which are bloom- 
ing during the spring, summer and autumn. It is one of the show places 
of Henry County and western Missouri, and Mrs. Armstrong devotes the 
greater part of her spare time to caring for her flowers just to see them 
grow and have plenty for her friends. 

Rev. William Perry Armstrong was a real man among men whose 
work as a minister of the Gospel, in a religious and constructive sense, 
will endure for all time to come. He was revered and respected by all 
who came in contact with him, and he was widely known throughout this 
section of the Middle West as an unselfish and devoted laborer in the vine- 
yard of the Lord. He was bom in Warrick County, Indiana, October 29, 
1837, the son of William and Mary (Perry) Armstrong, residents of 
Warrick County. The father of William, the elder, was bom in Cork 
County, Ireland. William P. Armstrong was twice married, his first wife 
having been Mary Caroline Hartenburg, of Washington County, Indiana, 
who died in Indiana. One child, Harriet Helen, was bom to that union, 
who died January 29, 1867. Mary Caroline (Armstrong) died February 
16, 1868, at Salem Parsonage, Indiana. 

Rev. William P. Armstrong's second marriage took place at Evans- 
ville, Indiana, November 1, 1876, with Mrs. Laura Avery (Knowles) Von 
Hiestand, who bore him children as follow: Ellen May, born at Manhat- 



454 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

tan, Kansas, and is the wife of George A. Taylor of Green street, Clinton, 
Missouri ; William Earl, born November 8, 1883, at Pierce City, Missouri, 
and died Tuesday, September 22, 1908. 

Rev. William Perry Armstrong became a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church when a young man and devoted the greater portion of 
his life to spreading the Gospel and in religious works of a practical and 
enduring order. He was not only successful in his profession but achieved 
a success in a business sense so that during his later years he was re- 
lieved from any dependence upon the church and could devote his time 
and talents to the building up of small, struggling churches without need 
or desire of recompense. He followed the ministry, mainly, for the love 
of the work and not as a necessity. He sei-ved in the Evansville, Indiana, 
Conference until called upon to devote his time to various weak churches 
in different localities of the West which were in need of a strong, able 
man to lift church debts, erect new edifices, and place the congregations 
in a state of financial well being. Several years of his life were devoted 
to this arduous work and he felt well repaid for his successes as a builder 
and church financier. He built up a splendid church at Pierce City, Mis- 
souri. He came to Clinton, Missouri, in 1881 and built the present Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church and at the same time purchased a permanent abid- 
ing place consisting of a farm just on the northern edge of the city, em- 
bracing 165 acres of valuable land. From Clinton he was called to Spring- 
field, Missouri, where during the second year of his work his health 
failed and he returned to his home to recuperate. For nine years after 
regaining his health he confined his religious and ministerial activities 
to purely local work and sei-ved the churches of Neosho and Pierce City, 
Missouri, building the Nevada Methodist Church. He built up many 
poor churches during his later years of active ministerial work purely 
for the love of doing good for the cause of Christianity. Rev. William 
Perry Armstrong departed this life on November 22, 1916, deeply and 
sincerely mourned by thousands of people who had known and loved him 
as an upright man of God. 

Mrs. Laura Avery (Knowles) AiTnstrong, widow of Rev. William 
Perry Armstrong, was bom on Catalpa Plantation on the shores of the 
Tennessee River, Mississippi, and when but a few hours old was taken to 
Glen Marion Plantation, Arkansas, a beautiful tract which had been cut 
out of the heart of the forest and transformed into a magnificent country 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 455 

estate by her older brothers. She lived on this plantation until sixteen 
years of age. Laura Avery Knowles is a daughter of Doctor David and 
Emily (Avery) Knowles, the latter of whom was a member of the old 
Avery family of Mystic, Connecticut, which numbers among its mem- 
bers many famous men and women in America. Doctor Knowles was a 
finely educated physician and was bom in Connecticut. After his mar- 
riage he first moved to the Johnson and Bradish plantations, nine miles 
from New Orleans, where his first six children were born. Later he 
moved to Mud City, near Memphis, and then to Glen Marion Plantation. 
After the war he located in Mt. Vernon, Indiana, to be near his children 
and there built up a miniature Glen Marion in the suburbs of that city. 
He lived there until old age rendered him helpless and he then removed to 
the home of his son at Vienna, Illinois, where he died at the age of eighty- 
seven years. Mrs. Knowles died at the age of eighty-four years. The 
children of Doctor and Mrs. Knowles are as follows: Ellen, Louisa, 
Latham, Dudley and Henry, twins ; Nancy and Amanda, twins ; Emma, 
Adele, and Laura Aveiy. 

Laura Avery (Knowles) Armstrong was educated by governesses in 
her father's home in the South and attended a finishing school for young 
ladies at Henderson, Kentucky. Her first marriage occurred in 1864 
and was a romantic character. A house party to which the young gentry 
of the surrounding country were invited, was being held and she and a 
young man whom she hardly knew were selected to pose as the bride and 
groom in a mock wedding ceremony. The young man was De Witt Von 
Hiestand, the youngest son of a rich planter who was the owner of Adams 
street in Memphis, Tennessee. After the social event and the perform- 
ance of the mock wedding ceremony, it was ascertained that the individual 
who had performed the wedding ceremony was legally authorized to do 
so on account of being sherifi" of the county. This was in 1865 and the 
newly wedded couple made their home in Memphis until Mr. Von Hiestand's 
death in 1869. Three children were born of this marriage: Charles, at 
home with his mother; Elihu, and Hugh, deceased. 

While a member of the Evansville Conference, the Rev. Armstrong 
saw Mrs. Von Hiestand's photograph on the wall of a home in Evansville 
where he was a guest, while attending the conference meeting and then 
and there decided and declared that if he ever married again he could 
be happy with the original of the picture for his wife. Strange to relate. 



456 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

ten years later, when Mrs. Von Hiestand was called to Evansville from 
her Southern home to attend the burial sei'vices of her sister, the twain 
met, loved at sight, and were married. The marriage was a happy and 
prosperous one and each was in perfect accord during the many years of 
their married life. 

Mrs. Armstrong has always been active in literary and charitable 
works and devotes a great part of her time and her income to assisting 
unfortunate and dependent women who are in need of a sister's or a 
mother's care. She and Mrs. Delavgerne started the first reading room 
in Clinton, which was the beginning of the present splendid public li- 
brary. She was the instigator of the first Women's Christian Temperance 
Union in Henry County and has always been interested in good works 
of a civic character. Mrs. Armstrong has two grandchildren, Margaret 
Ellen and Jane Taylor. She has one great grandchild, Merry Christmas, 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Walter Christmas of Cleveland, Mississippi. 
She is a remarkably intelligent and well-read lady who is well preserved 
for her age. Her beautiful home is filled with curios, and a splendid 
library through which one could browse for hours and be entertained. 
Mrs. Ai-mstrong takes a keen interest in every-day aifairs and is devoted 
to her home city. 

J. E. Adkins, proprietor of "Violet Vale Farm" in Bear Creek town- 
ship, Henry County, is making a success as a breeder of Leghorn poultry. 
The principal output of this farm is eggs and poultry and Mr. Adkins 
keeps only the purest bred Leghorns. At this writing (April, 1918) Mr. 
Adkins has a flock of 425 hens, the average egg production of which 
will exceed twenty-one dozen daily, an output which brings in a substan- 
tial income each year. The Adkins farm consists of sixty acres and is 
well improved with a pretty residence, good buildings and fencing. Mr. 
Adkins is also engaged in the breeding of Holstein cattle, a department of 
animal husbandry in which he has just begun. 

J. E. Adkins was born June 11,, 1880, on a farm in Clinton township, 
northeast of La Due, and is the son of H. Burt and Nannie (West) 
Adkins, natives of Missouri and Kentucky, respectively. 

H. B. Adkins, who now lives retired at La Due, Missouri, was born 
October 8, 1860, in Davis township, Henry County, and is the son of John 
D. and Eliza (Hutchinson) Adkins. John D. Adkins was the son of John 
Adkins, a pioneer settler of Henry County. John D. and Eliza Adkins 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 457 

were parents of seven children of whom three are living: Tilden, Kansas 
City, Missouri ; Mrs. Alice May Laver, Joplin, Missouri ; and H. B. Adkins. 
After the death of John D. Adkins in 1878, his widow married Thomas 
Botkins, and bore him a daughter, Mrs. Kate Stevens, living near La Due. 
When he became of age, H. B. Adkins began doing for himself and pur- 
chased his first farm in 1883. He is owner of 230 acres of land in Clin- 
ton township which he cultivated until his retirement in 1912. 

H. B. Adkins was married in 1880 to Miss Anna West, who was born 
in Kentucky, in February, 1862, the daughter of Felix and Letitia West, 
who located in Henry County in 1868. To H. B. and Anna Adkins have 
been born five children: J. Edward, of this review; Mrs. Nettie May 
Cromer, Fairview township; Archie Lee, died in infancy; Fred, a farmer 
in Clinton township ; Mrs. Pansy May Wilson, on the home place in Clinton 
township. 

J. E. Adkins received his education at Independence district school 
and began farming on his own account in 1900. For seven years he oper- 
ated rented land successfully, and then purchased his present home place 
of sixty acres. He was married in 1900 to Miss Iva Selby, a daughter 
of Thomas Selby. Six children have been born of this marriage, three 
of whom are living: Thora, Vera Glendella and Vernon Glendon (twins), 
two died in infancy; Retha died at the age of six years. 

Mr. Adkins is a Democrat in politics and is a member of the local 
school board and the County Council of Defense. He and Mrs. Adkins 
are members of the Baptist Church. He is fraternally connected with the 
Woodmen of the World, La Due, Missouri. 

Edwin M. Reavis, deceased, pioneer of Bear Creek township, was born 
in Kentucky, October 13, 1830, and departed this life in Henry County, 
March 30, 1882. He was the son of Edwin M. Reavis of Bowling Green, 
Kentucky. Ewdin M. Reavis was married in Texas in the fall of 1858 
to Mary Margaret Hunt, bom November 29, 1836, in Saline County, Mis- 
souri, the daughter of William and Azubah Hunt, an account of whom is 
given in connection with the sketch of E. B. Hunt, of Walker township. 
Soon after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Reavis came to Henry County 
and lived for a few years upon the farm he rented of E. B. Hunt until 
1865. They then bought a farm of 100 acres of Joseph Capehart. This 
farm has been divided since Mr. Reavis' death and the home place, which 
is one of the prettiest improved places in Henry County, consists of sixty 



458 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

acres. Formerly there was a large orchai'd on the place, but several 
seasons of drought have played havoc with the trees. During the Civil 
War the family suffered from the depredations of Jayhawkers and lost 
part of their live stock. 

The children born to Edwin M. and Mary Reavis are as follows: 
Elizabeth C, born August 8, 1859, died 1875; Susan M., William, and 
Sun (triplets) died in infancy, born August 2, 1861, the former of whom 
died November 11, 1867; William E. Reavis, at home. Mrs. Mary Jane 
Chrissman, a widow, living at La Due, Missouri; John A., bom April 6, 
1865, died August 24, 1866; James B., born October 28, 1866, died No- 
vember 4, 1867 ; Nancy E., wife of R. C. Grigsby, La Due, Missouri ; Alice 
C, William E., at home with their mother ; Joseph H., Drady, North Da- 
kota ; Elmer S., California ; infant son, bom and died December 6, 1879 ; 
Florence M., born August 6, 1882, died November 4, 1897; Joseph H., 
born September 6, 1872, died November 29, 1918. Mrs. Reavis has six 
grandchildren : Edwin, Winona, Glenbourne, and Joseph, children of Joseph 
Reavis. Elmer S. has a daughter, Florence. Nannie Grigsby has one 
son, Cecil. 

Mrs. Reavis and her son are members of the Bear Creek Methodist 
Church. In the early days she attended the Old Adobe Church, a picture 
of which through the courtesy of Miss Reavis is reproduced in this 
volume. The old-timers whom she knew in the early days were Mrs. 
Kintner, Mrs. Nick Erhart, and Mrs. Cleghorn, who were the first she 
met in this part of Henry county. She recalls that they would attend 
divine service at the Adobe Church, coming on horseback, and that the 
prairie grass which grew so luxuriantly on the unbroken prairie land 
was as high as the horse's back. Deer and game were plentiful and 
there were great droves of wild turkeys, quail, and prairie chickens, all 
of which have disappeared with the settling up of the country. Mrs. 
Reavis has many old curios and family relics which have been handed down 
to her from her ancestors, among them being an old walnut chest which 
was given her by Grandma Hunt, and was made by Isaac Whitaker in 
1795. This chest was made for his daughter, May Whitaker, in North 
Carolina. He was Mary M. Hunt Reavis' great-great uncle. 

Joseph B. Nold. — The section of country tributary to Montrose is 
one of the richest and most productive sections of Missouri and is noted 
for its fine farms and beautiful and well-kept homes. Combined with 
a rich soil, well watered, and which is highly productive, is an excellent 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 459 

class of industrious and ambitious farmers who are constantly endeavor- 
ing to improve their properties and to make the surroundings more at- 
tractive to the eye and more comfortable as places of residence. The 
farm of Joseph B. Nold of Bear Creek township just east of Montrose 
is a splendid example of what ambition and industry will accomplish 
in the course of a few years. This farm consists of 160 acres in the 
home place and 100 aci-es which Mr. Nold has recently sold to his brother. 
The land has on it fifty acres of timber, bordering on Bear Creek, and 
is well watered at all seasons of the year. Mr. Nold has a fine farm 
residence, a large barn covered with iron sheeting, sixty by seventy-two 
feet, two silos twelve by thirty feet, one of which is built of glazed tile. 
Mr. Nold is a breeder and feeder of shorthorn cattle, and feeds large 
numbers of cattle and hogs. For a number of years he has been engaged 
in the buying and shipping of live stock and handles from 50 to 100 
loads annually. 

Joseph B. Nold was born at Pilot Grove, Cooper County, Missouri, 
in 1868 and is the son of Albert Nold, who was born in Germany in 1843 
and accompanied his parents to America in 1850. The Nolds first settled 
at Cincinnati, Ohio and then moved to Illinois, making a settlement in 
Cooper County. Missouri, in 1868. Charles Nold, a brother, brought the 
first threshing outfit to Cooper County. Albert Nold has prospered as he 
deserved and accumulated a farm of 240 acres in Cooper County, near 
Pilot Grove. He also owned another tract of seventy-five acres, but has 
recently sold his Cooper County land and moved to Montrose, Missouri, in 
August, 1918. His wife was Catherine Felton, born in Germany in 1817, 
the daughter of Bertram Felton, who came to America in 1850, and set- 
tled in Cooper County, Missouri, during the Civil War. Bushwhackers 
robbed him of everything that he owned during the war, and he had a 
very hard time of it for a number of years. There were eleven children 
bom to Albert and Catherine Nold, as follows: Joseph B., Max, Edward, 
Albert, John, Lee, and William, all living in Henry County; Mrs. Lena 
Neckerman, Mrs. Katie Grotzinger, Mrs. Anna Stoecklein, living in Cooper 
County ; Mrs. Freda Brzuchalski, Henry County, Missouri. 

In 1893 Joseph B. Nold began his own career in Cooper County, Mis- 
souri, and became owner of a farm in that county. He disposed of his hold- 
ings there in 1909 and came to Montrose, Henry County, and invested in 
160 acres of land to which he added 100 acres. He is of the opinion that 
there is no better section of country in Missouri than the Montrose neigh- 
borhood. 



460 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Mr. Nold was married in 1893 to Miss Mary A. Neckerman, who was 
born in Cooper County, Missouri, the daughter of Andrew and Barbara 
Neckerman, natives of Germany, who were pioneer settlers of that county. 
Mr. and Mrs. Nold have five children: Albert A., aged eighteen years; 
Lena, aged sixteen years ; Lovina, aged fourteen ; Frank, twelve years old ; 
and Theresia, aged ten years. Mr. and Mrs. Nold are also rearing an 
orphan girl, Christina, and have an adopted son, Andrew, aged twenty-eight 
years, now a private in the National Army, in France. 

The Republican party has always had the support of Joseph B. 
Nold, and he is now serving as trustee of Bear Creek township. He 
and his family are members of the Montrose Catholic Church. He is 
fraternally affiliated with the Knights of Columbus, the Catholic Knights 
of America, and takes a prominent and influential part in the deliberations 
of these bodies. Mr. Nold is universally recognized as a citizen of honor 
and integrity and his place among the really successful men of Henry 
County is well established. 

Charles W. Engeman, retired farmer and vice-president of the Mont- 
rose Farmers' and Merchants' Bank, Montrose, Missouri, was born in 
Warren County, Missouri, in 1853 and is the son of Henry and Mary 
(Fischer) Engeman, natives of Germany who immigrated to America in 
1883, and first located in Warren County, Missouri. In 1872 they came 
to Henry County and settled near Appleton City on the Henry-St. Clair 
County line. Henry Engeman was bom in 1815 and died in 1885. Mary 
Engeman was born in 1846 and died in 1906. They were parents of ten 
children: August, lives near Germantown; Mrs. Dena Danzebrink, a 
widow, living at Montrose; Henry, deceased; Charles W. ; Mrs. Mary 
Hillerman, living east of Germantown; Mrs. Lena Thompson, a widow, 
living with the subject of this review; Anna, died at the age of eleven 
years; Louisa, now Sister Violante, New York; Christina, deceased; and 
John Engeman, Montrose, Missouri. 

Charles Engeman accompanied his parents to Henry County in 1872, 
and in the spring of 1875 he went to Nevada, and was employed for 
three years upon an irrigated ranch near Winnemucca, Paradise Valley, 
Humboldt County, that State. In 1878 he returned to Montrose and re- 
sided here for two years. He returned to Nevada in 1880 and remained 
there for two years. He then came home and resided with his parents. 
In 1897, Mr. Engeman purchased his present farm of seventy-two acres 
and has since been engaged in farming and coal mining. 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 461 

Seventy acres of the Engeman farm are leased for coal mining pur- 
poses and the coal is obtained by the "stripping" process of mining. 
Several thousand tons have been mined from the land and coal has been 
taken from the place for the past tw^enty years. During 1917 there were 
mined on the Engeman tract a total of 2,944 bushels of coal. 

Mr. Engeman is an independent Democrat and is a member of the 
Montrose Catholic Church and the Knights of Columbus. He has been 
connected with the Farmers' and Merchants' Bank of Monti'ose since 1907. 

Fred H. Heiman. — Although Fred H. Heiman, a successful farmer of 
Deepwater township, is what we might call a newcomer to Henry County, 
he has taken his place in the civic life of the Montrose community 
and is fast becoming one of the leaders in this section of the county. 
Endowed with a high mentality, a progressive and enterprising spirit 
which has been further developed by a good education, Mr. Heiman is one 
of the best informed citizens of the county and an excellent farmer. 

Fred H. Heiman was born in Damiansville, Illinois, January 14, 1868, 
and is the son of John Herman and Mary (Santel) Heiman, the former 
of whom was a native of Illinois and the latter of Iowa. John Heiman 
was_of German descent and followed agricultural pursuits during his en- 
tire life. In 1887 he left Illinois and went to Ottawa County, Kansas, 
where for two years he lived on a farm near Delphos. In 1889, he went 
to Woodson County, Kansas, and made this county his home until his 
death in 1908. His widow still resides in Woodson County. There are 
nine living children in the Heiman family : August B., an oil man in Cali- 
fornia; Rosa M., wife of Herman Bruegeman, Woodson county, Kansas; 
Agatha, at home with her mother; Martin, Hooker, Oklahoma; William, 
lola, Kansas; George A., at home with his mother; Edward N., Woodson 
County, Kansas; John H., of Humboldt, Kansas, and Fred H., subject of 
this sketch. 

After receiving his education in the Effingham County high school 
at Altamont, Illinois, Mr. Heiman was employed in a retail store for a 
time. He then became a farmer and joined his people in Kansas. He 
went to Ellis County, Kansas, and taught school for twelve terms, in all, 
eight terms of which were taught in Ellis County, and four terms in 
Woodson County. While teaching, during the latter four terms, he fol- 
lowed farming in Woodson County. He came to Missouri in 1903, and 
rented a farm, five miles east of his present place until 1909, at which 
time he purchased his farm of 160 acres south of Montrose in Deepwater 



462 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

township. Mr. Heiman has erected splendid improvements on this tract, 
including a handsome residence of eight rooms and pantry, a large barn, 
forty-eight by forty feet, a granary, twenty-six by thirty-four feet, a hog 
house, eight by twenty-four feet, a sheep shed eight by thirty-four feet 
sufficient to shelter fifty-six head of sheep, a cow shed 26 by 28 feet, 
and silo. Mr. Heiman also raises Duroc Jersey hogs for the market. A 
large windmill on the place pumps a sufficient supply of water. 

On April 4, 1894, Fred H. Heiman and Miss Annie M. Swaters were 
united in marriage. Mrs. Annie M. Heiman is the daughter of John 
Swaters, a well-to-do resident of Deepwater township, and a sketch of 
whom appears in this volume. Nine children have been born to Fred H. 
and Annie M. Heiman : Regina, wife of John A. Nold, northeast of Mont- 
rose; Cornelius H., Leo, Martin, Rosa, Ferdinand, Loretta, John, Helen, 
all at home with their parents. Mrs. Regina Nold has two children, Lo- 
raine and Dorothy Nold. 

Mr. Heiman is a Democrat and his family are members of the 
Church of the Immaculate Conception at Montrose. He is affiliated with 
the Catholic Mutual Benefit Association and Knights of Columbus. 

Frank Wagner, owner of a nicely improved farm of 106.66 acres 
of land in Deepwater township, south of Montrose, was born in Germany 
in 1846, near the Swiss boundary line, and he naturally belongs more to 
the Swiss nationality than to the German. He is a son of Frank and 
Catherine Wagner, who emigrated from their native country to America 
in 1852 and resided in Illinois for the next seven years. In the fall of 
1859 the family located in Henry County, Missouri, and Frank Wagner, 
the father, followed his trade of carpenter and builder, and cabinet maker. 
He made his first home in Bogard township on a farm which he culti- 
vated in addition to following his trade in various parts of the county- 
He located in Deepwater township in 1872 and purchased a tract of un- 
improved prairie land consisting of 160 acres. In the course of time he 
added another quarter section which, upon his death, was divided among 
his three sons, Frank, Joseph, and Jacob, who all live on adjoining farms 
at the Cross Roads south of Montrose. 

Frank Wagner, subject of this review, placed all of the improvements 
upon his land and has tilled his acreage successfully up to recent years 
or until his retirement from actual labor in the fields. Mr. Wagner was 
married in 1874 to Mary Schissler (born 1852, died 1891), a native of 
Deepwater township, and the daughter of David Schissler, a Henry County 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 463^ 

pioneer. Mr. Wagner has reared eight children out of ten born to this 
marriage: Kate, wife of Joseph Kaumans, living in Wyoming; Joseph, 
eldest of the family, lives in Kansas ; Henry lives in Kansas ; Mary, wife 
of William Hueser, who is tilling the home place, has seven children, 
Lenora, John, Ida, Loretta, Margaret, Bernard and Bertha; John lives 
at Rock Island, Illinois; Mrs. Annie Montague, resides at Grand Island, 
Nebraska; Mrs. Josephine Currie, lives at Rock Island, Illinois; Herman 
is a farmer in Deepwater township ; Frank is deceased. 

Mr. Wagner is a Democrat. He is a member of the Montrose Catho- 
lic Church and is affiliated with the Knights of Columbus. His work 
here has been well done. He has reared a splendid family and accumu- 
lated a sufficient competence to care for his declining years, and has the 
honor of being one of the real old settlers of Henry County, and being 
universally respected and esteemed by all who know him. 

Charles H. Martin, who is managing the Martin estate of 420 acres 
in Fairview township, Henry County, was born in Clinton, Missouri, the 
son of James B. Martin, one of the widely-known old settlers of Mar- 
shall Creek and a Union veteran now deceased. The Martin farm is 
situated on Marshall Creek, which, according to one of the old settlers 
who formerly resided in this neighborhood, should have been called "Jim" 
Creek on account of the fact that James or Jim Kirk, James or Jim 
Flecker, and James or Jim Henry Dunning, settled on this creek in the early 
days. However, the creek received the name of "Marshall" and the name 
has ever held. 

James B. Martin was born March 24, 1838 and departed this life 
on June 29, 1910. He was born in Henry County, Illinois but was reared 
in Kentucky. He was the son of one of the old-time school teachers 
known everywhere as Uncle Billy Martin. When the Civil War broke 
out, James B. Martin enlisted at Louisville, Kentucky, in the Tenth Ken- 
tucky Volunteer Infantry and served for three years and four months 
with the Union Army. He was wounded at the battle of Chickamauga and 
lay in the Government hospital for eighteen months. The wound crippled 
him for life, a shot or minnie ball taking effect in his left heel. January 
1, 1865, he came to Clinton, Missouri, and sometime later swam the Deep- 
water when it was filled with ice in order to escape from a band of 
guerillas who were still attempting to wage war against Union people. 
Edward A. Martin, a brother, preceded him to this county and Ed- 
ward was tending cattle on the north side of the Deepwater at the time. 



464 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

James B. Martin was a noted swimmer who at one time swam the Ten- 
nessee River while foraging after roasting ears. He was carried a mile 
down the river by the swift current with a companion named Alex 
Moore. 

Soon after coming to Henry County, he was married to Ann Eliza 
Bridges, daughter of Charles Bridges of the Marshall Creek neighbor- 
hood. The Bridges came from Springfield, Illinois, to Henry County. 
Ann Eliza Martin was born in 1848 and died in 1915. Six children were 
born to James B. and Ann Eliza Martin, as follow: Charles H., subject 
of this review; Edward A., Coffeyville, Kansas; Mrs. Jessie A. Wolford, 
Fairview township; Emery, living on the Martin home place; James 
Claude, living on the home place ; Clifford B. makes his home with Charles 
Martin. 

James B. Martin was an independent Republican. He was a mem- 
ber of the Christian Church and was affiliated with the Free Masons, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Grand Army of the Re- 
public. James B. Martin was a Henry County citizen worth while. He 
was an honest, upright, and industrious man of affairs who had the 
respect and esteem of a wide circle of friends and acquaintances through- 
out the county. 

James Ramsey Wilson. — The basis of all true history is biography. 
History is but the narrative of the accomplishments of a body of people 
as a whole ; the individual is the doer and it is necessary in the presenta- 
tion of a true history of Henry County, to present the salient facts in 
the lives of the men who have made possible the upbuilding of this im- 
portant section of Missouri. James Ramsey Wilson, late of Deepwater 
township, was a pioneer of this county who contributed more than the ordi- 
nary man to the settlement and development of Henry County. His sons 
and daughters today occupy important places in the State, and are among 
the leaders of the communities where they reside and have resided. 

James Ramsey Wilson was born in Maysville, Kentucky, in January, 
1803, and died in Henry County, Missouri, in June, 1897. He was the 
son of James Wilson, who was born in the North of Ireland, and was a 
son of James Wilson, of Scotland, who moved from his native land to 
Ireland and there settled upon a large estate, which was named Bull 
Valley Castle. He had several children, among them being James Wilson, 
father of the subject of this review. James Wilson received a good edu- 
cation and during his twentieth year, he immigrated to America. The 




EDWIN WILSON 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 465 

occasion of his leaving the old home in Ireland was owing to his disgust 
with the methods of dispensing justice in practice in the courts of his 
native country. One particular flagrant piece of injustice which he wit- 
nessed so incensed him that upon going home, he informed his father 
that he was not desirous of living in a country with injustice so rampant, 
and that he intended crossing the ocean to settle in America. His father 
gave his consent and supplied him with funds sufficient to last him for 
one year in the new country. Upon his arrival at New York, the captain 
of his ship recommended his services to a ship chandler or shipping merch- 
ant, as bookkeeper, the young man's skill as a penman having favorably 
impressed the ship captain. He immediately took up his duties and for 
many years was engaged in the mercantile business in various parts of 
the country, becoming successful, although his fortunes were variable. 
There were times when he was possessed of considerable capital and 
others when he was forced to start with little or no capital. One instance, 
the loss of a cargo of cotton valued at $40,000 and which cost him but 
$10,000, serves as an illustration of the varying fortunes of his career. 
This happened in New Orleans and it was not long until he had paid 
back every dollar of his losses. He became a merchant at Maysville, Ken- 
tucky, and was there married to Elizabeth Bailey, the daughter of Col. 
Samuel Bailey, who had come to Kentucky from Virginia and purchased a 
large tract of land in the vicinity from Simon Kenton. About 1812, 
Colonel Bailey settled near the mouth of the Ohio River and with his 
wife and children stayed at the hotel kept by Captain Dennis in Paducah. 
They moved to their new location aboard a Government steamboat con- 
fiscated from Aaron Burr at the time his ill fated plans for founding 
a great empire in the Southwest came to naught. Col. Samuel Bailey was 
killed by Indians a few miles above Bailey's Station, a frontier settlement 
which he had established on his land. He was attacked by a band of the 
savages and fought to the death. The Indians took his body and placed 
it in a new cabin near the scene of the crime. Later, Light Horse Harry 
Lee led a party to recover the body and give it proper burial near the site 
where he met his death opposite Rush Creek Island on the Kentucky 
shore of the Ohio River. 

James Wilson did not remain long in Kentucky. Indians becoming 
numerous and on the warpath and the War of 1812 raging at the time, 
making it unsafe for settlers in the new country, he took his wife and 
children and went on horseback to country of the Kanawha River in 



466 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

what is now West Virginia. Here he engaged in the manufacture of 
salt in partnership with a Frenchman named Savaryn and made a perma- 
nent home in West Virginia. 

James Ramsey Wilson was married in West Virginia to Susan Everett, 
born in Guyandotte County, Virginia, in 1811 and died in Henry County, 
Missouri, in 1875. She was a daughter of Col. John Everett of Guyandotte, 
Virginia, who married Miss Sallie Woodson of Charlottesville, Virginia. 
Col. John Everett was an officer of Virginia militia and was was the son 
of John Everett, a soldier of the Revolution who was noted for the depths 
of his patriotism. It is said of him that he refused a large grant of 
Government land as payment for his services in behalf of American 
Independence with these words: "I did not light for land; I fought for 
liberty." The wife of John Everett was Miss Sallie Deadman, a daughter 
of Captain Deadman, who also fought in the Revolutionary War on the 
American side. Mrs. Sallie (Woodson) Everett was the daughter of Tral- 
ton or Tarlton Woodson who married a Miss Shepherd. 

James Ramsey Wilson left Cabell County, West Virginia, in 1840 
and came to Henry County, selecting a tract of land in the southeastern 
part of Bear Creek township near the Teays settlement. He removed 
his family to the site of his new home in 1841 and for four years made 
his home in Marshall Creek. In 1845 he settled permanently in Deepwater 
township, erecting some time later one of the finest and largest houses 
in the county, modelel after an old Virginia home. This home is still stand- 
ing and is the place of residence of Miss Bettie Wilson, a daughter. The 
estate which he built up has been operated by his sons as a corpora- 
tion under the name of J. H. Wilson and Brothers and has prospered 
during all these years. 

To James Ramsey and Susan (Everett) Wilson were born the follow- 
ing children: Joseph H. Wilson, a widely-known farmer of Deepwater 
township, a sketch of whom appears in this volume ; Mrs. Mary E. Houx, 
Warrensburg, Missouri, widow of Rev. J. H. Houx, late of Warrensburg, 
and who was a noted pioneer preacher of the Methodist Episcopal faith ; 
John M. Wilson, deceased; Capt. Edwin Wilson, deceased; Susan Eliza- 
beth, or Bettie Wilson, residing on the Wilson Home Place; William W. 
Wilson ; and Richard B. Wilson, postmaster of Montrose, Missouri, a sketch 
of whom appears in this volume. 

Edwin Wilson left home when in his eighteenth year and enlisted 
in the Southern Army as a member of Parsons' Brigade. Although 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 467 

small for his age he never shirked duty and was always found in the 
thickest of the battles and struggles in which his command was engaged. 
He became a valuable assistant to the field surgeons and was 
advised, on account of his skill in handling wounded men, to be- 
come a surgeon. After the surrender of Parsons' Brigade in Louisiana, 
he went to Texas and was first employed in sampling cotton. Opportun- 
ities for advancement came rapidly his way and he became a large land 
owner and cotton planter on his own account. He also became interested 
in banking and was vice-president of the American National Bank of 
Austin, Texas, at the time of his death. He was a leader in the commer- 
cial and civic life of his adopted State and associated with the leading 
figures of Texas. He had large interests in Texas and New Mexico. His 
death occurred at Austin, Texas, June 10, 1912, at the age of 68 years. 
He married Lulu Bailey Wilson, who bore him two children: Mrs. John 
Harris, Dallas, Texas; and Mrs. Welburn Hudson, of Austin, Texas. 

John M. Wilson went West when seventeen years of age and became 
a gold and silver miner. His life story reads like a romance were it 
possible to record his travels and adventures among the mining camps 
of the Rockies, the Pacific Slope, Mexico, and the Andes of South America. 
For many years he was engaged in various mining enterprises in these 
sections and became wealthy. The various vicissitudes and fortunes of 
the gold miner were his. During his career he was associated with widely 
known mining men of the United States. He died at El Paso, Texas, 
February 4, 1914, aged seventy-seven years. His whole career was charac- 
terized by honorable and upright dealings, attributes which have been 
the heritage of the members of the Wilson family for generations. He 
was married in early life to Miss Marion W. Wright of Washington, 
D. C, and to this marriage were born three children: James Robert, liv- 
ing in New Mexico; Isabella Everett, wife of Nathan Foster, Fayette- 
ville, Arkansas, a veteran of the Spanish-American War ; Mrs. Anna Cald- 
well, whose husband is a mining man of New Mexico. 

William W. Wilson was born December 26, 1851, in Deepwater town- 
ship, and is the jolly batchelor brother of the family. He has always 
been engaged in farming and makes his home with his brother, Richard 
B. Wilson. 

James Ramsey Wilson and wife were members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church and so lived their lives that a lasting and deep im- 
pression will be forever engraved in the annals of the county which they 
helped to create from an unbroken wilderness. 



468 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Martin Vanburen Brown. — For over the long period of fifty-one years, 
Martin Vanburen Brown, one of the old pioneers of Deepwater township, 
has resided on his splendid country place southwest of Montrose. The 
Brown homestead is a handsome, old style Colonial residence, built of the 
finest hardwood lumber, prior to the Civil War era. The home itself has 
a beautiful setting, being at the apex of a long gentle slope of green 
lawn which is dotted with a fine grove of shade trees. Mr. Brown is 
owner of 800 acres of rich farm lands, 320 acres of which is comprised 
in his home place. 

Martin V. Brown was born on a farm located eight miles west of 
Springfield, Illinois, on Spring Creek, March 4, 1837. He is the son of 
Reason D. Brown (born 1813, died 1885), who was the son of Joshua 
Brown, a native of Kentucky, and who was a pioneer settler in Illinois, 
locating there in the early twenties. Joshua Brown assisted in the rais- 
ing of the first house in the city of Springfield, Illinois, and was prominent 
in the early history of Springfield and vicinity. Reason D. Brown was 
married to Rachel Ernest (born 1815, died 1905), a daughter of Illinois 
pioneer parents. Reason D. Brown spent the last year of his long life 
on a farm, situated east of Appleton City, Missouri, and died there in 
1885. He was father of twelve children, only two of whom are living: 
Martin Vanburen, and John D. of Deepwater township. 

Martin V. Brown was reared in Illinois and enlisted in the ranks of 
hard workers when nineteen years of age. In 1861 he went to Idaho 
and was employed in the Salmon River mines for five years. During that 
time he earned and saved enough money to make a start on his own ac- 
count. After a trip home to Illinois, he came to Henry County, Missouri, 
in the spring of 1867, and purchased 700 acres of land at a cost of $13 
per acre. This land was already improved but Mr. Brown has succeeded 
in adding to this acreage another 100 acres. He has done exceedingly 
well but attributes a great part of his success to the assistance and coun- 
sel of his capable wife. 

On September 26, 1869, M. V. Brown and Miss Helen Cecil were united 
in marriage. Mrs. Helen (Cecil) Brown was born on a farm east of Clinton 
in Henry County in 1848, and is the daughter of Wilson and Henny Cecil, 
who came from Kentucky and settled in Henry County in 1837. This mar- 
riage has been blessed with five children: Allie, wife of Charles Campbell, 
a merchant at Montrose; Missouri; Ernie C, a well-known farmer of 
Walker township; Charles M., a farmer of Walker township, married 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 469 

Edna, daughter of Henry Oliver, and has three children, Cecil, Marie and 
Wilford; Helen, wife of J. Ed Dugan, Deepwater township, mother of 
two children, Wilfred and Martin Edward; Harry, living on the home 
place, married Clara, daughter of Robert Burns of Appleton City, Mis- 
souri, has a son, Robert Martin. 

During his entire life since attaining his majority, Mr. Brown has 
been a consistent and faithful Democrat. He and his family are mem- 
bers of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. As a man and citizen there 
is none better in Henry County, and Mr. Brown is a typical gentleman 
of the old school. He is kindly disposed to all mankind and is spending 
the last years of his long life in comfortable and happy retirement, well 
content to shift the burden of the cultivation of his farms to younger 
shoulders. He is popular and is universally esteemed throughout the 
countryside. 

Joseph F. Hibler.— For the past sixty-three years, Joe Hibler has 
been a resident of Henry County and is one of the typical, jolly, big- 
hearted old-timers of Missouri— the kind of men we have all read and 
heard about as typical of the true Missourian. During his boyhood days, 
Joe Hibler attended school in an old log school house, a converted pio- 
neer's log shack with cracks between the logs big enough to throw a 
boy through if the schoolmaster so minded. The boys in Joe's younger 
days were every whit as mischievous and full of tricks as the present- 
day boys, and it is probable that the schoolmaster found occasion to throw 
the boys through the cracks when they were mean. This school house 
had a puncheon floor, and slab seats. Along one side of the room was a 
big six-foot fireplace which was kept filled with big logs during the cold 
winter days. A roaring fire was kept up but the fire only warmed one 
side of the school boys. The wind whistled through the cracks and kept 
the air stirring in the room at all times. The only light in the building 
was obtained by sawing out a length of log about eight feet. This aperture 
let in both air and light. Joe Hibler has seen thousands of deer on the 
plains of Henry County in his youthful days and his father would shoot 
them from the doorway of their home. The nearest trading post was 
at old Germantown and Johnston in Bates County, then called "Hard- 
scrabble" by the pioneers in the old days. Joe had a partner who as- 
sisted him in various misdeeds and it was a favorite pastime of theirs 
to entice a bunch of cattle near a hornet's nest and stir up the hornets. 
Another pastime was robbing the apple cellars of their relatives. 



470 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

Joe Hibler was bom in Osage County, Missouri, in 1849 and is the 
son of Henry Hibler, one of the best-known of the eariy pioneers of this 
section of Missouri. 

Henry Hibler was born in 1822 in St. Louis County, Missouri, and was 
living in St. Louis when it was but a small river village, peopled by 
Frenchmen and adventurers from all parts of the world. He and his 
parents were pioneers of Osage County, where Henry Hibler became a live 
stock dealer on a large scale. The live stock market was far away at 
St. Louis and the trip was a long and tiresome one to make. Mr. Hibler 
was persuaded by his neighbors to drive their cattle to St. Louis, sell 
them and bring back the proceeds. He soon got into the business and 
handled the cattle on commission. Taking assistants with him he would 
make the trip whenever a sufficient number of cattle were ready for 
the market. He would frequently drive a big drove of turkeys to the 
same market. On the return trip he would carry the money in saddle 
bags and no precaution was necessary to guard against thieves. People 
were so honest that upon arriving at a settler's cabin for the night 
the men would throw the saddle bags filled with money down on the 
floor in a comer of the cabin and pay no more attention to it, until ready 
to leave the next morning. When he arrived home, Mr. Hibler would 
distribute the money among the neighbors. In 1855, he settled in Henry 
County, and during the early days made frequent trips to Kansas, en- 
gaged in the cattle business. He purchased a farm, located just a mile 
north of where Joe Hibler now lives, in Walker township. His first home 
was a log cabin. He prospered as a farmer and stockman and in later 
years bought a home at Eldorado Springs, Missouri. He died in 1900 at 
Lamar, Missouri. Henry Hibler was three times married; his first wife 
was Nancy McQueen, who died in 1851, leaving children as follows: 
Samuel died in the Confederate service while a soldier in the Civil War; 
Mrs. Lottie Fisher, Walker township; Joseph F., subject of this review; 
Frank, a bachelor living on his brother's farm ; Mrs. Susie March, a widow 
living in Davis township. His second wife was Mrs. Pliney Parks who 
died in 1857, leaving three children by a first marriage: Ann, Arthur, 
and Sallie Parks. His third wife was Mrs. Mary Harper, mother of two 
children by her first marriage: John Shelley, died at Dallas, Texas, in 
1916 ; Lizzie Shelley, living in Oklahoma ; and William T., Samuel, Walter 
and Annie Hibler. 

In 1870, Joseph F. Hibler began life for himself upon seventy acres 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 471 

of land which his father gave him. He improved this tract as best he 
could at the time, building a slab fence around the farm and carrying 
the slabs one-fourth of a mile on his shoulders. He also built some rail 
fence which was later supplanted by a hedge fence which he set out. 
He has created a beautiful farm from prairie land and has an attractive 
place of 111 acres on Camp Branch Creek adjacent to the Hopewell Church 
in Walker township. 

Mr. Hibler was married in 1870 to Coi'delia, a daughter of Samuel 
Wilson, a pioneer of Henry County, concerning whom the reader is refer- 
red to the sketch of Judge William M. Wilson in this volume. 

Five children have blessed this marriage: Mattie, wife of Charles 
Pfost, resides near Cheyenne 'Wells, Colorado; Mildred, wife of Ellis 
Greenhalge, Walker township; Riley Amos lives in Kansas; Henry Wil- 
son, lives in Kansas City ; and John, deceased. 

Mr. Hibler has consistently voted the Democratic ticket since attain- 
ing his majority. He and Mrs. Hibler are members of the Hopewell 
Cumberland Presbyterian Church. 

David Wesley Clark. — Lovers of the picturesque would take delight 
in climbing the hill whereon the lifetime home of David Wesley Clark 
of Deepwater township is located. A picturesque home, a part of which is 
the original log cabin built by David Clark, his father, long ago, is situ- 
ated upon one of the highest points in Henry County, and is surrounded 
by large cedar trees. Twenty miles away the church spires and the 
court house dome of Clinton can be seen. The city of Butler also twenty 
miles distant to the west can be seen on a clear day. Other towns in 
the neighborhood can be seen. David Wesley Clark was bom in Deep- 
water township, in the Clark log cabin, February 17, 1863, and is the son 
of David Clark. 

David Clark, the elder, was born in Virginia, near Richmond, May 
12, 1825, and died April 22, 1911. He was the son of Joseph Clark. David, 
Sr., came to Missouri in 1853 and entered forty acres of the land now 
owned by his son, David Wesley, built a cabin and resided thereon until 
his death. His wife was Sarah Jackson, bom in Lafayette County, Mis- 
souri, where David had located with his father in 1840. Prior to com- 
ing to Henry County they had lived in Lafayette and Johnson counties. 
Sarah Clark was born in 1835 and died January 22, 1890. There were nine 
children in the Clark family, eight of whom are living: J. W., Louisa, 
Sarah Elizabeth, Lucy Ann, deceased; David Wesley, Mary E., Charles 



472 HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 

M., Lillian, Louis Bennett. David Clark was a highly respected citizen 
of Henry County and was well and favorably known in his home neighbor- 
hood. He served in the Missouri State Troops during the Civil War and 
was in many hai-d-fought battles. 

Born and reared on the Clark homestead, David Wesley Clark has 
spent all of his days on the farm. He is the owner of 140 acres of land 
which is situated in the exact center of section 16 and adjoins the Dahl- 
man land on the north, both farms being reached by a private roadway. 
He was first married to Rebecca J. Hardy, October 1, 1890, who bore him 
two children: Lena, Montrose, Missouri; and David, at home with his 
father . Mrs. Rebecca J. Clark departed this life September 16, 1908. Mr. 
Clark's second marriage occurred December 25, 1911, to Mrs. Ellen Chis- 
ham, a widow, and mother of two children : Eunola, wife of Frank Schaif er, 
living in Kansas ; and William Chisham, a farmer in Deepwater township. 

Mr. Clark is a Republican, and is of that kindly, intelligent, type of 
Missourian of the old school who possesses so many excellent qualities 
which makes and retains friends for all time He loves his county, his 
State, his neighbors, his home and his fellowmen. 

Gerhart Anton Dahlman. — The late Gerhart Anton Dahlman of Deep- 
water township was born in Westphalia, Germany, February 2, 1832, and 
departed this life at his home near Germantown, June 1, 1910. He was 
the son of Herman and Mary Ann Dahlman who lived all of their lives 
in the land of their birth. Accompanied by his sister, Mrs. Henry Kalwei, 
Mr. Dahlman emigrated from Germany in 1869 and arrived at German- 
town, Henry County, Missouri, in May, 1869. He stayed at Germantown 
for nine years and was employed by Anton Mucke and Joseph Schmedding. 
He purchased his farm in 1872 and moved a house from Germantown to his 
farm. In 1878 he returned to Germany for his sweetheart, to whom he 
was married in 1878, and at once set sail for his home in America. He 
married Annie Marie Krimphoflf, who was born in Westphalia, Germany, 
September 2, 1855, the daughter of Henry and Mary Elizabeth (Rene- 
kamp) Krimphoif, both of whom spent all of their lives in Germany. 
The father died in 1880 and the mother in 1877. Mr. Dahlman was ably 
assisted in the work of improving his farm by his devoted wife who assisted 
him in the farm work, set out trees, hedges, and vines and they created 
a beautiful home. The Dahlman farm consists of eighty acres with thir- 
teen acres of timber land in addition. 

The children born to Gerhart Anton and Annie Marie Dahlman are 



HENRY COUNTY HISTORY 473 

as follow: Elizabeth, born July 3, 1879, married 1899 to Robert Teeman, 
and has three children, Augusta, Richard, and Viola. Mrs. Dahlman has 
an adopted son, William Dahlman, born July 25, 1891, married Septem- 
ber 28, 1915, to Lorena Minnich, the daughter of George and Ora (Brad- 
burn) Minnich, and granddaughter of William Minnich, a pioneer who 
stood guard at Germantown during the Civil War. Mr. and Mrs. Dahl- 
man have one child, Martha Ann, bom February 22, 1917. 

For some years or since the dea